Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cheshire hotel reviews
  4. Chester hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Chester Grosvenor

Reviews of The Chester Grosvenor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Eastgate Street, Eastgate, Chester, CH1 1LT, United Kingdom

#1 of 27 hotels in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2605 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for Xmas shopping trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having booked for 2 nights bed and breakfast was informed that it was only continental breakfast and full English would be £9.50 extra per person. This seemed to be an issue that the hotel were blaming Booking.com, my issue was that in all the bookings that I have made it always states what type of breakfast you will receive. The hotel and booking.com should each be sure that they know what the terms are for the customer. The problem was resolved and breakfast was provided within the amount that I had paid but it left a sour taste for me having to argue for what I believed I had paid for in the first place.

    Spacious room, large comfy bed, great service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing time ,truly spoilt,and all staff very professional and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps a Buffet breakfast would be more suitable and a little more informal. However the service and food were excellent.

    The room was very well proportioned.The bed was very big and comfortable.Refreshment tray welcoming. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Excellent door men.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    Very satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not overly impressed by the breafast set up - in an ideal world it could be very good, but coordination of delivering food items to the table, left quite a lot to be desired.

    Well trained staff, most of whom ensure the comfort of guests, and most of whom appear to have considerable experience.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, facilities and staff with great personality and desire to please .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Wonderfully decorated and furnished room. Exceptionally comfortable bed . Lovely staff . Great breakfast and dining options overall . Will go back again .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.3
    Doorman and most of the staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the staff in the Simon Radley restaurant was absolutely appalling. REALLY let the hotel down and ruined what would otherwise have been a lovely experience. The old windows in the bedroom rattled in the wind so I didn’t get much sleep at all.

    Doorman and most of the staff are excellent. Beautiful old hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in the heart of Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Haveing to que to up to get a coffee in the bar .when you are residents.having to up grade to a cooked breakfast.

    All the staff,location general aperence very good,valet parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent, comfortable special hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wasn’t keen on the type of coffee used but that wasn’t too much of an issue other drinks were available. I did have to think hard to find something I didn’t like.

    The room was very good with lovely comfortable bed. Good breakfast which set us up for the day. Excellent cocktail bar.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Good value and great location. Nice place to continue to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clearer information about what B&B covered. Surprised that it was for 'continental' breakfast only -no mention of this on booking slip. No hotel that I have ever stayed in does this! When I protested, the extra charge was removed

    Bed was very large and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious, comfortable and perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad to say about the property. We have stayed before and would definitely re visit. They were slightly let down by one or two inattentive staff at breakfast that meant we had to wait 25 minutes for coffee and pastries despite asking several waitresses. Other than that, a wonderful place.

    Luxurious, comfortable and perfectly located.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    6.3
    Great location for our visit to Chester. Within easy distance of the main areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unlucky to find on day 2 that the milk had gone off in our room fridge. On day 3 we had no milk in our room, all I would say is Housekeeping are letting down the Hotel and the staff in the Brasserie are slow with the service.

    All the Front of House staff were friendly and helpful as were the door staff. Hotel was decorated nicely ready for Christmas. the Spa was also very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and attentive staff really sets the Grosvenor apart from other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of mini bar items. Bottle of water £4.50 , bar chocolate £4.95 !! Rather overpriced. Personally think the Spa should be included in the cost of the room.

    Staff attentiveness during check in was superb with a complimentary room upgrade much appreciated . As we arrived early bags were delivered to our room everything was organised and seamless. Hotel boasts a perfect location in the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely 1st wedding anniversary at the hotel & cant wait to go back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb service from hotel staff, they went the extra mile. It was very nice to have our room upgraded for our wedding anniversary (we had our wedding party at this hotel 12 months ago). The hotel made our anniversary extra special. Thank you Chester Grosvenor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    From coming to going it was a lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather !!!

    For an additional cost we were upgraded to a small suite. The accommodation was excellent. Heating and comfort level easily managed. Bed extremely comfortable. Staff in all areas excellent! Special thanks to the duty manager Neil, who was extremely helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. All in all a very good experience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Staff very efficient. Ideal location for shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Milk which was kept in the fridge had turned sour. Water flow from the shower could have done with more pressure.

    English breakfast. Bed was very comfortable. Temperature in the hotel was ideal.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    no dvd player
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no dvd player poor reception on tv and internet connection wi fi was not working

    no dvd player poor reception on tv and internet connection wi fi was not working

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend away in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some service issues in the bar (which got sorted quickly when we mentioned) and at breakfast (which front desk staff were mortified about when we were checking out). Also booking.com advertises this as breakfast included when actually it is just continental included and a £9 each surcharge for something cooked - feels unreasonable given the cost of the room.

    Front desk staff and front of house were phenomenal, couldn’t do enough for you. Room was beautiful. Breakfast great quality.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Kevin the door man!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast service slow, residents arriving later were served first

    Kevin the door man! Stunning Christmas decorations, extremely comfortable bed, fantastic spa treatments

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    A little taste of luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of a single thing which could be improved! We only wished that we could have stayed for longer - it is expensive so would need to be saved for special occasions but it really was worth every penny. There is nothing else that I can say to add to this!

    It was absolutely perfect; really luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The staff were amazing - friendly and professional. We had breakfast with room service which was lovely. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    This was a birthday treat and the hotel was a perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t fault anything

    The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are so welcoming. Our first visit but we felt instantly at ease and relaxed. The car park leads directly to the reception and you are right in the heart of Chester..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Can't wait to come back.
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I really can't find any fault whatsoever.

    The customer service was the best I have ever experienced. Every department excelled. The meal was lovely - fish - fresh and wonderfully cooked with light crispy batter ( not greasy at all) - the afternoon tea was a brilliant experience - the drinks at the bar was a friendly experience where barman interacted in a lovely manner but didn't overdo it. It all made for a brilliant birthday treat, just wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Superb quality of facilities and staff made my stay perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like!

    The friendliness and professionalism of the staff made my stay! My room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. I felt relaxed and properly spoiled. I ate in the Brasserie and the food was top notch quality.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor ; not great range of tv channels, no sky channels only free view

    Valet parking service , check in service , immaculate room, luxurious bedding

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Put simply - its expensive but hell its worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the actual hotel was slightly difficult because there was a Christmas market on but they raise an access barrier and you had to drive through it but its in the absolute centre of Chester and when you get their they take your car away until you want it back again so a minor inconvenience in an otherwise perfect weekend

    Put simply - its expensive but hell its worth it. Eating in the Simon Radley restaurant was my first experience of Michelin Star food and what an experience - service superb without being "starchy" - food was unreal. Unbridled luxury but more than worth spoiling ourselves.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Very good location, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The things that let it down was first of all, the noise at night time, we had a room that must have been opposite to a late night bar/club and being 26 weeks pregnant it disturbed my sleep a hell of a lot. I understand if the hotel was full it’s not their fault I just wish for the money we paid we had received a good nights sleep. Also, the morning after breakfast was lovely however when asking for things we didn’t get them, ie drinks/toast.

    We loved how Christmassy the hotel was and the reception staff. The location was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    From the second we were welcomed at the door upon our ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    From the second we were welcomed at the door upon our arrival up to check out staff are 2nd to none , room lovely ,definatley highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, nice touches here and there, beware of hidden costs and dark room :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely expensive drinks, parking was not free, English breakfast was not included in the stay, our room was dark and looked upon by working gym, people on cross trainers and running machines could see me in my pjs!

    Lovely staff, nice touches here and there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simon Radley restaurant and bar closed on the two nights we were there. Fixed seats in La Brasserie too low. Mini-bar prices very high.

    Car park adjacent and good value. Helpful directions over the phone for the last half-mile of our journey.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Fabulous location in the heart of Chester City, with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our breakfast order wasn't delivered correctly but the manager explained that the order system had failed for a short period and apologies sincerely.

    Very friendly, warm inviting staff. Lovely rooms. Lovely food. Decor was impressive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable break not too far from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would of been nice if there was a lounge to have coffee in La Brasserie service not the best went in at 5 pm Saturday and breakfast time ... not as diligent and friendly as the other hotel staff

    Loved the location Fantastic Full English Breakfast Check in /our staff very efficient & friendly Room service quick Doormen excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and helpful but waiters in the Brasserie in the evening showed evidence of poor training and served wine and food from wrong side leaning across guests.Insufficientky trained

    Central position, room food quality good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Great hotel facilities and location which meant we had a really super few days away with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred self service breakfast rather than waiter service.

    Fabulous hotel in a great location. Could not fault the facilities and staff were super.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Incredibly restful, amazing food, beautiful rooms and very attentive and professional staff. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every aspect of our stay was enjoyable and there were no faults whatsoever with this hotel. I would put it at the top of our list of places to re-visit. An excellent choice if you are visiting Chester.

    Bed linen was of exceptional quality, and the bed extremely comfortable. The room was very tastefully decorated. The staff were very professional, friendly and attentive and the standard of the hotel, cleanliness and overall presentation is first class. We ate in the Brasserie and could not fault the food in an way, it was of amazing quality, one of the best evening meals we have eaten in a very long time. Well worthy of its reputation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Traditional hotel with the wow factor. Loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was as you would expect from a 5 star hotel,

    the room was very spacious, a very extra large bed and comfy. separate sitting area, well stocked mini bar, with various snacks. the breakfast had many different selections to choose from, what we chose was lovely and well presented. The staff are immaculate, very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Historic Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One grumpy bum concierge who made us feel uncomfortable. Told my hubby off for parking where the other concierge told him to - bad start. Following day rolled eyes when I changed my mind on getting something out of my bag.

    Location, spa, queen size bed in the executive suite, La Brasserie, most staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    It wasn't just the hotel all service in Chester was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't just the hotel all service in Chester was excellent people were incredibly nice and customer focused from Starbucks to the hat shop Hotel was a delight

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    GReat spot, great hotel Love staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit slow . Once we had checked out getting car and valuables back was a chore . One member of staff in particular was very snapy and unpleasant - not what I expect of the grosvenor

    Great experience all round , check in wonderful , Room was excellent - the best bed I have ever slept in . Very quiet room location . Breakfast was great . Perfect location .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the location was excellent. The staff were so helpful and courteous - everyone from the reception area, the staff at the restaurant and the doormen. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel & fab location - the brassiere was a little dis appointing at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i expected a hair dryer in the bathroom & breakfast service was terrible cold toast - coffee but no milk given then when both came back the breakfast had been eaten.

    the hotel and rooms are stunning!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    drinks bar was closed for a private event, no warning given, if you wanted any drink you had to wait in line with non hotel guests at the restaurant, complained to staff members and we were told its Saturday and its busy(then why close your drinks bar then), the breakfast in the morning was an endurance test, eggs under cooked, having to ask staff 2/3 times for tea or coffee, the whole experience was very poor.

    location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, great team, extended our stay purely due to the wonderful hospitality!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost nothing to complain about, without picking nits! I suppose the only comment one could make is that the bathrooms will be due a renovation soon. Albeit, as it appears they were last refitted in the 1980's with high quality marble and fittings, they have aged very well.

    From the knowledgeable characters at the front door and the staff at reception, through to housekeeping, cleaning and even the maintenance staff. The team in the bar and the wonderful dining experience at Simon Radley’s, to the excellent breakfast and delightful team. Every single staff member without exception delivered a smile as they went about their duties, going out of their way to make sure nothing could be better. So much so that it didn’t feel like duties or service, it actually felt like staying with friends, it was ‘a real pleasure’. Warm, friendly and caring. In light of the hotel being full during our stay, makes it all the more impressive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    The bell boys where extremely rude and made smart remarks as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bell boys where extremely rude and made smart remarks as we walked past as though I would not hear. Upon entering the hotel after an evening meal one member of staff allowed 4 other guest to walk straight in but decided to stop me and my partner and question where we was staying and to then prove we actually where before letting us in. This wouldn’t have bothered me too much but the fact the other 4 (older) guests where greeted with a warm welcome and not stopped and questioned made it very embarrassing and really spoilt the stay for us both.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think a self help continental breakfast would be better. The service for this type of breakfast is not great as one prefers to look at whats available.

    Simon Radley restaurant was superb, great experience. Bed very comfortable. The staff throughout made the stay an excellent experience and were very attentive and thoughtful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    The staff were excellent and catered for all our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the bedroom could have been a little better, my wife is a rather cold person and we thought that the room could have been a little warmer. The easy chairs were not very comfortable and there could have been more stations available on the tv. one other thing, I am not a great fan of the 'shower in the bath' These are just some observations, as our stay was excellent!

    The staff were excellent and catered for all our requirements.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    Although pleasant, next time I would choose a slightly less expensive hotel off the main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have expected upgrades such as a newer TV, single faucet instead of separate hot & cold, a better shower, and especially annoying was the inconvenience of not being able to control each light switch separately. Worst was the horrid musical racket outside the window on Sunday morning - I would have expected a hotel of this quality to safeguard its residents' peace.

    Very helpful and attentive staff, beautiful decor, feeling of luxury, generally quiet in the room, convenient location and amenities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like reminding them for my coffee after the breakfast had been served and our order of toast never appeared. Although the tea and coffee In the room was good some decaffeinated options would have been good.

    The bed was very comfortable and being upgraded to a superior room was an excellent bonus. The complimentary tea and coffee in the room had a good choice and the fresh milk was an excellent touch.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    Many foundations that have served this hotel so well down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The level of personal service and attention to detail that used to exist in all other areas of the hotel no longer does. (Possibly, this is as a result of the hotel not being managed in-house any longer?) Not all staff were switched on, and looking for opportunities; product knowledge, although still good, is, with a few exceptions, not at the very high levels they used to be. Food service in the Brasserie stops at 9:30pm, apparently, and although it was possible to order food at the bar, and I did, this option was not explained during checkin - room service or eat out were the only options the member of staff offered. Checkin process was generally lackluster - very transactional, with no real attempt to engage.

    Many foundations that have served this hotel so well down the years remain as strong as ever: Doorman, checkout process smooth, The Library as a residents lounge. The Manager of Brasserie also very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Location is perfect right outside are shops of plenty pubs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are a credit to the grosvenour and made our visit welcoming will definatly stay again and also be telling friends

    Location is perfect right outside are shops of plenty pubs and restaurants just brilliant

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was lovely and luxurious and our room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we were in had a low constant humming sound and got worse about 7 in the morning

    The hotel was lovely and luxurious and our room was very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury City centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sure about the cubby hole check out cashier: a bit naff!

    First class hotel: excellent staff: they do the "little things" right eg bed linen fresh each day, towels changed in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    The location of this hotel could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of this hotel could not be better. The staff were polite, pleasant and attentive. We go away a lot and this hotel and what it offers has jumped to the top of our list. We can’t wait to return

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service throughout our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Adding a service charge to the bill without asking first. They removed when I queried, as I had tipped the staff throughout the stay.

    Excellent customer service throughout our stay. Visit to the spa was fantastic and the treatments were the best I’ve ever had (thanks to Emily the therapist)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room at the front of the hotel and were disturbed by the noise of people in the street outside throughout the night. I understand you can not prevent the noise outside but it did disturb my sleep.

    Lovely hotel with very helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Great quality short stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 5* service ,accommodation and food. It was not over expensive! The location is fantastic for accessibility to all places in Chester. Worth going to again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Love, love this hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing about this hotel that is anyway bad !

    We love this hotel, from the rooms to the location. We loved the revamp on the Brasserie restaurant, with the round bar, which was perfect when we arrived after 9pm and fancied a drink. Our room was perfect with great space and the breakfast is always excellent. It is the most perfect bolt hole away from the madness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged extra for a hot breakfast. The continental breakfast does NOT include meats / cheeses - is that really a continental breakfast or just a cheap one? Also everything at breakfast is table service which means you don't necessarily get exactly what you'd like.

    Beautiful Art Deco styled bistro with attentive staff. Lovely decor throughout including bedrooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    The breakfast (full English) was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking can get busy ... but overall it was a lovely stay :-)

    The breakfast (full English) was lovely. The location of the hotel is prefect for shoppers!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.0
    The room and bed were very comfortable with excellent room...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advice about the hotels carpark would have been useful on the website

    The room and bed were very comfortable with excellent room service and polite, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Don't hesitate to book. I highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to comment, as it exceeded our expectations.

    The hotel was exceptional. Reception staff on arrival were very helpful & welcoming. We stayed in the Executive room & it was cosy, very clean & the bed was comfortable. It was nice to relax after a full day of sightseeing. The location was perfect, close to all main areas of interest. My little boy absolutely loved it. Thankyou for our fantastic stay Grosvenor Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a brilliant time from start to finish here. Everything was impeccable, the service, room everything. We put on our booking that it was our anniversary & we got a lovely note & a cake in our room & a free upgrade to a suite. Couldn’t recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.6
    This place is a gem with the superb staff adding to it's sparkle .... Big Thanks :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I must agree with some of the other reviewers , the rooms could do with a refresh and some of the maintenance touches could be better .... it would be nice to see a more modern shower . The Full English Breakfast should be included regardless of price , mind the portions were stingy ..

    The Hotel and it's staff are just a delight , they made the whole experience effortless .. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was sooooo comfy it was difficult to leave . And a big thanks to the concierge who went the extra mile in sorting our parking pass , thanks to him we were able to continue with celebrations ... And Finally , Breakfast was like a step back in time with all the serving staff dressed so smartly co ordinated with the most gorgeous breakfast room I've ever been in ... i'd come back just for that .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant relaxing holiday, central which was a real bonus for us. We intend to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No residents lounge for any time use, the areas on each floor don’t quite fit the bill.

    Very comfy bed, quiet comfortable room. Breakfast excellent. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Chester Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices in the hotel bars are excessive giving the impression of no value for money. Paid in excess of £50 for 2 coffees and 2 cognacs Would not recommend the bars as a place to drink

    Great location for access to downtown Chester. Staff are friendly and the amenities such as the Spa are excellent. Great for a relaxing mini break and definitely have the Afternoon Tea

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Yates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave

    The staff and the facilities were amazing....warm, friendly and hospitable! The breakfast was fantastic and a wide range of choice.....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.8
    A luxurious stay in a top quality hotel in a beautiful small city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were paying around £350 per night for our room, so I was a little put out that 1) I didn't get the option of an inclusive cooked breakfast (£10 extra) and 2) We were charged for the cost of the newspaper that was delivered to our room each morning. I think these things should have been provided free of charge - little things can matter when it comes to customer satisfaction.

    Great location; Really large, comfy bed; Luxurious bathroom; Top rate dining facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa probably wasn’t worth the extra £30 per room that we paid to use it (very limited facilities, no pool/ jacuzzi). The staff are nice enough, but didn’t feel like we were given 5* hotel treatment. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast seemed disorganised / under staffed - we had to wait quite a while to get a cup of tea and even longer for our porridge!

    Very nice hotel - very comfortable bed and lovely crisp bedding. The room was very nice and clean. Great location in Chester.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing: old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price of the stay, I think that you can get better elsewhere. I think you pay for the 5* service of the staff rather than a hotel as a whole- the rooms are old, need redecorating and lack modern touches eg:Bose system but the adapter is 5 years too old so you can’t use it. The bathroom was ancient and the hot tap was boiling - too hot to wash hands with so I had to wash my hands with cold water. It’s all a little dated and obviously for an older clientele who require no Modern touches. Breakfast is continental (unless you pay for a cooked). They offer a menu and you choose what you’d like and it’s served to you. We found it quite slow. Continental does not include a selection of cold meats, cheeses etc but toast, white bread rolls, Danish pastries and croissants. Overall a little disappointing. The fitness room was one of the worst I’ve been to, with a serious lack of equipment.

    The staff and service was amazing. The spa was great too and the treatments we had were bliss! The location is fantastic. The restaurant and bar are amazing. And the minibar was well stocked. The continental breakfast was good but not offering granary rolls was disappointing and not being able to choose anything and having to wait for something as simple as fruit was frustrating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.6
    Despite a few niggles it is a lovely hotel which I would return to and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the down-lights in the bathroom kept flickering on and off and the switch for one bank of the main bedroom lights was stuck and very hard to turn off. The heated towel rail in the bathroom did not work at all despite the receptionist telling me it would heat up when I ran the shower. (Odd—and it never worked in two and a half days). I REALLY hated that the hairdryer was hard wired into a drawer in the desk in the bedroom. This must have been designed by a man who has never tried to dry and style medium length hair. Really, really awkward and unnecessary. Who is going to steal an old hairdryer from a hotel like this? The single taps in the bathroom, rather than a mixer are not the best. The drinks are rather pricey and the mini bar fully priced! I also think having to pay an extra 9 pounds for a continental breakfast is a bit steep.

    The doorman was polite and welcoming as were the reception staff. My room was spacious and elegant with a super comfy bed - the best I slept in during my nine week trip away. The towels were so big and plush they seemed decadent! The Elemis toiletries were lovely. I really liked having a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities and the lighting (apart from the problems mentioned) was generous and effective. The breakfasts were delicious, fast and perfectly cooked - I had the vegetarian cooked breakfast one day and smoked salmon and eggs the next. The bar is a nice place to relax. The location is excellent - right in the centre of Chester and a short walk to the train. All the staff are very professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath had a little mould around it,and it looked tired.

    Room was clean, and all facilities as expected. Staff friendly and professional. Breakfast was fantastic. Only one place serves better.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were friendly and made sure we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was lovely, but I think it possibly may need modernising. Still worth the stay :)

    Staff were friendly and made sure we enjoyed our stay. Rooms were spotless and the bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom basic. My husband's food was cold my grouse was tough. Staff uniforms needed pressing. My husband has been a chef for 40years and expected alot more at this level

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    Classy hotel, would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Excellent location, close to main attractions and convenient parking. Room large and very comfortable, food and service excellent and a very pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    Old-world charm with modern amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Chester Grosvenor offers old-world elegance and charm, but with up-to-the-minute amenities. The cuisine was first rate, and the staff friendly and services were personal and efficient. The rooms are a nice size and very nicely furnished and appointed. I'd recommend it for either business or pleasure travel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    5.4
    A pleasant break within a unique city, undermined by poor quality of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No provision to check in at level two access door to hotel rear from car park. Guests arriving in this manner have to trundle their luggage down to Reception on ground floor at front of hotel, then proceed to their room on one of the upper floors after check in. Hotel management and staff would benefit from reading the novel 'Hotel' written by Arthur Hailey. View through the window of room 122 appalling, Huge Ducting prominent - see photograph. Continual noise from the Duct. Carpet stained. Castor dislodged from chair. Toilet seat fixing gasket broken. Blood stain on one towel

    Good location close to City centre. This was the main reason for staying at this Hotel. Parking was convenient, enabling us to come and go by car as required. A good selection of options at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    6.7
    Let down by terrible breakfast and old bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had seen better days. The shower is over the bath with a shower curtain. To make things worse the shower head is too low and not adjustable, so when I wasn't being attacked by a damp shower curtain I was banging my head. Breakfast was the biggest let down! The room rate only included continental breakfast, which is not a buffet style, so you're are at the whims of the service staff as to what and when you get it. We had to ask for our drinks 3 times, the porridge with maple syrup arrived without syrup, and the fresh fruit and yogurt arrived without yogurt. English breakfast is overpriced at £9.50 for a small plate with 2 pieces of bacon, 2 eggs, 1 sausage, black pudding, a mushroom and half a tomato. On the second morning we had to wait 15 minutes even for a table.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for access to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Well worth paying the extra to stay in such an elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast was good but not quite 'continental'!

    Location couldn't be better and, whilst the hotel doesn't have its own car park, the adjacent multi-storey is bright, clean and reasonably easy to find. There is direct access from the car park into the hotel. The hotel combines comfortable, traditional charm with very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: