Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Castleton Hotel 3 stars

164-166 Sussex Gardens, Westminster Borough, London, W2 1UD, United Kingdom

#856 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2146 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Not Much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we was told the size of the bedroom and the bathroom we would not have booked, you could sit on the toilet and wash and shower at the same time. A plane WC had more room in it than this bathroom.

    Not Much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    The bed linen and towels were nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and decor left alot to be desired. No hand towels. No soap. One of the beds was very uncomfortable. Broken electric socket by bed. Toilet flush was broken.

    The bed linen and towels were nice and clean. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was really good - the staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and dated. The bathroom was tiny and I think anyone over a certain size would have struggled to fit in it

    The location was really good - the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Basic room nice area and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location to Hyde Park reasonable price not sure what other rooms were like ours was basic but all we needed for a one night stop over ! Gentlemen on reception was very polite and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    It’s location is the best part .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just tired and feels grubby. The photos definitely make it look better than it is. Our shower room smelt and the loo didn’t flush which we reported

    It’s location is the best part . The breakfast was also ok. Staff were courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for Hyde Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small and would have wanted more space for a longer stay.

    Good enough for one night and excellent location. Perfect for Hyde Park concerts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what it said on the tin!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Staff were great. Room perfect for our needs. Close to Hyde park. Parking was good. Breakfast for the price was good. Staff lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    The room was tiny, double bed pushed against the wall making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, double bed pushed against the wall making it like an obstacle course at bed time. There was nowhere to put clothes. Might be acceptable for an overnight trip, it's saving grace was the air con which worked a treat and there was always hot water. The hotel entrance is actually on London road, not Sussex gardens.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for A stay as a base for seeing the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows hard need a blind on window street level have to keep curtains shut headboard needed and tv in better position

    The room was with new items nice shower beds nice linen white and clean tv good size and air conditioning needed can't open window there is a lift

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    nasty experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Payment was demanded up front. the first room noisy, small, dark. The noise was because of the front door opening and closing all night, trafffic at the corner of the road no isolation for sound. When turning in the small bed my arms hit the wall. The toilet kept the water running. the sink was smaller than my hands, the shower /toilet so small you could not turn or bent when washing. shower and window looked moised. We lay awake, even with earplugs. the second room on the second floor was better to sleep in, had more light, but still a very small shower/toilet. at the outside of the room was a nasty moised smell.

    water was available to fill your bottle. soap was available on demand, as were electric adaptors. another room was available after the first night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast basic and expensive for what it was . 158 for a refurbished room with patched carpets and small bed. Bathroom very basic. In all bad choice

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Elevators to pull your luggage to your room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room is quite dated. Breakfast is expensive so I did not take this option.

    Elevators to pull your luggage to your room. This is a luxury in hotels around the Paddington area as not all of them have this. Rooms are of good size and clean, and the one I stayed on has a floor to ceiling window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Location and very nice receptionist Radek were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V small room, dated and tired (patched carpet, small double bed, bathroom like a toilet cubicle v basic) the room was supposed to have been updated. Breakfast white bread, eggs like rubber, bacon covered in white residue, no fruit or pastries extremely basic. Cheap tea bags in room and for breakfast. I don't usually complain but for £158 per night it was terrible. Never again

    Location and very nice receptionist Radek were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Not good enough
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was near the main road a was very noisy

    The room was small and was very plan and the sink had a crack in it but know one done anything about it. And could do with some were to put lce when it hot in new york for the same money the room are much better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    It’s very close to Paddington tube station and it is a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small, dirty and pretty devastated: dust is everywhere.

    It’s very close to Paddington tube station and it is a nice neighborhood. Bathroom very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the wrong date by mistake and the management would not cancel reservation even though we stayed they on the dates needed the management was very rude on the phone which was inappropriate

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    look overall i was pleased, the staff were very nice and i just needed somewhere to sleep & shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Single room was far too small couldnt even pack my suitcase on the floor and open the bathroom door at the same time, it was like a shoebox and breakfast was really average to be honest, White stuff on the bacon every day and the toasters didnt work properly, very limited variety but i guess for the price it was alright

    i liked the location as it was close to the tube to get where you wanted to go, very handy location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    I would probably stay here again but purely because of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room, a twin room, faced right over London street which was a little noisy because of the bars and restaurants and because it was so hot we have to have the window open. There was an air conditioner but it was right over the one bed and we didn't want it on all the time and sleeping under the direct cold air in case we got sick. Also the little 'pod' shower cubicle took a little getting used to but we eventually learned how best to negotiate it.

    It had a lift which I know a lot of the converted Victorian house hotels don't always have.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos didn’t look anything like the room I was given. The bathroom was very tiny. Looked out of place and like something that was meant to be in a boat cabin. There was no soap in the bathroom. No desk / Spotify WiFi.

    Great location. Comfortable enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A little gem! It is very central with easy transport links. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work in original room. However without saying anything the staff noticed and moved us to another room immediately, Which was very proactive.

    Clean and tidy. Staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Convenient & very clean whilst evening track works are ongoing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean room, great welcome from reception staff who were very helpful. Slightly dated room & quite small but really quiet and excellent location just down the street from Paddington station. Will certainly be using again whilst the evening track works are ongoing on Great Western line!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing compared to my previous stays there. Seems to be under new management.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was surprised to find that breakfast was not included - it had been the 2 previous times I had stayed there and booked on line. The bed was uncomfortable and the noise from outside and other guests arriving was excessive. I also was asked to pay £1 to leave my bag for a late pickup. An unnecessary tariff that hints of money making rather than service.

    Location is close to Paddington. Early bag drop off was helpful. The room and hotel was clean. When purchased, the breakfast was well prepared and plentiful. The kitchen staff are always pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    London Paddington
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was what i expected. Single room was a bit small but did the job

    Staff were friendly. Super Location. Not too noisy. Good showers and hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre and sub-standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast; poor selection and basic quality on the things we tried. Room space; our double bed room was smaller than expected and the bathroom was narrow and tiny, quite uncomfortable. Overall design/appeal; not the level we were expecting, sub-standard looks across everything. Value for money; this is where the hotel is missing the majority of points. The money we paid for just one night was way too much for the comfort and service we received, way overpriced. Apparently people are only paying for the location of the hotel.

    The location; very near the Paddington station, allowing you access to a lot of amenities both near and more away from the area. Friendliness of staff; the staff took the time and had appropriate manners to explain and accommodate our needs. Cleanliness; Good level of cleanliness, nothing bad really to mention here. Bonus points for allowing us to leave our car in their parking area beyond our check-out time without an additional charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    essentials for fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room on the ground floor: the frames of the windows are not well constructed or maybe they need renovation, then in a couple of situations I felt some air coming from outside, and smelled especially smoke

    I flew from Venice in the evening and landed in LGW; when I reached the hotel, it was 00:20 am and there was a kind receptionist who told me that the reception is open 24/7 I've chosen to have my breakfasts outside so I checked the neighborhood very well. nice bathroom and great shower, no wasted space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff couldn't do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family room which could of been bigger but served a purpose.

    The staff couldn't do enough for us. Some of the best staff i've come a cross.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Good welcome, nice room, clean and functional, breakfast was a little sparse on variety.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the cooked breakfast was a little bit lacking in variety, maybe some mushrooms, hash browns, scrambled egg would have been nice to have has as well.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Great localization, just 2 minutes walk from Paddington...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great localization, just 2 minutes walk from Paddington Station with 15 minutes direct connection to Heathrow Airport, 2 minutes walk from Hyde Park, abundant public transport facilities. Nice, helpful and cooperative personel - 24 hours a day. Very small but very clean rooms and bathrooms - cleaned every day. Breakfast in the hotel. Venue worth recommending especially for a short stay in London. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    Not repeatable. Never trusting booking. Com description again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towels. No hand soap. Room absurdly small. Bathroom fit only for a travel trailer. One damaged bedside table the only furniture. Damaged carpet. Walls chipped and years past needing fresh paint. No security feature on door. Breakfast exactly the same each day with dried out bacon or sausage to go with poached egg. Orange juice or orange juice and only white toast. Staff polite.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    OK for an overnight transit stop. Very convenient for Paddington Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was airless, we could not open a window. The bed was small and pushed against a wall so you could only get out one side which was difficult with older guests and we were told that we had been upgraded. The breakfast was plentiful, but not very hot.

    Staff were very helpful. The en suite was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was great. The lower ground room was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the bathroom. A pokey room which was not advertised as such.

    The location was excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful and trustworthy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only point that must be mentioned, but what exactly doesn´t affected me was the bathroom. I was in room 200, and its bathroom was like one on a ship. Tiny. I´m 5 feet high and can imagine how a person that is higher than this can handle this space.

    Location is excellent, just some steps away from Paddington rail station - from where you can get the Heathrow Express to the airport - and Paddington underground. In this street, there are some cafes, restaurants, and shops for breakfast or a light meal. Staff was kind, and the room was OK, considering British standards, towels were changed daily. The room was done every day and has an electric kettle and a hairdryer. There was breakfast available, but I didn´t try it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not all the same one was left undecorated no pictures of that on site look shabby and un clean. Showers and toilet very small and had to pay etra £20 for a few hours extra parking as was running the London marathon nothing like a bit of nice human natural car parking would have ran out at 2 car left 7:15 so only5 hours and had to pay for the extra 24 would have been nice to see some compassion as I was running London Very noisy couldn’t really sleep heard everything outside could also hear everything within the hotel very creaky

    Good location. Staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bed pushed against the wall. When I was searching online it looked as though there was room on both sides of the bed .

    The staff let us check in an hour early, that was very kind of them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Location is great , cosy tiny, functional room 2 min walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok no variability no lobby only 2 seats

    Location is great , cosy tiny, functional room 2 min walking to London tube, 3-4 min walking to Hyde park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    A place to sleep whilst paying a great deal of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, the shower was blocked, the breakfast was very basic, the paint was peeling off the wall of the room, The view from the room was of a dirty wall next to a cellar.

    We cannot think of anything that we liked. £186including parking value for money was extremely poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    The best thing was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was rather poor. The kids enjoyed it, but the sausages, eggs and bacon might have been kept warm all night for all I know.

    The best thing was the location. Just next to Paddington Station, which means not only easy access to the tube but also very smooth connection to Heathrow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    My stay was not up to my expectations at all the room did not match the room I booked online.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the attitude of the man at reception I felt he had such a bad attitude never smiled or greeted me and welcomed me to the Hotel. When I first walked in he looked at me like I was not suppose to be there. I made payment with my card and it declined and he literally shouted out that the card declined while there were other guests behind me waiting to be served causing me embarrassment. Anyway I used another card and was handed the key to my room and was told were I could find it and not shown to my room at all and any questions I asked him it was answered by YEA! So after finding my room and I was getting stetted in it was very cold so I went out ask him how to turn on the Heating, he replied that he would do it from his Desk. So I went back in my Room and continued doing some work and about after half an hour the room was still freezing so he had not turned the Heating on at all. I looked around and found the controls and turned it on. There was dust on top the shower head no hand gel to wash hands after using Toilet and the Hot water took about 5 mins to get hot after turning it on. The side table Draw was broken and the Lamp Shades were old torn and worn out looking. The walls were not fully painted. I have never seen a TV so small with the worst signal ever. My Room was right beside the Hotel entrance and the room shook each time someone came and went in the Hotel using the main door which kept me awake. I had to go out to reception and ask if there was Wifi which he replied YEA! Its there pointing to a display on the counter, I just wondered why I was not told this at check in. He did tell me about the Breakfast start and finish time and was given an Voucher to use. Breakfast was OJ Eggs all easy over white bread which you could toast Sausages bacon beans and tomato with hot drinks choices and cereals too with milk.

    I liked the Bed and pillows it was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    The way they took payment is ridiculous.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THe hotel has taken a £69 deposit, but still needs me to pay in full amount on top of the deposit, and the £69 after 8 days still not refund back to me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Rooms at the ground floor are terribly noisy from the street...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms at the ground floor are terribly noisy from the street, the one next to the entrance just uninhabitable (I reclaimed another, but still at the ground floor). Location is very good, close to two tube lines, but as it seems that due to this fact in the neighboring area most of the houses are hotels, I will try something else next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    No value for money paid whatsoever.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was tiny and shower was an extended version of a toi-toi in the room. The window was not working properly so inside the room was colder then in hotel corridor. We had the AC on almost all the time. There is no community area in the hotel, everything is tight and dense, and you bump into people all the time. Staff in the kitchen was often impolite and breakfast was poor quality, they would stop serving breakfast 10min before official closing time.

    I made a complete mistake by booking this hotel. The reception staff was nice and helpfully, beyond that everything else was :( Ok for one night but for longer stays it is a no go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Don’t book the hotel based on the pictures only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with family. The pictures of bedroom, bathroom, shower in the website not at all reflect the actual hotel facilities. There was not even enough space to walk in the room or to keep the bags. Shower is a joke. Very disappointed and not value for money

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    heater given on demand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    isolation ; noisy central heater working, started from 2nd night ; lift didn't go up to the last floor ... only stairs from 3rd to the 4th ....

    heater given on demand

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    As to whether I would recommend this hotel, that depends very much on your needs. If like to be able
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was v small, had no chair(s), and the only furniture was just one tall antique table between the two beds. The bathroom was also v small, had no shelf over the sink to place toothbrush, razor etc. and no hook on the back of the door to hang clothes whilst showering. Bizarrely, there was no soap or hand towel. For washing our hands, we had to use shower gel and dry with a bath towel. Breakfast was not included in the room rate which was very American. It could be purchased for £7-00 which wasn’t too dear and we tried that for our first morning. It had a meagre unappealing menu, especially for vegetarians where the only real option was cornflakes plus beans on toast. There was also some ghastly music playing whilst you ate. Finally, on our last morning, we asked at reception if they could look after our luggage for an hour after we checked out and were charged £1 per bag. As one of our bags was small, they reduced the charge from £2 to £1. Obviously, this was not going to break us financially, but it did feel a bit skinflintish.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless, the beds were comfortable, the shower and loo both worked, and it had a very convenient location. Paddington tube and rail station is only a few minutes away so it is easy to reach from both Gatwick and Heathrow and is only a half dozen stops from the west end via tube. The cost for our room for the three nights was €300-00, which seems reasonable by London prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable room, value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked the choice of brown or wholemeal bread at breakfast. Would have appreciated the small bars of soap in room, as well as the shower gel in shower.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, good location, value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So my firdt room was right by the lift and the lift is the nosiest lift ever. I then asked to be moved as I had work and it was latw. Moved to the basement which was also super noisy!! Very basic old hotel. Noisy. Have paid but used a different card to book. They have not refunded this money yet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    instead of having to buy the full breakfast, it would be nice to have a free (or cheaper option) of just tea and toast.

    Was upgraded from a single to a triple room, lots of space, and comfy beds. Older hotel but super clean and even has a lift! Great location near Paddington. Have stayed here twice and will stay again. Didn't buy the breakfast so can't comment there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Just about adequate. Wouldnt take much to make it ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, as expected for the rate, was absolutely tiny with a single bed. This wasn't a problem, however there were several easy to fix problems that made the stay not great. The room in the roof was noisy. The window rattled and there was a draft through it, as well as under the door. To be fair the heating worked well to overcome this. There were no toiletries although they were listed. The kettle was not the correct one for the base and balanced precariously on the wall attachment (tiny cable prevented it being plugged elsewhere.) The built in hairdryer was broken - the air tube had been taped up but had come apart. At 8am someone randomly turned a key in my door and walked in, catching me in my PJs!!

    The room rate was good for central London. The location was excellent. Hot shower with good water pressure even in the roof. Fast check in and friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Surprised how good it was for the convenience and the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant really think of anything

    The hotel offers exactly what you expect for the room rate, does it well with small and basic but clean and comfortable rooms with all that you need as a traveller with great transport access and a very good range of eating within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money around Paaddington.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom could have been little bigger so an adult could take a shower. There was no hot water in bath on the coldest days of London. Complained this to staff which they would not accept the first time and then said would check but the next day at check out said no maintenance staff available so sorry for the inconvenience.

    Location is very good but then there are plenty of hotels around. Good value for money even when the room was very small. I can accept room size but bathroom was even smaller.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.3
    The room was nothing like the photos used to advertise it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the photos used to advertise it. It was cold and damp. The smell was offensive I asked to be out on a upper level and was left in the basement as the rooms had sold out. Overall very disapomtednand wojld like a refund

    The room was nothing like the photos used to advertise it. It was cold and damp. The smell was offensive I asked to be out on a upper level and was left in the basement as the rooms had sold out. Overall very disapomtednand wojld like a refund

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Easy check in
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was small and not diverse at all the coffee is bad The place for the breakfast is underground

    Easy check in well situated Comfortable for a short stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel with friendly staff and brilliant location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given smelt of heavy cigarette smoke so asked to changed and a new much better room was provided.

    Service was good and location brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Adequete for what I needed for a sudden stay, clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY noisy lift, the heating couldnt be worked from the room, had to ask the reception to work it for me from downstairs panel. It was too noisy to keep on during the nite ( reception kindly turned it off for me) so when I woke up ( 3am to go to work) the night shift didn’t know how to put it on !!! Night shift staff member and the clonky lift only minus points.

    Cosy & safe and clean, loved the top floor single room location! All what I needed for sudden “having to stay in city” as I got snowed in during my working day. 10-15min walk to Marble Arch for shops & restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Budget hotel in good location. Staff have a poor attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed 1 night, my booking details advised my stay included breakfast, went down, no i wasnt on the list - went to reception and showed my booking confirmation, the hotels details didn't list breakfast so I couldn't have anything! No discussion, just no! I was absolutely disgusted by the member of staffs attitude! Even though my paperwork said breakfast, there's didn't so that was that!

    Easy to find, had parking on arrival for an extra £20.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location, polite staff, low price, low quality of rooms - good if u dont plan being in ur room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didnt look as in the photos, it was smaller and the beds were smaller as well. The toillet was disappointing as it was very small and cheap, like the ones you have on boats, all made of plastic and almost no space.

    The location is very good, very close to the Hyde Park and the underground station with lots of restaurants around. The staff was nice and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.2
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was tired and showed lack of interest. I needed to ask for soap for the bathroom. The room was cold. The air con when switched on was very loud, you could not open the window but could hear people passing by and all street noise. Small, disappointing room with even smaller TV hard to watch as put it in the corner so could not turn it.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.4
    The room was very dirty and we had two single beds pulled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty and we had two single beds pulled together rather than a double bed which we asked for. I could have booked two singles beds for less and pulled them together myself

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    I think a few cosmetic updates like net carpets and a fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think a few cosmetic updates like net carpets and a fresh coat of paint would make this hotel significantly more appealing. As someone traveling alone, I felt slightly unnerved that the doors had no deadbolts, the rooms had no safes, and the first room they gave me was a ground floor room with a window that didn't lock. However, the staff was very nice about letting me move to another room, the location is great, and I ended up enjoying my stay more than expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel was well located and the overall experience was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit small and a bit dated.

    Breakfast was good but no croissants. Very good cooked meal. Would have liked Brown bread. Overall very good value for money. Thank You.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't the cosiest stay as we were given a room with frosted windows (= same as no windows) to the inner yard, with noisy vents working constantly right next to them.

    Excellent location near cafes, shops, the tube and bus stops, very kind and polite staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.3
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged £200 for losing the room key which wasnt specified when I checked in. Poor cleanliness, the room was tiny which was supposedly ‘their best room’. Will not be returning. There are prostitutes circling the hotel outsite. As I was outside having a cigarette I was asked how much my services were!!! Not a great stay at all. DONT ADVICE ANYONE GO GO.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    tiny room, horrible breakfast but really nice place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't expect that my single room would be that small! Like really really small, maybe the smallest room I have ever been... Taking shover was one big challenge, and dry zone/wet zone areas in bathroom were just for fun I guess, cause after quick shover the water was just everywhere... But still the room was nice. Breakfast was the worst hotel breakfast I have ever seen - really poor selection! It was just wurst :D

    Location of the hotel - really close to Hyde park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    The room was nicely presented and breakfasts were good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside: There was a draft coming in through the old window frame and since it was the middle of winter it was very fresh.

    The room was nicely presented and breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Splendid!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing except for the fact that I am always confusing the 2 asian receptionist (just messing but they really look alike and sometimes hard to tell apart. On a serious note, they are very good guys with good sense of humour

    Friendly customer service and reception staff Super fast internet for business traveller Locations is very central and connects to almost every important part of london Local shops around offer alot for a tourist and if local shops ain't good enough, the train service connects to major shopping areas in London

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Horrifically tiny
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the heating didn’t work, I wasn’t told about meals, the bathroom was about the size of a Caravan toilet, I could hardly even wash myself in the shower as it was so small, I am 5 foot and my feet were hanging out the bottom of the bed, the cleaners were rude and it certainly wasn’t worth the price.

    Great area tube station right around the corner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location and staff very helpful. Need to fix airconditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning in the room did not work properly however they provided an oil heater which helped. The noise from next door.

    The convenience of the location. The cosiness of the room. Facilities good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Decent budget hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot breakfast was very greasy, no real healthy alternative. Single room was quite tiny with little room to manoeuvre in the bathroom.

    Helpful staff, good location. Fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    Close to Paddington Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, noisy. Bathroom tidy could hardly move. Heating did not work. Shower terrible. Room cold, hair dryer broken and very poor breakfast. £70 a night I would have expected more and should have stayed at a hostel.

    Close to Paddington Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Great simple hotel well presented and located. With an air conditioned room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A decent single room. The ensuite is a pod so its about the size of a bathroom in a caravan. Fine for me but could prove too small for some. Hotel is excellently located for both bus an tube and a short walk to Hyde Park .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    4.6
    Dreadful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was definitely not a double impossible to get dressed even worst room I’ve ever stayed in. The room was like staying in a caravan this was not a double room barely even a single my partner is six four he could touch the walls. It was literally impossible to move about or get dressed

    The Parking the tube was close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.8
    The stay in the second room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a second male receptionist who assigned me to the first. I suspect he may have know about the broken television. I just had the feeling he purposely was not being helpful.

    One of the male receptionist was very helpful as the original room I was given had a few!division which did not work. He found a replacement room which had a good television. The second room was also much nicer than the original room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.6
    Gtreat location but badly maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the hotel and make sure your quests are comfortable.

    Extremely poor wifi connection on the second floor and it was too noisy that I found it very difficult to sleep; elevator noise and quests with kids running around an screaming. The shower wasn't flowing well and dripping afterwards. dirty shower curtains Asked the receptionist about breakfast time and was told there was no breakfast included in my booking! at least I should've been notified when booking the hotel. I won't be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.8
    You are paying just for the position and slightly more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very poor in quality and limited in the range of choices. Luggage deposit was not for free (and that was not advertised) and extremely expensive: collecting luggage after 6 pm means paying 8 pounds per piece. Heating in the room was not fully working. Too costly for the service, even for London.

    Strategic and amazing position in central London (4 min walking to Paddington/ 8 min to Lancaster Gate underground). Very comfortable bed. Reasonably silent in the night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Despite only staying for a short time our stay was most agreeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the shower. The shower taps had lost their labels. The lift was unreliable which was awful as I had a wheelchair to get up and down stairs, I am unable to ask anyone else to carry the wheelchair for insurance purposes!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Castleton Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: