Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chilton Country Pub & Hotel 3 stars

Blackboy Road Fence Houses, West Rainton, DH4 6PY, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in West Rainton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    B

    The hotel was lovely: peaceful and quiet... which culminated in a fabulous, deep sleep. The room was upgraded; spacious and with beautiful views. The staff were welcoming. Breakfast was a full, English ...cooked and presented well. We ate in the restaurant in the evening: the meals were appetizing; compliments to the chef. I would definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please would you make sure your staf know more about wine. We were given a bottle of red that was almost mulled. Also the bottle of white was too. The staff Monday night knew a lot more and was very helpful.

    Food was excellent Room excellent breakfast staff was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole room was perfect there is everything u need for a good stay whn a good bed nice bathroom nd tea making stiff nd TV...to a nice choice of breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a pleasant stay here. Every night we slept well, except on the last night there was some noise from the room upstairs.

    All the meals were good. Breakfasts nice and the menu in the evening was good too. Pub was nice to visit each evening as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work in room. Room was noisy (people walking in corridor in middle of night) and bathroom was very small

    Staff were friendly & location was good for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dated, bathroom was very small and I've never particularly liked sinks in the bedroom instead of the bathroom.

    Convenient and accessible to A1. Cheap, decent bar and a good breakfast included in the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletroll and only one towel even though there was two of us but friendly staff soughted it, you advertise evening meals for £9.75 but that's a starting price, we tried ringing hotel several times no answer and no return calls, asked for twin beds but got a double, they said they were fully booked but it seemed very quiet.

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no WIFI Hairdryer U/S Hotel very tired looking towels off white waiting to be seen at reception - ages!!!! not once but several times.

    the food was satifactory

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was downgraded as they had some problem, i was only told this once id arrived. I was given a standard double room which was awful! Springs in mattress digging into you. Curtains hanging off, stains on carpet. Old and tired decor...towel smelled awful. No staff about as all dealing with a weddi ng party, which was very loud right below my window. Couldnt wait to leave next morning. Would not recommend to anyone. Staff not bothered. Probably worst place ive stayed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was extremely small... No wi-fi in rooms. Walls were too thin, we could hear EVERYTHING from the next room..lol

    good location, great food, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room fairly sizes and the bed was very comfortable however the room was a little little humid and stuffy which can be very easily be solved by providing fans as standard

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel met expectations inside and outside for the money paid for stay the location for what we needed was excellent as the drive from the hotel was under 5miles away from where we needed to be on a daily basis during our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite if you can call it that was tiny. The room was so small that the comfy chair they had put in there was right in front of the wardrobe. Thank goodness we didn’t need the wardrobe. It was incredibly noisy in the sense the walls were so thin. At one stage I thought someone was trying to get into our room but I can only surmise they were getting into the room next door. The food was poor and tasted awful. The whole place needed a good clean and a proper update.

    There were only two good things about this place. The staff were incredibly helpful at all times and worked hard too. The shower was lovely and hot too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had flood lights looking in so it was like daylight all night long with the curtains closed! Didn't sleep and had a course to do the next day which I needed to pass! Bed was really small and uncomfortable and staff were very uninformative. Had no idea where we was supposed to get breakfast worked it out in the end but staff should have told us. Left a night early as needed to be able to sleep! Still had to pay full price!

    The rooms were clean and tidy. The bar staff were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with revamping,decor little bit grubby.

    Quiet location, beds clean and comfy. Pleasant staff. Food menu looked good and reasonable although we did not eat in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall came up to our expectations. The only disappointment was the weather changed the day we arrived and instead of a leisurely drink in the garden taking in the beautiful views we sat in our room waiting for some heating coming through. The bar in the evening was quite busy and people and staff very friendly. The breakfast was excellent and served in a delightful restaurant. Our first visit but would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we stayed on a Saturday when there was a party happening downstairs, so could hear the music until midnight.

    The staff were exceptional, especially Michal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was difficult to get as had to register with icloud before we could even try and get online. we could not get online in our room so this was very poor.

    food was good and staff pleasant, fealt that it was quite good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was on - middle of summer Hot water - scalding hot Dressing table area was too dark to do my make up and hair No aircon?

    Big room and view Good customer service Location (for summer. Won’t like it in the winter) The fact that it was not packed. It was just nice and relaxing Love that the hairdryer was mounted

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in the en-suite was filthy and hadn't been flushed since the last time it was used. There was only one accessible plug socket point in the whole room. The view from the window was of a very muddy field. The shower literally dribbled lukewarm water from the shower head. The floors creaked every time somebody walked across them, waking me up constantly throughout the night. Also, the night I stayed, there was a band playing in the function room downstairs, meaning that the noise continued on throughout the evening. There were dirty coffee cups left in the room. The bar staff were rude and miserable.

    The bed was comfortable, and the hand soap and shower gels provided were nice. The breakfast was OK. The best thing about this hotel is the young guy who works the reception desk. He literally seemed to do everything there, from checking people in/out, to taking breakfast orders in the morning, then handing out breakfasts and clearing away and cleaning tables, all with a big smile on his face!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service was slow at best and breakfast was a farce at best you guy serving taking orders clearing tables then checking us out . he even gave my breakfast to another guest . breakfast was of poor quality wont be staying again the dark headed lad deserves a medal for hi efforts . shame staffing levels are not correct at 5 pm on Saturday afternoon there were 6 people in the bar and 4 staff Sunday at 9am there were 14 guests and 1 staff .

    room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked the wash hand basin to have been in the shower room. Sometimes the voices from neighbouring rooms carried

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and plentiful. Very nice sitting area within the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I had separately booked two separate nights through booking.com the hotel had booked me into two rooms on the same night with different prices and this took some time to sort out their mistake on my arrival. However the manager sorted this out and arranged for me to stay in the same room for both nights at the correct price as booked. The shower was not particularly powerful and went from hot to cold during use.

    A good breakfast was served very quickly and efficiently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where checked into a dirty room. Checked into another and that had not been cleaned either or bed changed from previous guests. Receptionist apparently checked the second room and her attitude was shocking. She really let the hotel down. Had to wait ages for our meal. Had to order twice as they didn't have what we first ordered.

    Manager was excellent. Gave us a lovely room to compensate for the first two and a complimentary drink. Food was lovely once it arrived. Lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are connected by a door. If anyone is in the next room and talking you can hear every word. Even the above rooms can be heard talking which I suppose is generally not a problem unless you like to go to bet relatively early and expect it to be quiet which it wont be if people next door are coming back from the bar late and talking loudly. My wife has not got good health and fell ill on the second night of a three night stay and spent 12 hours the next day in hospital having sent for an ambulance. Lack of sleep did not help. Needless to say we did not stay for the third night and went straight home from the hospital. The manager was very understanding and refunded us the 2 nights so that's a plus.

    Warm and comfy room. Friendly staff (most of them)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are in need of an update, looking around the rest of the accommodation it would benefit from a refurbishment. The bar and restaurant areas are fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a deluxe room but it was obvious it was standerd. Main light went out reported but nothing done.

    Everything was there for your convenience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant could have been better and a little more cereal/bread rolls or similar as choice for breakfast(although cooked breakfast was lovely ).

    Our room was lovely and comfortable warm and quiet.The shower was brilliant and got hot quickly. Staff were lovely efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was so cold the radiators were turned off .We had to use an electric heater. The bed was very uncomfortable we could feel the springs.

    Friendly staff.Lovely food .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like Fawlty towers. Stayed two nights and was asked to share one room second night after we booked and were given two. Forgotten about in the restaurant in the evening and also breakfast. Great place if you want a laugh and Arnt hungry

    Big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no vegetarian breakfast in this day and age unacceptable also breakfast was poor quality bathroom was small needed updating

    location and the decoration of the hotel friendly staff the bed was comfortable nice hot shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No contingency plan for an absent breakfast chef so no choice other than a continental breakfast. Tired furnishings particularly the mattresses

    Location for our purpose and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was far too small and the extractor fan did not work

    The food was good and the staff were pleasant. It was a very quiet area to stay and the bed was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally everything about place

    Close to A1 but in countryside. Food wonderful and not expensive. Rooms fresh and clean and comfortable. Quiet even though near a road, not difficult to find with sat nav, and worth it to get out of city to rest

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature EVERYWHERE in the hotel was in excess of 28 degrees and it was ridiculously hot. I actually felt sick at breakfast and spent most of the weekend turning all the radiators down or off. The temperature was completely un necessary.

    The hotel is excellent. Great location but a little up on the moor (Which i what we wanted). The homemade pub food was incredible, excellent quality and great prices with a huge selection. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was too late, starting at 8am. We needed to be out of the hotel by 0745 to go to a sports event.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Nice friendly reception staff. Value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towel rail in the bathroom was extremely hot all of the time, good for adults but would not be child friendly !

    Hotel in quiet location but within easy reach of all major cities ,Durham,Newcastle , Sunderland etc. Perfect room view overlooking fields. Food was very good and to our liking. Loads of parking available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could do with up dating to a memory foam mattress

    The bathroom was lovely staff very welcoming helpful freindly hotel spot on food spot on in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excessivly hot water from taps

    very friendly staff.food in restraunt and breakfast was very good.shower cubical very small the water in the bathroom sink was dangerously hot my hubby burnt his hand,,should have termostate controlled taps was tea and cofee making facalities but were limited.noise could be heard from bedroom next door but then thats inconsideration from fellow guests.ideal venue the rooms were lovley and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor maintenance in the room was required. Staff were very responsive to dealing with the items.

    Location was ideal for visiting relatives in nearby Houghton le Spring. The country surroundings added to our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need updating in some of the rooms. It was cool in the bedroom in November.

    It's a very nice area, very friendly hotel and was made to feel most welcome. The food is lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a deluxe twin but very disappointed so asked to be moved. It was cold even with the heating on because the long curtains covered the radiator and couldn't leave the curtains open as room was on ground floor overlooking the car park .No iron or ironing facilities in room or shampoo and shower cap as stated .Quite a gloomy room really.Only enough tea coffee and milk in room for one cup each.Didnt dislike anything about the executive room.

    We were moved to executive room 11 as we thought the deluxe twin room 7 wasnt what we expected.Wouldnt have called it a deluxe room .The executive room was big with very comfy beds.We ate in the hotel and the evening meals were very good quality for the price .Breakfast was also lovely with quality produce.There was a very good choice and excellent portions.The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. Everything was good.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and the furniture good. The breakfast was really good and my husband has to follow a gluten free diet. This was understood and we were assurered by email what would be supplied for his gluten free breakfast and everything was as promised.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowt

    easy to locate and masses of parking Evening meal was excellent and able to choose between formal or informal dining areas. TV area but not intrusive like may places. Breakfast lady was superb as was the breakfast and a true multi-tasker. The dear lady even made me a sandwich at short notice for my lunch. My room was enormous, so much so that I fet if I got up in the night I'd get lost! Shower was powerful and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good atmosphere in the hotel and bar area. All staff we dealt with were very pleasant

    Good clean facility, with friendly staff. The food we had was als very nice. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was tired and did smell 'tired'. Rooms were small but adequate for needs. Bed small but comfy. No information in the rooms to confirm breakfast times or times meals were served in the evenings in the bar. Telephone in room but no number for reception should we have needed. Key fob, ridiculously large and cumbersome. No sound insulation through the walls so we could hear everything from children playing in the corridors, couples having heated discussions, etc. The staff carried out their duties as expected, but no real Customer Service displayed and no one appeared to have any real interest in the guests.

    The cooked full English breakfast was cooked well and arrived in a timely manner. The location for us was perfect as was within walking distance of relatives.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Pub food was outstanding and accommodation excellent. We will stay there again and would recommend to others. Easy access to all local areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is in need of an update but this didn’t spoil our stay.

    The double room we had was a disabled one and seemed to have been recently renovated. Very clean throughout, nice bathroom with plenty of aids if needed. Beds lovely and comfy and nice bedding. Tea and coffee making facilities in room also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem I had we been to a wedding so got back late had night porter on. Took over half hour to let us in! Didn't help as it was raining and cold 🙁

    Beautiful settings feel warm and homely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt have option to put hesting on as when required. The attached door leading to next room..could hear clear conversation snd had to cover key hole with towell... Dressing table had mirror but no.plug socket near..

    Room spacious ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a function on therefore very noisy in the bedroom and also could hear people in bedrooms. Very noisy floorboards in rooms.

    Staff friendly rooms could do with updating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't the cleanest I've seen and there was pubic hair on one of the beds. The room was a bit tired and could do with a face lift.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we were leaving early for great north run we were not able to have cooked breakfast, continental breakfast was poor

    Rooms were pleasant and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all being on one floor and no lifts to contend with, having 3 elderly people with me . Staff very helpful to understand the area and also to offer nice hot milky coffee on our return in the evening. They went the extra mile. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like anything, weekend spoilt by uncomfortable bed and constant noise

    Dirty and noisey, would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Bad experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOISE! there was a loud party (Wedding) on til midnight, then lots of noisy drunk guests going past the door for the next hour. Hard to get served breakfast next mornig, had to sit at dirrty used table until it was cleared, 3 attempts to get our order right then we gave up and ate what we had got.

    Not too hard to find and convenient for visiting family in Houghton

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds where very lumpy torn pillows stuffing hanging out bed base had torn areas . the shower room is ready for an upgrade black mold in shower area and rust in corners outside of shower door.

    nice area very welcoming nice spacious rooms plenty of hot water lovely breakfast also very nice evening meals

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath with shower above. Glass partition instead of curtain didn't leave a lot of room to manoeuvre!

    Everything was clean and tidy. We had dinner in the bar and it was excellent. All fresh and homemade.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dirty, glass light shades have not been cleaned for a long time, only two tea bags and two sachets of coffee. Overall the whole place does not appear to have had a deep clean for a very long time. The carpet had not been hoovered from the night before at breakfast. There was no one manning reception on arrival or departure.

    That we did not pay the going rate for the room as we had booked online.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the bathroom was awful. It smelt of urine and other unmentionable activities (cathouse smell). I couldn't let my daughter stay in the bedroom as I felt icky from thinking of it that I did not want to touch anything. She had food in the room as we had been traveling for 6 hours and arrived around 9.30pm. I had to wet wipe the chair and table before I could let her sit down. The cleaner did clean the floor of the bathroom in front of me however the smell was still there and they said that they could leave me the detergent so that I could clean up. After 20 mins they gave me another room, that did not look safe with dents on wall and fallen soap dish set. You could hear the toilets etc from the other bedroom. It definately was not the quiet executive/bridal room that I paid for. It was a ripp off. It was definately a ripp off and a con, charging people for executive room that they advertisef and then expecting them to put up with awful smells/uncleaniness and then changing room to a half done one.

    Nothing as the smell was like a cathouse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wash basin in bead room, Shower / toilet in very small room, poorly lit and in need of clean / upgrade. Would imagine survives on functions and weddings.

    Staff and service were good particularly at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was ridiculous through the night. Thin walls and thin floors so constant noises/bangs through the night. There was an event on which went in till around 11pm so it was noisy.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism was the location,a bit remote.

    Adequate but comfortable hotel. Staff friendly & helpful. Room was nice,although the bed was a bit small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was good, could not find any specific things wrong

    We were given a 1st floor room, I had asked for ground floor. This was rectified on our 2nd day, would have been on the first day but there was a 60th Birthday Party and if coursevthe Durham Miners Gala so Hotel full on our first night. The staff were excellent and so helpful, this hotel is a gem and in a very rural position, but nit many miles outside of Durham and not too far from the Beamish Museum

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi out of order.Gave us a few problems with computer.Not used to paying for accommodation in advance.Like to ensure that room/facilities etc are ok before paying.

    good tasty breakfast.Nice quiet room.Comfortable bed.Lovely shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests upstairs were loud. You could hear the bed knock all night against the floor and couldn't get any sleep.Request a top floor room!

    Clean, friendly and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a great nights sleep it was so quiet and lovely views , the staff were very friendly and helpful , and really good food , will definitely stay again when i am in the area .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Needs to be maintained a little better. Missing light shades, holes in the wall, that had been filled but not painted. Plaster falling out round window, catches missing off window. Might sound picky, but gives an overall poor impression. Staff were very good.

    Food was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant was pleasant but of average quality.

    We were upgraded due to the grade of room we had booked being booked out, so the room was bigger and better than expected. The room was big and comfortable and the ensuite was very good and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no sleep what so ever with very roudey people above us there was a very loud wedding on and there wasn't much consideration to guest who was not part of the wedding party. I took the issue up with the receptionist on check out she discounted the room by £8!!!! And told us we should of told the night porter in the night , to our full knowledge there was no night porter as in check in all we was told was our room number and what time breakfast was.

    We got a good online deal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was beautiful but a little too warm ...could turn down the temperature in summer months a couple of degrees

    beautiful location , beautiful room , very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid in advance, but when we got there the receptionist said I had not paid, its a good thing that I had printed off my booking receipt etc, this took the receptionist some time to sort out

    good room, food very good, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great 2 night stay,our host Linda was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble . The food was excellent and breakfast was the best we have had for many years. Thank you much and we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful.. i couldn't believe it was powdered scrambled eggs, the bacon was very greasy and the tea was cold. Also the room was absolutely roasting hot with no aircon or even much of a window to open

    The scenery was a lovely country side, and michael the duty manager was beyond helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in room 16 was not very good. Unable to angle the shower head and it was more of a dribble than a spray

    Very good value for money. Decent breakfast. Had an evening meal which was good value, piping hot and well cooked

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every floor board creaked, the shower door wouldn't close properly, the toilet didn't flush properly.

    The staff were very friendly, the room was clean. The breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: