Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chiseldon House Hotel 3 stars

New Road, Swindon, SN4 0NE, United Kingdom

#12 of 18 hotels in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasantly surprised by our overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was not very comfortable for a longer relax.

    Friendly helpful chatty staff. The afternoon tea was very good. We then had a long walk a bit of a rest then tackled the evening meal which was very very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant visit, lovely grounds, great outdoor event venue in the courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath in an alcove and up two steps was surprisingly hard to get into and out of safely. While concentrating on the steps my head hit the overarching beam. Radiator in the room not working, probably due to a controller fault. Luckily it was warm enough that it didn’t cause of much of an issue as the bathroom radiator was fine. On a weekend, 09:30 seems a little early to finish serving breakfast. We only just made it.

    The hotel manager came to speak with guests at breakfast which was attentive. He was cheerful and amusing. The room was large and spacious as was the ensuite with a bath, separate shower, bidet and toilet. Hot water system very powerful, the quickest running bath I have ever seen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Country house charm with friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room lacked ambience. The food was plentiful and perfectly well presented but could have been a bit more tasty.

    The is a beautiful house in lovely setting. It had a really nice period feel and the bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. The guest bathroom was also spacious and very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    There was no heat overnight in the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heat overnight in the rooms. The staff are poorly trained. They sit behind a computer telling you that the computer says the heat is on when the radiators are stone cold. There was no apology. I would not recommend this hotel. Definitely do not stay in the winter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Dinner very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The porridge - it was more like gruel and unlike Oliver Twist I wouldn't have asked for more. We got down for breakfast at 8.30 (breakfast served 7-9 am) and the young girl in the restaurant had been told everyone had left.

    Dinner very tasty. Room pleasant and very comfortable. Pleased to receive ugrade from level of room booked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely consider staying here again due to comfort factor & close proximity to Swindon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV signal kept disappearing Parking spaces immediately adjacent to hotel limited and if female lone traveller this would not be ideal - worth noting if poor weather conditions

    Comfort and hospitality of staff very good Spacious room Excellent quality of food - breakfast & eve meal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant and comfortable. Sadly the slowness of the meal disappointed us all.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were with a family gathering to celebrate a birthday. The food was fine but the service was so slow and the wait between courses long. We had to ask for extras e.g horseradish sauce, which we received only after requesting it.

    Comfy bed, nice size rooms, plenty of hot water, thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Extremely expensive for very bad quality --> Black List
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to have the heater on because we are still in summer. The staff brought an electric heater to compensate Roof leak due to heavy rain Very poor quality breakfast: the continental choice I extremely limited, the bakery taste like from yesterday, the English breakfast takes ages to be prepared. I had some fish with poached eggs, the fish was clearly out of date, smell very bad Impossible to sit on the table in the room, the chair is as high as the table, so impossible to work too

    Large & very quiet room Newly refurbished room Very friendly staff Free Wifi with very good quality Large bathroom Pleasant garden around

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    An hotel with a difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all. We were only there for one night and would book again.

    A beautifully presented individual hotel not a chain!! Comfortable and warm. All the bedrooms were different, stylish and well appointed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excellent room, excellent food and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the view from our window was a brick wall and part of the hall/staircase window. But as everything else was excellent this was acceptable

    Excellent room and facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Good, might easily return if en route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in para above.

    Didn't get a chance to experience proper dinner as big party going on, but hamburger etc was good. Breakfast could be more 'home-made', i.e. whole meal bread hand cut, not Hovis factory sliced etc; jars of mustard, ketchup etc present better than sachets? V friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed but wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there was a wedding the next day and as a guest not connected to the wedding you were almost forgotten about. Also communication between staff was not good. They only had one room booked and I booked 2. Ordered a cream tea a few weeks before and it was never booked in.

    Room was lovely and roomy. Location was good and a peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and we would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothnig..it was perfect for a few relaxing days away

    We had an amazing room with one of the biggest,most comfortable beds we have ever slept in...the bathroom was immacualate and had a massive shower too.The staff were very friendly and the food was gorgeous.we would highly recommend this hotel..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful traditional hotel set in superb grounds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were a little thin so could hear nearly everything being said in the room next door. They were late to bed and early risers!

    Beautiful traditional hotel set in superb grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    We got an upgrade to executive suite and it was wonderful-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay a second nite! (Had already been booked up,so not their fault!)

    We got an upgrade to executive suite and it was wonderful- with French doors that opened onto veranda overlooking the garden; morning staff at checkout was friendlier than afternoon at check in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Staff friendly, helpful and professionel in all respects -...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spring in bed (room 6), side near bathroom door offered some discomfort. Meant to mention it before we left, but forgot. Suffer from walking/breathing difficulties compounded by tree pollen from trees so near the building. Lack of lift and different floor levels seriously affected mobility within building, but having said that, provision of lift and scrupulous level floors would detract from the ambience.

    Staff friendly, helpful and professionel in all respects - in effect, excellent. Food good, well prepared and efficiently served, excellent Menus great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Pretty House set in a nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and the radiators didn't seem to be working - neither was the heated towel rail even though we switched it on.

    Comfortable beds and a nice view from our corner room. Staff really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money if a little rustic in places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chips were underdone thought generally the food was good. Young "trainee"? staff serving in dining room require somewhat more training.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, well maintained. The staff were very friendly. Excellent breakfasts! This place is a great base for exploring nearby sights such as Avebury circle. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    Not worth what they charge .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was broken , staff were rude and had no time to spare, view of a rusted out old shed , very dated , low quality especially given the price paid.

    Looked good from the outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.0
    Great spot, nice grounds, peaceful. In urgent need updating. Food and service excellent though!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House is tired looking and in need up some updating in rooms. Room 5 had bathroom well past its best with uneven creaky floor and 1970's bidet. Carpets and furniture tired. Restaurant almost deserted, no atmosphere but staff and service faultless.

    Fantastic location with lovely peacful grounds. House looks great on outside. Staff and service excellent. Food very good too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.3
    Great sized room , beautiful period building, attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed rather tired - twin matresses rather worn , shower fixing to the wall broken , bath and sink plugs unable to hold water in for any length of time - several tiles cracked. A bit over priced at £140 per night for the room.

    Great sized room , beautiful period building, attentive staff and top quality breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely peaceful and relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over bath arrangement is very dated and difficult for older folks. This is the age of a powerful shower cubicle , safer, more efficient and just a whole lot easier.

    Peaceful and unpressured Food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was great and the staff we encountered were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some areas need updating. The plug in bath didn't fit properly so having a bath was not great.

    Breakfast was great and the staff we encountered were good. A great place for a family wedding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Missing it already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location and a fine, large room with balcony and view of the peaceful garden.Plenty of parking space.Three years since my last stay and that was too long. And this stay was too short!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location, lovely building, different from a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one rosé wine on the wine list! Need a variety, dry as well as sweet. Also, wash hand basin hadn't been cleaned prior to arrival. TV was a bit erratic.

    Lovely quiet location, lovely building, different from a travelodge. Nice people, comfortable bed...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Outstanding quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed though large was not particularly comfortable.

    Size and features of the room, and high quality of restaurant. The staff were outstandingly helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Possibly a best kept secret?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing little secret tucked away in its own world. Beautiful large room and bathroom. High decorative order throughout, super breakfast good staff. Nothing not to like.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    A comfortable small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A large and comfortable room, very quiet location. Excellent food. I was practically the only person staying there that night and the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    It was an excellent stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water bottle in the room :|

    One of the best staffs I have ever met

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The food was amazing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel- very pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was cold In morning

    Great room , great grounds and views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Throughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    Not a got s choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was old, tired in need of an update. Dingy towels, grubby bathroom. Bed was saggy.

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Was very impressed. Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfy. Staff eager to help Breakfast good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Pleasant and comfortable. Ellie the waitress was a lovely girl, polite and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Lovely room and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast took a bit too long to come given that there were only 2 tables at breakfast

    Big bathroom with bath and shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Thoutoughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better

    Peace & quiet, excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Variable food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had breakfast on 7th with colleagues which was poor after we had a good breakfast on 6th after our overnight stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff, the facilities, the food, the privacy, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm.

    The staff, the facilities, the food, the privacy, the property, the walking trails nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Room was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs

    Lovely setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    A little Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant shower in the bathroom, and good sized room finished to a high standard. Oh and a great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    very enjoable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    located near to Swindon and the M4 food and staff top quality and nice to stay in a building with style not just a high rise block

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    weak wifi in my room no slippers for guest

    canteen's food very delicious very nice stuff comfortable bed get a VIP discount

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Little to impress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor shower. Shower area grubby. Tired decor.

    Large bedroom. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.5
    Clean and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly receptionist but reception decor a bit tired

    Clean and very good, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    I chose to stay here because of the closeness to my son's house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of one thing !

    The relaxed atmosphere and the excellent support we received from the staff. Nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.5
    Lovely room although cold in the morning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good cooked breakfast ... very poor bacon and sausages

    Lovely room although cold in the morning ... not sure the radiators came inn?

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Overall, a lovely stay. The ambience was lovely and the staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold. When I mentioned it to Reception the evening I arrived they turned up the heating but the following morning it was cold again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    6.7
    Okay, Food good, disappointing Room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating didn't work in room and wasn't sorted - very cold night

    Food and staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    What one hopes for and rarely gets in a small country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Country house atmosphere and excellent decor. Very welcoming and helpful staff. A relaxing stopover walking the Ridgeway footpath.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Quiet, peaceful and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower over bath is a little dated the rooms really need a quality walk in shower singly lacking in most Swindon Area hotels such improvement would make it outstanding.

    Quiet, peaceful and convenient. Excellent breakfast and good location and lovely setting.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    Staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heating in room was off, breakfast on 2nd day was poor.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent first day breakfast. Nice setting. Comfy beds. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.6
    Delicious hot breakfast items, absolutely amazing staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wallpaper in some places was a little dated/peeling and the walls between some of the rooms were quite thin.

    Delicious hot breakfast items, absolutely amazing staff, cosy atmosphere and in a beautiful house and surrounding area.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    5.0
    Beautiful decor handy location for shopping in Swindon or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cold heating not working in bedroom bathroom and cold breakfast room.It was a chilly weekend.I would have been warmer and more comfortable sleeping in my car !

    Beautiful decor handy location for shopping in Swindon or Marlborough. Pleasant garden.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    5.8
    The Burns night was great fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of heating...very cold in room 2. Apparently this was down to a new heating system which everyone was complaining about over breakfast! Staff should have been more pro-active in offering an apology and maybe a reduction in room rate?

    The Burns night was great fun.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    We stayed for New Years Eve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for New Years Eve. The 5 course dinner was excellent. The disco was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would go back for another special occasion.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    When greeted at reception I was met with a fantastic,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When greeted at reception I was met with a fantastic, friendly staff member. She could see that I was tired and recognised that it was a bit late; and asked if I had had any dinner. I responded "no", so she asked if I would like a table booked for dinner or if I would prefer room service. She took my order there and then so that I could get myself settled in my room, eat as soon as the room service (option I took) arrived and go to sleep in a spacious, clean and tidy environment. Being greeted in such a way made a tremendous impact to my day.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not too happy that our booking was overlooked . Dinner could have done with a few vegetables.

    The staff were very helpful . The room was large and quiet. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.4
    Girls on desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is really a conference and events facility therefore other guests had to fit around this. E.g. There was no cosy lounge to sit in in the evening as experienced in other similar hotels we have stayed in. These were taken up as meeting rooms.it meant if staying for several nights you were confined to your room and it was cold.the heating wasn't on.Probably ok if just overnighting but a bit depressing when there for longer. Compared to what we have previously experienced,disappointing.

    Girls on desk. External appearance of property. It was quiet. Feather pillows on request.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.8
    Good, friendly staff who recommended a walk around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building looks a little bit tired and the courtyard could do with a makeover to make it a more pleasant place to have afternoon tea.

    Good, friendly staff who recommended a walk around the village which was quite pretty, We ordered room service for our evening meal and were really impressed with the quality of the food. Well done chef!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    good breakfast, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we felt we were intruding upon someone else's wedding party. We couldnt enjoy the bar or the lounge once the wedding reception started. Part of our group were in a room which was badly impacted by noise from the party.

    good breakfast, convenient location

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.7
    Helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were unable to use the dining room on either of the nights we stayed at the hotel due to private functions taking place. It would have been helpful if we had been made aware of this when booking.

    Helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Probably not for very young children - we've got a 2 yr old and a 3 month old. Cooked breakfast was aimed more at style than substance in our view

    Beautiful large room Position and grounds The general feel of the place

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.1
    very nice old country house which was close to our wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    late night wedding party disco but as we were at a wedding we arrived back quite late so not an issue for us but may be an issue if you wanted a quiet evening in a country house

    very nice old country house which was close to our wedding venue. beautifull grounds and very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Great cuisine, graeat daily sandwiches, quiet location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    there was only one (big) blanket for the double bed, weak breakfast, better breakfast only against payment.

    Great cuisine, graeat daily sandwiches, quiet location, close to the motorway, private parking place

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    The gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first night was spent in a very soft bed in a very dark room with a view of a wall, buckets, old rubbish bags and ladders, even though we had specifically asked for a hard bed in our booking due to a back injury. The staff first assured us we had the best mattress in the hotel but on the second day after no sleep at all they offered us to look at other rooms and then we were given a lovely room with a hard good bed instead of the dump we were first placed.

    The gardens

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    the setting, the staff, the service, the room, the bathroom,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only tiny criticism is that the wifi didn't work in the bedroom when I was assured it should do

    the setting, the staff, the service, the room, the bathroom, the restaurant, the attention to detail,

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the atic room part of the ceiling came down on a slant.

    The staff are friendly. Food is good and nicely presented. Lovely building. Gardens are beautiful

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    Attended for a wedding, which was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-if was a bit hit and miss and the rear/side of the building wasn't as pretty as the front!

    Attended for a wedding, which was excellent. Great venue and a comfortable, well appointed room to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    I loved the corner room we were given,it had a peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The added cost of £25 for the z bed that was pretty uncomfortable and not suitable for a tall, 13 yr old child. The cooked breakfast portions were a little small.

    I loved the corner room we were given,it had a peaceful atmosphere and was very relaxing. I would definitely come again.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    8.3
    I called to say I would not be booking in while late evening...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really comes to mind

    I called to say I would not be booking in while late evening and they kindly arranged sandwhiches behind the bar which was a great touch,

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    5.4
    Staff were v friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was v cold and I had heating full on, breakfast was ok. Not great value for money, would have been worse if I'd paid full price.

    Staff were v friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.6
    Ideal location just outside of Swindon in a quiet place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minor quibble that I was not advised about the free wifi

    Ideal location just outside of Swindon in a quiet place. Lovely hotel and enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: