1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Devon hotel reviews
  4. Highbray hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Chancery House

Reviews of Chancery House

Molland Cross, Highbray, EX36 3EU, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Highbray

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 277 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2022

    9.0
    Brilliant stay friendly owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coukd do with darker curtains to keep sunlight out in the morning

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the distance to travel should you require an evening meal

    Brilliant Location ,quiet,ideal great rural views.very welcoming,views across the countryside. Homely atmosphere. Easy to relax after a long day travelling.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2022

    10
    Lovely host, comfortable room, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No faults with the accomodation at all. Taxis were very expensive, but if driving, this wouldn't have been a problem, and obviously wasn't the host's fault!

    The host was lovely, as was the room, and the whole experience was complemented by an excellent full English breakfast. Very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2022

    10
    Enjoyable. Comfortable. Felt welcome and at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alan a very good host. Facilities good. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size, asked what time like breakfast, cooked to order, frount door key& room key.list of nr by restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2022

    10
    Tranquil and Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that I can think of anything...

    Alan was most welcoming and did a lovely breakfast, the location is so peaceful only the sheep nearby could be heard. This place is well worth a stay if you like peace and quiet plus unspoiled views of the moors.....many thanks to Alan once again.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2022

    10
    Alan is a great host and Chancery House is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fabulous B and B in a great location for walking the northern loop of the Tarka Trail. Excellent breakfast provided by Alan.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2022

    10
    Very enjoyable stay. Alan could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Many thanks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming host, who cooks a sensational Full English breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2022

    8.0
    Pleasant, restful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was painted white with no pictures etc on the walls which would make it more homely. We found the bed and pillows to be a bit too soft for comfort

    Breakfast was generous and well cooked. The room was clean. The location is very peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2022

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bathroom could have had frosted glass

    The room was light and airy with fabulous views.the host was friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2022

    10
    Great stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All ok for me.

    Have stayed here before and Breakfast was spot on, nothing too much trouble for Alan. Well done

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean and loved location

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2022

    10
    Beautiful location and exemplary host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely property and Alan is an exceptional host. He does all the work himself, so fair play to him. Beautiful location and could not have had a nicer stay. Would recommend this property - 9 out of 10.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2022

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast Ideal location Welcoming hosts

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely breakfast, comfortable room clean and a beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2022

    9.0
    No frills or fancies but luxury basic! Perfect for the price and lovely friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A choice of bread may be more suited to others but what I got was perfect for me. A pot of tea would have been nice but for the price the nice mug full was just right.

    Breakfast was just as I asked for and cooked just right - I like my bacon just the way it was done! I like the granary bread but had hubby been with me he'd have preferred white and no choice was offered. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower nice and big. The room was bigger than I would have expected for the price. The hairdryer was found easily and worked well. Four in a Bed scoring applies! (Host Alan will understand this remark!)

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2022

    10
    Always feel welcome and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather and no one can control that

    Good food tailored to our requirements at a time we requested

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good place to stay Very comfortable and super clean room. Breakfast very generous and tasty Superb host Highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2021

    10
    A lovely B&B for families and individuals, which I thoroughly recomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a good size, lovely and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was lovely. Alan was a great host and nothing was too much trouble. I have stayed here twice now, with adult children and with grandchildren. It is a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2021

    10
    A great B&B to stay at whether you are a family or as an individual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a good size, clean with coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast was lovely. Alan was a great host and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend the B&B to others. I have stayed here twice now.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2021

    10
    Great place to stay. So peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming and accommodating as usual

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2021

    9.0
    Great for an overnight stop or a holiday
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast, lovely room. Couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked that it was in a remote location yet wasn’t too far to drive out for food/drinks for the evening. So welcoming, lovely stay

    Stayed in September 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: