Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cirencester Road Charlton Kings , Cheltenham, GL53 8EA, United Kingdom

#18 of 24 hotels in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1820 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    6.3
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had no record of my booking. My spa booking had been cancelled even though it was booked at a separate time. The spa staff were lovely and luckily the girl on the desk was the girl I booked the treatment with. There was no air con. There was a fan but it did say air con when I booked. Two of the staff weren't to friendly but that was by no means all the staff. I suppose you always get some grouchy people everywhere you go.

    The bar man was lovely as were the spa staff. The massage was great. The pool area was clean and nice. Food was OK and there's plenty of parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay marred by poor service from the cleaning staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was a bit disappointing as it was too popular, making it difficult to swim properly. On the second night, we were given no bath mat, towels for single occupancy, tissues and tea/coffee tray not topped up. We had to complain.

    Very nice room - plenty of space and view of garden. Food was good. Staff very obliging when asked - we filled our cool box with ice from the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were upgraded to a larger cooler room because when we arrived our room upstairs was so hot due to the warm weather and no air conditioning. We were very thankful. Nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.3
    Poor WiFi and phone reception. Premier Inn feel to rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible WiFi and phone reception in room means I had to decamp to bar area Rooms like a long line of porta cabins with weak flooring Would have been nice to have sliding doors in garden rooms Kettle was hidden inside the far bedside cabinet No air con - typically OK in UK but not this summer Simple repair like broken plug not fixed Simple detail like black desk make it impossible to use mouse without stuffing a sheaf of paper under it Bar staff slow and amateurish

    Big king size rooms Nice bar area to work in Front of building pretty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.8
    expected much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was amazed and really disappointed to find that there is NO aircon in the building. When complained to the reception, was told : WE DO SAY ON OUR WEBSTIE THAT THERE IS NOT AIRCON! Perhaps they do, but I booked via booking.com and it was NOT obvious at all. If I knew I would not have chosen this hotel. With the temperature reaching 30, it was a real problem. Windows are security protected, and can only be opened a tiny bit on some floors. Had to move floor down, where the windows could be opened wider. That made some difference. Very limited, basic breakfast more suited for cheap budget hotel. Far from the city centre, had to take taxis twice a day there and back to get to Cheltenham. All added up in cost.

    Really spacious nice room, quality king size beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was clean and staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a hot summer weekend and there were no extra fans to help with the weather. The one fan in the room was way far from the bed. Good

    Hotel was clean and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    Would go again but not when outside temp is going to exceed 24 degrees C
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE IS NO AIR CODITIONING IN BEDROOMS DO NOT GO IF TEMPERATURES OUT SIDE ARE GOING TO EXCEED 24c UNBEARABLY HOT WALL FAN ON ALL NIGHT COULD NOT SLEEP ONE SMALL WINDOWS WHICH CRACKS OPEN 2.5 INCHES ON AVERAGE TOP HUNG. NEARLY EVERY GUEST WAS HAVING TO LEAVE BEDROOM DOOR OPEN TO CORRIDORS TO GET HEAT OUT OF ROOMS. COME ON HILTON YOUR NOT TRAVEL LODGE. THESE BEDROOM AREAS ONLY LOOK 20 YEARS OLD SO BUILDING GRADE LISTING IS NO EXCUSE

    the leisure facilities were very good room good size (king) The Duty Manageress was attentative and went out of her way to help

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.0
    I will not attend this hotel again unless they plan on updating it to current century
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shame for a 4 star hotel. Initial room provided was so small just impossible to fit two people. Shouldn't offer it to couple. The room we were moved to was perfect in size but we couldn't enjoy it as due to H&S we cannot open windows to get any air in No air condition! small useless fan! Old heating radiators! the smell of fried food from next door restaurant doesn't do any good to this hotel.... I have previously been Double Tree by Hilton and it was superb. This one was not worth the money at all. Location is perfect thou and staff were trying their best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    3.8
    Not a pleasant nights stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in room. Room far too hot. Requested a fan but apparently the hotel had ‘run out’. Window barely opened. Fan attached to wall was noisy and of little use.

    The gym and bar food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    An outside area other than the patio leading from the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    An outside area other than the patio leading from the bar would be nice. The bar patio does not have a very good outlook. When we were there it was a very hot day but no umbrellas so couldn't even sit outside. Dissapointed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very hot with no air conditioning but a fan was available in the room.

    Spacious hotel with good reception areas, restaurant, bar, pool, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel ideally situated for our sightseeing in Cheltenham but disappointing due to lack of aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the day of arrival our room was hot and we slept with the curtains open to get maximum breeze into the room. On returning on our second day the room was so hot (over 40deg!) we almost passed out despite the heavy dark curtain and fan being on all day. The room had a dark flat roof so you were getting solar heating through the roof and the outside wall. The room was so hot we could not stay in it. If the hotel had not been able to move us to a cooler room on the lower floor we would have had to checked out there and then. (A hotel of this calibre and design desperately needs air conditioning.)

    Booked 4 nights at the hotel for a birthday choosing a deluxe room with garden view. The room was very nice, garden view was ok. We had dinner in the restaurant on the evening of my wife's birthday and they booked us a table by the window and wished my wife a 'happy birthday'. Service and food both excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel poor management
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude Receptionist staff upon arrival, just ignored myself and other guests waiting. restaurant staff pleasant, although not enough of them in the evening, I was part of a reunion of 8 people from around the globe., bar staff were unhelpful until another guest asked for the duty manager, suddenly attitude changed and we (8) people were served. After the evening meal I tried to book a table for 8 for breakfast @.09.00am took three attempts (one in writing) !!! with reception, then restaurant staff, eventually a phone call at 06.30am to confirm. No fridges in rooms, no air con in rooms In summary, Overall prices reasonable, service poor.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Unexpectedly, the hotel is very nice and set in a lovely garden with an excellent pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service in the restaurant was slow, had to be assertive to get attention!

    The grounds and setting are lovely, ditto the swimming pool which was far larger than is usual in an hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were far too warm on arrival. No patio as suggested on Booking.com. No easy access for dogs in the morning corridor very long and then upstairs before you are out.

    Spotlessly clean. Spacious. Well equipped. Comfy bed. Staff friendly. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay in a lovely property well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst my check in was ok - it seemed crowded and each receptionist was talking over each other to make themselves heard . The girls were pleasant and inviting. Service in bar - More enthusiasm and engagement required. Service in restaurant slow - breakfast staff good

    The newly refurbished bathroom and outdoor space and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    Large bedroom which is very unusual in most hotels in the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was far from town, very large hotel with lots of stairs to carry luggage, but not a problem if reception lets you know and you can request a room closer.

    Large bedroom which is very unusual in most hotels in the UK. Pleasant bar and breakfast was good. Very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing end to a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in the restaurant was awful and food was average to say the least. My husband and I both ordered steaks, 1 medium rare the other medium well. When the young girl brought them and I asked which was which she hadn’t a clue and I had to ask her to go and check. Then I had to ask for steak knives! No remote for tell in the room, young boy brought 2 remotes to try, clearly not for the make of tv and of course they wouldn’t work so he had to go off again and finally brought one that worked. Room was stifling as no air conditioning and curtains had been left open. There was a fan but not very effective. Beds still had duvets on should have had just a sheet.

    Bed was comfy and room clean. Grounds lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, reasonable prices and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't to my personal preference, it was hard as a rock and the pillows were too soft so I didn't sleep well.

    Good location, reasonable prices and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.2
    Good stay for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No A/C, only fan ...

    The delicious welcoming biscuits. Swimming pool is great aspecially in the hot weather ... sauna, steam and gym was great aswell. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double room is very small and the bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable. There are nice seating areas inside but when waiting outside for a taxi there were no benches to wait on, a few would be appreciated. The hotel is far from the town, need a car or taxi. Nice area for a base to visit the rest of the Cotswolds.

    I liked the pleasant staff, their attitude was great. It had a nice ambiance about it and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    It was all fine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in restaurant disappointing for the price. More like a pub chain than a Hilton. Wine served at wrong temperature and seriously expensive for a bottle of Pinot Grigio!

    It was all fine. Bathroom rather cramped but all worked. Hotel has a certain charm with staircases all over. Pool area a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a dirty towel provided; actually quite disgusting - which was quickly changed. Reception told us they had ordered a taxi for us. After waiting outside for 15 minutes we discovered no taxi had been ordered at all. We were late as a result. There was no way of regulating the room temperature, other than a rather restricted fan.

    The staff were always friendly and (apparently) helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.3
    Like sleeping in a sauna
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on a warm day, there was NO air conditioning anywhere in this hotel, the bedrooms were like a sauna 26 degrees at midnight, only given old fans to try and cool down the room. for a premium branded hotel this was very disappointing.

    The location and staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant four night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need toilets by the bar / lounge and not one floor down

    The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Iikrd the rural setting and the large bar / lounge. A few potted plants on the deck would enhance it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location but far from the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A choice of bedding found our room very hot. For people with mobility issues, a lift would be great.

    The location and the atmosphere. Most of the staff were very good. Breakfast selection was very good. Liked the pub next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very dififcult to get hold of the hotel if you need to call them. But stick with it, you will eventually get hold of the right people. Pool is only 15m.

    Bed was very comfortable Room was the correct temperature overall, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    Do not book in here on a Sunday evening
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The false advertising on the web, I checked the menu before booking, but when we went to dine the menu had been reduced to a choice of only 3 main meals,all of which were poor.When complaining the staff said that complaints were normal on a Sunday evening.

    Staff were very good but frustrated with higher management,Do not come to this hotel on a Sunday and expect then menu to be the one advertised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One or two more vegie/vegan options than were available would have attracted us to the Restaurant...

    The bed was wonderful, the full English breakfast was superb, it was peaceful, pretty and the pool sauna Jacuzzi was great especially if you can get in out of peak times. Had a TV fault, they replaced it in 30 minutes. Very pleasant stay for a Cotswold car visit base. Strong recommendation from us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.7
    Good for a hotel but not if you want proper spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact there was no where around the pool area to chill out as only had 4 loungers lined up next time each other by the jacuzzi no seating around the pool to chill out. Very small facilities considering advertised as a spa hotel.

    The bar area with the outdoor seating areas was fantastic. The rooms were cosy and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    Certainly looking forward to our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Brea kfast was very disapointing. Ingredients quality was poor. Black Pudding - totally dry , brittle and inedible. Hash Brown like cardboard, Bacon - tough. The rest very unappetising. Lack of an alternative Menu For such items as Poached Egg

    Very satisfied with our room and furniture and cleanliness throughout. All Hotel staff were helpful, courteous and pleasant. Evening dinner Menu very impressive and meals well prepared and presented. Thoroughly enjoyed each e vening. We would certainly recommend this Hotel Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Short but very comfortable
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Window was open when I arrived at 10pm & Until Ibwent to bed I was chilly

    Upgraded I was on my own in a twin & given a king Thank you Breakfast great choice x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great value in the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is quite low level which meant some rooms were a long way from reception and on different levels which made it difficult for elderly residents (no lifts to these rooms)

    Generally the hotel was well kept. Breakfast was exceptional. Grounds well maintained. Spa and pool were good (although Steam room was under maintenance).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    Becoming an average hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricing structure doesn't encourage short notice booking, I've stayed there about once a month for 18 months and when I asked with seven days notice if I can book a room they tell me that £175 is it.

    It's convenient for where I work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.5
    Its a pleasant stay at this hotel but not memorable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was very warm during my stay and therefore I opened my window to allow air into my room. Due to my room being directly above an outside seating area adjacent to the bar which due to the fine weather was quite busy, this did make my room quite noisy.

    Check-in was quick and easy. The room was fine if a little small (109). Great location for easy drive into Cheltenham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    lovely staff, nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no robes, no fridge no slippers in the room.

    staff were warm and welcoming, breakfast was nice but not up to the same standard as some of the other Hiltons I have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in a very pleasant part of England
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    We found our room very adequate, the shower in the bathroom particularly good and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very pleasant and as much as you wanted and the evening dinner good choice of menu and excellent food, nicely presented

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get hot water to run to have a bath and flowed slowly. Shower was good.

    We arrived 30 minutes early, the staff checked if the room was ready and aloud us to book in straight away. Leisure facilities was good and relaxing. Room small but comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.5
    The setting was nice and I appreciated the warm cookie and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there during a heat wave and the hotel does not have air conditioning and it was stifling hot in our room. They provided us with a fan but it was still very warm in the room.

    The setting was nice and I appreciated the warm cookie and check-in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant relaxing weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    The staff were excellent,very efficient and pleasant. The restaurant manager was particularly helpful and well organised. Bedroom was spacious, the king sized bed extremely comfortable. The gym equipment in the leisure club was top of the range.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Extra comfortable bed, professional staff, extra cookies and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was open for anyone, not just for hotel members and people could bring in inflatable toys. The pool is narrow anyway with these toys it was impossible to enjoy to swim.

    Extra comfortable bed, professional staff, extra cookies and cleanness of the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful place, great staff - wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were too hot, no air con, couldn't leave the window open as there was a function going on until after 12. Fan was a little desktop fan screwed to the wall. Fans were covered in dust had to clean them prior to use.

    Staff were fantastic, property was beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.0
    Overall not a pleasant stay for the price we paid.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no full fat (blue top) milk available in the entire hotel for my 2 year old daughter. No answer on the room service line, tried on several occasions and no answer. Finally when I did manage to get through the food was appalling, ordered a club sandwich which was burnt on top of having to pay £5 tray service, when the menu clearly states £2.50. The increase in prices is unjustifiable! Not many options in the breakfast buffet, coffee machine was broken on one of the days. We were in a very small room with our toddler and the room was not cleaned properly through out our 3 night stay, not hoovered and simple amenities were not replaced such a toilet roll, shower gel and English breakfast tea. Service was quick upon request for these which was good.

    staff were polite and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property was good all round but they need to state that there are stairs, particularly for disabled guests.

    The rooms were big and clean and very comfortable. The evening meal was lovely. Very good food. The breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Hotel in nice location. Beds very comfy. staff attentive, nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hotel in a lovely location. We had a twin room and it was a great size. Some hotels I have stayed in over the weekend were smaller and seemed stuffy. Hotel even supplied a stand for your suitcase which most don't seem to these days. Plenty of shampoo/conditioner etc. Nice clean towels. Received a large cookie upon arrival which was supposed to be warm. I didn't eat it immediately so can't remember if it was actually warm but it tasted lovely. Grounds were nice and there is a fabulous health club on site. Unfortunately I couldn't use it as had surgery last week. Food in restaurant was good and great choice at breakfast. Good size car parks too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.5
    \\\nice comfortale room ut long long walk from reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very cold and it was a very long walk from reception to our room at the end of a very long corridor and down two flights of stairs Food expensive

    Only stayed one night. Room very clean and ed very large slept well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything, the room was far too small for a couple, we had no view apart from hearing traffic on the front. The fact that if you was trying to enjoy a meal people with spa treatments were walking in the restaurant in gowns and slippers

    Nothing to be honest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    A good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot of circulation in the room Got a bit stale even with window open and a fan. Need AC.

    A good experience Double Tree does it well Good location and facilities Staff well trained and attentive Not having to go through reception every time was a plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing, wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed in many hotel rooms and I have to say this is the most disappointing stay I have had. The room was small, the TV was positioned facing a cupboard and couldn't be moved. I expected it to be on a swivel stand so you could turn it to face the bed.The room service was terrible. I made around 10 phone calls to room service in the morning, 1 to ask for a razor and 2 to replace the orange juice they had brought up to apple juice which I had asked for. I ended up getting through around an hour later. By then it was too late for the apple juice as we had finished breakfast but I ordered the razor. The breakfast was served cold.

    The room was clean.The reception desk staff on arrival were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent one night stopover in Cheltenham
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 119 very small & very warm for a double. We travelled with our dog & were landed with a £15 “extra cleaning” charge which was not specified on the up front agreed price on booking.com or when we checked in. This needs to be clearly stated up front (the hotel did withdraw it after we complained).

    Excellent friendly helpful staff in all departments, great location, characterful building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.6
    An excellent kid free overnight stay for me and my husband.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I requested a room near health club but we were at the other end of the hotel. Robes had seen better days. Pool very small. It wasn't busy when we were there but it wouldn't be great at peak times.

    The staff at the hotel were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was fantastic and they served Starbucks coffee which pleased me no end. It was exceptionally clean and lovely and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    Happy to stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing the road at the front of the hotel so there was a traffic noise however, it was not too noticeable during the night.

    Room was equipped with a comfy bed and clean and functional bathroom with a bath tub. Staff was friendly and helpful. Welcome cookie at check in was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.7
    This was a good hotel for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and stuffy. The window had reduced opening. It seems to be a known problem as there is a fan mounted on the wall which worked well but of course was noisy. If you are not as used to cold rooms as I am this was a nice room and the bathroom although small was very clean and nice

    This was a good hotel for the price. Rooms ok size although small. Bathroom was nicely fitted out and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.4
    WILL DEFINATELY GO BACK BUT NEEDS TO IMPROVE MORE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    MY ROOM WAS EXTREMELY HOT DURING THE NIGHT. NO AIR CONDITIONING. NO LIFT TO TAKE UP TO MY ROOM HAD T USE THE STAIRS.

    THE HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND TIDY. STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.9
    Big size room with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming and exercise facilities are separated from hotel room and have memebers that are not hotel guest.

    Breakfast is very good. The rooms on the first floor do not have to use lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.9
    Good, but could be a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff was obviously stressed by the number of guests, so service was fairly perfunctory and some staff members were clearly in early stages of training. The food was fine without being outstanding, but the menu was unimaginative.

    The room was spacious and clean, and access to the parking lot was convenient from the room we occupied. The location was convenient for our purposes, and the front desk staff were very helpful. The fitness centre facilities were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Generally good but could improve on a few things
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed were reasonably comfortable. Breakfast could be better. Needed to replenish food quicker. Dinner choice limiting if you are having more than more evening meal here. First course was tastier than the mains. A long walk from far end of car park to rooms if you have mobility problems.

    The hotel in general was good. Nice restaurant with good view. Hotel was clean. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay in elegent Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, a great stay.

    After staying in the Hampton By Hilton last week in Oxford this was on another level, this is an excellent hotel and befitting of elegent Cheltenham, great staff, lovely welcome and room was of a much higher and spacious standar that the Hampton By Hilton which is an 'identikit' hotel and standards are very low. Doubletree do the job properly and I would defintely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.0
    Nice , Clean and beautifully located average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t feel Hilton at all. Spa facilities didn’t feel adequate for the size of the hotel . the spa itself feels better when there are nice essence when you enter and around the facility . Room service was the worst , had to call reception to get anything . Price of £139 I paid isn’t reflective of the place . A refrigerator in the room, More vegetarian choices at the main restaurant . pub food to be made available in restaurant too as it is the same hotel , no Aircon and understand why but wall mounted fans could be better as in summers it would be difficult to stay in that room.

    like the cleanliness of the rooms , i had an interconnected rooms and were really king size giving a lot of space. Area is surrounded by lovely woodlands and good for a walk and some fresh air . location wise it isn’t too far if driving around from Bourton on Water and Lower Slaughters .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    Good room, let down on a few things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A cheap room boosted in price by an additional £30 because I had 2 very small dogs with me. I accept that I have to pay an excess for having an animal. But £15 per dog is excessive, especially when the dogs weigh 2 kilo each and yet someone can take 1 20 kilo dog and pay one price. The room was nice, however as we were placed next to a fire exit, this was used for the cleaners to move things in and out. This was extremely noisy the next morning, as they used a metal ramp and the noise caused by this, meant there was no chance of a lie in. Shame really cause these little things would deter me in going back.

    Nice room - value for money, minus the additional £30 dog charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    I've stayed there nearly once a month for the last two years and it's close to where I work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self service breakfasts are rarely good and this one seems to be getting worse. On the plus side you no longer have to make your own tea, but the eggs although hot have the consistency of bullets.

    The rooms are big as are the beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a let down. The room you have breakfast in feels like a canteen and the bacon was practically raw, the hash browns not cooked well and eggs cold. A real shame as it's a great hotel but breakfast was a no no.

    Lovely hotel. Very nice and comfortable bedrooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found it quite loud in the morning around 9 o clock I believe this was because of the housekeepers The telly was very small and we couldn't watch it because it kept losing signal

    Very clean, lovely big room, bed was very comfortable, staff were lovely and welcoming, in a good location only took us about 10 minutes to get into the centre of Cheltenham

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    5.8
    Expected better overall service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Garden view room, I would question definition - overlooked a small grassed area, and wooded area. first look showed dogs doing business on grassed area. this was not a garden. Hotel sprawled up hill and down every direction, all stairways no lifts - not a wheelchair friendly hotel. Television did not work in the room. Hand towel ring on wall kept falling off, not tightened properly. Not enough bath towels in the room for 2 people staying.

    Breakfast was good. Pool facilities were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm nit picking here, but the bedroom doors could close more quietly.

    This place was quite a surprise. I'd booked it expecting a bland corporate hotel but the warm welcome on arrival set a standard of service that was maintained. Very comfortable bed and spacious room and I was delighted to find that it was dog friendly. I will definitely use again when on business trips to Cheltenham.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    I won't be going back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold and not clean. Areas were dusty and sticky. The car park was along way from the room and there were two flights of stairs and no lift. At breakfast a single cup of tea was provided with no opportunity to refill! The food quality was poor. The toilet was built for giants an my feet were six inches off the ground when I sat on it.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    5.8
    We tried to order room service.
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We tried to order room service. No one answered the phone. We called reception. They put us on hold and then the line got cut off. We tried calling reception back again. No one answered. We went to reception and ordered the food. Said it would be 10 mins. But it was 30. We relayed this info at checkout and they said thanks for the feedback and no one has been in touch. Despite a sign being up everything saying if it wasnt right we will try and make it right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The staff were lovely. Really comfy bed and very clean room. Only regret is that it was a short overnight stay and couldn't stay longer and sample the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but much better places can be found nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant is not great, but mind you, the pub next door is absolutely terrible! Quite a rigid place, not much flexibility. Staff doesn't seem very interested in their job. The top floor gets really warm when the sun is shining, rooms in the downstairs area appeared to be much cooler. Not geared towards children at all.

    Breakfast was good, friendly cleaners. Large rooms. Hardly any English staff, which gives the place a nice international touch. I wonder what they will do after brexit to be honest, as pretty much everyone seemed to be from Bulgaria :-D

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were fantastic - just lovely and v professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room - esp. the shower room. My parter couldn’t sit on the toilet straight without bashing knees and no room to dry. Thin walls - could hear people all around - next doors telly etc.

    The staff were fantastic - just lovely and v professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.5
    It is all a bit tired
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food

    The hotel is on three floors with reception, dining room and my bedroom all on different floors with no lifts. My bedroom was a very very long way from everywhere. Dinner was poor and restaurant had no atmosphere (and not any customers)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was overlooking a Dumped Bin and they want to charge £30 more for Garden view even though it was advertised for 10 pounds more on Booking.com - on the advertise was included breakfast for the value I paid but they charged extra for the breakfast. Very disappointing experience

    The Garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    Ideally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in not till 3pm and room still wasn’t ready. ‘The Hotel is very busy’ - yes, they usually are. If you can’t manage to get the rooms turned around by 3pm then make the checkout time 11am instead of 12.

    Close proximity to bus stop into Cheltenham. Rooms spacious, although all I could see from my window was a wall! Plenty of parking. Nice but pricey restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay & staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room was a bit small, but everything was there & it was only an overnight stay for us.

    The breakfast was good & the staff at breakfast were good also, attentive & polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    The warm cookies on arrival were a lovely surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fridge in the room would have been nice. With there being no air con in the hotel, to have some cold water readily available would be perfect

    The warm cookies on arrival were a lovely surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: