Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle View Guest House

30 Castle Street, New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 3HT, United Kingdom

#74 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1231 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our only difficulty was the street noise on the weekend. This street has little car traffic but some partying pedestrians were intermittently loud. The Guest House room had a fan so we simply turned it on and had some white noise. Other than that, the Guest House was very quiet and comfortable. We would stay here again if we visited.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you Magic for all your help. Having a morning breakfast was convenient and delicious. We could start the day without having to run around to find breakfast. The room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived around 8:00 p.m. and surprisingly my room was not ready for me. I was asked to wait in the dinning room till IT was ready. I can not imagine from which room a customer could see the "Castle view" but only dinning room. Only one lamp had a working bulb.

    A good size of a room, good supply of Coffee, tea and even biscuits, big towel and hand towel, big reffilable bottles of shapoo and shower gel. The great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs. The reception is up quite a few stairs. We were on the top floor which was an awful Lot of stairs each day.

    Staff were lovely. Food was nice. Helped with bags.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV remote didn't work, wasn't shown where the bathroom was & no bathrobe for going to & from Bathroom which involved walking across the top floor passing & in view of other rooms.

    Great location and easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only criticism (not a big one) is no mini fridge. Whilst tea and coffee is makeable in the room, as a family room it would be good to have a little fridge to keep a few bottles of juice or soft drink.

    Excellent friendly helpful service from Magic and the team. Great room, bathroom and facilities. Fantastic breakfast options. Superb location with plenty of nearby eating options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception, just a box room with a computer. No one in the box room on arrival despite note on door stating they should be. Bundles of dirty bedding on the stairs and in corridors, every day. Serious trip hazard and difficult to manoeuvre with suitcases Food delivery left on the dirty stairs just in side the front door Bulbs not working in shower/toilet Shower leaking Second bed (daughter 16 yrs) the mattress was in a very poor condition. Dining room to small, people arriving for breakfast waiting for table. Tables in dining room require replacing, the cutlery and crockery sticks to the table. Food is a poor standard and three breakfasts ordered all came out at different times.

    Staff are friendly Position is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel fell down on service - seemed like needed more staff. Breakfast service was slow and staff didn’t seem particularly enthusiastic. Some beds less comfortable than others.

    The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. The location was central and convenient. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the room it was clear we had a four year old child, our room was situated above a beer garden so trying to get a 4 year old to sleep was a nightmare , this carried on till I had to complain to management, it was explained I should of expected this as I was in a city centre location, I have stayed in many city centre location and that was a first so I was a little disappointed with that approach. I think for £175 a night we should expect at least a good sleep. I do feel we should of been moved or offered a refund for the night so it has left a bit of dampener of the weekend.

    The location of being in the centre of the city was great, lots of shops, restaurants. Really enjoyed being able to walk straight onto princes’ street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs to get to reception. My room on 5th floor, no elevator. Teeny room, bathroom down hall. Staff pleasant enough, but facility way overpriced for what you get.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows couldn't get properly closed. Due to very old poorly fitted windows it was quite noisy and cold in the room.

    The dining area on top of roof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken up at 7.30 by loud noises of plates and cutlery from breakfast buffet. Don’t see how anyone could sleep post 7.30 there also don’t think much can be done due to the layout.

    Great location, good value for money, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! The lack of lift did not affect our stay.

    Spacious and very comfy room. Bathroom great size as well! Very clean. Location suited us as we were able to walk to explore the city. Castle very close!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with Edinburgh castle, waverly station, royal mile all in close proximity. Good breakfast with multiple options. The hotel doesnt have an elevator since it's a listed building but the staff is very friendly and helped us with the luggage to our first floor room. All in all, you can't go wrong with this hotel. And yes they were kind enough to let us leave our bags through the morning as our train was in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night from drunk guests,and local bars , more signs about to remind people to be quiet would be helpful, not enough hangers only 4 for 2 people'! Not everything available for breakfast

    Friendly helpful staff, easy to walk to lots of sights. A decent hairdryer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though they advise about the stairs...it is quite the climb especially with bags. Magic did help and accommodated my large golf bag in the reception area during my stay.

    Martin and Magic were very accommodating and personable. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise and very satisfying. The location was close to many of the must see sight or events. Many good eateries in close proximity to the Guest House

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy.

    Large room. decaffeinated coffee provided + biscuits. Beds were fine Good breakfasts, perhaps more fresh fruit salad would have been nice. Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast served by very friendly staff. We had a spacious room, view on the street. No noise from the street, excellent location near Princes Street. Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs but we were warned.

    Castle View Guest House is convenient to everything we wanted to see in Edinburgh. The staff was friendly and helpfully. The place is quiet, if we hadn’t seen other people at breakfast we would not have known they were there. The house is the birthplace of Kenneth Grahame. Secure and clean. To view the castle you either need to be standing outside or hang out your window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Castle View Guest House definitely lives up to the name! We had a great view over Castle Street and up to the Edinburgh Castle right from our room. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was fantastic. The manager, Magic, helped us out with recommendations and even had a continental breakfast prepared for us for our early check out. Great place to stay - worth the hike up the stairs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal is a bit weak.

    This place massively exceeded my expectations. Polite staff, excellent rooms, lovely breakfast. Room was extremely comfortable, with all the facilities needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all - it was pretty hard to find the correct door to enter the house and to find staff members to help us check in. One of the beds in our room was bad, squeaky and not very reliable, we didn't feel comfortable in it. Pillows could also need a replacement and room could have been better cleaned. Some of the electricity inputs were very loose in the sockets and the wifi only worked sometimes. The wind blew through the window so it was also pretty cold in the bed next to it during the nights. Breakfast should be served for a longer period of time in my opinion, until 10 or 10:30 maybe. There are not many tables and if you want to sleep in and you arrive late then you might not be able to order what you want and you might even have to wait a long time for a table. Also - beware of the stairs! :) We knew about them so it was not a problem for us.

    We stayed there for two nights and we got the Burns room on the top floor. A very spacious room with three beds (one of them double bed). Brilliantly located guesthouse and our room had a beautiful view! Breakfast was pretty good, would have preferred a buffet though. Very quiet, we really did feel like we were alone in the building most of the time and got a good night's sleep :) I would recommend staying here because of the location and friendly staff :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room preparation before check in. The receptionist said I can use the room at noon (12.00) but when I got there it's still mess up.

    Good location (near castle, minimarket, restaurants)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great venue. Very well situated. Close to restaurants and many activities. GREAT view from the windows. Stairs are a challenge when carrying up suitcases but added to the overall charm of the facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not get the television to work and the lock on the bathroom was broken, which is not ideal when travelling with sullen teenagers!

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the variety of cooked breakfast amazing and the cooked breakfast generally very good. Our family room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No castle views for us! We felt the advertising photos were somewhat misleading and we were disappointed on arrival that it didnt’t look as nice as advertised. For the price we paid we expected more, and felt we could have stayed somewhere else of similar quality for much cheaper.

    Staff were really friendly & welcoming!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My comments are based on some details but important for me. Poor internet reception. We could only access it outside the room and only one floor down. Not enough view of he castle as advertised (unless I misread this). We could not see it either from the room or the dining room. My bed cover was not clean. Overall sheets ok but seeing the cover made me question the overall cleanliness. We used the mugs provided and they emptied them in the bathroom sink and he second day hey didn’t even empty them, also not sure if they were properly washed or just rinsed.

    Breakfast and bathroom were good. Overall ambience was good. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    À lot of stairs, people should now there are A lot of stairs ^^ but they help you carry your bag !

    Everything was perfect, really nice breakfast, nice shower, good view on Edinburgh Castle, really nice people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs, no lift which didn't bother us but, be mindful of when booking!

    Perfect location for exploring the city!! Great room, fab breakfast, will def return!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts terrible. Budget brands of juice, jams and yoghurt. terrible bread Reception next to room so noisy Bedding not clean Poor quality bed and pillows

    Size of room Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking...closest parking is 15 minute walk away and costs £28 a day. Must be outside to actually see the castle...cannot see from the room. Located on a very busy and noisy street.

    Plenty of room. Easy check in. Good breakfastfairly decent to shops and food and other tourist areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More emphasis on the fact that there is no lift (listed building). It was okay for us, but not great if you've got a dodgy knee or if you get out of breath easily. When we entered the room (top floor) there was a smell from the bathroom drains. Some bleach dealt with it and no smells thereafter.

    Nice room and central location. Nice good value breakfast. Expensive for what you get, but it was Easter Weekend when we visited so perhaps that explains the high price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to get to top floors meant carting luggage a long way up. Beds were lumpy and not comfortable.

    Proximity to everything is fantastic. The breakfast room in the morning is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic and close to everything. Room was quiet, breakfast was good and they catered for gluten free. You need to walk up stairs though- so not suitable if you have an ambulance disability.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom came with 2 beds which is why i assume the main bed was only a 3/4 size double bed. But 3/4 size double beds aren't the best for people who like to have some space from their partner throughout the night. But the bed was super comfy. I'm vegetarian and I feel the breakfast could have been a bit more interesting, with some veggie haggis or sausages which are readily available and not costly.

    Enjoyed the potato cake at breakfast, its nice to have something a bit different, and unlimited filter coffee was good. There were sweets, lots of biscuits and lots of coffee in the room which is always nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant hammering sound during one of the nights... might have been a boiler or something but I was ill so couldn't sleep and listened to it for most of the night.

    Nice room, fantastic breakfast and very friendly staff. Location really convenient for catching busses, trams, trains and walking over to the old town as well as grabbing dinner locally.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were far too many stairs six flights in total not good if you’ve got issues with mobility. The bed was very uncomfortable didn’t sleep on first night had terrible backache.

    location was excellent right in the heart of princes street. Easy walking distance to main attractions, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent hotel in a great location. We needed to stay an extra 3 nights because our flight home was cancelled due to snow. The management and staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So many stairs, 4th floor & no lift!

    Fantastic location within walking distance of the castle & other attractions. Close to many places to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 5 flights of stairs to my room ☺️. Didn't eat there so no opinion there.

    The room was cozy and clean. The bathroom was nicely done, good shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small bed (I'm 193 cm). If you have a lot of luggage, you will have many stairs to do.

    Perfect location to visit the city and to pick up buses to go over there, near to line from and to airport, near to pubs and shops. Room with bow window with castle view. Bathroom new. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a hostel not a guest house and things in our room were damaged we were in the top floor no lift it was about 89 steps and there wasn't anybody around after 1pm

    It was clean food was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative for us was the bed and pillows were too hard but you can’t get everything right for everyone.

    Good location, very nice breakfast and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t aware of so many steps .. it might have caused issues if oldies with us.. I wasn’t aware on 2, 3 and 4 floors. I booked two twin rooms.. the irooms were good with two beds but not until we got in did we discover only one was made up.. I questioned this at breakfast but when we came back still not made up and one of the rooms had not been into at all.

    Great location. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom facilities in the Burns room were good but they needed a lot of TLC ie shower head broke, toilet system broke, toilet holder broke, shower cubicle didn't close completely hence the bathroom floor got a wash as well as you.

    choice of breakfast was good and the food provided and served was good. Views of the Castle and surrounding area were good which ties in with being a good location to explore Edinburgh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were old and lumpy. Also the window was locked so when it got too warm we couldn’t do anything about it.

    The room was spacious and the location was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location with everything on the doorstep, spacious and immaculate rooms with lots of character, welcoming staff, great Scottish breakfast - would definitely stay here again. The staff were very flexible with our late arrival and holding our luggage for several hours after we had checked out. The Kenneth Grahame history was a great bonus !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think the bedding could have been fresher. The room needs more power points.

    The breakfast was good value and liked the fact I wasn't forced to pay for it when making the booking but could choose on the day. Room was a good size and the important bits--mattress, shower, hairdryer all met expectations. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location - across the road from an array of great bars and restaurants. Couldn’t be better placed. The property was very comfortable and nice - we were given a room larger than we’d paid for because it was a special occasion and we were very grateful for this. Lots on offer for breakfast, would definitely stay again, thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds! A good night's sleep is imperative to one's overall comfort. Bathrooms were all updated and great; But please, invest in some good mattresses and new pillows.

    The croissants were amazing. Flaky, buttery - the best that I have ever had. The down-side of the property, however, were the beds. With a total of 3 rooms and no beds were comfy and that is so unfortunate as it affected my overall rating of this lovely property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just a warning, there is no elevator. the place is managed by individuals rather than a full staff. so finding the staff is a bit hard since it seems they are mostly part-time.

    rooms were large

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first thing I would say to anyone staying here is you could be on the top floor meaning 120 stairs up and down each time. That being said the room was lovely and so was the staff so it made up for it.

    The breakfast was great and rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside, people shouting, also our room was just under the breakfast room so lots of chair scrapping noises early in the morning

    Lovely big room and comfy big beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it was a historical place (birthplace of Kenneth Grahame), there was no elevator, but the stairs were not that much of an issue, all the rooms were on the top two floors.

    This hotel was a gem in Edinburgh! Very friendly staff, Spacious rooms with classy decor, and the breakfast was superb, freshly cooked with several choices. We really enjoyed the view from the castle view suite. Great location near shopping, the castle, and the Christmas festival was right down the main street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being situated next to a shared bathroom and the breakfast room meant an earlier wake up then I was hoping for!

    Standard cooked breakfast - did the job! Good room facilities - some nice little touches including boiled sweets, biscuits, tea and coffee and toiletries. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is absolutely fantastic. Was the perfect position to watch the fireworks on New Years Eve. Choice for breakfast was great and everything very tasty. Staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bit of mould in shower cubicle. But otherwise only complaints that would only be solved by changing the guest house and thereby destroying part of its charm. If you want mod cons like a lift choose another hotel. I would stay again.

    Staff very helpful. Room/bed very comfortable. Breakfast ample and tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to castle and other touristic places. Great location. Warm, clean, comfortable room. Shower was comfortable and clean as well. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit lumpy. There is a lot of stairs. The bathroom was not attached to the room.

    It was a good location near a lot of restaurants and you can see the castle from the street. The author of the Wind in the Willows was born there so it is a historic building. The staff were nice. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable, view was bad, nothing in the bathroom worked properly (taps, toilet, shower), pillows were either lumpy or rock hard, window rocked loudly in the wind, Walls were thin so could hear people in their rooms

    Location was very good, Staff were nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location, but amateur servicing. Radiator was out of order for all 4 nights of staying (a portable supplementary one was provided), I had to ask for towels, no glass in the room.

    great location, but this is not enough Very good price for Edinburgh standards

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room in the dining room for breakfast on Sunday morning when we turned up at 10am so go earlier. Only a 15min wait and then we were seated the choice of hot food was excellent for no extra charge.

    The croissants were lovely and warm and flakey and the bed very comfortable and lots of hot water. The only negative was the stairs and no lift but the manager carried our luggage so that was courteous. The location is excellent just off beautiful George St with a lovely choice of shops and restaurants. Would recommend it and will stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedside lights did not switch off as the chord broke. The shower did not have a shower trap in it. There was a lot of dust on the top of the bit round the bed which was visible.

    The size of the room and the view from our room was fantastic. The staff were friendly and the location was brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the building is listed stairs couldn't be helped. To be fair it was mentioned on web site. But hotel itself is on the first floor. Quite expensive for b&b.

    Staff were kind enough to bring me breakfast on a tray as there were too many stairs for me to manage to breakfast room. Nice room. Lovely bathroom. Central to Princes Street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only people with mobility problems would have issues to stay there but I think this is clearly mentioned so you know beforehand what we are about to expect.

    the room was located on the second floor, not too many stairs to get.The breakfast was served on the 4th floor but the view to the castle did really deserve that. we had booked a double room but we were given a room for 5 so it was really spacious.the bathroom was fine, the view from the window was fantastic! the breakfast included many cooked options and it was tasty ! we will recommend the guesthouse for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had quite a wait for breakfast. Coffee was help yourself but I had to wait ages for my pot of tea and our cooked breakfast took awhile to come and the toast could of come out before the rest of the breakfast but didn’t was was quite cold by the time we got it. Other than that the breakfast was tasty.

    Rooms clean and comfortable, lovely free biscuits. Friendly manager.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel would be no good for people with walking difficulties due to it being a listed building and having no lift. This hotel has 3 floors.

    Breakfast excellent, beds good, pillows a bit hard for my liking but that is because I have a bad neck. Staff were nice and helpful always had a smile. Room was nice could do with a little makeover but nothing serious, plenty of space in room to walk around didnt keep bumping into furniture like we have in previous rooms in Edinburgh. What makes this hotel good is its location, walk out the door and you hit the shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, great breakfast, friendly staff, accommodating when we had a couple of mishaps...one my son was ill and two, I left an item of which they quickly posted for me. Speedy communication. Great view from our room! Excellent value for money! We will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaned a little more but not unacceptable .

    Lovely location and great atmosphere Breakfast was stunning and the view from the breakfast room amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi a little sporadic and we couldn't get the tv to work.

    Helpful manager and staff. Let us into our room early at 11.00am and stored our bags on the final day while we were sightseeing. Spacious quiet room at the back of the guest house. On the top floor, 98 steps including five steps outside but we are over 70 and reasonably fit so it wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent stay. I booked a single so was expecting a small room but I was delighted to be given a huge triple room which was well equipped and very comfortable. Location is perfect, staff are great and I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking.

    The room was very spacious. The location of Castle View Guest House was brilliant and very central. The added extras, like the tea and biscuits, were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wardrobe was placed awkwardly in room - hard to get suitcases past. Curtains were partially falling down.

    Great choice of breakfast options. Very friendly staff. Great view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedroom a little cold draught through window which was beside bed but it is an old building so i suppose its to be expected

    great service, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service on our first day was not the best. We originally received our breakfast with one incorrect order. One taken away by waitress and we had to wait 20 minutes for a replacement. My friend had cold haggis, cold egg and rock hard bacon. Day 2 was great though with no issues. Coffee could be better - they use a filter coffee which isn't the best!

    Great location handy for all amenities. Staff were very friendly. Our room was great - with two queen beds and overlooked castle street. We're able to leave luggage at the hotel on our last day which was great as we had a late flight. Breakfast team very efficient on Day 2

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of communication on arrival. Reception is on the first floor and it is up to the guest to find it. I felt it was a little tucked away.

    Very relaxed environment with a lovely homely atmosphere. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castle View Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: