Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Gwent hotel reviews
  4. Newport hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Celtic Manor Resort

Reviews of The Celtic Manor Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Coldra Woods, Newport, NP18 1HQ, United Kingdom

#5 of 13 hotels in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2481 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast sausages (lamb and rosemary) were a bit dry. A bottle of water in the room would have been nice.

    Spacious room. Large shower and Elemis toiletries. Very comfortable bed and seating area with view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was first class at the time we ate but looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The high charge for parking vehicle, should be free for paying guests.

    The breakfast was first class at the time we ate but looked to get busy later so not sure if the quality or availability would still be first class.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unable to eat in the hotel on our second night. It had been very quiet the previous night, so we had not booked. We decided to eat in the Grill Bar in the Golf Clubhouse. We got the hotel shuttle up to the clubhouse but the restaurant was full. The shuttle driver was excellent and rung the hotel, asking if any of their restaurants had availability, even the sister hotel off site. Everything was full. This was not a good experience. We ended up going to a village close by which cost £24 in a taxi.

    Room was comfortable. Bathrobes excellent as we used the lovely pool and sauna. The breakfast area, the Olive Tree although busy was very well run with a huge selection of breakfast items and excellent staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant Steak on Six was superb. We had an excellent meal. Lots of comfortable seating in Merlins Bar with a very good Pianist in the evenings.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Comfortable clean and great for the price I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tea and coffee was horrible but that’s it

    Comfortable clean and great for the price I paid. Unfortunately unable to use spa etc this time but will stay again and utilise these facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    An excellent stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the night that we stayed, two restaurants were closed limiting our choice of venues. However, the Grill restaurant which we ended up going to was excellent and we saw a different part of the resort. So all things worked together for good.

    The signature room, balcony and additional signature extras made for a special stay (even though they are probably included in the price). The signature lounge is a great additional extra. Laura and Grace on the signature check in were extremely helpful. Will definitely return and stay in a signature room again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the breakfast buffet, our stay was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was poorly organized and the layout of the food stations was confusing and too close together. It seemed like our waitstaff were new and unsure of what to do. We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee and the then we had to ask twice to get some. The coffee was awful. The tables were very small for four people.

    The room and the location. The views were great and there is a lot to do.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.3
    Was a nice place staff were good nothing to much trouble but don’t know if I would comeback because
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cupboard with draws to put your clothes had to keep my jumper and smalls in my case.Disappointed that there wasent a bottle of water in the room when we went for breakfast I had to wait for fried eggs to be brought out so my food was going cold .

    The room was a good size

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great activity and gym/spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel reception and lifts failed to cope well with the number of people using it during peak times. Ditto standard breakfast restaurant, Olive.

    Gym and spa. Hotel public areas, Xmas decorations, also grounds and room, too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Nice for a luxury stay for a change and resonably priced for the area compared to other hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Resort Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good for me.

    Stay away on work business often. This has to be the best breakfast experience going. Everything fresh that you would expect and more. The staff were very attenuative and professional. Defiantly a bonus to the stay and great value amid lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely luxurious hotel with excellent helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Signature room spacious with a sofa and two chairs in the sitting area and a huge comfortable bed. Leisure facilities excellent. Breakfast unhurried and as good as you’d get in the main dining room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t find our booking- waited 40 mins at the desk. The bed in room 647 signature room was dipped and old mattress. I was told when booking the children’s Christmas craft activity that I could leave my child there but when signing her in I was told I had to stay. Which messed up some of our plans.

    Most things as usual

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.9
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got given good poisoning by the restaurant and no one wanted to take ownership. From a hotel as big and luxurious as this I expected much better. Also twice during our stay we couldn’t have a shower as there was no hot water coming through

    The service from concierge and reception was fantastic, the lobby and signature lounge were also spot on

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn’t great. Jacuzzi was Luke warm. Happy hour at the Cellar bar wasn’t like advertised and so cold in there. Wine was massively overpriced and service wasn’t that great to have a obligatory service charge.

    Most of the staff were super friendly and helpful, we enjoyed the spa and the food at the Olive tree restaurant was great for a buffet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found some small pieces of glass on the bedroom floor where a glass had obviously broken so felt the room needed a more thorough vacuum. There was one small packet of biscuits in the room which had been opened and left on the tray, this wasn’t really an issue as we didn’t want one but ideally this should have been replaced.

    The leisure/pool facilities are outstanding - made use of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room at 8:00am which was bliss. We chose to eat at the grill in the evening; our meal was superb and the service was great. The selection and quality of food for breakfast was excellent. The staff were lovely and helpful. Overall we really enjoyed our stay - we chilled, ate and had a drink or two! Looking forward to our return visit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    The food was absolutely delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was cold (although the shower was warm) and the swimming pool although was nice it was a little bit cold and the jacuzzi was colder than a normal jacuzzi. The walks weren't well sign posted as a bit confused with which way to go.

    The food was absolutely delicious. The music bands were super great song choice and well sung with lovely a lovely atmosphere in the bars. The cocktails were lovely and the decor and atmosphere in the bars was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having a signature room, use of the check-in and lounge on that floor is great and really enjoyed breakfast too xx great value for money will definitely be back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Dont expect a five star experience if you visit the Celtic Manor Hotel at the moment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although classified as a five star hotel I would say it most definitely is not. Everything has been cut back to the bare minimum. The towels are of a poor quality and ours were almost threadbare. The food is poor quality. There are very few products given in the bathrooms. For example no body lotion. We ordered drinks from the bar which were served at a dirty table in the Merlin's bar with no coasters or nibbles to accompany them. I could go on but these are just some examples of why the hotel does not meet the basic requirements needed from a five star hotel. To balance this I would say that the room rate was quite low during our stay and maybe therefore you shouldn't expect too much.

    The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathrooms are of a high quality. The staff are very nice as well but this is where the five star experience ends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We ordered breakfast room service. I felt as though the order form wasn’t clear enough, continental was included with the whelsh breakfast, but I felt I couldn’t tick things on the continental part as I was concerned we would of also been charged £12.50. So we didn’t get any toast with our breakfast. Then when the food arrived it wasn’t quite warm enough. Other than that. No complaints

    The room we was in was absolutely amazing and exceeded our expectations. The bed was really comfy!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Superior Twin with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    food buffet area way too busy, too long standing around for staff to refill food plates. No heating in room had to have a portable radiator

    the beds were very comfortable, food nice, balcony and views nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous pool ... great staff and lovely room ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was excellent ... we were slightly disappointed with the Grill restaurant...food was not up to standard of the rest of the hotel and quite expensive for the standard of the food

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Would definietly visit again when the proces are in my favour.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are observations not complaints. I wasn't be able to turn down the heating in the room, so I turned it off all together and opened the window for the night. Breakfast could be served a little earlier. Having to be in the office for 8.00, does not leave much time to eat breakfast when it only starts at 7.00am

    All good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.2
    Adding a percentage to the roof and drinking bill when it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Adding a percentage to the roof and drinking bill when it was well expensive already , and service was lacking . A rally cheap shot. Having to pay to park the car . Very cheap shot . Value —- rubbish

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, scenery & an amazing visit. Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Confusion on arrival booking in, staff not engaging & communicating enough to travellers

    Upgrade room , little birthday gift fabulous meal& drinks

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After booking into our room we tried to turn the lights on , the tall lamp was making a noise and turned out that the wires had been pulled out of the plug, but the disappointing part was we were there for a romantic birthday break for my wife and where we were seated it ended up us having to shout at each other to be heard and both left with a head ache. Not very 5 star to be honest.....

    The hotel is nice, the staff were friendly and the bed was soft......

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed using the spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not enjoy the small room that we had which was not reflective of the pictures provided for the type of room we booked. Also disappointed with our usual restaurant being closed and steak in six did not meet expectations. Overpriced and average food. Poor cut of steak for both meals

    We enjoyed using the spa facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is run on tight budget, the result uncomfortable for customers and terrible for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Children not allowed in lounge or bar area after 11pm. Lounge & bar area cold. Lounge area half of it was closed off, everyone jammed into small uncomfortable area.

    Lovely rooms

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    Everything - stayed here a number of times and it never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the Signature steak restaurant was closed. The buffet dinner option was average and slightly over-priced.

    Everything - stayed here a number of times and it never disappoints. Bumping in to the Australian rugby team ahead of their test against Wales was a bonus!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.0
    Short, relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast seemed rushed: the waitress took our plates whilst we were still eating and dashed away before we could tell her we had just started. It is a big hotel and, understandably, they don’t have enough seating for everyone at the same time so they do tend to rush you.

    It was a busy time given it was half term and the check in queues were very long. However, it was an easy process and we went to our rooms, which were clean enough (except some old vodka bottles that the previous guests had left behind that housekeeping missed). The leisure facilities were great. Again, a little busy with children and parents due to half term. However, the facilities were less busy when the leisure facilities were for “adults only” during very early and late timings during the day. Also, the hotel will let you use the facilities from midday of arrival till 4 pm the day of checkout, which gives you plenty of time to enjoy the facilities fully.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    Liked that my friends were upgraded into a presidential...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No rooms to book a 2nd night after enjoying the comfort, ended up going to Coldra

    Liked that my friends were upgraded into a presidential suite and had the opportunity to be in there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location, good food, lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The way most of staff is dealing and treating customers is no where near 5 stars, maybe 3 Max. I was personally insulted by staff in one of restaurants ,after asking what’s happening with my order, after waiting 40 min Very disappointed with receptionists as well and with breakfast staff.

    Lovely location, good food, lovely pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and good value for money with lots of activities for you to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We stayed on floor 6 in the signature rooms -our visit was peaceful, comfortable and the staff from valet to check in to room service were helpful, courteous and went over and above their duties to help us. I cannot wait to visit again and you all made our visit a perfect memory.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.3
    Nice comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited to a choice of one table at 6.30 pm for food despite trying to book on our arrival. Food was cold on the first night and the second night we were served the wrong meal and when rectified the meal was poor. The whole hotel was over run with children and seemed to have lost it’s “ classy” element that it certainly had on previous visits. I’ve never written a negative review before but this was very disappointing particularly as it was my wife’s birthday and our wedding anniversary.

    Nice comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The restaurant manager in Steak on Six was particularly friendly and apologetic .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    ENJOYED THE SHORT STAY.NEEDED TO GO OUT OF RESORT FOR FOOD CHOICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NEEDS INTERNATIONAL MENU CHOICES IN THE RESTAURANTS. WE STAYED IN SIGNATURE ROOM WHERE THERE IS NO SPACE TO KEEP ALL THE CLOTHES IF ONE IS STAYING FOR A WEEK.NEEDS MORE WARDROBE SPACE

    EXCELLENT SERVICE THROUGHOUT THE RESORT.VERY HELPFUL STAFF ALL ROUND.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    2.9
    Poor , fell way below our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort doesn't cater well for couple in hope of a romantic break

    Not a lot to like property was grand But the rest of the experience was mediocre

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel however customers are currently being unesseserily overcharged for parking and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main course in the Rafters restauraunt was a joke. The portion size was smaller than a child's portion a clearly not value for money (goats cheese soufflé). As a man I would have expected a meal and this was not, my starter was more substantial. Staying at a quality hotel with somewhat inflated food and drinks cost I do not expect to have to pay a car parking charge, the £15 overnight charge was extortionate and is clearly taking advantage of customers and worthy of a quality hotel.

    Hotel is of a good quality, fast check-in and check-out, good room facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Nice time out from everyday life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a huge amount for vegetarians and less for vegans therefore £35 per head was a lot for a plate of vegetables!

    You could have as much or as little as you liked!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    The room was amazing and the staff so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst the leisure facilities were lovely it was too busy at times for the size of the facilities but it was half term. Ideally I Would pick in future a stay outside of school holidays.

    The room was amazing and the staff so lovely. Food was excellent. Signature was well worth the extra money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel amazing room with lots of choice of restaurants and bars. Excellent pool facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of food is very expensive

    Amazing room, very friendly helpful staff Had the evening buffet, food was expensive to eat at restaurant but the quality in the evening was brilliant. Lovely pool facilities

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Massive comfortable rooms and friendly staff made our stay very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel could do with updating a little. It’s showing it’s age now.

    Huge comfortable room, great selection of food for breakfast. Super friendly staff that couldn’t do enough for you. Lots of activities for kids and adults.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    3.8
    Lovely stunning views
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s was all dusty ain’t been cleaned properly could still see dirty cup marks from the last lot who stayed Phone’s was dusty the table the sides total filth specially for a signature room

    Lovely stunning views

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.8
    lovely atmosphere, most of the staff was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it is in quite a remote location, which whilst being lovely and peaceful, was also an inconvenience

    lovely atmosphere, most of the staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.4
    It didn't live up to expectation, like a cattle market and it wasn't even half term
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying to park Old lumpy uncomfortable mattresses Everything being extra and expensive Queuing to be seated for food and check in and to get into the pool Only half the jacuzzi working Heavily chlorinated pool

    Good gym & leisure facilities 3 members of staff were very pleasant & helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable treat for our grandchildren, which we will do again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problem with the reservation as they had booked our daughter I. Under her Christian name. Also reservation in restaurant could not be found. All eventually sorted but hassle at the time and delay for others in the queue.

    Food was generally good and the staff great with children. Amazing facilities for children and great in pool at family time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Twin with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Contact with the shuttle bus, all be it very minor

    Very nice food both evening meal and breakfast and the room was very much up to the expectations given the reputation of the facility.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.1
    Can’t lie, a bit disappointed really!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So here’s where the wheels came off for me! I find the place a bit dated, I first went 15 years ago and it was totally fresh but I suspect it’s not been updated since then! I also had a huge issue with Breakfast, we were on the Signature floor so Breakfast was served on the same floor in the Restaurant. Breakfast was almost inedible! It’s served self service from heated trays and had obviously been sitting for way too long! The quality just wasn’t there, the eggs were solid, the bacon pasty and dry and the sausages just dried up and nasty! It also took 4 attempts to get my Wife a Hot Coffee... not what you expect! I mentioned this to the receptionist on the 6th floor at checkout but it seamed to fall on deaf ears! We still paid for two ridiculously over priced inedible Breakfasts. We’d eaten the night before at the Grill in the Golf Club, although the food was tasty it was £105 for 2 x Steak and Chips, some Peppercorn Sauce and a decidIy average bottle of Sauvignon Blanc! We then had to pay £15 for the Car Park, bit insulting to be honest! For these reasons I won’t go back again!

    You can’t help but notice Celtic Manor, it’s big and imposing and has an assumed air of quality. There’s plenty of very helpful staff to assist and the place is well built so rooms are quiet and comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    7.9
    This hotel needs to spend time and money on customer service training
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The concierge lost our luggage for around seven hours. The manager at the time was very helpful in trying to sort this problem out. However, I found other staff, especially in the Olive Tree restaurant to be surely and unhelpful, to the point of scowling when trying to get a table or order anything,

    The lotion was ideal for our purposes. The rooms are a good size with plenty of amenities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.5
    We like coming to Celtic manor, the staff, the golf are all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night

    What disappointed us the most was that my partner travelled from Lincolnshire for the stay, to relax and hopefully to enjoy one of the lovely restaurants, to our disappointment, some of the better restaurants weren't open, although we were told the hotel was busy? We also feel let down by the meal we were served, which was inedible due to the fact that it wasn't as it was described on the menu.....we feel let down this time😔

    We like coming to Celtic manor, the staff, the golf are all great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    A tick off my bucket list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like having to leave!!!!!!

    The room was lovely, the bed comfortable, breakfast perfect, Friday evening pianist /singer was enjoyable, all staff where friendly, polite and accomodating

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pre authorisation on my debit card for over £600 took 8 days to come off my account, despite paying cash AND calling them to remove it. Breakfast was crazy busy, tables rammed together, hot noisy and stressy. Beware everything is quite expensive when you get there, simple sandwich lunch will set you back £60.

    This is a bustling hotel, many families, weddings, gatherings. The shop is a nice touch. Activities were great for the kids.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    excellent except for £15 for parking when you are staying at the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park at £15 extra for the night is a bit of a con, its not a central london hotel its in Newport Gwent !!!. Signs on the way in are not clear and it is easy to miss them.

    everything was very high quality, room , breakfast, bars, lobby, view all very good. Spa and leisure facilities very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent. Food at Cen Restaurant was superb. Very impressed with the breakfast plenty of choice and the quality of the food was excellent. Will definitely return here

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, relaxing break that I would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drinks were a bit pricey. I understand it’s a 5* resort but £6 for a Bulmers cider is over the top

    The bed was very comfortable and the spa was an amazing way to relax after a busy week

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place to stay, bit different to your average Holiday Inn, etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks in the bar are a bit expensive

    I went into the steakhouse for restaurant by mistake which wasn't allowed for my type of room however they were quiet so let me in and treated me like royalty. Nice when someone bends the rules a bit to make you feel a bit special. Entertainment in the bar in the evening is first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.5
    5* service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything you purchased had a service charge on it without us being told. We would have been more than happy to tip as service was good, however it took 10minutes to get served 2 drinks which came to £10 but got charged £15. The shuttle bus literally picked up people who were waiting there and then and left straight away.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was outstanding at the rib and smokehouse. Reception were very accommodating as we got accidentally charged for items in the mini bar that we did not consume so they sorted the bill out for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.1
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few missing parts to the bathroom eg hand rail in bath had a missing part but no big deal but did look tatty! Throw on the bed had stains on which didn’t look very nice! Underneath furniture could do with a good vacuum. Chocolate in mini bar had been nibbled in by guests before us which was sorted by staff. Food at the olive tree was a disaster but we did have a full refund! We would avoid this eatery if we return.

    The bed was amazing the view from our room was perfect! Lovely room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.7
    Very enjoyable but the very poor service left us feeling disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking a little tired in parts. Ripped wallpaper in the lounge area and a ceiling bulb was out in the bathroom ceiling- the water drained from the sink at a painfully slow speed. Cloudy glass at most of the windows. Broken left side curtain runner in the bedroom. Very slow service when we had afternoon tea. We had booked a table reservation at The Riverside in Usk at 8.00pm being told that transport would pick us up in plenty of time ie be in the reception area at 7.45pm. The mini bus driver did not turn up till 8.20pm and we were late for our table reservation!!!! Breakfast service was very poor. We had to ask twice for coffee !!!! No salt and pepper on our table and again we had to ask and it still didnt come so borrowed from the table next to us who had also had to ask for the salt and pepper. Not what we would call 5 star service at all.

    lovely large Suite. Amazing views. Food was delicious at Afternoon tea and Dinner at the Riverside and Breakfast. Reception staff excellent as were the Concierge staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    Worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I enjoyed it all, check in was meant to be 4pm. We arrived at mid day and our room was ready which was perfect. The facial we had was lush, the spa facilities were your normal, nothing special in that regards but still very nice! Lovely green grounds, big building. Caters for all ages. Breakfast at the Olive tree was lush, they had a selection of everything. I would advice to get down to breakfast before 9am as it got extremely busy and long queues. Luckily we got down there for half 8 and was shown straight to our table.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.1
    Run down and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is dated. Stayed 5 years ago and hasnt changed much. The decor is dated, the facilities are run down. Steam room not working, no steam room for women and males only same sex only, half of the jets in the Jacuzzi not working, Jacuzzi is cold, only half the lights in the pool work.. just seemed as the attention to detail has been lost and the place run down. Dishes outside over night and not cleaned up so looks dirty and messy when we went to the jacuzzi at 7am. Breakfast feels more like a Canadian lodge than a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was ok not the best and no where in the hotel served a vegan menu or alternative especially at breakfast. Hotel decor is very dated especially as a hotel that should be the best hotel in Wales and sits on an international level with others around the world its pretty embarrasing. Queing for the reception desk, hard to get service in Merlins bar and very overpriced.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful they even put a twin into a double for us!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked for spa treatment for myself and husband however the spa had to cancel as they booked the wrong day. Also, the restaurant reservation that we book didn’t exist when we turned up at the restaurant. We did get a table in the end but had to wait an hour to sit down and service was slow. The breakfast was also disappointing as the Danish pastries were very dry....definitely not a 5* breakfast. When we complained about the above mix ups we were waiting about 15 minutes for the manger to turn up to talk to us. She was very professional and listened to what we had to say. It’s a real shame that our stay wasn’t as we’d hoped for as it’s a lovely hotel with a great spa and beautiful grounds.

    Room was lovely, and the bed was extremely comfortable. I think we’d had a upgrade :) The resort bus driver we had, to take us to our restaurant, was so entertaining and had all the quests singing within a minute.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.8
    Overall great place - needs serious re think of the way it manages finishing touches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a signature room which came with a few extras unfortunately the finishing touches were missing - no chocolates, no robes, when we raised this with the desk we were told that they had experienced problems with the laundry and there weren't enough robes for everyone ??? disappointing approach to customers who pay the higher price for selected rooms

    The room was tremendous , spacious and the view over the course excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    comfortable, professional and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    getting out of the car park was an issue, despite paying for the ticket overnight

    terrific room - huge bed - excellent service at check-in/out, dinner and breakfast very good service and food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great views, great service and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in a suite which was a little tired if I’m honest!

    The staff and service was superb! The facilities are fantastic and despite being spread over a small resort, the great shuttle service and friendly drivers really make this effortless! Would certainly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.3
    Expensive, and popular, but very luxurious
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King With Balcony (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For such a large hotel, it'd be nice if there was more variety when it came to food. They were woefully inadequate at providing a good desert; all restaurants were rammed whilst we were there and if we didn't book a table, we could only eat pub-style food in the bar. Minibar and room service prices are very, very high! £4.50 tray charge!

    Stayed in the Signature rooms but found the breakfast offered there to be lacking in variety, so we went to the main restaurant each day (and were reminded that we could eat up there if we wanted to). Rooms were lush. Minibar well-stocked, bathrooms clean, Elemis toiletries refilled daily. Staff falling over themselves to help, but they did not point out to us that the restaurant we were trying to get to was closed. Granted, they may not have known. The spa is incredible! Some very talented people there, very good with their hands. The pool area was similarly very good. The restaurants that we did eat at served good food at excellent food prices; so, a little disappointed as I don't mind paying excellent prices for excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.3
    Wedding Dress Charity Ball brilliant, venue a bit big to be personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the event food quality was not good, and also didn't expect at this venue for a bar man to ask - what is port????!!!!

    Room not bad, but quite basic for the description. Bathroom nice. Staff and facilities good but venue is just too big to be personal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Opulence combined with pure pampering and relaxation made this the perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing!

    Attention to Celtic/welsh detail everywhere. The quality and style of all public areas, fantastic ambience, comfort, views, ease of transport to resort restaurants/facilities made everything accessible and expanded choice of where to dine. Spa and treatments high quality and very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Thought the place was wonderful, had a super time and spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not think it’s right to charge for the car parking seeing as we spent a lot of money in the bar and the spa, also putting on a service charge when you order drinks is wrong. And the steam room not working was a bit upsetting.

    Thought the place was wonderful, had a super time and spa great to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Fab stay and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park charges. Very expensive

    had a lovely stay. The hotel smells lovely 😊 and the Room was really nice. Also liked how you can accesss the hotel from the car without getting wet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is lovely, large and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two things, if you like to sleep with the window open make sure you don’t have a room facing the M4 motorway as it’s none stop throughout the night. The hotel has staffing problems in the restaurants. They had the wrong amounts, their quality of service was poor and they had all just forgotten how to smile. Which was a shame.

    The hotel is lovely, large and well looked after. There are enough restaurants to stop you from getting bored and they’re not all in the main hotel so you have to undertake a small adventure to get to some. Although pricey the food is very good, we ate in Rafters and Cen and we’d recommend both. We used the hotel as a base for visiting Cardiff which is only 25mins away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t do again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was inedible. The sitting room - part of our supposedly deluxe suite ( the sign on the door stated it was the Presidential Suite!!) - looked like it hadn’t been opened up in 40 years - really dated, wallpaper ripped, windows were truly filthy. The toilet roll in the bathroom was balanced against the wall as the holder was broken.

    Breakfast was tasty and there was a very good selection. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel but some of the service was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male changing facilities in the spa were closed. I asked where I shold change and I was asked to go back to my room and change there, them come back downin the gown provided. I told the staff that there was not a gown in my room. They then contacted the housekeepers who informed us that there were no gowns available in the hotel. I ended up changing in a toilet, and eventually walked back through the hotel in a bather and towel. Not dignified or expected from a 5 star hotel When I ran a bath in the room the water was "safely warm", no option for a hot bath. The shower was no better I ate in the Rafters restrurant, where they mixed up the meals, the staff attitude was sypathetic but non responsive. The trap in the bathroom sink was blocked and when I ran the tap black muddy dirt came back up and lined the sink

    The facilities were great and the hotel was most impressive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I sense the staff are under pressure. But sadly - Isn’t everyone?

    Greeted with smiles from all staff. Upgraded to a signature room because I was proposing to my girlfriend. We have stayed many times and we were not off by some poor reviews on booking.com For a large resort they maintain personal touches.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of food and drink in the mini bar and the lights in the bathroom didn't work

    I liked all of it the food was delicious and it was nice and quiet perfect for a break

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    A short break from Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The queues at the reception desk when checking in was a little disheartening to see.

    Everything was of the highest standard. The bed wrapped around you, the room was warm and cosy, my mother fell in love with the carpet!!! We played Adventure Golf which was great fun, we had a swim which was lovely and we had a lovely walk around the hotel area. Food was delicious and the weather was great which was a bonus. A fab weekend...Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one for my Mums 88th Birthday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.5
    Clean, tidy friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Superior Double with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered champagne for arrival but nothing was in the room when we arrived. Asked about it when we went for dinner. They said they will put it straight in our room. Still nothing

    Clean, tidy friendly. Food was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    6.7
    Room was great with an amazing view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First time staying at the hotel . Not sign posted so took as just over half an hour to find our way to the hotel . When we got to our room we had a little look through the mini bar to see what they had to offer then had a bill of 88 pound and we didnt even have anything from there.

    Room was great with an amazing view . Very clean and well looked after.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: