Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle House B and B 5 stars

Love Lane / Bull Lane, Denbigh, LL16 3LY , United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Denbigh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Antique weekends with atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Stanley
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommend good weather

    Breakfast was excellent, hosts were friendly and extremely helpful, rooms were large and comfortable, gardens and views were superb. Used to be an old girls school so an old classic building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend it! Cottage was like student digs.. this definitely should not be under 5*
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Dudley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the place!! This didn't have a drive it was an overgrown public footpath.. the cottage was behind the house and was not suitable for children very dark and spooky!! Refused to stay there when I seen it..

    Very hard to find and road leading up to property was not a road but a public footpath that was over grown and very spooky!! Would not stay there!! This is definitely not five star

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    A haven of elegance, peace and exquisite setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Stanley
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather expensive; the room cost of £280 for 2 nights for two of us did not include breakfast.

    The room was splendid, as was the house and the views of the Clwydian mountains was stunning. The most beautiful place we have stayed in UK, we absolutely loved it. Helpful, friendly hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A real treat, I wish I had booked for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Gee
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was over and above.

    A fabulous house in a fabulous situation! The room and en-suite were: 1, HUGE; 2, sumptuous; 3, extremely comfortable; 4, very stylish; 5, full of little fabulous extras - a heart-shaped box with cookies, a teapot(!) , etc, etc - just go there!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Luxurious room in a beautiful house with stunning views and accommodating hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lucky Dip
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could fault nothing

    Very luxurious room and bathroom with a rolltop bath. beautiful old house in a quiet location with stunning views. Hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Offered to give us a lift into the town if we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic b&b overlooking gorgeous Welsh countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only slight issue was that the bed was a little small for a tall man. Not a big issue though.

    The hosts are extremely welcoming and made the trip extra special for a lone traveller! View from the well maintained gardens was lovely. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    fabulous period property with great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lucky Dip
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness not as expected for a 5 star. Maybe I'm being a bit picky but lots of dead flies about!!!

    Fantastic tasty breakfast cooked to order. Great location although views out of the property face out into the countryside you can take a 2 minute walk out of the back of the property and you are in the heart of the town. Fantastic for pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Room without a view nor much natural light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the view from the car park over the flatlands was superb. Unfortunealty the aspect of the house was such that the view was only available from a small seating area on the far side of the gravel car park rather than the lawns, grounds or downstairs rooms. I had arrived around 4pm with some bread and artisan cheeses and German wheat beer fully expecting to spend the evening relaxing in the garden enjoying an al-fresco dinner / desert until sunset. Unfortuneatly having booked fazackally which is a room butted up against other houses in the town such that the only window in the room was of a pillar box type and nine foot from the floor..Being faced with the prospect of staying in a room with little natural lighting reminiscent of a jail cell and some dusty dinning on the edge of the car park, I aborted the stay and headed fort home and a two and a half hour journey,. Enjoying instead a lovely meal in the Shropshire town, of Bridgenorth and a wonderfully comfortable bed and an excellent view of the parkland outside my own window strewn home.

    The reviews were fantastic and the house as described, seemed to have sumptuously furnished rooms and extensive grounds and gardens. The deacoration was tasteful if a little chintzy but had garden cottage character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely building, very friendly owners and comfy bed .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky to find. Had assumed Breakfast was included in the booking price so an extra cost for that was unexpected

    Lovely building, very friendly owners and comfy bed .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    The cottage was in a very historical area of Denbigh on top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage Suite - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cottage was in a very historical area of Denbigh on top of the hill next to the castle and castle walls. The bed was super comfy, the cottage was lovely and warm with nice furnishings. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    The B and B was situated in a great location, Denbigh was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The B and B was situated in a great location, Denbigh was easily in walking distance with Betws-y-Coed just over 30 minutes drive. The accommodation was excellent, the whole place was lovely and our bedroom was a great size and very well presented. We really enjoyed the breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday morning. Friendly and helpful hosts who recommended places to visit in the area. We had an excellent time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful furnishings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Gee
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been warmer!

    Beautiful furnishings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    It wos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wos. Just lvely and. Clean and the staff wos very helpful and the rooms Wos just. Lvely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Dudley
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any little extras we asked for were accomodated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Extremely welcoming owners and a great breakfast!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located up a lane which is narrow in places

    Extremely welcoming owners and a great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    3.8
    ****
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in times were finished stupidly early

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing views, lovely sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little scary as up hill and through a tiny gap!

    Amazing views, lovely sized rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous bank holiday break- we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage Suite - Leicester
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property, very friendly and helpful owners, beautiful surroundings and some great pubs and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Gee
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One clear sign !!

    The owners, th breakfast ,the ground development of the place the history a great place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    The bed was very comfy;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Dudley
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the morning for a shower.

    The bed was very comfy; decor very tasteful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully presented property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully presented house, rooms and atmosphere. Extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A real treat to stay somewhere so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle House was fabulous. Hosts were wonderful, rooms beautiful and surroundings lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Best service I have found in the entire UK.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Best service I have found in the entire UK. The people running the place are very nice and supportive. I would strongly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Georgian opulence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little difficult to find but no real problem.

    Owners very accommodating and room splendid. Views superb and I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    My stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Dudley
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a beautiful place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    friendly excellent and pleasant place for a weekend out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit of dust needed wiping but not bad

    friendly and homely

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Pleasant Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and Welcoming

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely decorated rooms, beautiful view and an extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely decorated rooms, beautiful view and an extremely comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Luvly jubly
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, views, beautiful b&b Owners were very welcoming and really looked after us

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    Angie & Charlie were fantastic hosts , welcoming us into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Angie & Charlie were fantastic hosts , welcoming us into their unique , beautiful home. The decor, the history, the amazing grounds ripe for exploring , together with such genuinely affable and helpful hosts made it the best b & b stay we have ever experienced.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    The owners were lovely people and the views over the country...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the fazakerley room which didn't have a window as such just one in the adjacent en suite which made the room feel claustrophobic. The green bed runner and matching pillows were stained the bed was comfortable but the springs were very noisy so woke me up every time my partner turned over .

    The owners were lovely people and the views over the country side from the garden and dining room were great .

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    This is a jewel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a jewel. Stunning rooms with incredible attention to detail. Beautiful fabrics and window treatments and a view of North Wales that would be hard to match. I am a very frequent traveler to many international destinations (and stay at five star hotels -- I mention this as a point of reference). The beds at the Castle B&B rank at the very top. The couple who run it are thoughtful and intelligent -- and happy to leave you alone if that's what you wish. I'm not a fan of B&Bs in general -- but this place simply rocks.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    The house is incredibly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect.

    The house is incredibly beautiful. The place is rich of history and charm. View from the garden is stunning. Service and rooms are 5 star quality with a family hotel touch. One of the best hotel/B&B I ever used in the world (and I travel a lot).

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    lovely warm welcome, beautifully decorated and well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lovely warm welcome, beautifully decorated and well appointed room, great attention to detail. owners very friendly and helped me feel right at home. great choice at breakfast and thankfully a proper milk jug on my tea tray, none of the vile uht milk here!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    A great place to relax, beautiful guest room, freindly...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Can't find anything to mention.

    A great place to relax, beautiful guest room, freindly owners that went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    The property;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fact that we could not stay and enjoy the place longer.

    The property; a Georgian built house in a fantastic location almost within the walls of Denbigh Castle. The views from the house and the large gardens. The house and rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated in a classic style. Excellent choice for breakfast. Hospitable hosts.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    9.6
    A very very warm welcome from hosts Charlie and Angie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked it all.

    A very very warm welcome from hosts Charlie and Angie. The warmth continued throughout my week's stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Set high up in the old castle walls, my room, 'Stanley', had a wonderful view of the Vale of Clwyd looking across to the Clwdian Hills and its highest point. Moel Famau. There is a beautiful, relaxing sitting room . The gardens would be lovely to sit out in summer and there is access to the old town walls . An easy walk to the town and walks without taking the car. very comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    The wonderful house which was really a huge family home, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wonderful house which was really a huge family home, the great welcome, the quality of all the furniture and fittings, the delicious breakfast, the great views from the rooms, outstanding! We had no difficulty in finding somewhere good to eat, despite being Boxing Day!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    Lovely spacious room with fantastic views across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely spacious room with fantastic views across Denbighshire. We even got a lift to our restaurant from the owners when no taxis were available.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful - and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful - and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location and interesting history, lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit expensive

    Beautiful location and interesting history, lovely views

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely warm welcome, great room, stunning views and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely warm welcome, great room, stunning views and excellent food/

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    The views of the Denbighshire country side from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room rather dark as the only window was in the ensuite bathroom.

    The views of the Denbighshire country side from the hotel garden.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Everything absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad thing to say

    Everything absolutely amazing Perect location and amazing views

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Very good accommodation, in a first rate location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite pricey.

    Very good accommodation, in a first rate location.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful room with a wonderful view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn't find a hairdryer.

    Beautiful room with a wonderful view. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    9.6
    Large rooms, lovely classic decor, friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large rooms, lovely classic decor, friendly owner. Nice decanter of port in two of the rooms.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: