Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Park Guest House 2 stars

75 Gilmore Place, Bruntsfield, Edinburgh, EH3 9NU, United Kingdom

#174 of 218 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 B&B reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    A Nice Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress was a little hard for me...This is down to personal preference though.

    Staff I met were friendly....it was nice and quiet at night and it's situated an easy walk from shops and theatres etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window latches need attention as the seals let in a draft.

    Clean, comfortable room. The staff let us check in early and took care of our bags until we returned that evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was comfortable,decent location and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff are not working after 7 pm makes it awkward for guests coming after that time to check in and if you need other assistance during the night.

    Hotel was comfortable,decent location and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and very cold (in September), double bed small. the accommodation was about 20 min walking from the centre.

    The breakfast was amazing. Car park available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location within walking distance of old city and castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated. Drapes fell off curtain rod, reported this to staff but didn't get them put back up. Internal shutters hanging off hinge. Breakfast not as expected.

    Good location within walking distance of old city and castle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    One day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only received self-check on details a few hours before arriving at the property and had not been able to receive this when I arrived. Was very confusing and had to ask a stranger to help me make a call as I am from another country and did not have cellphone reception

    The host was hospital and the breakfast was very nice. The bathroom was clean and there was lots of tea and coffee provided in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location for city centre, WiFi and parking for car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t the cleanest, parking is further down the road on someone’s drive which was a little hard to find, continental rather than cooked breakfast.

    Good location for city centre, WiFi and parking for car

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Good value for great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May have been a miscommunication, but bathroom was shared, not private exterior as I thought. No issues though ... the bathroom was very nice and modern.

    The staff was really thoughtful and helpful! The location was perfect ... I walked all over Old Town and New Town!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in quiet neighborhood with easy access to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was rather small, but well equipped

    Great view from my room on the top floor. The location was great and easy to get to the festival and city center with a bus stop right across the street. Shared shower and toilet was no issue and the facility was clean and nice to use.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great old apartment room in a wonderful city. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was basic but the room was lovely...old but with character. Great location. Parking was a little limited and jammed in but we appreciated having a space once we sorted it out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and everything was as expected,great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and everything was as expected,great value for money.once we found our bearings was great location bus stop right outside taking you In to town could be walked but was with my mum who couldn't walk far so found this great will definitely be back again next year for the tattoo

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The major problem I notice is the lock on the bathroom door is really old and it was a little difficult to open and close the door. It also made a lot of noise and when it's 3am and everyone is sleeping and you're trying to make as little noise as possible it is really not nice. So if you have to go to the bathroom often this room is probably not for you. Unfortunately, I missed breakfast the 3 nights I was there. Twice because of some tour and the last because of my plane and I was only given a lunch box once. The breakfast is also only serve for one hour (I think between 8am and 9am, can't remember), so it is pretty easy to miss... Also the reception is not always open and keep weird hours and I sometimes had to call on the phone to get someone.

    The inside of the bathroom had been recently renovated. I also met the landlady who was incredibly nice and gave me a lunch box because she knew I had to flew out early in the morning and would miss breakfast. The place is also very quiet and I could sleep without problems. The room was small but cosy. I would definetely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Location, very easy self check-in after the reception normal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, very easy self check-in after the reception normal operating hours, nicely decorated and spacious room, unbelievably comfortable mattresses for really resting sleep, good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    As above it was just right for our stay and we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a mat on the floor of the bathroom would have been good, and the breakfast time was a bit early and only for 1 hour.

    It was a lovely room just right for our weekend stay, the bed was comfortable the bathroom just right and added bonus a hairdryer. In a good location too. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Room was as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keys and locks took some time to get used to, would have liked easier access to room. Breakfast was only from 8 to 9am.

    Room was as described. External bathroom was located just outside the room. Breakfast included gluten free options. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    It had a friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a cooked breakfast but the continental breakfast was excellent......

    It had a friendly atmosphere..staff were excellent and very helpful....it was quiet at night so enjoyed a good nights sleep...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Grand for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bulb working in the three bulb ceiling light. The curtains and shutters both had issues closing and the bed/frame creaked on every movement. Breakfast was included but it didn't specify it was only continental. The shower had poor pressure.

    The property is very conveniently located for the Kings Theatre. Good price for the bank holiday weekend when other properties were considerably higher. There was plenty of choice at the continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing! Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place needed modernising, cleaning and a coat of paint. The bed was tiny but matched the quilt. Breakfast was terrible, cramp little room for the guest's with miserable service (what there was) I think this one slipped through the Scottish Tourist Board net of inspections!?

    easy access to Edinburgh city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place for overnight stay between flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    On arrival I was greeted by a very happy smiling host who helped me with my luggage to the second floor. My host then provided excellent directions to local places of interest and to eat. She also booked my taxi and provided a packed breakfast to go due to an early flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good location and extensive continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the hotel for the location and because they offered a parking space, which was very key to us. We planned to walk everywhere and found the location was good. Friendly staff and comfortable room. The guest house is rather dated but it was very clean and suited our needs very well The continental breakfast was plentiful and varied

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    The bedroom is big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the shower didn’t work in 4 days so we couldn’t took a shower. They charged us for breakfast but this is just from 8-9 thing completely ridiculous because if you are on holidays you normally wake up at 8:30-9:00 so you miss it as we do but the thing is they told us it once we arrived, not in advance.

    The bedroom is big and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice cozy hotel if you're on a budget..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please check the shower because the water coming out of there was almost cold. Not very pleasant. A new mattress wouldn't hurt either. And the remote control didn't work

    Breakfast was good! Sweet little Hotel with bus right in front of the building. Lovely staff! Would stay again for the price !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Quiet Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold. Curtains didn't close fully. No tea bags and not enough milk.

    Very comfortable bed. Freeview TV. No need to check in. Nice ensuite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for those who want a tidy room to return to after visiting the city. I'll come back again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazingly kind, i've been forced to stay longer because of the snow storm and they stopped my room for more days. Room and bathroom cleaned everyday, good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay. I had a good sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have love to have a taste of a traditional Scottish breakfast, but given the price of the room, it was fine the continental one. Enough coffee to start the day. Very good.

    good location, clean, cosy room. It´s wonderful to have a kettle with tea and coffee in the room. Value for money. Staff very kind and helpful. No noise at night, sleeping was perfect. Just what you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and a great host!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who runs the guest house is so lovely! When I said I would have to leave early in the morning to catch my flight and wouldn't make it to breakfast, she brought me a breakfast bag. I didn't even ask for it but she was so nice to provide it. :) Also the location is nice, lots of places to eat with different cuisines on offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Castle park guest house made our stay in Edinburgh comfortable and convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even after turning up the heater the room was a little chilly. The option of an extra blanket would be helpful.

    The beds were very comfortable. The WiFi was very fast, and the breakfast was very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have started at 7:30. I missed breakfast one day because I had a tour early in the morning.

    Good variety for breakfast. It is decent and affordable accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    Avoid unless have to or do not expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cold no hot water. Had to ring to ask them to put heating on. Curtains hanging off rails. Customer service or lack of. Breakfast certainly not quality. Noisy can hear every creek. I would deffo pay more to stay somewhere else next time. Just not a good experience at all. Pretty much ruined our great time in edinburgh eith the poor quality. Basics were cut im assuming to save money... showers need replacing. Heating should be on without asking .... it was December!

    The hair dryer in the room was decent.... only good thing. Breakfast was acceptable just, however 1hr for breakfast is poor and ran out of food. Rooms very basic but accetable but do not expect anything. Bus is handy for gettin to royal mile to far to walk really we did it one way an it took like 40mins.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Very close to Edinburgh city centre, walkable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing when we arrived at 3:30pm and no heating on till 5pm so climbed into bed! Was lovely and warm throughout the night. We was in room 3 shower a waste of time only a trickle from it!!

    Very close to Edinburgh city centre, walkable. The lady who was there to meet us on arrival and at breakfast was most cheery and full of local information.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Clean room and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple breakfast, lacking typical scottish breakfast Bathroom could have been cleaner (especially shower)

    Clean room and comfortable beds Nice staff and helpful Free WiFi with good connection Really good location, quiet and close to city center and good restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    Having parking facilities available was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with the property. We had no heating in our bedroom, and in November that is far from ideal. Cold and cramped. In need of some TLC.

    Having parking facilities available was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    When I arrived, both my room and bathroom were completely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are not so many places to eat out around the property. I had problems to lock and unlock the door.

    When I arrived, both my room and bathroom were completely cold; however, the staff turned on the heating immediately upon my request. They also gave me an extra blanket, just in case. Since my room was located on the second floor and I was there just for one night, they allowed me to store my luggage in a locked room downstairs which was very helpful as well. There is an easy access to Edinburgh airport by a night bus from Morrison Crescent - in about seven-minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the breakfast is not getting served until 09:00 was a dissapointment for me as I had to leave earlier and to have a take-away breakfast prepared one night before, which consisted in a croissant, a cake and an apple.

    The location is ok, the property looks quite old, but at this price you cannot ask for more. The room was clean and warm and had complimentary tea and instant coffee and the lady who welcomed me was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started off ok the first two days with quite a few choices. Continental breakfast. On the third day a different lady was serving. We had one small pot if tea between us. Cereal and Two slices of toast and jam. She had to get the bread from the freezer and then only put 4 slices on the table for everyone. You had to ask for more. Cheese and ham. A few croissants and that was it. We never saw this lady again she Sat in the kitchen having a coffee. At least the first lady made sure the two breakfast tables were full including the fridge with yoghurt and drinks. Also clearing the tables as people left.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent price/quality. A lot for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In their website they should note that the parking requires prior reservation because it is very limited and better suited for relative small cars.

    Staff were very friendly, excellent customer service. Unbeatable price/quality. Location is great. (Continental) Breakfast surprisingly good considering the price paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable and convenient for my needs, I would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better, I thought there could have been a full English provided.

    The staff were very helpful and obliging for any queries I asked them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    The guest house was only a walk away from downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was ok but could be intermittent at times.

    The guest house was only a walk away from downtown. There were lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    An excellent experience. Enjoyed myself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location---could walk to downtown. Close to pubs which offer excellent food. My room was small but cosy, very clean and had everything I needed. Very good selection of food for breakfast and excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed seemed quite old and made a lot of noise during night. Air conditioning in the bathroom was extremely loud.

    Hotel was very idyllic and family-run. It was located a little out of the city center but in a peaceful area close to many good quality restaurants. Staff was extremely nice and helpful and we felt very welcomed. Breakfast room was tiny but we had no problem to find an empty table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking provided so add at least an extra 10 pounds for a 1 night stay. A free parking was announced and booking.com says that reservation was not necessary --> this is NOT true ! That was a selection criteria for me and the owner did not even seemed to be sorry about it. The room looks old and dirty. Lots of things are in very bad shape see pictures. Nobody asked us the kind of breakfast we would want... So if you don't ask you will not receive anything but continental and coffee :-(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.8
    Staff problems and poor managing skills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks like they had a staff problem so we could not have breakfast in our second morning (which was included in the price), our room was not cleaned/made, the whole place looked unattended, etc. The manager, instead of taking a constructive approach, was very rude to us and had a defensive attitude. She even said that her staff problems were not HER problems (¿?). We did take breakfast in the first morning and it was not good at all but I don't think it was a consecuence of all this but the usual thing. I wouldn't recommend this place.

    The street was nice and quiet. Parking was provided and it was very convinient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Beds were comfortable and room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, no cooked breakfast availabe only cereal, bread which you could toast by yourself there was a limited selection of cold meats and sliced cheese or jam

    Beds were comfortable and room was very clean. There were also coffee and tea making facilities and a TV in the room. Free WiFi too which was a good bonus travelling with children

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Scentsy girls stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didnt like about the property

    It was a great b&b clean tidy helpfull staff room was great enougth room for 3 adults in our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that the front door key also opened the bedroom door. ? Can any key open any bedroom!?

    Beds were very comfortable. Nice big ensuite room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Good but not impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too hot. We could not sleep at nigh and there were not way to reduce the heat. It made our stay very uncomfortable.

    Staff was really nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and the view from dining area was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Inviting and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed seemed to be broken, there was a large dip in the mattress, making for a less comfortable sleep, as I kept falling into the dip. Breakfast, is simple with small variety and with packaged items.

    The woman who greeted us was SO kind, walking us to our room and bringing us maps and guides, offering suggestions of how to see and spend our time while there. She was respectful and provided us with many ideas! The house itself has so much character, with beautiful high ceilings and large windows. The bus stop across the street is very convenient when getting around. We were also able to leave our luggage there as we toured around, which we were very grateful for! Made travelling around so smooth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    A small friendly B&B with very friendly and helpful staff at a central location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No specific dislike. Early mornings tended to be cold [ after all in is Edinburgh] in bed- if the heating could come on a little earlier would be more comfortable.

    Clean en suite bath/toilet, Tea making facility in the room, free wifi, central location yet not noisy, very helpful staff, comfortable double bed I left some belongings whilst checking out -staff contacted me on my phone to arrange to return the belongings. Close to bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.5
    Lovely breakfast and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at seven at night and the lady who opened the door seemed to be surprised and complaint that we were late (even though Check in times on the website state 2- 8 or so) She didn't make us feel very welcome. The two girls who made breakfast were lovely though!

    Great cooked breakfast! Bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, great breakfast, clean comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent cooked breakfast extra toast if required. Lovely big room for three, comfy beds, warm room, clean towels daily. Easy access to city centre - walking distance or bus literally outside hotel. hotel staff very friendly kept our luggage on day of departure letting us keep a key to collect our bags whenever we wanted, resulting in making the most of our trip without carrying bags around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    4.2
    Ideal location, smelly and in need of a serious revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room absolutely stunk off smoke, the bedding and everything really badly smelled of smoke. It wasn't that the bedding was dirty it was fresh bedding but the whole place just stank of smoke and greasy cooking. The shower cubicle was filthy to the point we didn't use it. We also didn't realise till the taxi drivers told us that the guest houses in Edinburgh are letting the homeless people stay in them. I was looking for a plug to charge my phone and pulled the plug for the lamp out to fined the lamp at the side of the bed the plug was broken and the wires were all exposed this was a fire hazard. Also the dust behind the bed was actually disgusting. We got up first thing the next morning and left and came home for a shower. We can't rate breakfast as we didn't want to eat the food the smell of it was enough for us.

    The location of the property was great, the woman who checked us in was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Staff friendly & helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    B&B interior incredibly dated. Mismatched bad furniture, frightening electrics in bedroom, worn plugs, old sockets,old thin carpets, old (clean)towels etc. Very poor quality breakfast. Cheap nasty sausage etc. Wouldn't visit again or recommend but couldn't fault the staff.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Really pleasant. Clean bedding, bathroom & dining room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place, nice staff, good breakfast, room consistent with the description, great location- very close to the Castle, quiet and calm environment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looked nothing like the pictures on Bookings.com Establishment looked "tired" Car parking was a little strange - nearly got a parking ticket

    Breakfast was good Room was clean Location was good Value establishment - so got what I would expect - but based on pictures possibly expected better - this was chosen more for location & parking criteria but did base elements of selection on pictures of rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't connect to WiFi A slight tricky check-in

    Excellent breakfast Comfortable bed Good location - near bus stop, in takes about 10 minutes to get to the center Friendly and helpful staff Good prices for what I get

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Great Family Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not very strong. I did not bring my work with me, which was good as I would not have been able to connect well. I often go to Edinburgh for research and this would have been a concern for me.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They ensured we had an en-suite as I have two daughters and did not want them having to get up in the middle of the night to go out to the toilet. Everyone was quite friendly, which is great as my youngest makes friends everywhere we go. This is the only place she wants to stay next time we are in Edinburgh :) It is less than a mile's walk to the Castle and the Royal Mile, plus there are restaurants and a Sainsbury and Tesco right around the corner. The city busses pick up and drop off almost on the door step. For a family, this is great. We took the bus one morning but found it easier to walk everywhere so we could see all the shops and enjoy the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little bit uncomfortable but fine!

    Very quiet and peaceful, and everything is in walking distance. Nice private rooms and bathroom Lovely to include a basin and mirror in my single bedroom, and a tray of tea and coffee and biscuits with a tv too! Staff were lovely at breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    very basic, old furniture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom

    pretty good continental breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little dated, but there was plenty of light.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Probably would not stay here again because I can afford better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No common area like a living room. Did not have remote control for TV. Stairs were step and thin.

    Low cost

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Castle Review
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly people. Convenient location for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay within 15 minutes walk of centre recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress as discussed with landlady she appreciated feedback and said it would be changed

    I have already done this with you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    It was very clean, comfortable and quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Highly recommended. The staff were also very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very cozy room, close to city centre and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cozy room, close to city centre and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't use garden.

    Good location for visiting. Restaurants close by. Rooms are not remarkable but fine for a night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep and narrow in places for the children.

    The bedroom was very nice. Children liked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Zona tranquila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alejado del centro. Far from the city centre.

    Zona tranquila. Quiet zone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Castle Park guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major problem,but my room was small with the bathroom across the landing.

    Clean,comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.0
    Close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work. Curtains need reattaching to the rail.

    Close to the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    L'arret de bus en face, la place de parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'arret de bus en face, la place de parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast

    Bed was comfy. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, cozy room, very nice place and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast, cozy room, very nice place and building. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Not worth £80, I wouldn't go here again. The staff on site were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed hard, no hot water, curtains falling off, breakfast very poor - very long life pastries.

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Value for money was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor value for money... very average and really nothing special in comparison to other places in Scotland...no effort made poor bathroom facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75