Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Hotel 4 stars

Market Street, Aberaeron, SA46 0AU, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Aberaeron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No area set aside for checking in or out, all done whilst making and serving coffees etc.

    Rooms newly refurbished, bedding excellent. Bottled water replenished daily and tea making items. Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested an extra large double bed as this was offered for the price but we had a small double. Wasn’t keen on the sausages at breakfast but the other ingredients were good quality. Fire alarm went off three times - first time at around 8am and no staff were around to say there was nothing to worry about.

    Staff were lovely and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Could be better with a few minor adjustments.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal available and the heating in the room was poor and noisy so had to turn it off to get to sleep.

    Good location. Great breakfast by the chef who was also very hospitable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Provided shelter and some sustenance but would not repeat the experience, more effort required to pr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No carpark at hotel, told to try park in the road but parking close by limited to one hour.Reception in the bar. Cold 'functional' room up two flights of steep stairs covered with worn red carpet. Breakfast at 0800 to 0930hours but served in bar which was still being cleaned at 8.20 when they were washing the floor and nothing had been prepared. Restaurant being refurbished! Fruit consisted of banana or two dried oranges in a bowl. Oranges inedible. All for £110.....a reduction of this exorbitant charge in view of inconvenience would have been reasonable.

    Location. Host and hostess at breakfast tried their best in adverse circumstances to be amiable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    someone cocking up room and shower problem marred otherwise good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    arrived to find we had been given a double bed after booking a twin room,not happy!ended up sleeping on a travel bed as hotel was full.also shower had no cold water had to run bath then add cold water!

    the food was excellent,rpom clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely area, close to New Quay and Aberystwyth.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as it a listed building and therefore no double glazing. There was a lot of early morning road noise.

    Our small dog was made very welcome. The hotel is in a convenient place. The breakfast was lovely and the land lady was charming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Okay but very overpriced for the facilities offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * We did not enjoy climbing the steep staircase up two flights of stairs. * It was difficult managing with only one room key as we sometimes go out separately. * There was no way of opening and closing the wooden blinds in the room as the poles were missing. * The cords on one blind were broken and so it was really difficult to raise or lower the blind. * There were no curtains. * The reception area for the hotel is sadly lacking and it is impossible to book in without getting in the way of staff or customers drinking in the bar.. * Dreadful view from bedroom window. * Breakfast room was uncomfortably hot.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay at the Castle (nice Weather a bonus)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to go home!

    Relaxed atmosphere, breakfast lovely,cooked fresh and served by a Welsh speaker, an extra bonus in wales. The owner (Welsh speaker) was very chatty at breakfast, welcoming and gave sound advice on 'what to do' in the area. Ideal location on the high street, a bar ground floor, near the bus terminal and shops, fish and chip shop (best in Wales) across the road and Honey Ice Cream, what more do you want!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant. Excellent location and helpful staff. A very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were polite and friendly. There was a problem with the booking due to an error on the part of booking .com and the hotel sorted it very efficiently. The room was clean and attractively furnished.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Great location, but premium price for a mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and not very good value for money. Cleanliness was also an issue, for example the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied and the headboard of the bed was stained. Overall the hotel needed a makeover.

    Excellent location in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing. we would go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not to keen on the coffee in room. It was quite a warm room no air con and didn't seem like the windows could be opened for some air but not to unpleasant and there was a small fan there if needed. Nowhere to park the car, had to park round by the harbour so had to pull case over to the hotel.

    Bed was comfy. Cleanliness was excellent. Very central to everything. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Not quite what we expected in terms of a hotel but pleasant stay nonetheless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Details of bus timetables would have helped. Main problem was the noise outside our otherwise fine room at the top of the stairs. We were told it was from the kitchen and would cease after 9.0pm but other sounds,possibly from other vents or even other properties , meant that we had to sleep with the windows shut on two warm nights.

    Appreciated help from the owners. Great Position.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Aberaeron staying at The Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was beautifully decorated, very cosy. My grilled mackerel breakfast, perfect. Bought a paper, walked to the harbour for a coffee and a read. Wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    We discovered a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather - it was very windy.

    Great location in the middle of Aberaeron. Although it's a Grade II listed building the interiors had been refurbished to a very good standard. We thought it might be noisy as it's on the corner of two busy roads but everything quietened down by 11.30pm and we had a very restful evening. The Welsh cooked breakfast was also very good. Aberaeron itself is a little gem, full of lovely colourful buildings which gave the town a lot of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise until about midnight as hotel is on fairly busy A road, but did not worry us unduly.

    Pleasant staff, lovely room with Welsh name and soft furnishing making it stylish and comfortable. Great breakfast. Handy location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    It was clean great location very popular bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy window wasn't great, it was like sleeping outside could hear everything, we got no sleep at all, we weren't told that we had to book for dinner and when we went for evening meal they had fully booked with walk ins so we went elsewhere and it was excellent at the cellar over the Rd, also ran out of loo roll which wasn't nice. It's a shame cos we drove 165 miles and a long drive home with not much sleep

    It was clean great location very popular bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    told the bar would be open till 12 when we arrived with friends at 11 we were told only one drink was told they closed if it was quiet there was 20 people in bar we said we wouldn't have come back if we knew it was closing early only decided to keep bar open after a fuss

    comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant and comfortable - eventually!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated was not up to expectations for the price. It was small, the bathroom was small and the shower cubicle was tiny. There was no real ambience, no view, the bed was very noisy. We were paying £121.00 per night for a room that in our opinion was only worth £80 at the most. HOWEVER, all that said, when there was a problem with there being no hot water, the owners were super helpful and moved us to a room which was, in our opinion, worth what we were paying. Can't fault the owners, the hotel itself or the breakfast - so despite a bad start would recommend and would stay again - however I would check which room you are getting and how much you are paying for it. We had a great time in Aberaeron, great location and the coast path walk to New Quay was amazing, lots of places to eat no drink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    4.2
    The breakfast was very nicely prepared to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the bar area was very busy and noisy and this is where reception is located. We had to complete a form and constantly had to move out of the way to allow bar staff through. The room was cold there had not been any heating put in in advance. You have to use s side door in the evening, the bar was still open and we still were told to walk all the way around

    The breakfast was very nicely prepared to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could of been more helpful, as no information was given about checkout times. Breakfast was poor, staff were rude and made us feel unwelcome. Booked online and website says "free booking and cancellation and no deposit required" this was stated on the website and they still took money from my account before we even got to the hotel.

    Room was lovely, clean and the location was in the centre of the town which was helpful for me and my partner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    On arrival the staff were really helpful, checking what time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the staff were really helpful, checking what time we would like breakfast the next morning and then showing us to our room. The room was clean and comfortable and it was really nice to have a selection of drinks and a kettle in the room. We had a quiet night sleep and a great breakfast the next day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    5.0
    Overall, disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room with the smallest double bed imaginable. My boyfriend thought the room smelt of sick but I think it may have been just a slight damp issue.Very very overpriced, especially considering we only paid £20 more for a suite in Portmerion village where the bed alone was almost the same size of the whole room at the Castle hotel and where, in general, the decor and facilities are far superior.

    Handy location in a pretty coastal town. Clean place with a decent breakfast.Shower worked very well if looking a bit rough round it's edges.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Staff were friendly and helpful, the location, building and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cheapest option.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, the location, building and room were beautiful and there was a great atmosphere in the bar downstairs. Due to mistakes with outer travel arrangements my partner and I ended up staying for an extra night and they just fitted us in at the last minute. They all made us and our dog feel very welcome and at home and my dog even got her own sausage at breakfast !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Central to town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not too easy but was given helpful advice on where and when to move the car

    Pet friendly, easy access for taking the dog for walks. Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking a problem when busy, no specific parking, only on street and small public car park..this should be made more clear in the advert

    no kippers 2 mornings running, dont advertise on menu if they are unavailable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    Lovely comfy room above a busy popular pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an unpleasant smell in the room that didn't go despite spraying plenty of channel around. Like rotten socks!

    The location was quite good - not far from the harbour. The bedroom was simple and the bed was lovely and comfortable with clean crisp linen.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Castellicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steps A Bit Steep,To Upstairs Accomadation , But Pales Into Insignificanse When You Add The Positives

    Could Not Fault Anything ,First Class Service First Class Staff, Excellent Reportie . A Return Trip -On The Cards,Later in The Year

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    5.8
    although my revue may seem poor. the staff were helpfull & tried to correct mistakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room small hot & stuffy. stairs steep no lift available. bathroom toilet rolls & coffee sachets not replaced. very heavy & noisy traffic till late at night. restaurant service slow at busy times.

    good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    A nightmare that I'd never want to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely rude

    I'd never go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, very friendly service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in bedroom

    Dog made very welcome,allowed in restaurant and even got a sausage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Ok visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows not opening....No summer fruit for breakfast...walls very thin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fab hotel. Lovely owner who was very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Great location Lovely welcome from owner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    An excellent weekend option that I would thoroughly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    An excellent weekend option that I would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    we only stayed one night we will stay there again when ever they have an offer on bed and breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    what we had we were very happy

    the hotel was clean and the breakfast was lush home cook and fresh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Very compact room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leaking shower cubicle

    The bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly and comfortable atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking.

    Very good quality food used.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were very steep but were able to get to the room.

    Very good value for money. All staff polite and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    The stairs to the bedrooms were open for any one to walk up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the bedrooms were open for any one to walk up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Definite come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast fantastic, clean, staff are friendly If problem with the room as urgent, I can txt them. They are Deaf aware

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    Average, I would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed to consist of a lot of small bedrooms is if the building had been carved up to accommodate more guests.

    Room small and very basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Earl Grey tea!

    Very clean and modern, bed very comfortable. Excellent, well cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Good location and nice staff but the rooms and public areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location and nice staff but the rooms and public areas are badly worn and in general the property is badly in need of a refit and refresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    It is not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a 4 star hotel...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower

    Staff lovely, food excellent, Thai green curry one of the best we have tasted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was exceptionally good and the owner/hostess could not have been more accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Double glazing (traffic noise) and an easy to open window,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing (traffic noise) and an easy to open window, no lounge only a pub bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.5
    A very characterful locals hotel in a good location of the town. Enjoyable stay Staff friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little small. Steep stairs not good if you have a dissability.

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Better than first impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from traffic

    We liked the new decor and it was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Central and convieniet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from street and next doors tv 😡

    Very dog friendly and staff were very accommodating regarding breakfast in cafe bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.0
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stairs bad 28steps bathroom to small you could hear people in next room

    bed comy shower good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in the bedroom are thin you could hear people in the next room quite easily

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Central location in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the steps.

    Central location in the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tv in our room didn't work.

    The breakfast was first class, the friendly/helpful staff, the location and the shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Good welcome and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed re-grouting as black in sections.

    Good choice of full breakfast or kippers etc. and bakery bread for toast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The home from home atmosphere, very friendly area, able to speak welsh, felt that we were most welcomed in all aspect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any parking.

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a good location and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly, very lively hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, very lively hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Room was clean and comfortable with an excellent freshly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean and comfortable with an excellent freshly cooked breakfast with friendly and courteous staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    5.0
    very average accomodation / same for breakfast for the money. Not good value for the money £121 for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air conditioning/ chairs in room/ better quality coffee/ freeview or sky on tv

    The shower cubicle was new and worked well

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely location if you like being in the thick of things.
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was a challenge at times. Parking could be bit difficult at busy times of the day.

    Informality - we felt welcome but not pressured

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing Over Night in Aberaeron
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all

    Comfy, clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.0
    Aberaeron is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked for 2 adults and one toddler but were told on arrival that no cot was available so had to bedshare. Very noisy room. Room on third room very small and not suitable for toddler with pram. Breakfast ok but no jam!! Which ia the only thing toddler will eat. Not worth 120 pounds by a long way.

    Aberaeron is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    Position and Breakfast Buzzing at night good fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No curtains ! Rooms a little tired . Our first room was right on the main road , a Lorry woke me at four thirty then could not sleep because the room was so light .

    Position and Breakfast Buzzing at night good fun

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    7.5
    Liked the closeness to the town and the general feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed not comfortable it slipped to one side and the door was noisy and we were annoyed that food was not being seved on the Saturday evening

    Liked the closeness to the town and the general feel

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.2
    We appreciated the fact that our small, well behaved Jack...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't open the window in the room so it was always hot and stuffy. There was no shelf for toiletries in the en suite shower room..

    We appreciated the fact that our small, well behaved Jack Russell was allowed to join us in the bar and breakfast room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room clean, well furnished and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.3
    Rooms were very trendy and up to date!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt as if they had no time for us, I was greeted with "I'll be with you in 2 minutes i'm very busy! The room where no ready the cleaner was still hoovering and cleaning the bathroom! In the morning we were met by a monotone chef there really couldn't be bothered, and the landlady and landlord walked past us without even a good morning, they seemed as if they had an argument, not something you want to know about when your trying to enjoy a weekend away.

    Rooms were very trendy and up to date! Central location.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Arrived a little early but was let into room before mid day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great.

    Arrived a little early but was let into room before mid day. Room was on top floor but all you need for a short stay. Comfy bed good mains shower tea and coffee bottled water in room waiting for you. I was there for the 6 nations so down stairs in the bar was a great atmosphere. Breakfast was fab "bacon sausage mushrooms beans egg and tomatoes with fresh bread toasted.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    Very well presented room, spotlessly clean and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress had probably had its day but didn't spoil the stay.

    Very well presented room, spotlessly clean and everything provided that was promised. Friendly, helpful staff and excellent breakfasts!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    breakfast was very good plentyful lots of choice, from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was very good plentyful lots of choice, from helping yourself to cerals fruit,yoguts,an fruit juices before your main breakfast which we ordered full english which was beautifully cooked and the lady was really nice made us very welcome we enjoyed a chat with her on the 2 days we were there.well done liz looking forward to returning in near future. also the bar staff especially steve the manager we felt very comfortable it was like home from home enjoyed the rugby in the bar what a bonus wales won really good birthday to remeber thanks to all staff for very pleasent stay see you in the near future from helen,mike.xx

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.1
    Very good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No soap in the bathrooms. Wasn't told on booking.com that rooms were up 2 flights of very steep stairs , therefore not suitable for elderly . We were with an 88 year old so although she managed it would have been good to know about the stairs. Took time to check in as only 1 person on bar which was very busy when we arrived . Rooms are very small .

    Very good breakfast . Rooms clean and comfortable . Staff we met helpful . Right in centre of the town .

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    5.8
    The breakfast, friendly staff, location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms were small, could not open the window,even has a sign on the window, so it got stuffy. As it is on a main road it is not suitable for light sleepers. I did not think it was value for money

    The breakfast, friendly staff, location and clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was far too hot making sleeping uncomfortable. The bar immediately below our room meant we couldn't get to sleep until well after midnight due to loud music and general bar noise.

    Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: