Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Hotel 4 stars

High Street, Conwy, LL32 8DB, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Conwy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 845 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.0
    Sumptuous bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tiny. Wine at dinner very average Could have done with good house white and red

    Sumptuous bedroom Large comfortable bed Lovely exterior to the building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Love Conwy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit warm so we opened the window. Street noise woke us early. Other that that, we had no complaints and wished we were staying longer.

    The beds were comfy, rooms were well-appointed and comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. The location was perfect for exploring Conwy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    We managed to chill, but only in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No comfortable lounge!!! Unbelievable in a hotel of this character and rating. Food was very good, but overpriced, especially breakfast. Impossibly noisy on Friday and Saturday. Had to turn the TV volume up to try to overcome noise from patio area.

    The staff were exceedingly friendly and the location was perfect for getting to know Conwy. The room was very comfortable and the food was excellent, The artwork was a delight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel. Liked the decor of the room. Staff were super friendly. A shout-out to Anne who was a new staff but went out of her way and really made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent bed brilliant night sleep, room seemed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast sitting seemed a bit chaotic and I felt it was over priced for what we got.

    Excellent bed brilliant night sleep, room seemed to be luxurious and it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap/hand wash in the bathroom I had to use the shower gel

    Lovely large bed Complimentary bottled water, biscuits and chocolate Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Happy to have visited and would return. If you had room for a spa that would be a definite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was expensive and perhaps could have been larger.

    The decor was lovely. Some of the fittings were a little worn looking but still fine. Room a little smaller than I expected but stay was comfy and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Character hotel in central location in conway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very small . Not much room. Cramped .Church bells and seagull noises.

    Central hotel . Had character . Plenty of room in bathroom which was clean nearly as big as room. Staff very helpful. Was easy assess to Conway town .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one comment. You should offer a combined room rate including breakfast, rater than charge extra for breakfast.

    Great hotel in a lovely convenient location. Excellent sized room that was very comfortable and perfect for our two day stay.Very nice, professional and polite staff in all ares

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Disspointed to pay £140.00 BB twin occupancy its not worth this as this rate of London 4* htls
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening reception male member of staff gave me our bedroom key after we had been out but failed to check my identity to the room first so could have given a thief my room key with my goods inside and stolen! The hotel is charging £140.00 BB twin occupancy for a hotel which isn't 4*, no toiletries in the bathroom, roll end of toilet roll but no spare, I did have to ask! The pillows were flat, the room was dusty on the damaged table, the remote for the TV was grubby and showed hairs on it. The bathroom had no curtains just frosted glass and not very clean net curtains, the window faced out onto the main road / footpath!

    The restaurant staff were good. Location excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic we would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too big, not enough pillows. A few hairs in the bathroom and no hand wash had to use shower gel.

    The room was beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic, we both loved it. Great variety and the staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Traditional, historic hotel in the heart of town, Conwy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hand soap and tissue were not enough in the room, this is the only unfortunate point. Gate to the backyard parking was pretty much narrow, drivers of large vehicle should be well aware of it... !

    Upgraded to a better, larger room 121, it offered “castle view”, which was lovely. Unfortunately, the castle was under conservation work... The hotel itself has magnificent and historic appearance/facade, interesting interior and impressive decorations - hotel itself is a touristic spot actually. Restaurant in the hotel was so good, service staff was attentive and friendly at the same time. Regret I didn’t try the bar..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking and very tight for a large car between the walls. However, due to the character and location of the building this is unavoidable.

    Excellent location. Comfy bed. Restaurant very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great spot in Conwy and the room was comfortable. We didn't take any meals on the premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub below was a bit rowdy till around midnight with the window open. It didn't affect me as I was awake too late reading. The sink didn't have an area around it for toiletries. Carpets were a bit tired.

    The bed was comfortable and pillows were plentiful and worked well for my snoring spouse. Room was attractive but decor a tad dated and overdone. There was a good spot off the floor for accessing the luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay but not 4* standard compared to others we've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired and worn carpets. Shower didn't work properly. ( sprayed water up on the ceiling) Door knob on bedroom door in need of attention ( ready to fall off). Hole in floorboard so carpet dips into it ( trip hazard).

    The staff were all very helpful. Room was clean. Bottle of water in room nice touch. Good sized room. Towels nice and fluffy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Will be back despite the clock chiming n the steak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our room because the chapel bell kept us awake most of the night .,the steaks we ordered were very tough but the general manager joe was so apologetic n changed my steak .

    Bed comfy,lovely hotel,great location,great staff n so willing to help .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very good, a nice welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had was above the outdoor bar so was a little noisy, however it is understandable that people want to use this area in the good weather

    The staff were very good, a nice welcome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The staff were remarjably professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ALL excellent. Thank you.

    The staff were remarjably professional and helpful. We were able to take our 2 dogs which is rare for a hotel of this standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Our favourite hotel in Conwy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    m/a

    This is our "go to hotel" in Conwy. Have never been disappointed with our room of staff. It can get quite busy, and although we have never eaten in the Hotel, it has a good food trade from guests and passers by alike. Parking is on site, however the rear car park takes some handling for larger cars. It maybe better to park on the hotels car park across the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking outside space. It was a lovely evening on our arrival but nowhere pleasant to sit outside. There was an area with chairs but was not at all inviting.

    Central location. Friendly, helpful staff. Can recommend food here for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice, friendly hotel but would not stay in the same room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying hum constantly heard in the room, staff apologetic but we got told different reasons for the cause of this and they were unable to rectify the problem.

    Room light airy and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Well presented boutique hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well presented hotel in a great location with friendly staff. The rooms and decor definitely live up to a description as a boutique hotel. Great central location for the town and well placed for the surrounding areas. We added the option of a cooked breakfast at a great reduced rate which was excellent with a good choice. Nice cosy bar with a good selection on tap. Plenty of parking available which is a bonus considering the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved Conwy as a base for days out; lovely stay in a hotel with the best welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was in need of some tlc ( decoration) and quite dark) but I think the hotel is being gradually decorated . The very dark staircase was slightly concerning- not sure why it couldn't be lit well.It was a little difficult for anyone who wasn't very secure on their feet!

    Every single member of staff was friendly, polite and so helpful!! Really made us feel welcome and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is decorated to match it's history which may not to be everyone's taste- dark-coloured wallpaper.. . I usually prefer more modern hotels but feeling so comfortable more than made up for this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfy but too small when you're used to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dusty around the skirtings etc. But my main issue was where the price Booking.com gave me was £135 in total. when I checked the bill the hotel had charged me £150 I didn't realise till I got home as there were other things on there do somewhere there is miscommunication but other than that no problems would go again.

    Bed was comfy but too small when you're used to a superking. Breakfast was good although could do with background music as it was very quiet no body dare make a noise you could here a pin drop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay and very pleasant staff. Ideal location, good food and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor a bit tired but inline with room rate. Continental breakfast lacking but cooked breakfast ample. Wines a bit pricey - need a larger variety.

    Bed was very comfortable and staff were delightful. Restaurant food good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like having to enter personal details when accessing free wifi, this should be optional.

    Very interesting property, with a nice bar and good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay although did not live up to our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not as advertised on your site. We were two friends and only a double bed. Furniture was quite dusty. Marks on bathrobe and no slippers as stated on your site.

    Dinner was very good although restaurant was quiet so little atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place and great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems the chef at th start of the week was not as good later in the week. If we did not let the staff know we were residents then we did seem to think the service was not as good. Once we let them know we received a much better service. We had room 14 and on Tuesday morning around about 7am the glass and bottle collection emptied the bins right under our window which was open due to the heat, not happy as I told the person on the desk I did not want an early morning call being our first night and needed a good rest.

    Well stocked bar. Food tasty when not over cooked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    After attending a family funeral, we had a very pleasant stay with staff being very understanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect.

    The breakfast was fantastic we could'nt decide between the smoked haddock on a rostti or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, when we told the waitress that we were undecided, she suggested the smoked salmon on the rossti & we were not disapointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed to take part in a local half marathon. Beautiful period property with friendly helpful staff, nothing seemed too much effort for them. The evening meal was fantastic; well known dishes but exceptionally done. The room was well laid out and the bed allowed a good nights sleep (great as we had travelled 5 hours to get there!). The entrance to the rear car park is a little tight depending on the type of car you have (this was once a coaching inn) but we managed it, just go slow. Conwy itself is beautiful - we’d love to go back and would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and the staff helped us with a booking by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com messing up our booking.

    Excellent location and the staff helped us with a booking by upgrading when booking.com messed up our original booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Thanks for a great 3 days, we had a wonderful time and will be recommending your hotel to our friends
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather hot and I understand that it is an old building but air conditioning would make it much more comfortable for guests during summer. I did hear a number of other guests talking about how hot it was and they weren't particularly happy. Also a bar fridge and safe in the room might be worth considering. If the room had air conditioning then my score would probably have been 10!

    Staff were wonderful, location amazing and the rooms were a great size. Having the bar open for guests until late is terrific customer service and appreciated by us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Nice room - great location - great restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building and I am tall - some of the doorways are a bit short of six feet. Other than that - it was one of our best stays in the UK

    The hotel restaurant is maybe the best in town and they have a great bar as well. The location is unbeatable and they had parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and dog friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told the wrong time for breakfast, and as a result, we had to go out for this. Just a misunderstanding but was a little irritating nonetheless. Everything else was fab.

    Comfortable, clean and dog friendly. An absolute delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location for a short break in north wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were very helpful and cheerful. Room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Food in the restaurant was excellent and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    A perfect quirky place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to use the shower as it was in a bath that had limited access due to being built into a wall. The room was above the outside area which wasn’t an issue until some loud people sat out, but they left at closing time.

    The staff, decor, cleanliness, facilities, food and it’s very good location were all great. The Castle has a welcoming feel and an individuality that made it all the more charming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    We were also room upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 120, the TVs channels are limited, remote control is a little faulty, the room lighting is very low

    Location is excellent, the bar is great, parking in rear of hotel is good, the people are good, the price is right

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, pleasant hotel, room not good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (201) was very small for the price, so small that it's difficult for two people to move around in and quite hard to get down one side of the bed. The bathroom was possibly larger than the bedroom but a bit tired, the shower didn't work well and the water flow rate from the taps was very low. All in all it was OK but at £115 including breakfast that room felt significantly overpriced.

    The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. Generally the public rooms and corridors are nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Nicely renovated room in a great location. The rest of the hotel is in need of a redo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallways, restaurant and reception area are old, cluttered and dark - in need of a renovation. The breakfast was not inspired - no fresh fruit.

    The room was great. Very clean and had been fully renovated recently. Staff was professional. The location is terrific and the outside of the building is charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value & location for Conwy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator, so stairs to climb. Hotel needs a little updating.

    Great location in center of Conwy; historic building and lots of character; good food & drink; staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We would stay again and I think that says enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the bar for a drink before the evening meal and I went and sat at a table, I was rudely told to move by a member of staff as she had just reserved that table. I think she should have said something like "I'm really sorry but I've just taken a reservation for their table, would you mind moving to this table here and we are sorry" Blarr Blarr .......

    the room was a good size, equipped with everything you would need. The staff in the hotel and restaurant where helpful, friendly and pleasant. The evening meal in the resurant was perfect and so was the breakfast the following morning. Can not ewcommend it enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we had was lovely but it had a small corridor to the bathroom which had a window, but there was no curtain on it so in the early hours of the morning the light just flooded in.

    comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Well located luxury stay
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only the cut off for food in the restaurant which was 9pm 10 pm would be better ;-)

    The facilities for my dog Bernard! The room was lovely perfect size and the bed was v comfortable Stunning castle view Bar very friendly and well located in Conwy Tea & Coffee making facilities with chocolate!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely New attic Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls are very noisy, no air conditioning and the room was very stuffy and hot with 2 small windows to open. Mainly clean room and en-suite, more attention to detail would suit the price range. Crumbs on sofa as we entered the room, the bathroom chrome fixtures were all watermarked. The edges of the shower were not clean. The shower door opens out and the toilet is right next to it. Very silly place to put the shower door. The toilet roll was already half used and there was one spare. One of the bath towels was very frayed and thread were hanging off one side.

    Great location as it’s on the main road. The room is a great size. Decor is beautiful with beams and a lovely botanical print. The breakfast was really nice and staff are really very very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff werevery nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I was furnished with was on top floor. Some low beams bisect the room and the bathroom has a low entryway. I ended up witha concussion. Don't take the top floor rooms unless you are a shorter person.

    Staff werevery nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just lovely! Booked very last minute ie the morning of my stay! Staff food location was all excellent! I must say I have travelled a fair bit but the quality and value for the food provided was excellent! The staff were great! So all I can say is well done to the staff and management of the Castle Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is a home run. Wonderful hotel situated in a perfect location in the lovely town of Conwy. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. Parking was convenient right across the street from the hotel. The hotel bar was nice and we enjoyed our nightcaps there as well as dinner one night. Excellent breakfast. Very nice rooms and comfortable beds. I would stay there longer next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator, but the stairs were easy enough.

    Nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor. Old hotel, but well maintained. Room was nice - bed was a double twin (bolted together - and was lovely. We didn't get breakfast (extra 10 GBP pp and we certainly didn't need to eat another meal each day!). They had laundry service, expensive, but needed. Got the shirts back the same day. They had two parking lots which was very nice. No charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    We usually visit this hotel every year but a decline in standards in the last 2 years is evident.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 106 which is far too small for two adults and a small dog. The headboard of the bed consisted of metal bars which swallowed the flimsy pillows and made good nights sleep impossible. The full welsh breakfast was disappointing and lacked black pudding which was out of stock. On previous stays at this hotel our pet was well catered for but not on this occasion. There were no dog treats on arrival and the other items generally supplied. Sadly this hotel is now overpriced and not worth a 4 star rating anymore.

    The staff were excellent but spent most of their time apologizing for issues that made our stay mediocre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel so convenient in the centre of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No too keen on corner bath in the room. Breakfast service on last day very slow. Coffee cold and not good but they brought fresh when I requested. Morning papers not delivered on two days

    Very comfortable bed. Dinner excellent. Location was brilliant. Outside courtyard good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    lovely old hotel, beautifully renovated room and bathroom, but no lift and low water pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait for the fruit salad, chef was making it, but in too much hurry to peel the oranges. Husband's bacon and eggs came with ONE rasher! Would really prefer a buffet, it is a lot of trouble to get a sole waiter to bring everything you want.

    nothing stands out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff pleasant making a good welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a single traveller I was not over pleased to be put in a large double bed. The duvet was the size required for a large double bed & did not make for cosiness on a cold night!

    Breakfast good although there seemed to be a shortage of staff to organise this. Enjoyed evening meal with very caring service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in great city center location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be prepared there is no lift - but the staff will help get your bags to your room!

    Wow - the staff were excellent and the room was updated and lovely. Food in restaurant was fantastic - good for vegetarians. Parking was great - on site!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, better than expected, helpful & friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue was that two different prices were quoted for breakfast - £17 in literature, £10 quoted by staff

    Lovely old hotel, bonus points for the hallway lighting, antique furniture in the rooms, huge comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 204 - The water pressure was terrible and the water took a very long time to heat up!

    Overall a lovely, stylish hotel with great staff who made you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, shame about the staff. All of them very nice, but just not trained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff training needed. Almost all appeared to be new with no one person in charge For instance on the first day, we had to wait around 5/6 minutes, because no one was tending the bar area.we had to ask another member if staff if they could find someone. This was just one instance of staff not appearing to know what they were doing. The bar area in particular was manned by staff not trained for this job., The evening menu was very, very poor for hotel charging £120 per night WITHOUT breakfast. This is North Wales not a large city.

    Just a very Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in middle of lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy late at night with drinkers ncoming in to use bar. Food a bit mixed with burghers/fries dominating. Car park entrance very tight and spaces limited.

    lovely bedroom, very comfy bed. friendly helpful staff. Great location in middle of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was historic and old fashioned in an interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several floorboards in our bedroom seemed to be rotted and the room was very dark. It’s a very old building and needs some repair and better lighting. Staff in the office could be more welcoming.

    The hotel was historic and old fashioned in an interesting way. It was an easy walk from everything. The staff in the dining room were attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in Conwy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very narrow entrance to the parking lot in the back. Coming from America with a bit larger car it was intimidating at first with only inches on either side of the car, but we got used to it. Bathroom was very nice, but the shower flow was lower than normal.

    The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Food and "pub" area was great, with good coffee in the morning. Staff were a pleasure to interact with. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great mini break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    The staff bent over backwards to assist us as I have limited mobility and needed to access my mobility scooter. Regardless of the time of day or how busy they were I was never left waiting. Can't fault them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely relaxing and interesting short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very helpful staff and a really luxurious bedroom. We had an evening meal in the hotel on arrival and it was very tasty, with great wine. This hotel is in the centre of Conwy ,with great historical attractions and interesting shops and cafes on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Good, friendly, hotel in a fabulous location with very comfortable rooms, that is nearly top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main restaurant serves what I'd call good pub food rather than hotel restaurant quality cuisine, and the restaurant staff seemed young, inexperienced and a little chaotic........very nice and friendly, helpful and well meaning, but it doesn't look like they've had proper training from an experienced manager. Seating in the bar area is also not as inviting as one might expect in a hotel of this quality.

    Very comfortable room with a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    This was a very cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug by the mirror to do your hair, mirror should be located above the dressing table? Very hard to get ready! Breakfast is £18, but £10 if booked. This certainly wasn’t worth the money. One thin sausage and tiny bacon and the fried bread was rock hard. The single room was very small, wouldn’t book a single again would rather pay extra for another twin, felt a bit stuffy and dark

    This was a very cozy hotel. Location was ideal for us with easy parking. The twin room was beautifully decorated, enjoyed sitting in the lovely chairs having a drink before going out with friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was absolutely fabulous. Staff lovely. Nothing to much for them. Had a family emergency at home so had to leave early. Reception were so helpful. Want to thank everyone will definitely be going back. Thankyou once again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Not great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy seaside hotel in heart of Conwy. Booked last minute on booking.com as their own website was showing a higher price, although on arrival the receptionist was having none of it so basically calling us liars. Not a great welcome. We were informed that our rate of £144.50 did not include the vegan breakfast we had requested on the booking form, but for an extra £20 this could be provided. Oh dear. Extortionate and bad practice. We declined. Sixteenth century bed was most uncomfortable we've ever slept in. I'm only 5 foot 6" but my feet banged against the footboard all night. King Charles surely only slept in it once himself. Tea tray not stocked with any luxury drinks that you might expect for the room rate, very basic tea coffee that's it. No fresh milk or alternatives (Soy, oat milk) offered. Kettle was not near a power point so had to move it to the dressing table. One pack of ordinary biscuits between us. Not that they were suitable for our diets anyway. I've stayed in B&B's for half the price that have provided hand made biscuits with thought for our dietary requests. That's service. This hotel looks luxurious but the service element is very lacking for the prices charged. It could be sooo much better. And yes, I know as I work in the hospitality industry. I would say avoid the Castle Hotel, and look for a friendly homely B&B in Conwy instead. And save loads of money.

    A traditional historical property with lovely old furnishings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, comfortable & friendly, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost of the evening dinner was a little expensive.

    Hotel was clean & comfortable with very friendly staff, the location was excellent. Found the history of the hotel to be very interesting & the decor reflected this very well, enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On site restaurant and rooms were fantastic. We stopped for the night, but it was a lovely town to wander after a lovely meal. The parking made it easy to arrive and depart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing dog friendly hotel and staff couldn’t do enough for you. Superb customer service and gorgeous rooms, we will definitely be returning. We also ate in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous, would highly recommend 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    very nice place, excellent location, dated charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was hair in the bathtub:( TV remote was missing form the room. Had to ask the reception, and were told that this is too late at night, etc. we had to insist on getting a remote control from another empty room.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable & comfortable stay - would recommend & come again. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a minor point - not the best scrambled egg !

    Everything in general,staff were very friendly & helpful - nothing too much trouble.We asked for an early check-in, as attending late pm wedding & they obliged, for which we were very grateful. Room& rest of hotel was very cosy, homely & comfortable,nice touches. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Super historic hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    Superb hotel in central location. Decor is beautiful and rooms are gorgeous. Staff are all absolutely lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. I've stayed here 3 times now with my dog and the welcome is always great. Can't wait to go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    An excellent short break in Conwy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door! Difficult to access shower which was over the bath

    Zoe the receptionist was very helpful. The service she provided was first class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Good visit to a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night the room was hot and when we opened the windo there was a lot of street noise We asked and they turned off the radiator but street was still noisy. We want the a la carte breakfast and they were confused no butter

    Comfortable room. Clean. Friendly staff. Nice amenities. Great sausages

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay at the Castle Hotel - would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ambiance in the hotel was perfect. I love anything historical, and the info book in the room with the details of the property was fascinating. Location was excellent; very convenient within Conway and to get to other locations. Restaurant/pub had a good variety of food and drinks; service was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Had a great 3 day stay here, lovely town and castle to view. Amazing vanilla slices at the bakery!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General cleanliness could be better in the rooms and restaurant. One of the staff members (cleaners) were overly confident about us not having a late checkout and was a bit discourteous towards me in the corridor. Regardless of the fact that I had late checkout already agreed, the golden rule known for good customer service is ‘the customer is always right!’

    The bedrooms are nice and in line with the town’s theme/character.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: