Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charlotte House

Union Road, Lincoln, LN1 3BJ, United Kingdom

#9 of 19 hotels in Lincoln

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 977 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed in room 12 was very uncomfortable, we struggled to sleep. Also the water did not drain away very well.

    The room sizes were brilliant, having a little room with settees in off 2 of the rooms was great. The reception staff were very helpful giving us 2 out of 4 rooms earlier than check in time so 11 adults and 2 young children could get ready for our sons wedding, so accommodating, especially as some of those people were not actually staying overnight - Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Great location Fabulous people, nothing was ever too much, Emily and Yasmin are beautiful people Great rooms And the best Indian restaurant across the road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the Reception Staff . The lady who checked us in on the 16 th June , who’s name we don’t know, was just wonderful. So friendly and helpful. Also, the location of the hotel just across the road from the Castle, was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room we were given had an issue with the split padding in the headboard, but we asked to be moved to an alternative room and were, with no fuss.

    Excellent location - within easy reach of Lincoln Cathedral & Castle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for the parking, but it won't put me off using it again.

    The receptionist/bar person was excellent. Very friendly and took time to chat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    Size of the en-suite and the room, quality of all the facilities. The instant boiling water for tea and coffee. The staff were friendly and obliging. We would recommend without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel outside of city centre. Is very close to Castle and Cathedral which was fine for our party but would not be convenient for anyone with mobility problems as very steep climb back from shops and amenities. Comfortable hotel due to having small number of rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast well worth the money with good choice and generous portions. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst very clean and well appointed, the room is beginning to look a bit tired

    Really nice building and location i.e. very close to the cathedral. The room was well-stocked. Everything was very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it didn't bother me personally, the hotel has no lift which to an elderly or disabled guest it would be a problem. Parking wasn't free, but that wasn't a massive problem.

    Clean, good breakfast, good location, polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff 1st class and very helpful , I was a little under the weather when I stayed , and they helped me to be comfortable in my room including breakfast in bed 👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant area could be utilised so much more... hot bank holiday weekend, every venue close was packed and the bar here was empty. Maybe because only one member of staff between reception and the bar so not very inviting.

    The suite was very large and great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an excellent suite on the first floor. Extremely comfortable bed, acres of space, nice bathroom. The breakfast was included and was very good. Watch out for the car park - it's council run and charges apply 24/7. Receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful, as were the staff. Really nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 1 and I know was warm that night but room very hot. Only had one window in second bedroom. Could have done with doorstop in that room too and we could have had window open in hall with a breeze going through. Tea making in second room would be nice too. There was no milk jug or sugar available on table. Had pots of tea so had to put milk in a glass and sugar cubes on a plate. Minor niggle but would have been more accommodating.

    The location was spot on for visiting castle and cathedral. Good pub just across the road, the Victoria. Bed was very comfy. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was very good. Staff all helpful and friendly. Area was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The steep hill is a killer for people with bad knees.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Our deluxe suite was very elegant. We had a great view of the Castle, Cathedral and the town. It was only one minute away from the castle and in an excellent location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was just ok. Bacon was dry as was the black pudding. Ordered brown bread toast and got white instead.Tea pot was stupid with virtually no spout with the result that much of the tea poured down the front of the teapot and onto the tablecloth.

    Excellent location once you find the hotel which can be a little difficult due to no obvioys signage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive for a longer stay.

    Location, being without our children for the night. Pleasant surroundings close to activities, shops, bars and nightlife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a suite of rooms however this was over the kitchen so noisy extractor fan through the night. The bed was very high and not easy to get on and off.

    Excellent breakfast probably the best we have had for a long time. Excellent location for sightseeing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £12 each the breakfast was very poor juice toast and a fry up ! And the parking although close was not as described on a first come basis there was none available through the hotel all chargeable.

    The room was spacious and elegant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise when I booked that breakfast not included - just assumed it would be.

    great location - central to city but very quiet. Bed comfortable and room clean,friendly and welcoming reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was breakfast was an extra £12 each so we went elsewhere

    Friendly staff, spacious room and large bathroom. Very clean. Location was excellent, just over the road from the castle which you can walk through to get to Cathedral quarter, and I would very much recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing on this trip that we would have changed!

    Lovely room, friendly , helpful staff and outstanding location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You used to be able to park in a private area in front of the hotel. Now the authorities have stopped this to make extra money from pay and display next door. Disgrace.

    Often use this when visiting the office in Lincoln and it never fails to deliver just what I need

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired décor.

    The location of this hotel is perfect and just a very short walk to the Cathedral Quarter. In fact one of the castle's entrances, is just yards away from the hotel grounds. Perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for parking in the Council car park next to the hotel. Would be good if the hotel had a discount or free parking.

    The room was much bigger than expected and had a separate lounge area, so loads of room, The hotel is individual in style, not the usual standard business model, with lovely period furniture and really comfy bed. The cooked breakfast was top quality, I can't think of anywhere where I have had better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside nest of tables in Room 2 was unstable, sticky and dusty - needed cleaning. Everything else in the room was fine.

    Breakfast very good, with polite and efficient service. Very comfortable bed. Perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information on booking.com says parking available when actually it’s a council car park and guests will need to pay for the parking themselves. Felt like being misled when learned about that. But the room made up for it at the end.

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds, very clean bathroom, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good for me.

    Location for the old city. Lovely people. Just what we required for a two night city break. The Castle View Indian Restaurant opposite served a tasty inexpensive evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom... clean but smelly! Run down, tatty

    Needs money spent on the hotel... bedroombafky needs a makeover... eryvrundywn, very tatty but comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a couple of problems with the state of repair of the toilet and shower in the bathroom.

    Very friendly and polite staff. Great location, ample parking and pleasant rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated, shower broken, generally tired and needed updating, paying using a parking ticket was a hassle unless you carry lots of change.

    Friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should have been cleaner (dirty mirrors in the hall, general grime). Parking is at extra cost - even over night - and not obvious enough on booking.com website (nor their own website) as I checked ahead and couldn't see so assumed it was included.

    Rooms were comfortable, location great for the castle/cathedral, breakfast was very good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the amazing bathroom, which I guess was a newer addition, our suite was shabby. The space and rooms were fantastic but there was peeling wallpaper, cracked paintwork with chunks missing on the doors, the bed was very creaky and the mattress had seen better days. We felt that although it is a listed building these things would not be difficult to fix.

    You can’t fault the location of the hotel, it is directly opposite the castle and within 5-10 minutes walk of numerous excellent bars and restaurants. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming, from emailing us a list of suggested places to eat, to a fuss free check in and check out procedure. In the bedroom (we were staying in a suite) the 4 poster bed was stunning, and bathroom was incredible- huge, modern, clean and with a 2 person sized bath! The public car park at the back is quiet and extremely reasonable, price wise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and bedding had seen better days. Have stayed before and it feels tired now.

    Located near cathedral quarter is excellent access to castle. Shops and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot, not boiling water for tea at breakfast

    Comfortable spacious room, very good breakfast, very attentive staff, close to castle and cathedral quarter

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were dirty. Perhaps people don’t normally open the blinds? The lights were on when we entered the room which means electricity was being wasted. A slight smell of air freshener which we loathe. We were kept awake by the music but it stopped at 11.00.

    Bed comfy, staff friendly. Not too modern and keg. Very spacious. Lovely views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a bit slow one of the days but is cooked to order and was excellent. There is no dedicated parking for hotel guests. There is public car park next to the hotel but this has to be paid for separately. We had no problems getting a space but I think at weekends in the summer this might be more of an issue depending what time you arrive.

    We had a suite which gave us a bit more space. The bedroom itself wasn't huge but the separate small sitting room and also a storage/dressing room meant that that didn't matter. The hotel is well situated - close to the castle and cathedral. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in Lincoln during the crazy snow and my room was really warm and cosy. I didn't feel any of the cold. The room was clean and had lovely furniture. The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing.Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet bed and breakfast feel to the hotel at the time of our visit, with little atmosphere or bustle. I would expect that it is more vibrant when events such as weddings are taking place.

    Excellent location in the old city, and a sympathetic conversion from a former Nurses Home. The room was warm and well appointed, with a large and effective en-suite bathroom. parking adjacent to the hotel was reasonably priced, with an excellent local cafe only meters away. Probably an excellent venue for events, with a stunning modern indoor space. The location and standard of comfort made our stay very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find due to very small sign not easy to spot from the left approach on the road. TV didn't work

    Brilliant water pressure in shower and bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room dismal and tired, frosted windows, no chairs at all ( not even at dressing table ) Asked to be moved. Told only one room available (but not many tables laid for breakfast next day....) and second room basic, rattling windows, no water, no mattress covers, no pillow covers, cheap biscuits, no luxuries in room, horrid wall covering, cheap duvet, uncomfortable bed, awful pillows. Breakfast took 50 mins to arrive and told everything cooked from fresh so delay inevitable which is why they provide a table with cereal and fruit on (!) but bacon and black pudding looked like they’d been kept warm for ages.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of redecorating particularly our room 9 cracked doors and frames and a lot of dirty paintwork

    Good location and friendly staff and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the entrance because Charlotte House is not marked anywhere. The entrance is on the Lawn estate opposite the Stokes coffee shop.

    Quiet solid Victorian building right near the Cathedral and Castle. Good size room with old style and effective heating and the ability to open the window for ventilation. Bed very comfortable and Shower room modern and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice traditional building with lots of character. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located very close to the castle and the cathedral and it is a nice walk into the center of town through the traditional old streets. (Taxi back as the hill is steep!) The breakfast was nice. Altogether a nice change from the kinds of chain hotels that you usually find. The staff were extremely helpful and personable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs better signage. Really hard to find in the dark !

    Lovely building, great suite, amazing location. Booked a room. As it was quiet we were upgraded to a suite 👍 Fab curry house restaurant opposite It is right by the old walls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a large rip, several inches across, in the padded headboard of the bed. The headboard and the carpet were stained. The hot water dispenser which replaced the kettle, didn't seem to get the water to boiling point. The toilet seat was too small for the bowl, and not on straight.

    Comfy pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the sink was blocked and was leaking.

    The room was fabulous and very good value for money. Considering the previous night we had paid more and stayed in a room half the size, we were so very happy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We simply couldn't find it at first! The sign was so small in comparison to the building ( especially when you are driving in a strange town) and the other signs to the cafe etc were more prominent; so we wasted time and effort driving up and down the hills of the one way system in Lincoln until we parked opposite and searched around the back of the car park where we saw the entrance. We were informed we had a superior room....it was fine, but only what I would call a standard room, although it had a little 'sitting room' on the side.This lovely building deserves prettier interior decoration, especially the dining room....a bit 'brown'.

    friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty tea cups in room, and door handles in room detracted from character of the place which is a shame.

    Staff were very attentive. Lovely big walk in shower. comfy new bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables at breakfast were very close together. Decor needs a freshen up.

    The position was great and it was quiet, bathroom was a good size. Furniture in bedroom was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking arrangements. They don’t have their own car park, you leave your vehicle in the council pay and display next to the building. Costs £8.

    Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but the croissants and the welcoming receptionist.

    The croissants were delicious. The hotel decoration and lighting was gastly.. The cleanliness was very poor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair it was all good, the only thing someone may find a negative is there is no evening meal option, however great restaurants are only 5 minutes away! We didn’t require a meal as we had booked to eat before going to the hotel. The rest was spot on!

    No fuss or hassle, the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a large extractor/ventilation unit on our side of the building which was very loud and kept going off throughout the night.

    Really large and beautiful room, staff were attentive and the building itself is beautiful and in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong information provided regarding on site parking. Dirty clothes left in drawers which were not removed before room was provided to us.

    Lady on reception and girl who served breakfast were very nice, friendly and helpful. Location of hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. Twists and turns of corridors and multiple fire doors. Poor disabled access. Limited space for free parking. Seemed dead in evening. No people about. No bar or restaurant open.

    Upgraded FOC to deluxe suite. Good quality rooms and fittings. Attentive and helpful reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable lounge Only room for one chair in bedroom General furnishings looked tired and somewhat worn

    The friendliness of the reception and willingness to alter our booking The hotel is well away from any possibly noisy area The interest of it having been part of the hospital

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room this time was the carpark but it didn’t matter as the hotel is so close to the castle etc.

    Me and my girlfriend face stayed twice before and we’ll be back again soon. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. We love the tranquility of Charlotte House, and sense of the builfing’s history. There’s a new cafe opposite the hotel which we tried for lunch and is excellent. We adore the pub nearby which has a fire, lots of ales and appears caughtnin a beautiful time warp.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty tired decorations and maintenance although perfectly comfortable and clean. Was once a mental hospital - a bit quirky

    Very close to the central castle area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation is right at the top of the hill in Lincoln next to the castle and after visiting the heart of the city the walk back up is very tuff, so would recommended a taxi back if people have difficulty with walking.

    Views and location of the city. Excellent accommodation with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and in a nice location. We got a complimentary upgrade to the bridal suite which I have to say was huge and stunning. Breakfast was also fabulous. Would definitely stay there again. Thankyou

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in public rooms, probably due to dates and very few rooms occupied. We were kindly offered a choice of rooms for same reasons, breakfast was adequate but not the best service ! Coffee still awful,W

    Bed superb, very clean good linen and towels. Coffee and tea awful no kettle but hot water machine ,,,,, enough said on that!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called us after we left and accused us of taking the room key, we left it with them when we checked out, they just couldn't be bothered to check with another moments of staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The four poster bed was lovely and comfortable but was let down by the poor pillows. Overall the hotel had a bit of an uncared for appearance.

    The receptionist was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beyond our expectations as we had a suite, room no 9, with super views off castle walls and cathedral. It was very comfortable & clean, with a wonderful bathroom. The breakfast was also very plentiful & tasty. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly & helpful. Will definitely go back and recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have like thicker curtains.

    Soya milk and dairy-free spread at breakfast - vegan friendly! Fresh fruit and decent uncut crusty bread properly toasted at breakfast - the chef obviously knows what he/she is doing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains rather than Venetian blinds to block out the fairground lights. A warning about possible disturbance sleep deprivation.

    Central location. Reception staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly but rather busy and there was a noisy water pipe in my room, but these are small issues with an otherwise brilliant stay.

    Great location, beautiful building and my room was lovely with a newly refurbished bathroom and a separate sitting room. Excellent value for money. Lincoln is beautiful and has loads of good mid-priced restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely and super helpful staff. Hotel nice and quiet. I stayed in the week. It's a 'wedding' venue, so suspect it may be a bit more noisy at weekends:) Room was decent size with a very comfy bed. And very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking, had to park in council car park which was medium price. But the staff were helpful finding the place and checking us in. Breakfast service felt understaffed but still very good.

    Very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. Comfortable bed too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Headboard damaged, no soap in bathroom, English breakfast wasn't great with some parts cold & toast never arrived. I assume that staff were busy getting ready for the Christmas Market food stall attached to the hotel.

    Room has great potential and work undertaken gave the look of a boutique hotel and its location in the middle of Lincoln was superb for the Christmas market but could be fantastic with a bit more updating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is difficult, hotel try to keep spaces, but traders seem to nick them. We did get parked, but either blocking someone or being blocked. Stewards are helpful as can be, but it's a bit tight, not hotel's fault though

    Staff were fabulous, helpful and very friendly. Location for Xmas market is outstanding, you walk out the front door, and you are in it. This was our 2nd year, we enjoyed so much last year we came back to same hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told the chef was too busy catering for the Christmas Market customers to order breakfast items for their paying guests! At £260 a night this isn’t acceptable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the car parks were closed off because of the Christmas market so it is a problem parking at this time but not the hotels fault

    We booked a double room which was quite expensive because the Christmas market was on but were given one of the suites which was massive & gad a lovely big bath & four poster bed. The weather was very cold but the heating was fantastic. We were right in the middle of the market too so it was excellent for that. The staff were lovely and we would recommend this hotel to everyone

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar shut at 945pm and no bottled water to purchase , I was offered a glass of water. Hotel did not take American express

    The hotel was nice but not sure if it was due to the xmas market being set up , the front door was not sign posted well and had to call to ask where it was and the receptionist man came out to show us. Parking was ok outside the hotel. We found it odd that the hotel bar was only open till 945 and could not buy bottled water. The first morning of breakfast the chef had not arrived so we just had toast, it was ok as things happen. My colleague also had a pair of underpants left in her room behind the dressing room door so the cleaners had not done a good job but once reported the receptionist man came to collect them before he left for the evening. My room was nice and clean , however the room was not very warm in the mornings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. We had remove our car before 11am yesterday due to the Christmas market. Which resulted in us losing a day of our break. It should be made clearer on the website that there is no parking during this week.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: