Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chessington Hotel 4 stars

Leatherhead Road, Chessington, KT9 2NE, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Chessington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1578 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey, esp for the weekend. Restaurant food is ok for the price. Location very good for the park but remote to everywhere else. Lots of children got up very early and shouting outside the room, it’s really noisy and not possible to not get up before 7.

    It’s the theme park hotel, so it’s easy to go to the park, and we booked room looking to the African animals with bunk bed for the little one. She was very happy and loved the room. Breakfast very good as well, lots of choice. Got early entry to the park, which saves a lot of waiting time before park is open to public.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed for daughter was a bit lumpy

    Very friendly general manager on the Sunday breakfast. Nothing was too much bother. All very friendly staff.. Lovely food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the buffet wasn’t very good atall. The roasted meat was ok but the rest tasted like over salted cupboard. The hotel seems to attract very heavy drinkers so the volume in the hotel is loud and quite crass, drunken rows breaking out etc.

    The pool although this is not included in the price which was poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room service was bad waited a hour to bring some shower gel. the cleaner was rude when approach for fresh towel as room service was taken too long. the view from the room was a dirty roof top . the break fast was cold and limited no pancake or any thing different for those who don't like egg or bacon. the toliet inside was dirty

    the swimming area and the view of the animals that was nice and the theme park. also the entrance and the staff at front desk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room needed descaling ,and housekeeping staff not very friendly completely ignored my grandson. (age 4) Exiting hotel car park was a nightmare so perhaps could benefit from a different system. Very expensive evening meal especially if you have a bigger family.

    Previously stayed in Safari hotel, but this time stayed in Aztec and this is definately better more luxurious than Safari my grandsons room was lovely and he loved it with his own TV (bunk beds and pull out bed) Very clean, and well decorated rooms bathroom had a good shower and bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food and drinks service was shockingly bad. The waiting time was terrible and staff not trained . Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    Location to theme park and view from room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Twin Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced . Didn’t inform us there was no hot water one morning . Had to Pre book breakfast and we like to relax on holiday . Had to queue with check in guests to get a car park ticket .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was irritatingly slow. There was just one person being served and one in the queue in front of me, but the lone receptionist seemed to take her time. When I was served, there was no info offered about how I might find my room, or how they were going to charge me, I had to ask.

    Very nice themed hotel, not what I was looking for but good value at short notice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, but other room had a fridge lack of consistency. The other room also had glass water bottles though my room was over viewing the zoo we had significantly less. You have to book slots for breakfast and swimming all slots were booked by the time we arrived. The children had to go swimming at 9.30 in the morning as opposed to the day they arrived.

    The pool is really good the kids had a lot of fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed

    No Wi-fi and bed was so uncomfortable - tried ringing hotel when in park for 2 hours no answer had to go back to hotel to speak to staff - very frustrating and poor! everything else good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial collection of tickets was a little confusing as the guy in the ticket office didn't know how to handle the situation and help us with our tickets although he was forefront of the tickets office.

    Facilites were gteat and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very disorganised in the food areas. Seemed to be nobody in charge. Alot of guests complaining about being unable to eat in restaurants. We are in the bar, very disorganised and slow. Lost our order so had to wait nearly 2 hours for a salad.

    Rooms were lovely and comfortable, plenty of room. Bathrooms were modern and shower powerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffing levels. The hotel didn’t seem prepared for the guests staying although it didn’t appear overly busy. Long waiting times just to book a table in the restaurant...I gave up in the end and returned to my room to call reception to book it for me. Long queues to enter both evening meal and breakfast in the Temple restaurant yet both were pre booked. Long queues at the bar also, managers were around however didn’t jump in to help out which just left staff floundering.

    Great facilities for families!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The connection between the hotels was a little confusing. The waiting for lifts was at times frustrating.

    The location was ideal. The setting was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception at booking in can be slow and understaffed, would be good to be able to book in on line or more allocated staff when needed to reception. Thus small problem outweighed by the many positives of the Safari Hotel.

    Friendly and accepting for people with disabilities. Very easy to find way around. Good parking. Well equipped large comfortable bedrooms. Tasty and good breakfast, staff happy for my autistic son to take his breakfast to a very quiet area, which he prefers, ie to the unused bar area of the restaurant, to our bedroom or (occasionally) our car!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in restaurants

    Excellent hotel with amazing views! The kids loved the room as it had a separate area just for them. Will definitely be going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was shocking Not much choice and I was seriously ill after with food poisoning

    The room was fantastic absolutely great Staff were very accommodating and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant we booked for breakfast wasn't actually open! Our daughter was very disappointed the temple restaurant was closed on her birthday. We were moved to the alternate hotel restaurant but lots of items were low/run out. The air in our room was also very dry, but had to have the air con on as otherwise very hot!

    Nice evening meal, clean room and friendly staff (though didn't tell us our breakfast restaurant was closed!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our initial room had a really strong smell of drains in the bathroom and the air conditioning didn't work. Had a terrible view of a rundown balcony (that wasn't really an issue though). Spoke to reception who gave us a different room just down the corridor immediately.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly. Room was OK but we only paid £85 so didn't really expect a luxurious room, it was just OK. Bunk beds were great for the children.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated sitting on a dirty chair that was covered in something sticky. The manager wanted me to raise the problem with the hotel - I felt she shouldve sorted it out.the food was all microwaved. 3 vegan options and incredibly over priced. Some variety at breakfast though and we took our own almond milk so could have tea and cereal etc. The use of plastic definitely needs looking at -straws, crisps, drinks - all these affect wild life but the zoo memtions conservation. There was also plstic rubbish under the wooden walk way from the hotel. So unnecessary.

    Loved the pool, steam room,the themed decor, the gym, the reception staff, organised activities and time slots for everything was a great idea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did ask for extra pillows but they didn't arrive at our room

    Discovery room is fab. Liked the puzzles to solve to get into a safe for children's prizes. Great view of the safari park. Good breakfast too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given (room 101) is close to a door to the main hallway and it became apparent at approximately 3am that the door stay had made the door close. The banging on our wall from then until we got up was ridiculous. If you want to only sleep part of the night then this hotel is brilliant. Paying for the pool is another thing. It is ridiculous that a hotel guest has to pay for the hotel's pool. I can understand outside parties paying, such as swimming lessons, but not guests. Especially when the swimming lessons meant that half the pool was then out of bounds.

    The view from the room was of the reserve rather than the road. The breakfast was good and had a full range of breakfasts; cooked buffet breakfast, cereals, meats and cheeses or fruit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing that's normally the best part about staying in a hotel a yummy breakfast since when do you have new potatoes for breakfast in this country

    the animal feed experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Safari Twin Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude couldn't go swimming because we didn't book and I didn't realise you had to book got woke up from my sleep with the noise

    The view from the bar seeing the animals

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed kept moving about. There was no fridge in the room. Dust above the wooden kind of railin above our bed. The toilet was a bit smelly.

    The view was beautiful from our room. The kids enjoyed looking out of the window and seeing zebras and all other animals and enjoyed different adventures. Over all good experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Twin Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 single beds pushed together to make a double bed always moved apart. Could have locking wheels to prevent this. And a double duvet would have been cosier.

    Family friendly, the themed areas are great fun for the kids. Location for train network to London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking out, couldn't get through the barrier as you need a card. I didn't know this and I would have thought it would have been part of the check out procedure, to ask a client if they had a vehicle and issue one there and then. So I had to reverse back and go to reception to get one. I also had to ask for a VAT receipt, then their printer had no paper. So delayed further while they found some, but I didn't think this was normal just very inexperienced staff left on reception that morning.

    Nice breakfast, comfortable room, good service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t get booked into the swimming pool on the day we checked in

    Loved everything about the hotel especially the animal view room we had with bunkbeds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was overheated. Furniture was very "tired" - one wardrobe door stuck shut, cupboard very battered, veneer missing from one edge, which was rough and splintery. Room was above the kitchen bins and staff decided to loudly empty bottles and rubbish at 7.00 am Sunday morning - not good.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold room and lack of help to rectify problem

    Very unhappy on my first night as hearing was broken and room was freezing, told reception and was informed that someone would be up to fix it, nobody came so had a terrible nights sleep and no shower as far too cold a room, when I told the staff the following day (after a ruined course due to being shattered from no sleep) they were good enough to move me rooms which was great, why couldn’t this be done first night? And also manager from first complaint hadn’t even registered the complaint and following day manager had no idea of compliant. Breakfast was very nice as were most of the staff I dealt with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everyrhing

    The evening entertainment the selection for breakfast the pool was good for kids tv in rm good for kids so much to keep kids entertained

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the gruffalo room. Definately not worth paying the price they charge. The themed rooms are worth the money though.

    Gruffalo room had the gruffalo above main bed. Mouse in the kids room. Tv in the bathroom 😕. Book to read in the bookcase. Gruffalo robes to use for kids. But definately not worth howuch they cost for a night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean specious family room overlooking park with animals, friendly staff, tasty breakfast Very nice theme - Safari decorated reception,restaurant and room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinning room and bedroom was cold, no play area for the toddlers and children when not in the zoo or swimming. So children were bored and running around. Disappointed with the zoo and pot entertainment for toddlers the talk was on animal feaces surly the could have picked a more education topic such as different animals and their diet

    Play area in the swimming the children loved and the lizard area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not really much for the children to do in the actual hotel. No play area. There’s the splash pool but there are a lot of rules there which spoils the fun a bit, for instance only being allowed 15 minutes in the splash area.

    Nice setting. Good evening children’s entertainment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was slow, friendly staff but process frustrating. I have also been overcharged by £50 so in future will ask for a bill before I leave rather than just hand the ‘keys’ in! Booking breakfast, dinner and swimming could be a lot easier, that took us nearly 30 minutes alone.

    The place is lovely, really well kept and clean and the rooms are cosy and warm after a day in the park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Monkey Temple Family Room with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temple restaurant buffet wasn't great, cheap but many kids putting hands in the ice cream sprinkles and sticky tables. The aztec section of the hotel was miles from reception. Staff were friendly but not the most competent. Overall it was cheap and cheerful.

    The monkey temple themes room was a huge hit with the kids although the wanyama view was not worth the extra money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to get to the hotel at Rush Hour is extremely busy and the traffic moves very slowly.

    Free Parking, Breakfast Included, Pool and Fitness Equipment all included for the price was excellent. The room looking out on to the park was a real bonus!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the chilly splash pool!

    Comfy beds and a spacious room (double with bunks). We stayed in the Safari Hotel side with a Wanyama view - love looking out at the animals each morning! This side of the complex is a little older (and slightly tired when you look closely at the fittings) but perfect for a family break. Space to relax and the choice of adding on a splash in the pool or visiting the entertainment/activities in the evening. Extra fun for the little ones but do beware that the splash pool side can feel chilly. We are return visitors and I have no doubt that we will be back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work, nobody came to help sort it, tv kept switching off, we couldn’t get breakfast booked until we had checked out the next day due to no spaces. Didn’t tell us how to book, asked another guest, didn’t tell us we needed a code to get out of car park, had to walk back in pouring rain to get one.

    The room was clean and beds comfy, bathroom clean and lovely stocked tea and coffee etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful and service was a nightmare Check in was a nightmare and room wasn’t ready on time Room was different to photo No beside unit, heating not working, usb connection not working

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no fridge in the room the heating was playing games and my toiletries gone missing after I left the room. The facilities where good food good I definitely recommend this hotel very clean and well look after. Very noisy at time especially in the morning over all great value fantastic location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing for adults to do in the evening! When the rangers club finishes (circa 8.30pm) that is it, and that is for the children! So, nothing for parents!

    It is always a delight when rooms are set up to accommodate a family of 5! Well done Chessington. Pool was good also, with the children loving the shallow child pool area. An excellent addition to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closing at 9:00 PM and no room service

    Theme based room was very nice. Good to take the family , they could do some rides aswell. Well kept hotel. Very unique

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool had no baby change facilities, changing rooms filthy. Staff not helpful Housekeeping came at 5pm Children were running up and down the corridors all afternoon and night

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few things about our stay that I did not like and/or can be improved: our room, despite clean, had a horrible smell. The other disappointing bit was the swimming pool booking: the hotel booking does not include use of the pool, you need to book a 1h slot that you pay extra and it gets booked up pretty quickly. On the positive side, once you get into the pool, there are not that many people and you can play around without any problem. I found also surprising the fact that despite being a "natural park" and praising to teach kids about nature, the environment is not eco-friendly at all. No recycling bins to be seen, lots of plastic and small packaging around.

    The place is amazing for young kids. We did not visit any of the parks, but we used the swimming pool, which is superb. The sole hotel experience is worth the visit as the kids thought it was like an adventure! the breakfast was good and we even had a visit of the Gruffalo!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Room was lovely. Staff were very helpful Breakfast - 2 poached eggs I ordered were lovely, but difficult to tell which of the cooked items were in butter (I have a diary allergy) and the bacon was as stiff as a board.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of the female receptionist ( trainee was lovely). Rude and unhelpful and made absolutely no effort to remedy the situation.

    Booked executive king room as wanted super king sized bed. Was given a bunk room instead with a small bed and space for 3 kids we don’t have. No help at all when I complained. Spent the night on the floor on a kids 5 foot mattress as not enough space in the double bed ( bad back)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information on the reception desk, the welcome pack (a4 sheet of do’s & don’ts) was rubbish. Where was my Zoo Map? Where was the pack that gave us all the info on available package upgrades? Why do I have to book everything on a screen? Why can’t I just book with a person? Why is the children’s pool closed on the weekdays and more importantly if the only people in the pool want to use the children’s pool, why can’t they? Why do you not have a VIP staff member on the desk in the evenings? Why was my 3 year old denied access to see the Giraffes because he didn’t have a wrist band? How do I get a wrist band? Why would my son want a lanyard with a map? Why would we be told we shouldn’t have that, after it was given to us from another guest? What did we have to do to get a lanyard? Why when there was 8 people in front of us were we told that we couldn’t have donuts even though we were the last people....? Is 1 donut really so terrible at closing time? I would of paid her overtime for that donut, but instead had a very sad & tearful 3 year old. BRAVO Chessington your customer service could be so good and happy to help staff with smiles would be welcome at the end of the day. But sadly this is why we do not holiday in our own country very often. The next time I come for a visit, I’ll research it properly. I cannot rely on the staff to give me the info. But we had a good time

    The hotel is joined to the Zoo, there was a Gruffalo at breakfast, the bunk beds are very comfortable, the standard rooms are very nice and good value for money. Heated bathroom floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were flat The lifeguards should be a little more alert. Big kids dive bombing by small children and jumping in the baby splash pool

    The view from our room was awesome we overlooked the fields with the animals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff told us they required a £50 deposit per room but as this was not stated in the T&C’s with Booking.com we were completely unprepared. Although both rooms were Safari king executive rooms, one had horrible view of the car park. The toliets are really hard to flush and this was even more the case for one disabled guest on our booking.

    Our room was welcoming, spacious, light and had beautiful views of the reserve. The kids bed provided was a perfect size and not the full size bed you’d find at other hotels. The unlimited breakfast was lovely and well prepared with the restaurant overlooking some breathtaking views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Group
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eek! Couldn’t connect to WiFi, we had a few power cuts throughout the night and woke up in a cold room and had to have a cold shower. However, it’s just one of those things that happens and we weren’t bothered by it. Management did come to everyone at breakfast to apologised and offered us 50% discount for our stay.

    The hotel was stunning with panoramic safari style views. Our room was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was superb. I must come back with my family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Twin Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking info said to book Swimming time after check in - checked in upon opening (3pm) and Swimming was full until 8am the next day..... booked to eat at the restaurant approx 3.15pm and it was all fully booked.... offered the buffet restaurant at 7.45pm which with a young family isn’t ideal. We discovered the bar snacks menu from other guests as we were not told about this and it wasn’t in any literature. Rooms boiling upon arrival/ no view at all / room next to stairway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari African Adventure Family room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the top floor above reception but we could still hear the drumming music playing the whole time until late in the evening, it was a bit annoying. The booking of breakfast slot was confusing, we were unsure if this was required to actually have breakfast. The only slot left when we went to book at our hotel was 6.30am - that is not happening on a Sunday, so we booked at the other hotel for a later time. It would be useful if it was made clear if booking was essential and that guests were told when checking in. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

    The Room was great, very comfortable and the kids loved having their own separate area with T.V. Breakfast was fab!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooked breakfast items on display. You had to order from the waitress. Last time everything was displayed in the kitchen area for you to help yourself. But guess as the hotel was extremely quiet this was the reason why.

    Rooms are large and incredibly clean. Staff were very friendly the whole time that we were there. Made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They want you to check out at 10am which is not the norm and seems too early for me. Feels like you're being kicked out when you're not quite ready...c'mon guys make it 11am at least!

    Comfy rooms kept relatively clean and a good breakfast. Nice big rooms where all the family can still get a bit of space. Parking easy and obviously right on top of the theme park so lots to do (when it's open!).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside for us was the added price of movies which we didn’t end up watching as the choice was poor.

    The accommodation was fantastic. The restaurant was lovely as was all the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Discovery Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave the hotel, go outside and then come back into the hotel further along.

    Accessible, fantastic breakfast and lovely, welcoming lobby. The children particular enjoyed seeing the animals in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was noisy and had to be moved to another at 2.30am in the morning. Not good when you have a business meeting the following day. My guess is that I was above the generator/maintenance area for the building. Restaurant was cold and was told that the heating was not working, it was the same for breakfast the following day.

    Friendly staff, Clean room and crisp bed linen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari African Adventure Family room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and going to the zoo

    We could not booked in for dinner till 8pm, we didn't get seated till 8.30,which is very late with the children. Also we could not book swimming til 7pm, which is also very late for the kids and could not book swimming for the morning. We have stay in Chessington world of adventures 6 times and each time it's getting more and more about making money then making memories.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Safari Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over easy eggs available only for the first 30 min of breakfast, once they are gone , they don’t get replenished.

    Watching giraffes while eating my breakfast! But seriously, rooms are pretty good size. Breakfast ok. Clean, quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I Home Educate my son it would have been nice if the Zoo provided information sheets / worksheets for the children with animal facts on.

    We visited Chessington as part of my sons Home Education program. It was fantastic and he didn’t want to leave. Staff very helpful and friendly. All areas clean and our queen size bed overlooking the animals was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get the opportunity to try the pool due to an aqua-aerobics class (but looked nice!). Not lots of food choice in the Grill restaurant. (Burger and chips ok) - beefeater down the road may be better choice

    Large comfortable room. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely view from the window (not often you can see Ostrich and zebra from your room). Large comfortable bed and good shower. Quiet as away from the road. Ample parking (off season). Good business hotel (off season). Good value deal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I can think of is that I wasn't told where breakfast was when we were checking in.

    A brilliant hotel, as soon as me and my 2 children walked in we loved it. The beds were very comfy and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Safari Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food selection was uninspiring and expensive, and as a result the restaurant was so quiet I ate at the Beefeater just down the road.

    Good size bedrooms, and ensuite accommodation. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note Splash pool not working on first day but next day was ok.

    Stayed for 2 nights on January. Kids enjoyed a lot especially splash pool, breakfast was nice. Visited Zoo and sea life on Saturday. Very nice trip. Will definitely stay at Safari hotel Chessington again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice for food in the hotel during our 2 night stay - only restaurant open was the Zafari Bar & Resto and not much choices on the menu. We were told that there was room service available and with more food options but we were ringing reception & room service for ages, finally someone picked up the phone but unfortunately no room service available at that time. And even said that there may or may not be room service in the evening. How is that possible? They’re a hotel, It’s either they do have room service or not, right? However, they allowed food to be delivered to the hotel from outside food establishments, you just need to pick it up from the lobby.

    We stayed at the Safari Hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Nice view from our bedroom. Facilities were a bit limited too, altough the swimming area was nice, warm & spacious but only to be used 1hour at a time. So we had to go 1hour in the morning and 1hour again before dinner in the evening. The staff were friendly & very accommodating especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff exceptionally good, friendly, informative & professional. Beds very comfy & room really spacious. Wonderful to watch the animals roaming about outside while we were at breakfast. Nice to have a fridge in our room. Excellent value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love to have been upgraded to a Savannah view rather than the car park view as the hotel was very empty both by admission of staff & we could see visually!

    Lovely staff. Nice beds. Spacious. Excellent value!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything negative all thumbs up from us

    For the first time we booked through booking.com we came across a real good deal for a family of 15 but I forgot to check exactly how many people I’ve done! only realised when I got to chessington desk bar that I’ve not booked all 15!!! Dreading to think what I was going to face but the staff dealt with the issue as gently as possible they explained where things went wrong and re booked us. The kids absolutely loved the hotel the view was beautiful from the bedroom windows dining room was very up to standards for kids breakfast was amazing. All 10 kids were 100% satisfied sad to leave early will definitely keep this hotel in mind every time we go London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to book and pay for the swimming pool which I assume was for the hotel guests but was unable to swim anyway as was fully booked....... to 3 people!

    Hotel was comfortable with an amazing breakfast, loads to choose from. Kids club with games and a bar. The resort was loads of fun

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Twin Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping. Keys not working. DIRTY CARPETS.FOOD AT AZTECA WAS AWFUL. LOUD MUSIC IN AZTECA RESTAURANT. Alfie at the reception was rude and has No idea of Customer service. Adam was so laid back when it came to sorting out the problem with the key/lock not working. Over crowded and Short of staff. Not Many waiting staff at safari restaurant. The pool was dirty. Jacuzzi was not open. A young girl named Shayanne was So unenthusiastic while speaking to us. Because of the key/lock problem we ended up moving room and second room's T.V. was not working so we could not entertaining our kids. And wives again... 3 rooms in 2 days.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azteca Monkey Temple Family Room with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can’t stay there after this year as our oldest is turning 12, which is going to work out very expensive. The triple bunk would still accomadate the three of them. Paying £2 per towel to hire

    The themed room for the price was amazing, also including breakfast for the 5 of us. The younger two enjoyed the entertainment. The swimming was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds with Wanyama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff and the ones there were not helpful. Charged me twice for dinner. Late check in because key wasn't ready. Awful menu at zufari restaurant. Constantly waiting

    Only thing I like about this hotel was room and temple restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Safari Double Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The are for children's club was freezing. The temple bar was poorly stocked had to walk out side to the other bar in the Safari hotel to get a normal coke.

    The bedrooms very specious

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chessington Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: