Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chellowdene Guest House 4 stars

Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth, TR11 4DN, United Kingdom

#11 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Short Break in Falmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements are a little chaotic but apart from that tgis is a great place to stay.

    It was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The breakfast was really good and the owners very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Chellowdene a value deal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. The breakfast was excellent as was the room. It was just a bit far from my bus route. The hosts were helpful, the towels fluffy 😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a. Little small however for two nights not a problem.

    The welcome was informative and friendly, the bedroom was spotless the bed very comfortable, towels soft and luxurious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The room was nice and pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and pleasant. The owners are really kind and welcoming . It's a very clean and neat place and it has a wonderful view. We have spend some beautiful days there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Falmouth base to explore cornwall
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for town and local beach, parking available. Good comfortable double room, small bathroom but large walk in shower. We had room with a balcony & sea view. Excellent breakfast menu, very friendly and welcoming family run house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Awesome room, lovely people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having to return to normality at the end of our holiday. There is nothing i would change about Chellowdene.

    Julie and Roy are amazing hosts they were so welcoming and was lovely to chat with them. Everything was superb and me and my partner had such a lovely holiday, thanks for making it such an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Fab Falmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wash basin in bedroom due to very small bathroom.

    Immaculately clean, top quality produce for breakfast and excellent location with parking. Hosts were brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Lovely coastal b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's lovely

    Lovely coastal b&b. Super comfy bed and immaculately clean. Good breakfast and lovely views. 2 mins from the beach and 10 mins walk into Falmoth.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a great long weekend stay here, We had a lovely room, the property was right by the sea and only ten minute walk into town. We will definitely come back again one day this time for longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room and bathroom with fantastic view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only describe the host as functional and ‘good enough’, no more no less. She was polite enough but made it clear that was the extent of her service. We rang the service bell once to ask a question and it went unanswered despite it being within the hours stated and could clearly hear people moving. The cleaner also said there was a towel missing before even checking our room (it was in there), implying we had taken it and that Julie wouldn’t allow us fresh towels if all the towels weren’t there. Slightly abrupt as it was right here hung up. Boundaries are clear but maybe a bit too clear to be welcoming.

    Beautiful room and bathroom with fantastic view of the sea. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We found our stay was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found our stay was excellent .Troy and Julie made us feel very welcome very friendly nothing was too much trouble .We will defiantly be going back for another holiday and highly recomend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful house, great location and loverly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked every thing but a fridge would be nice to keep cool drinks in (not many English places seem to have fridges). Watch out for the hot tap in the bath it is easily knocked to scalding, in our room there was only a bath with a hand held shower.

    We had a room with a view! The place was clean, had all the facilities, close to the beaches and walking distance to the train station and Falmouth town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place, friendly and welcoming..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely welcome. Comfy bed. Spotless. great breakfast choice. Piping hot. Loved my veggie breakfast. Didn't want to leave. Hope to visit again soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    One of the best laces we have stayed in in five weeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had a bath and hard to get into and out of.

    Lovely hosts and other guests, great breakfast, beautifully maintained, close to beach, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing enjoyable, grt place to recharge your battery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small chiller for drinks would be good but other than that alls ok

    I didn't use the WiFi but they did have it. Didn't have breakfast either as we walked 50yrds down to beach cafe n had it almost on the beach. Overall the guest house was a lovely place with lovely owners in an awesome location. It was grt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A perfect holiday! We will definitely be visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from our balcony were stunning! The Chellowdene is so close to the beach. Breakfast was lovely. Troy and Julie made us feel very welcome. Our room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time and enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was very challenging due to very small area in front of the guest house, and most cars being forced to block others.

    Great staff, clean and tidy rooms and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    An amazing location, close to the beach and 10 min walk into the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t very powerful

    Bed was very comfy, room exceptionally clean and the owners were very accommodating and allowed me to check in early due to a meeting etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay near Gylly Beach and the Cafe/Bar there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very few parking spaces for guests and it was not really convenient to have to negotiate getting our car out each day but the hosts did their best to manage it. No options for just having a continental breakfast so £8 seems expensive.

    Comfortable and clean, bright room with balcony, and location near Gylly Beach is wonderful asset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Superb solo place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. I had a hire car and wouldn’t take the chance of trying to park here. Although, the host did offer to park the car. I found off t street parking.

    As a solo guest, I wanted comfortable surroundings, near to Falmouth. This property was excellent. It was super clean, cosy room with everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit tight for 4 small cars , as it was a steep road leading down to the front. And not easy to get in and out.

    Location . Near beach and not far. From centre of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in comfortable clean guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bit more flexible on timings!

    Very nice couple and property immaculately clean. Bed was very comfortable, room quite small as was shower room. But fine for two nights and good value for money. Good breakfast and helpful with advice and suggestions. Unfortunately wifi didn't work. Very strict on timings. Great location near the beach. I would certainly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like :)

    The beds (room 6 & 8) were really comfortable (the rooms our family have stayed in). The only B&B where the bed was more comfortable than at home! The sea views from room 6 were a lovely bonus. There was plenty of choice for breakfast & the food seemed of high quality. Parking for cars is a real bonus though we didn't need it. Troy gave us a lovely, friendly, warm welcome & it was lovely to see Julie again at breakfast. The rooms were spotlessly clean; it was even clean UNDER the beds LOL. My special requirements were supplied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Good base for a few nights in Falmouth.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in room didn't work in spite of repeater outside door. Had to work in main guests lounge. Towel rail was scalding hot.

    Great location and friendly hosts. Clean and comfy, modern shower room. Small room but fine for a solo business traveller.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Will recommend this b&b 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain The people on the other table slurping and eating like a pig

    Cleanliness 10/10 Friendliness 10/10 Breakfast 10/10 Location 10/10 Hospitality 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    A clean, modern and well serviced establishment, very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upper level has separate bathrooms to the bedrooms, which can prove both noisy and impersonal. And the bedrooms, though comfortable, are of a smaller size due to attic roof dimensions.

    A clean, modern and well serviced establishment, very close to beach, cafe & coastal walkways. Comfortable beds & a short 10min walk to town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like. The only small thing was that we were in the top room and my partner is 6ft tall so he had to duck to get in and out of the door. Next time we come, we’ll request one of the lower level rooms.

    Everything. Great staff, great location, lovely room, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely and the bathroom, whilst not ensuite, was private and we had our own key. The location was great - 10 minutes to walk to the centre and 30 seconds to the nearest sandy beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    The hotel facilities were excellent, and Falmouth itself was worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am unable to identify any areas which could be improved upon. The only negative feedback I could give would be that we couldn't stay longer.

    The all round quality of this hotel was outstanding. It was by far the best b&b I have ever stayed in. We will definitely use this again in the future. The rooms, service and breakfasts were exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Easy comfortable and pleasant with beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect, we did not request breakfast so can't comment on food.

    Easy pick up of keys at convenient time. Perfect cleanliness. Parking issue solved immediately and willingly. Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    I am a clean freak and Chellowdene was acceptionally clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it’s perfect B&B

    I am a clean freak and Chellowdene was acceptionally clean. Only 10 minutes walk to Falmouth shops and 1 minute to the beach. Breakfast was lovely, they even had gluten free food for me. We will definitely go back when going to Falmouth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Spotlessly clean well appointed accommodation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd spent 8 hours in A&E looking after my son who was admitted unexpectedly. I was incredibly tired and hungry and had difficulty finding Chelowdene in the torrential rain.

    Bed was very comfy and I snuggled down with my cup of tea and really enjoyed watching Top of the Pops hits from the seventies! Oops that ages me!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Exceptional. Warm, clean, perfect location and excellent facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Our stay at Chellowdene was exceptional. The facilities and breakfast were wonderful. Clean , warm, comfortable, lovely decoration and fantastic breakfasts and service. the owners are warm, genuinely friendly and kind. We will be staying again. Many thanks Lesley and Frank

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend this venue for being friendly, great location to town and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly, relaxed welcome. So clean - absolutely immaculate and just the right level of quality finish and furnishings in the room. Superb host

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.0
    Comfortable but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. We had to ask for extra mug and t bags. Room was booked for 3.only facilities for 2. Breakfast was extra and rather mediocre.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.4
    will not be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not told no food until we booked in should have been told at the time of booking as my wife is diabetic and needs her food on time had to travel into falmouth to sort out evening meals had to buy items so my wife could have something for breakfast not even offered a cold breakfast didn,t seem to care about the problem they caused

    the room was clean and well decorated not that big but ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Looks great, but the basic essentials: bed and breakfast, SADLY LACKING :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was easily the most uncomfortable one we have ever slept on, as it was SO soft. We like a hard and more supported mattress so this was a disaster and we had literally NO sleep at all. Secondly the duvet was really thick and heavy. We like to pull the duvet around us when sleeping and we couldn't with this. Would suggest a lighter duvet and a throw instead. Thirdly the bathroom although being beautifully decorated, had a very so-so shower with little pressure, also the tap on the sink is RIDICULOUS! It is a modern tap but no matter HOW slowly you run the tap, you will ALWAYS get splashed because of it's design and it's height. After washing my hands I had to go out with wet trousers which looked VERY embarrassing. Also the mirror was a modern 'push and it lights up' one... it needs a new bulb as it didn't work! Finally, breakfast is NOT included in the £70.00 price that we paid. I think that £86.00 for two people (if you included breakfast... we didn't have it) is an awful lot of money to pay, especially when the hotel only had one other guest staying, and it was the middle of December. Wouldn't stay again.

    The room was beautifully decorated and fitted out, new carpet, stunning feature wall, nice bathroom, lovely balcony with sea views, large TV, coffee/tea making facilities.... ALL GOOD!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Scenic, comfortable, excellent breakfast, friendly and welcoming host, thank you very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say :)

    Extremely friendly host, beautiful room. Helpful re. things to do, places to go. An airy feel to the property, our room was newly decorated, absolutely lovely. balcony was really pretty with a super view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    the position of the guest house was good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the position of the guest house was good. The communication prompt. There was no personal contact at all until leaving the keys. The room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely guest house with a lovely team - just difficult to use all facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times were a little restrictive (8.15 until 9am). Difficult to have a shower - this was due to our room being in the eaves of the property, so shower was not mounted and had to hold it over head.

    Hosts very friendly, nicely furnished rooms and tasty breakfast. Great location,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great Location, warm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If travelling in hight of season, parking would have been a bit tighter, but would have been secure

    On arrival were offered a change in location of room so we could be closer to friend travelling with. Very accommodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The beds were extremely comfortable and the owner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ensuite bathroom but it was close by so not too inconvenient.

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the owner was very friendly and helpful - nice breakfast too with gluten free options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and we would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. My only comment would be as we were in the attic room (which was lovely and cosy!) it was difficult to sit in bed with the sloping ceiling! I assume this was the only room like that. But for two nights it was absolutely no problem.

    The owners, the cleanliness, which is 100%, the superb breakfasts, the cute dining room and lounge area! Everything in general.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great service, great stay and fab price - definitely value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I loved the hosts - great people from my home town Birmingham. Made me feel very welcome. The place was spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Couldn't fault anything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Our room was comfy but bathroom a let down so it wasn't worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not at all powerful- this is my biggest criticism The bathroom drains did smell but there was room air freshener to help Not enough shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom Room was pokey- especially for my partner who is 6ft

    The room had a balcony which was nice The guest house was clean Bed comfy Breakfast good Very nice to have our bottle of prosecco chilled in the fridge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Ideally placed for the beach and a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was a bit hit and miss, everything else was spot on

    Ideally placed for the beach and a short walk from the harbour. Like a home from home very clean and also a good excellent value breakfast. Julie and Troy are excellent hosts and make you feel so welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would throughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location by Gyllynvase Beach. Accommodation was spotless. Breakfast excellent. Troy and Julie were lovely hosts. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely book again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not anything to dislike.

    Everything absolutely spotlessly clean and comfortable. Bed lovely and soft and the owners were most friendly and helpful, especially as I wanted to check in outside of their main times. Breakfast tip top.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Completely relaxing and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were friendly but let me get on with my own business and chill out. It was a very peaceful stay, which is exactly what I was looking for. The staff were really helpful as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    For the price I would have expected better service/facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite First Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When you are on holidays you want to have breakfast relaxed. Having only 45 mins to do it and so early in the morning is not the best experience. Bathroom in the room was really small, with sink in bedroom. For two tall people for one week only one minitube of showergel and shampoo were provided and once finished they were only replenished once after requesting it specifically. In the end we had to use our own (buy). Something similar happened with tea and coffee facilities. Nothing is replaced if you consume it (the math covering the tray was left with coffee stains the whole week). Parking space is very small and you need to leave your keys there in case the car needs to be moved. We opted by parking in a street nearby.

    The quality of the breakfast was quite good and the location is great, close to one of Falmouth beaches and at walking distance to all amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    lovely Falmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    We liked that we did nt have to get up for breakfast, as it was paid for seperately, if you wanted it. We wanted a lie in, as we had been busy at work all week; also the guest house is very near to a lovely beach :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic....don't book anywhere else!! Worthy of its 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can criticise is the fact we had a bath with a shower hose instead of an overhead shower but we got by and it wouldn't stop us from returning.

    We had a fantastic stay at chellowdene. The owner was really welcoming and friendly. I wish we had booked to stay longer. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. It was better than expected and we are looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm not a fan of choosing your breakfast the night before although I do understand why they do it.

    The location was fab. The people were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was very clean and bedroom we stayed in excellent with a lovely balcony. Well looked after and a joy to stay. Look forward to returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Hope to come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi could have worked better, but it's not really their fault as broadband is not offered in 'hood yet.

    Great location. Easy walk to beach. Easy walk to town for breakfast. Lots of historical sites to visit too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay but not good for elderly folk with back problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not happy with the many very small stairs up to our room. Banged my head on the sloping walls many times. The Internet on and off all the time - also very slow. Parking was totally inadequate. Why was breakfast charged as a £7.50 extra - cash only with no receipt? En suite bathroom was NOT en suite. Also, it needs to have a shower, not just a bath.

    Beds were comfy. The food was nice. Bathroom and fittings were of high quality. Very quite at night. Hosts were pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Room spotlessly clean, though compact.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower room was on the small side, but didn't really matter too much as only there 2 nights.

    Room spotlessly clean, though compact. Very comfy bed with lots of pillows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    GOOD LOCATION FOR A LONG WEEK-END STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    HAD TO WALK TO TOWN (APPROX 20 MINS AWAY) TO BUY A PAPER OR EVEN BASIC SHOPPING, NO SHOPS ON SEA FRONT BY BEACHES AS ONE WOULD EXPECT,

    SUPERB BREAKFAST, COMFY BED, VERY GOOD STAFF (AFTER GETTING VERY WET IN RAIN) THEY OFFERED TO DRY OUR WET CLOTHES FOR US

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great place in a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small criticism would be the shower.. very clean but low powered.

    Great location with a great owner, attentive but not in your face, and honest a rare trait nowadays, I over paid and she brought my balance back. Great breakfast and clean and tidy rooms. We had the balcony looking down to Glynny Beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Bed very Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for family room . Expensive when paying extra for breakfast. Note on extra bed if used extra for laundry. Surely I paid for extra bed anyway

    Bed very Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A truly delightful experience in a wonderful B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    We received the warmest of welcomes. Everything was spotlessly clean and the attention to detail gave real pleasure. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. It is run by such a lovely, friendly couple who take a huge pride in what they do.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All 4 pillows (as requested) were very thin, so even all 4 didn't mean I could sleep sitting up (for health reasons). It didn't matter though as I slept better than at home.

    The owners were friendly. The bed was super comfortable. The room was spotless

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Didn't have breakfast whilst we stayed but they have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast whilst we stayed but they have a breakfast book for you to write down what you would like for breakfast the night before, very friendly, helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    It rained a lot.................we usually go to Wales so this is familiar !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    sloping ceilings....................bathroom NOT connected to room.....had to pass through the hall in middle of night........................BUT these are only minor problems.

    Breakfasts fantastic...beds wonderful..................Sea views superb.......................convenient for town and seafront.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Great stay - excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking could have been a issue but plenty of off street parking is also available

    Very comfortable room with excellent sea view. It was very clean. Breakfast one of the best we have had. Good location, with beach down the road and only a five minute drive from centre of Falmouth.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Great find - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location within 2 minutes you were at the nearby beach and in 10 minutes you could walk into Falmouth town. The breakfast choice was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice location - Take time to read what your room has to offer (ensuite facilities etc)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having a separate bathroom without a proper shower - a dash across the landing to your 'private' bathroom! - Not Good!

    Location was excellent! - Beach and town in easy reach!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    A brilliant holiday in a lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking was a bit tight you could get blocked in, so I parked in the road just across from the guest house it was free but got busy during the day due to its closeness to the beach.

    The property is very close to the beach handy if you want to spend a lot of time swimming in the sea or sunbathing. The room was on the ground floor it was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Private Bathroom, Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole experience was wonderful. Troy and Julie were exceptional hosts, very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help you. Great breakfast freshly cooked and a choice of different cereals etc to choose from. Overall you could not fault a thing - the rooms were spotless and well kept and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    A very nice guest-house, immaculately presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't too important for us, but the wi-fi was very hit-and-miss - it wouldn't connect half of the time. Parking on the premises is very cramped and cars often need to be moved to let other people out. No parking in the street outside, but plenty in nearby streets.

    Very nice breakfast, well prepared. Generally, the place is very pleasant and welcoming. Excellent shower, comfortable bed. Very close to the beach and the excellent beach café; a short downhill walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host was very nice and helpful. She welcomed us with a smile and was available when needed anything. The breakfast was tasty and cooked how we liked it. Overall, a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast - everyday breakfast was delicious, best cooked...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was too small.

    Breakfast - everyday breakfast was delicious, best cooked breakfast I have ever had - apart from the wife's!! We were given keys to the property which meant we were able to go back to our room when we wanted to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Amaising 😬
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How close other cars parked to my car

    Verry friendly and clean I can't stand mess and it's not often I compliment cleanliness so well done 😁 And arranged a separate check in time for me was verry helpfull

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. The owner, Julie, was helpful and pleasant. The guesthouse was located near Falmouth Town Station, some beautiful beaches, Queen Mary Park, and the coastal path. I enjoyed my stay and strongly recommend Chellowdene Guest House.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great stay, very helpful staff. Would definitely not go anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a garden room , and the only slight criticism was that it was quite difficult to unlock door in the dark as the light kept dimming.

    Staff attentive, and the breakfast excellent .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Lovely Swiss Chalet just two minutes from Falmouth beach with views of the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked through this website and although we got a good price, our room was on the small side for a stay of several days (the only sink was in the bedroom, no chair or desk). The room and shower room were immaculate though, they were well thought out and comfortable and would be perfect for a night or two. The parking can be difficult due to the six parking places being in a confined drive, so that people who arrive early are blocked in by those that arrive later. This is by no means an issue confined to Chellowdene, a lot of the B&Bs and even hotels in that area have identical issues...it simply means you might be asked to move your car to allow a fellow guest to be able to get out. There is street parking near by for those that prefer it. We didn't find this issue to be too much of a problem.

    Troy and Julie (the owners) are very friendly, we had a great welcome. The B&B is immaculate, the breakfasts are awesome! The location is very close to Falmouth's beach with a café/restaurant and walks around the headland. A walk to town takes 10 minutes. The property is based on the design of a Swiss chalet...so some of the rooms have a lovely balcony overlooking the sea with table and chairs to enjoy that evening glass of wine. If you're planning on staying for several days we advise you to ring the owners before booking to make sure you have one of the larger rooms with sea view/balcony. They catered for my gluten intolerant partner very well with lovely bread and sausages etc....she was very happy with the food. There is a nice lounge to relax in. A lot of the rooms appeared to have new carpets and new furniture and the whole house was really clean....immaculate actually. Troy and Julie are lovely people and we'd certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chellowdene Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: