Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cecil House Hotel 2 stars

126 Kings Road, Brighton & Hove, BN1 2FA, United Kingdom

#34 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff , comfortable room , very clean and tidy , clean bathrooms and the staff stored our luggage for us while we explored the area. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a slight block so water wasn't draining as fast as it should ...should I have showered a bit longer their would have been a flood ...plus at night time the water made funny noises Room 302 , wardrobe needs to be sorted out also as it was left unfinished !Nothing major though...it certainly didn't affect us having a nice time xx

    The location was superb, great staff, all round great value for money x would stay here again definitely...had a great time x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Great location, great and friendly staff. Mi family and I had a great day in Brighton. I also recommend the lovely restaurant in there. What a great people work in there! The most friendly and nice staff that I have ever seen. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not as clean as we would have liked. There was a wooden chip fork left on the window ledge and a dead beetle on the floor of the bathroom when we arrived. The bathroom towel ring also fell off during our stay.

    The location and the view from our room. Also the resturant below the hotel was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom as it was very tight to shut the shower door when using it and if it was left open you just ended up with a very wet floor.

    Great location with the beach right in front of you and not that much of a walk into the town from the property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was slanted on the double bed and we could feel the springs poking when we were sleeping.

    Due to the common washroom being out of order on the first night of our stay, we were upgraded to a room with private bathroom for the 2 remaining nights, which we greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No elevator: I know it’s a small hotel but this really made it difficult because we had a child with us! And we were on the 4th floor! The staff also didn’t assist us with holding our luggage or anything! - Cleanliness: The bathroom was NOT clean. Spiderwebs on the ceiling lights as well! - Bed not comfortable: One side of the bed seems to he broken as it tilted! Not comfortable.

    I loved the location, right by the old pier! And walking distance from the shopping center!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More lights!!!

    Staff was friendly and check in easy. The rooms were functional with a kettle and instant coffee and tea, however, it is way too dark. Building is also rather old and no lift, only stairs which was not a problem for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t actual staff so we had to go next door to be seen which was an entirely different hotel. Also our we had to walk up around 10 flights of stairs to get to our rooms with heavy suitcases which wasn’t ideal but we made it!

    The hotel was a very good price for where it was located. There was an amazing view and the shops were a 10-15 minute walk! The room was a nice size for a short stay and had comfortable beds (good sleep). The bathroom had everything you needed so was adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Who needs to go to the gym to use the stair-master when you stay in room 403. Honestly found it difficult to breathe.. convinced the air is thinner up there. I also had to use the loo like John Wayne - kept knocking my knees haha

    V good placement, staff were lovely and offered to hold our luggage till our train later in the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel overall was pretty basic - simple mattress, fairly thin blanket - and even though the room was very spacious, it was also bare.

    The hotel automatically upgraded us to a seaside hotel room with beautiful, large windows that shuttered shut (although they were drafty). It was fantastic to wake up to a sunny beachfront view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed breakfast was not included as the room was quite expensive. Kept awake til 3am one night by people in the room above talking, more insulation needed.

    Great location and a good sized bed with secure locks to the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no door, so not very private, there was no towel rail or hooks of any description or any shelves to put your shampoo etc on. The room was very small for a double, there was no wardrobe or any hooks to hang clothes or coats up on and when your staying for theee days this is quite important. Our room was only serviced once, so the bins weren’t emptied, the mugs weren’t replaced and we had no coffee.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lighting was awful when trying to get ready and use the full length mirror I couldn't actually see properly due to the lighting bearing really dim

    the space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift - room was a bit awkwardly shaped but for the price it was worth it!

    We booked a junior double that states shared facilities but ended up being given a room with a view of the sea and all the facilities within the room itself which was great! There was no lift but considering we were eating a lot of food that weekend it was a good way to get a few extra steps in. Staff were friendly & provided us with everything we needed throughout the stay. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other guests were noisy, dragging furniture around late at night or drunkenly singing. The duvet was small- it was the same size as the top of the mattress and needs to be bigger to cover two people in the bed. Furniture was dated/oddly placed- nice big room and more could have been made of it quite easily.

    Fantastic location with very helpful staff. Brilliant view of the sea from large bay window. Shower was awesome- could have stayed in it all day! Clean Great to have a proper mug to have a cuppa (soya milk provided on request- yay!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception desk, have to use the Granville hotel reception, wifi was hopeless, creaky bed. Think of it as a guest house more than a hotel.

    Great value for money, where else could you get an ensuite twin room with an uninterrupted sea view in the middle of Brighton for under £80? Decent quality towels and bedding and a decent shower. Toiletries and coffee and tea making facilities provided. Lots of good cafes and restaurants in walking distance. Convenient for the Regency Square car park, which although quite expensive is much less hassle than parking meters.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Low budget hotel “ said the lady at the reception when I complained about the size of the triple room which wasn’t bigger than my kitchen and I live in one bedroom flat not in a mansion. No bedside cupboards, no wardrobe. And I can’t say that the room was clean.

    Thought the location is very good, we couldn’t even stop on the front of the hotel and had to use public parking and move all of our stuff from there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work properly, the tv signal went off one of the nights and stair railings were rickety.

    The food was great and the hotel was clean. The location is great and central - a very good view of the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really suitable for families, no lift and no rooms on ground floor, uncomfortable bed as was 2 singles pushed together, slanted floor

    Friendly staff, lovely view and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit squishy and would creak with movement of any kind -mildly annoying. Only one location for plugging anything in. This next bit is *not* anything the hotel has control over, but being right on the main road it got really noisy at night; drunken yobs out screaming at eachother, crotch-rockets zooming up and down the road.

    The staff were wonderfully accomodating with my reservation in spite of my last minute changes. Very grateful to them for working with us and going out of their way to accomodate. Hotel was easy to find, parking was close by, and wonderful food choices in the immediate area. Views were *gorgeous* from our room on the 3rd floor (no lift tho). You are right near the brighton 360 observation tower and a nice walk from the pier (far enough to not have to deal with the crowds, but close enough to get there easily). The room is very basic - two beds, a desk, a really tiny closet and a bathroom w/stand up shower. There's a TV with freeview and one window opened to allow circulation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not that we didn't like it, it was just a little disappointing this visit 2017 compared to last years 2016. That we were on the fourth floor and the room was compact.

    The hotel being on the front.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that the road was so loud, we were on the top floor but could hear the road all night. This was all down to the old windows which definitely need replacing, it was hard to sleep as this was a main road in front of the hotel with all sorts of traffic all the way through the night, there wasn't a point where it was quiet, the only was I would go back to this hotel is if they updated the windows to fix the noise problem. Which is a shame as the rest of the hotel was so lovely, I have no other faults.

    We loved the view and the size of the room was just right, had everything in it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only one inconvenience was the smell of cooking food coming thru chimney in room.

    Room with sea view, very comfortable bed. Very good location, short distance to many Brighton attractions. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old facility, so my expectations were not high... bed was super comfortable, tea and coffee in the room was a nice surprise as well were socket adapters... big minus - smell on the corridor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no aircondition in the room and there was no information about the WiFi inside the room.

    The location of the hotel is good and close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet wasn't super clean. Room had a sink and shower, but not a toilet. Shower controls dodgy. Room door rattled noisily any time someone in the corridor opened a door, so I had to block it to sleep.

    Location is great, right by the old west pier. Nice view from the window. Room was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know toilet was a floor down and not including with the room, we did get shower and sink tv bed window balcony. So kinda of a small thing but was thrown off guard.

    Staff know their stuff, ask they give you answers. Location: perfect near the historic old pier, British airways i360, you can get to the beach in a less than a minute. Loved it hope to be there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on top floor (8flights of stairs) as a family room not great, no lift. It was not very clean looking, going up the stairs. No cuboard not even a drawer but a small hanging rail with six mixed hangers. TV did not work, though staff tried to fix this. Small for a family room, only two plugs and one of them was for kettle.

    It being so local to the town, cleaning of room/making beds, every day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property needs a little TLC however it is clean and rooms were fine. There is no parking in Brighton unless you pay a lot of money or park about 20 mins walk away.

    Location on the sea front is excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no electrical outlets near the bed, and only 2 in the entire room, therefore had to plan carefully what what needed to be charged the most.

    Very nice place for a great price. Ended up being upgraded to a view of the English Channel for no extra charge. Very nice and safe neighbourhood, and is only a 5-10 minute walk to Brighton city centre and the Brighton Pier. The bed was very comfortable, staff was very kind and no problem with checking in early as the front desk is staffed 24/7. The Cecil House Hotel and the Granville Hotel are associated and share the same check in and services. I will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was overpriced at £9.50 if you prebook.

    The view was of the seafront and was amazing. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable. A lovely hotel with super decor. Smokeys food was very good and the staff were top class.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door hard to close. Window didn't stay open.

    Location-easy walk to pier, Pavillion and The Lanes. Near-by underground public car park (remember to keep ticket with you to get access to car when the park is locked!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in the first room was a good size but the remote didn't work then in the second room there were no controls

    I thought the hotel was incredibly cute! For the price I think it's definitely worth it as it's right across the road from the beach! The staff were very friendly especially the night staff when we arrived! We loved it so much we booked an extra night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towel rail needed in the ensuite. Street noise was quite disruptive and not helped by only single glazed window.

    Fantastic location. Friendly staff, excellent customer service. Great sea view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking if you have an elderly member of the family you need to check if they will make the stairs There is no lift and we were on the 4th floor!! The noise from traffic is constant day and night on the sea front with windows open or closed The hotel stairs are in need of refurbishment

    The beds were good and it is right on the sea front

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very clean with excelent sea view.A bit worried about possible road noise, but windows and shutters very effective. I would stay there again good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean rooms, very old broken drafty window, had to walk up 4 Flights of stairs with suitcases as there was no lift, no disable acsess. It's a very old building with creeky beds and floors. Tiny rooms and for what we paid. Absolute rip off,

    Friendly staff,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a ground floor room as I have breathing difficulties, but was given a room on the 3rd floor which was 6 flights of stairs, so found it very very difficult to manage, this was the only thing that spoilt our stay

    Everything apart from all the stairs with no lift

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't cleaned on the Saturday , coffee and milk wasn't replenished , so I had to visit a convenience store along the road , I have not had bad service before and have stayed here for 3 years running and I had the smallest room also

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot room & too noisy as near the main road. Lots of narrow stairs to climb to bedroom. Tiny TV too high up on wall. Safe car park but £25 was too expensive!

    Good location for pier & restaurants

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel this is quite expensive for what it is - a basic hotel. However, it compares favourably with other similar hotels and Brighton is not exactly a value for money place when you have a family - unless you stay at the Premier Inn (which was fully booked and that's why we ended up at Cecil House)

    The cafe and bar downstairs did a good breakfast. You can pick what you want and don't have to go for a full English breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in hotel for 2 nights with kids whilst 1 was in hospital. TV did not work at all! Made it very difficult and not good value for money due to this.

    Amazing location and great cafe next door for breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were a pain, there was a chip on our floor when we first got there and the DVD player wasn't working.

    Room was cute, the view was nice, bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything fit for purpose and excellent value for money when just needing a basic room for the night. Desk with sea view was an unexpected bonus. Staff very friendly. Free WiFi in room was good standard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small room and there is no elevator so we had to walk up and down 3 sets of stairs (to the 3rd floor) every time we wanted to go to our room

    We had a beautiful seaside view with the west pier right in front of our window! Furthermore, the price was really fair!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I complained about,TV didn't work,WI FI didn't work,no hand towels,they said they never supply them,no door on toilet ,woman just said,if you're not happy,have your money back! No apologies at any time!

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'open plan' loo/shower. Luckily I was staying in the room alone, but had I have been with a friend or partner, this may not have been an ideal situation!

    super comfy bed/duvet/pillows.... had a great night sleep!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tiny and in desperate need of some tickets. Our double bed was 2 singles put together not comfortable at all.

    We enjoyed being by the sea front.restaurant downstairs was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold at night, stairway decor shabby.

    The location was excellent as was the restaurant Smokey's which guests got discount on. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the room had marks on them and the wallpaper on the walls in the main corridor area was ripped but this was not a big deal as the cost of the stay was very good value for money.

    The staff were very friendly and left you to your own devices which was nice. Also food at the restaurant below 'Smokeys' was lovely and good value for money with residents getting 10% off their breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor decor, broken shower head holder( fixed by me). shared toilet 2 floors down. tv channels not set.

    View was great. convenient walk to conference. staff was cheerful and helpful on arrival and departure

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, neglected and not been maintained, shower had stained tiles and really dirty grout, curtain was wonky, windows were so filthy you couldn't see outside them, and mattress was terrible. The lighting was so poor as well

    Only good thing about this hotel was the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that public areas are being redecorated during the winter period when usage is reduced. I found that a number of comments on line about this hotel were not accurate. The hotel is good value for money and is centrally placed with easy walking access to the city centre and the new British Airways i360 is no more than 100yds away and we'll worth a visit.

    Staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful particularly Ed Pearce and Katie in the hotel and Karalina and Abbie in Smokeys. Food in Smokeys was very good my only criticism was that the portions were very big and too much for me and my wife. Others however managed very well. We will definitely use this hotel on any return visit to Brighton.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could do with the hallway carpet being cleaned and walls repainted did not like having to go down two flights of stairs to go to toilet.

    Location,bed was clean and fresh

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dowdy in some of the public space, and stairs definitely in need of new wallpaper, very scratched!

    great staff, room big enough decorated shabby chic, bathroom modern and excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hall carpets were stained. The hall wallpaper was torn in several places. The shared toilet facility for the two rooms ourselves and our friend had meant that she had to come down a whole floor and a half to use it. Both rooms were very small and clearly designed for a single bed, not a double. Most annoyingly, small things that would have cost very little were not done. Nowhere to hang clothes but the back of the door (covering the fire instructions and with a random selection of second hand and odd coathangers - actually only one in our friend's' room). Only one tiny drawer. No bed head for half the bed (where a small shallow set of shelves could have been added to provide this and storage). Just two narrow flat surfaces. No shelf for toiletries in the shower cubicle. Insecure fastening to shared tiny balcony (with a fastening I could not reach at 5 foot). Breakfast was OK except for occasional very long waits (13 minutes for toast on one occasion) and two messy solid broken fried eggs. Toilet and room were clean on the surface but the whole hall and stair area was very unsightly Our friend for whom I booked had similar complaints. It may be that work will be done on all this but this is the worst I have stayed in by some margin and could easy have been made better by a few tweaks. Finally, I lived in this hotel for a few months while at University over 40 years ago. Not great then and it does not look like many pennies have been spent on it since!

    The location and price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had slight problems with the TV reception. But, that said, I was in Brighton: I had 1001 better things to do than watch TV.

    Complete value for money with a superb location: being both in the city centre and on the seafront.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 3pm the staff were still trying to make the hotel look presentable, hoovering was being done on the stairs as we made our way up to the room and a big pile of laundery was left on the landing. The decor has seen better days, wallpaper was coming away from the walls and it generally looked old and unkempt. We were situated on the 4th floor and as there is no lift we struggled to get our luggage up to our room. The room itself wasn't much better as our double beds were infact 2 single beds zipped together! There was no bin in the bedroom only a tiny one in the bathroom which made the tea and coffee making in the morning tedious and messy. I thought that when I booked the hotel breakfast was included, as it turned out this wasn't the case and breakfast would have cost an extra £7.50 each on top of £120 for our 1 night stay. To conclude, we were completely unimpressed by the hotel and we were glad that we were out exploring Brighton and only spend time there in the evening to sleep. We would not stay again.

    The location was right on the beach front which is was handy for what we wanted from our trip.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, friendly staff who were happy to look after our luggage before room was ready and after we checked out giving us more time to enjoy Brighton. Great base for exploring area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in the room were quite grubby and the furnishings and wallpaper leading up to the room were outdated and tatty. Hotel is right on the main road so is very noisy with the windows open. Also the wording is very misleading on booking.com and doesn't state that you're only paying for one night so had to pay for the second night when we arrived.

    perfect location, got upgraded to a sea view room with a balcony and had a lovely view of the west pier. The room was nice and bright.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was only cleaned once and wet towels not changed after first day. Lots of stairs and no lift so no good for older or disabled people, but fine for us. Only a minor complaint as were very happy with the hotel and would come again. :)

    All good really. Lovely breakfast at Smokey's and friendly staff. Room had lovely view and was spacious and clean. Friendly cheap hotel .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite small and stuffy, the sash windows meant they were difficult to keep open and so the room was hot. The décor is quite dated and in need of a good refurbishment.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, right on the sea front although we were allocated a room at the back. We had a lovely breakfast at Smokeys, the restaurant below the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fourth floor room, no lift, stairs were hard work, especially with young children. Single bed was broken so we all slept in a double. Shower door opened inward so couldn't get in or out. No seafront view for our room which was a shame.

    Location was excellent. Right on the beachfront opposite the i360. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Compensated us for the broken bed. Perfect for budget room, where you won't spend much time but certainly clean enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely rooms breakfast at smokey joes was huge excellent value for money. Rooms very clean excellent site to stay. Hallways a bit shabby but rooms and bathroom very clean Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken beds,tiles on bathroom floor loose,mouldy shower,broken window frame ,overall condition of hotel very poor stained carpets and wallpaper strips off walls loose stair bannisters , put up on 4th floor with no lift and no help given with luggage up 4 flights of stairs and had an incident where local constabulary had to be called ..staff very sarcastic and unhelpful in the matter ..would not reccomend this hotel to anyone ..very poor on all levels

    ......

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous sea-view, room was beautifully decorated, great tea/coffee facilities, friendly staff, allowed us to leave our luggage as we arrived before the room was ready for us to check-in. Family room (four friends) worked out at less than £25 each, brilliant value!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather! Less rain dance, more boogie-woogie! :)

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice, clean, cosy family room with seafront view. Had a very nice stay! We would recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was lodged in the forh floor, there are no elevators to take you up, climbing stairs with bags and a child was a nightmare. The beds are not comfortable at all, had a bad back pain the following morning! Wouldnt recommend to anyone.

    teas and coffeas!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. Shared balcony next door they could of walked into our room which worried my 7 year old granddaughter. The shutters were awkward I could not reach them to close or open good job my tall son was on holiday with me. The two chairs that were in the room the leather was worn & bits kept getting on our skin & items were getting messy. The shower was not clean after 2nd day.

    Bed. Views. Staff. Price. Bathroom. Good shower. Great location. Wifi. Tv.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of my team were four floors up and there's no lift. Not ideal.

    The location was perfect as we were at an event at the Hilton two doors up. Staff were lovely, and the restaurant outstanding! You won't leave disappointed, or hungry.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like I was at home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is nice so if you do have any issues or questions you can speak with them. For what you pay it is a good hotel.

    It is a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet connection on the top floor

    Very central , good location and seaview

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, room, views and price, very friendly staff, in the heart of Brighton, rooms recently refurbished. Will definitely book again

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: