Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cavendish 4 stars

75 Gower Street, Camden, London, WC1E 6HJ, United Kingdom

#951 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2546 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.4
    Not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a full redecoration. The cleaning especially the carpets was poor. There were marks on the electrical sockets which suggested power shortage - bit worrying

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.1
    I liked the english breakfast, eggs, bacon, beans.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was not very clean. There were visible stains on chairs and furniture.

    I liked the english breakfast, eggs, bacon, beans... The french press coffee was nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ensuite was so cramped that it was impossible to sit straight on the toilet. The kettle boiling set off the smoke alarm. It was practically impossible to fill the kettle from the sink because the sink was so small.

    Shortbread biscuits

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy of an evening and hall light shone under the door and down the side so difficult to sleep Pillows were awful flat and hard No amenities for the evening

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for purpose.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room needed a makeover. The room decor looked tired and was very sparse.

    Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The location suited us as it was near underground stations. Very good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    Location of the hotel is pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was a lot smaller than I expected. The bathroom was so small you had to sit sideways to use the toilet. When I first checked in, I noticed my bed sheets had massive coffee stains on then which doesn't give you the most confidence in their cleanliness.

    Location of the hotel is pretty good. There are nice places to eat on the block, it's very close to the British Museum, and a short walk to a London Underground stop.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.3
    Looked better in the pictures but was manageable for a low cost room in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am only 5ft 4" and my feet were off the end of the bed. It was a single cabin room which is obviously reflected in the price but clearly was stuffed into a tiny space with a rattly door to the outside so noisy and no headboard or coat hangers to hang up a jacket/shirt.

    Convenient location and a comparably low price. Friendly staff for breakfast. Fine if you need something cheap but not cheerful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    London prices I guess ... Did the job, but not likely to stay again, sorry.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very tiny. Dangerous arrangement to use kettle (no plug near bedside table). No chair / table. Bathroom un heated

    Good location for British Museum, RCGP and Euston / St Pancras stations. Bed very comfortable and shower good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar,,, didn’t get offered breakfast so made do with tea and toast,,, room was big to be fair but in desperate need of re decoration small bathroom but nice decent shower,, beds weren’t too bad but lots of ripped sheets and pillows smelt fusty

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Theatre break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread and tomato delivery hadnt arrived in the morning so no toast for breakfast which was disappointing. There were no teaspoons in the room which wasn't a major problem but would have been useful. The towels were a little thin and in need of replacing.

    The location was great and within walking distance of the theatre we visited. We had a comfortable sleep and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was a great stay in a proper London townhouse. There is no lift so that might be difficult for some guests, but all in all everything else was great. I cannot find fault with anything.

    Lovely helpful staff. Great location in Bloomsbury. Ten minute walk from Euston. Lovely eateries in the area and a five minute walk from Tottenham Court Road. Could not be better. Very cosy little room. If travelling alone, very safe and enjoyable. Great breakfast and lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location, within easy walking distance of West End.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed a freshen up decor wise (coat of paint all over) and some fittings could be replaced. More smaller tables for 2 at breakfast.

    Good location, within easy walking distance of West End. Comfortable bed, good shower, good substantial breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Just nearby my destination and purpose of my visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Cleaning and facility to move in the room The same daily eggs as breakfast without ( fresh vegetable such cucumber, tomato,,) no fresh ham and cheese,!

    Easy to go to my destination

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.3
    Great central location in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for 7 nights & my room was not vacuumed during this time. The general state of the room was that it could benefit from a thorough clean & decoration tidy up. The bathroom door had dirty hand marks down the side of it where previous guests had closed it rather than using the handle, gross!! The wifi signal wasn’t always great & did not work in the breakfast room at all.

    Great central location in London. As a female travelling alone, the hotel is safe & so is the area. Breakfasts were really good, great scrambled eggs, & the catering staff were very efficient & friendly. The bedding & towels were of a good standard & very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    We will remember Hotel Cavendish very fondly for its friendly staff and wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was impossibly small and we had to report broken tiles on the floor. Our window could only be kept open manually and was never fixed during our stay of 7 days. The carpets are long overdue for replacement.

    The staff went out of their way to make us at home and some staff serving breakfast was outstandingly kind. Breakfast very generous and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Ottima posizione!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small. I couldn’t even leave the lauggage open in the floor. Furthermore the room was too cold and I got sick during my journey. I had higher more expectations since it was a 4 stars hotel!

    Ottima posizione!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.3
    very disappointed. the room cost £215 which was definatly not worth the money, very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the first room I was in had no lock on the door, the window wouldn't shut and there was no electricity. I demanded to move. The other room was just as bad, the bathroom was filthy, that bad I didn't even want to walk on the floor, let along get in the shower. the state of the shower curtain was disgusting.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    a 4 star hotel? Rly?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Totally overprized. Maybe is the normal thing in London. And for a 4 stars hotel, it's a joke.

    The breakfast was very good and a very attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    A very good stay. Excellent location and a friendly hotel. I will certainly stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the room was not very effective and it took a very long time to dry my hair.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    only the value for location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size is very small and uncleaned floor, it looks more dirty. No proper place to keep the baggage and you cannot even move in the room. No value for breakfasts and it was very specific and standard, bread and butter, egg, pork sausage, piece of bacon and piece of tomato...everyday... and tea/ milk.

    Only the location... which is more convenient access to the trains...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    English breakfast was tasty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cupboard was dirty. No bedside table. No chair for the desk. Had to ask for the soap because they forgot to leave it in the room. Internet signal was poor. I could hear every door opening and closing as well as people from neighbouring rooms talking.

    English breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Very underwhelming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I payed for a double room and the staff tried to fob me off in a single, I had to go back to reception and complain/prove I booked a double. the pillows on the bed was so hard they actually left an aching pain in my neck and the bed was unbelievably lumpy. the décor in ruins/outdated.

    not much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    2.5
    This establishment is appalling.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This establishment is appalling. The hotel over-charged me and have not yet issued a refund. I am unable to get in touch with the manager and they have not responded to any of my emails. My advice is to avoid if you do not want to be cheated of money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    NEVER ALLOW THE HOTEL TO GIVE YOU THE ROOM LG1
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room. Please never ever allow for the Hotel to give you room LG1, in my opinion this room shouldn't even exist. The room is located between the kitchen and the breakfast room. Unless you don’t want to set up an alarm to wake up at 6.15 a.m. every day, do not take the room. The noise of the loud of conversation of the kitchen staff Will no doubt wake you up as they arrive, however it continues on, without you being able to go back to sleep with the noise of the plates, pans being passed around. This room should be closed down or it should be left as a room for either the owner or manager of the hotel just to see how happy they would be to wake up to go to work in this manner.

    the hotel is in a good location, very close to Goodge street station or warren street station, very close to everything in central London. The Staff very helffully and polite. Breakfast is very good and very nice service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    I could touch all four walls at the same time and had to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could touch all four walls at the same time and had to side step to get to the bathroom, and there were bugs in the bed. So all in all not great. I skipped the breakfast of tinned prunes and peaches.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Don’t think we’ll stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was ok but the cleanliness was a let down. Dusty and neeed a good paint. The man on reception was very nice and friendly however the breakfast staff were very rude. No good morning when entered the room and they had no bread for toast. Surely this is basic stuff!

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot, need more ventilation or a better fan. Bed was 2 singles joined together, not great for a couple. We were on the 3rd floor, no elevator. Tiny room with little space to move. Fan in toilet/shower barely worked which made the room hotter.

    Great location, staff were very helpful with booking tours and breakfast was decent. Good amount of towel provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    No value for money, pretty small alleys, very difficult to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire stay

    No value for money, pretty small alleys, very difficult to carry bags, limited option for breakfast, doesn't get replenished if over,all in all very disappointed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Very small double room - was hardly a single.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly small (sold as a double but even small for a single) - could not walk on one side of the double bed which was pushed up against wall / window. The bathroom very tiny - could not fill a kettle directly from the small wash basin. Stayed at this hotel 3 months ago and the double room we were allocated was perfectly fine, but as we were only staying one night and checked-out quite early - we have written this off to experience, but no plans to stay here again.

    The location is good for visiting London

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not child friendly at all there was about a 30ft drop from a window that opened floor to ceiling with no rails or safety bars had to use the sofa bed to put in front of it so child didn’t fall out no air conditioning no outside space no lifts an was dirty an food was awful would of never of booked if I new about the dangers 😡😡

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Mid-Week stay in August
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a sloping floor!!! We found this quirky as the building is originally Georgian. This is what you get with an old London Town Houses. One way street was a bit noisy. Hot weather no air-con.

    Location was good. Close to tube. Breakfast was ok staff very nice. Good price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself needs a coat of paint and brightening up.as the decor is extremely dated and grimy with water marks running down walls from old leaks. The welome mat at the front door was a trip hazard and was in such a bad state it was removed during our stay. The three beds in our room were two beds and a put me up chair the seat of which was so thin you could feel the springs through when you laid down and as it would only go in one place in the room we couldn't get to the desk to make ourselves a cup of tea. There was no bath just a shower which was mouldy and the hairdryer was a box on the wall in the bathroom. The iron that was supposed to be in our room had to be asked for and when it arrived the wiring was unsafe. Breakfast was poor, the bacon and sausage were barely warm, hard and rubbery presumably because they had been cooked earlier and stood all morning. Although we requested a fried egg with one breakfast and no egg on another, both came with scrambled egg the first two days. All in all thoroughly disappointing

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    We stayed only one night. But we had a lovely time with walking distance from Oxfordstreet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condiction. It was a vift we found in the cubboard, but didn´t use.

    Good location. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good with eggs and bacon served at the table. We had a lovely time at the Cavendish.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    probably woudlnt stay again. very dis-appointed in the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small, en-suite tiny. Didn't think the food at breakfast was very good quality .ie cheap orange juice. sausage wasn't very nice. Bread wasn't very nice either. even with the fan, the room was unbearably hot. the en suite was boiling!

    bed was comfy. room was very small, ensuite tiny. Didn't think the food at breakfast was very good quality food. ie cheap orange juice. sausage wasn't very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again: a 4 stars hiding a 2 stars facility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is rated 4 stars: I would give it 2! The staff couldn't care much about giving a help in taking my luggage to the third floor (no lift). The room was small, and only a small fun to refresh a bit the air. Of course the unusual high summer temperature did not help, but when we tried to open the window, it almost fall apart, to discover just a wall in front of us. Two tea cups available, one of them dirty. Towels with spots.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Small but nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, unfortunately. And the fan didn't help very much either.

    The room was small but even though it was ver small it was well furnished and allowed a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and alright, but definitely not 4 stars as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, very loud nearby, only 4 channels on TV, decor was dated.

    Great location for Euston Station and University College London. One of the lowest prices in London. Included breakfast and WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Disgusting!,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and dirty! The carpeted stairwell was also very dirty! The room was hot so needed window open and the traffic noise was relentless night long!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.5
    Mold in bathroom - won't refund us at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Black mold in the bathroom - do not book here. The room was filthy, crumbs/dirt on the nightstand, bed, and inside the drawers. Our throats were closing due to an allergic reaction to mold (obviously), so we wanted to leave the hotel entirely and receive our money back - the "manager" Hans refused to speak to us over the phone, wasn't even in the hotel, refused to refund us and the Booking.com agent (Elaine - who said the manager was equally rude to her, despite her helpfulness). They offered us another room, but it was equally dirty!!!! He has yet to speak to us, apologize, or offer any sort of compensation. We are out nearly one thousand dollars, had to book another hotel last minute for our health! They said that because the hotel rating was under 7 that it was our fault and we should have known not to book. I'm sorry, but no matter what rating your hotel has, black mold is unacceptable. Never booking online again, I have been scared off it for good. Heed my warning, fellow travellers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful especially in crisis of lost items...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small for the amount of people very cramped. Room to warm may be just due to the hot weather at present however uncomfortable for sleeping.

    Staff were very helpful especially in crisis of lost items in the area. Good for 1 night but not for longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Great value, compact, clean and central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More choice in bread for breakfast.

    I had a tiny room - but it was interesting because of that. Great view to garden so it was quiet. This was amazing in central London. Fantastic location. Breakfast was great (but I'm not food-fussy). Very good value with the breakfast added in. Friendly staff. Felt secure with 24 hour desk. Other people staying there were diverse and interesting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.5
    It was extremely bad experience.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It It was my huge mistake to stay there. Never again. 1- Hotel is extremely dirty with moulds growing every where. Next day they did not even clean our cups for tea. Cleaning staff have taken our nice new white towel which we bought. 2- Weather was hot and humid but hotel was not having any air conditioning. 3- There were mosquitoes coming inside from open windows. There were bed bugs biting us all night. 4- I booked 2 double rooms, but they gave us one double and one single room. Bad service. 5- There was no security at the hotel. Never leave your luggage as left luggage. There is no safe room to keep it. 6- Breakfast was very basic. Even there were no glasses for drinks.

    It was extremely bad experience. It is not a 4 star hotel at all. There was nothing good in this hotel to mention. It’s not even a hotel. It should revoke its hoteling liscence.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    We are 76 and 80 and would stay there again. The price is right at the top of our affordable range
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had very hot weather, and would have liked to sleep with the windows open but the traffic was very heavy and noisey. A lighter weight duvet would have been great too.

    It is a great locality. Very conveniently placed to three tube stations and heaps of other attractions are within ten minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for short stay, given its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom and bathroom were tiny - barely adequate for one. Air circulation was non existent so had to keep window wide open and suffer all night noise.

    Location was brilliant. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Pretty central and walking distance to Soho, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was dodgy and reception was a bit lacking. Summer in London was really warm, no AC in the room and just a tiny fan. Nothing that would stop me returning.

    Pretty central and walking distance to Soho, good breakfast and the girls working in the breakfast room were really nice! Room was comfy, room service every morning was great. I would most certainly go back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    I will never book this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has nothing to do with the pictures provided on booking.com. There is no space at all to walk in the room, it is extremely small. I had to carry my baggage 2 floors since there is no lift. The breakfast room is too small as well and guests had to wait for more than 15 minutes to wait for a vacant table, not to mention that some other guests left without having breakfast because there was no room for everyone. I had to share my table with another guest, which meant no privacy. Also, breakfast is only served between 7:30 and 9:30, which is inconvenient especially that guests had to wait for 15 minutes to be seated. Too expensive for what this hotel really is!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value comfortable accommodation with friendly efficient staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con in a very hot third floor room

    Good clean and comfy hotel. Stayed a few times and will do so again. Only disadvantage is lack of air con in hot weather

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean bedding, comfy bed, lovely breakfast, could do with being decorated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hard to get into, it was a hot night and sash window broken, had to wedge open with a coat hanger!

    Adequate for just one night, bed comfy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably good for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird entry downstairs thru breakfast room and basement and upstairs again. Busy street.

    Clean; decent cooked breakfast. Could fit 3. Around the block from lots of college pubs. Transit nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Very well placed for a short stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the breakfast room could have been friendlier. Room slight hot as I had to close the window at night because of traffic noise. You cannot close the door to your room quietly, it slams (also that of your neighbours...).

    Good shower even if small, very close to tube station (1 stop from Tottenham Court Court Road), shops close by. Great guys at reception, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was barely big enough to turn around in. When you opened the door it would hit the stool they had placed at the 'desk' area and when you got out of bed you could basically fall into the bathroom, and forget trying to shut that door while in there. I believe the ad was misleading in the size of the room.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. Location was sketchy on one side but super close to British museum on the other.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location for 1-2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is the smallest I have ever seen. Bathroom is tiny also and hair dryer is “old fashioned”. Windows are dirty. No air conditioning. Wi fi is not stable

    Location is great, central London is within walking distance. Goodge street underground station is 5 min walk. Full English breakfast with good food!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Horrible and scary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt like the staff and previous guest banging my door down at 12:30am to ask for clothes left behind by the previous guest. Never stay here

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    I really like this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really like this place. It was so close to Oxford Street (shops )and Euston (transport) so my trip was great. I didn't waste my time because hotel is in the center of London.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Compact Rooms, but an ideal base for exploring London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is converted Edwardian Terrace house that has been made into the Hotel Cavendish. Therefore it is quirky with rooms at different levels and no lifts (cause adding a lift to this property would be near on impossible) Although the rooms are small, they are ideal for someone just wanting a base in London, to sleep and stay clean. The rooms are noisy but you are in Central London, near a large hospital so expect the sirens going at all hours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was crowded and everyone couldn’t fit in .

    Excellent breakfast. Service was good and they were happy to hold your bags before and after check out times which was handy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    LOOK ELSEWHERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So gross it's a safety hazard for your health. Stained sheets, mildew covered shower curtain, broken tiles, black mold in shower, no window screen ( held open by a wire hangar ), carpet not replaced in well over 10 years, extremely hot and TINY, super lopsided bed, etc. Breakfast seating is only 5 tables for 4 people. Not enough to accommodate tenants, could be waiting a long time. VERY tiny and not pretty like the pictures.

    Staff was kind. Had hot water. Breakfast was decent the 1 time I could find seating on my 5 day stay. Ate elsewhere even though it was included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    After recieving an email saying I had cancelled a room and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After recieving an email saying I had cancelled a room and also seeing that there was two rooms under the same name. The hotel refused to refund me so took 2 lots of my money. I think When it is on the system and it’s a clerical error you should have the decency to refund.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Love London hate hotel Cavendish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a box and was extremely hot and the window could not be opened . They provided a fan which was covered in dust and was filthy

    Not a lot to like

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Location only and staff was friendly from reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Outdated - No lift and narrow stair ways - Cleanliness - Scaffolding in front of window which leads to Garden - Was too hot in room and provided with a very small fan

    Location only and staff was friendly from reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again. Don’t waste your money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all I’m not sure how this place can even be called a hotel. There are zero amenities, the towels were disgusting, but it didn’t really matter as there wasn’t really enough water pressure to shower. The hair dryer attached to the wall in the bathroom must have been installed in 1960, not to mention it would have taken me at least an hour to dry my hair. This place was a total let-down from start to finish. It was dirty with mould on the wall and cobwebs everywhere.

    The only thing this place has going for it is the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    Sadly not what I expected, but it was a bed for the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If booking a single room be warned they are exceptionally small, with just enough room to stand to dress and undress. Cleanliness was okay but some areas, dirty and dusty, my window was held open by an empty water bottle as the sash had broken I presume. There are lots of stairs and very narrow ones so if you have mobility issues do not book. More concerning was the fire alarm went off, it was a fault but no one from the hotel supported guests to explain, no one assembled at the required point. Staff could not switch it off. Confusion throughout if that had been real it would have been a real risk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value central London location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better WiFi would have been nice.

    Great location for ULU. Very good value for such a central location. WiFi was spotty but plenty of good free WiFi in nearby cafes. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Not the best booking.com we've ever done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy facing Gower St. with heavy traffic. No air/con so widows open for air really noisy , windows closed , very stuffy. Ask about a room facing back.

    Good Breakfast , pleasant staff. Well situated for main areas, good bus service,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced and needs investment to upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny, shower was a trickle and either freezing cold or boiling hot, a kettle was thoughtfully provided but didn't work, overpriced. I have stayed in worse, but I can't remember when.

    Convenient for Euston and St Pancras. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Cavendish - vintage charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs with a suitcase can be tricky. On the other hand, I loved the feel of a cozy, vintage property, including the stairs. Internet comes and goes.

    Love the charm of the place! Love the location, the breakfast, the helpful day manager.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, nice area, exceptionally small room, narrow steep stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, no storage, smokers outside the opening window, doors tend to slam loud enough to wake people late at night, very steep stairs and no lift so dangerous to take heavy luggage

    Great location, opening window

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Cheep and cheerful, good location, no elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator making the 6 flights to our floor a mission every time. Had to wait out side for ages when we got there to get in as no one was on the desk. And they didn’t have a secure location to store our luggage before check in. Slight offences were that the room was a little shabby, cracked tiles in the bathroom and marks on the walls and carpet. I also wasn’t a fan that the bed was two singles together leaving an annoying join in the middle.

    Cheep and cheerful, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've missed the breakfast... so the service a bit later than 9.30am would be welcome.

    Good hotel for the price. Close from tube station and shops nearby. Very small room but I'm ok with that. The room was quiet as required (situated upstairs at the back of the building) and clean with a comfy bed. The window could close a bit better and be more insulated from outside noise but got some earplugs on, so that was fine. Very small bathroom but water pressure was ok in the shower (hard to find in London!).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    The staff were lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it’s regarded as a 4* hotel the cleanliness of it was very disappointing alongside the decor of the room. It had a very outdated hairdryer, the window was very very hard to close and felt like it was going to break and the carpet was so dirty. It was very disappointing and I expected my stay to be much better. The bed was clean but the feature pillows had stains on them.

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.3
    Stay away from this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was hard as a, room ( single) was only slightly larger than a closet, you could hear your neighbor breathing, carpet was filthy, towels were old, grey and thin. Breakfast without fresh food, a disaster!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    probably would'nt stay at this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet needed vacuuming, loose tiles on floor in the small bathroom and toilet was dirty. Room very hot and unable to keep window open for ventilation so used small bin to prop open the window.

    Reception staff very helpful on arrival and in helping with queries during my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    very near the train stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    usual in UK hotel like this - the stairs can be very challenging especially if you have heavy suitcase (like me)...i asked for a room at the ground floor but i was put in a room where i have to go up then down. :-( there was a tv but seems to be not working.

    food was ok... staff were good (both front desk and resto) very near st. pancras and train station from the heathrow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Short stay due to cockroach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the massive cockroach when we arrived back at the hotel after seeing a show wasn’t great. The staff were pretty complacent about the whole thing. Had to call a manager to get our refund and the manager agreed straight away.

    The location was great. It is very near Goodge tube station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, just 5 minutes walk to the British...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, just 5 minutes walk to the British Museum and 15 minutes walk to the Covent Garden, hot breakfast (fried or scrambled eggs), willing staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cavendish traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: