Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chester House Guest House 3 stars

44 Hoole Road, Chester, CH2 3NL, United Kingdom

#9 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was cumbersome but at least we had a spot one night. WiFi could be more reliable.

    Great location. Ray is a awesome host and fun to speak with. Very welcoming and everything was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good & restful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of minor things: the tv being on in the breakfast room & we were seated directly below it. The radiator being on in our room, we get this frequently when we stay in b&b's (we prefer a cool room).

    The bed was comfy, our room was quiet, the staff were friendly & quick to sort out any errors. Convenient for walking into town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    We had a very friendly welcome by Ray and he gave us the most important information. The room was very comfy with a real king-size bed and the bathroom was spacious. We would have liked to stay longer. The location is ideal for exploring Chester and just a few minutes walk from a few restaurants. Our room was not facing main street, so it was quiet enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Chester gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right from the start we were made to feel very welcome by Ray. He recommended local places to eat and they didn’t fail to impress,we sampled the Italian and Indian. Cooked breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and as much or little as you wanted. Massive selection of help yourself buffet too. Free freshly ground coffee all day too 👍🏻🙂 Room was clean and fresh with everything you could ask for. Town centre is only a 20 minute walk away although we did get a taxi back after wondering round the shops and then walking the wall 🙂. Definitely recommend and will book here for any future visits to Chester

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic just what we needed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bank holiday weather!!!!!!

    We had a fantastic stay the staff were very friendly the owner was a lovely gentleman and very helpful our breakfast and room was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, excellent breakfast choice together with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast choice together with friendly staff and host. Will definitely be back. Thank you for making our stay so welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    A warm welcome with an enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff and an extremely polite, friendly owner. Ray made us feel welcome from the very first meeting. He has a great knowledge of the area too, this is great for people like us who were visiting the city for the first time. The guest house is located nicely on the very close outskirts of the main city centre, this meant we had a very nice stroll of around 15 mins into the city. The room was immaculate and decorated beautifully, exactly like the pictures online. Excellent breakfast with a vast array of choices. If we visit the city again this will be the guest house we book. We will also be recommending to anyone I know if they are visiting Chester. Thanks to Ray and his staff for a very enjoyable stay. See you again soon. 👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    A perfect stay! Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome on arrival, friendly and helpful staff; everything spotlessly clean; very comfortable bed and spacious, well-equipped, beautifully decorated room; great breakfast with so much choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall very comfortable but room and bathroom tired needs some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired carpet. Tired bathroom

    Wonderful welcome, room a little tired especially the bathroom and carpets. Very comfortable andquiet. Lovely breakfasts. Value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay, fresh flowers in reception a nice touch, and all staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid for larger room and that is what we received (room 9) Decor a little out dated, and really could do with a new carpet by the bathroom rather dirty and stained. But apart from that ok, and clean.

    We found the staff very pleasant, and breakfast was on time(had to pre book time and items but was all very good) Good choice of food ! Warm welcome. location was very good, & parking. Very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes

    Handy location for my needs with easy access to city centre and zoo etc. Good position for local bus services with bus stops very close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and would return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is limited parking onsite but this is not a problem as there is on street parking nearby.

    Clean, comfortable accomadation with a very good breakfast. The proprietor was extremely friendly and offered good advice on local amenities, restaurants and transport links. Close to the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Chester House is convenient for the City and the zoo, which were the main reasons for our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, it was very difficult when last car in. Parked on road second night which I’m not keen on, but it was OK.

    Lovely room, good big bed, shower cubicle a little small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    All good, would be happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on site is a bit of a squeeze but there are plenty of nearby side roads to use.

    Friendly welcome and a comfortable room with everything we could need plus a few neat extras, eg the fan was a welcome sight as it was a hot day. All the basic needs met - decent WiFi, a quiet room and a tasty breakfast. Couple of bonus points for the good veggie option at breakfast and an excellent range of complementary coffees from the self service machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great place to visit has an interesting history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were very happy with Chester House B&B. The owner and staff made us feel very welcome and offered a good selection for breakfast as well as a menu for a cooked breakfast. Also the B&B was not to far from the city and station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Extremely enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very tight.

    Beds very comfortable. Very clean. Breakfast was excellent with superb choice and quantity. Excellent staff service and welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfasts, good sized room, comfy bed, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to park on main road (but right across the road), curtains in room let a bit too much light in in the morning.

    Excellent breakfasts, good sized room, comfy bed, great location within easy walking distance of city centre and local shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent! Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ray the owner was very helpful and friendly, we had a nightmare with Taxis because of the races and he offered for one of his staff to take us instead. Will definitely be staying here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable place to stay, walking distance to Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot bedroom but a fan was available and it was possible to turn off the radiator.

    A good range of breakfast choices and high quality. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Warm, clean friendly Guesthouse in Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely big room, ready for is when we arrived early as per request. Very warm greeting by the proprietor Ray who made sure we had full information on the guest house and the area. Plenty of towels and bathroom materials.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great service and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but adequate room.

    The room was small but adequate. Location is excellent. Very good breakfast and a host who is very helpful. Great value. Took the train to Liverpool for about 5 pound return from here - a great option to see the fab 4.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking but I was aware of that prior to the visit. Situated on a very busy road so could be noisy if in a front facing room. Lock on my door kept getting stuck; locked out at one point and locked in at another!

    Nice comfy room. Lots of free snacks - bottled water, peanuts, crisps, biscuits and a chocolate on the pillow! Plenty of storage space. There was also a fridge in the room which was a bonus. Good breakfast, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a lovely B&B in the centre of Chester perfect for exploring.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a drip in the shower which was distracting. However forget to mention it.

    The owner couldn’t of been more helpful. Even giving us recommendations of places to eat, which were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred an upstairs bedroom, although the room we had was ok.

    Food was good plenty of choice. Host was friendly and helpful in recommending plaçes to visit, 20 minute walk into Chester and zoo a short drive away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is small, but plenty of parking close by on the road.

    Room was very comfortable with excellent facilities including a fridge. Plenty of choice for breakfast, whether you want a little or a lot. Hotel is in one of the best parts of Chester. Plenty of restaurants and friendly pubs in nearby Hoole. This was our third visit in recent years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Adorable people working there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adorable people working there. Super nice and thoughtful. Left an Easter surprise at the bedroom and were very flexible with my check in time as my bus was late and I arrived an hour after check in was suposedly closed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast choice really extensive and cooked breakfast we had was lovely. Ray and staff very nice and accommodating. Room and hotel really clean and pleasant. will return and highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    would definitely stop here again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like were the pillows, for me I found them not soft enough.

    The hotel was clean and the breakfast was one of the best choices I have had in a B&B. The hotel owner was very pleasant and helpful in recommending a taxis to town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Feel better than home 🏡
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location was amazing 13 minuets walk to Chester train station. Mr. Ray was so lovely and welcoming. Basically, he made us feel home. He really knows what he is doing and he loves his work and customers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, but came a little too fast. I was still eating my grapefruit when the waitress brought my main meal. I noticed this also happened to another guest beside me.

    Good location, very clean, lovely rooms with good facilities. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Excellent and relaxing stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the friendly atmosphere very much. The tidiness and cleanness of the room are kept at very high standard. It is close to local restaurants and at a convenient distance from the university.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Marvelous stay here, I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like, I have stayed here before and I always come away happy.

    The owner Ray could not be more thoughtful, or helpful towards me. He is an amazing warm, welcoming and friendly personal, also a very interesting conversationalist. The rest of the staff the same. The room and bed was very comfortable and the choices for breakfast fantastic. The breakfast I choose to have was excellent. Thank you to Ray and all the staff. The location itself is perfect, Just a short distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely B and B, will definitely be going back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 'no frills bed and breakfast'. Not only was the room lovely but all the little touches such as free coffee machine access and complimentary goodies make all the difference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds, lovely and warm. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Ray and the girls do a f
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds, lovely and warm. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Ray and the girls do a fabulous job. Will most definitely be returning. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Good quality Guest House, reasonably priced for accommodation offered
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Guest House, accommodation better than some brand name hotels I have stayed in. Was only their 1 night arriving late in evening and departing early in the morning so only stayed for very short period but no complaints - happily recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and in a quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. However toilet may be small for others but I really didn’t mind.

    The owner and staff were very friendly. Single room had complimentary biscuits & snacks every day and the room had a mini fridge. The Guest House was very near to City Centre too. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Chester.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hospitality where small things mattered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little extras - free coffee machine in dining room, breakfast cooked fresh to order, room had a fridge and toiletries, snacks and bottled water were also provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely Hotel with lovely Staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely, Bright, Clean and well heated property. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and the Family Room was extremely comfortable. There were chocolates on our pillows as well as bottles of water and snacks in our room. Everything was thought of and provided for. The Coffee machine in the dining area was free and the coffee was also lovely. A BIG thumbs up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's absolutely nothing bad to say about my stay here. Although It would be convenient if they provided a baby bouncer in the dining room as I had to hold the baby.

    Very clean, lovely staff, good food all round very nice place to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chester. I will certainly stay there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Nice clean warm place to stay with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only television reception poor interference constant in room no 1

    Very clean warm cosy great food good choice of breakfast options Beds comfortable and well presented Rooms nice size Television reception a little poor /interference from something is only - thing I can think off Will definitely return again one day as shopping in Chester very pleasant Easy to bus out side to town 7mins save hassle driving car in town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    great stay, in a very welcoming bed and breakfast perfectly placed for walking in and out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no snow, disappointed...

    Ray is a fantastic host. Nothing is to much trouble for him or his staff. Very friendly welcome by his staff. Breakfast was fantastic.... We are both very active outdoor people who run and have competed in many races and endurance events and I have to say the breakfast was incredible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Although the breakfast was good i wouldnt rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had very little pressure and not very hot. If we turned the pressure up then the water went cold. The fan in the shower needed to be cleaned The smoke alarm had a cobweb hanging from it..

    The cooked breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it was next to reception

    The family room was large enough to cater for 4 people. The breakfast was locally sourced and lasted you all day. You had a fridge and multi phone charger unit in the room along with plenty of toileteries and beverages and snacks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, nice and clean perfect to visit the beautiful Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    It was very familiar because it isn‘t a huge hotel and the host was very friendly and kind as well! The room was big and clean and the breakfast was good with a lot of options to choose! It was a 15 min walk to the centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, very clean and breakfast was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay, very clean and breakfast was great. Ray (owner) and the rest of the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Don't hestitate to book, you will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay in a lovely guest house with good food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very powerful and the paint could do with a little refreshing

    Fabulous breakfast, friendly staff and good complimentary items in the room. Well positioned for Chester either for walking or catching a bus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Perfect location will return to this perfect guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fabulous The tea/coffee and chocolate drinks supplied were lovely. the extras like bottles of water biscuits and crisps in the room showed thought

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    The room was nice, cannot complain.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the owner. He came to kick me out for check out at 10:55, five minutes before the check out deadline. I was already at the door out but didn't like his temper.

    It was nice cosy room. I would try to upload some pictures. The staff were ever so nice and genuine people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very pleasant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight as there were several big cars on the car park.

    Breakfast was freshly made as you entered the dinning room. The room was well appointed comfortable, warm and immaculately clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Not the best Guest House but certainly not the worst either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not great to be honest.was outside the main building so maybe the rooms inside would be better. Room really fusty and the bathroom really smelt Damp. The window wouldn't open. Owner tried to resilve but unable to.

    The owner was helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant! Convenient for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given one price on booking.com and charged £2 extra at the B&B. The shower was very small and the plumbing was very noisy and the water pressure was low.

    The place was quiet and walking distance to the town centre. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing too much trouble - wonderful choice for breakfast. The owner was happy to let us leave our cars before & after check in. The room was lovely & clean & bed very comfy. An altogether great place to stay & would certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Would not recommend. Basil Fawlty runs this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner became sarcastic and rude. Embarrassing us a couple of times at breakfast. The room was boiling hot, The heating was on full blast. The bed was 2 singles pushed together with a giant ridge down the middle. The breakfast was always cold. But because the owner was so rude and embarrassing while we were eating we didn't feel comfortable to challenge. As well as this, there were always items missing from the breakfast that we had requested.

    The owner was friendly initially on arrival. The property was clean. The location was good. Close to city centre, Cheshire oaks and the zoo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable Base in a great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was the only thing that could be improved. But it did the job.

    Clean comfortable room. Pleasant owner.Great location. Short stroll to local shops and pubs serving good food. Easy stroll to the city centre and racecourse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly highly recommend would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit hard.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, clean place and bedroom and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was lovely very easy to order good system in place. Right next to the bus stops so easy to get about on the buses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay even though brief.Would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly host who welcomed us even though we were late arriving.Very comfortable bed .Good choice of breakfast. A pleasant ,location and very handy for Chester old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, will be sure to stay at this establishment again when we visit Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Warm welcome from the proprietor, was very friendly and offered information regarding the local area. Accommodation was bright and clean. Service at breakfast was very efficient and the lady on duty was very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We very much enjoyed our stay so a huge thank you from us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect, staff very friendly and informative. The room was just we needed for our stay. Free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities in the room with snacks and bottles of water included. And an excellent breakfast to send us on our way. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was to our satisfaction

    The owner and staff very efficient and friendly Room was emaculate with lovely clean towels daily and nice complimentary refreshments

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay and I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely big room but the cleanliness could of been better which would make it perfect

    Breakfast was lovely. Staff were helpful and friendly. Loved the little extras in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really warm even with radiator off and window open. Thank goodness there was a fan in the room which came in handy. Parking very tight on the property for those with larger cars.

    Great location within walking distance of the town centre. The room had a fridge which was a very nice touch. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Would definitely recommend and return without a doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature of the shower was temperamental - mostly too hot!

    Cleanliness - nice fresh fragrance in the bedroom, comfy bed but especially like the coffee machine and that you can help yourself to having a cuppa (latte choc was very nice, previously had the cappaccino which was nice but the latte choc) .... worth staying there for the coffee and lovely hospitality from Ray.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend Chester House as a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed our stay and everything was fine and the owner was very helpful.

    The room was excellent and even though there was 3 of us sharing it was still spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing what so ever!

    The bed was very comfy!! The room was a perfect size, and the everything was perfect when we walked in! The staff were brilliant! What more could you ask for! This is the second time weve been back! An there will be many more! Perfect! Very happy! 👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Staying here was one of the highlights of my trip to England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have any complaints.

    Room was lovely and very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room came with lots of extras. The breakfast was exceptional and more than I expected. I would recommend this place very highly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Needed assistance with WIFI. Owner very helpful. Room very clean and bed comfortable. Hotel central with no problem about parking. Would recommend this hotel to contacts and will stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Only point is bathroom needs up dating and a hower fiddley

    *We arrived before check in, despite this we were allowed access to room to change (heading to family fun day Chester race course) very flexible *Very child friendly staff, gave daughter chocolate on arrival *Enough towels / hairdryer *Put up bed for daughter (planned) was ideal *Breakfast perfect, choice was more than usual, perfect and very flexible. Cleaness of breakfast area and lay out of tables was very attention to detail 👌 *Although dated (we had outside room, not an issue, corridor away from main house) the bathroom was immaculately clean (so just the bathroom dated) shower was very fiddly to get on hot. The bedroom was very modern and full of extras..water/biscuits/ crops... nice touch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Felt very welcome, the owner was very helpful, like the fact it was 24hr access. Great hot drinks selection at any time and a good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    A lovely family room with a great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet could have been cleaner. It seemed as though it hadn't hoovered.

    The choices for breakfast were amazing. As was the selection of teas and snacks in the room. The layout of the room was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Great short stay and would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was excellent. Very helpful . The breakfast was great with plenty of options to choose from. The room was nice and airy with complementary drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Perfect for what I wanted and needed. Comfy, clean, free parking and 5 minute walk to train station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't have the breakfast-but that was my fault for needing to leave early.

    Loved the snacks and toiletries and how they were presented. Ray was lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged £4 more than quoted and the room was different to the one we expected. Didn't love the hollandaise sauce but still great breaky.

    Great hotel for the price with extras like hot chocolate, crisps and biscuits. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice little place, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast given was sometimes not exactly what we asked for, this was only minor though. We were also placed into the annex part of the building which meant we had to walk past members of staff smoking in the back alleyway, which was a bit off putting.

    Charming rooms with attention to detail, including little chocolates on the pillow. Owner was nice and polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Attentive owner and perfect for the length of our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our visit was very short so everything suited our needs - but compared to other places, the surrounding area of the property and the building itself did not have areas to relax or enjoy. Again, not an issue for us.

    The owner was very hospitable and conscientious. He immediately made us feel welcome. Our room was large and thoughtfully stocked with food, beverages, and items to make our stay comfortable. Scheduling our breakfast time made the dining room service well organized, and his personal attention to our requests was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom a bit small and water not very hot but for the money adequate

    Excellent value for money, really comfortable bed, friendly staff and fantastic choice for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: