Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catton Old Hall 5 stars

Lodge Lane, Old Catton, Norwich, NR6 7HG, United Kingdom

#18 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    A really comfortable bed and although the picture isn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park isn't the worlds biggest but this is only a minor problem.

    A really comfortable bed and although the picture isn't of the room we stayed in they are all large rooms. Situated just outside of the city centre there is a regular bus service if needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable with good bus access to Norwich just outside BUT stops at about 7.30 pm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local restaurants and menus left in reception only gave postcodes which is no use without a SatNav (we do not have one)

    Very nice room and enjoyed adjacent courtyard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Top class B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location did not quite live up to the quality of the Old Hall, and we had to drive to find a restaurant for our evening meal.

    Very comfortable B&B. Elegant decor in keeping with the 17th century building. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. Our room had the use of a private courtyard - sadly, we were unable to use it due to the weather. Enjoyed the full English served in a stylish dining room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The Host was very welcoming and explained everything to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Host was very welcoming and explained everything to us. The room was large we had a wet room en-suit. The bed was comfy breakfast was very good and plenty of food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful old house but there are some maintenance issues which need sorting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few issues in bedroom. Wardrobe had a very damp smell so left our clothes in our suitcases. Shower on the wet room was very weak and the diverter from shower to bath tap on the slipper bath does not work effectively. No central heating available even though overnight temperature was 7 centigrade. WFI did not work at all in the room.

    Room had a delightful inglenook fireplace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely property, full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was very thick and too warm, great for the depths of winter but far too thick for late August!

    Friendly staff, lovely furnishings, great breakfast. Very convenient parking too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    A bit of a mixed bag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit odd, neither rural nor in the city and a bit of a trek to get food in the evening. When we were shown to our room we were told that it might have a bit of a smell because the carpet had been cleaned. The carpet was actually still wet so we couldn’t put anything on the floor, and the smell was terrible and got worse. We were told there wasn’t another room available so had no choice but to spend the night in there. We had paid a bit extra for access from our room to a private courtyard which turned out to be pretty grim with a dead shrub in a tub in the corner. We were moved the next day to a much nicer room but it was not a good start to our stay.

    Breakfast was good. The room we were eventually moved into was really nice and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Made it hard for me to go home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious, bed was huge and I think the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Made going home even harder!! Breakfast was great and loved the fact it was a full English as standard or had a very good choice of others if required! Which we did have an egg Benedict and again tasted amazing!! Will certainly look to stay here again! Also loved the decor of the whole hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the night we got there the bath hot water tap wasn't working which was disappointing. Our bedroom wasn't made up during the stay.

    The style of the manor is traditional English manor which is very nice. However it suddenly worked the next day. They catered to our dietary requirements as much as possible which was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay with excellent breakfast - one of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The iron in our room was unusuable as a previous guest had burnt something on soleplate and we didn't have time to request another as we were in a hurry between getting back to hotel and going out again. Also, (if we had been able to use it) the ironing board was too low. Shower pressure was low but could be due to external factors out of control of hotel.

    We had a very nice king size room easily accessible and comfortable. Excellent breakfast, staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Very hot few days, Thankyou for the fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor things. A second knife at table would be nice. Loose hot tap turning wrong way in bathroom. Outside courtyard rather grubby and no flowers in outside flowerpots.

    Delicious breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Luxurious and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a suite but without the cost of being a suite. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. Best B and B we’ve been to and will always go there when going to Norwich. Many thanks to Danielle and her staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Not to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedroom very noisy to people in adjacent rooms. One could litterarely overhear their conversations. No place at all to put ones usual bathroom gear in the bathroom other then on the floor. Just an egg for breakfast causes problems. The hostess is no hostess at all.

    The younger lady who served breakfast was very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic - a real gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a gem of a place. The staff were utterly fantastic and attention to detail was spot on. The rooms are lovely, the whole place was extremely clean and breakfast was yummy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we venture back to Norfolk this is where we will be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful house, great bed, location not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does say in the description that it is in a residential suburb, but I saw lots of descriptions of a beautiful garden, this was not easily signposted within the house and appeared not to exist as it was not visible, there was only a small courtyard. Furthermore the area is residential but that does not mean there are any restaurants in walking distance which I was expecting and which is really from my perspective the biggest let down as after a day of driving it would be nice not to have to drive out for dinner too and therefore not have a few glasses of wine etc.

    The bed was amazing and the room was very beautiful. The breakfast was also very nice and although I only ever met two staff, the lady who owns the business and a helper, they were both very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place, takes you back in time but of course with the luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey at night due to installation, which they are going to sort out with future floor insulation

    Relaxing, great property, lovely out side court for smoker's, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fab stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed here before we asked for the attic room which is tucked under the eaves. A big room with bath. huge bed . Breakfast was preordered the night before and was lovely. Superplace to stay in outskirts of Norwich

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Qutstanding, returning very soon, recommend to the fussiest of friends!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faultless

    Just very clear Catton Old Hall knows its business inside and out , Danielle (manager) outstanding person warm and welcoming , decor fantastically tasteful, comfortable if we did not have commitments I would have had a couple of extra nights!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique rooms within character old hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold floor in bathroom and wi-fi. Need to drive or taxi for any evening dining.

    Boutique style rooms, all done to very high standard within a historic old hall with lots of character. Lovely bedroom and wet room bathroom. Fabulous made to order breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome, well kept buildings, rooms smart and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome, well kept buildings, rooms smart and comfortable. Good dinner recommendations: Recruiting Seargeant in Horsted. The only quibble was inflexibility/difficulty in dairy free options, apparently needed to put this on booking. But for a last minute decision it was a pleasant stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    The b&b was a lovely building and Danielle was a nice person. The superior room was lovely once warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very cold when we first went in. After working the air conditioning unit it warmed up. The fridge was also dirty on arrival.

    Very welcoming, lovely room, breakfast was good and a good variety. The bathroom was the best I've seen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice, value for money, professional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room was cold at breakfast. Bedroom windows ran with condensation, listed building. Guest welcome pack needs updating. Mattress a bit too firm, could do with memory foam topper?

    Breakfast fantastic. Danielle very attentive, responsive and professional. On good bus route into town. No aircraft noise despite proximity to Norwich International airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff and amenities excellent - will come again , and easy access to Park and Ride to go into city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit more central heating during the evening of first night - second night fine . The supplementary heater in room was more than adequate to compensate . Breakfast room a bit cold - but not in it for long . This is a big house to heat at end of January !

    The bedroom was very comfortable - nice to have a proper spring bed ! Good breakfasts with very good alternatives to "full English"

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    An oasis of calm amidst the residential and industrial areas of Norwich.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - no complaints!

    The bed was extremely comfy - big fluffy duvet, super pillows. Great attention to detail throughout. Breakfast well cooked, yummy bacon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Good but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in the night, bathroom sink blocked up by previous occupants and double bed not twin beds as requested. Modern TV in room but small screen not easy to watch from the bed. .

    Very old Character of building but beautifully furnished with modern taste. Large , comfortably furnished room. Good selection of toiletries and drinks plus a mini bar available. Happy to get fresh milk if requested.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A great base for visiting Norwich and the surrounding countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A house of character and history - we loved our bedroom on the top-floor, spacious, tastefully decorated and very well resourced. Plenty of choice at breakfast and enough to keep you going for the rest of the day! The warm welcome was also much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    The loveliest hotel experience I’ve ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was delightful & more up to date than on the app. The staff couldn’t have done anything more. Breakfast was delicious & very personalised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, comfortable guesthouse located the outskirts of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, comfortable guesthouse located the outskirts of Norwich. Easy to walk into the city but equally easy to get a bus or taxi. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Historic friendly quirky B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds in the Nicolas Copping loft room really need upgrading as they are quite narrow & the frames are extremely noisy - they actually woke me up each time I turned over. The shower doesn't work - only a trickle & either boiling or freezing - possibly a structural problem (inadequate water pressure) since staff didn't seem surprised when I mentioned it. A small lamp either over the mirror or on the desk would have been handy as most of the light was on the other side of the room. Desk chair & side tables were flimsy & had to wrestle to open sliding wardrobe doors. Very steep & narrow stairs up to top floor with lighting not working - be warned. Thought it was more a 4 than a 5 star accommodation overall.

    Excellent breakfast made to order daily with delicious fresh coffee & skimmed milk available on request - very helpful, friendly staff - plenty of parking space - local bus to city centre stopped right outside - useful to have a sofa & a fridge in the large loft room which had lots of wardrobe space - lovely heavy linen bedding - packets of home made chocolate flapjack squares in the room each day was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay but unfortunately the location spoilt our experience and we would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is extremely difficult to find even after following maps google and asking a policemen!!! We were lost so many times we wer afraid to go out!

    The decor was beautiful everything about the room and bathroom were better than expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor (lampshades etc) were not appropriate to the age of the building.

    The property is very special in being so historic. We were made welcome and settled in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    A great period property with friendly, unfussy staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not unusually, the mini-bar was somewhat noisy - which wouldn't have been a problem but the place is otherwise really quiet.

    A great period property with friendly, unfussy staff and good quality facilities in a quiet neighbourhood on the northern edge of Norwich. The room and breakfasts were both excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower gave some problems and will require fixing.

    Excellent accommodation. We were in a large room with great atmosphere due to the age of the building. Friendly, helpful staff with good off-road parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, quirky old B&B with warm and accommodating hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom was automatic, which was a bit annoying if you needed to get up in the night and didn't want to jolt your senses or wake up your partner. There is also a beautiful roll top bath in there, but I found it hard to relax in such bright lighting which was a shame.

    Beautiful old building with exposed beams and lots of character. The room was huge and comfortable with a lovely big en suite including a roll top bath. All the staff were lovely. We went fishing and were made a packed breakfast for our early start.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely room which fitted the luxury title. Clean bathroom. Well stocked tea tray. Lovely breakfast room and tasty breakfast. Accomodating staff as I forgot to order a specific breakfast the night before. Overall a really good b and b to use when visiting Norfolk Broads.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    One, if not the best B&B we have stayed at, we were spoilt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes.

    Fantastic house in a quiet location. Large spacious modern room which was clean and had lots of nice touches, a massive bed, tea making facilities, treats, mini bar and toiletries. The en suite was clean and a decent size. Staff were friendly, attentive and approachable. Super breakfast with all the trimmings and more. Fully recommend to family and friends and would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Plenty of room for parking,staff and manager,friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building,stairs seem a bit difficult, floors creak,but it's character,if you have mobility problems check with manager to see what rooms are available.Overall a good expierience,not a boring ,bland,modern hotel.

    Plenty of room for parking,staff and manager,friendly,helpful,pleasant gardens,didn't notice traffic noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    A lovely place but management need to be more thorough in their checks to provide better experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower didnt work No bottle opener for minibar No ironing board (had to get myself from another room)

    The decor was beautiful and staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hall on the outskirts of Norwich, the rooms were beautiful, spacious and very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By no means a complaint but shower hats would be useful for women with the overhead shower.

    The room and the bathroom were of great comfort and extremely spacious, plus a lovely garden to venture into.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    The room, its design and its facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The room, its design and its facilities. The outdoor spaces. The manager, whom was helpful, informative and very communicative (all to highest degree).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Excellent would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from minute we arrived was excellent Very friendly staff in arrival & room was gorgeous with added bonus of our very own court yard perfect for hot weather so many lovely extras in room then opened the wardrobe to find a mini fridge fully loaded with soft & acholic drinks Would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Definitely not to our taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit creepy, heavy drapes, velvety and fringey , such a shame because beautiful inglenook in room and could have been light and stunning.

    Ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    a great small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the batteries were getting low on the remote for the tele,nothing else.

    room was very nice and lovely bathroom,Paula the manager, was very helpful and the staff could not do enough for you.The breakfast was just right, anything you wanted the staff said ok what more can you say.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Stay in a 17th century hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes really. More shelf room in ensuite would be helpful

    Excellent position for Norwich and a reasonable distance to travel to the coast also Norfolk Broads. Lovely room tastefully decorated to compliment the building plus spacious ensuite with wet room shower. The staff were very helpful. A great breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful & full of character
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much, maybe stronger wifi

    Its a beautiful old property ,full of character, very tastefully decorated, we had very big room with king size bed and beautiful bathroom. They are very generous when it comes to tea,coffee facilities and cooked breakfast. Really liked it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Great Place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Picture of place seemed it was in the country , when it was in an estate , but would stay again as top notch staff and room ! Breakfast amazing !

    Great Staff , beautiful room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic historical building very close to town centre. Our room was spacious and cosy. Bed was very comfortable and a bit creaking :). Most delicious bacon I have ever had. Huge thank you to Paula for making our weekend exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place, very welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was here on business. Booked late so felt pressured to secure somewhere and Booking.com did their old trick of *just one room left* only to find I was the sole guest! I missed that it was solely a B&B and I, like some others, assumed I was going to something completed different. The Wi-Fi didn't work in my room so I couldn't work on-line. I didn't realise their wasn't a bar or common area so found myself sitting in my room and popping out to get some fast food. All that said, the venue did absolutely nothing wrong, was very accomodating and, as my host could tell by my face when I arrived, was immediately understanding of the error I'd clearly made with the booking. It was a premium rate via Booking.com that certainly didn't reflect the what was offer. The cost combined with the pressure to book the 'last room...' disappointed me so I'll have to be better prepared in the future and not use Booking.com.

    Very welcoming, clean and comfortable. For a leisure trip I would certainly consider Old Hall again but would book directly with them.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tap in bathroom was slightly loose, but did not adversely affect stay. Lights outside were out when we arrived (in the dark) so difficult to identify where the actual place was!

    The eggs benedict with bacon was good at breakfast, didn't have full English. Found the room comfortable and the atmosphere cosy. There were adequate supplies of milk, tea and biscuits!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    Super duper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, could not fault it.

    Lovely people and staff, the building has so much character, super breakfast, better than any premier inn 😀, very comfy, slept like a log. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    The friendly staff, i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a little thing, but if coasters could be provided in the room it would prevent the lovely wooden furniture from becoming marked.

    The friendly staff, i.e Paula greeted us with a smile and served our breakfast, which was great, nothing was too much trouble for her. The characterful room had a very comfortable bed, complimentary drinks and a large en-suite, lovely..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.8
    Nice spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos a little deceptive as this is actually in the middle of a housing estate, rather than the countryside as you may think from the photos. Cobweb and spider in shower and very low pressure shower. Wifi was quite patchy. Overall the B&B was a little overpriced.

    Nice spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    1st class its nice to see an old building being kept as it should well done to management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any proberlems

    We have stayed in many hotels i rate catton hall at top of list

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Lovely old property with big rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old property with big rooms. Even a fridge with drinks in. Lovely manager as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Historic and beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    A beautiful old building and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Bedrooms nicely decorated ,some extra space would be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms nicely decorated ,some extra space would be nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.0
    Perfect for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and general atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Realxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    400 years Manor House. with character.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could have been better

    very comfy and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A very relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very happy with every aspect of our stay

    Very comfortable accommodation in a very pleasant aged building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. great decor very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    I have never felt more welcome anywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Easier to say what I didn't like, which was nothing. Perfect in my opinion

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The accommodation was stunning, such an amazing building and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was stunning, such an amazing building and the interior has been tastefully decorated, wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very warm Welcome/Check in upon arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm Welcome/Check in upon arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.9
    Friendly staff, lovely room , but a poor cooked breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent - beautiful room and lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent - beautiful room and lovely setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Room and building are charming. Room is very large and bed is comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is ideal for a b&b with large rooms and plenty of character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t make beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold , WiFi was very poor .

    Room Deco nice , large rooms . Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    gorgeous room with bags of character and Danielle was superb she was so helpful and attentive for all our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Best suite ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Had the honeymoon suite for a wedding anniversary and it certainly had the wow factor!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.5
    I would stay here again; fantastic value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed mattresses in twin room were too soft.

    Full English Breakfast was fantastic quality, beautifully presented and delicious too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a fantastic location; my room was beautiful and I had a wonderful nights' sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast, staff very helpful with a cab into Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold

    Good breakfast, staff very helpful with a cab into Norwich

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: