Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chequers Hotel 4 stars

Old Rectory Lane, Pulborough, RH20 1AD, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Pulborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 353 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we were given the front Room (3) which is on the main road outside. Traffic was pretty infrequent but I imagine some people will need to request a different room if that noise bothers you.

    Rooms were clean, well decorated and of a good size for a country hotel like this. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, staff were all excellent from check in to check out. The sitting rooms and garden are all plenty spacious as well, and set in what is a beautiful building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful hotel, we were going to a wedding arrived at 10.30am while our room wasn't quite ready we could use it to change and get ready for the wedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    Lovely old hotel sympathetically renovated A really nice atmosphere, somewhat quaint but that is to be applauded. I would certain use the same hotel when I am in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The breakfasts were excellent - yoghurt with fruit, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a wide choice of cooked items. I had several dinners and they were all cooked to perfection. I loved the nestbox cam; a pair of bluetits were nesting in the garden and had managed to rear 7 chicks. It was more entertaining than early evening TV!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was rather cramped for two and rather noisy from busy road.

    Friendly staff, excellent food and lovely garden. Birdcam on tits nesting a real bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The friendly atmosphere was immediate. A great welcome and assistance with our luggage. Nice to be seen to our room and explanations. Lynnette and John were the perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble. The dining experience was really excellent. Our meals were so tasty and plenty of it. The lamb cutlets were mmmmm. We will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our triple room woudl have been quite small if we had actually stayed there with 3 people (we were 2). A typical English double bed is quiet small for two dutch adults.

    Loved the owners, and lady who served dinner. All very friendly and helpful. Good dinner and breakfast. All exactly as advertised so no surprises. Great location, ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable although some rooms a little on the small side, good ensuite facilities. The cooked breakfast is of a very good standard. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room as it was on the small size & the sink was in an awkward place ☹️

    The room was very comfortable including the bed. The garden was beautiful, relaxing & peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious and the food in the evening was very nice and the breakfast aswell. We were travelling with a 11 month old baby and they had a babycrib for us to use and we ased for an boiled egg in the morning for him and there was no problem. He could crawl around the dining area and had a high chair if he wanted and we felt very comfortable. Reasonbly far from Gatwick and in a nice area-nature reserve where we had a stroll.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a tad on the small side - but there was a comfortable sitting-room in which to sit when I wanted.

    Friendly helpful staff. Light dining room in conservatory, in which I felt perfectly comfortable eating alone. Spotlessly clean bedroom and en-suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is wonderful, with no sur-charge for their fabulous eggs Benedict. Also, the snug is a lovely cosy place to have a night cap with other members of your party.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the location was poor. There are no other choices to eat out within walking distance and Pulborough itself was depressing.

    The staff were excellent, particularly in the restaurant. The food was good too and cooked fresh to order. Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny washbasin in bathroom. Smallish room but for a couple of nights it was fine.

    Located within 100 m of where we were attending a family party so perfectly located for us. Friendly and efficient owner and staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault any aspect of stay ........ would like to have stayed longer.

    Warm welcome, room was up-graded, great glass of Merlot while relaxing watching tv and reading local Sussex magazines.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *Very busy road in front - nothing to be done about that, traffic seems to be terrible in the area. Lovely exit on foot out the back though.

    Ideal location for our purposes (visit to Petworth and RSPB Pulborough); lovely room & facilities; very comfortable bed; nice sitting space downstairs; great breakfast; nice proprietors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel owners are very welcoming,the sitting room had a beautiful fire lit and the furniture and soft furnishing were beautiful.We stayed in Room 7 The Googwood had a beautiful four poster bed very comfortable and a lovely bathroom with gorgeous soft towels.Have already booked a return visit in March,and John is a very good chef food was excellent and a fantastic breakfast first class .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about the slightly wonky/broken toilet seat

    Nice room with lovely views. Spacious bedroom & bathroom. Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was very nice with lots to choose from & very attentive staff. Especially liked the slightly later check out time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 3pm but could not get in Had to phone and told to wait Another 10 Minutes. Private bathroom across the corridor very inconvenient

    Country house atmosphere Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a superior room which was spacious, comfortable and stylish. Lovely meal evening meal and good value. Great breakfast. Charming hosts and waitress. We’ll be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Very cosy room, excellent shower, and comfortable bed. Lovely breakfasts with plenty of choice. Pleasant views from conservatory style dining room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass shelf above the wash basin in the bathroom should be moved as one cannot lower one face comfortably.

    Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room just looked out over a road, but it was still quiet.

    My sister and I both had pretty rooms with very comfortable beds, she stayed in Amberley which has a lovely bathroom. I liked the cosy lounge with its big open fire. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was generous and delicious, and we looking our over the garden. I was impressed that both gluten-free toast and lactose-free milk were available although I hadn't arranged for them in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Room extremely small ...hitting shins against bed ends. Told no other room available (although we had booked well in advance via Booking.com).Also told ALL rooms have same tariff at weekends despite size.....and that if we had booked direct with them instead of via Booking.com we might have got a better deal.!!!!! 2. Single glazing....frosty outside and condensation in the small room.. damp. Fan inadequate. Told although frosty outside should have opened window!!!!!The landlord was unpleasant when we phoned him and had a bullying tone. 3. On departure an extra £80 was added....queried this and told 'because it's Sunday'. Arrived Friday departed Sunday morning.. Booking.com had given no warning. We had gifted this hotel stay to our relatives and had given them the £240 as this was the tariff according to our reservation via Booking.com. our relatives were embarrassed and had to pay the extra by card. They said the landlord had a bullying tone and they heard another guest queryibg his exyra £80. 4. In spite of informing The Chequers Hotel by text in response to theirs of ETA, our relatives arrived to find the pkace locked up. ... Landlord out at the supermarket! 5. We will never use this hotel again, although we have reason to stay in Pulborough quite often. 6. We have doubts about using Booking.com again. Our 2nd time of using but won't risk again.

    Clean room and ensuite. Nicely cooked and served meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (no.1) was a little too close to the restaurant, which means could be noisy at times

    Very friendly staff, clean and cosy room and very nice 'lobby' (felt more like a living room), incl. toys for kids. Great location for South Downs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If coming by train, don't walk along the road down the hill, too much traffic. Take the pedestrian walkway over the road and then up the hill

    Don't miss dinner, it is off the rails good! Personal service from the owner. Free Breakfast! Close by bus to Petworth House and its amazing house and grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people running hotel were very helpful and accommodating especially when we asked if we could have an early breakfast . Superb breakfast and highly recommend having an evening meal there. Lovely comfortable room - although a little compact. .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was

    Lovely old building. Unique rooms, well laid out and decorated. Lovely furnishings and bedding. Comfortable bed - giving a great night's sleep. On site restaurant, serving delicious food, locally sourced where possible. Breakfast really delicious with lots on offer. Finally, lovely warm welcoming hosts and staff who completed the perfect stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing

    The whole experience exceeded my expectations everything was perfect for me and Zi shall have no hesitation to returning and recommending to others

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    theres nothing to say

    the area it was beatiful good walking to local pub nice freindly staff lovely hotel the food was out of this world i would come hear again ,very clean lovely garden with loads going on .the history of the hotel 1528 thats old and i love things this old ,like the church across the road grade 1 listed all the area must be near the same age thank you for stay will stay again..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfortable and convenient overnight stop for Gatwick airport [about 40-minute drive], with small restaurant for evening meal and full English breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instructions for electric shower would have helped; working TV might have been useful

    Full English breakfast was perfect; afternoon tea was plentiful; opening of the bar upon request was useful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was small and dipped in the middle, room a bit small but adequate for one night. Breakfast on the whole was good but sausage not cooked properly. More of an upmarket B and B than a hotel, main restaurant closed on Sundays, no late check in.

    Quaint hotel, staff friendly especially breakfast waitress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners where wonderful and really welcomed us well... rooms are fabulous and unique we had a four poster bed.. breakfast wax the best we've ever had massive thank you 🥂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The web site photo looks like the property is in a secluded farming area. Truth is it is on the main road. TV had one channel. Doorway to ensuite was around five foot high. This was the fourth property that we stayed in over a seven day period, the most expensive, the lowest rating.

    The breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to criticise. Hotel has made the best in modernising an old building and use of confined space creatively and without losing its charm

    Selection of good walks through glorious country direct from the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely garden for a summer evening. There is always a good welcome here - I have stayed several times before - and a good selection of dishes on the dinner menu.Comfortable and friendly small hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior decoration needs some updating. Bed was hard and noise from neighbouring rooms bathroom fan kept us awake. Service is very poor for the standard advertised. There seemed to be a staff shortage as there was rarely anyone at reception or around to order a drink. It functions more as a B&B than hotel. On one ocassion guests were locked out of the hotel during the daytime. Very slow service in the restaurant and limited choice at breakfast for the rate paid.

    Character building and pretty garden. Nice location close to church and a supermarket and 10 min walk from the station. Cosy sitting area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worthy of complaint.

    This was a small hotel but the attitude of staff and the atmosphere within the hotel was excellent. The menu was good and food excellent. They operated a novel practice not found before: One of the reception rooms was laid out as a small curio shop with various items for sale and lots of the artefacts and furnishings displayed within all of the rooms could be purchased also. Very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I'd say that probably wasn't OK for me and it is a personal thing, I found the bed too hard.

    This hotel is a wonderful find!! The owners are great and the overall feel is home from home. ( with a great chef doing the cooking : )) ! The room was lovely and all the guest areas well thought out and very comfortable, clean and imaginative!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    From the outside the property looked special and we weren't disappointed. Fantastic friendly warm welcome. Delightful room full of lovely extra touches which added to its loveliness. Comfy bed. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom. Wandering through the house to the conservatory I managed to sneak a few looks into the other reception rooms and really wished we were staying longer to make the most of our stay! All the rooms were beautifully, tastefully decorated inviting you to enter them. Evening meal/ breakfast was served in the spacious conservatory overlooking a beautiful English garden. Warm friendly service. Good served quickly and piping hot. Nothing was too much trouble. A truly delightful overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like. Such a pleasant stay on our way to Cornwall.

    Quiet location and immediate access to the public foot path. Also, close enough to walk to the next village for dinner in the pub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nobody on reception (or anywhere!) when we tried to check-in. Left waiting outside in the rain, fortunately not for long though.

    A charming, historic little hotel, surrounded by beautiful countryside. Spotlessly clean rooms, sumptuous breakfasts and polite, friendly staff. There is a large carpark and the village train station is only a fifteen minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice for someone to be there when we arrived at 3pm The door was locked and we had to wait 45 minutes for the owner to arrive, not very professional. Outside could do with a spruce up!

    the bed was extremely comfortable and large. the room was a good size and a huge television

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in bed room nor sitting room at first. Took a while to warm up. Fine once warm. Poached eggs over cooked. Friendly service.

    Historic quirky building in beautiful countryside. Nice dinner - the mornay sauce was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    The location was excellent for us being very close to Pulborough Brooks RSPB reserve and Arundel. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good - especially the home-made yoghurts!! Our room was lovely and clean and had a coffee machine which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise bathroom which was private to us was across the hall

    Beautiful dining room and breakfast room. Good food overlooking lovely garden. Attention to detail, clean, pleasant area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Blue Tit's eggs to have hatched as they had a webcam in their nesting box!

    The ambiance is absolutely fantastic 0- nice setting, food first class, both Lisette and John are wonderful hosts. Room really comfortable. First class place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed itself showed signs of age/wear and on one side the springs were poking out.

    We were staying to attend a funeral and our room faced the church and churchyard. We could not have been closer, nor could it have been more convenient. Amazing. Breakfast was very pleasant with many choices on offer, although the scrambled eggs were not entirely scrambled. The linen was superb and the towels were excellent. Lighting very good and well equipped tea/coffee tray. Very comfortable lounge and we enjoyed having a drink there in the evening. A really first class dinner in the restaurant, which was charming with the conservatory lit by candles all round. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. We enjoyed some delightful walking in the area round the hotel, and also sitting in the sun in the garden reading our papers. Such a restful and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with the breakfast ... we ordered eggs benedict, one had with salmon and one with ham. The eggs were virtually hard poached, the muffins were leathery, the ham was very thick cut and more like gammon and the béchamel sauce was thick and gloopy like thick set custard. The garden although could be charming was quite messy with vast areas covered with dead, decomposing slimy brown magnolia flowers from the large central tree. After check-in earlier we arrived back to the hotel (really a B&B) at 8:30pm to find the main door locked and all downstairs in darkness and the bar area door closed and also in darkness, a night cap would have been nice.

    The staff were lovely. The room albeit very small was clean and adequate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to the four-poster room with en-suite shower over a roll top bath, giving us the choice of bathing or showering. The room had antique/vintage furniture and the bed was very comfortable. We were able to select our own level of heating in the room. The food at breakfast and dinner, served in the airy conservatory was delicious with plenty of choice and all was well cooked. Lovely hosts made us very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting attractive building very attractively furnished. Proprietors were warm, friendly and attentive. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast there, walks locally with a very pleasurable walk around Pulborough Brooks. We will very happily recommend the benefits of staying locally exploring villages we had only ever driven through before.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reed diffuser in our room gave out a very powerful and overwhelming aroma, which to our sense of smell was too strong.

    Well appointed, clean and comfortable room. The breakfasts were delicious and a good size. (We did not need lunch after.)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately since we stayed during a working week there wasn't a lot of activity in the evening & therefore there was a lack atmopshere in the snug & restaurant, but the food in the restaurant was delicious & beautifully presented

    This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are delightful (they are a little shabby-chic but then the hotel is old so it's totally to be expected) cleanliness is super. The breakfast is definitely the BEST one of the week.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry - can not think of anything we did not like.

    From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Our bedrooms were clean and well furnished. We slept like logs. Our evening meal was delicious and breakfast could not have been better. The visitors' lounge was very inviting with a good array of reading material.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was fantastic

    Everything was perfect ! Very homely and welcoming. Staff were lovely and friendly, food was excellent , hotel was very clean. myself and my family had a lovely relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a tapping noise coming from the roof that did disturb me thru the night, I mentioned this to the manager in the morning and was told that it was a loose cable.

    A good clean hotel with the manager very welcoming, the hotel did close its doors at 10pm but the manager did stay up for my arrival at 10.45. The cooked English breakfast was also very good 10/10. Would I go back again, yes but fix that loose cable.!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was poor (because of the age of the building) and the shower wasn't the best (pressure was weak). But that didn't really detract from a lovely stay.

    Fantastic breakfast and lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved

    Just a fabulous place so quiet and owners very friendly and food service was excellent.. will go back again on our anniversary

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was not ensuite, but it was private, I.e. We had a key and no other guests could use it. In a building of this age you have to expect some compromises and it was only a minor one for us. Most rooms do have an ensuite bathroom I believe. Otherwise, it would have been 10 out of 10.

    Hotel was very nice. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Food was lovely. We had breakfast and dinner and both were delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was good.

    Good size room with plenty of coffee and tea and quality soap and shampoo etc. The restaurant has a good selection of food and wine and our meal was first class. The breakfast selection was great with the full English being very tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed in the mattress. Small room with bottom bed stead that I kept hitting my legs on to get round.

    Warm, relaxing atmosphere, very good food and friendly people

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved the historic atmosphere of the hotel and the staff with an old fashioned idea of what real service is. The room was comfortable and clean and the meals and service in the dining room was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not One Complaint

    Perfect Stay - Beautiful Location - Friendly Hosts - Great Service - Superb Food (Steak was delicious as was Breakfast) - Good Value - Gorgeously Decorated Clean Room with Hot Chocolate provided - Loved Everthing - Beautiful House

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived after 7 and there was only one parking space left. Would have liked perhaps a bit more choice other than vegetable sides for cooked breakfast eg hash browns, croissants but this is a very minor comment.

    Beautiful four poster bedroom - oldy worldy building and so close to the business venue I was working at. They had marmite - always a plus in my eyes!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let us wait 30 min in the freezing cold at before midnight and told us that it was too late to check in. We arrived late due to a flight delay. The rooms were extremely noisy as well and the full english breakfast was horrible.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water not very hot for a bath later in the evening

    Ideal location Friendly staff Free Parking Breakfast good - extensive menu Comfortable beds Exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay longer and experience the full hospitally of the owners

    A nice drop of beer on arrival. A quick stop over on way to son's graduation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely a gorgeous room which was spotlessly clean and very comfy. The breakfast was delicious and the owners made you feel very welcome, will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had no window just an hatch and a very low doorway to a windowed area, the main light didn't work so I was restricted to a lamp to see. My bed was so hard that I really couldn't sleep well, even laying on top of the folded duvet. I was very glad to leave.

    Lovely breakfast, overlooking the garden. The whole place was warm and with a comfortable lounge. Parking adjacent. Friendly and helpful host. Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm, cosy, quiet bedroom,excellent pressure from shower, easy parking, easy access to Gatwick. Food was fresh and beautifully cooked and presented. Lovely, guest sitting room with wood fire. We were so well looked after we felt indulged.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife did not have shower cap.

    Large comfortable room, all necessary items available. Old building with loads of character. Good breakfast in nice surround.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    We were on a golf trip nearby and needed a nice bed for the night. We arrived late and the hotel prepared some lovely food for us at 9pm and then the breakfast was the best I had had in ages. Overall a really nice experience with very kind attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it at all and will go back.

    Very clean, wonderful big room with chaise lounge and espresso machine. Huge TV, and large en suite. Very pleasant and attentive owners and staff. Lounge available for residents.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom floor sloped so that the bed did too!

    Breakfast was delicious, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the conservatory where we ate breakfast light and airy. The hotel had a lot of character and the location very handy for our weekend.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: