Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Charlotte House Hotel

78 London Road, Peterborough, PE2 9BP, United Kingdom

#7 of 10 B&Bs and inns in Peterborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was up to expectation. You get what you pay for and this hotel met my budget. The grounds could have been cared for.

    Friendly welcome. Breakfast excellent. Location easy to find. Parking good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    The location was good, the breakfast was excellent, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom. Had stairs going into it which took from the size, unfortunately due to hot weather the room was very hot even with the window wide open.

    The location was good, the breakfast was excellent, and proprietor friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit hot in summer (when I visited). It would have been nice to have a choice of bed linen beyond a heavy duvet, given the heat.

    Very straightforward and friendly experience checking in and out. The room was large and comfortable, and the facilities were decent. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.1
    Last minute comfortable business stop.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms May not be to evrryone’s taste but I liked it. No real negatives.

    Basic but very welcoming, clean hotel. Free parking available. Landlady very friendly and a good breakfast. Hotel is near enough to the center to walk-in in 10 mins. Would stay again, very reasonable price and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Great BnB for Peterborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A traditional bed and breakfast. Really comfortable room and all the needed facilities to hand. The breakfast room was delightful with good food. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heard an incredibly loud snorer from the next bedroom!

    Great location for walk into city centre. Plenty of parking. Lovely clean room. Piping hot tasty breakfast. Good host.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite small, and steps from the landing down in to the room meant you had to take care.

    Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. A hanging rail for jackets etc. Parking at rear of property away from the main road. Just round the corner is a lovely proper pub - no slot machines or loud music. Friendly locals who made us feel really welcome and good local beer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Value for money; highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady of the house is extremely accommodating and she made us feel very welcome. Our stay was short and sweet and we will definitely return. It's clean, tidy and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.4
    Close to the town centre but needs a light refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom light cord was disgustingly filthy and should be replaced. A shower door and tiled or vinyl floor in the ensuite would be much better than the current shower curtain and carpet.

    Best thing was the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    The staff made it worthwhile to stay there. Suggestion made to repaint or clean the mould
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mould on walls of the bathroom , the mattress needs changing springs had gone

    Staff very friendly , accomadating went out of the way to get honey for breakfast the next morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    The room was very clean and well presented.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little small. I was traveling alone so managed just fine but I imagine for a couple it would be small.

    The room was very clean and well presented. The host was very welcoming and helpful. A full cooked English Breakfast is a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly owner, always makes me feel welcome. The guest house is nice, fantastic value!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast is always quickly and served exactly the way I like it. Rooms are nice and fresh Owner is friendly Owner is very organised with my receipt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Didn't have breakfast but the owner gave me the keycode...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have breakfast but the owner gave me the keycode to get in, only literally slept there but was happy. Was staying at a hotel for £60 then they cancelled and found this B&B for £45 so very happy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    All I needed and no more. Superb price and most excellent breakfast.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thin walls. I had a high decibel snorer on one side and a cougher on the other, just my luck.

    All good, all I required and no silly, expensive frills. Spotlessly clean and a good bed and an excellent shower. The room comes with a Full English breakfast available from 7 a.m. in the restaurant, that was really good, a great way to kick off a busy day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little old and creaky. I was only staying for one night so I didn't mind too much but if you were staying for longer then this could be deemed uncomfortable

    The lady looking after this venue was very nice and cooked a lovely breakast. I had no issues at this guest house/ hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Super duper
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi did not work at all anywhere. But I have a massive data on my phone so, no big deal really.

    Very clean; comfy bed and pillows too; nice breakfast; great staff; good amount of private parking and safe street parking too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay for those who like a smaller hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath Towel on floor acting as a mat. I recommend some small washable bath mats. Far more professional and easy to wash.

    Excellent Breakfast Full English and Cereals. Bus stop right outside to city centre takes 10 minutes and only £3.00 return. Ten minute walk to the River Nene and Riverside Walks and Parks. Ten minute walk to Nene Valley Steam Railway into Nene Valley. Ten minute walk to Peterborough City Centre shops, Guildhall Square and Cathedral Gardens, Restaurants and Bars. Excellent Home made Pizza Take Away five minutes away. The Railway Station is five ten minutes by bus, 15 minutes to walk or £5.00 by Taxi. Peterborough Football Stadium is five minutes away. Excellent place to stay with really good personal service. Charlotte House Hotel has a lot to offer just out of main city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    5.0
    Don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Utterly unclear about breakfast. Stated breakfast "was at 9am"...but apparently being down for breakfast at 09:11 was too late. No breakfast for me or another guest...

    Very little

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Overall I was happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mirror inside the room was not big enough to see properly.after dressing up,I had to go out to the corridor to look properly, but I am not giving this as a negative feedback.

    Very good atmosphere, friendly staff, good location. I may go back there if I am in need

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic breakfast - below average room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelt really strongly of cigarettes - unacceptable. Mattress must have been about 15 yrs old! - completely knackered - you can get good ones delivered from Ikea for less than £200 - no excuse. Had to take the bulb out of the bathroom vanity light because the switch was broken and it wouldn't switch off! Wifi was pathetic. Slow and kept dropping out.

    Good old fashioned full English cooked to a high standard included in the price - the way it used to be! Real orange juice. Real coffee. Absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    the whole stay was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole stay was acceptable. The room was pretty compact, with stairs down into it. These were quite steep and as a 78 year old I felt a little unsure. The room was spotless, and the breakfast was very good. The hostess was quiet but very pleasant. Overall it was value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Good experience overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drawback was the bed . Although the mattress was soft but the body was broken. I couldn't slept well.

    Check in was quite fast and easy. Room clean and breakfast was delicious. The lady was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.9
    Overnight stay busting Aunt
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the steps down into the room this could be dangerous and they quite steep bbathrrom needs uodating

    Lovely breakfast had a nice variety of cereals and yougarts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    6.3
    Not a bad place to say. Breakfast was ok but not much choice. You get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not happy when the person who managed the hotel wanted to pay them in cash. I had wanted to pay by credit card, but they explained I would not get their salary until next week if I paid by card. Emotional blackmail here.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    I always look forward to my leisure breaks in Peterborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems.

    Pleasant property situated within a ten minute walk of the centre of Peterborough. Good off road parking to rear of property. Land lady was very helpful, and provided an excellent full English breakfast each morning. I always try to stay there during various stays in Peterborough each year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    As above - we were only there one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It delivered what the advert said it would. We were satisfied especially as the cost was so reasonable.

    The staff (i.e. the lady of the house, we presume,) was friendly, welcoming and delivered a superb breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Budget accommodation. Very cold but was exceptionally cold outside. Owner did try to resolve the heating issue and did supply extra blankets and a secondary heater

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant. I would return here for a further stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an old chip (the fried variety) under the bedside drawers. That was a certainly a detracting element to the experience).

    The staff were very nice and helpful; the ensuite was decent; bed comfortable; television worked well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    4.6
    Not impressed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY noisy and I live on a main road. My room was at the front and there was no double glazing. Apparently the rooms at the back are quieter. Also the walls were paper thin and I could hear EVERYTHING from the next room. The mattress I think was filled with gravel or something similar. I was told there was a pub down the road to get some food at, when I got there it was boarded up! I tried to find another pub selling food, but there was nothing.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    5.4
    Average place to stay, but could be made cleaner. Place needs some caring.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi signal very poor in my room..nearly zero.. Noisy room as close to road & traffic. Bathroom dated, damp-ish and moulding in places. Bathroom door chipped.

    Breakfast good, welcoming hostess too.. Bed and TV good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.8
    Very good budget b&b. Have used more than once and will again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms and furnishings are fairly basic, though clean enough. Mattress was a little tired, though I slept like a log, so not complaining!

    Warm welcome, and excellent freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    6.7
    would stay again if the mattress was replaced and the en-suite updated to include heating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite was very cold and the shower cubicle was quite restrictive to use. There was no hairdryer and the mattress was quite uncomfortable - could feel the buttons ! There was a lot of condensation on the windows which was very off-putting.

    The breakfast was nicely done - toast wrapped in cloth to stay warm is a nice touch. Glad to have an en-suite, wifi and a nearby parking space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    4.6
    Needs refurbishment, better windows and doors so you hear less noise .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house needs refurbishment,the room was very tired looking,with mismatched furniture,also the house was very noisy and the windows were not double glazed so you could here the traffic noise all night long so we didn't sleep very well.very dated little un suite,very tiny,breakfast was ok,not very good for vegetarians,the yogurt was out of date.we were there only one night,wouldn't stay there more then one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    &Quot;Flexibility" Is The Key To Air Power And a Charlotte House Core Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    Kudos to the owner/manager for her flexibility! Usually an expert and thorough logistician (after all, it was my military career field for 20 years), I somehow screwed the pooch on this reservation, booking this hotel for the day after our scheduled arrival. I contacted the property that morning with my tail between my legs and, low and behold, they changed our reservation to that night without a cancellation (aka dumb ass) charge. We arrived late after visiting friends I had not seen in 20 years just 20 miles south in Huntingdon and left early the next morning, so we did not have time to enjoy the hotel. A two-story Victorian building on the outskirts of town and less than a mile from the impressive Peterborough Cathedral (burial place of Catherine of Aragon and former resting place of Mary Queen of Scots), the feel is eclectic and somewhat modern, but warm, inviting and slightly charming The room was a tad odd with three steps down into the room from the entry, but it was large with an en suite bathroom, TV with cable, kettle with coffee/tea/milk/sugar, a comfy full size bed, and decent Wi-Fi. We slept well. At £49.50 ($70.40), we kept the price under my preferred $75 limit and it included a delicious full English breakfast ... now that is a definitie TravelValue ... HOOAH! CombatCritic Gives Charlotte House Hotel 9 Bombs Out Of 10 ... More Bombs Are Better!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower pressure. It's a little tired but this is fine for the budget.

    Very good standard for the price. Very comfortable, clean, great breakfast! Host was extremely lovely and accommodating - i had to extend my stay and this was not a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was alright and I had a TV, plenty of coffee...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in room 2 single no wardrobe, pillows where as thin as toast, the bed very uncomfortable and my daughter with 5 children has cleaner mattresses than the one I had. Bathroom was alright but needs updating.

    The breakfast was alright and I had a TV, plenty of coffee and milk. Plenty of parking at the rear.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Despite the few glitches, comfortable and very good value for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite bathroom door in my room didn't close and creaked constantly when the window was open because of the draught. Helpfully a door wedge was provided to wedge it shut. The bathroom light didn't work which meant I couldn't see to use the shower first thing in the morning and I would have complained about this if I was staying more than one night. Friendly as she was I found the proprietor's slight struggle with English a bit disconcerting when I was trying to explain that my train for the return trip had been cancelled and was wondering what to do about it. But this wasn't a huge issue for me.

    Overall the room was very good value - I was given a choice of two. The full English breakfast was very good, tasty and substantial and the room was clean and well presented although a little small. The proprietor was friendly and helpful. The location was handy for the city centre and the station was within walking distance. For a guest house/b and b on a main road it was surprisingly quiet and the area was pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Recommended for holidays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 8 is too far from the wi-fi source. It is really difficult to have a stable connection.

    I like the full English breakfast and the kindness of the owner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    8.3
    good easy to find b+b will stay again
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    minor moan the shower was a bit underpowered but very minor moan

    Comfortable room and very quiet at night. Good breakfast. I was going to arrive after the published check in time and they were very flexible about this giving me access codes over the phone and leaving the room key accessible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    5.4
    At £45 a night it was £20 a night overpriced. The place could be so much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well overpriced, the rooms are hugely dated and small, the shower is unbelievably old.

    The outside of the building is beautiful. Parking round the back is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.2
    Great little gem. Good breakfast clean & tidy and nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road noise when the window was open was audible. The hotels 2g Wifi was poor.

    Easy Reach of town. parking behind the hotel was great and looks a good neighbourhood so very safe. Virgin phone customers get super fast free wifi as there is a hot spot on site which automatically connect you to the router

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    5.0
    glad it was for only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    health and safety would not like the electrics. 3 steps down into the room, hair dryer on landing, had to fill kettle using a glass as kettle could not fit under the tap in the small sink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and very quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom small, no desk to work from. Bed was a bit dated, but comfortable. Carpet in Bathroom? Not good hygiene in my view but the room was clean.

    Very clean and very quiet. Easy parking right outside. Value for money exceptional. My expectations were low and my impression is very good. Slept soundly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    3.8
    DO NOT STAY HERE!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was lumpy, floorboards of upper floor creaked so badly it was difficult to sleep and I got woken regularly. Dated rooms and bathroom barely holding together Breakfast was okay but I asked for soft scrambled egg and it came quite solid. Brown bread and not wholemeal. Lady in charge was okay but not really hospitable and welcoming. Gave excuse that it is an old house and creaking floorboards is part of the deal.....really, I thought I was staying in a guest house, not someone's home to whom it might be acceptable. Do not stay here

    Nothing, except decent wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.8
    The room was a tight fit, though the bed is a good size and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a tight fit, though the bed is a good size and of moderate comfort. Water stayed hot but the light was a little difficult. Not too far from city center, a bus ride away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.9
    Cheerful, friendly and reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could potentially do with updating the decor in the rooms compared to it's competitors but I'm not prudish and it didn't bother me. Just a constructive observation.

    I thought it was a cheerful and easy to be place. The host was friendly and professional and it's a very short taxi journey to central Peterborough,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.8
    Good value for a business stop over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This guest house was extremely good value for money. The room was not big but I had been warned when I booked that it was a small single. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.6
    Charlotte Hse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small issue but... Shower didn't quite do it for me. Adequate but not amazing

    Property was clean, warm and quiet.. Proprietor was welcoming and very helpful..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, homely and enjoyed my stay as normal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is slightly dated but what do you expect for the money

    It's a lovely comfortable place to stay and the room is clean and the lady who runs it is genuinely lovely. The price is great and so is the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent experience for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -nothing major for me personally as no light in toilet. The light from the room was enough to follow in to the toilet area but if someone needs to have a shower will have to wait till the morning. I wonder if they have pre-checks carried out as part of getting the room ready for next guest. Maybe this will be an idea to have a check list for every thing. Told host who promised to get a look at it. One night stay so don't know if it was followed.

    -Good location -Easy to access -Off street parking -Communication with host re late entry who then gave the codes to enter and where the key will be placed. -WiFi details placed clearly on the table near the front door -WiFi Facilities good in my room 2. -B&B for the price has to be a +ve -Host listened to my diet needs but obviously didn't have much as can't cater for all just mushrooms and herbal tea. Some other guest mentioned there is no marmalade hence an idea to place some marmalade with jams and other condiments.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    4.2
    convenient to bus route and suited as a place to sleep .out all day. ok for 3 nights not longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not a hotel more B&B, didn't like the breakfast very basic. house inside needs painting , the decor is very dated and towels and bed linen need replacing.

    Not much except convenient, bus stop at the door and it was quite area. It was basic and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly fine for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neither of our rooms were particularly quiet - mine was at the front of the building overlooking the street and my friend's room was at the back where a couple of late night revellers were rather loud in the parking area. I found the bed rather lumpy and uncomfortable and the entire property is a little shabby and in need of upgrading.

    I selected the Charlotte House as I was meeting a friend and we wanted a reasonably priced place that was close to town. Charlotte House was both. We received a warm welcome and had a nice breakfast and found the location to be good (about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town) and, for the price and situation, was fine for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    If you're travelling on a budget, you can't do better than Charlotte House.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight drawback is the single glazed window on a main road, but I slept well enough.

    Very friendly welcome, fantastic breakfast and very convenient for my needs. Short walk from a KFC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    8.3
    A good budget price stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of noise from overhead bedroom 2-3 am

    For what I paid it was totally fine. Very friendly lady. About 15 mins walk to the centre but a bus stop is almost outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    7.9
    Will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers could do with upgrading to a power shower. Needs double glazing. We had a room facing the main road and lots of traffic noise

    Full English Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.6
    Good room with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good room with comfortable bed. Excellent,well cooked and presented breakfast, with great coffee. Short walk from the centre of Peterborough, with a small public house,under new management,within three minutes walk around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    4.6
    poor bed matress old,room small,bed frame old,everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor bed matress old,room small,bed frame old,everything done on a budget,no fruit,yoghurt breakfast bed appeared old and damp,area appeared run down,not the best,probably ok as cheap workers b@b

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.9
    The property was idea for a weekend break .
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was idea for a weekend break . The staff were friendly and pleasant . Room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price. Nice place to stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    8.3
    2nd stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wifi in the room. Obviously not working throughout the whole house. Front room was noisy so wore ear plugs!

    2nd stay here. Nice double room. Staff always lovely and it was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.2
    The lady welcomed us very nicely and gave us a choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light bulb in room 6 was buzzing??

    The lady welcomed us very nicely and gave us a choice of room. I'd read the reviews so knew what to expect. I was more pleased than 8 thought I'd be. The room was quirky but exactly what we needed.breakfast was large! 2 bacon 2 sausage etc.parking was easy. Walk into town was easy too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    A very nice comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The lady that runs the place is very nice and helpful, the rooms are clean, hire dryers and ironing facilities available and a nice home cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    8.8
    Nice and pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a little smell to it. I carry lavender oil with me when I travel which helps. Maybe an air freshener in the room would help.

    Nice and clean, a little old fashioned but does the job for an overnight business trip. The breakfast was nice in the morning. Real coffee - which is an added bonus for me!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.9
    Not a chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for me.

    A little dated. However, easy and fairly secure parking, very close to city centre, reasonably quiet and a very helpful and efficient landlady. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    7.5
    Charlotte House feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the fact there was carpet on the ensuite bathroom floor, in our opinion, that's not particularly hygienic. The décor is a little dated and could do with a refresh to brighten it up so it looks cleaner and fresher but over all we enjoyed our stay.

    The property was within easy walking distance to Peterborough, there was free on-site parking, the breakfast was enjoyable, also we had a very warm welcome from the host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.8
    A good little B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little on the small side but was still adequate.

    The landlady was very welcoming and friendly. The place was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was delicious. There is tea and coffee facilities in each room and free WiFi. It was only a short walk to the town centre. I would definitely recommend staying at this bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    6.7
    IDEAL FOR SHORT STAYOVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water was cold in the shower and the breakfast was only from 8am-9am. Checkout was a bit early also at 10am but 11am would have been better, or even 1030am. There was not much in the way of storage space either, but that could have been down to just staying 1 night.

    Ayya made us feel very welcome. Good coffee making facilities and did not have to ask for anymore coffee or sugar. Good Breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.6
    Great value and a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, very happy stay for one night.

    Booked in here with my Wife before. The lady is excellent and really helpful. I was delayed in Leicester but she still held the room for me. The room was pleasant and adequate. Lovely and clean and the small en suite was ideal. Nice and quite with good access to local facilities if you needed the same. Good comfortable bed and above all a first class breakfast next morning all included at an excellent price. The lady had a wonderful friendly cat as well, it was lovely to fuss her cat as I left. We have two cats of our own.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    10
    Calm and good old fashioned charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints Charm and calm at the Charlotte Hotel.

    Very warm and friendly welcome. Breakfast, well presented and plentiful. Hot water throughout day. Soaps, shampoo and shower products provided. Quiet location. Proximity to town centre.Calm with plenty of charm at the Charlotte HotelCalm and

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    beautiful old house, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice old house. Manager lady has put good efforts through details. chocolate on bed. Biscuits near kettle. Basics in bathroom shower gel soap etc. WiFi code on table in communal area. Private parking behind the house. All well thought through. Breakfast good too. Highly recommend for value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed, fairly good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather small breakfast. My room was on the small side and the fittings were somewhat tired and dated but this was acceptable for the price particularly as all was clean and tidy.

    Comfortable bed, fairly good value. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.3
    Our stay at the Charlotte House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a warm welcome from the proprietor when we arrived. She knew who we were, which was lovely. Whilst our double room was small, it was clean tidy, and just what we wanted. With lovely clean bedding! There were fresh towels on the bed and a little chocolate for us each to eat! There was also a very generous supply of tea, coffee and milk in our room and biscuits. There was a small table in the room, which was very useful, so you could sit on the bed watching TV and have somewhere to put your tea or coffee. The shower was good, and the shower gels, shampoo and soaps were of a very good quality. There were some lovely little touches. Breakfast on the Sunday was very good, and we both had the full English which was plentiful, and the toast was hot when served with our breakfast. There was parking at the back of the hotel, and the main town of Peterborough was only a 15 minute walk away. Our proprietor was very accommodating and let us leave our car there on the Sunday, whilst we went and explored Peterborough. Our room was at the back of the Hotel and was very quiet. We found this hotel offered very good value for money, and we would use it again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    7.9
    3/5 would use again if the little things where sorted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls had cracks and holes visible damage only small hole on wall where a hook was and damage by the headboard and the wardrobe had damp marks on the back of it

    Bed was comfy room was cosy food was good and great service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    7.5
    Bang for the buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable, way too soft to me, but I was so tired it didn't make that much difference.

    I liked what I got for the price, especially when you consider it includes a full breakfast, which is very generous in size. It might be the less expensive hotel in town, and it's not brand new at all, but I noticed an attention to detail. For instance, a kettle filled with water is waiting for you in the room, along with tee, sugar, a small chocolate, etc. After driving all day long on a motorcycle, I really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.3
    Cozy, warm place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy, warm place. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom with tubes of shower gel & shampoo. The owner let me leave my suitcase there until the afternoon which was very useful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay and lovely breakfast great value for money.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not anything i did not like.

    The lady was very friendly, polite and well mannered. Breakfast was very quick arriving, lots of choices. The breakfast room was nicely laid out and breakfast news was available. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: