Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cartwright Hotel 3 stars

1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho, OX17 3BE, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Aynho

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much.

    Full English breakfast was fantastic and service amazingly fast.The restaurant was also excellent and the chef was a star. We arrived on bank holiday saturday afternoon and asked if the restaurant could seat a party of 9. The lady asked the chef and he said if we could pre-order they could do it at 6 o'clock,brilliant. We had booked 3 rooms in the main building aand all modern and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely character room with super facilities. Food is excellent - great breakfast and delicious evening meals. Great bar and lovely pint of Hooky. Staff are exceptionally helpful. Had a small family function which was brilliantly organised with sympathetic service and very reasonably priced. Confidently recommend the Cartwright to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very lucky when we got the the venue we were given the option of two rooms, both very different but equally cosy. It was nice to have the option

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly no cooked breakfast while I was there due to a kitchen problem. Car parking is limited on site, and the spaces are quite narrow even for a smaller car.

    Well decorated, clean, stylish and tidy rooms. Staff very friendly. Good evening food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms on the small size.

    We were staying at the Cartwright for a family wedding. Caroline and her staff couldn't do enough for us. We had left it until the last minute to book taxis to the venue so Caroline herself made 3 trips to get us all there on time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff, good food with nothing being to much trouble. We would especially like to mention Caroline Parkes for attention to detail and her really good sense of humor, which made our stay a memorable occasion.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left my ipad charger in my room when I checked out . Staff at the hotel phoned to tell me and sent me my charger back to me in the post . I think this was excellent service and I was really pleased to get it back :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy for a light sleeper ( noise of fans all night) promised a quiet room for next stay. dinner lovely, breakfast average, had haddock and poached eggs, unfortunately, plate swimming in water. food tasted good though. will definitely stay again.

    lovely hotel, have passed it often but never stopped previously, will do from now on.. room lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a heatwave when I visited, you I had to leave the window open all day because it was so hot. It's an old building but AC or a fan even would have helped.

    Lovely cooked breakfast. Nice staff. Clean room. Iron and Ironing Boards. Easy Parking. Close to Aynhoe Park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No phone signal inside at all and very poor in the courtyard and I struggled with the internet on my ipad but gave up fairly quickly. I did eventually get on with my laptop. This didn't spoil my stay at all.

    Nice friendly staff, pleasant village setting, pleasant rooms set round the courtyard. Food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi worked in the bar. Not in the room. Not in the restaurant. And mobile reception was spotty at best in the whole place.

    Breakfast & dinner were fantastic. Room was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom Accommodation was spacious but in need of a repaint. It was a bit jaded in places but clean nonetheless.

    Food was very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television could have been bigger in the room as it was quite a distance away from the bed although there was a seating area to watch from so not the end of the world.

    Very attentive staff, lovely food and welcoming atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately collected room service tray at 11 pm when asleep otherwise would have been higher score.

    No ground floor rooms at Aynho Park so requested a ground floor room for my 91 year old mother and the room was perfect just a few steps from the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable room and bed. Great restaurant and superb food. Excellent service and lovely staff. Only stayed one night but will certainly be returning!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was incredibly basic. Room was ok but also basic and outdated. If this was a "Premier" room I dread to think what a standard room looked like. Not what I would expect for £160.- per night

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two minor points: 1) Toaster - I had to rotate the bread at breakfast, fortunately it was quiet so no hassle. 2) Cobbles between the room and reception

    Bar staff, hotel staff, hotel room, facilities, cleanliness, location, couple at the bar, Timothy Taylor Ale - pretty much everything, so would definitely recommend; very pleasant & comfortable. Had a great deal too with 35% discount.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't clean enough and the wifi didn't work very well.

    Great location for my trip and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower curtain would be better but I understand the European style.

    Great staff and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food and attentive staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfy - lovely evening meal and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and size of room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No vegetarian full breakfast option

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with slightly better heating.

    Incredible little place with superb staff and gorgeous food!!! Perfect for couples as well!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing on this trip perhaps wifi deadspots

    The staff were proffessional, friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A friendly and comfortable hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything....dont change

    A great hotel...will return when posible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so friendly and nice. Lovely location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly and very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prop trey was close to wedding venue , breakfast was lovely thank you x

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At £160 room overpriced. Beds uncomfortable. Traffic noise.

    Excellent food. Hotel located in attractive village.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was in an out building that was cold and drafty, very uncomfortable and a terrible nights sleep.

    leaving !!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    The staff, room,food n bar all very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The staff were very helpful and were able to let me charge my electric car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came on our wedding night it was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of safe for valuables WiFi was intermittent which was irritating

    Proximity to The Great Barn - wedding venue Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much.

    Beautiful location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Improve wifi coverage to include all rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    I love the location of this hotel, the rooms are also very comfortable & spacious and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Internet in rooms 21and 22. Mold in the shower. Would be great place if they fix the internet and cleaned the mold in the showers.

    Free Breakfast. The staff was very and did an excellent job.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulously comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff who were only to happy to help. An excellent experience overall. I would highly recommend staying at the Cartwright Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were superb, The welcome was very warm and even though we were close to last orders for food the staff said no rush, have a drink before your meal and relax - nothing was too much trouble. The dinner was excellent as was breakfast. This independently owned Hotel had enthusiastic staff who really cared about their customers, it was a pleasure to stay at the Cartwright Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If room facilities are offered e,g tea and coffee making facilities, I expect them to be there. In this case , no milk at all, and one one tea bag but dozens of other flavoured choc and coffee drinks. Clearly , only a cursory glance at the facilities was made by the housekeeper. Plus no view from the only window , only a roof direct in front of the bedroom window. No bath only shower.

    Location ( near to Silverstone) plus the village and the facade of the Hotel are charming.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -No info of the type of the credit card accepted while booking via Booking.com (AMEX not accepted) - causes frustration when you want to pay in the end -Not visible and hard to find by night -Far away from the main road - too Small (too narrow) single beds, sliding left and right

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The door to the room was not a tight fit and no cover over the door window. As it leads to the outside, too much daylight came through the window. Fresh lillies on the dining tables. Hate the smell, plus if you catch the pollen on clothing it stains forever!

    Friendly staff, lovely location, food good but would have liked to have seen some 'simpler dishes' salads.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame that the visitors in Room 11 were noisy and a bit inconsiderate - came back late and a bit rowdy, left early and loudly. Not the fault of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location to Aynho Hall

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel. Staff very good. Food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The village it was situated in. The friendliness of the staff. The food and the comfort and size of the rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and friendly staff. Large comfortable room. Good food

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was nice except bed was against wall and would have been far better with another side table and lamp

    Location next to venue for party

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    food was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room and really good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all very friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent for the wedding across the road

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good choice on the menu and well prepared food. The room was warm and comfortable. The staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bright cosy and comfortable Good food.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi hardly reached the bedroom :/

    Lovely food and nicely refurbished in upmarket Cotswold style.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is an issue.

    Friendly staff and great food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all

    We loved it all - staff, accommodation and food

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    matress in room 22 worn out

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room too cold

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: