Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Cherwood Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

26 Garfield Road, Paignton, TQ4 6AX, United Kingdom

#38 of 75 hotels in Paignton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm, it could eg do with a fan. The seagulls were very loud, but that's something out of their control.

    Hazel helped us with directions, we had a loverly breakfast, she's the perfect host. The room was clean and as discribed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, 2 mins walk from town and seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, 2 mins walk from town and seafront. Clean room, nicely decorated. Comfy bed and good nights sleep. Lovely hosts Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay with very warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hazel and David are very nice and they treated us so well that we felt like being at home. Their sons were in the same age as our son and they played together. The breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    I got to the hotel early as i arrived by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got to the hotel early as i arrived by train. I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while i went paddleboading. I later turned up and was showen my room which was a lovley airy room with a big window. There was plenty of tea and coffee and when i ran out of milk for my tea it was no problem getting more. The bed was a delight as when my head hit the pillow i was gone. Breakfast, well there do not skimp on breakfast. It was cooked fresh and tasted lovley with plenty of tea \ coffee and toast. I would definitely be recommending this place to friends as i feel it was the best little. B&B in Paignton. It was a shame i was only there one night. Thanks again.. Paul.....Paddleboarder.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    A really lovely guest house with a warm friendly welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    A really lovely guest house with a warm friendly welcome and well looked after during our two night stay. The breakfast was a good size to set you up for your day. The room (4) was a lovely size for a family of 4, the kids loved the fact that they had bunk beds and a tv in their little cubby part of the room. The bed gave us the best nights sleep we have had in a while.More than ample storage space for clothing etc. Will defiantly be going back there as it is right on the front where the action is. All round very happy to have booked there .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    A really pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband found stairs difficult but only because he had hurt his knee day before we stayed.

    Good position close to shops & beach. Help with parking. Nice place, owners & facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts were courteous and only to willing to help if you had a problem. Room was lovely and grandaughter loved the fact she had seperate bedroom space. Food good. Set just off sea front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Owners were very welcoming and helpful during our short stay...
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners were very welcoming and helpful during our short stay - only wish we could have stayed longer! I would happily recommend this place to friends and family! Hope we will be able to return soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Best bed and breakfast in paighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were really friendly and couldn't of done anymore to make our stay pleasurable. The room was nice and clean and bed was really comfy. Tge location was perfect. No more than a 2 min walk to anything we needed (restaurants pubs beach etc) tbe price was reasonable as well. Breakfast was really nice for us and the kids. I will deffo be returning again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Bank Holiday scorcher!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family room at top of building had very small window and as the weather was hot it became overheated. It was quite uncomfortable for all of us and one son had to dampen a towel and sleep on the to keep cool! A fan would have been a good idea. This won't be the only hot time in the year!

    Nicely done up, modern style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. They work hard to ensure you have a nice stay and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is well modernised and very clean. Central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    A great place to base ourselves to then go and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was so clean and comfortable. A lovely B&B that we plan on staying in again. Made to feel welcome when we arrived and a lovely breakfast in the morning before we set off again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Made to feel welcome from the very first minute that we arrived. The owners were exceptional, gave us bottles of water on arrival and allowed us to drop our bags off even though we were early to check in. The room was lovely, spacious and decorated well. The guest house is situated centrally in Paignton with everything within walking distance. The breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay again as this is amazing value for money. Thank you Hazel and David for making our short break really enjoyable. Nick, Leanne, Riley and Honey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Really lovely bank hol stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Excellent breakfast! Hot and great choice. Lovely decorated rooms, attention to detail, toiletries, fluffy towels etc.Jackson family loved this place, Melissa & graham, holly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Brilliant B and B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hazel & David where very welcoming and so very accommodating.They went out of their way to make sure my children and I where comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and bang on time every morning. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    5star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hazel and Dave are amazing so friendly and lovely, will definitely be stopping again. Breakfast was amazing ( loved the eggs). We had bedroom 7 it was beautiful and a wonderful view. Bed was so comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The owners were so friendly and went out of their way to help with anything you needed, from food recommendations, to providing plates for a take-a-way, even allowing early check in when we got there after a long drive and were shattered!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Everything thing about our stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We,ll be going back later in the year so I think that says it all

    Everything thing about our stay was great. Lovely breakfast to start the day with lots of choice. Spotlessly clean room and a nice comfy bed. Hazel and david are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The Cherwood is close to everything in paignton and only a short walk from town, cinema and pier. Will deffo be back later in the year. See you soon. Dai & Jo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.2
    we had a fabulous couple of days. Hazel was lovely, very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wasn't very powerful but adequate, bathroom was cold. But I'm sure if we had mentioned it at the time radiator would have been sorted.

    Comfy. Home from home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff . child friendly and felt like a home away from home . great breakfast :) loved the fact the 3rd bed was kinda separate from double bed perfect for family's

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    We thank you so much for this warm welcome in this lovely...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thank you so much for this warm welcome in this lovely and familiar atmosphere of this hotel. It was a pleasure for us to meet Hazel, David and her Family. Open minded and helpful people. The house and the room are wonderful and comfortable. All what we happend for a great journey near the beach. We had a very good sleep, great Breakfast. Who loves warm and family atmosphere is absolutely right in Cheerwood Guesthouse. Thanks from Karina and Lisa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    5.4
    For the price we paid it was a huge disappointment: wish we had booked at a Premier Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The original room was only big enough for a single. Nowhere comfortable to sit. The shower room was like a cupboard plus faulty shower door. Changed room after couple of nights which was an improvement but still not perfect.

    Friendly owner. Easy access to public transport for travel out of Paignton.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    A very good B&B run by nice people in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything at all

    Everything - welcoming and helpful hosts, good room, clean, good breakfast, very convenient location close to seafront, trains and buses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    The perfect place for an enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only downside was some noise from the room above.

    The B & B hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable with everything you need. The breakfast was cooked fresh so lovely and hot and good choice of cereals. The B & B is very well situated, close to bus and train station with plenty of places to visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    Great time , would recommend it to anyone, would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault it

    Very comfortable bed , plenty of room for a single, good facilities, great breakfast Very friendly atmosphere , great hosts, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Cherwood Guest House. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just fine - nothing to be improved.

    We received a warm welcome on our arrival and the facilities were very clean and tidy. Our room was a good size, en suite, with one double bed and two bunk beds, all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent! The staff were very friendly and informative and we would definitely stay at The Cherwood again. We would also recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Paignton. It is very conveniently located, plenty to see and do, within easy walking distance or a short drive away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    great b&b !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the floorboards in our room were a bit squeeky, but considering the owners have only had the property for a week, they did ask if we thought anything needed changing they would see to it, they couldnt fix that whilst we were there so that will be sorted out of season, would we stay there again, definately! would have been nice to have had a tv/bar room for the evenings but dont think they have the space

    breakfasts were spot on, the bed was more comfortable than my own at home, clean, hosts were really friendly, helped out brilliantly with the parking, saved a lot of money thanks to Hazel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, prefect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice modern family hotel, owners are very friendly and nothig was too much trouble. Great choice on the breakfast menu, would recommend for anybody travelli g to paignton. Great location for the beach and town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should have offered a refund on the room due to unbearable stale smell in one of the rooms.

    Stale smell in one of the bedrooms we were given. Complained but no alternative rooms available and no offer of a refund.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay family friendly breakfast was lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    Wonderful place to stay family friendly breakfast was lovely even accomodated my fussy daughter. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.3
    Nice guest house in a central locatation, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little too small and it was quite difficult to use the wash basin as it was halfway behind the shower cubicle.

    The lady running the guest house was pleasant and breakfast was well cooked and good quality. The room was clean and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, affordable accommodation .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The 34 steps up to our room which was on the second floor is hard work if you are a senior citizen so make sure you stipulate a ground floor room when booking. Toilet seating was a bit cramped. No ceiling fans as advertised. Car parking facilities are situated in a car park one block across so well out of sight and are available at an additional cost.

    Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful about local information and sites. Owner is a gem. Clean. Good shower facility. Generous extras (shower gel, shampoo, coffee, emery boards, shoe shine cloths and tea etc.,)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Our stay was wonderful, Clean, lovely food and good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything.

    The bed& breakfast was excellent, the landlady is lovely and nothing was to much trouble, We will be staying there again , Very clean and lovely food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    10
    Great spur of the moment hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hot chocolate drink for young people who don't want tea or coffee! To Help unwind for bed time would be great.

    Short walk from the train station. Short walk to sea front/ shops/ adventure playground/ bars/ pubs. Room very clean, bed very comfortable and cosy. Nice bathroom, complimentary shower gel / soap etc. Stayed 1 night with my 9year old son. Free Wifi added bonus. Was able to order breakfast the night before and choose a time. Owner helped me to sort out onward travel to a local holiday park. We're able to leave luggage there until later in the day too! Definitely recommend. Would stay again, have already recommended to my mother in law for a possible future stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    My second stay at this property and I enjoyed my stay as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not fault it. Was very happy.

    My second stay at this property and I enjoyed my stay as much as the first. Cant fault it in the slightest. Room was excellent, breakfast was excellent with delicious local produce and the owner couldn't have been more welcoming. Made to feel very welcome. I have also just booked to stay again in August. Highley recommended to anyone wanting a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    9.2
    A proper B&B with warmth
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A public lounge would have been nice but not a dislike as such.

    Lovely homely feel, great breakfast and a really warm welcome from Lisa. A proper B&B Great location and a lovely play park near by for little people :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.2
    Nice Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing apart from small bathroom & the lack ok shelving to put your toiletries. But you get what pay for.

    Good Location with everything on the doorstep. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    10
    Can't wait to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location 1 minute from sea front Comfy big family room Yummy breakfast Great hosts- even brought a couple Easter eggs up to my room for the kids as it was Easter Sunday , thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Lovely, comfortable & welcoming. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is limited, however, there is a multi storey car park 2minute walk away, and you can ask the lovely host for a voucher for another car park just around the corner for £4.

    Ideal for the beach. Comfy beds, all in all, a lovely stay. Friendly host

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    6.3
    We are obviosly too old (in our early 80's) to enjoy the experience, and could not wait to get home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bed was small , hard & uncomfortable & the bed coverings too thin

    the room heating was left on all night, but the large,high ceiling room meant that it still felt cold& inadequate in March

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    How many ways can you say 'superb'?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    These are just niggles because overall, we had a great stay. We couldn't connect to the wifi as we weren't given a code and the volume on the TV was a little temperamental. The other thing was the shower stopped in the middle of me washing my hair. It came back cold but eventually warmed up again. As I said, niggles 😀

    The bed was, quite possibly, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The breakfast was really good and the host (Lisa) was very friendly and helpful, even allowing us to check in super early! It really is a lovely guest house in a superb location AND good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    Everything was fantastic! Owners were so welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Rooms were immaculate, spotlessly clean and had everything you could need .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice for a stay to Paignton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed out of season and have no complaints. Correct that there is no parking in Garfield Rd but this is of no fault of the owners. Parking was only a one minute walk away.

    Very clean and well decorated/ maintained. Very welcoming and friendly owner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice friendly place to stay our room a bit small room6
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have been a bit bigger really was a bit small for us but because we stayed in quieter time and cheaper prices because of this didn't ask to be put in a bigger room

    Very friendly owner good food location right beside the beach and pier nice clean room although really small had everything you need nice and warm comfortable place to stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really. The hotel met our requirements and a very competitive price.

    The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable and it looked like the whole place had been recently decorated. The owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    10
    10 out of 10. Worth every penny and Lisa the owner is extremely nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast nice and hot and bacon wasn't full of fat. Dining room was beautiful very clean and relaxing and tastefully decorated. Could find no faults at all. Also very good location, go one way and you are on seafront, go other way and are in the centre of Paignton with all the shops.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.6
    Great value and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired bed - the mattress was pretty uncomfortable (single room), very noisy floorboards (my own, and the room above), noise carried quite easily between the rooms. As a front facing room street lighting and traffic lit up the room at night.

    Great location, very friendly, easy parking (though it was out of season). Excellent price, especially convenient for the centre, seafront and the train station. Lisa was particularly welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    8.3
    Lovely accommodation spoilt by no parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking so given ticket for private pay & display where our car was vandalised

    Very friendly & welcoming. Breakfast was the best! Very generous portion & delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    7.9
    Good location for Beach and Shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedside table kept knocking everytime you turn over.I moved it away in the end.Loud ticking clock so we took the battery out and replaced in the morning.

    Room 5 double bed very comfy.Room clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    10
    We loved it 💜
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything that we disliked we was 100% happy with the accommodation the food and the owner/host :)

    The breakfast was lovely , The host was very helpful and friendly , the whole guest house was lovely we throughly enjoyed our stay , would and intend toogo again and would recommend :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    7.9
    Good location, helpful staff, some rooms acessed by 2 staircases
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No Wi-Fi coverage in our room on 2nd floor. Although I paid extra for a "sitting area" in our room, we were told that this was not available. No parking

    central location, pleasant and helpful staff Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    10
    perfect weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect, the owner is so friendly and helpful, room was lovely, breakfast first class, it is our 3rd stay, every time it has been excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    10
    excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room had everything I needed to make my stay perfect, light and airy room, bed excellent, t.v. and drinking facilities. close to town, beach and parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    10
    Made to feel at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't realise until the end of my stay that evening meals are available, maybe something to promote more? Other than that minor point, Lisa has got everything bang on - so I can't really think of a single criticism.

    The room has everything the solo traveller needs. I loved the versatility of breakfast choice, all freshly cooked and delicious. Lisa is a wonderful host, with pleasant and attentive staff. Location is superb - just a hop, skip & jump from the beach!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    6.3
    New single mattress needed urgently!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An old tired mattress with bed springs so prominent that sleeping [not] & sitting on it [no chair available] was uncomfortable to the point of making one sore.

    The free wi-fi works, signal is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    10
    A great b+b!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative - towels were rather small!

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the homecooked breakfast was fabulous - you could tell that quality ingredients had been used! The location was superb - round the corner from the beach and leisure facilities! All staff members that we encountered were extremely helpful and polite!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyed our seaside holiday with my grand daughters making lovely memoirs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. I really enjoyed our stay.

    Choice for breakfast. We had a family room which had plenty of space so we did not feel on top of each other..The room was very clean and well kept. I like the décor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    5.4
    You get what you pay for - facilities were adequate for a long weekend, but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a dreadful smell of drains in the shower. We were asked to indicate our choice of breakfast the night before. Despite this (and the ease with which such a thing could have been in the freezer) I was told when I arrived for breakfast that none was available. Neither shortcoming was apologised for.

    The guesthouse is situated near the sea front and in a good position for restaurants, the town and the steam train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    8.8
    A real comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    By last couple of days there was a noticeable odour coming from the loo, this disappeared when the seat was down, thankfully there were no leakages, but we were not in the room long enough to feel the need to make a fuss.

    Breakfast was between a good time of 0800-0900 and the menu varied. A form was popped in the room to change breakfast options on a daily basis. Other reviews stated that the beds were comfy, and I can definitely say I agree! So comfortable it was nice to get back from our long days out and get under the covers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and comfortable stay in brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a knack to locking my room door- unfortunately I didn't have it! However, staff were usually on hand and helpfully they did have the knack!

    Perfect poached eggs at breakfast which was tailored and timed to individual request. Staff were very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.1
    comfortable and enjoyable week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no parking at hotel only for unloading luggage. cost an extra £28 to park for the week. damp musty odour in our en-suite.

    fridge in the room useful. good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    8.3
    Had lovely time very welcoming great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I simply found the bed and pillows rather hard

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Very good location loved the ceiling fan

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    6.7
    all round very good breakfast and happy helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rather noisy at the front with speeding traffic and lorries in the street outside. some smell from bathroom toilet needs attention/ no parking at guest house so have to park and pay nearby or multi storey.

    all round very good breakfast and happy helpful staff. good sized room with all we needed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    10
    Wonderful Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfy bed and room, very clean and nicely furnished. Location is fantastic, stones throw from beach Hosts were friendly and welcoming Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast, staff friendliness, near the beach, near town centre. amazing place.. recommends to everybody.. I'll be back..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very clean hotel good breakfast would recommend to every body

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed staying here and so did the children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very homely b&b very welcoming lovely family run place. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Great value place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seagulls noisy, shower poor

    Proprietors, cleanliness, price, location, friendliness, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely place to stay. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast and cheerful, helpful, friendly owners. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    everything went to plan. Everyone left very happy with the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good breakfast, plenty to eat & good quality. Location good for sea front + railway & buses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Family friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    X
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    X

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent family value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great rooms. Extremely friendly and helpful Owner/Manager. Really good cooked breakfast. Young children made very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent experience. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    En suite was a bit on the small side.

    Room was tastefully decorated and our hosts were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendliness of staff. Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: