Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chester Hotel 2 stars

27-29 Longmoore Street, Westminster Borough, London, SW1V 1JQ, United Kingdom

#842 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1591 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    They did not
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not Mention they were renovating. The tv in the room did jot work and they repeatedly said they would fix it but did not. I had to ask for towels. They don’t have bath mats or hand towels so only minimal towels provided. Very thin staircase.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is undergoing renovation with wires hanging out. Room and alarms going off - more like a hostel. Do not stay here!! Booking.com images and reviews certainly do not reflect what you're confronted with on arrival. See Trip Advisor for more accurate information.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location if taking Gatwick Express in, lots...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was undergoing some construction work, and -as it's an old building - you can hear everything going on in the halls and rooms next to you. Rough, if you're traveling for work and turning in early

    Very convenient location if taking Gatwick Express in, lots of restaurants, and great breakfast place around the corner

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chester hotel is the worst hotel I stayed at in my life. For what you get, you should not pay more than 40 pounds per night. I went there for one night with my husband. First, it’s dirty. Dusty carpet with hair. Restroom sink faucet is disgusting. No elevator, and you should take your luggage by yourself to your room (which could be located 3rd floor) on small uneven stairs. No AC. You open a small window for some air. Flies and bugs will come inside your room. Restaurant’s kitchen smell will come in as well. Old furniture. The room is very very small that I think it should be listed as for one person maximum. It’s even small for one person. My advice is go to another location and just take the underground. Don’t put yourself in our position, we could not wait till morning to leave.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Was only in London for one night passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing was pretty bad, could hear the reception staff talking on the phone through the floor & walls. But thankfully, the noise didn't continue through the night. Also the hotel was being refurbished while I was there, so it was a bit messy.

    Was only in London for one night passing through. The hotel was perfect for my intended stay. Great location, clean, comfortable and cost effective.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Once construction is completed this will be an excellent option for travelers who want this area of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under going a badly needed renovation so some areas were quite challenging to get through with luggage etc.

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Our room was a nice size for the price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Good shower room with everything you need although sink plug...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with no space for suitcase. Extremely difficult to fill full size kettle due to very small sink.

    Good shower room with everything you need although sink plug needs replacing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Smallest room I have ever stayed in but worked well for my needs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets not properly fitted so bed not properly made. Mattress cover needs replacing. TV only worked as radio. Bathroom floor not properly cleaned as a long hair was stuck to soap when I picked it up. A shelf in the bathroom would be very handy and yet again the shower cubicle has no shelf or niche so you have to pick things up from the floor. Had to keep suitcase next to shower as no space in bedroom.

    Very nice location. Street quiet after 11 pm. Modern bathroom. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    2.5
    Awful
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had blood stains, building work on going all through the night, wifi didn't work , staff rude, shower and toilet was dirty. Felt like i was robbed when I left.

    Bed had blood stains, building work on going all through the night, wifi didn't work , staff rude, shower and toilet was dirty. Felt like i was robbed when I left.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    3.8
    Great location, close to Victoria Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under major renovations, no ceiling or flooring in the reception area, one of our rooms had rain water coming in through the windows, making the bed damp and uncomfortable to sleep in, and water coming through the light fixing in the bathroom. After being moved rooms, the one we were moved into was very warm, we were unable to open the window, and this bed also felt slightly damp. Hotel staff did not seem concerned about the rain water coming through the light fitting.

    Great location, close to Victoria Station. That’s about it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.8
    Low quality for a not so low price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room was way too small. It was a 3 person bedroom and I was alone. Still, it felt small. I cannot imagine being there 2 or 3 persons. - The bathroom was tiny. - The access to the room was very narrow. - Old fridge. - Non professional electrical wiring. - No bedside lamp. Had the choice between super bright ceiling light, or no light at all.

    - The location was perfect for me. - The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the amount they charge. Was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, but the staff was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room was in the basement and musty. Could not open windows and rooms were very small. 2 beds against wall with maybe 2 feet to walk between. Walls had mold by bath room, No A/C in rooms. They charged for the room before I seen the condistion. After I seen the room I canceled and payed the 1 night charge penalty. It was worth not staying.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    We would stay here again as it is adequate for the price and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window didn’t shut properly so drafty and noisy with traffic and late night revellers (room 14). Very small room won’t appeal to some, but adequate for us for a couple of nights. Very little storage space for clothes and toiletries. Ad stated toiletries provided but we only got soap and shower gel, had to go and buy shampoo and conditioner.

    Clean rooms, great location near to theatre, train station and lots of cafes and restaurants, polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    3.8
    Location that's it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is having work done, there was dust everywhere no proper floor or soundproofing. Was not advised of this before stay. Lots of these hotels are extremely complacent about their service because of their location.

    Location that's it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    The hotel had no conditions to be opened to customers. I would not recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find many issues while staying at this hotel. To start the room was not properly clean, the carpet was dirty and even the kettle had water from the previous guests. But worst happened in the last night. To start, to start there was no hot water from the last night until we check out but the worst happened in the Hotel entrance which was going through majors reconstruction. A cloud of dust was and sand was flowing in the air. The hotel had no conditions to be opened to customers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff were friendly and the location was useful for my...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of broken cabinets in the bathroom, there was no air con so we had to have a very noisy fan on all night, and the room was very small

    The staff were friendly and the location was useful for my trip

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Adequate, just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is currently under renovation, (September 2018), but should be fine in a month or two.

    Excellent location if you are renewing your passport. Tiny room but manageable if you've experienced a camper van or small yacht. It is acceptable for a single person but a couple will struggle for a place to put a bag.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Quiet location and bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major was bad. Just a few flaws such as the shower door did not shut completely, sink did not have a hole cover, no desk for laptop other than tea / coffee shelf and no plug directly next to bed. No iron in room (only ironing board).

    Quiet location and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.8
    The reception is being refurbed and is like a building site.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is being refurbed and is like a building site. The bedroom, well the less said about the room the better. Size, cleanliness and the bathroom 🤢 - worst value for money I’ve experienced in a long time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.3
    The boiler was out of order, there was no hot water in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Localization

    The boiler was out of order, there was no hot water in bathroom, unable to take a shower by kinds. Additionally the hotel did not accept our letter of complaint. Unacceptable in the hotel in UE.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    3.3
    nothing the whole stay was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is currently undergoing renovation works , the main entrance is effectively a building site , the view from the room window is blocked by waste building materials . they were quite helpfull in my request for a date change but they didnt inform me would have to exchange to a different hotel on the 2 nd day , the other hotel was terrible , holes in the wall and the decor was either 80s themed or untouched for circa 30 years . I would urge other people to avoid this hotel

    nothing the whole stay was terrible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    My room was fine for an overnight stay and functional and room rate was good for London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled a little fusty, this may have been as I was in the basement. There was an empty can of cola and extra remote on the window ledge behind the curtain? A number of hairs on the pillow? Took a while to get to sleep as you could hear people walking around on the floor above and up and down the stairs. There was also building work going on in the reception area that I was not aware of on booking.

    I liked the location of the Hotel. The room was functional for my overnight stay and mostly clean. I only wanted to pay a limited amount of money and this met my budget. There were tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries, hairdryer and towels provided. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was very rough and unfinished. General photos on the Booking.com website advertised something that wasn't really true to real life - very small, windowless underground rooms. Manageable for a short business stay but uncomfortable if you wanted to spend any time there at all.

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp patches on ceiling. Work being carried out so it was basically a building site. View from window was shocking. A little back alley with a load of rubbish chucked there. Shower head was broken so wouldn’t stay high enough.

    Fridge in room which was useful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We planned to stay the apartment with full kitchen facilities but many of these did not work properly. Microwave and dish washing machines did not work. The 2 in 1 washing machine cannot dry the cloth and we need to hang all the cloth to dry. When you walk on the floor, the floorings are moving and noisy. Unfortunately we stayed there for 5 days, an unpleasant experience.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.2
    overall too pricey :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception was under refurbishment with packs of floor against the wall. no elevator available and no help offered to help carrying the luggage. no breakfast available. room photo on booking website didn't match the room itself.

    most of the time out of the hotel. just used it to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Don’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - VERY noisy. You can hear the water pipes, people walking on the floor above, even people talking in the other rooms. I’m not even a very light sleeper and I honestly couldn’t sleep, it was that loud. - Dirty room - Very small room. If you are coming for a long time and have big suitcases you will struggle.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Upon arrival staff were pleasant and quick to Check us in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ridiculously stuffy and terribly cramped. We weren't warned about the building work that was taking place in reception so was very noisy and dusty.

    Upon arrival staff were pleasant and quick to Check us in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked one night in a triple room (#20 in the basement). Our experience in this hotel was terrible. Staff is unprofessional and makes you feel like they’re doing you a favor by letting you stay there. Hotel is going through renovations, there was no floor in the reception (wonder how you can maintain a hotel open like that). The room we got was in the basement. It was super warm, humid, smelly and moldy. Entered the room and noticed the open window with a pile of garbage just outside (probably all the rubbish they are removing for the renovations), this was literally just outside our window and definitely not compliant with safety requirements a hotel should have (risk of fire, again wonder how one can have a place like this open). The room was dirty: bed was full of hair from previous guests, carpet same thing, brown cushions on the bed had disgusting stains, bathroom was tiny and dirty, shower was completely clogged with all sorts of hairs and water took ages to go down the sink. There was nothing positive about this place except the USB ports on the wall and that’s very little. So with all that, we’ve decided to change hotel and not spend the night in this horrible place that cost me 139 pounds. At the checkout I kept my cool and explained we were already going since this place was not in line with our expectations, the staff member did not react... not a single word, just a nod! Very disappointing in every aspect!

    Nothing to like about this place! There are plenty of other hotels in the same area with similar price and breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Affordable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was damp as window had leaked onto bed. Covers smelt like cheese so didn't use them. Reception was under construction - would have been good to know this beforehand.

    Affordable and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.3
    Close to the underground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise next to our window starting at 6am and we couldn’t sleep, could be more clean, the main entrance was in refurbishment, very dangerous as the floor was open and was full of wires coming from the ceiling.

    Close to the underground.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Should be a nice place once the renovations and finishes in the rooms are done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Currently undergoing renovations in lobby. We stayed in the "quad room", too tight for 4 people. The bathroom was recently renovated, but missing some finishes: no shelf in the shower or near the sink. Paint job on the walls was poorly done. Room was dusty.

    Good location, close to Victoria Station and a variety of restaurants. Grocery store close-by. Beds were comfortable. Small fridge in the room was handy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Should be a Hostel not Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention of construction in their listing. They wanted to charge 30£ for early check in. When we got the room we realized there was no a/c, there was a heat wave and all we had was a fan. We dropped off our bags and left, thinking it would cool down. We returned at 11pm, our room was hotter than outside. We saw we had a window, opened it, turns out it was an interior window that led out to a shared hallway and bathroom where we could hear everything going on in the bathroom. We asked reception to move us or give us our money back, he said they were booked and he can't give us our money back. He said we should've noticed the issues with the room earlier which isn't fair because we didn't spend any time in the room so we were unaware of the issues. It was late so we sweated it out, only to wake up to what sounded like a bowling alley above our room. It was the construction. We understood the a/c situation however, it was not worth $104 for a room with no window, no a/c, construction noise and an unresponsive staff. They should've refunded our money so that we could find something more comfortable.

    The proximity to Victoria station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    A bit pricy but close to Victoria station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The double room felt very tiny for two persons with some luggage - Our first night we got a room located right under the lobby, therefore we heard other guests clamping (literally!) all night. If you are given room number 7, ask for another one right away, but they should use it for storage and not for guests. They gave us another room the next morning located on the second floor which was much better - A bit pricy but hey for Londonprices it's ok. You pay for the location

    - Modern and newly renovated room that was clean - Close to Victoria station - Close to bars and local grocery stores (tip! Go to Prince on the corner for good and affordable pub food and a good selection of ales) - Quiet area - Room service everyday

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, basic small family room but adequate for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and hot.

    Good location, basic small family room but adequate for a two night stay. Room hot but fan provided. Comfortable beds, great shower. Polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    The access to city excellent 5 mins walk from Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower off bedroom not draining very very dusty due to ongoing building work

    Apartment suited our needs No Coffee only small cups and a bowel of tea bags

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for short stays in London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room would probably be a little too cramped for long stays.

    Clean, great location (a short walk from Victoria Station), option of single rooms so good for people travelling alone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Poor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement, molded and damp, no air because the window is going to the corridor with a public toilet. Rooms are much smaller then they look on pictures

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Building work in process, carpet not clean, only positives were location, fridge & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was building work going on, no air-con or fan in room, didn't want to open window over night as we were on the ground floor. Parts of room were in need of repair, carpet hadn't been hoovered/cleaned. Only 2 small towels. Certainly didn't look like the photos. Disappointed as wasn't worth the money.

    There was a fridge in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!!!!!!!repeat no air-conditioning!!!! Horrific heat inside the room more than outside. Staff not willing to do anything i asked for a fan they said they did not have one. lobby destroy broken concrete tripped and almost killed myself. Smallest bathroom I’ve ever been in my life. smaller than a motorhome. no light in the bathroom Its a dungeon!!! Had to check out one day early could not stand it. Two other families left early also could not handle the heat. Everyone that was staying there was complaining.

    Nothing there was nothing to like about it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.2
    NOthing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reception and breakfast area was under construction. No notice of such a construction on their web. All full of dust and cables hanging around. No fan or AC in the room. On the backyard construction materials accumulated and a rat around it. Pretty much a nightmare. Staff was gentle but the hotel was a contraction site

    NOthing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.2
    Guess that the only advantage of the Chester is the location...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lobby under repairs; dust everywhere; no previous info available. No breakfast available.

    Guess that the only advantage of the Chester is the location, i.e. near - within walking distance - Victoria Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    HORRENDOUS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT IS A CONSTRUCTION SITE. They should be closed. The lobby is litteraly filled w rubbles and wood pieces and tools The backyard is full of garbage. The hotel is nowhere close to the pictures. APPALING that booking will propose this option

    HORRENDOUS

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.9
    They were in the middle of renovation works and you enter...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were in the middle of renovation works and you enter into a construction site essentially with dust everywhere. The room was right behind reception and you had to squeeze in through a narrow corridor. You could hear conversations at reception and the phone ringing. Poor decor and wasn't very clean, used soap left on the sink, there were couple of hairs on the pillow, just gross. Not what you'd expect for the price and not at all like the pictures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Two star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation with no frills at all. The main reception floor had the floorboards and joists pulled up which was a hazard. Apart from that it was OK as tbh it was just somewhere to go late at night to sleep.

    Location was perfect for what we needed. Although expensive, in terms of London prices it was to be expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    It was fine....and good and central. Did not have many expectations and was comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok..as expected from descriptions. No plug for the bathroom sink. Only one towel altho changed daily. No coffee..only three tea bags. No milk or sweeteners and no spoon.

    No breakfast...budget hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Location Location Location. not much else. but OK for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped. No A/C. No screens on windows. Some weird noises at night.

    Walking distance to major attractions. Front desk friendly staff. Some nearby pubs. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Was in a amazing spot, 15min walk from Buckingham Palace,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a amazing spot, 15min walk from Buckingham Palace, and a nice walk down towards the themes. Plenty of nice restaurants and pubs around for food/drinks. Also close to Sainsburys

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.5
    Great location but no AC, thus I would not recommend this place in the summer months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms do not have air conditioner systems. Our room was downstairs, and it was hot, and without AC it felt like a sauna. We asked the staff, and no fans were provided. It was very uncomfortable to sleep at night with the heat.

    The location was great, a quick 5 minute walk to Victoria station which connects with London-Gatwick

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    A rip-off !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not available on check-in requiring relocation to another hotel. Upon return, room allocated in basement without window not at all conforming to the promised standard (picture on hotel and booking.com website) but dark and smelly. Alternative room allocated was single bed only, without in-room shower and toilette, and a blocked sink that smelly with colored water that could not be repaired (upon request).

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Cheap and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy, the people in the room opposite were up and down and in and out of their room till about 1 am , and their door kept slamming, and i could hear their tv .

    it was near victoria station which was convenient for my coach pick up early the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Apartment was great addition to the hotel, great for families. Lots of room and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our family stayed in the little apartment which is separate from the hotel itself. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. Had two bedrooms and a functional kitchen with ample space for my family. Beds were comfortable. Good location. Walking distance to the underground tube.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding other people underwear in bedroom no view from window ,no breakfast facilities tea / coffee in room but no spoons to stir stayed in better hotel for less money

    Close to Victoria coach station staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Expectations were relative to the price but simple basic requirements weren’t met
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were used cleaning tissues on the bed when I arrived and bathroom bin hadn’t been emptied. The bed pillows were thick, heavy and hard and impossible to sleep on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    Good location, but felt like I had spent the night at her Majesty’s pleasure, it was so tiny!!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. Booked a DOUBLE room and would find it very difficult to accurately describe it as a double. The whole room minus the plastic pod bathroom measured approximately 6.5ft X 9ft. The room was booked with my adult son and we were going to sleep top to tail for a single night. The ‘double’ bed was 4ft wide so my son had the bed and I slept on the floor. The bathroom is a pod design as found in student accommodation and was so small that after showering I had to come out of the bathroom to dry myself! Luckily we only had a rucksack each but if we had suitcases there was nowhere to put them. This particular room (room 9) was clearly a single occupancy room passed off as a double, had I booked it as a single room I would have been happier.

    Location was good. Reception staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and reasonable price. Comfortable bed and room with all amenities required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, one of rooms first given was in basement and had musty smell. But staff moved us to better room after pointing out the musty smell. Other rooms were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Both USB chargers in the room were not working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both USB chargers in the room were not working. When I told the staff, they offered me to buy an adapter from the reception for 5 pounds. There was only one large towel, without any face or hands towels. There were shoe prints on the wall as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location - small beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are super tiny - and the "double bed" is ways to small. If you're not a grown man, then you might fit in their beds.

    The Hotel is really good located - easy to reach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    The employees were nice and the location was at a good spot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spent over $100 per night for a room that is smaller than my personal bathroom at home.

    The employees were nice and the location was at a good spot for us to catch the tube.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    good location, walking distance of less than 5 minutes from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was extremely small. the sheets where not clean. too expensive for the size.

    good location, walking distance of less than 5 minutes from train and bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed, decent location. That’s about it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly decorated room but a total botch job. Toilet not secured properly. Blobs of dried plaster and bits of building crud in the bathroom. Shower (newly fitted, looked lovely) was either sub-zero or scalding hot. Noisy internally, people walking up and down the stairs and talking outside you door, no acoustics protection. Tiny room - only just enough space for one person to get changed. Hanging space was above the kettle so there’s no room to hang dresses sensibly. WiFi was quite patchy. No temperature control in room.

    Comfy bed. Good location near 2 tube stations. Good amenities nearby (shops and restaurants). Quiet externally, it backed onto gardens of surrounding properties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive for the size, quality and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No internet for the 5 days I stayed, quite disappointing I was forced to use mobile wifi for the entire time. Was always told it would be available tomorrow....never came! Shower was terrible Room was tiny

    Good Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay for a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast. Although there is a plenty of cafes around the place, so the problem was easily solved.

    Very good condition of rooms. Welcoming staff. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Fair to middling stay in a decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was far too small. Bed was not particularly comfortable. Pillows were dreadful, but they are in pretty much every average hotel.

    Room was slightly larger than I expected, and thankfully cool on what was a warm day. Ground floor room which was a nice bonus after a full day wandering round London and some of the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Central location with some fantastic restaurants nearby. Clean, well run business.
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk were very accommodating with allowing us to leave our luggage due to our early arrival and on our day of departure while visiting the US embassy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness level not perfect. Prensence of severals hair in the beds!

    Good location near victoria station and comfortable mattress for a good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    2.9
    Only stay here if you dislike comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room for 2 people. What was provided was a 1.5 bed which barely fitted 1 person never mind 2. There was no space to move around the room and no air conditioning.

    The street it was on was cute

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Don’t need to; Great Rooms, Great Location, Great Value for Money with Excellent Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, reception is a little tight and cramped but who spends time there? If you are then you need to get out more!!!

    The quality of the rooms in an Od Converted Tradition London Home was every bit as good as a Premier Inn or Best Western style Hotel Completely modernized and beautifully presented. Fantastic value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel base for night or 2 away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is the rooms are quite small, but they don’t feel cramped so you don’t really notice.

    The room was absolutely spotless, lovely modern bathroom with an excellent shower, comfortable bed and even Netflix in the room! Fantastic hotel and was super impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Very cost effective
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and had a strange smell....possibly due to a but of damp

    Can't fault the price...great value and 5 minutes walk from Victoria Station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for Victoria theatres, staff friendly and helpful, beds comfortable. Did the job perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded on our arrival to an apartment. It was great to have the extra space with two teenagers, but I don't think it would suit younger children as there are two flights of steep stairs. The apartment wasn't quite finished - it was missing a couple of light fittings - but was still more than adequate for what we needed. Weekend parking is a huge bonus. We got there late on a Friday night and were able to leave the car parked on the street right outside the hotel free all day Saturday. Ideally located for both Wicked & Hamilton theatres and plenty of places to eat on the short walk to either theatre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing around the necessary expected standards for Victoria
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room window no lock and a messy mini building site just outside window with cigarette smoke from maintenance staff wafting into non smoking room window.Broken Shower head fitting therefore impossible to raise shower and keep over head height. Bedside light broken with promise to fix but not done. No water at all on arrival and later first day but ok after that. Family room too small and pokey with little fresh air possible.

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.2
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chester Hotel- my bedroom was the smallest I have ever stayed in- maybe 7ft x 6ft. No room for suitcase other than on the bed. Also very small ensuite and shower. No plug for basin. Heater didn’t work. Very dangerous rooms in case of a fire. Only one narrow steep stair. No way to open high level window to escape. If a fire started at bottom of stairs, you are trapped and will probably die. Also no ventilation in room. Don’t stay here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The location to Victoria and the theatres is very good and the staff friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of room and bathroom were compact but we only ever intended on sleeping there and for the price it was good value.

    Location. Excellent for Victoria and theatres. Staff helpful with luggage storage. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok for short stay, especially for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness can be improved. Saw some strains and dirts on the bedsheets and pillows. There is no lift so it can get tough if you get a higher floor. Though the staff would help you to move your luggage so it should be fine.

    Good location. The price was exceptional for the location. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chester Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: