Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cathedral House Hotel

28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow City Centre, Glasgow, G4 0XA, United Kingdom

#62 of 76 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm. Lack of sockets near mirror. Check in was slow as system had crashed and I wasn’t invited to have a seat or offered a drink (hotel reception was in the bar!)

    Great location. Quiet. Very basic accommodation. Bedding and towels lovely. Good tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee with breakfast.

    Property is in an GREAT location! Close to the Cathedral, the necropolis, and the oldest house in Glasgow, with an easy walk to the main streets. Our stay was short, but we enjoyed it. Nice pub below for an evening pint!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place in need of lots of TLC and decorating! Certainly was not worth £140 for one night with only a continental breakfast !!!

    Staff were friendly! Food was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of stairs climbed to get to the room we were in number 6. Not much they can do about the building though probably not suited for those with difficulty walking. Heard a few ambulances through the night but again not much can be done about it hospital near by, and we needed to keep the velux window open as room was toasty. Basic continental breakfast supplied can't comment on cooked breakfast, as we didn't have it but it's available at extra cost.

    Room was clean, couldn't hear noise from bar, although had to climb about 60 stairs to get to our bed not for the unhealthy haha, friendly enough staff very helpful. Very basic room but everything you required was there, tv ,shower and bath coffee, making facilities stunning views from hall window. Overall an interesting old building, bar was very busy when we returned late after a concert but once the stairs had been conquered to our room we couldn't hear a thing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to say I thought it was good

    I loved the old feel of the building, our room was a bit tired and could wth a refresh but overall did not put us of and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heaters were on all the time, on an automatic timer, I think. I asked if the one in my room could be turned off, but it stayed on all the time I was there. Very warm!

    Beautiful old building near the cathedral. I had a room on the top floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was really scruffy - looks like it hadn't been redecorated for years and certainly could use a facelift. It could also do with a lift - loads of stairs

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furnishings old and tired, hot tap in wash hand basin did not work, TV remote didn't work (an all too common fault in hotels, TV tiny for a room (room 1) this size. Lack of hotel facilities information in room ie food menus etc. Breakfast options when entering the bar/ restaurant area are vague to say the least...a table set-out for continental breakfast although you could have a cooked breakfast but this wasn't offered up-front. If as much attention was given to the hotel side of the business as the bar then this could be a top-notch hotel

    Great location, next to Cathedral and the Necropolis (a must visit, take your camera for great views of the Cathedral). Lively bar with friendly staff, live music on some nights. 15 minute walk to city centre. Reasonably priced for the location. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a little tired overall, but it was convenient and clean.

    Location (near cathedral, university and necropolis) and views from room were great. Staff very friendly. A continental breakfast was provided and included in the price, which I hadn't expended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap quality duvet and covers which ruined a good sleep.

    Arrived at 6.50pm to be told there was no food available for evening meal as the owner just decided to close the restaurant due to lack of customers! So no thought for the residents. Was expecting a full Scottish breakfast to be on offer but only continental was offered which was very lacking in variety and content.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains could not be closed completely, owing to gaps towards top and in middle. This meant that a considerable amount of light from the floodlights across the street leaked inside (room 5), rendering sleep a trifle difficult at first. The hotel should consider adding a second layer of curtains.

    The room was large and comfortable, furnished with wardbrobe/drawers/&c. The windows had secondary glazing, which was very effective at minimising external noise and keeping the room warm. The hotel is conveniently located, very close to the cathedral and necropolis (alas, I did not have time to visit them, because I was travelling on business), a 5-minute walk to High Street station (fairly frequent ScotRail services), and a 12-minute walk to Glasgow Queen Street station (one of two principal rail terminals in Glasgow) and Buchanan Street station (Subway, with very frequent services).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was okay

    Easy access/walking distance to city centre. Landmark views and close to cultural and historic places of interest. It has a bar!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting the worse with the price I paid for but the room I got was spacious, very clean, had a nice bathroom with a bath tub and shower, and also a very comfortable bed. The location of the hotel itself is great, with the cathedral very close by and the Glasgow Necropolis offering fantastic views of the city from up a hill!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been comfier but not complaining because the room was so cheap.

    Building itself was beautiful with a cosy, warm bar and restaurant where someone was playing the piano. Beautiful location of Cathedral Square and just round corner from High St train station. Staff do helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Though the disinfectant used to clean in the morning is pretty acrid, it's good to know everything's been fully cleaned on the daily. Wi-fi a little spotty on upper floors, but otherwise very nice. The square is lit up like a doctor's office during the night, so bring a sleeping mask or clothespins for the curtains.

    Continental breakfast is good, especially to take along. They'll make you a nice take-away coffee, too. Right across the street from Cathedral Square, so there are very nice views at the top of High Street. The staff were all top-notch and super helpful. The pub is really handy for grabbing a nightcap and meeting a few locals with excellent suggestions and great crack. Lovely old building in a historic neighborhood, close to Scotrail and tons of buses, plus Caledonian brewery tour is just down the road!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Genuinely nothing

    The bar reminded me a bit of the Cavern in Liverpool, which as a scouser added a touch of welcome nostalgia. The staff were lovely, allowing me to use their printer to prepare for a presentation the next day and traipse through the bar area with a takeaway! Room was clean and cosy in great location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is old, bed headings fell off. Narrow stairs are annoying with luggage. Breakfast was the worst. Only a bit of sweet stuff (cereals, milk, jam) no cheese or something else. Only got toast on request, ate it dry.

    Nice location, house has a charme, quiet and pub downstairs is handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of dust in room, just felt tiered. Beds on wheels so every time you moved in the bed you rolled across the floor.

    Staff so helpful, great location! Very quiet. Definetly work staying if your someone who loves eccentric hotels :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a pub which wasn’t clear from the booking. Reception is in the bar. Loads stairs to carry bags. Bed, although comfy, was on wheels!

    Near my meeting location at the hospital. Price cheap for city location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very bright light shining right into our window!

    Comfy beds and pillows, the view, lovely big fluffy towels. The bar was very cosy and the food was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with all old buildings they always seem to be tired but that is part of the character of the place. Decorating was in progress.

    Location, great for a walk into the city centre. Opposite the cathedral and necropolis. Bar food excellent, menu very quirky, on album sleeves. The bar has a very nice atmosphere, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location is excellent. Room was really big also very warm, which great, weather was outside was so cold. Shower worked great, you really got hot water. The room also had the really good working hairdryer. The bed was very comfortable. Free continental breakfast includes the price. Free Wi-Fi was very fast bur best thing was extremely helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great building, nice bar, good location, easy to find, staff were friendly, rooom was warm, good view of the necropolis, bed was really comfy and cosy, nice little tv, tea, coffee and water supplied. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning at breakfast time I went to the bar but it was dark there and could not find anybody so I left without breakfast. But it is truth that I had to leave quite early and I was travelling at Christmas time.

    The location is really good, just right next to the Cathedral. The view from my room was also nice. The room was basic but had everything I needed, and for that price it was excellent. The bathroom was clean. I am a budget traveller with no wish for luxury and this accommodation just met my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cathedral and Glasgow’s oldest house was excellent with a short walk into the city centre for great shops and restaurants, not forgetting the Billy Connolly murals ! Well worth a visit .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff on duty when I went down for breakfast at 8:10. I had to leave for an exam before staff arrived so had no tea,cereals or juice although I did take a pain au chocolat and granola bar. Despite lack of staff, when I called later to ask about payment I was refused a discount.

    The bed was very comfy and the room was lovely and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in the room didn't work.

    Cosy place, nice community feel. Great view of the necropolis. Biscuits, tea and coffee provided in the room for no added cost.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was not friendly at all. talked only the bare minimum and we had to ask for detailed information. breakfast only consisted of cereal, milk, yogurt, OJ, fruit and granola bars. not that great. we were never offered any tea or coffee. the older guy working there was much too busy watching the TV to be bothered to talk to us. for that price not at all what I expected.

    location of the hotel was good; rooms were clean and fresh towels were provided daily

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not given a key to the hotel nor told that the hotel locked up at 11; as a result we were locked out all night. We had to really fight to get our money back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan would have been handy as even with the radiator off n the window open it was very hot.

    Friendliness of the staff. Very clean and towels were large and soft. The beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was fairly remote except for the cathedral and necropolis. There are not a lot of restaurants or shops close by. The bar food was okay. Just be prepared to walk to everything else. Walking back is mostly uphill. Breakfast was cereal and some packaged buns. Parking is on the street and you have to pay every three hours. There is an app and the staff can help by feeding the meter but you have to keep track though there was plenty of available space. These aren't necessarily bad things, just things to be aware of before you book. We did have a lovely stay!

    The view of the cathedral was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff are the bar staff and all were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet moved when u sat on it, was also leaking. Carpet was coming off stairs. Headboard fell off. Cooked breakfast was extra. No toast offered on 1st day. Breakfast selection very poor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. No hot water for the bath or wash hand basin. Told person on duty on the 1st morning but wasn't fixed. Apparently a new boiler was to blame. On the info we got from Booking.com we were told in writing that there was no cost to park. We discovered that parking was £1.00 per hour - payable at the meter.

    location was good. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On-street parking is metered parking. If we stayed longer, we would have needed to better figure that out. If it was hot out, and it wasn't for us, and you wanted to open the windows, traffic in the morning would have been noisy if you were in a room facing the road.

    You could not find a more quintessential Scottish hotel than this. Pub on first floor, nice people running it, dated but oh so British rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clarity about the lack of parking, but the staff rectified the situation and it ended up being satisfactory.

    Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Bar had a good atmosphere at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we found a problem with our stay.

    Very friendly staff who where super helpful. Great visit and will return. Great breakfast great room amazing shower and comfortable bed. Room was spotless and tidy had everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned to the evening staff and at check out - the shower is not good enough, it is a very, very cheap unit that has no place being in a hostel, never mind a hotel and the £120 my room cost for the night was £30 more than what that shower unit retails for. It has a 10c differential so you will go from lukewarm to scold. In addition, you need to start it off on cold and gradually work the settings up from eco and then to max hot, or else it stops after 10 seconds if you start it on hot. I did alert staff to this, they had to help me, but they preferred to say they had no complaints in the 18 months it had been in. Fine, but the fact remains it is a high-end hotel, charging premium rates but runs the hotel like a hostel in terms of facilities. You check in at the bar (there is no reception), the continental is basic (long life croissants) and again for £120 you will be left disappointed, it's £8 extra for a cooked breakfast option on any rate/room. I have no issue with the staff, it's historically old so issues with doors/windows not closing I can overlook, but the character won't make up for the cost cutting and under investment that will drag the hotel down.

    The room/bed was big

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In this hotel it's somehow possible to wander into someone else's room. As someone entered mine while I was there, he seemed to be a guest just like me, but it sacrifices some safety. While the room was small, everything was in order. Except the shower. I couldn't figure out for the life of me how to make the shower turn on. So I showered with my head underneath the tap of the bath.

    It's on a lovely spot in Glasgow, right next to the cathedral. With an easy 20 minutes walk to the center of Glasgow. From there out, the city will be your oyster. The hotel itself is a small nice place. You go in via the pub where a single laptop poses as the reception. No large brands and not a lot of hotel rooms, which makes your stay extra cozy. Breakfast is good, although I got the order differently every morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiting 30 minutes for breakfast was a tad too much, but was worth it when it arrived.

    The location of this hotel was brilliant for the city centre and for the Glasgow Necropolis.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy with bar down stairs, bar reception not very fitting. Staff could be a little friendlier.

    Very quaint establishment, beautifully located Across from the Cathedral, stunning acitecture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were going to a wedding at Barony Hall which is opposite so a perfect location. A really quirky hotel and with amazing views over the necropolis! Great value for money - staff really pleasant. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contacted subsequently over apparent non-payment when we had paid in full at the beginning of our stay.

    A lovely older building right next to the Cathedral and Necropolis and surrounded by trees. Friendly staff; pub downstairs. Suitcases carried upstairs by staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had emailed previously to say was vegan and that would be checking out early but was told kitchen not open at that time (when got there) had dry cereal as no choice of soya milk,. This was a booking for my son who had to travel home hungry. I then emailed giving chance to offer componsation or even an explanation but was ignored. Such a shame as my son said place was lovely and staff really nice. Was expensive night for bed and breakfast when was just bed!!!!!! booked here as thought being smaller place would be less rigid

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    12 o'clock checkout would have been nice because I had some time to pass before my flight, room was pretty expensive for being away from city center.

    Cute room with nice bathtub on the top floor. Good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite basic parking was a bit of a hassle rooms were clean could have done with being more thorough found a used plaster under the bed bed was small for a double bit squashed

    Excellent breakfast good quality friendly helpfull staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't good. I asked for a vegan option when booking, and again when we arrived and was told in the morning 'If you had told us in advance we could have got you something'. The service was brisk, not overly friendly. However, the room was great, it was a brilliant location and I'm sure all carnivorous guests would be happy. It's just a pain - I've been contacting places in advance for over 20 years to try and avoid this recurrent situation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet leaked, the shower was awful it went from hot to cold constantly, the room was supposed to be a superior deluxe which it was not, for the price of the room I would have expected more, I won't be staying again!!!

    The bar area was ok, the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came up from Inverness for a concert and spent one night here. Lunch from the bar was scrumptious and set us up for the night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was yummy and filling. The room was comfortable, clean and quirky. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attic room was small, dark and cramped and in need of some tlc. The wifi did not work in the room, nor did the TV, which had to be replaced. Access was up a stone spiral staircase with no lift to the four floors. Breakfast was low to start. The only sitting area was in the busy pub bar. Over-priced. Would have done better in a more centrally located budget chain of hotels.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to a Hop on Hop off bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby hotel. Windows didn't shut so was noisy. There was no parking, only short stay ( max 3 hours) on a meter, despite being told there was. The toilet in the bathroom was loose on the wall & wobbled when sat on. No dining room, you eat in bar with very limited menu. Pillows were dirty, beds ancient & creaky. One place to avoid.

    not much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 8 bedrooms are all located on the second and third floors with access via a steep spiral stairs - thank goodness for the chair on the landing! Our room on the third floor only had a velux window with a view of the roof. The room on the second floor was much bigger and did have a view over the Cathedral Square. Despite having a "Restaurant" on the first floor next to the kitchen, this was not in use and breakfast was served in the Bar on the ground floor resulting in the food not being terribly hot. The property would benefit greatly from a make over, some new furniture and a fresh coat of paint! Lovely building from the outside, but not so good inside which is a shame as it has lots of potential. Was not worth the money!

    The property is very close to the Cathedral, and not far from the centre of Glasgow. The towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toast was squashed onto same plate, a toast rack or side plate would have been better. Service for breakfast very slow after waiting 10 minutes had to ask to be served. Tricky as I was working...maybe better if on holiday. Good coffee and as many refills as you wanted.

    The breakfast was substantial. Walking distance of centre and George Square. Lovely quiet location. Good sized room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the first day was a bit strange as their was a number of non-residents who were n the bar area waiting to be picked up for a football match. Second day breakfast was good and was back to normal.

    Room & Bathroom was a good size. Location was excellent and was quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a bit dated and could do with a lick of paint and new skirting boards etc. No iron in the room which I needed as was staying there on business although I am sure the staff would let me borrow one, but I didnt ask. The room information did say that there was one available. No mirror except in the bathroom so could not dry my hair properly!!!

    The bed was very comfy and the pillows. Sheets were very clean as were the towels. Tea and coffee supplied in the room with biscuits and there is a pub downstairs which was welcoming and very friendly people inside. No noise upstairs in the rooms and blackout curtains stopped the street lights from shining through the window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a night on the town the stairs were a killer but I guess I'm just showing my age

    Was a little rough for breakfast but the menu looked good. Everyone else eating breakfast seemed to really enjoy it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite basic, but contained everything I needed, and the beds are very comfortable.

    The character of the hotel, including a lovely bar. And the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi worked but not super strong. TV didn't work after 1st day.

    Made me haggis to order at the bar which was very accommodating as not on the menu. Lively whiskey bar with good music. Cooked breakfast to order each morning. Stunning views from the room and a building full of character, probably some ghosts too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a hotel, it is rooms above a bar, which would have been ok if that is what we were led to expect in the description. The decor in the common areas is rather shabby, which makes the shabby chic in the room just look shabby. The wifi does not reach the top floor, so it would be good for future guests in The Turret room to be either told this or to be provided with a router on that floor. The breakfast is poor, with low quality ingredients, especially the gristly sausage. Overall, poor value for money.

    Quiet, stylish attic room, that was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in room, but was very fast downstairs in the restaurant/bar area.

    Interesting part of town. Very friendly staff. Comfortable bedrooms. Would definitely recommend this as a cheaper option for those who want to explore Glasgow. No problems at checkin/checkout.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin Room 2 needs a sympathetic refurb, new beds and and paint, bathroom is scruffy but clean and Tv and wifi signal is poor. Restaurant closed in low season and be aware that it is a very old building so no lift to bedrooms.

    Staff and Breakfast and dinner where first class, happy to stay here again because I was made so very welcome, clean crisp linen and fluffy towels, the building is old and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    décor needs to be done. Doesn't give a comfortable feel but is compensated to a degree by the friendly young staff. Third day(Sunday) there was no one till 8:30 to serve breakfast so had to do with a box of cereal and milk.No coffee((

    breakfast was salmon with scrambled eggs was great second day poached eggs on toast was awesome. Coffee is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps because it was offseason, there was only a skeleton staff on during weekday mornings. This meant a 40mins to an hour wait for a cooked breakfast that wasn't very special.

    Hotel is opposite the Necropolis, so it's ideal for walks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing wrong was the blinds on one of the windows was broken but it didn't bother me too much as it gave a nice feel to the room.

    The 19th century style was very nice the room was simple and cosy and the bed really comfortable, the bathroom was modern lovely and clean the view from the room was great as it looked over the cathedral and also the necropolis, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the morning was delicious, would recommend to anyone unless you don't like stairs as it is a 19th century building it's a spiral staircase to the bedroom areas I had a lovely time and would definitely use this hotal again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite hot during the night.

    Staff very friendly. Ideal location for us as only a 15 min walk to our daughters flat. Close to Strathclyde University and easy to get to city centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were great and breakfast was good. They need to update their photos on Booking.com because the rooms are nice and the pictures give them no justice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a abit of a shambles to be honest. The room we got put in was scrappy and badly in need of a refurb, this would have been ok but the heating was broken and the room was absolutely freezing. The staff were helpful and well meaning but the they didn't know what to do. After about 3 hours the manager showed up telling us they couldn't fix it, and brought a malfunctioning space heater (after we requested) for the room. We were really looking forward to staying in a nice, warm room for the night and we didn't get that. I'm not happy at all with it.

    breakfast was nice, the views for the hotel are fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i arrived at 4pm on the sunday and had to wait a hour to check in the pub was closed a nice old man let me sit in the bar till staff arrive to check in no food on the sunday night i couldnt' close the bedroom window fixed open out of date milk december for 3 days even thou I mentioned it to the staff on the 2nd night after telling male member of staff the milk was out of date I ask for some milk he wanted to charge me 79pfor there was less than a pint in the carton more interested in his phone also on the 2nd night I ordered food then was told 5 mins later the ovens were switched off and would take about 20 -30 mins to heat up . this was at 5 50pm I probably picked the wrong time to book this place .

    the staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception very poor, virtually unwatchable. No hot water in sink or bath, only in shower. Unable to control heating due to broken switch on radiator.

    Wonderful view of the Necropolis. Fast and effective wi-fi. Nice breakfast Staff made an unsuccessful attempt to fix the television and were reasonable when I chose to move to a different hotel, refunding my 3 remaining nights in cash.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was partially burnt, (sausage) bathroom lights in room didn't work, curtains in room hanging off the runner. Couldn't get into car park as its small and was used by hotel staff.

    Good size room (cathedral room) cosy bar area, nice friendly staff. Old style building lends itself to the historical atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected better because of the price charged, which was advertised as being a 50% reduction of the usual price - even the reduced price was higher than you'd pay for one of the chain hotels. A previous reviewer said he left and went elsewhere, but I couldn't afford to do that. We picked Cathedral House for its proximity to the hospital. The entrance to the hotel is very tatty - there are tiles missing from the step, the doors are scruffy (as are most in the hotel), the signs need repainting and paint is flaking from the window frames. Very atmospheric if you want a gothic trip to the Necropolis, I'm sure, but not quite what the carefully chosen website photos suggest. The way in is through the bar. At the door through to the stairs for the hotel rooms, there was a mop in a bucket and, on the other side of the door, was a pile of spare chairs, tables etc. In our room, the curtains were faded and the upholstery of the chair didn't look very clean. The shades on the bedside lamps were badly damaged (a bit TOO 'distressed') and the socket to one of the lamps was loose, which was a little unnerving when plugging in a phone charger. The ceiling light had a broken fitting where it met the ceiling, with bare wires showing. The ensuite shower room was spacious and clean enough with a fairly new shower but the tiling on the shelf under the window was terrible, with grey grouting and really badly fitting joining strips. What really took us by surprise was that the toilet moved away from the wall when anyone sat on it!!!!!! We'd already paid so we stayed and who wants to make a fuss when they are in a strange city? We survived the experience by laughing about it.

    The shower was good and the hotel was convenient for the hospital. There was a good supply of coffee in sachets in the room. The towels and bedlinen were good. Great views of the Necropolis and the Cathedral.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift for older people, but stairs were easy enough to climb.

    liked the decor in the bar and the selection of whisky, loved the olde worlde feeling of the place, and the warmth. Also liked how you could let yourself in side door after midnight. Food was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely atmosphere, very helpful staff , great location & great breakfast options with friendly bar great affordable food options Would stay again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bar / restaurant, lovely from the outside. Just a bit disappointed with bedrooms, bare and basic, need a wee bit refurb,carpets would be much nicer than a cold floor.

    Amazing friendly, hardworking staff, fabulous wee bar,restaurant. Lovely food/breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed, room was cold, no lighting in bathroom (was fixed during our stay), limited parking

    Great location, quirky atmosphere, staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bulb in the bathroom was not working, the handyman came to look, but did not have a ladder with him, so he did not come back to fix it. I ask you, for £120 a night, this should have been sorted promptly.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: