Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. North Yorkshire hotel reviews
  4. York hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Reviews of The Grand Hotel & Spa 5 stars

City Centre, Station Rise, York, YO1 6HT, United Kingdom

#5 of 53 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3724 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay but shame about our long wait for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the flannels in the bathroom had existing makeup from a previous guest. There was a very long que for breakfast- we waiting for 25mins to be seated which was a shame as the restaurant charged £20 per person on top for breakfast.

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was spacious. Lovely architecture.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    10
    Superb one nights break, will be booking again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen is a bad design.

    Staff was fantastic, very professional and you could tell the pride they had working there. Wayne on the door and Harriet in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    8.3
    Didn't like the bathroom set up. Think the spa put a damper on things for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a,classic room that is not particularly cheap we did not like the toilet separate from the shower room. Quite dangerous stepping into the bath with marble top. We went for a swim the 1st morning and we had no problems. The next morning we were asked our room number and told because we were in a classic room we were told we would be £30 to swim. We were not happy and informed the manager who gave us a complementary swim but asked when would we be leaving because we would have to pay the £30 if we swam again. I don't think you should have segregation in your hotel. Not for swimming anyway. We have visited your hotel for the past 3 years but I'm afraid got say after what happened we won't be back.

    Comfortable room. Quiet. Good breakfast. Good service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    10
    A fab festive break in a gorgeous hotel ☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the plastic tarpaulin covering flapping in the wind on the huge building currently under renovation outside our bedroom window, but I understand these works need doing and I’m sure next year will look lovely.

    Lovely friendly staff in every section of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    9.5
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Outstanding levels of customer service. Every staff member we encountered looked at us, smiled and spoke to us. We felt very welcome indeed. Valet parking was a superb facility saving us money and time. The room was outstanding - comfy, clean, spacious with salubrious decor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    10
    Very Friendly staff, we arrived early so used the concierge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Friendly staff, we arrived early so used the concierge service, on our return all our bags where in our room, we also used the following morning in order to make use of another christmas shopping

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, 503 an executive room, was very disappointing. Smaller than expected and the furniture was shabby. We returned to the hotel at 4pm on our second day, after being out from 10am, and our room hadn’t been serviced. We had to sit downstairs for a further 45 mins until it was sorted. At breakfast our dirty dishes/plates were never cleared.

    Reception and front of house very friendly. The bathroom was lovely and a good size.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    9.6
    Old school quality!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic stay! Took my pregnant partner for a relaxing spa getaway! Totally exceeded expectations. I have stayed in many ‘boutique’ and ‘5*’ hotels. None have ever met the standard of the staff at this hotel. They were amazing from start to finish. So friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Truly made to feel special. My partner loved it. The spa took great care of her. Cracking brekky too!! Will definitely visit again!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    7.9
    Beautioful hotel - but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The add ons are becoming increasingly irksome, hence we do not feel that it necessarily represents value for money anymore. We were really shocked at being expected to pay £15 to use the pool and £20 for a buffet breakfast also seems steep. Furthermore the hotel appears to have removed the cafetieres that have always previously been in the rooms.

    The Grand is a beautiful hotel with fantastic amenities. We have stayed at the Grand for each of the last 6 years. |The new rooms are smaller than the original rooms but are well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has an amazing weekend away for my partner 30th birthday the hotel exceeded both out expectations, the friendly and helpfulness of the staff was second to none they couldn't do enough for you. The little extras in the room made all the difference. Thank you would definitely stay again as well as recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I disliked

    Absolutely love this hotel. It is the best i have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and welcoming to all customers, the rooms are very luxurious, sizeable but cosy. There are no improvements I would suggest.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    An opulent, welcoming must stay hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and spa area could do with a little tlc. Especially the showers as the temperature dials dont work.

    The staff we so warm and welcoming, extremely knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel exudes opulence, style and class Can't wait to come back again and again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spa was very disappointing no comfy loungers or space to relax between use of facilities bare screw holes in the walls & a general air of lack of care there surprising considering the quality finish every where else in the hotel, no drinks service or staff interaction of any kind in the spa either really was the worst spa visit I've ever experienced. Disappointing lack of any special touches for the price of the room such as one basic kenco instant coffee sachet each for nearly £300 a night you'd expect decent drinks such as a cafetiere or pod machine & use of the spa included as well as a walk in rather than over bath shower, the phone didn't work either so even when we had a query we couldn't contact reception to ask without leaving the room & it was a fair trek to reception. Some of the staff were lovely such as the doorman, the lady who greeted us upon arrival & the person who turned down the beds but the receptionist when queried about use of the spa gave us no further information other than cost which led to the spa staff seeming most disgruntled that we'd dared to turn up fully dressed & not in the robes from our room, if we'd been told when we enquired we would have changed! We expected something special we left feeling ripped off :(

    The beds were very comfortable & the room itself seemed very clean, the location is excellent 5 minutes walk from the centre of York

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    10
    A perfectly situated hotel, with friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no negatives to our stay. Everything was perfect.

    the hotel was close to the station and close to the city - perfext location. rooms were large, clean and very comfortable with everything you need. The staff expect you to drop your bags early and when you are leaving so they are very accomodating and efficent. You can just get on with exploring the city.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    10
    I treated my mum to two nights here and it was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning in room made a terrible noise until we figured out what it was and turned it off!!

    I treated my mum to two nights here and it was fantastic. From the service at the front door - to the attention to detail in the room with a turn down service each night - it really made our stay. The food was excellent - we enjoyed dinner on the Saturday Night and one breakfast - Yum!! All your staff were fantastic!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    10
    Grand by name & Grand by nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything but the girlfriend did suggest the room would have been better had there been a mirror above the dressing table. My only gripe was that the lights in the room were very much all or nothing.

    Everything in all truth. Great hotel in a good location with very happy, attentive, professional staff. The room and bathroom were large and very comfortable - best sleeps I'd had in ages. Loved the spa but you do have to avoid the busy times. Shoukd also say that contrary to a few reviews I'd seen, we had a brilliant check in and check out.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean room with all amenities required close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing however maybe could do with extra staff in bar as service was slow

    Comfortable and clean room with all amenities required close to city centre

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar stools at the bar. Taken to a cold lifeless room without atmosphere so left. Woken at 5 am by loud plumbing banging noises. Volume from speakers so loud in the bathroom unable to take a bath. No one came to turn the bed down or to see if we needed anything. Reception staff could have been a little warmer.

    Spacious, comfortable bed. Good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Warm greeting on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm greeting on arrival. Hotel well laid out with plenty of character. Good size room with plenty of lighting and large comfortable bed. Bathroom again good lighting with very large shower. Excellent dining, bar and relaxing areas. So good to be able to eat an evening meal in the hotel having been out all day and still feel your somewhere special; wonderful vocalist and acoustic guitar player accompanying dinner. So many places to enjoy in the hotel , you didn’t feel confined to your room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    8.8
    Bedroom lovely but disappointed with lack of comfortable seating and bars available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We met friends and family for pre dinner drinks and there were insufficient tables in the bar. We had to sit outside the restaurant in what can only be described as a basic and horribly lit extension to the cocktail bar. It was very disappointing as it was supposed to be a special birthday surprise for my husband. I had ordered breakfast which we didn’t have, as there were insufficient tables (once again) for the amount of people waiting to have breakfast. We were asked to wait in the bar until a table was free! Really not good enough for the size of the hotel and the extortionate price of breakfast at £50!!!!! We requested a refund and left to find breakfast somewhere else.

    Whilst trying to enter our room the key didn’t work. Asked the cleaning lady to let us in, to be told we had the wrong room! There was a mix up by someone, not us, but eventually we were allowed to enjoy the beautiful bedroom and facilities and chocolates. The gentleman who greeted us on arrival and arranged our car parking, was absolutely delightful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in the spa were disappointing for a five star hotel

    Room was Amazing, Food good unfortunately the spa didn’t meet my expectations although my treatment was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and the room, faciliatulies and hotel itself was amazing. Look forward to revisiting soon.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    An excellent weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience at the Grand was special, and we are looking forward to our next visit very soon. Thank you to all of the the staff at the Grand.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Amazing luxurious hotel - felt like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this hotel so much. Very luxurious and spacious. You can tell that the staff go the extra mile, as there are unique extra touches that make your stay extra special. Couldn't fault anything at all!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    Fabulous start to December! Lovely place for the festivities and no other hotel compares to this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only think I don’t like is paying extra to use the spa . I personally think this should be included in the price.

    Perfect location, beautiful new rooms in the refurbished section of the hotel .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    The boys birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were not as good as expected. The pool wasn't warm enough to be in longer than 20 minutes and the steam room was out of order.

    Loved the room and the staff could not do enough for you! Fab location also.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    10
    Truly fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    immaculate room and facilities, staff were extremely helpful, the rooms had every convenience and lots of extra's that made you feel a valued customer. Would recommend to anyone who wants a bit of luxury, in a stunning building with fabulous staff. So near to all historic sites and shops. Thank you for a lovely break,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    10
    This was a Christmas shopping trip for my friend and I. Perfect stay and the spa was lovely too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about our stay at the Grand Hotel was perfect from checking in. Each and every member of staff we dealt with were so helpful and polite. The room was beautiful, comfortable beds, immaculate and well stocked with teas and coffees. Lovely Molton Brown toiletries were a nice touch too. Excellent breakfast. Excellent central location. We'll be back next year.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    10
    The valet service on arriving and the attention to detail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The valet service on arriving and the attention to detail during our stay was incredible, even pre checking in was a lovely experience. Can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely grand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was quite small and had no loungers; steam room out of order.

    Every single member of staff we met was charming, friendly and welcoming. Room was huge, bed very comfortable, bathroom well equipped and public areas lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous hotel, avoid rooms opposite Society Bar nightclub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not clean Ran out of valet parking spaces Noisy until 3am Society Bar nightclub opposite our room

    Amazing staff, warm welcome Great room Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels that I have had the pleasure of staying in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to go home!!! :( There was nothing that they could have done to make my stay anymore enjoyable, it was amazing

    Just everything, one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed, they really made me and my wife welcome

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    8.8
    Lovely building and very comfortable. Spa massages great but steam room out of order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv reception kept breaking up. This is a basic function and should not have been happening.

    Under floor heating in bathroom. Help with luggage and valet parking excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with luxurious touches and excellent service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was lovely but a little small, had to wait to use the facilities due to a few people in the spa. Wasn’t able to use the relaxation room after massges.

    Beautiful room with luxurious touches and excellent service from the staff!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    Just what the doctor ordered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    We felt looked after from start to finish. The staff were ALL very helpful and friendly. The hotel had a lovely relaxed warm feel with high class. We loved every minute of it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the mini bar was expensive

    it was an amazing experience and a lovely trip .the room was a amazing and a fab bathroom.the spa facilities was amazing. all the staff were very polite and helpful and all had a smile which was lovely to see .Will defo come back next year .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and would definitely return but the evening team for the rooms could be more consistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needed a bit of our a more thorough clean - there are a few grubby marks on the walls etc. Also, the turn down service lady on the second night looked decidedly annoyed that I wanted a turn down service and the room wasn't great when we arrived by in the evening - sheets untucked and pillows looking like they'd been thrown on the bed. By comparison to the first night it was a completely different standard as the first night was exceptional service.

    Everything - lovely hotel and liked everything about it. The concierge on the front door were fab!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and smelt musty. Nobody on reception at check in at 19:30. Dinner was terrible, driest and fatiest Yorkshire ham I have ever had. Breakfast was OK but over priced. Could not even get a copy of the invoice on checkout. They give you a print out but the invoice looks like it has been faxed 3 times and illegible.

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for our room to get spa access and was upset to see that one of the saunas were out of order. I know this can't be helped.

    The rooms are beautiful and clean and the staff are extremely attentive

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    10
    Very good customer service and very cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good customer service and very cosy place. Had access to the spa which is nice. Wide variety at breakfast. 5min walk from the train station and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that the rate (>£200) didn’t include breakfast but we did know this before we booked so it was a surprise. Saying that we did pay the additional £20 per head for breakfast, which as you would expect was excellent.

    The staff were lovely, extremely helpful. Couldn’t do enough for you. The room was fabulous, even down to the turn down service and little chocolates left for us. The location couldn’t be better. Will definitely be returning

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    Excellent, would recommend and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar prices aren't cheap but you wouldn't really expect that in a 5 star establishment as good as this.

    They dealt with a problem very well and took it very seriously. Ivan, the receptionist was put in a very difficult position and did his utmost to resolve it. Although it took a lot of time I was happy with the outcome.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel but drinks & meals very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Answered in previous question

    As we were a party of 4 for myself & partner it was excellent. For our friends not so good, we had requested back in April when I booked for a disabled room. Unfortunately they never had one available. After three attempts we managed to get a disabled room. They never had tea & coffee facilities after 4 attempts asking they received these facilities. Just a bit two late

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    We were very greatfull to have the room a little longer at...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only thing we were disappointed in was the £25 a day parking charge but we were aware of that before we arrived.

    We were very greatfull to have the room a little longer at no extra cost as I have a stringent medication scheduled.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    🥂💕✅😘amazing hotel reasonble prices great location fab staff 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Amazing food rooms location and staff They go above and beyond to accommodate any of you’re needs the conciarge are fantastic I realy love them all Be seeing you all next year take care and happy Xmas to you all k

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking area was expensive. We got a 20% discount from the hotel but still £20 for 1 night

    Absolutely amazing. Room was fantastic and every single member of staff was so helpful and very polite! We will not be staffing anywhere else but here on our trips to york. ❤️x

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    10
    Great would do it again...bubble bath and take away coffee and it will be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great tubs but no bubble bath...get rid of the hand lotion if you must and put a little container of bubble bath...the women will love it. Also went down to bring fresh coffee up to the room and was told I couldn't because of some new to go cups being ordered?! I walked out of the hotel and down to Krunchys on the corner and got coffee in the rain. L

    Everything was great...especially David at the concierge who was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    10
    Excellent although will spend evenings out rather than endure bar again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar. Told it was table service. Waited 15 minutes to be served although not busy then waited another 5 mins for order although we sat next to bar could have just got up and served myself. Would have been easier

    Very quiet,clean,friendly staff in fact our stay was almost perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    10
    Birthday celebration mid week. Accommodated beautifully at The Grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The entire experience was splendid. The concierge staff were all wonderful, bar staff knowledgeable and helpful. Our daughter requested an elederflower cocktail,of some description and the young man produced a flaming delight - literally. Rooms were well appointed, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    9.2
    On the whole it it still a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have stayed at The Grand about 6 times now and stayed in the new part this time. I prefer the old part but that's just my preference. It was much busier this time in the dining room at breakfast and we had to wait for a table, I suppose this is due to the additional visitors due to the extension. It's busier, the staff are lovely but the hotel does seem to have lost an element of the personal touch by expanding.

    Lovely Room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable break to celebrate a family birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used to enjoy waiter service at breakfast in previous stays so was not so keen on the self service. Felt this made it like every other hotel.

    From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special. The hotel entrance is very welcoming and all the staff are friendly. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and contain everything you need. The bars are excellent spaces to chill and the food is well presented and delicious

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel felt very spoilt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while for some milk to be delivered to room. And reception was horrendous at check out. But luckily we had nothing extra to pay so managed to hand room card over to a different member of staff.

    The hotel is beautiful and all of the staff make you feel very welcome. Second stay and will be back again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Really exceptional hotel. Must do in York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street late at night. Student night club or bar.

    Everything. It couldn't have been bettered. The hotel greeted us with lots of lovely Xmas decorations from the street and inside beautiful Xmas trees. The room was very lovely. Warm, comfortable, modern. Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    9.6
    Lovely building in a great location, lovely chatty staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame you can’t use the spa now with the classic rooms unless you pay.

    Lovely building in a great location, lovely chatty staff, lovely room in the new part of the hotel. Third time I’ve stayed there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Best break in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rain the hotel could not help me with that but I'm sure if they could they would have :-)

    If you want to be treated as some one special this is the place to stay. From the door man to the cleaners every member of staff was polite and friendly. I will never stay any where else when visiting York.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    7.1
    Majority of staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities could of been better (steam room out of order). TV faulty even after reporting it. Service charges. Would of liked to have been informed why we needed to stand outside in our dressing gowns in the rain following fire alarm.

    Majority of staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Everything was superb from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottle bank being filled loudly at 6 30 in the morning meant we didn't need a wake up call

    All the staff especially Wayne who greeted us initially and Nigel and Alan the porters were very polite friendly and attentive. We dined in Hudsons on the last night and had an amazing culinary experience being superbly looked after by Nicholas the restaurant manager and Ben the head chef. Everything about our break was brilliant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    8.3
    service location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clearer guide on late check out. stated in hotel booklet £10 per hour but reception were unclear and quoted £30 until 14.00 hours. although we requested one hour were disturbed 3 times in that hour by housekeeping wanting to clean room. Then a fire alarm in last 10 mins. thankfully the fee was wavered. dissapointed about £15 fee for use of swimming pool.

    service location and room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    A ‘proper’ hotel! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is looking tired. The steam room out of order. Just lacking something. Struggled to get in contact with reception from the room. Had to call room service to ask them to call me! It was getting late and I needed to plan our check out time the next day, to 1pm. Someone did call me back and I was told that one hour extended checkout was complimentary (thank you) but it would be £30 an hour after that. The information in the room handbook says just £10 an hour for late check out. So, I queried this, but she just said the brochure needed changing. I spoke to a different receptionist in the morning and she honoured the £10 fee as displayed. So all ok. But really this needs sorting out. Plus housekeeping turned up at 12.30pm to clean the room so, no information was passed to them. Just a small quibble but annoying, non the less.

    Professionalism and friendliness of all staff. Everyone is so lovely 😊 Food was good. Breakfast delivered on time, to the room properly served on a table with hot cupboard etc. All excellent. Rooms clean, large. Big beds. Great shower. Liked having toilet separate to bathroom. Porters and concierges very helpful. A Mocktail in the bar was named after my daughter a few years back. She invented it on a stay there, whilst chatting to the barman. Good to see it’s still there! Checkout quick and easy Feels homely yet grand...a great combination for a super, relaxed and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    Luxurious Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the steam room in the spa was out of order during our stay.

    The hotel felt so luxurious and had a lovely atmosphere. The Christmas decorations were absolutely stunning. The staff were professional and friendly and our room was beautiful. The location was great - a short walk to anywhere in York. We will definitely come back one day!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    10
    All round lovely hotel with very friendly, helpful staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More milk in the fridge for tea and coffee next time please.

    All round lovely hotel with very friendly, helpful staff bang in the centre of York. Rooms were very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    7.9
    Always enjoy York and the Grand is always preferred hotel but room 301 could be much warmer please!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had separate WC and bathroom. The latter was fine but the WC had no heating (broken by looks of it). Building work outside our window, although not the hotels fault. Room was on cool side as air-con seemed to struggle to heat.

    Really good bed, good-sized room and good service - as it always is at the Grand

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    10
    10/10 amazing place to stay. Out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most incredible stay, staff are so friendly and helpful. Facilities including spa were amazing, and they even sent up chocolates and a card to celebrate our engagement. 10/10 can’t wait to go back

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    10
    Very comfy great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Car parking was advertised at £25 per day although £30 was charged . Small amendment no massive deal

    I liked the concierge at the door and the large rooms

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    8.3
    The staff were lovely, the breakfast buffet very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As this was a 5* treat, I was expecting to be more Wowed, whilst staff were lovely, and the hotel in itself is gorgeous, I was disappointed with the Spa, very basic changing rooms, very little personal touch, small and cramped and no monitoring of the rules. Came out of a massage to listening to another guest having a loud annoying face time with her family for us all to hear. Despite the no phone rule, reception did nothing to stop her. Not what you want to listen to when feeling all chilled out. Massage was good but my sister was disappointed. Over priced for a average experience. Also disappointed came back at 1500 to find rooms not cleaned.

    The staff were lovely, the breakfast buffet very good and the building is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a don't like but we were put in the newly built part of the hotel. It was clean and comfortable but we prefer the character of the old part of the hotel. Parking overnight is very expensive

    Love this hotel. Staff, location and everything else. Highly recommended. The new rooms are very well done. Attention to detail was very good but we do prefer the old part.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, convenient for exploring York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was to an exceptional standard.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    9.2
    A credit to the beautiful city of York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You were all so welcoming and helpful. We visited for my a family birthday and my parents thoroughly enjoyed themselves. My partner and I also had a wonderful time. It makes such a difference to a stay when people are so hospitable and friendly. We will certainly be visiting again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    8.8
    Staff were able to sort out the few hurdles we experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First bed far too hard, even though we normally like hard beds! Happily, we were subsequently moved to a comfortable bed.

    Excellent service from all staff. Elegant surroundings. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    100% recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff so friendly and accommodating especially the concierge guys beautiful room in the new wing spotless and extremely comfortable can't wait to come back

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor room was next to a street that was very busy with noisy revellers passing along late into the night. If it had better sound-proofing it would have been perfect.

    The location was perfect for our stay. Close to the station and the city centre. The staff were very helpful and charming.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that me and my partner didn't have longer at the hotel.

    I loved everything about the hotel. From the moment we pulled up in the car to the moment we left. I can't speak highly enough of the hotel and staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were good but we were disappointed to find out that we could not use the facilities without paying £15 after checking out. Other hotels we’ve stayed in let you use these for free until a certain time. Other than than, everything was perfect!

    Excellent customer service and staff. The rooms and facilities were stunning and we were made to feel very special.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can be charged £15pp to use the spa facilities depending which room you are staying in. If I'm paying to stay in a 5* hotel, I would expect to be able to use pool, sauna, steam room & jacuzzi at no extra cost. Service at lunch was also poor, we were served drinks in dirty glasses and given extremely poor sandwiches from the lite bites menu.

    Excellent location and well-appointed rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    8.8
    A great location in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the second floor above the function suite. The noise was terrible and we were kept awake by the loud music until the party finished at midnight.

    A great location in a beautiful building

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: