Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3 stars

Marchhall Crescent, Newington, Edinburgh, EH16 5HL, United Kingdom

#12 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 946 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Great Scottish breakfast, loved the haggis. Room was massive and we'll presented the shower was a modern one with a good pressure. Helpful friendly staff. All in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely brief stay in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little bit small with a toddler but not a big issue, and also quite warm even with window open. (Heat was coming through the floor!) Also a little bit far out of town, but not really a big deal.

    Breakfast great, hosts lovely and welcoming, cosy hotel and comfortable room. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    If you are looking for a quaint B&B in a quiet neighborhood this is your place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator and difficult to get heavy luggage up and down the narrow winding steps up several floors. Also, no air conditioning.

    The owners are extremely welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our needs, Breakfast is delicious, home made, and not mass produced. Even prepared a light breakfast for our very earlier departure. Great people who I can't say enough positive things about them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Recommended hotel with nice hospitable hosts for a short stay in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The non Scottish temperature of 28°C in Edinburgh, but with the available fan it was good sleeping.

    Very nice and hospitable hosts with a lot of helpfull tips for visiting Edinburgh. Easy to take the public bus transport to the centre. Breakfast is fresh made and very tasty! I would come back here for another stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming hosts, large comfortable room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcoming hosts, large comfortable room and comfortable bed. Hotel in a pleasant and quiet area, short bus journey to the centre of Edinburgh. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely small hotel with great breakfast and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, while big, was a little awkwardly set up. Our room was next to the front door so there was some hallway noise as people came in and out. This made the room seem less private.

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, big comfortable room and a great location just outside of the city center made this a 5 star stay. In our room the bed was enormous and we had a picture window out on to a quiet street. In room tea and cookies made for a lovely treat after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, lovely staff. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Great bus link straight into city centre. We will definitely be back to stay next time we are in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Worth staying for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were very friendly, the breakfast was very good, they let us have takeaway in their lounge and even set up a table for us as they do not provide an evening meal. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathroom was in good condition with all conveniences. Wi-fi was very good. We arrived earlier than we should have and they kindly let us in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    I arrived late night (after 11 pm) when the reception is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived late night (after 11 pm) when the reception is generally already closed. However, the management sent me an email and also a note on the door. Absolutely lovely receptionist helped me with the luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value. Bus stop near hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from city center.

    Great owners and staff , plenty choices for breakfast, and fixed us a take away breakfast on a morning we needed to get our early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Terrific Edinburgh hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here a few times and it's always a good place to stay. Was there for marathon weekend and the owners showed a real interest in how I did. Excellent location on south side of Edinburgh, close to bus routes. Superb breakfast. Spacious, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    a perfect stay in a small, friendly family-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large and bright room, large bathroom, excellent breakfast prepared according to the guest´s wishes. Friendly (smiling) and helpful staff. Two minutes to the bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, excellent location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, excellent location, and Kevin is incredibly helpful and tirelessly cheerful. Will absolutely stay again when back in Edinburgh!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We loved it and would stay here even for an extended stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was an elevator or device to take luggage up the steep stairway; however, that's difficult in older buildings. We'd recommend not putting everything into one large case if you can help it. Parking is an issue, although the owner works to make it feasible.

    We found the beds, pillows and cover very comfortable. The owner was nicely chatty and very keen to ensure we had a good stay. The Scottish Breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked. Everything was clean and in excellent condition. We definitely will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Super accommodating husband and wife team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a walk into Edinburgh, but the city buses were very easy to use, came around often, and a very good value!

    Super accommodating husband and wife team! They did a great job with necessary directions and guidance! Great choices for our breakfasts! Got our laundry taken care of!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Good but could have been much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work despite complaining to staff. Jacuzzi bath very dirty around jets - common source of infections. Fortunately room had a separate shower which was fine. Poor view and no curtains only blinds which didn't keep the room dark hardly at all. One of the most expensive rooms of our tour but expected better.

    Nice large room with large en-suite. Very good breakfast. Scenic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel with a major flaw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From now on, I will make a point of, irrespectively of how good the place might be otherwise, not give a good review to stays in locations where, due to geography and time of the year, the sun rises at very early hours and the provided blinding of windows is ineffective. Proprietors/managers must understand that their primary business is to provide rest and, for humans to sleep, they need 1) Silence 2) Controlled temperature environment and 3) Absence of natural light in the provided accommodation. Failing to meet any of these 3 criteria is not providing the service they’ve been paid for and, as such, may even give cause, under EC, to a request for full reimbursements. It is simply not acceptable to be waked by sun light at 04:00 AM due to improper windows blinding.

    Staff. General ambiance. Price. Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds had very little room at the end to the wall so we had to slide through sideways to get to the bed near the window. A bit difficult at night in the dark if needing the WC as wall heater in the way making it even tighter. Lack of bedside lamp. There is room for a small lamp. Downlighting too bright and the need to get out of bed to switch lights off.

    Most warm, helpful and friendly greeting on arrival and during entire stay. Checked in early too as room was ready. Lucky to park outside front door. Half hour walk into city and bus conveniently located just around the corner costing 1.70. Laundry 5 minutes walk. Very steep, curved stairway though but there are rooms on the ground floor. Breakfast was great. Excellent B&B in a capital city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay with friendly staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues other than steep steps but to be expected.

    Staff very friendly, engaging and helpful with tips about the buses, eating establishments and sight-seeing. Great breakfast. Very helpful regarding washing. Bus stops are within 100 m of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Six star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything great

    Great hotel, everything perfect. Lots of little extra touches, like chocolate as well as tea/coffee. Staff were excellent, breakfast cooked fresh to order. We had an early morning tour and couldn't attend breakfast so they gave us a take away breakfast instead. So friendly and helpful WiFi also good. Would stay again no hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Room and bathroom were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom were great. Clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. They had a nice sitting area and whiskey bar. The location was good, away from the noise of the Royal Mile. Bus service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    From the moment we walked in the door Kevin and Susan made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we walked in the door Kevin and Susan made us feel welcome. This is such a perfect place to stay in Edinburgh. Frequent buses a block away can get you anywhere you want to go. The room was very nice as was the included breakfast. We will definitely be returning!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.5
    Great hotel for all budgets
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television in the room was a bit small

    The staff were fantastic; friendly, helpful and all willing to go the extra mile to make your experience the best it could be. The room was comfortable and the shower really powerful. Fantastic breakfast I would go back again and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great base for exploring Edinburgh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice accommodation with excellent location. It took us approx. 15 mins to walk to the city centre. Very nice and helpful owners. Our room was oriented to the courtyard, it wasn´t big, but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit small for the two of us. I'm 6 ft tall.

    Room no 12 has a great view of Arthur's Seat. The hosts were very helpful to us with an early check in, late check out, luggage storage and breakfast in the room. The hotel is well connected to downtown and located on a nice quiet road. And yes the breakfast is lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place! We were very welcomed , looked after. The owners are lovely couple. Vey clean. And a breakfast was amazing!!! Defiantly would come back to this place. Highly recommend .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, in a nice and calm neighborhood outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect, in a nice and calm neighborhood outside the city center, though within walking distance (20 min to the royal mile). Staff is very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was good. Free parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I believe whoever travels to Scotland would experience the best of it in Ceilidh-Donia. The warm welcome from Suzan and Kevin, the decoration of the hotel and the room, the authenticity of everything.. but in the morning you get the best of it from the choices of breakfast. Also you can have some chat and taste some Scottish whisky in the lobby. I believe Edinburgh is a walking city ad the hotel is close proximity o the center and to the wonderful nature park. If you dont like walking, there is the bus or the taxi but we only used it once. By the way, Suzan and Kevin was so kind to provide us a breakfast package as we left very early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hospitality with minor dislikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was slightly small for my friend who is a bit tall. The breakfast was very good except for the waffles. The were very dry and should not be served. The location is not very central. It is a 40 minutes walk to the center and touristy destinations, however it is easily accessible by bus in around 20 minutes. There was 1 flight of stairs to access the room but they were manageable as we didn't have big luggage. The wifi was not working properly on the first night but was working fine the next day.

    Staff members go above and beyond to answer the guests' requests, including providing coin change for the bus. The room is clean, has a lot of amenities (hairdryer, toiletries, sewing kit, shower cap, kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits). The breakfast is to order and was very good. We ordered the Scottish breakfast and eggs benedict with salmon instead of bacon - they were divine! They also have a buffet with tea, coffee, milk, orange juice, sweet pastries, brownies, yogurt and fruits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff, beautiful rooms, nice breakfast buffet and menu. The only negative aspect (and this is minor) is that the bed was a bit too short for my partner who is quite tall. The hotel is not directly in the center, but there the buses to the center leave just around the corner and the taxi ride only takes about 10 minutes. You can also take a walk to the center, which takes about 30 minutes. I would definitely recommend staying there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    LIke being home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hosts...Kevin and Susan are in the right spot...beautiful place and gorgeus breakfast room and excellent selection...we definitely will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    First class service run by first class hoteliers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was to much trouble, I was suffering from a bout of illness and everything that I needed was provided without hesitation, question and in a most friendly warm manner. We will be re-booking to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts that went out of their way to make you comfortable. Very clean with a relaxing atmosphere. A great cooked breakfast made to order. Easy access to city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Cozy B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit apart from the city center but you can easily get there by bus or a nice 20min walk (weather permitting).

    Our room was cozy and comfy, breakfast was delicious and staff was super helpful and friendly. Thanks for your hospitality, it made us feel at home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, quiet & homely B&B, well presented
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well presented B&B, homely feel, very quiet, good shower and lovely beds, tasty breakfast. Everything I wanted from my first stay in Scotland. Good bus service to town, otherwise about 30 min walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    very enjoyable comfortable stay, met all our needs. Loved the Scottish breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything other than we didn't like the flavour of the tomato ketchup but that's being really picky!!

    A very comfortable bed and room. We were staying during snow and cold winds but never felt cold in our room. Great hot power shower and well equipped clean bathroom. Superb cooked breakfast, catering for all tastes, also a good choice of cereal, fresh fruit and pastries . Highly recommend, we'd definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good indeed and especially for the voluntary upgrade to a very nice double room for a single pe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prefer tea in pot fresh on the table rather than in a flask for everyone in general serving area.

    Bedroom very clean, good size and very comfortable. Breakfasts good and prompt attention.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Charming Edinburgh hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were present, accommodating and particularly helpful. The location was great, as well. An easy walk to the city center and Arthur's Seat and just around the corner from the Prestonfield Golf Course. Great breakfast selections, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff, great comfort with lots of luxury extras in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Staff bent over backwards to help us. Fantastic range of gluten-free breakfast items. Room exceptionally nice and had lovely touches such as tissues, cotton buds, a good hairdryer and much more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cosy and warm, beds comfortable and had everything we needed, great lighting so my daughter could study. Breakfast excellent cooked to order and served in a lovely bright room. Staff so helpful - even when we arrived very late due to travel issues we were greeted very warmly and made to feel welcome. Will definitley stay here again if in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Kevin & his staff were all brilliant - helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room too small - no hanging or drawer space because there wasn't enough room for a wardrobe or chest of drawers! Bed, although comfortable, was also just a small double whereas the norm in hotels these days is for queen size at worst - appreciate that the room wasn't big enough to accommodate a larger bed!

    Kevin & his staff were all brilliant - helpful and friendly. The view up Arthur's seat was stunning. Shower was excellent. The hotel was located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood but with regular buses to the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    It was like home from home. Kevin really made us feel welcome! We loved it there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel had everything we needed. We felt comfortable and safe. Breakfast was good. We weren't charged for extras. And it gets really quiet so you can sleep soundly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Excellent private hotel, will stay there again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    England could have won the Calcutta Cup!!!

    The owners were delightful, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent bedroom, huge bed , great shower. Needed an extra pillow; no problem. Two eggs with the marvellous Scottish breakfast; no problem. Buses to town frequent, quick and cheap. Great pubs nearby, particularly The Old Bell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    I took my daughter to Edinburgh has a 21st birthday present, we could not have picked a better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel was lovely, staff very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was all cooked to order. I would recommend this hotel for a Edinburgh city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable pleasant would definitely use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean rooms staff were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious with a really good choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Couple who fell in love with Ceilidh-Donia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are a killer - but was worth climbing them for the view from our room!

    So many things - Susan and her Husband made us feel very welcome, our room was lovely and bright with a lovely view of the snow capped Arthurs Seat! The Breakfast was fantastic, a really lovely set up! The location - half an hours walk from the city centre! Parking was limited and Scottish parking laws are a bit daft... but Susan ensured we got a lovely spot to park straight after arriving - and informed us about double parking!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommend and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a short distance to city center but easily accessible by nearby buses. The staff was very helpful with information on the bus system.

    Kevin and Sarah were friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included was delicious and cooked to order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    This hotel is the best value for money I've found in the past 15 years visiting Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what's not to like?!

    My single room was up two flights of stairs but was surprisingly large with excellent shower-room facilities. Superb breakfast menu. A bar is also available for a night cap. Very friendly service. Quiet location and buses to the centre are nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    6 nations weekend - great friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Friendly managment and staff - good location to all the main tourist attractions, 25 minute walk but also on a bus route direct to the city centre. Breakfast is good, with plenty of choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that i can fault

    Absolutely amazing hotel and staff.Kevin and Susan couldnt do enough for us.We stayed for my husbands 50th Birthday and wow what an amazing birthday he had.Kevin and Susan decorated the room for us,organised a Birthday cake for me and also made us an amazing picnic.This was a suprise for my husband and they went over and above our expectations.Thankyou so much to both of you.Tonia and Derek Taylor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Locality perfect, only a ten min bus ride to attractions and only a few minutes walk to bus stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband has mobility problems, so the ground floor bedroom with large, easy access shower was great. Good choice of breakfast and very friendly, the owners go the extra mile to give information and help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    One of the best experience in Edinburgh, the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel rack in the bathroom should either be placed somewhere else strategically or some other solution but it was hot and I accidentally touched it a few times.

    The interior was superb. The staff were super responsive and humble. Overall one of the best stays.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in the double room was very comfortable and huge! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The shower was great in that it had some serious power and the hot water was instantly available. I had Eggs Benedict for breakfast and that was very well cooked. We had some ciders at the bar and that didn't break the bank as it usually does when you drink in a hotel. I really have nothing to complain about and I'd definitely be back for business and otherwise. This was possibly the best value for money establishment that I've visited in terms of over night stays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Normally we stay in budget hotels in the center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Normally we stay in budget hotels in the center of city. Since this was our first time to Edinburgh, we wanted to try something different. We reached the location by bus on a rainy night. We knew the hotel was not in the city center, but we expected the hotel to be in the main road with some shops nearby. We were quite discourage that time. But everything changed when we were in the room. Really love the beds, toilet, shower! Very nice breakfast! and the owner is wonderful! Really glad that we stayed in Hotel Ceilidh-Donia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Best stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve on.

    The hosts were awesome! Warm,friendly,helpful and welcoming. Comfy room, ripper shower and the yummiest breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with fab owners and excellent breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door was missing.

    The owners of this Hotel were great, showing us the facilities of the Hotel and maps to show us where we were in relation to Edinburgh city centre which is about just over a mile walking but get the bus it's much quicker. The room we had was number 2 it had a king size bed, TV and DVD player and plenty of storage to hang and to put your clothes in. The bathroom had a shower, hand basin and toilet with nice decor and plenty of towels everything was nice clean and tidy. Breakfasts were fab, plenty to choose from, fruit, cereals, yogurts, toast,cooked breakfasts and to drink coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit juice. The Hotel had it's own bar as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    People were getting up and showering from 6.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People were getting up and showering from 6.30 am!! Also person in adjacent room was talking (very loudly)on the phone at the same time her partner was in the shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite far from the Centre but easily accessible by bus 30 or 33

    Breakfast lovely, staff very helpful and the bed was comfortable. Couldn't fault anything and hopefully will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    The variety of the breakfast catered for individual taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner was led to believe there was ample off street parking, this was not the case disappointed.

    The variety of the breakfast catered for individual taste.The room was clean and spacious and was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Best stay I have had in edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't have stayed longer

    Met with a friendly smile. Mince pies and mulled wine a lovely touch. The luggage taken upstairs for us with another friendly smile. Room was lovely bathroom excellent the breakfast was to die for. Even the dining room was festive and cheerful would stay there again without a doubt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Will definitely book a room here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was absolutey lovely and clean and it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in while on holiday! Great choice of cooked breakfast in the morning and wide variety of bar drinks at night! Would recommend to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the morning but that was only because we stayed on the ground floor room. It would have been fine if we were upstairs

    The photos dont do the place enough justice. It was lovely and the room was way bigger than it looked on photos

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.4
    Expensive for the facilities offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very mouldy There was excessive noise at 3am from some drunk visitors- not the owners fault- The TV was not working The reception desk closed at 10pm which is far to early

    The owners were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Would probably go back for a night again no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't enjoy breakfast but my fiend did. So a personal thing. Plus although very clean generally felt shower cubicle let it down. No reason for it to have a vyild up around bottom of tray. Shame.

    Bed comfy, lovely and warm all through hotel. The couple running it were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Kevin a good host and very helpful. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast choice very good and the full Scottish was delicious. Hopefully back next year :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I arrived pretty late in the day for an interview the following morning and was incredibly well looked after with a great recommendation for a local pub and great service all round. The room was a good size, great bathroom and shower, and really tasty (free) breakfast in the morning. I really couldn't recommend this any more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, but if I have to choose something, it would be the noisy shower motor. Lots of noise for moderate pressure.

    Very friendly owner at reception (even though we were late arriving and gave no warning). Room was small but perfectly adequate. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Perfect stay for my work conference
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As noted, some rooms are on the 2nd floor which requires stairs. This was fine for me but might be difficult for individuals with limited mobility.

    The room was the perfect size for one person and was well appointed. I immediately felt at home. The staff were incredibly helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in good location run by friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location on bus route to city. Great view of Arthur's seat. Excellent choice of breakfast. Very friendly and efficient staff. Clean and well appointed room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Everything enjoyable. were able to book in early as we had and afternoon appointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    took a while to find a parking space but when we booked in owner said they would have moved their cars so go in and book first

    breakfast very good choice of two rooms picked ground floor.Bar and prices good. Little garden area at the back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    See above. Hotel handy for function at Prestonfield House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking online gave no clue to the fact that we were in the tower up 44 steep stairs. Full marks to male receptionist who humped big case up to room and lady chamberperson who took it back down.

    fine breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable,great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a slight worry,especially as we saw the warden on his scooter ticketing a nearby car.Fortunately we had been advised to move,and to double park! The traffic warden seemed to accept this! However, apparently the restriction is only between 9.30 am and 11am. Would have liked a bedside lamp-will take a small torch if we go again.

    Very comfortable ground floor accessible room,with all you could need in the way of toiletries,tea-tray,etc. Friendly staff and excellent cooked breakfast. Checked-in on early arrival around1pm..Near bus stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable beds. Warm welcome. Lovely breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we were in was a little "tired" and a bit small but it did not stop our enjoyment.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Even the house keepers had lots of suggestions for places to visit. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Gig accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one minor gripe. Me being a big guy I struggled to use the shower. And the water pressure was pretty sad.

    Excellent service and facilities. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and friendly hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant for dinner, but local restaurants close by. A rather noisy water fall in garden which with the windows open was a bit disturbing.

    Very comfortable beds, although no lift and room was on top floor, however the staff carried my bags up which was a bonus. Breakfast was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ceilidh-Donia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: