Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Woodfield Arms 3 stars

16 Bridge Street, Chepstow, NP16 5EZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 15 hotels in Chepstow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 798 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a few more plug sockets and maybe a bit of updating in room , carpet and walls but overall very nice

    Nice staff , lovely breakfast and nice large room with good ensuite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a few alterations ongoing,

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, but would have liked a pot of tea rather than a cup, overall good stay and looking forward to going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wood in the window was completely rotten in places & the furniture was a bit worn, but this didn’t spoil my stay, I was just aware of it.

    The location was excellent, with a view over the castle from my room. There was ample parking immediately opposite (pay & display between 9am & 5pm). The shops & restaurants, as well as the river Wye were a very short walk away. The room was comfortable & clean, with good TV viewing choices. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The bar was very atmospheric in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The twin room with castle view we booked had apparently ceased to exist, though nobody told us that before arrival and we ended up in family room with garden view. Various light-bulbs in the room didn't work, but fortunately there were plenty enough that did.

    Convenient location opposite castle, though view partially obscured by large trees. Comfortable room. Good cooked breakfast in characterful bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait several minutes on arrival for a member of staff - was given room 7 at the very top of the building, with two bags and suit carrier - narrow stairs and lots of doors. No food as its Monday - TV was Now TV the reception was so bad I used my laptop - never bothered with breakfast - just wanted to leave.

    Location was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated (carpet in the bathroom). Gentleman during checkout (Saturday 2nd June) was quite haughty.

    NowTV in the room. Excellent steak in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that would have made our stay perfect would have been having the bar open in the evening

    Everything about our stay was just about perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the uneven ground in my room, a slope of sort, from the entrance to the beds. it's my 1st stay in an inn, could be a feature.

    the architecture of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was awful, and could really do with a refurbish. I fixed the towel rail and towels slightly tatty.

    Good Breakfast and nice evening snacks. The food looked nice, yet we had eaten during day, so only had the tapas snacks which were plentiful and cooked so nice. Homemade hummus was spot on. Room was good size for us, as we took our Ridgeback X and he needs his space. Good prices on Wine and Ale at bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Rooms 12-14 had paper thin walls. Could here everything from the other bedrooms. The room itself didn’t have clean carpets, the towels were threadbare. The bathroom had no hand towel provided and the toilet roll holder was broken. The breakfast the next morning didn’t live up to expectations - my husband asked for scrambled eggs with no milk but they came out like rubber. He asked for the chef to do something about it but we were told that the chef/manager had already left because all of the guests had been served (it was only 9.40am and breakfast was meant to be until 10am) and wouldn’t be returning until lunchtime. We did not stay for the second night that we had booked.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside I could find was a vile couple with a child who demanded everything and complained constantly. They were very obnoxious at breakfast. Obviously not the hotels fault but if they give a bad review, do not believe a word if it!!!

    Such a quaint property with beautiful gardens. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much for them. The hotel is situated at the bottom of the hill with beautiful views of the river a short walk away. Some nice pubs and restaurants nearby but we chose to eat downstairs. I never order salad but their Chicken Caesar was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything

    Big room, with direc view to the castle. Big bathroom. Fantastic bed, with heaven, I felt like Henry VIII. Breakfast was exorbitant and staff smiling with a lot of humor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location and venue. We stay a lot of places and this was by far the best in a long while. Great pub, lovely breakfast and right opposite Chepstow Castle. A really lovely old historic pub. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old frayed towels, tired decor. We stayed in the room until 11.30am, and it wasn’t serviced that day. Access to room up outside stairs/fire escape open to weather.

    Location good. Bar area very nice. Good breakfasts. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is/was also known as "Castle View", but the only disappointing part was the view - couldn't see a castle, or much else!

    The staff were lovely, and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin room was very outdated and the beds were not very comfortable. The towels were scarce and ours had threads hanging down the sides. I had to ask for a floormat as well. We felt that it was overpriced compared to what we paid at other B & B's.

    The location across from the castle was great and so was the view from the pub. Our breakfast was good and the server was very pleasant.Parking was easy and cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a above

    It was ideally situated and car parking was only £4 for 24 hours but the annex bedroom was a bit naff and the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the room very cold but it had character and an oldy world tired charm but not comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was beautiful. Right opposite the castle and great proximity to a wedding we were attending. The rooms although tired in decor were clean very comfortable and in keeping with the property as a whole. Special mention to our waitress for breakfast who sounded like Moira Stewart and was exceptional in her service, the breakfast was pretty epic too. Will be back not only to the area but to the Hotel as Well! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower screen made it difficult to access bath taps.

    Beautiful location opposite Chepstow Castle and close to the Bridge and historic centre. Fine room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, this was one of the nicest hotels I've come across so far. Really cosy, furnished with a lot of love and sense for nice details. Not one of those plasticky-clean, Ikea-style standard hotels. Loved the staff and the two cute little dogs that ran around outside in the yard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that pub inside hotel is quite popular so book the place for lunch in advance as we didn’t got place (it is the proof that it is good one:).

    Wonderful place. Apartments are at the separate small house behind lovely pub. Room well equiped and clean. Nice sitting outside. Hotel is in front of nice castle and it is possible to enjoy great view during breakfast (actually it was very rich and tasty). Everything is in walkable distance. Staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, lovely location near the castle, a comfortable room on the second floor which was nice and quiet and a tasty breakfast. Couldn’t ask for more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    The owner is friendly, welcome and attentive. The pub is newly redecorated to a very high standard and is gorgeous! Great for walker and great for cosy meals. Lovely candlelit atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing!! Highly recommend this place to anyone. Location is also fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't have any shampoo, so bring your own. Room was small, but not abnormally so.

    The rooms are very basic, but the price is too, so that's fair. Right in town, so easy to walk to restaurants. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic, tired, windows wouldn’t open, noise from the bar below. But given the low price, it was OK.

    Inexpensive, near Offa's Dyke route, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get a meal on first night as full in restaurant and not offered later time to eat or even in my room as travelling alone. Some really noisy guests at 1.30am who weren5 silenced but not management fault - just ignorant people who spoilt my otherwise lovely stay

    Lovely location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we were unfortunate to be in an older room at the back of the hotel, that is in need of modernisation. The shower hose was broken, so we couldn’t use it

    The staff were lovely, the breakfast was good and the main hotel area was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location opposite Chepstow castle. The staff without exception were excellent: friendly, polite and knowledgable. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Good central location, easy to find and good parking opposite the hotel. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast included and attractive bar/lounge/dining area. Would definitely recommend and will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great all round accommodation ... quiet location, even though in centre of town ... no traffic noise heard from our room ... pretty garden ... friendly and efficient staff ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely to look over the castle from room. Our room even had an historic mural on the wall. Large room, beautifully decorated. Paid £1 for parking at 4:30 pm and this carried over to next morning to make up the two hours so enough time to see castle too. Most unexpected. (free parking from 5pm to 9 am)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have had the opportunity to eat in but understand that this is in hand and soon will be an option, but also appreciate that this was made clear to us on arrival and options and recommendations of where to eat close by was provided.

    Very welcoming on arrival. Excellent bar and lounge area fitted out sympathetically with the history of the building and to a high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little confused about the change in name from (Castle View) since our booking. Tried to phone and book Sunday lunch for our arrival and no reply or response to answer machine message. Unable to get any food or drink on premises until breakfast. Bedroom in need of refurb and bathroom shabby.

    Perfect location for stopover on our way to Pembrokeshire. Staff were welcoming and our dog enjoyed her walks around the Castle and the sausage breakfast treat! Our breakfast was freshly cooked and included in the good value price. Amazing view from our room, clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor room, thou quiet, lots of stairs,had 2 big heavy cases, no lift. Furnishing and decor tired and dated. Thick Old worn quilt as bedding. Think lower floor rooms may have been refurbished.

    Great location opposite castle and 5 min walk into town. Fairly quiet road and close to river. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was we reported a broken toilet in the morning of our arrival and it was not mended when we returned to the hotel at midnight. It was not too much of an issue but could have been better communication on that. It did not spoil our stay.

    Lovely breakfast. Comfy beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stay here four times a year as I am attending a training course in Chepstow, it is always good to be greeted by the cheerful and welcoming team. Can recommend! Especially now they have started to serve meals on a Friday and Saturday evening. Nice renovations too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, excellent value hotel in the heart of chepstow, the rooms could do the modernising, but in a way adds to the charm and allows a lower price, but was very clean and the cooked breakfast was one of the best I have had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The welcome, attention to detail was amazing. The views are incredible as is the back garden! The breakfast followed suit! I will stay here again, without a doubt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't open when we arrived despite it being 2 hours after the advertised time. Parking opposite in the public car park. On arrival not shown to our room, had to ask about breakfast and how to operate the keypad to get back in after closing. Slapdash decorating with paint smears on the ceiling and woodwork. At breakfast our table was not laid, tea was brought and had to ask for cups, then teaspoon, then milk, toast was brought but no butter or plates, no serviettes ever appeared, breakfast was ok but took ages. No one asked if we needed anything else and on paying the bill we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay. We paid £105 for our room and expected better. I understand that it is changing from The Castle View to The Woodfield Arms but guests should not have substandard service at the price that we paid.

    Nice property with original features, quirky rooms, lovely outside space, interesting accessories, very nice location overlooking the castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was terrible! No staff in the building was so ever. Breakfast was nice but very unorganised and took ages! Room was very dated.

    Breakfast was good and rooms were clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpet and squeaky floor. But that's expected from an old building and just adds to the experience.

    Old but classy. Very nice decoration and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only marked down because they didnt do evening meals,

    The B&B was very reasonably priced, Extremely good value for money. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Rooms were a little dated, But they were very comfortable and spottlessly clean. At this moment im already planning a social family visit. Recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, bearing in mind it's a 17th century property

    We booked as a party of 10. The staff were most helpful in sorting out the best rooms for our individual 'capabilities'. The en-suite rooms were all different, but fine. Breakfast was excellent, and we all had a most enjoyable time at The Castle View that we wouldn't have had at a 'bog-standard' hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floorboards were very creaky as its an old property, so could hear people walking above.

    Very reasonable cost in the middle of town. Very comfortable bar and lounge area. Room was small but fine for a night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel but a B&B rooms were only 2 star standard rating and could do with decorating. The shower had mil due growing on the sealant. No tv signal. The heating went off around 5pm so my daughters room at the very top of the building was cold at night. No evening meals. the details gave us the impression that the owners didn't live on site so we missed the personal touch

    Location & breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money nothing

    Location, genuine castle view, price, welcoming staff, nice breakfast, comfortable room, clean and we had the room with the mural.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather stewed coffee at breakfast; think it would be worth investing in individual cafetières so it can be freshly made for each guest.

    We had a very quiet and comfortable room at the top of the house at the back. Shower worked fine. All staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our glass of wine/beer in the bar in the evening, after going out for a restaurant meal locally. Liked the fact that a member of staff did an early run for newspapers and asked us what we wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room is particularly small so not suitable for someone tall. The toilet is positioned under a sloped ceiling and it's not possible to stand up to have a shower in the bath in this single unless you are quite short. In double room 2, the shower door didn't close as broken and even if it did properly the slope on the floor affected the run of the door making it run open when in the shower! No extractor fan. No power to the shower to be able to wash the shampoo from my hair.

    Lovely breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, we arrived early and our room wasn’t ready but were given our key and the code to get in if staff were unavailable. Great room, loads of space. Extremely close to town, we were coming for a christening so was easier to be near the church and reception. We will be coming again so will be booking again 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like old character properties then I would recommend this B & B as it has bags of it. Great location. Friendly staff and the best breakfast we have had at any B & B’s we have stayed at.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff said we didn’t need to buy a parking ticket on Saturday as no wardens come round in 10 years and we watched at breakfast a person putting tickets on a car at 9.30. We rushed out and paid the next £4 for 24 hours. Free parking on Sunday and free Monday to Saturday 5pm until 9am. Don’t get court out as fine is £60

    Most of staff were excellent. Car park opposite accommodation. Please buy ticket for 24 hours for £4

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower too slow and mattress too springy.

    Very nice breakfast with friendly service. The main cooked breakfast was very good quality, piping hot, and cooked lovely. I never like picking butter from a small paper, sugar sachets, or plastic jam containers; the place at this price deserves to offer accompaniments with a higher quality feel; butter on a small plate, small jam jars at least, sugar in a bowl.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better instructions regarding the front door key pad would have been helpful.

    Loved the honesty bar and access to the lounge to relax at the end of the day. Our room was really comfortable and breakfast was good too. Overall, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dearer castle view room was a bit dated and he cheaper standard room bigger and more contemporary. Tv and WiFi could be better Breakfast ingredients could be better quality and would happily pay for such as room such good value

    Communal areas lovely and quirky. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was OK, not nearly the character of the main house. But no real complants about it.

    Across from a awesome castle ruin. Very attractive property. Very close to two very nice dining options. Owner was really nice regarding cutting a supposedly non-refundable night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in room 14 and loved everything. My only fault would be the noise levels from upstairs although I know there isn't much you can do about that it wasn't ideal as my dog spent most of the night wondering what the noises were!

    Great location, friendly staff, lovely little garden which was perfect as I was travelling with my dog. Breakfast included in the price, was lovely! Not to busy, everyone friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was poor, due to bulbs not working in all the fittings. The hot water took a long time to come through in the sink and the shower but once it had it was fine, water pressure in the shower was a bit weak.

    The breakfast and service was very good. The location was great. Have stayed here before many years ago when my son was small and wanted to take my partner there as he loves castles and he loved the castle view room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rugby was on, so there was no one to meet us, just a phone number to ring. We don't always travel with a phone, so that could have been quite annoying, given it was a rainy afternoon and we could have been locked out of our room. But luckily we did have a mobile with us and a chap turned up after a couple of phone calls to let us in. Possibly the only real negative: we were in room 12 which is a sort of annex down the back of the (very nice) garden. Beware: people with a dog stay in the room above (I think they are there permanently, not guests??), and the floor is quite thin, so we heard the dog running about constantly when we were trying to relax in the room before dinner, and later when we were preparing for bed. It was annoying, but I don't think they can have realised just how noisy it was! I'm not sure how a dachshund could make that much noise unless fitted with hobnail boots!

    Breakfast was very good and the morning staff especially were lovely. The room and whole area was clean and characterful. Easy walk into town or down to the river. There is an honesty bar, and although we would have preferred a staffed bar (with people in it!), it was a relaxing place to sit and have a drink before dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly noisy. We were in room 12 and could hear absolutely everything coming from the room above. The people in the room above had a dog and it kept running from side to side, to our despair. We could hear his nails scratching the floor. On our first night, at 1:30 AM the owner went to take the dog for a walk and not only made loads of noise but also kept shouting its name in front of our window (in the garden). I Appreciate this is not the hotels fault but It's important to know where to allocate people with pets and people with kids. Our room was also very hot and stuffy. We tried opening windows to make it better, but, being winter, it's not possible to do it for too long. Could do with just taking down the temperature of the room a bit. I thought the double bed mattress was too soft and if I moved I would make the whole bed move and wake my wife up. But I understand that is a matter of personal taste. Another small detail was the lack of bathroom mat.

    The Staff was super friendly and the breakfast was good. The location was great and the room had a nice size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honesty bar arrangement meant we were kept awake most of the night with guests drinking in bar & courtyard outside of the room

    Comfortable bed & great breakfast. Central location next to Castle & convenient parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little tired but perfectly adequate.

    Large bedroom was well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and all staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Pay and display car park was directly outside and was free on Saturday night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV instructions very complex - failed to get it to work. Could have done with more tea - we're not all coffee drinkers!

    Loved the history of the place - it really added atmosphere. Annabel offered excellent service as always.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Large, attractive, and charming room in an interesting old building. Great view of the castle across the street, and convenient to some nice nearby pubs. We had a front room and so were right on the street, but traffic noise was minimal. Breakfast was good and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I am taking a course in Chepstow and need to stay there several times a year, I am a regular guest here. There is always a warm and kindly welcome, a really nice breakfast and cosy rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed that the bar closed so early (8pm)and that we couldn't make the most of sitting around the fire late into the evening. We could also hear conversation and tv from the flat upstairs when we were in our room.

    Gorgeous atmosphere as you walk into the hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff serving breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little TLC needed in the room with some minor repairs and touching up decor. WiFi could have been a bit faster for the Now TV. The castle view a little obscurred by the flag hanging from the B&B ;)

    Very friendly staff & owners, good breakfast, comfortable room, nice bar/lounge area downstairs, Now TV in rooms (for when it rains!) Would stay again if going back to Chepstow

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints - except my stay was too short. I'll be back!

    The hotel really does have a view of Chepstow castle. It's a characterful place, really friendly staff, and a great experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Water pressure a little low in my top floor room . Leaving water either way too hot or ice cold .

    Location and breakfast. Friendly effective staff . Just perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcohol was expensive for a provisional hotel. Room was noisy with guests and road. The reception is NOT manned after 9pm the room was tired and the decor dated.

    Food was good. Place was quaint and had character. Owner was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic little hotel, was really surprised to find we had a full Netflix and Amazon Prime subscription on the TV, also the Honest Bar was really nice !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Good breakfast they serve kippers as the norm. Decor fair bathroom tile painted which is fine but drips of paint left in bath. Radiator bottom dusty but overall unfussy good amd enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee ledge was a bit delicate/finely balanced, with the cord for the kettle only just reaching the plug. Room layout could do with a rethink.

    A very well presented bar area. Outside yard was lovely. Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding had no protective covers on and I felt that was an important hygiene ìssue. The sanatary bin was not by the toilet you had to go to the other side of bathroom. We were in the room with the fire escape but the fire escapewas just a small window which was unsuitable for anyone to large or disabled.

    Staff were friendly and made you welcome o

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing in particular

    The location was excellent and staff friendly. The ambience was cosy and being an old building full of character. The breakfast was nicely cooked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was looking a bit tired and the bathroom would benefit from a new shower enclosure and floor coverings.

    Location was good the staff were very helpful and gave good recommendations for dining out. The lounge area was very pleasant with some quite and comfortable sitting ares. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: