Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cathedral View B & B 4 stars

83 Exeter Street, Salisbury, SP1 2SE, United Kingdom

#6 of 33 B&Bs and Inns in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Good Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tad pricey, but that doesn't mean I want to undervalue Steve and Wenda's hard work. They get up early each day and make delicious food, they provide a permit for your car, and Booking.com probably takes a commission so I imagine this had something to do with the cost. I still would stay at Cathedral view B&B again despite the price.

    Clean, friendly, well-located. Steve and Wanda are extremely attentive and went out of their way to help, including with accommodating my vegan tastes (I had tried being a vegan a while back and forgot I wrote this on the form, and they made an amazing breakfast for me to take with me to work - I'm a bridal hairstylist and I was working a wedding locally that morning) Their breakfast saved me. When they realised I was no longer vegan, they were more than accommodating and gave me the best meaty breakfast ever. My point is, whatever your dietary requirements, they will make sure you are looked after!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Steve and Wenda were excellent hosts and took very special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Steve and Wenda were excellent hosts and took very special care of my dietary needs. Steve gave us some interesting and useful information about Salisbury. The room was exceptionally clean. Even though we had a front room on a road which is busy by day, it was very quiet at night and we slept well. We really did have a view of the cathedral from our window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for exploring Salisbury but best of all were the owners Steve and Wenda who were always around to help with any queries and transport issues (not to mention the delicious home cooked breakfast with homemade bread and jams, and utterly scrumptious cookies and lemon drizzle cake for nibbles in the afternoon).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, clean, comfy, super location, breakfast great...what more could you ask for?!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very comfy large bed, friendly reception, very good breakfast, super location, clean. Breakfast was served at a single large table for all the guests to sit around. We were happy with this, but if you prefer to be more private, then this may not be for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay. We would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were exceptionally knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Their advice on places to eat and places to visit was exceptional. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Very well run B&B
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was too hot which of course the hosts can do nothing about. It was one of those patches where air con is required to get comfortable at night. As the room faces the road it was a choice between traffic noise and cool night air. At any other time the score would have been 9+ higher.

    Very Clean, nicely furnished, great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay in an excellent B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most comfortable bed I've slept in for a long time. Very clean room and bathroom. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Good breakfast. Excellent location for exploring the city. The entrance to the cathedral close was diagonally opposite the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    An excellent choice. Just book it now. Really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steve and Wenda were excellent hosts, very friendly, very prompt service, and with lots of useful information about restaurants and things to do. Breakfast was excellent. The location couldn't be better, just a short walk to the Cathedral and the Salisbury Museum. (These two sites took up an entire day for my wife and me. You can certainly see the Cathedral in less time than the 5 hours we spent (including breaks at the cafe), but you'll miss a lot that the guides can tell you.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable guest house with a helpful, knowledgeable staff, near everything in Bath!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Knowledgeable, helpful staff; a terrific location within walking distance to everything; very clean (do listen to the staff when they explain how to work with the somewhat eccentric plumbing); very comfortable. And the breakfast selections were absolutely top notch - I highly recommend the Henrietta House eggs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely town, great location, great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Wanda were great hosts. They provided great information about Salisbury and the nearby highlights. They even gave us directions for a self walking tour they had prepared. They were very available to answer our questions and take care of all of our needs. The breakfasts were delicious and made to order at the time of your choice. Tasty treats were left in our room every day. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The building is located directly across from the cathedral close, so in a perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Good old fashioned b&b in the heart of Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. The location was excellent. It’s a typical old fashioned b&b. This means that it’s not the place for you. if you want luxury But it is certainly comfortable -and very central, with great hosts

    Steve, the owner, was very knowledgeable of everything about Salisbury. The owners were very friendly and put little treats in the room. Yummy biscuits!!!. ! We left very early and they even packed us a brunch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at Cathedral View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at Cathedral View. Steve and Wenda served fresh bread, homebaked treats for tea, and tasty breakfasts. Our room was great, and we loved the View if the Cathedral!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    This was a delightful and homely B&B experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Wenda were excellent hosts, ready with helpful information on local amenities, interesting places to visit and recommended restaurants. Steve was a mine of information on the city and his sheets were really useful guides! The breakfast was very fresh and tasty. Our room looked out over the cathedral wall so we had a beautiful view of the spire, particularly fetching in the snow storm that we woke to on Saturday morning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly welcome and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly welcome and delicious breakfast. My room was cozy and warm with a very comfy bed. Weather was chilly during my stay so I really appreciated the coziness. Steve kindly provided expert info on Salisbury's attractions, making my visit even more pleasant. A great and homely place to stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Steve and Wendy are lovely, really polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Wendy are lovely, really polite and helpful. The b&b was really clean. Excellent location. Amazing view to the Cathedral. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay with great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was excellent. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were delicious. The owners are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Cathedral View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the cozy room with a view on the cathedral, the English breakfast and the impeccable cleanliness of the place. The service was excellent. The location is great, and the room quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hosts and a great attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the shower had better pressure but a minor detail compared to all the other positives about the place.

    Lovely hosts and a great attention to detail. Comfortable and clean. Anzac cookies an absute treat being from NZ

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    A good B&B, very near to Salisbury centre with pleasant owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good B&B, near to the Cathedral; we had a parking spot opposite which was good and the owner paid for 24 hours which we thought generous at no cost to us. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had the room with the king size bed. It's a lovely room, very quiet, overlooking the garden at the back of the property. En suite bathroom was very nice. Soft fluffy towels and lots of hot water. The house is lovely and quiet. Steve greeted us on arrival and gave us a (free) 24 hour residents parking permit. This meant we could park very close by, that evening and the following day - all within walking distance of the cathedral. We slept very soundly. Breakfast was top notch. Proper Cumberland sausage, locally sourced bacon which was really tasty and a golden fried egg. As others have said, Steve's home-made jams are exquisite (rasp was my fave, but he preferred the stawb). Location is excellent - 5 mins walk to the cathedral and 10 to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay with perfect hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness and helpfulness of owners. The breakfast was excellently cooked and the personal touches, such as the home made bread, condiments and lemon drizzle cake was a real bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    We definitely will return again and stay here even though we've visited Salisbury many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only wish the shower were larger. The bathroom, as is typical in England, was tiny.

    The owners are wonderful, helpful, informative and accessible. They provided a list of recommended restaurants and pubs as well as the important sights. That was exceptional! The breakfast was fantastic with many choices, all good. The room actually has a view of the cathedral spire and is directly across from one of the gates to the cathedral close, though we didn't know that until later. The room is pretty and very clean and cozy. It is only a short walk to the center of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay for a night or longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well placed for the city centre, and our room (#1) did indeed have a cathedral view. Quiet at night and an excellent breakfast. Wenda and Steve attentive hosts. Parking permit allows you to park free of charge all day if you wish. We would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    All fantastic,a lovely 2 day stay .A great find,highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wifi,poor coverage

    The room, the friendliness of the owner/Steve.The cooked breakfast, and the service were both excellent.Not forgetting the location,fantastic ,cross the road through the historic cathedral gate and your there in the grounds and right into the city, brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Lovely guest house in great location - you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. The only thing I can think of is that the weather was a little on the warm side the first night and we cracked the window up to let in the fresh air since it was a little warm on the second floor. We are just so used to air conditioning so it's unfair to say we felt a little warm when maybe others would not feel the same way.

    I am originally from Salisbury and wanted to come come back for a stay and Cathedral View was highly recommended. Loved the location and there was parking right across the street with overnight permit. Right across the street from the Queen Anne Gate into the Cathedral Close and I felt right at home. A few blocks into town and walking distance to everything. Steve and Wenda were wonderful hosts, friendly and informative. We had a nice choice of breakfast foods including a full-on English breakfast. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed the home-made baked goodies in our room each day. When we return to Salisbury, we will be sure to stay at the Cathedral View again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Comfy B&B in the heart of it all!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't stay longer.

    Excellent hosts and location! Steve had great recommendations for places to go and places to eat and more. Everything we wanted was in a short walking distance. Tuesday is market day. Of course the Cathedral was stunning and Steve kindly mentioned the time to go for a great photograph. If you have any questions about the history you will find your answers here and breakfast, which was delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend Cathedral View B&B!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    One night in Salisbury
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A lovely friendly B & B. Only 4 Rooms but very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, full English. Other selections available. Location spot on, only 2 mins from centre of Salisbury.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    We were totally happy and satisfied
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. High quality food and drink. Convenient for city and cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Steve and Wenda are lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Wenda are lovely people. The room was very clean, the bed super cosy and breakfast was superb. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and helpful owners, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, friendly and helpful owners, delicious home-made Lemon drizzle cake by Wenda!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hosts, great location, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hosts!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Best B and B in Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Everything about this stay was perfect. Location, room, breakfast and personable hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, relaxing and efficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly people, comfy bed, excellent homemade cookies

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    My stay was fabulous!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wenda and Steve are very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything. Steve and Wenda are the perfect hosts :) Great breakfast and great advises on the region.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Looking forward to going back already :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homemade sweet treats left in our room each day were a welcome delight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Great help from steve, the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great help from steve, the owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The warm and genuine welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great

    The warm and genuine welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, warm-hearted approach from Steve and his wife.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent, warm-hearted approach from Steve and his wife. Cozy, well-kept, personal and professional. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely hosts!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A great break away to recharge the batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was nice to have gluten free toast available, which was toasted separately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Hosts were very welcoming, great attention to detail in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosts were very welcoming, great attention to detail in every respect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    a gem of a place,hosts so wonderful,so clean and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..an amazing place

    The attention to detail was amazing,home made jam for breakfast ,pens when you left with a postcard

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay in a very satisfactory b and b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were exceptionally helpful, the location great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    steve and Wenda were wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Home from Home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast with homemade bread and jams, friendly and helpful owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Salisbury
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best bed and breakfast we have visited- lovely hosts, great rooom and fab breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Very warm welcome by the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome by the owners. Very helpful. Did everything to make our as good as possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Good food, comfortable bed, friendly hosts,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent in every way,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    Steve is full of information and provides useful handout...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve is full of information and provides useful handout guides to Salisbury

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52