Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Lothian hotel reviews
  4. Edinburgh hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel - Adult Only

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel - Adult Only This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

15 Johnston Terrace, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH12PW, United Kingdom

#13 of 157 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 526 hostel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2019

    10
    The location if fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s such a huge space with with care to detail. The really went all in with the old town, castle feel.

    The location if fantastic. So close to everything you’d ever want to do in Edinburgh

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    8.8
    Nice hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows could be more confortable Doors made too much noise No room to change in the bathroom

    Great location Wifi works everywhere Awesome building, kitchen, rest area Lockers in the room

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    9.6
    Very good, cannot expect anything more from a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place located 50 meters away from the Castle. The place has a huge lounge-room appealing to relax, drink and chat. Staff is super-friendly and often organize some events, I had a lot fun in beer-pong. The breakfast was amazing, did not expect that oat meal could taste so good. Highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    8.3
    It’s front of Castle, so you don’t need to walk and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel my room wasn’t clean or they don’t clean on daily basis.

    It’s front of Castle, so you don’t need to walk and in centre of Edinburg it was my best hostel throughout my tour London to Edinburgh, Glasgow. Great Experience

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    8.3
    They had organised activities every night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really appreciated the ability to extend my stay for an extra night that was sold out online. Though this meant that for the entirety of my stay I was then moved to the volunteer room (i probably should have just been moved for that one night). The entire floor was for staff. Good news was most of the time I had the room to myself. Bad news was that it wasn’t great for meeting people. Volunteers tend to hang out together which is understandable! Would be a much better experience staying with other travellers so make sure you’re in a regular dorm room!

    They had organised activities every night. Definitely don’t miss the pub crawl it is a lot of fun and you get so much for free! The location is perfect! I’d definitely stay here again next time I’m in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    9.2
    Hostel Mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were a bit stuffy as it is hard to regulate the time windows are open with the roommates

    Location is great! Right in the centre of old town overlooking the Edinburgh Castle. Besides the hostel itself looks like a mansion with some many floors and hidden passages. Even if you are traveling alone the hostel makes it super easy to socialize with other travellers in multiple common rooms and lounges. Also Castle Rock organises loads of activities in the afternoon so even if you have no plan, you will enjoy your stay there. Plenty of bathrooms with hot water and powerful water stream.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    Solo traveler heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 14-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing staff that were so keen to help and so accommodating. Having the secure luggage storage was super helpful considering I was only staying one night. Room was massive for 12 people and was cleaned every day as was every other area of the hostel. Bathrooms were clean and fun and the showers were amazing! They had activities organised for every night which was a great way to make friends. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other solo travellers. Great breakfast for only £1.50!! Better than some that I’ve paid a lot more for Best hostel I’ve ever stayed at

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    Excellent location, very receptive staff and pleasant facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was the only thing that I didn't enjoy there. But thanks to the location I had plenty other places to choose from. It compensates

    Overall, my first experience in a hostel, in a 6 bed mixed room was no mistake. Rock Castle is an excellent choice for both location and atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    10
    A cozy place that feels like you're living in Harry Potter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a unique and lovely hostel right by the castle and everything you need so getting around is seamless. The place is HUGE, and it feels like you're living in a Harry Potter movie. There's plenty of space to hang out and be social, or just veg and watch TV. The kitchen is well equipped and it all made for a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    8.3
    Well organized, 24/7 reception, great pub crawls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 10gbp deposit was a little surprising, came in the evening and did not have cash on me, while I was not comfortable leaving my only travel ID with the staff as alternative. It was mentioned in the message though but I missed it. Maybe adding that info on the main page here would be a good idea.

    Well organized, 24/7 reception, great pub crawls and activities, attracts a nice community of responsible backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    9.6
    Location and recommendations from staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My pillow could have been better. It was very lumpy and probably should be gotten rid of. Though if I had been super concerned I'm sure I could have asked for a new one.

    Location and recommendations from staff was awesome. The free hot drinks was a nice touch and the breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    10
    Honestly one of my best hostel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I stayed so short ! ahaha

    Honestly one of my best hostel experience ever. I even went back because this hostel is the best. Staff is happy, there's something happening every night and it is so easy to make friends in this hostel. I also really like that dorms are mixed it makes the experience more lively.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    9.6
    The hostel is next to the castle, in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel is next to the castle, in the old town. The staff from reception were so kind and polite and also willing to help me with information with a smile on their faces. The toilets and showers are unexpectedly very clean, and you can always find toiletries (left by someone else, obv). I was staying in a 10beds room with males and females, the room was very clean (same with the sheets) and also very big! Each bed has its own plugs! The wifi is free and it works as it should!The hostel also organise pub crawls and many other things to do all together, so its very easy to make friends I really enjoyed my holidays in that hostel! I’d absolutely recommend you this hostel!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    10
    Very impressive location and the hostel is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People farting in the room. ;)

    This is the best hostel and most cheap priced I have ever visited. I’m very impressed about the perfect location and the cosy environment at the hostel. I’ll defenetly visit again next time I’m in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    10
    Best hostel I have stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easily the best hostel I have stayed at. Staff really knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. Social events each night were a tonne of fun! Location is perfect, facilities all really clean and well set out. Amazing common areas - the place is huge! Breakfast is good value for money. So easy to make friends as a solo traveller- can not recommend this place enough! I

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    7.1
    Great location and ambiance, but quite uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get a good night's sleep. The 4-bed female dorm was small and crammed, I was sleeping on the top bunk of uncomfortable and creaky bed. There are no curtains on the beds so turning on the light at night will bother people who are trying to sleep. The bathrooms were cold and awkwardly equipped (and sort of mixed, which did not make me feel particularly safe). No sockets for hairdryers either, only in the bathroom. Keep in mind that there is no elevator - my room was on the 3rd floor.

    Wonderful common areas, group activities every day, perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff, generous breakfast. Free luggage storage on the day of check-in and check-out. Toiletries provided. Loved the guitar lounge. Great price/location value.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    10
    Best hostel I’ve stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best hostel I’ve stayed at. Would definitely stay there again if I were to go ever go back to Scotland & I’ll be recommending the Castle Rock to EVERYONE at home!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    8.8
    Great location, very nice staff and great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our dorm was right below the bathroom upstairs so it was a bit annoying at night time. And the curtains didnt cover the whole windows in my dorm

    Great location, very nice staff and great atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    Very central, huuuge hostel with several great lounges and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The usual things that come with big, commercialised places: no free towels (£1 hire fee), a lot of rules such as only being granted entry to the place upon showing the hostel card so technically it‘s not allowed to bring friends to hang out and baggage stowage is only possible til 9pm. Also just by the size of it, the experience gets a little more anonymous as people spread over a whole manor house basically. That shouldn‘t keep you from booking this place though! :)

    Very central, huuuge hostel with several great lounges and common rooms, comfortable beds and hot showers! Free coffee is very nice too and the place is really clean :) Plus, you‘re allowed to bring your own drinks to have at the hostel!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    9.6
    The location is great, it is very clean, the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, it is very clean, the staff is really helpful and the rules are great for travellers - you can chech out and still use the common areas and the luggage storage until 9pm for free.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    Everyone was always kind and really helpful when i had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was always kind and really helpful when i had questions about the hostel and the surrounding areas. From the hostel is a really short walk to go to everywhere the city has to offer, not to mention the activities in the evening,a nice idea to get to know other people. Everything was clean and well organised, it was my first time in a hostel and i must say, i was amazed by how well was kept, i'll definitely go there if i'll be back in edinburgh!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.6
    The place is great and the staff is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ... the sheets' strong perfume of fabric softener is too strong and can really bother one's sleep

    The place is great and the staff is amazing. It is perfectly clean but...

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast was affordable at £1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelled like stinky feet. To help with the smell, people opened the windows which helped a bit but then the room was super cold Didn't like how they used old fashioned keys. I much prefer the key card.

    Breakfast was affordable at £1.50. they had peanut butter and Nutella. Coffee was the instant kind. Beds and pillows were comfortable Location convenient to seeing all the sites.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    The best hostel I've visited.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 14-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best hostel I've visited. The stuff is friendly, the rooms are big and nice, it's very clean, location-wise it's right next to the castle and 5-7 minutes away from everything important in the old part of Edinburgh. It's close also to the Waverly station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money & super friendly vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only gripe I have is the ladders on the bunk beds. They're very impractical and make it unnecessarily difficult and awkward to climb up to or down from the top bunk. All the hostel needs to do to fix this issue is have the ladder handles extend slightly past the edge of the top part of the bunk - that way there's something to hold onto as you move onto the bed instead of grappling the other side of the bed for something to hold to pull yourself up or lower yourself down from.

    Great location for a great cost. Lovely vibe at the hostel and everyone I met there was super friendly. Also it was wonderfully warm in all areas which was very much needed since I visited in December and it was low single digit degrees outside!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay in edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was extremely polite and helpfull, the location is a few meters from the castle, it is a perfect place to meet a lot of people and see the edinburgh. the bathrooms and the rooms was as clean as possible, it was for sure a great experience, value for money!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.3
    I loved the location and the hostel atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds weren't the comfiest and could be a bit cramped.

    I loved the location and the hostel atmosphere. It was so cozy and the communal spaces were great. I also think the staff were amazing. Each person I talked to was so friendly and eager to help me. I really enjoyed my time here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Nice Convenient Hostel Close to Edinburgh Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No early check-in.

    TV room, cheap breakfast, clean bathrooms and just a stone's throw away from Edinburgh castle. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The place feels like home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    Cozy mini castle by the Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly it was amazing I only felt a little rushed whenever I was talking to staff but they were busy so that's understandable. The only thing I could think of to improve it is an elevator (I'm assuming there wasn't one hidden anywhere that I didnt see but its amazingly maze like so maybe I'm wrong) but I also fear that an elevator might ruin the awesome aesthetic you have going on too, plus.the building is so platformed that an elevator might be impossible to access all parts of the building.

    The design of everything, the castle look, the harry potter room, obviously the location were all brilliant! It was a big and beautiful, complex building I knew I had my own little corner to come home to and be warm after a long day of rain and hiking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great, unique, super fun place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are pretty small (or at least the 4 person where we stayed), but they are clean and the beds are pretty comfy.

    The place is huge and pretty epic, the facilities are fantastic, sweet kitchen and multiple hang out rooms. The staff are really friendly and helpful and very on top of keeping the place clean. Cool location right next to Edinburgh Castle. We had a great time!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Awesome experience. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic Place. Friendly and helpful staffs. Rooms were spacious and clean. Great Ventilation (room did not smell at all, even in a 12-bed room wow!). Beds/Pillows were really comfy. Lounges/Interior designs were pretty cool. Simple but satisfying breakfast. Adequate amount of bathroom/showering stalls (no need to wait). Location is awesome (just next to the castle, walking distance to almost every place that's worth visiting)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, comfortable, clean and safe!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy check-in, very friendly staff, everything was clean and comfortable. There were events to join if you wanted to and felt like it, but heading back to the room early was also no problem as all the other guests were also quiet and respectful. Great place, I stayed here for a night before an interview the next day. The location was perfect too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Amazing hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff is amazing, really friendly and super chill. The hostel itself its huge and super clean, the toilets and showers are spotless and even if I was in a 10 bed dorm it didn’t feel like busy because the room is really spacious (and it was full the night I stayed!)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay. I will always treasure great memories of Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Location and view are best in Edinburgh, right next to the castle. The staff were the most friendly and helpful of any backpackers I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    It was a great experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a great experience overall. The staff was wonderful, the beds were comfy and the lounges and events were awesome. It was very easy to meet people. I highly recommend taking one of the companies tours.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How inadequate the greatness of this hostel made me feel about my actual home. I may have to move.

    Staff were great, shower has better water pressure than the one in my house, bed had 2 pillows which is 100% fancy hostel stuff. Also just a cool building aesthetically. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Awesome place - 5 star from me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 14-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    Fabulous place, great ambience and location... I've been to 20 hostels in as many countries in last 8 months and this one gets the topmost rating... definitely would stay again...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Location , Friendly staff , Good Hostel to chill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent Location , Friendly staff , Good Hostel to chill out and meet new people. The rooms are quiet spacious (Female dorm) I would recommend this place to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    A really good place for a traveller to get some sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little funny thing: the first rung to climb to the upper bed was quite high. I almost had to jump.

    Fantastic place. Perfect. As hostels go, the bed was comfortable. Everything for a traveller to have a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Surprising building, nice hostel, large room. On the old village, very closed to bus connections.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No good breakfast.

    Excel.lent hostel at the old city area of Edimburg. Nice and easy reception, not so good food :-(( for breakfast, but large room, warm and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Great hostel for some amazing days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice environment, easy going vibe. Great location, close to the Castle and the city center. Staff very helpful and fun. Lots of activities going. They have breakfast for 1,5£, which is awesome, but they always have free coffee, hot choc and tea, which is just wonderful. The hostel is huge and the rooms are big as well, even the multiple and mixed rooms. The beds all have private power plugs and a lamp. The rooms were very warm and clean. Toilets and showers were clean as well and had a lot of privacy. The kitchen is well equiped with devices, dishes and cutlery. They have hairdryers available for free. The common room/lounge is also pretty nice. The decor was pretty awesome. It's definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed so far. Might even consider going back and even working there if they'll have me, haha.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    I booked simply based on price and location, but this turned...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked simply based on price and location, but this turned out to be an excellent, atmospheric, and very well-run hostel. Although it has a lively buzz and a young clientelle, the dorms themselves (and I stayed in a couple of different ones) were very quiet and well away from the communal areas. The communal areas themselves were really comfortable - with some quiet corners if you want a bit of peace. A very cheap and decent breakfast was another bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    First hostel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was actually our first stay in a hostel ever, so we didn't have high expectations, but the location, services and staff were just splendid! We also really enjoyed the 24 hour reception service, as we had to check out at 3 am and were a little worried about that. Overall, it was a very nice experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    10
    It was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was awesome! It is very clean, with big rooms, the guys at the lobby very friendly and you can have breakfast for only 1,5 pounds! It is just under the Edinburgh Castle!!! If you want a cheap stay but with high standards (given that you are usually about 8 persons per room) choose that hostel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    The arrangement of activities for the guests in the evenings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms weren't really that clean

    The arrangement of activities for the guests in the evenings and wonderful that they come get you and take you to places. Great way to make friends for a single traveller.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! All positives except for the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi is not great

    The kitchen was massive with stoves and ovens, so its great for cooking! Also they have multiple lounges/common areas to hang out and meet awesome people! View of the castle and centrally located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Door to the room was a bit loud when closing.

    Good location. Had a good vibe and music in the bathrooms. Had individual lights, plugs and lockers. Big room plenty of space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.6
    I spent two nights in this hostels and I really liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent two nights in this hostels and I really liked it! The hostel is very close to the castle and the city center in general. The staff was really nice and helpful! I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Very cozy and original, a lot of additional facilities, full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cozy and original, a lot of additional facilities, full of activities and happy staff! And location is simply fantastic! I'll keep coming back :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.6
    Literally the best budget hostel I've ever stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in a shared dorm around the xmas/new year period, there were some loud folk about...bring earplugs.

    Literally the best budget hostel I've ever stayed in probably! (And I've stayed in a fair few...) ! Thought it would be bog standard for the price, but had it all and was kept really well. Clean, spacious and right in the centre of town. No complaints.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.2
    Best hostel in Edinburgh!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Still to find something...

    Large hostel with plenty of lounge space. Comfortable bunk beds that do not creak, so no worries if you are a restless Sleeper. Best hostel in Edinburgh, not to be missed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    4.6
    Great location and nice common areas.
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Common areas not clean enough. It was not rare to find a dirty toilet. The main problem was that one night a member of the staff came into the room to have sex with one of the guests, including fights, crying and loud noises. It was disrespectful to all of us, no one could sleep.

    Great location and nice common areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    The best hostel I have ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the hostel is huge, sometimes was quite noisy in the dining room and of course the "free" wine at the Christmas lunch made some people go beyond their threshold. But it's not exactly a complain, I like much more the benefits of them, just think some people may find annoying...

    The best hostel that I have ever been. Clean, cosy, well located, well organised, amazingly friendly, beautiful... a lot of good stuff to say. You can see they are always trying to improve and be even better, with a lot of great ideas to made a good experience for their guests, as the themed rooms and boxes with free stuff in the bathroom. The spread boxes of suggestions say by themselves. Also, the experience of being there in Christmas was wonderful, as they had a lot things to make the festivity young and fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Great and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to the main attractions. Amazing view from the window of my room. Good for those that like cooking. Perfect common areas (at least three different rooms for relaxing, drinking, reading or for playing the guitar). I loved the pub crawl that they offered. You can bring your own alcohol to the hostel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    5.8
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know it's a hostel but I've stayed in better ones. Corridor was dirty and beds were creaky. Too far from bathrooms and way too many people queueing for shower etc.

    Great staff and excellent location suitable for people with string budget.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel itself is pretty cool. Its interiors have this castle vibe that's very unique. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The place had a lot of amenities that you dont see in other hostels. Pretty cool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing hostel in every way, I will definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have (more) mirrors in the rooms as in some there were none and in some big rooms there was only one. However, there were plenty of mirrors in the hallways and in the bathrooms which kind of balanced it out. Mirrors next to plugs would be useful to be able to dry hair.

    The staff and the lounge was great and it is very much appreciated that there are separated ladies washing facilities and toilets. That all made a big difference. The offers and recommendations on the board in the lounge were also helpful and it is nice to have different areas in which you can relax and spend time in. Staff was always willing to help which made me feel very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    As I booked a room in a hostel all I expected was somewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I booked a room in a hostel all I expected was somewhere clean and dry to rest my head but I got so much more! The facilities were excellent, plenty of common areas to meet people if you were travelling alone, everyone was very friendly and there were plenty of opportunities for activities leaving right from the hostel! We took a walking tour of the old town that was excellent, would definitely recommend. As a last minute booking we got the last two beds in 4 bed dorms but unfortunately these were in seperate rooms, when we arrived we found that staff had gone the extra mile to ensure we were actually in the same room which was a very pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    Good public spaces - especially the living room in 2 floors,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen should be refreshed

    Good public spaces - especially the living room in 2 floors, big rooms, lockers with keys, top location - everything in the surroundings!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    7.9
    I really enjoy the location and the environment of that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the breakfast! I think you can offer a bit more, at least some cheese and ham.

    I really enjoy the location and the environment of that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    5.8
    Nice decorated hostel but unfriendly staff and very inflexible, bending the rules quite a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff threatened to kick us out since we didn’t tell them beforehand we are a group. Although everyone booked separately. Deposit raised from 10£ to 20£ just because the staff considered us a group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.1
    Not so good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 14-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Durty! The bedrooms, the kitchen, the bathrooms. The staff from the reception are nice, but the others around the hostel just don't care. Many stairs to get to the hostel, but not so bad.

    A lot of comon áreas to use, they where confortables. Big bedroom, big bathrooms. Many options of tours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    bloody good
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fellow travellers fun and easy to get on with lead to joint activities which made the stay of a lone traveler so much better. good rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.8
    A real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hostel facilities were amazing, my bedroom was a bit disappointing. The bed wasn't very comfortable and I slept next to the door (through which someone came in every hour in the middle of the night) so I had no sleep at all. It might be that I was just unlucky that night but I would suggest to ask for a bed far from the door, as they are super noisy.

    There is so much to do in this hostel, every room is surprising. There are also several different lounge rooms and it even has a small cinema. They offered many trips/ tours. There was a place for everyone: relaxing, working, reading, entertainment. The music they played in the hostel living spaces was also really good. It was a real treat! Worth every penny.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    This is most extraordinary hostel ive ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is most extraordinary hostel ive ever been. Love the differtent rooms for relaxing, movie and music. As well the decorations. I shouldnt share all, just say discover yourself, its worth!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    It was my first time staying in a hostel and it was honestly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my first time staying in a hostel and it was honestly one of the best experiences i had in my life. The people there were so friendly and checking in and out was quick and easy. Definitely the only hostel i will ever stay in if i go back to Edinburgh again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2019

    10
    Staff geografi inklusion its easy to stay IF you travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff geografi inklusion its easy to stay IF you travel alone !

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    9.6
    Value for money and central location
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilets weren’t always clean, in fact I had two consecutive morning experiences of filthy toilets

    Value for money and central location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    9.6
    Its not adults only.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its not adults only. Lots of teenagers.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    10
    Book here, you won't regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, sturdy bunks, plug socket and lamp, and free tea/coffee/milk and HOT powerful showers 🙌🙌

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    9.6
    Great decorations, and lovely name for different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great decorations, and lovely name for different room

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    The staff are sooo nice and friendly, great location where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are sooo nice and friendly, great location where just nearby the castle 24hr offer free coffee, tea and hot water

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    9.6
    Very good stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the breakfast, the location of the hostel, the staff very friendly and yes the locals cleaned

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is far.

    Everything is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: