Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Chamberlain

Reviews of The Chamberlain This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

130-135 Minories, City of London, London, EC3N 1NU, United Kingdom

#69 of 1,027 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3068 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Highly Recommended for anyone interested in seeing London's sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could maybe do with an little extra lighting for the early winter morning.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location excellent. Breakfast was excellent and staff extremely attentive. Dinner was good value and menu was good. Rooms were comfortable. Air conditioning worked well. Enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    6.3
    Lovely bedroom and bathroom which was very clean and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After waiting 1 hour on our dinner the restaurant manager informed us the chef had lost our order. I asked him how much longer we would have to wait and he said 5 minutes ( how anyone cooks a roast dinner in that time is mind boggling). The roast dinner came out and it was cold and disgusting. We spoke to restaurant manager and receptionist who were both very rude and to top it all we were over charged for drinks we hadn’t ordered.

    Lovely bedroom and bathroom which was very clean and had lots of character.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    A Star!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value for money. Free tea, proper coffee machine. Free beer and water from the mini bar. Met our request to check in early for free, and looked after banks after check out. Comfy rooms, nice and clean. Definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.2
    This hotel is indeed a home away from home in the centre of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    This hotel is indeed a home away from home in the centre of London. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet room fully equipped with a space for working, minibar, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing set. Close to subway.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    Excellent service and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only genuine thing was that the lamp didn’t work in the room and I forgot to report it!!!

    Room was really nice, clean and comfy. Excellent duvet and pillows. Loved that the mini bar and coffee was included in the room so no hidden costs. The staff were amazing, room was amazing. Everything reasonably priced - would come again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light shining in from hallway when lights off i.e. from under door. Require additional luggage holder. Wardrobe a little too small.

    Cosy clean bedroom. Close to tube, Aldgate Station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.9
    Room was comfortable with a good welcome tray, staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fairly large holes in the carpets on 2 landings. In spite of being told of a 1pm check out I was disturbed 3 times during the morning, and 1 staff member didn't even wait for me to come out of the bathroom before coming right in.

    Room was comfortable with a good welcome tray, staff generally friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    The perfect accomodation in London!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant could be a little bit better but British cuisine has its own limits...

    The perfect accomodation in London: comfortable, good position, very clean, spacious rooms, rich breakfast and excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    The Chamberlain is as central as you can get in the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are courteous, and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean

    The Chamberlain is as central as you can get in the City. Within walking distance of many of the major landmarks and a 2 minute walk to Aldgate station

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect: great location, great room with everything you may need (and even more). The breakfast was superbe as well as the pub to get a beer after a long day around the city. We will come back.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    This was a practically perfect place to stay in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor observations: chairs in the room weren’t very comfortable and there was no light bright enough to read by. Also, there were lots of shelves and cubbies but no dresser for easy unpacking for an extended stay.

    This hotel has everything: pleasant, competent staff, comfortable rooms, great location very close to the underground Circle Line and a nice pub in the lobby. And it is spotlessly clean. Especially nice touches: good coffee and tea in the room, water, beer and milk complementary in the fridge, low watt lights at bedside for going to bed and waking up with soft light.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing!

    Value for money! Quite reasonable price in that location. Coffee machine and biscuits in room. The whole hotel is decorated in a vintage style and we like it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent and good value hotel.
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air on didn’t seem to respond to turning down the temperature so the room was overly hot for my taste. I was able to open a window but of course there is then traffic noise.

    The bed was comfortable and the room facilities were excellent - complimentary water in fridge, fresh milk, nespresso coffee machine, good toiletries in bathroom, fluffy large towels.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Above and Beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view could have been better but it honestly doesn't make a difference.

    We arrived at 11am and check in didn't start till 2 or 3 yet they still made the effort to get us a room straight away, which was so appreciated. We were also given a free upgrade which was fantastic. Booking in for breakfast is definately worth it for the extra bit it costs, theres a buffet available for pastries and thing while your toast is being brought out and you choose your breakfast from the menu. There's a residents bar till 2am every night and if you have breakfast included you can pre order it the night before to be brought to your room at a specific time for 2.50pound. The staff were always so attentive and lovely. Could not recommend enough!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay for anyone spending time as a tourist in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave after just 2 days there!

    Staff worked really hard to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Thank you all. The room had been recently refurbished to a high standard and was well laid out. Access to the Underground was easy making location ideal. Breakfasts and dinners were great and offered value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.6
    The complimentary upgrade and the happy birthday dessert...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been great if the receptionist checking us in wouldn't have stated the cost of our stay. I was treating my partner to a weekend in London for his birthday, and I made a note on the booking about this.

    The complimentary upgrade and the happy birthday dessert they left in our room for my hubby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Good value, no thrills, comfortable stay in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a little bit older, the link with the pub was a little off putting - a pub room rather than hotel.

    Good sized room with a comfortable bed. Shower and Bath which can be difficult to find in the city. Complimentary Beers in the mini bar was a nice touch. Good breakfast the next day too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    Good location and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is not that good and may not worth the cost. The AC ventilation is a bit annoying cause I personally do not like experiencing wind over my head during sleep. The sound insulation is not perfect, but is understandable and acceptable.

    Good location and service. Nice and clean bedroom and bathroom. Shower is also good. Convenient to reach around. Near tube stations and coffee shops. Near London tower bridge and Thames River. Near the business place I visited. Overall it is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    8.8
    Next to Tower Bridge, good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was not having enough offers. Only meat and fish definetly not enough if you are willing to have dinner there all days. Breakfast good but limited to same egg preparation in different ways and buffet lacking of cakes or else. To be much improved. By the way food served was good.

    The room was comfortable and enough big with several services and even a mobile phone! Locations is very well served from all public transport and you can easily get everywhere

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, actually.

    Bed was comfortable, room clean. Lovely toiletries, kettle and set of tea, capsule coffee machine, complimentary bottled water, milk were available in the room; also, mobile phone which can be used for calls and mobile internet outside hotel. Breakfast for additional charge was delicious and generous. The bar downstairs was cozy. Location is amazing as all attractions are in walking distance, nonetheless, public transport access is convenient as well. Staff was professional yet friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable, affordable old English style. We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Our stay was delightful.

    Beautiful, old England style. Comfortable, clean room. Delightful staff. They allowed us to use free morning breakfasts for guests. Great location to sights and the Tube. Great value for the price. Wonderful bar and lounge.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    A perfect Christmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was much bigger than expected, with a lovely shower and bath. The bed was so comfortable and the complimentary robes, slippers and mini bar were a lovely extra. Bag drop off was easy and staff very polite. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything that stood out that i didn't like. I was satified by pretty much everything.

    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was also a complimentary mobile phone and drinks. The breakfast was also very nice and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    Cosy and comfortable. A great place to return to after a day out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing :)

    Everything at the Chamberlain was wonderful. From the coathooks in the room, fluffy duvet, spacious bathroom and big bath sheets instead of normal towels.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly staff, spotless room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were lights pointed on our window from the outside which was blocking the natural light. I like to have a curtain open and because of the lighting I couldn’t do that. Also, lights from the hallway shined underneath the door

    Perfect location, friendly staff, spotless room

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel with classic ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although not a fault of the hotel, our night's rest was abruptly disturbed by a very noisy neighbor in the room just above us by playing music loud and slamming doors at 4am. This is something you have to take into account sleeping in a old building with a wooden floor like the Chamberlain.

    Great location, cozy room with top notch facilities, good breakfast and a friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it was great

    Spacious and very comfortable. Nice touches like Nespresso machine in room, bottle of milk, free beer and still and sparkling water. Free phone for use around London too - great so you didn’t use own data.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with fab facilities. The added extras made it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn’t like

    Lovely surroundings. Excellent room with brilliant extras. Complimentary water and beer in the fridge. Free phone use. Really good WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    9.6
    The location was great - 5 mins from tower bridge .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower head in my room was falling out of the wall. It worked perfectly but made the place look a bit tatty

    The location was great - 5 mins from tower bridge .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    Worth the money and staying means you get a discount in the adequate restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building site opposite was noisy but there's bound to be some in central London.

    The staff were friendly. The room much larger than expected and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, lovely room with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel, lovely room with excellent facilities. Loved the fresh milk in the fridge and the Nespresso machine in the room. The location is excellent for the Tower of London area and the best tube station is Tower Hill. There’s a pub attached which had a nice atmosphere, although we only used it once.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Love the Chamberlain (except breakfast)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not really working (just the first day); if you are super into breakfast like me, I'd rather skip the hotel one and eat outside (as the hotel one is quite expensive and limited)

    What a beautiful hotel located super close to the business district on the one side and a much more vibrant area on the other side (East London); you'll find great restaurants/cafes around the hotel as well as an underground station just 5mins walk away. The team at the reception is super friendly and helpful. I got the luxury double which was super spacious and comfortable. I had all necessary amenitites and a good sleep :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable room with free use of telephone, all free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No great views from the hotel but only 5 minute walk to the Tower of London.

    very comfortable room with free use of telephone, all free items in the mini bar including fresh milk for tea or the coffee machine. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of both hot and cold food. Very close to two stations, Aldgate and Tower Hill.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.6
    Expensive charge for dated decor, and poor hygiene.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in the room. Dated decor. Light from hallway clearly visible in room, around door (kept me awake). Hair dryer broke whilst I was using it. Price didn't reflect value.

    Staff were friendly. Free beer in fridge was a nice touch. Comfortable bed. Room service speedy. Food good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    excellent stay in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pity the restaurant was closed for a private party.

    Nice rooms, with bathrobes and slippers, good shower, and especially the free phone we could use during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.9
    Location, five minutes walk from the Tube.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public areas could do with some upkeep. Threadbare carpet on stairs. Cracked tile in barhroom floor. Noisy building site right next door.

    Location, five minutes walk from the Tube. Comfortable stay, friendly staff. Good value cooked breakfast. Two free beers and free bottled water. In-room coffee machine.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay but lake off sleep due noise from a pub on the main entrance of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from out side do to poor double glazing on the fourth floor flaking ceiling in the bathroom a dirty and warped bathroom door caused by water damaged.

    Cleanliness and free extras

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and relaxing location for a weekend away from the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit on the small side given the price.

    I chose the hotel because it had an old-fashioned pub downstairs and it didn't disappoint! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfy, the Handy (complimentary mobile phone) very handy and I just loved getting the complimentary newspaper every morning. Will come stay again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Another great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Returned to The Chamberlain for the 5th time and thoroughly recommend,staying over 2 nights allowing us to visit Shoreditch,St Katherines Dock and South Bank.Also ideal to jump on the Clipper and travel from Greenwich to London eye and jumping off anywhere inbetween.No doubt will be going back for the 6th time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.1
    Well appointed room (deluxe king) was so much nicer than the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. But...my advice would be to avoid the luxury double and go for the king size room

    Well appointed room (deluxe king) was so much nicer than the tired looking luxury double room I stayed in previously. Really nice staff in the bar too. Would stay again. Quite a homely feel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was all fab

    All the staff we came in contact with we so helpful and friendly. The room was fantastic - bed so comfy inc of duvet, room size great, fab to have a bath and shower Snack food was so good we had our dinner which was also excellent and great value. Breakfast - so good to have toast done for you rather than those stupid toasting machine guests have to hoover over Hotel in general was very clean and hygienic. This hotel is a credit to the company we will be back

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    5.0
    The rooms were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in restaurant was horrible. No selection at all .What we ended up with was tea and toast on second day. After the dreadful first day

    The rooms were comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very good location and just what I needed before The Times crossword championships!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great if there were a small residents' lounge; the lobby area is pretty large and maybe a portion of that could be used? The sausages weren't very nice!

    Excellent bar with decent beer. Very helpful and courteous staff. Lovely en-suite.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with great food - convenient for City and I will use again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a little intermittent but not a major issue.

    The food was excellent, I had a steak sandwich for lunch and the braised blade of beef for dinner, compliments to the chef! The check in procedure was easy and well explained. Room was comfortable and free beer in the mini bar! :) I will be back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Loved this place! Great location. Very helpful staff. Decent sized room for Central London. Comfortable bed. Clean and good quality linens and towels. The complimentary smart phone was the winner. The complimentary beer was great too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    The bathroom was amazing and the beds super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a bit far, but as the price was right we knew that might be a problem.

    The bathroom was amazing and the beds super comfy. We also loved spending time in the pub and the bar staff was great!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Great stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was great, clean and big. We had a minibar with water and beers. The underground is very close to the hotel so you can go everywhere really quick. The staff was helpful and the beds were very comfortable. Definitely would go here again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    The amount of extras you get here are amazing every detail...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything

    The amount of extras you get here are amazing every detail covered. Even your mini bar is free. Awesome staff. Quite large bedroom plus a awesome cooked breakfast five star

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows are a bit old and thin, and it was difficult to get the room temperature sufficiently up for a comfortable evening in the room (no problem to sleep though with the warm bedding). Also the electric heater in the bathroom did not work (apparently for safety reasons) which made the room a bit chilly and caused foggy air during and after a shower.

    Very spatious room. Loved the free water and beer in the fridge, as well as the cookie. They also provide a free mobile to carry on while discovering London, including access to wifi and 4G - didn't use it but the offer counts. The atmosphere of a typical older style British pub with lots of wood combines well with the taste of the room decoration. Nice bathroom with almost immediate supply of hot water.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    Good not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Linen - 1 or 2 steps up in quality (and therefore comfort) would have made a huge difference.

    Most aspects very good. Nice touches like phone and a beer on the house.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    We will be back again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    behind th ehotel there is a work going on and they start early morning so it's not easy to sleep after 7 AM.

    Friendly stuff, hotel has a very good situation close to the Tower of London and metro , the most interesting was finding the smartphone , free of charge , to be used while in London . Calls, maps, internet all FREE OF CHARGE . Great idea of the hotel management . Bravo !!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    I was travelling with my daughter and she loved the homely cosy feel to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about!

    the staff were lovely and friendly, rooms a little bit small, but it is central london, cosy atmosphere, free minibar, nespresso machine, fantastic location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    The location was excellent, very close to 2 underground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was very busy, on the first night of our stay they were unable to accommodate us at all and on the next night there was very limited choice on the menu- just 2 main meals to choose from. The waiter also forgot to order our starter. The staff were very apologetic and discounted our bill but it was the only downside of our stay.

    The location was excellent, very close to 2 underground stops and just a short walk to Tower of London. The room was excellent, beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom equally clean and the waterfall shower was amazing! The smartphone, coffee maker, fridge with fresh milk and beer was all unexpected but a great addition to our stay. All the staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    Really pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room with a view although i get it may have been impossible all in all the place was just fine

    The free mini bar was good and the food option in the hotel was good too, the area was ok and close to the Tower and the tube. The mobile was good too but wasn't sure about taking it out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    No problems with the room at all - throughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricey for a long stay in London - but it’s London and so is everything - checked in on a Friday no problems with reception but a busy evening in the restaurant and bar area with staff really stretched - at the prices charged it needed to be managed better by the client support manager laying on a bigger team - Knowing there were Remembrance events on at the Tower and at Whitehall 11/11/18.

    No problems with the room at all - throughly recommend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a bit small, but overall I liked everything.

    Great location, very close to the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Very quiet at night. Great WiFi. Nice staff. Great pub on the first floor. Shower was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Personal touch at an excellent location with a number of very positive surprises!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin beds felt a little „wobbly“, as the beds had rollers and were moving about; not enough electric sockets close to the bed/s While breakfast had its personal touch, quality of food (fruit, cooked dishes), no natural joghurt, etc not really impressive

    While part of a chain (Fullers brewery and hospitality), small-ish and personal, very close to next Tube Stn (Tower Hill), the Tower and Bridge; also convenient for the East side of City (The Gurkin) and to Canary Wharf (DLR Tower Gateway) Minibar, coffee making facilities (Nespresso machine) free! Also complimentary morning paper! Room spacious and bath/shower with excellent pressure!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    Beer in the fridge complementary, great breakfast, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of walk to big ben but doable. Carpet in the room is old. Pricy but fairly priced for london standard.

    Beer in the fridge complementary, great breakfast, great staff, clean and spacious washroom!! Comfortable bed! And location close to london tower. Will definitely recommend this place!! I had to print my boarding pass and the receptionist helped me without hesitation!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    All round excellent from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a building site next door so noisy during working hours.

    All round excellent from the moment we arrived. Really friendly and helpful staff and great facilities made it great value for money. We will definitely use it again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    Room was good, bathroom also.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast. A very small choice of food if you don’t like the English Breakfast. The price is very high for this kind of Hotel, but it’s London.

    Room was good, bathroom also. Location 5 minutes walk from the Underground and 4 minutes Railway station to City Airport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable room, well equipped. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast are rich, but served only in British Style. You need to be a fan of british cusine :). Located near the subway and The Tower Bridge. Good location for visiting Central London

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    We were upgraded to a better room, the bed was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the room we were in, although it was beautiful and comfy, all you good hear was the cistern repeatedly draining into the toilet like it had just been flushed. It did this for the entire stay from the moment we entered the room.

    We were upgraded to a better room, the bed was extremely comfy and we even had a little coffee machine which was a nice touch! Everything was clean. We had a fab time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly Staff & Big Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms should be better isolated. My room was very cold at night.

    Friendly staff and great big rooms that include an iPhone to use during your stay in London.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    Chose the Chamberlain for a recent trip to the Tower of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose the Chamberlain for a recent trip to the Tower of London. Great location, really friendly staff - free beer in the room! And a very comfortable night's sleep and great shower. Very good cooked breakfast in the morning. All in all this was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    The hotel has an excellent location, just couple of minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to mention

    The hotel has an excellent location, just couple of minutes far from Aldgate station. The room was clear, very well equipped, comfy bed. Breakfast is extremely delicious. We were very satisfied with the hotel, and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly damp odour in the bathroom but didn’t impact on our stay at all

    Spacious room Comfortable bed and pillow selection Great location within easy walking distance of several tube stops

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    5.0
    I would rate it at 4* good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wouldn't recommend it for people coming from the GCC countries. I came from Dubai, and the standard here is very high - so i was disappointed. The room view was a disturbing construction site.

    It is close to London Bridge - so if that is your target it is within walking distance. But if your target is Hyde park, Oxford street and Nights bridge, you would need a Taxi - cost around 20 Pounds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk away is the DLR line and both Tower Hill and Aldgate underground stations. Breakfast was lovely with a buffet of cereals, fruit etc and also freshly cooked breakfasts too. The extras in the room were also a great touch with access to the mini bar, a phone for use in the city, coffee machines with fresh milk and also the robe and slippers. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing significant.

    Good location; good value; and good breakfasts. It is walking distance to the Tower of London and to the tube for other attractions. The room was of adequate size for the two of us and coffee, biscuits, and beer provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t much to dislike really without nitpicking

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and a good size. The breakfast was of a good standard with good service. Free beer provided in the room fridge. Tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is situated near to several amenities such as the Tower of London,London bridge and the Thames. The hotel is handily places for public transport.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Nice decor throughout, nicely modern in the bedrooms, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to find wrong here

    Nice decor throughout, nicely modern in the bedrooms, well preserved old London elsewhere Great location for Tower Bridge, Tower of London and open top bus tours Staff very well trained, friendly and helpful Good beer in the bar, good food too Complimentary mini bar!!! That never happens

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Chamberlain Hotel is comfy, quiet, welcoming, well- located near Tower Bridge/Tube.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well... breakfast was a little spendy for what we got, and was 'ok,' not as good as it could have been... staff seemed a little disorganized, a little 'off' ... and the hot 'ordered' items were just ok. . . but, made mornings easy to get out and about by having breakfast at the hotel.

    Great location near Tower Bridge; helpful, hospitable, delightful staff; super comfy bed & quiet room; great shower! And hair dryer... YAY! Classy decor in common areas & rooms; easy access to Tube; and again, reception staff are just the best! Great stay in spendy London. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.1
    We were told that although we would not be able to check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were told that although we would not be able to check in early a room would be provided so we could change for a wedding. We were offered the toilets but eventually chose the corridor. Not ideal. A shame really as the rest of the stay was fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel and pub close (5min) to the Tower, little bit tiny but very cute rooms, good beds, coffee, tea and water in the rooms. Very friendly stuff, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, family feel to stay, home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing not to like.

    Breakfast was fabulous. All staff really attentive, even in busy periods, and obliging to requests. Great location. Good amenities, lots of complimentary items.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Chamberlain Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: