Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charlton Kings Hotel 3 stars

London Road, Cheltenham, GL52 6UU, United Kingdom

#13 of 24 hotels in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 804 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    A good over night visit to the literature festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated. Cheap bedside lamp and alarm clock with flat battery. Nice patio area from room but not impressed with dead plants.

    Very polite friendly staff. Plenty of parking spaces. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Some improvements needed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cardboard thin walls made us feel like sleeping in our neighbours bathroom, witnessing all the busy happening there. The mattress was faulty and sleeping on it was a pain. The bed itself was shorter and smaller size than a usual double bed. TV set very small and image blurry on most channels. In conservatory water was leaking through the glass roof. Chairs in room and restaurant were worn out and tatty.

    Excellent breakfast served at table. Nice friendly staff. Quiet location. Overall clean place. Free car park available on site. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Triple bedroom in loft area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could do with an update & a blind on the bathroom window which is right by the over bath shower

    The staff were friendly and very accommodating - couldn’t do enough for us!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    The manager was very helpful though he seemed to be doing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the property is about to be renovated, and some parts showed a need for it.

    The manager was very helpful though he seemed to be doing just about everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    O.K. But not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very tired needs a complete refurbishment .chairs old and worn ,black mould round bath,shower screen rubber filthy,the shower its self very poor,odd cutlery and cracked cups at breakfast .the owners who ever they might be need to get off their bums and do something about it

    very good breakfast good staff ln a nice area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    freindly staff good size car park great size desk to work...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no evening meals available my room was next to main road so was noisier than expected

    freindly staff good size car park great size desk to work from in room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing and pleasant stay with lovely manager.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not serving food in the evening but understand in the future there will be!

    Very welcoming and friendly. Fantastic room and area. Quiet and very relaxing. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for a good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar or restaurant where you can eat or drink after 9-30pm. Apart of this all was fine to me.

    This is quite hotel for good night sleep. All rooms are clean. Green area and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel for people who likes to go to bed around 9pm. So nice and quite. Good parking space, you can sit outside or in conservatory. Staff allows to bring your own food and alcohol but all facilities are shut after 9-30pm to respect others.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was a stop for us on the way to Cornwall. The hotel was easy to find and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. A bit of a walk to the nearest place to eat but worth the effort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    We are late arriving due to traffic and they were really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are late arriving due to traffic and they were really accommodating. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water on the first evening, noisy corridors. Expensive for what it was, room was very small. Breakfast timings are odd. It ends at 9AM! We had a long journey and getting up to be rushed to eat breakfast is not enjoyable.

    Good Location, friendly receptionist

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Ok but.....
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed on this our fifth visit to find the breakfast lacking in substance. By that I mean my order of bacon and scrambled eggs had just one thin piece of bacon, likewise my wife's portion with her tomatoes. Also four half slices of toast between us was a surprise. Quite a difference from previous visits. Contrast that with our breakfast at Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst today. Same orders but slices of thick tasty bacon and six tomato halves with a rack full of toast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    The room was very comfortable & bright.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no restaurant or bar. Although I was informed that the restaurant was having renovation work done!!!

    The room was very comfortable & bright. Well decorated. The breakfast was freshly cooked & plentiful. The grounds are set in a nice location just outside Cheltenham Spa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Served a purpose I.e. to be close to Cheltenham Race Course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole hotel looked very tired (due for refirb). Noisy road, noisy residents (loud music TIL 12.30 am)

    Comfortable bed, lovely breakfast, polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    An enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Charlton Kings is a delightful hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We have stayed there on several occasions and look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with the freshen up which is being planned.

    Friendly staff. Very comfortable beds. Great breakfast. Tea and coffee tray with water and biscuits. Pretty location but by a main road. Easy to find. Will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was square in shape...the bar was a little disappointing with no real ale or staffed after 9pm so we didn't use it

    The staff, our room, the breakfast, service with a smile, location was good...very enjoyable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    We arrived slightly earlier than 3pm check-in and although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived slightly earlier than 3pm check-in and although reception area deserted, housekeeping trolleys and equipment very evident. We were shown to our room - what a shock! The decor was an attempt at a ‘boutique’ look with cerise and lime wallpaper quite out of character with a ‘country house hotel’. However the biggest shock was a very evident stain on the bedcover and textured cushions which were in shreds. It took us 1 minute to decide we could not spend two nights there as planned. We didn’t dare inspect the en-suite! The owner? at reception seemed surprised and offered to have a word with Housekeeping about the bedcover, but seriously, how could any housekeeper have found the bed linen acceptable in the first place. We were given a sincere apology and offered a drink, but we just couldn’t wait to get out of there. So disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for a visit to our daughters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things in our room needed to be looked at and checked. Top came off of tap. Kettle was too big to be able to fill easily from sink in bathroom and no milk to make any drinks. Luckily we took our own as we were right at the top of the hotel up a metal spiral staircase. Breakfast was ok although I think the bacon had been cooked and reheated. Couldn’t cut through it.

    Convenient for a visit to our daughters.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Decor is a bit tired, but bearing in mind the price it's not a problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I mentioned at checkout that the room wasn't cleaned properly before or during my stay, housekeeping was inconsistent (e.g. sometimes left bottled water, sometimes not, didn't replace a towel left in the bath). Bedding has seen better days and crockery is stained. (Put it in the dishwasher and put clean in every day). So this was a real shame. I was just too busy during my stay to even worry about it, but with hindsight should have done on day 1.

    I liked the staff, they were all really friendly and helpful, a great team who do their best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    What happened at the weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not made up Had last persons whisky bottles in bin Roll of loo paper had 4 pieces on ! Found out in middle of night Communal areas dirty in places . Staff not very attentive .

    Convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no hot water or heating in our room no offer of explanation or refund of room charge. unable to bath or shower for the stay

    weren't there long enough to say, disappointed that there was no hot water at all during our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is great, near both Cheltenham/ Gloucester and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was just Luke warm, the shower water pressure was very very low, no shower handset too, the central heating turned off at about 11:30 which for the first night, made it very uncomfortable to sleep (even with a cardigan on!) , towels smell a not nice detergent, breakfast table was strange as no bread on the table (toasts arrive with the cooked dish only one per person, of course you can order more but that’s not the same as a bit of abundance), bed too small. We left the sign of room cleaning on, after 8 hrs we returned to a not cleaned room, only the bed was made and bins emptied. Mug unwashed & towels unchanged (even the dirty one on the bathroom floor)

    Location is great, near both Cheltenham/ Gloucester and close enough to many scenic Cotswold villages via picturesque roads. Also, the view from our room was a lovely green field which was great. Nice cooked breakfast. Lots of draws and storage in the room. Nice well positioned mirror with a chair for blow drying your hair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    A great place to be greeted by welcoming faces, to lay your head and have a tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised by the front Charlton Kings as it is not the building in it's main picture. We thought we were staying in a different building than what we came upon, but the inside was not a let down for comfort.

    The rooms were really lovely. Great bathrooms. so clean and pretty. The bed was lovely as were the linens. We had a fabulous breakfast the next morning. Really nice stay. Ticked all the boxes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Good all round
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed bit on small side , no restaurant on site, although one is planned for end of the year

    Staff helpful. good location, spacious room, free ample parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been cleaner and walls were very thin so could hear people talking as if you were in the same room, however wasn't noisy at night so didn't disturb sleep.

    Breakfast really good + shower good! Fine place to stay for a night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Good standard of room , clean and tidy.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the corner of the building next to the busy main road so had to keep the windows closed to keep the noise at a reasonable level.

    Good standard of room , clean and tidy. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    A bit pricey considering the position and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically it needed a bit of an update (I believe this is planned). Our room was in the roof, it was hot and the bed was not especially comfortable. It was also noisy due due to the heavy rain and the A40 nearby.

    Staff at reception were very welcoming friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Guy is the best host I have ever met, cozy and comfortable...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy is the best host I have ever met, cozy and comfortable room to stay. Very delicious breakfast. WiFi is very fast and stable. Will return if I come to Cheltenham again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Can’t fault it.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been just like faulty towers, but nobody even resembled Manuel, Basil or Sybil and everything went way too smoothly 🙂

    The grounds were gorgeous, so relaxing. The staff were lovely attractive professionals. Couldn’t ask for more... a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty, I had to clean all the surfaces on arrival as everything was covered in dust. The room had clearly not been cleaned recently. The bed was terribly uncomfortable. On one side, all support had gone from the bed meaning that it dipped lower on this side with no support. Spent the whole night rolling to one side and my husband completely uncomfortable. When we arrived the lad who was running the hotel was sat at his desk on a personal call, he put the phone down eventually and greeted us after checking his text messages. Not what you expect. When we were handing back in the key, I was going to inform him of our problems, but he didn't ask how our stay had been, he took the key and walked off. We arrived late on in the evening for our one night stay, if we arrived earlier we would have left and stayed somewhere else.

    The breakfast was the only highlight of the stay. the girls at breakfast were very attentive and polite. The food was good :) lots of choice available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel was situated on a busy road, I was very pleased with how peaceful it was, such a quiet location to relax. Just what we were looking for .. excellent 😀

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and felt welcome and comfortable. Loved the pubs in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was a hotter than usual while we were there. It would have been nice to have a fan in the room.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful with travel information. Loved the small intimate feeling of the hotel. Hope that feeling can be kept after the renovation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Attractive small B & B hotel. Friendly staff and spacious, pretty room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spare toilet roll so we ran out - shortly before checking out. Porridge was rather dry - needed more milk. A little more attention from the staff at breakfast would have been good.

    Lovely room, individually decorated, comfy bed, attractive furnishings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The room was pretty hot but hey - all of England is hot these weeks.

    Nice hotel. Friendly staff, large room, nice beds. Bathroom very clean and nice shower. Just a real nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would look forward to staying once the alterations are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the garden tables faced directly towards our bedroom window which would have been better turned sideways so avoiding the feeling of 'being watched'. Net curtains would help to prevent this.

    The staff we met were very helpful, engaging and sociable. We understand the hotel was recently taken over and there are now plans to extend the premises scheduled for later in the year. For this reason some of the décor/facilities/furniture were more than showing signs of previous usage Nevertheless the environment overall was good and kept up together despite the latter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort & hygiene okay but could improve. .. clutter on the staircase, some places not thoroughly cleaned etc.. , Hotel needs renovation.

    Good place to stay, with truly very helpfull staff (mngr & chef). Nice garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, fantastic host and thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues..Guy made us aware the hotel is awaiting a refurb and we look forward to returning to see the transformation.

    Guy and his team are fantastic hosts and made us feel like we were friends visiting them. Superb hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The friendliest manager, assistant manager one could hope to meet. Keep it up all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A longer stay.

    Very welcoming staff. Room comfort and decor outstanding. This is the standard all b&bs should aim for. Which other hotel would offer to share an evening with the staff in the garden with wine and pizzas !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    excellent pace to stay very welcoming and relaxing would like to return for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly could not fault anything

    first of all the owners and staff could not be more welcoming, the room was a good size with comfortable beds and a great shower so great to relax in after a long day, breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of choice. The location is picture post card stuff. I only stayed overnight but I would like to go back for a longer stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    very helpful staff, large rooms good valve.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows. old fashioned furniture in public areas

    large dog friendly room. Staff exceptionally helpful even from jam for old diabetic dog. Breakfast was good . Set in nice grounds. Very helpful at finding a pub for an evening meal. This hotel could do with a bit of work, the photos don't do justices to the building . Changing the furniture would grateful improve the public areas that look bit like a care home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything bit if I had to say anything, it'd be that the garden bench we sat on was a bit wobbly. There were others but we weren't fussed enough to try them.

    The proprietor was extremely welcoming and friendly, very interesting and great to chat to. Nothing was ever too much trouble. He offered to help carry luggage and to cook us breakfast at half 5 as we needed to leave really early. He's really laid back and funny, not stuffy or stressed out. He obviously loves what he does and that shows through. The grounds were very nice, lovely flower beds and mown lawn. The building is well maintained and with a proper key rather than a rubbish card that breaks. WIFI signal was strong, didn't require every conceivable personal detail to sign up and quick as well. The room was a good size, fairly priced and contained the usually refreshments. The en suite bathroom was spacious enough, and the shower was excellent, a great temperature and strong pressure. The location was perfect for us and were looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    It was fine for a nights stay but not any longer, it would have driven me mad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in both shower and tap. Turned on the hot tap and only a trickle of cold water came out. We were told that on previous couple of days no one could have a shower at all but the part required was arriving the following day - too late for us unfortunately. Room was very dark. Bedding was clean but the room was a bit dated. Towels in the bathroom were a bit grey. The breakfast was pretty mediocre, boxes of cereal, bowls of fruit that were past their best, the butter had been left out in the heat, melted and put back in the fridge so when I opened the foil lid it was pure oil. Toast was not toasted, still soft. Cooked breakfast was ok except the fried egg was hard - it’s not too difficult to cook a fried egg surely? Nice sausage and bacon. Had to ask for marmalade. Empty dishes were not cleared. The hotel is going to undergo a refurbishment programme later this year, not soon enough in my opinion. The chairs in the restaurant looked as if they had been chewed by something and too low to sit comfortably at the table. The boss was lovely but more attention to detail needed Iam afraid.

    The welcome was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    Very enjoyable. Hope to stay there again next month !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff. Great location. Although they do not do an evening meal at present, there is a fabulous Indian Restaurant just 2 mins away. Other fine eating places nearby. Great breakfast. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    From early communication onwards Guy & team were...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food was available in the evening but Guy arranged cabs to a local pub where the food was great.

    From early communication onwards Guy & team were excellent. They could'nt have been more accommodating and after a long day in the saddle on a charity cycle ride the complimentary beer was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing enjoyable very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our shower didn't work in the morning problem with waterworks to the hotel bit annoying but management were very apologetic but still enjoyed our stay

    We were late arriving but upon arrival was made to feel very welcoming was given a complimentary drinks shown to our room and then told that a table had been reserved for us and arranged for a taxi to take us there....just brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Totally overpriced!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was shabby and grubby. The cutlery at breakfast was filthy. It is totally overpriced!! The shower didn’t work properly and the manager treated us as if we were stupid by making ridiculous excuses for the shower, like the football and plumbers being too expensive... no recompense was made on check out for the lack of shower. The whole decor and ambience was that of a doss house. £50 a night would be a more appropriate charge than the £120 we were charged!!

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely everything about our stay was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer!! We will definitely be back to see you again

    Absolutely everything about our stay was amazing! We felt like part of the family. Guy and Chris were amazing hosts and very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice if maybe some bar snacks (crisps, nuts etc) were available.

    The staff were superb nothing was too much trouble. Because we arrived a little bit early our room wasn't quite ready but Guy was great and supplied us with a welcome drink. We enjoyed a great night when the World Cup match between England and Columbia was shown in the bar and to top that the weather was fantastic. On leaving the hotel Chris was very friendly as he was throughout our stay and we can't thank you enough for a great visit. This place will be worth visiting again when the revamp has been completed.Relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal although there is a refurb planned which will provide the required facilities

    Very accommodating very dog friendly which is what we required

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay and will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy as our room was facing the main road and as it was very hot the windows were opened. Would cause a problem for a light sleeper in summer months.

    Very friendly staff, most welcoming. Explained they had just bought the hotel are were planning major work to beable to provide meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Plenty of parking and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complimentary shower items in the ensuite, there was a chip in the mug in the bedroom.The television was very small for the size of the bedroom.We had tinned mushrooms for breakfast in the morning I also had to clear my own table for breakfast when we came down in the morning.

    The staff very pleasant and very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    • Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite hot; consider providing a fan

    • Staff were very friendly and helpful • Made-to-order breakfast was great • Room was super clean • Shower pressure (even in attic room) was amazing • WiFi was very fast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think of anything I did not like

    Friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Good base for the Cotswolds. Had a huge room on ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The service was impeccable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything.

    The service was impeccable. The initiative, care and friendliness of Guy, Olly and all the staff blew us away. We were especially touched by Guy's gesture to book a dinner reservation for us even before we checked-in to the property. From printing out the menu for us on their own initiative, to providing us with brush, toothpaste and mouthwash we forgot to bring; Guy, Olly and all the staff, just went that extra mile. And, it is was not done to wow but showed the genuine care they have that you have a great stay and feel happy. From the welcome drink, feather-soft bed and delicious breakfast, they got it just right. A most memorable stay and we will certainly be coming back for another weekend soon! Special note: Guy is the most charming hotel manager and host I have ever met and Olly was just fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel fantastic staff, will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was greeted by Chris who gave us a really warm welcome, nothing was to much trouble, booked us in for dinner at recommended local restaurant, which the food was excellent and not over priced. As we were so happy with the hotel and Chris being so helpful we booked again for our return journey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.8
    Deceptive and unsanitary B&B! Definitely not 3 or 4 star!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The B&B smelled like an old person's home. My hotel room was unsanitary (unwashed kettle, torn duvet, bed not made up properly, broken window handles, tiny plasma screen (30cm wide literally). My husband and I made our excuses and left without even asking for a refund. I wouldn't recommend this B&B despite it being affordable if you are the kind of person that has reasonable hygiene standards.

    I only liked the outside of the building and the grounds. Inside was a different story.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    On a very busy main road hence our low scores. However the manager and staff were super friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the roof and quite small with roof windows only. Accessed by a steep spiral staircase.

    Very helpful manager and staff. Dog friendly with close walks. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, excellent staff, very good rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor thing I didn’t like was the orange juice was from concentrate at breakfast. But the breakfast was excellent!

    Staff were exemplary and really made you feel at home ! The room was very clean and well equipped. The price for a last minute room was amazing for what we got ! very impressed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Quiet, peaceful, convenient stay with food & drink avail after hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet peaceful location with attentive hotelier Guy offered food and drink for our after-hours arrival. Comfortable dining, sitting, and bedroom. Peaceful surrounding gardens & trees. French press coffee suited me nicely, and I am picky about my coffee. Enjoyed variety on the breakfast menu and attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Good chill out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a warm welcome when we arrived and we were helped with our cases from the car to the room. The staff were very warm, friendly and very helpful. For breakfast, a good selection was available for varied tastes. And the location of the hotel was excellent for going out across the Cotswolds without going through Cheltenham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Hotel very good with amazing friendly & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault the hotel & they are due to carry out refurbishment.

    The manager Guy & all his staff were extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable room with nice facilities & car parking facilities were very good. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Best hotel I've stayed in for a long time. The owners hospitality is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    The owner of the hotel was a fantastic host. We felt home from home. Our room was well set out, the bed was so comfy. Our breakfasts were so tasty. So happy I booked this hotel and will definitely be going back!!!! 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Our stay although hey shirt was extremely enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay although hey shirt was extremely enjoyable. Guy made a huge effort to accommodate us as we could not check in during the conventional check-in times. The room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    The owner was very accommodating towards us and allowed us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very accommodating towards us and allowed us a room to change into for a wedding as our room was yet to be cleaned. Our room was comfortable, met all our needs, breakfast was lovely, good range of options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, comfy stay all round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise i could hear around me, rooms need updating but i am well aware they are in progress of doing this. Also needs evening meal facilities which i am also aware they are working on as a upcoming project.

    Great general manager, room was comfy however a lot of surrounding noise was heard from where the room was located ,people above and around me etc. Road was fine outside the me however. Facilities such as condiments were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location,we are really recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle is not clean

    Location is very good, car park is big enough , room is very clean , staff also nice , thanks for Champagne ! We are second time live in this B&B ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the bar and lounge could have stayed open a little longer than 9.30 in the evening.

    We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble for Guy and the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Currently upgrading. Heading in the right direction
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while to get the shower up and running Extractor fan not working Fire escape style staircase

    Friendly welcoming staff. Good breakfast Good bed linen and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    We were not impressed :/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not as we expected. Got shown to the room which had a strange smell. We were not given any towels. There was minimal toilet roll. The taps and shower dials seemed like they had not been cleaned properly, leaving scaly white dirt on them. The bathroom floor was very slippy and had no floor mat. The TV wasn’t even the size of a DVD player. I’m not one to complain but having paid the amount we did for 1 night. We were not impressed with the cleanliness of the room.

    Ideal location for what we needed and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Just what you want from a hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of much at all , but the TV was a bit small but that was it .

    Friendly and and clean as it was for one night it was all that we needed lovely breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay for three nights. Can recommend this B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top floor room windows in roof not ideal.

    Staff enthuastic to ensure we had all we needed. Breakfast choices and service commendable. Good location and atmosphere. Sun room very useful for casual relaxation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay with our dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought they served food in the bar in the evening but they didn’t, our mistake we just assumed they did. Not much of a problem as pubs close by.

    Good location for walking dogs, a couple of dog friendly pubs within 10 min walk from hotel, both dog friendly. Manager friendly & helpful as were the staff, very dog friendly, they even cooked sausages for our dogs breakfast which we all enjoyed together. Rooms clean & tidy, comfy bed, all in all a good nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leather furniture looking its age

    The staff were excellent - welcoming and helpful. Some of furniture a bit shabby but it was very clean and the hotel is due for makeover later in year so look forward to that but hope it won't detract from present atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    a good hotel good staff nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed an update but they told me a renovations program had already started

    Location was just right for the reason we were visiting the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the manager couldn't have been better

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: