Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle and Ball 3 stars

High Street Marlborough, Marlborough, SN8 1LZ, United Kingdom

#5 of 8 hotels in Marlborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 798 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The situation is excellent in Marlborough High Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the kitchen seemed to be struggling to cope during our stay, so much so that our waiter advised us to go elsewhere one evening.

    The situation is excellent in Marlborough High Street. The hotel occupies a ramshackle old building with strange changes of level but that provides character. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    To be fair the room was lovely, however overall experience was over priced and very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar/restaurant area looked grubby. Food in the evening was ok but breakfast was very poor, the cheapest of ingredients used, Full English was awful. Juice was warm as was the yogurt (2 hr rule??). Thankfully Nero's is opposite so you can get a decent cup of coffee. Bitterly disappointed given the price of the room, definitely well over priced, be better to stay in a Premier Inn.

    Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated, fan provided and very welcome given the temperature. Excellent location, centre of town .... however, noisy at night if room facing street (to be expected given location).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit creaky and l room location above bar toilets a bit noisy. Annoyed by the fact the money was taken when I booked(6 months ago) so didn’t eat in hotel.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value and central location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had a water leak from upstairs which took a few days to sort. Apart from a wet carpet no real inconvenience apart from anxiety about ceiling plaster!

    Central location and not too noisy ( had a room to the rear) Great car parking free to guests staying over.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dustbin men parked right outside and clattered about for quite a while, but this was not the hotels fault.

    Staff very quick to respond to queries easy and fast checkin. The rooms were excellent, walk in showers large bathrooms and very attractively furnished. Loved the sofa and the chairs, made a wonderful change from having to sit on a hotel bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Altogether a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is tired (lovely old building but in need of a refresh). Our room was very hot - small window and at top of building but the weather was boiling anyway. Furniture was very tired

    The staff are lovely. We had a lovely dinner there and breakfast was really good too. Location is fabulous. Bed really comfy too and there was a fridge in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient well positioned hotel in need of a little tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of a decorate, it all look a little tired. A little disappointed when I asked for a gaelic coffee to be told `its a bit labour intensive`. Tonic water was served with no ice and no lemon. Ran out of orange juice, milk and toast at breakfast and had to ask for the supplies to be replenished!

    Cooked breakfast was good and the bed was most comfortable. Good car parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is superb - right in the centre of the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it's a historic building, ceiling is very low and there are no conditioners in rooms. Also I am not a great fan of traditional separate hot and cold taps.

    The location is superb - right in the centre of the town. Staff was very welcoming, nice restaurant. Comfortable bed, good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Our hotel of choice in Marlborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A king or super long bed would have been better. The room was large enough.

    Perfect high street location. Easy access free parking. Helpful and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric jug was dirty First day no hot water for ages Asked to make a booking for dinner then told when the time came we would have to wait 1.5 hours Staff at breakfast just standing around when tables needed cleaning Room not clean

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    B&B from hell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! We got to the hotel and the room was over looking the car park and had a lot of noise. Even with the window closed. The room was really in poor condition. Then went into the bathroom again very undated and someone had gone to the toilet and didn’t flush it and left it there! Disgusted! The shower was grey with limescale and mould on the bath and tiles . The tap wouldn’t stop leeking. Towels like sandpaper. 1 towel for two people . We ordered a sandwich and didn’t get any cutlery to use.. couldn’t eat our coslaw and the sides. No salt pepper etc provided and the drinks were warm. No napkins provided either . We were told our room would be re cleaned when we went out but when we got back they only removed the plates and left everything else. Empty bottles empty glasses and left half that was in the plate on the table! The room was not touched! Didn’t sleep as the door to the landing was inches away from our door so you could hear people coming and going as if they were in your room . Should of just kept the door open as it made no difference! Not to mention the noise from the car park! Breakfast was basic. Got asked what I wanted to eat as soon as I sat down and didn’t have a chance to see the menu and when I asked if I could have 5 mins .. he walked off in a huff! My husbands kippers were very very dry and he could even finish one!. Coffee terrible and tea had no taste. Couldn’t wait to go home! Paid for two nights and only stayed for one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable overnighter with excellent location in a lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in an annexe and window overlooked the car park, and vice-versa! minor complaint only.

    Qaint old building with huge car park. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Good Prompt Stafff but at £130 a night not happy that 2 of 3 rooms toilets/water pressure inadequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we Had 3 rooms toilet in two did not flush properly, dearer than other similar places in high street .

    Staff helpful had bikes which they stored for us safely overnight. Check in/out quick, breakfast served promptly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to ask for a teapot and Earl Grey tea at breakfast. (Even Premier Inns supply these on the buffet.) No decent salad on the menu. Waldorf salad mentioning only lettuce and dressing is not appealing.

    The staff, the beer, the food, the bed. Gorgeous old building. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    poor......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    standards have plummeted since previous visits. Saturday the hotel closed the bar at 10pm, and refused to serve the residents even though there were loads of us. Hot water problems, house keeping issues. Breakfast buffet was not topped up, we had to keep asking for things inc juices and bread for toast. No-one really cared. Jim on reception very friendly and understanding, but resigned to defeat in the non delivery of hotel services

    our room was good.....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, because of the wooden floors and walls you can hear everything, steps, people next room

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice and filling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Central old fashioned hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. They lock the front door to the hotel at around 11pm as it can be a lively pub too. So guests need to know they access the hotel by the side door after hours. Wasn’t explained to some guests and one ended up sleeping on someone’s sofa.

    Perfectly placed in the centre of Marlborough. Lovely room, quiet and nicely furnished. I stayed for a wedding and. The whole hotel was taken over by guests. I was in the little annexe which was perfect and easily accessible. Wholeheartedly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable but not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole was a little dated and tired. I would say they need to do some updating e.g. bit of painting, re grouting etc. Curtains in the room were poorly hung and didn't feel very secure.

    Rooms were clean and tidy. Good tea and coffee tray and toiletries. Bed was comfortable. Its a great location, centrally placed for all amenities and has its own car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Basic pub style accommodation, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lounge was a public bar, noisy and busy not at all like the relaxing looking photos. Restaurant food was good, environment was OK but again not as nice as we expected from the photos. Our room was nothing like the photo's very basic with no nice decoration, linens etc. Eg. TV attached to wall like a motel unit rather than an Inn and bed linen and towels clean but very basic. The photos of the rooms make them look quite comfortable and luxurious. While our visit there was OK, it would be more realistic to describe it as a basic and busy, noisy pub with accommodation above.

    Location, parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to rest after a very busy day.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedside lights were not bright enough to read by.

    Very friendly atmosphere. Car park a bonus in such a busy town. Very good freshly coooked breakfast. Excellent place for breaking a journey as it is an easy drive from the motorway..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel rail in bathroom could not be turned off and was on full (on the hottest weekend of the year) The breakfast staff were very very slow . The restaurant tables were dirty food was stuck on the table. The wood was peeling off the tables food under the table from previous diner and there were holes in the wall. I travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels B/B but this was really bad.

    Location was excellent. Bed super comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    overall a good value stay have stayed here a number of times on our way down south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the evening meals was only warm (chicken tikka masala) wasn't very hot when returned after complaining but was edible

    great location, comfortable room ok breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfy, the location for one night while en...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a smell of gas. The draining from sink resulted in dirty, black-speckled water coming up into the bathtub. The duvets were far too heavy for the time of year. The breakfast was not very good. It's a run-down facility and not very well maintained.

    The beds were comfy, the location for one night while en route was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old hotel with v helpful Maitre d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maitre d provided us with wine tastings, she went out of her way to find us a wine to suit our tastes, and the wine choice was good. Food very good too. On-site parking a bonus for a High St hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    A cosy old inn made great by its lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were plenty of full main courses on the evening menu, but we would have welcomed a small range of lighter evening food, having lunched out. (Sandwiches and jacket potatoes stop at 5p.m.) The bedroom windows needed a clean to appreciate the view of the main street.

    Very comfortable bed and characterful room (superior double). Excellent staff; 100% helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Consistently good standard over three stays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    The only thing is that this hotel is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get internet connection,tried many time asked a member of the staff but were not able to us connected . The bedroom windows had not been cleaned in a long time. The breakfast ( full English) was not that good.

    The location was great , and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Good food and beer, great high street location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building so noises difficult to overcome completely, like the floorboards and the hand drier in the ladies below. The dearer rooms are better for this

    Good food and beer, located right on the High Street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Castle and Ball. Our welcome was very friendly and all our subsequent interactions with all staff were excellent .... however sadly our bed must have been the hardest that I have ever slept on as we had a very poor nights sleep as a consequence of the mattress and very hard pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    A nice stay in a nice hotel, in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem with the main gas supply when we arrived: there was no chance of using the restaurant for dinner and there was no heating in the room. It was a cold day. We found an electric heater in the wardrobe and plugged that in, but it didn't quite do the job and we were cold. At check out there was no apology or reduction in price, which was a little disappointing. Breakfast was a little dis-organised - waitresses got confused with which order should be delivered to which table. There was a long wait for the cooked option and when it came it wasn't quite as described on the menu. We ate it, of course, and it was fine.

    Excellent location. The bed was very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was nice. The view of the high street from the room was lovely. The room was nice and private. The car park was good. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Just the job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy until 10.30 pm in room 12 - I think it was from a house outside of the hotel.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful, the bed was soooo comfortable and the food was lovely. Great situation in the middle of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Good short break would recommend Marlborough at the Castle and Bull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very comfortable and the shower was very easy to use. Staff were all very helpful and the food was good pub fair. Parking was very easy especially as you are in a town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A very nice, comfortable stay indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing that I found really odd is that they clearly put a lot of effort into everything but the Hotel windows and window frames are just rotten wood (room 2) at very least and the window can’t open. Just think that it’s strange that this is the case when e erything else is really good.

    All was very good indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but food not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- very long wait for scrambled eggs on toast which was dry & tasteless. Extra toast had been forced into the toast rack which meant it pretty much disintegrated when we tried to take it out.

    Location was super

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Good Staff make a great stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place even though i have been there a few times before but not stayed until now. Great customer service, easy to park. Good food. I would recommend staying here. Breakfast was fantastic. Good friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay. Good location for getting out and about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel could do with new furniture.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff very good and friendly. The room as basic but the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    If there were anywhere else better on the High Street I would never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service. Dirty carpets. The property needs completely renovating.

    Some staff were very helpful. Food was well prepared when it arrived. They allow dogs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic but please clean the downstairs toilets more often
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We all here a lot and it’s the first time we stayed. Loved the experience don’t get me wrong but.... the toilets downstairs both Make and Female- absolutely stink and really dirty. Could the pub team just get in there with a bucket, soap and bleach every other hour? You guys would earn 10/10 without fail then. Thanks.

    Location Service Ambiance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    A lovely setting, adequate room and well mannered staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were cobwebs dangling from the ceiling, the bed mattress sloped into the middle, the bathroom flooring was coming away from the wall

    The setting and front of house staff were great. The breakfast staff were great. The room size was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    It made a nice break on our journey back from Cornwall and represented good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No particular dislikes.

    The bedroom was comfortable but the furniture and decorations were rather old fashioned and dark. A very nice bathroom added to the contrast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Our stay was only for one night, but definitely had a 'feel-good' factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little noisy in the morning due to passing traffic, but that is the down-side of being in such a prime location.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and freshly cooked to order and the menu includes fish - sign of a good breakfast menu!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for a night's visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was right in the middle of town, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable and a great shower and as our room was at the back, it was quiet. We had a substantial breakfast too and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    The staff were great, especially Toby!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, the hotel is very dated, tired and lack of toiletries. A very average hotel for an over priced stay.

    The staff were great, especially Toby!! He was friendly, attentive and very well mannered. A real credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    A good central location, friendly staff, and a hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the top of the building with steep and shallow stairs for the last leg to our door.

    The room was large and had character. The building is old and therefore a little quirky, this meant that the bedroom floor was uneven and the bed appeared to slope to one side, but this did not prevent a good nights sleep. Both the evening meal and the breakfast were good, and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. All for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfy stay with beautiful fire in the snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow breakfast service ... only one nember of staff serving.

    Good breakfast selection. Excellent attitude from general manager. First room offered smelt mouldy so we were upgraded for FREE to beautiful -poster superior room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little grubby and not the fault of the hotel but the person above stayed awake and walked about all night, disturbing my sleep

    The bed was very comfy, the staff helpful and friendly. Able to park. Nice breakfast and quiet despite having the bar and seated area outside the window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, disappointing facilities
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to room, uneven surface, poor steps and rail, very intermittent internet and wifi. Cooked breakfast good, cereal and yoghurt good, croissants dry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Warm and comfortable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very basic and not very exciting and the burger and a few other things weren’t available which was strange as there were only a few people eating early in the evening . Perhaps it was due to the snow .

    Bedroom was cosy and clean and bathroom clean and modern. Wi fi was excellent and car parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Improve the quality of food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Least liked: The dining room and the food. The dining room was a barn of a room and has nothing to commend it. We moved tables to the pub/lounge. The fish pie was dry and the vegetables watery. Curry was bland. The pub/lounge area was ok and popular. It could make the most of the fire place. Instead of a table for two hogging the view and heat could it not accommodate a pair of small sofas and arm chairs with coffee table? Lots of droughts. Double glazing would help.

    Superb location. Welcoming receptionist and friendly staff. Good sized room overlooking the High Street. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely old building in a beautiful town which could be stunning, unfortunately it's very tired
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom grubby , water pressure poor, no room to pace a toiletry bag., hot water intermittent

    The hotel although in a very prominent and covenient position in the centre of town is badly in need of refurbishment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, packing on site a bonus as the town centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, packing on site a bonus as the town centre fills up quickly. We booked two nights. The first night the room above us made a lot of noise, on calling reception in the morning they kindly moved us to a second floor room that was extremely quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult stairs if mobility problems;Poor decor; pokey bathroom; tv in awkward place; poor lighting

    Comfy bed; tea and coffee making facilities; good location; free parking; good breakfast options;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Would be happy to stay a week or more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came away feeling satisfied with everything - so nothing that could be improved comes to mind.

    Owned by Greene King - it is more than a pub - it is a decent hotel and was reassuringly busy (but not at all 'loud') for a Sunday night. Perfect location in the centre of town. Plenty of free parking - drive through the arch. Free during the stay, after check-out a nominal payment is required per hour. Good choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, cosy rooms and lovely decor throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (28) was right outside the fire door which kept slamming every few minutes. A door protector would be a great idea to ensure it closed slowly and silently. I don’t think this would be too hard to install and it would be so much more comfortable and peaceful for future guests. :-) all in all though it was a lovely hotel.

    Friendly staff, cosy rooms and lovely decor throughout. Perfect location for town and shops!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and would return if we were to be in the area
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 nights in room 5 which we thought was too cramped with the extra bed.

    liked the car parking. Excellent breakfast. Excellent room size in rooms 10 and 11. We had 6 nights in room 11 and 3 in room 10.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Great value, friendly staff, in a good central spot.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely big room, very clean and good breakfast. The staff were excellent. Especially the lady on reception checking in and out. Very helpful didn't catch her name... (Young and had glasses on)..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful charm!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is a delightfully old building, the floors can be disconcertingly squeaky to walk on and there was some noise from the restaurant/bar below.

    Characterful property with a comfortable bed and good food. Friendly staff who were very helpful and cheerful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They stopped serving coffee/tea at 9.30 pm which was a little bizarre for a hotel

    The location, the friendliness of the staff, the comfy bed and the very good shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor looking tired in place. Water urn wasn’t working for tea in morning but staff didn’t have the Common sense to boil a kettle. We went and got ours from our room and boiled it in dining room for our morning tea. 🙄

    Great location. Clean. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful building right in the middle of Marlborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeaky floorboards - but wouldn’t put me off staying again!

    Beautiful building right in the middle of Marlborough. Lovely staff and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Mixed feelings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I must say that I was a little disappointing with the restaurant at dinner. I had decided what I was going to have from the menu in the room only to find my choice of starter could not be provided as they had no black pudding ! Surprised I chose an alternative prawn & crayfish cocktail to be followed by the seafood mixed grill, yummy. You can imagine my surprise when an ordinary prawn cocktail arrived, no amount of searching produced any crayfish, so I called the waitress over who tried to tell me it was berried under the prawns- no way said I, so she off back to the kitchen with it. Fair play when it arrived back 10 minutes later it was correct & tasted OK, as did the seafood grill but I am still awaiting an apology.

    The room was tidy & clean enough for me if you disregard a couple of stains in the carpet. The bath room was clean & well appointed with a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water once it had got there with the added bonus of a large worktop next to the sink to put all your nick knacks etc. The bed was extremely comfortable but the 2 lounge chairs in the room were in need of replacing as they looked dirty & a bit shabby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Will return..as we love Marlborough!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toast!! The food although o.k..typical pub grub..was not as good as our last visit approx 2yrs ago. We are fond of Marlborough & the Castle & Ball is perfectly positioned. Unfortunately it is starting to appear rather shabby.

    The staff were v.helpful, the room was v.clean, the bed was comfortable but a rather too high tog quilt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel in a lovely location, spoilt by a very poor lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for Sunday lunch, it came out still frozen/cold in parts. The meals were sent back, with no apology or explanation from the waitress. Five minutes later, the same plates, with the same food came back, with the same partially eaten lunch, the plates were hot, unfortunately the food wasn't. We asked for a refund and went to a nearby pub which gave us an excellent Sunday lunch.

    Great room. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and much better value than cheaper local options .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit late getting up and so the shower was barely warm.

    Room was comfortable; tea and coffee, ironing board, free wi-fi in room. Despite being on the ground floor at the front, we weren't troubled by any noise. Breakfast was plentiful and we were able to continue parking on-site after check out which was very useful. A little more expensive than another nearby place, where we stayed last year, but on that occasion no breakfast or parking was offered and it was very noisy until the early hours. A "no-brainer" as to future visits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.7
    Don't waste money go somewhere for cheaper
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers! Worse than Katy perry's song hot n cold. Brekkie included was poor n cost 8quid for a real brekkie, don't bother paying for extra for frosties

    Staff were goos

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    Lovley location, very dissapointng room. we wont be booking another stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dated, shower leaked, dirty floor in bathroom, very dark and dated décor, for the price we paid we were very disappointed and have stayed in much better rooms at this price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent New Years package we enjoyed all meals had helpful friendly staff. Welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom slightly cold so electric fire provided. Window nets needed washing. Decor needs refreshing.

    Excellent helpful, friendly staff, great food, eg steak asked for one medium and one well done and that's what we got. Breakfast good choice served within minutes. Bedroom/bathroom serviced whilst we were out, towels replaced as required . Tea/coffee etc. kept topped up, bins emptied daily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was 'superior' - very spacious. However there was one armchair which was not comfortable...very low, obviously well used. There was also a 'chaise- lounge at the foot of the bed which was not clean...evidence of confetti and a lot of dust in the crevices...so didn't sit on it at all. During the night there was noise from what sounded like a tumble dryer? Our room was at the end of the corridor so unsure where this noise came from. We paid £140 per night for this premium room which was expensive.

    We have stayed at the C & Ball many times over the last 10 years or so. This time we chose a superior room - the last overlooking the street on first floor. Large bedroom, nice view, comfy bed. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Location perfect as it's in the middle of the town, walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, nice size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been cleaner, bathroom could use a good scrub as lots of parts turning a little yellow, it was new years eve so having breakfast just between 8am and 10am was a bit unfair on us who partied late. Check out was quick and easy

    convenient car parking and nice easy check in at the desk, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was big and plenty of space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Let down by standard of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 no heating.upgraded to superior. Room 2 had ironing board, biscuits, hair dryer. Superior had none of these. Stains on carpet in various places also in superior room and one light bulb not working.furniture in very poor condition. Worn.see above re no reply from reception.

    Bed in superior room most comfortable ever slept in. Staff helpful, efficient and friendly but after 3calls ringing for ages to reception from room no reply so gave up and walked to reception. O Location perfect. Food very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Very generous breakfast included in the price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A long wait for breakfast (to a large extent understandable as it seemed the majority of guests all seemed to arrive for breakfast at the same time). We would have appreciated a little more communication - waiting for 45mins for food without any kind of forewarning or apology wasn't great service.

    Very generous breakfast included in the price . Comfortable bed and a clean room. Communal hallways and room perhaps a little 'dated' and 'tired', but overall pleasant. Good location and a nice atmosphere in the pub below.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Perfect value for money middle of the road rooms over a bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the beer chillers and compressors in the bar , drifting on the night air through the floorboard made a good night's sleep a little challenging !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    In future we'll look at the free wifi system places provide - and try and avoid wretched Sky CLoud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A major drawback - the "free" wifi required one to give a whole range of personal data in order for them to give you wifi. To be honest, I don't blame the hotel staff but I do blame the Greene King chain and their wifi deal with Sky Cloud. So averse are we to providing personal details - name, age, address, mobile number, and email address - that it would almost be a reason not to go to any Greene King place again. It is the first time after many years of B&B in hotel chains and private places that we have ever been required to "Create and account" in order to "pay" for free wifi. we don't trust Sky. The fact that one can access the wifi by providing any old name, etc is beside the point. Greene King please note - not a good move. Change the system.

    Central location, extremely nice staff, brilliant breakfast (kippers even !), cosy room and ultra convenient parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a bit quicker, but the waitress was very helpful & it was tasty when it did arrive.

    Good sized room, very comfy bed. We were at the front of the hotel at street level, I thought it might be noisy, but it wasn't . We arrived early, & the reception were really helpful & let us in our room to leave our bags, which was all we needed. All the staff were very friendly. Room was lovely on warm & welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water and staff did not seem surprised. The room was lovely and v clean but no hot water in 2017 not acceptable. I will not take risk again

    Staff and cleaned well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    We loved the destination and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms just about ready for a refurb. Not many tables in bar to sit and drink/eat. Very busy and struggled to get a spot.

    Lovely spot. Right in the middle of it all. Breakfast was good. Rooms were basic but clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: