Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Derbyshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Matlock B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Cedar House B&B

Reviews of Cedar House B&B

Derwent Ave, Matlock, DE4 3LX, United Kingdom

#11 of 23 B&Bs and inns in Matlock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 306 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely stay in centre of Matlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything good.

    Great location, breakfast very good with range of options. Room large and comfortable, with nice touches like kit kats and more than you’d expect toiletry wise (e.g. make up remover wipes).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    only thing i missed was a stool for the dressing table.also the shower was a little difficult to regulate.

    location was brilliant.owner was very helpful.cedar house was very clean and warm.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Highly recommend this Guest house for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location to both the train station, restaurants and town centre. Very friendly and helpful owner of Cedar House. Clean and tidy accommodation and great breakfasts.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing not to like about cedar house

    I liked the room the bed was wide and comfortable the bathroom was nice and clean room one is big close to matlock bus stops local shops .friendly staff who make you feel at home.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    Super & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor was a little bit dated, and bathroom needed an extractor fan, but the +’s cancelled this out

    Really clean, fantastic breakfast, and staff couldn’t do enough for you, also quiet to chill out, and close to all amenities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Very nice B&B in a quiet location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor could with updating generally but that is only a minor point.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room and bed were comfortable. Bathroom shower was adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities with Kit Kat bar and biscuits provided were welcome. We were made to feel welcome by the owner. The location is excellent for a good variety of nearby restaurants and bars

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Fabulous bed & breakfast !!!! Loved every second
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Beautiful b and b, lovely owner, we stayed for 2 nights for my husbands birthday, room was beautiful, very comfy bed and a great nights sleep, breakfast was amazing, really good choice, local area great for food, pubs and shops etc, beautiful park close by Would absolutely definitely stay here again, we had an amazing time

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    4.6
    The room was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the wifi was terrible, the breakfast was good but they could do with putting a radio on in the background, there's nothing worse than listening to people eating and trying to make small talk with each other.

    The room was a good size.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, Comfy, Welcoming and Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some extremely rude people in the room next door to us who had no consideration for the other guests with their bedroom antics at 7 am .... That is not the fault of the B&B, but still tainted the visit a little!

    The hostess was lovely and very welcoming. Bedroom was spotless. Breakfast was gorgeous :) Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay ideal location would happily go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to comment here

    The owner and staff very friendly. Room great size and good price given location extremely close to city centre but not too close so got constant noise and next to the park so brilliant. Bed comfy and welcoming kit kat a lovely extra. Breakfast very filling and lovely. We only had full english breakfast and toast but we're full. Lots of options

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    A lovely stay at the cedar house, I wish I was still there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable, lovely atmosphere and perfect location. The breakfast was lovely and a good choice on the menu. We had a great 2 nights stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    A convenient cosy stay in quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing of note that we didn't like at Cedar House.

    We found Cedar House very convenient for the town. Despite being in the town, it was a very quiet stay. Comfortable room and good food as well as very friendly owner made for a very pleasant stay in this homely bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    Would visit again, perfect service by the hosts in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would visit again, perfect service by the hosts in a welcoming and relaxing environment, Excellent room and facilities. Topped of by a gorgeous breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Homely and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Homely and very clean. The host was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was outstanding , best poached eggs ever. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again and recommend most strongly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    Great place with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place, perfectly located to walk out into Matlock. Great for accessing the area. Good facillities and a lovely full breakfast with a good choice and cared for by friendly people. Will try to come back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    We had a great two night stay here, would highly recommend this B&B, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very warm welcome, it was a lovely house and room in a great location with space to park, very comfy bed, spacious room with everything we needed, fabulous breakfast, friendly helpful host, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    We had a perfect weekend couldn’t have asked for more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a perfect weekend couldn’t have asked for more perfect location wonderful breakfast friendly service and comfortable clean room would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Very clean & tidy room, bathroom really nice with a bath, but could have done with a wall mount for mixer tap shower outlet. Breakfast very good, Owner could not do enough to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location and very warm and welcoming staff. Would definitely stay again, lots of bars and restaurants all in walking distance. Room was spacious with lots of nice added extras.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay, good value would highly recommend it. Great base for Chatsworth Flower Show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything.

    Room and bed very comfortable and very clean. Nothing too much trouble - our landlady was a great host and breakfast was excellent - lots of choice. Surrounding area had a lovely park and lots of choice of restaurants. The Herd was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    A peaceful, relaxing break in a comfortable environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We slept very well in a comfortable bed with plenty of pillows and the area around the b&b was peaceful without passing traffic, so we were able to have the windows open over night. The host was very welcoming and the breakfast was very tasty and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    I will go back for another stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints

    The room was delightful in the eaves of the house, it was ensuite and I had everything I need. The house was very close to Matlock town just a walk over the metal bridge to the park and there you are. The landlady was warm and welcoming. As a woman travelling alone I felt safe and I really look forward to going back with my husband for a weekend break. The breakfast was excellent. I do recommend the scrambled egg and salmon on a muffin. I did feel nurtured and cared for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Very happy with this B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Lovely property located behind the old high street in Matlock, close to restaurants and pubs, the room was comfortable and clean, there was a welcome KitKat for each of us when we arrived, the shower was excellent, please follow the owners advice, she knows how to get the gest from the shower. Breakfast was again excellent, good choices available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Fabulous break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything. We wish we could have stayed longer!

    We were greeted warmly like old friends, which continued throughout our stay. The family were lovely. Our room was very comfortable and tea/coffee/water and biscuits, including a Kit Kat on our pillow were replaced daily. Our breakfast was excellent. So much choice and the cooked breakfast was served hot, with offers of more tea/toast too. Great location as it was near the shops and the park was just across the bridge over the river. Booking was very easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    the stay at the b&b was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    what i didnt like was that booking.com implied that i was booking the last room at this b&b but when we arrived the b&b had vacancies all of our stay so i will not be using booking .com again as i feel i was misled by them no lied too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.0
    Lovely place, lovely people, excellent food, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of a proper shower

    Everything was good except that the only shower in the bathroom was a hand held shower in the bath - prefer a proper shower!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location in which to spend a relaxing short break with a welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very spacious and bed comfortable but it was too warm for us and we couldn’t leave the windows open.

    Wonderful breakfast with a vast choice of cereals, cooked options, fresh fruit and toast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Centrally located, very comfortable base with an accommodating host
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only personal dislike is uht milk for tea-making, as I cannot bear the taste

    The breakfast options were unusual and very good eg derbyshire oat cakes with creamy mushrooms. My partner does not eat dairy or wheat and this was well catered for with gluten free bread and cereal and soya milk- even in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Comfortable and charming room, very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only complaint (and not much of one), would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room for our drinks.

    Comfortable and charming room, very friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    As per above - expectations exceeded. Nice place for a short getaway from the busy work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Such a lovely host with a beautiful and strategically located b&b. Felt so pampered during this getaway trip, especially with the choice of daily homemade (amazing) breakfast! Can't thank you enough Babalou. Exceeded our expectation!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Very happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. Very friendly BB

    The breakfast was excellent.nothing was to much trouble for the extremely friendly staff.Bed and room very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Cared for. Loved it.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Muddy road outside. Nothing to do with the accomodation. We were a bit upset, us getting a bit of dirt/mud inside the accomodation.

    Super caring Host. Clean, nice, comfy rooms. Excellent wifi. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Quiet place to stay with very helpful staff and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed just for one night. The staff was very helpful. Property is quiet. The house served lovely breakfast. It is very likely that we will be back with the family in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Lovely quaint very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely quaint very comfortable hotel. Exceptional value for money. Friendly owner & staff. Wonderful hearty breakfast. Great location. Would definitely use again if staying in Matlock

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent location in centre of Matlock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location in centre of Matlock. Lovely walk along river into Matlock Bath. Plenty of places for an evening meal. Comfy bed, roomy shower, pleasant host and well cooked breakfast. What more could you need?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    Enjoyed every minute of our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    could do with a little bigger tv on the wall, not much bigger than a computer screen. But not an issue really as I go on holiday to visit places not watch tv!

    Friendly accommodating staff. Lovely breakfast, best poached eggs! Good choices on offer and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Great stay at the Cedar B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike about our stay.

    Our hostess was very welcoming and helpful. The bed was really comfy and the duvet was lovely and warm. Everything that might be needed was in our room, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, iron etc. Breakfast was very nicely cooked, presented and plentiful. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The lady owner, our host was very, very pleasant. She had time for us, loaned us a book as we had links with her part of the world, and she gave my wife a hug when we left. Our every need was catered for, what more could we ask for?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely B&B with very helpful host. Superb breafasts every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a small leak in the toilet cistern - but that was the only fault I could find.

    The room was very large and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. The B&B was in a quiet location with adequate parking outside the house. It was also a convenient location for the local shops and restaurants etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    6.3
    One radiator in bedroom and towel heater in bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One radiator in bedroom and towel heater in bathroom didn't work though we were given an electric heater. The furniture in our room was not matching and was dated as was the decoration. No drawers in room for clothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    10
    we should have booked for longer. ideal location for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was exellent.

    The proproiter was lovely and very ameanable her english breakfast was exellent. The room was light and airy shower roomy and hot. Was went over and beyond for her guests

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Cedar House Matlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Cedar house is ideally placed in Matlock. A short but lovely stop all the facilities were spotlessly clean. We arrived on the Friday and requested a really early breakfast on the Saturday due to entering a charity walking event. I did expect to be informed that this was not possible. However, the owner was so accommodating. Thank you, it set us up for the day. If and when we go to Matlock again I will be stopping at Cedar house. The room was excellent. A good and varied selection of Breakfasts was available. The food was cooked very well and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    Wide choice at breakfast, which was ordered the night before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like, but would like a radio or music on in the breakfast room - just to prevent awkward silences sometimes. Only a suggestion.

    Wide choice at breakfast, which was ordered the night before and cooked fresh to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    We felt very relaxed and enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor point, which we meant to mention at the time and probably not relevant here - difficult to press the handle to get out of the bathroom!

    Owner very friendly and helpful. Breakfast superb. Situation ideal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    10
    Lovely place. Babalou was a lovely lady who was very helpful. Would come agsin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Builders next door started early. Didn't really matter as we were out all day. And obviously they won't be there forever

    Any choice was catered for snd food and service excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    In a perfect position for the high street.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In a perfect position for the high street. The room was very comfortable and clean and the owner made us very welcome even though we arrived very late and just in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Nice friendly owner's and staff ,great breakfast, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and tidy , tea making facilities, room cleaned each day, good choice of breakfast

    Nice friendly owner's and staff ,great breakfast, great room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    4.5
    Host not familiar with area, or even places to eat. Also no maps of area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked delux room. It was far from it. Bed uncomfortable,pillows lumpy. Furniture old & worn. Definitely not value for money

    Breakfast was very good. The fruit salad was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    A very enjoyable and relaxing time spent. Would thoroughly recommend both guest house and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather was soggy!

    The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. She had some really good ideas of where to go and couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. The guest house is excellently situated just of the main road off Matlock and within a few minutes of the centre - and yet you wouldn't know it :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    Number One for me in Matlock!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy outside at night - the downside of the central location in mid-summer with my windows wide open! Not too bad though.

    Good full English breakfast. Eggs cooked the way you like them! A very central location but benefitting from being in a private road. Very friendly proprietor and staff. Easy parking on the property or just outside. Just a short walk to the park or the shops in the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, our room was immaculate, the shower was powerful and the breakfast was one of the best we have had, all round a lovely place to stay and we would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.2
    Good location with friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location overlooking the river and near the village, the park etc. Owner run and she is lovely, very friendly and efficient. Large bedroom, with good linen etc. Free parking but not undercover. We would recommend staying there, we will be back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.9
    A very enjoyable 2 night stay in this lovely part of the country side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner found the bed rather too soft for her back but again beds are a very personal thing. Parking was rather tricky with only 3 or max 4 cars space but we were fortunate to get parked there each day

    Location is very good and the landlady was very friendly. Room (Room 4) was very nice, light and airy with a good ensuite. Shower was a very good size which was a positive as some establishments fit very small showers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A warm welcome at this very comfortable b and b, delicious breakfast, my husband enjoyed his full English and I loved the fresh fruit salad and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. We would recommend Cedar house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decorations were a little dull. Little bit dated.

    Owner and staff very friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Location is very good for shops, pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    After a disasterous trip to a festival which was cancelled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a disasterous trip to a festival which was cancelled half way through, the lovely staff at Cedar House could not have been more welcoming. Not only did they provide a friendly face but also clean and comfortable accommodation at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Matlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not appear to have access to the back garden that would have been good to be able to sit near river. Would have liked the fire instructions on back of bedroom door instead of in a folder with other general information

    Clean and tidy. Staff and owner very friendly . I am gluten intolerant but that was catered for with sausages cereal and bread at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.2
    Great location and a very comfortable b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. The central location was excellent and an easy walk to restaurants in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B that exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great value for money! Lovely location, nice and quiet and relaxing. Great home with a comfortable and clean room. Friendly host who made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to put something here as we ordered a room with a bath but the shower was lacking a curtain, can't think of anything else.

    The location was perfect as right in the town centre but on a private road with the river on the other side so no passing traffic or people. Nearest bar and bistro less than 100yds away. The welcome was simple and straightforward with a fresh and varied breakfast with the offer to get you more if you wanted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    7.5
    Good location,very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV on wall very small.Place to put toiletries under sinknot good.Needs a shelf above basin.Also two glasses for two people would be good not just one in the bathroom. Did not get a very good for the money in my view, but location very good.

    Location good.Room smaller than expected.Bed comfortable. TV ridiculously small on wall. Shower efficient and hot. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    9.6
    A nice quiet relaxing break, it was only three nights as a trial, wished it had been longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being disabled, I have to book a room with a separate shower. As per picture of room Booked! The room was with however a bath with a bath shower mixer. it was hard to firstly get in and then on showering it was either scolding hot or freezing cold. This a Booking.com problem, not the hotels.

    The jolliness of the staff and other guests, we made friends from other parts of the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast to get up for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet was too large for size of bed, which made it rather hot - but this wasn't a major drawback.

    Breakfast amazing - good choice, plenty of options but mainly high standard of cooked food. Expertly cooked and choice including full English, Eggs Benedict and Derbyshire Oatcakes. Appreciated the peace and quiet, despite the convenient position. Lovely park nearby and plenty of walking, including by picturesque river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    10
    Everything's perfect all we need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Host very very nice.

    Host Babaloa Venter very very warm welcome, room wide comfort and clean, breakfast are delicious and tasty. Everything's perfect for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    10
    Blessed and rested
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely view! very comfortable bed great breakfast friendly helpful host well located, in the town but peaceful and quiet. easy walking distance from railway - recommend using rail link to Matlock Bath

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Fantastic vegetarian breakfast option with Derbyshire oatcakes. Breakfast was superb all round. The owner was exceptionally friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Excellent service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and a great location by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was very small! But it didnt spoil our stay as we werent there to watch TV anyway

    The property is tucked away but very easy to find and park. Everything was lovely, very clean and comfortable and we heard no traffic noise outside. The owner was friendly and made a lovely breakfast in the morning. We arrived very early but the housekeeper greeted us and said it was ok for us to leave the car there, and showed us the room and gave us the keys so we could go off for lunch and let ourselves in anytime after 1pm. The location is perfect next to the river, and just a couple of minutes walk to the shops and cafes in Matlock. We had a lovely meal at the Maazi Indian restaurant, it is beautiful inside and a well worth a visit, some quite unique dishes on the menu and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable house in the centre of Matlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Located in the centre of Matlock with a short walk to the park via a pedestrian footbridge over the river. Parking on site. Excellent breakfast with varied menu

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    10
    The breakfast was superb, the room very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was superb, the room very comfortable and beautifully furnished, and the proprietor was very kind and helpful. We especially appreciated the availability of packed lunches we could take with us for the day!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Weekend break in Matlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The location, service & breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    This was a fabulous little find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a fabulous little find. The host was very welcoming and the room spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very good too. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    New years eve stay! 🍺🍹
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and tidy, lovely friendly lady, I left my expensive watch in the bathroom and she rang me the same day. Defo staying again ☺

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    8.8
    very enjoyable relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tv very small in rooms , shower electric and quite poor

    beautiful breakfast and many options- nothing was too much trouble lovely clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    BRILL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    My wife and I loved everything about Cedar House and would love to revisit again in the future. Ten out of Ten ford Cedar House.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Extremely pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Individual breakfast, very tranquil

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: