Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Church Guesthouse 4 stars

109 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9PH, United Kingdom

#6 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast on the morning because of electrical problem. The continental breakfast was poor. A little more effort could have been put into that.

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice room with a comfortable size!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room with a comfortable size! The guesthouse is managed by a very nice and witty host who can provide you with a lot of information about the city as well as the surrounding areas! 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Graduation trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very hot. A fan would have helped .

    Lovely old building beautifully restored . Large bedroom with high ceiling and pleasant shower room . Comfortable dining area .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A good place to stay near the city centre, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff helpful and friendly, everywhere very clean and fresh, comfortable bed, nice breakfast. Free car parking outside the property. Easy and pleasant walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Sufficient for our purpose but didn't live up to some of the previous reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very difficult because of events being held nearby. Shower very small and bathroom window didn't open. The option of a cooked breakfast as an extra was not available because of the hot weather

    Clean comfortable room. Location good with excellent eateries nearby. Host very kind when I felt unwell on the second day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.0
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mis-leading descriptions on booking.com lead us to expect king-size room with small wardrobe, dining/seating area not a small attic room which was very, very hot. Breakfast was very, very basic.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    I was greeted by Rachel who couldn't have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was greeted by Rachel who couldn't have been more helpful.l was very hot and tired after beening in a meeting all day.There was a litre bottle of cold water everyday in my room as well as tea/coffee.Cooked breakfast was very good in fact it kept me going until dinner at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    I'm often a solo traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cold breakfast has limited options.

    I'm often a solo traveler. The single room is the largest I have seen and was impeccably clean. You could easily fit three New York apartment bathrooms into the ensuite!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    A great time, will have to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking was the only option, despite this the area was safe for leaving a car overnight, no problem.

    The staff were excellent and accommodating. The location was in walking distance to the city centre. A safe and well equipped area. A good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great friendly place for travellers, business or leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The rooms are large, a nice pub across the road. Rachel is a marvellous host to each and every guest. Cooked Breakfast is bespoke with a large selection of continental items as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very easy, comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, nice big room, good breakfast and super helpful host. Arrived late and she was very helpful both in the evening and morning. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When first trying to check in, nobody came to the main door and we couldn’t get in. We went to grab a cup of coffee and came back half an hour later, and were fine, but had we been in a hurry it might have been an issue! Also some other guests were quite loud when returning from nights out.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Rachel, the host was also incredibly helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant indeed and would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a little bit of trouble finding parking on the street and the name of the guest house wasn't prominent so I had to drive around quite a bit.

    Room was clean and bright. Nicely decorated. Bathroom was good and enough space for a change! The welcome was warm and friendly with recommendations for local restaurants etc. The location was convenient for the centre and quite a pleasant street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff, fab location, will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of road noise if at front of house and the shower wasn’t the best, but only minor details!

    Bed extra comfy, staff super friendly, breakfast was a good spread, with the option to have cooked for £5! Lovely location, very close to SWALEC and bute Park and not far from the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Will book again when in Cardiff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast with healthy choices. Did not miss the cooked element. Very well placed to walk into the city centre. Appreciated the use of the Welsh language. Diolch yn fawr.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, clean property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to arrange the check in times was a bit restrictive but understandable.

    Very clean property. Friendly welcome. Room was fresh (recently painted), linen was clean and we had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Parking on the road outside at no cost which was a bonus. 20 minute walk to town which was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Long overdue Cardiff revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a Bed & Breakfast rate however this only included a very basic continental breakfast, we were told that cooked breakfast is available but is extra and has to be pre-booked. Fair enough but this should be stated in the description as it is misleading. Parking is available but is on street parking, we were lucky and found a space very close to the Guest House but can imagine this might not always be so easy.

    We had booked the King room which was at the back of the house. The room was large and very quiet with all the facilities you need. The Guest House is in a good location, a nice 20 mins stroll through Bute Park into the City centre and there are a couple of bars and restaurants on the doorstep. The owner and manager were both very friendly, we were handed a map of the area on arrival and they also mentioned places to visit, local restaurants etc. They recommended The Cricketers Pub nearby which we tried and enjoyed, we also ate at Elgano, an Italian restaurant nearby which we can recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfy bed, friendly staff, easy location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from above rooms ensuite a little off putting. But would still return, maybe asking for a top room.

    Comfy bed, friendly staff, easy location. Cricketers pub over the road excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    5 star B&B in Cathedral Road
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are many B&Bs in Cathedral Road, Church House is 5 star compared to most we have stayed in over the years, attention to detail, the room was spotless and comfortable, the staff could not do more for you, the continental breakfast is excellent and they are happy to make you a hot breakfast on request. The location for us was Cardiff Flower show just a 15minute walk across the park but it is walking distance to the Castle and town centre, coop and shops nearby and a couple of great pubs. Thankyou David Rachel and Andrea for our stay, you made it a working holiday, look forward to seeing you again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    We thoughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly return agian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could perhaps have benefitted from a little work. the wash hand basin was not fully fixed to the wall. However it was spotlessly clean

    Rachel was very welcoming and provided lots of helpful information on places to eat etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal accommodation when visiting the city centre or an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal accommodation when visiting the city centre or an event at the stadium. Only a short walk away. Staff were great and happy to help. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A real home from
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful host, in a truly wonderful place! Extremely warm and genuine welcome to Cardiff! Delicious Welsh cakes and wide variety of breakfast options. Fabulous value for money, spacious rooms, comfy and very clean, hot showers and free wifi. Exceeding expectations and will undoubtably recommend to anyone finding themselves needing a place to stay in Cardiff centre. A real home from home feeling!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and Friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot.

    Nice, well located B&B.Lovely continental breakfast (the cooked breakfast looked good too, but I didn't have one) including really nice Welsh Cakes. Very close to Glamorgan cricket ground and only a short walk to the centre of Cardiff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Concert in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet area. Staff excellent made to feel very welcome. Booked us a taxi for the journey into town centre. We would have walked but it was raining hard. Great stay. Will be back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good location for centre of Cardiff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to park if arrive in the afternoon.

    Got a nice quiet single room as requested. It was small but that didn’t matter. Wonderful breakfast- I went for the Welsh breakfast which was just £3.50 extra and well worth it. I arrived around 3pm and parking was very difficult. After 6pm aprox it’s alot easier. Great location for centre of Cardiff. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    2.5
    Horrible stay - would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of frying in the morning in the room was disgusting, that paired with the lack of sleep from the rock hard beds. The bathroom was absolutely freezing we were able to put a pint of milk in there so it didn’t go off. Not only that when we didn’t want to stay there another night and had booked another hotel- the manager of the hotel made us pay the full amount with no consolation for the quality of our stay. Absolutely horrible stay - would not recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Brilliant location, tired rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is a little dated and showing signs of wear. The wallpaper through the hallway areas is starting to peel in areas. The toilet roll holder was rusty, and the floor tiles in the ensuite were cracked. Continental breakfast included was cereal, toast, welshcakes, and dried fruit. Not a large selection. Cooked breakfast was average - 2 rashers of bacon, one sausage, one egg, a hash brown and a mixture of cherry tomatoes and button mushrooms.

    Brilliant location, friendly staff. General bedroom decor was lovely and looked to have been recently redecorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Excellent - exactly what I needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fruit at breakfast! But very good healthy cereal choice as alternative.

    Very welcoming, accommodating, comfy, warm, clean. TV in room and in breakfast room. Lots of plug sockets for charging. Hairdryer available. Owner really lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Glad I got yo church on time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and areas like Canton, Cathays and city centre easily accessible in 20-25 mins by foot. Ideal for me. Room immaculate, fresh and modern. Continental breakfast fine and great cooked available for a reasonable supplement. Manager knows how to run a succesful BB and was very accomadating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    5 star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't think of anything bad if I'm honest staff were great location was great the house was really clean and beds were comfy

    Everything was spot on the staff Couldn't do enough for you made you feel right at home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Good, warm and friendly. A place that really tries to get it right.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unclear exactly what was and wasn't included in the price. I think - though I don't know - that he'd have liked to have charged me for a cooked breakfast but since this hadn't been mentioned beforehand he felt he couldn't do it. Awkwardness could have been avoided by making this clear up front.

    Friendly and informal. Very nice building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.0
    Unwelcoming, with very disappointing breakfast/facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertise including breakfast, but were informed on arrival breakfast was continental only, (dry welsh cakes, dried fruit, couple of cereal choices, jam) very poor..If we wanted full English it came at an extra £5 per person. After seeing another guests Full English the portions were tiny. (Very poor). Our wardrobe was a metal rack which would have fallen off the wall if anything was hung on it. The owner impressed that he would like payment in cash and scoffed when I payed half cash and half on debit card. There was no welcoming atmosphere at all, all the owner wanted was our money. The shower was really poorly situated, opening the shower door masked off access to the water controls. Definitely will not be returning.

    The location was close to our venue

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    This is an excellent guesthouse, very good value for money would really recommend!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I could possibly say was a negative would be the sound of the rain through the windows which didn't do a very good job at cancelling noise (but as I said, this is in a very quiet area of Cardiff, so still got a very good sleep and was not disturbed).

    Had a fantastic stay here: the room was very spacious and comfortable; the bathroom was excellent, shower very hot in the morning; within easy reach of Cardiff city centre and the university; in a nice quiet street; felt very safe and secure here! Was able to check out early and got lots of helpful advice from the owner! The room had a TV, kettle, mugs/glasses, tea and coffee, a desk, arm chairs, multiple accessible plug sockets and hangers. Everything was in good condition - room felt brand new! Will definitely be returning here if I ever stay in Cardiff again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly welcome to Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location with a nice comfy bed which was needed after exploring the city. Great breakfast too! Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable but felt alienated by the rip-off breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast. The room rate included for Continental breakfast, but there was no sign of this. There was fruit juice, jams, honey and marmalade. Homemade Welsh pancakes, cereals and small dishes of mixed dried fruits and grapes with Kiwi fruit. The cooked breakfast cost extra but was overcooked and poor. There is no mention within the room information folder that the cooked breakfast is at exta cost.

    The room was comfortable, quite and clean. A good king size bed. The bathroom was very cramped and the shower very tight for access; larger size people would struggle to get into the shower. Toiletries were provided and sufficient towels. Bottled tap water was available in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    I was in Cardiff for one night for work and needed somewhere affordable to stay within walking distance of Cardiff University. Church Guest House was a golden find; 20 minutes walk from the university campus, free and ample on-street parking, beautifully decorated room, friendly staff who provided a wealth of local knowledge and recommendations, a great breakfast and the nice, quiet location I needed to get on with some late night work. Highly recommended for parents, academics and visitors to Cardiff University.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.2
    A place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation was bland verging on clinical - no colour. Saniflo in ensuite unbelievably noisy made me reluctant to use the facilities during the night. Worst of all unable to connect to wifi - luckily the owners gave me the password for their own and I was able to use it. Would have been a very unhappy bunny if no access to 'free' wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    We had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight nuisance that the basin in the bathroom didn't have a plug. Cooked breakfast on second morning was cold.

    Very friendly welcome and helpful. Room very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Clean, cosy and quite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect as I was working the whole weekend and really needed a quite comfortable place to stay and that's just what I got, I felt very safe and looked after, spotlessly clean room, very warm and cosy and plenty for breakfast. the guest house is about a 20 walk into town but I think its better to be away from the noise of town and you can walk to Cardiff centre though the lovely local Sophia park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it would be closer to the centre of Cardiff. Wouldn't like to walk through the park alone.

    Paid extra for full English which was lovely but inclusive breakfast would have been suffice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    Sleepless stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was off during the night, it was too cold to sleep. After trying to get the heater going I called the main reception number and got blankets. Having checked all reviews on booking.com and tripadvisor the heating is the main problem at this place. My day was gone after having a sleepless night.

    Local area is pretty and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in a lovely part of Cardiff. Will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the accommodation, just that parking was bit of a pain.

    Location, cleanliness and comfort of room, good breakfast, lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    The room was very clean and comfy, modern decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast finished a bit early for us (9:00) and more hot options would have been good.

    The room was very clean and comfy, modern decoration. Our host was very friendly and gave us recommendations for restaurants and things to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyable :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control the Central heating. Sink taps switched of automatically and too soon

    The welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the manager Clive. Breakfast was plentiful and in very relaxed surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't any allocated parking as they are located on a busy main road. Parking wasn't an issue for me personally as i managed to find a space quite quickly but could be an issue at busier times.

    A very warm welcome from the host, comfortable room and well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Thankyou so much for your warm hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived Clive was here to help us. He has fantastic knowledge of all things to do in Cardiff as well as Wales. He also has recommended great places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All excellent.

    Great place. Very friendly owner and staff. Spacious rooms and immaculately clean hotel. Modern fittings, decor, etc. Handy for all Cardiff's sporting events. One of the best B&Bs I've stayed in: highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, well-situated, and decently affordable. I'd stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a number of places around the UK on this trip, and this was the nicest by far. I was met at check-in by the very affable Clive, who gave me a map and his restaurant recommendations. The room and bathroom were spotless, and nicely appointed in silver and burgundy. I also had two large windows to look out of. The site is located on a lovely street with restaurants close by and Llandaff Cathedral about 20 minutes' walk away. Because I had an early train the day I left, Clive ordered me a cab, made me an early coffee, and sent me on my way with some Welshcakes and clementines wrapped up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended! Great, comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of traffic in Cardiff on Saturday! Nothing to do with the guesthouse but a good tip if you plan on having your car when you visit. It is very busy on the weekends and especially on Saturdays. Getting around took a lot longer than expected. But beautiful city!

    Super friendly and accommodating staff. The owner, Clive, made us feel right at home. We were unable to make it for the check-in on Saturdays but we phoned and Clive stayed to welcome us. Comfortable bed, spotless room and bathroom. Nice hot shower with good pressure. Fresh linens and towels. Good breakfast. Fast Wi-Fi. Clive purchased gluten-free bread and cereal just for us. We felt pampered and cared for. We highly recommend this guesthouse. :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooked breakfast at extra cost, was offered cooked breakfast in morning but not told it was extra. (Nice breakfast though).Extra charge of £ 5.00 each for breakfast bot not advised on advert or when you arrived

    Staff very helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    We switched accommodation as soon as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this establishment was the absolute minimum. The food was stingy, the decor pedestrian, the maintenance substandard. The front doorway was a trip hazard – completely inexcusable.

    Only the location was a plus for this establishment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dated property and lack of breakfast and not having breakfast when I went to the restaurant at 9:30 cos they packed up

    To be fare I didn't like much about the property it was in need of serious refurb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Felt like home, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would highly recommend this property the staff were brilliant made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was very good with lots to choose from will definitely be staying here when i return to Cardiff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Really good city centre value bed and breakfast. One of two I use regularly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price this is spot on what i would have expected. There is a last check in of 9pm which is a little bit early for me but the owner has been known to be flexible if you contact him to ask in advance.

    Friendly and very convenient reasonably priced. There is free 24 on street parking just outside especially if you arrive around 7pm when the commuters have left and the overnight residents have not yet got back., There is a really good pub with excellent food just across the road - The Cricketers. It is about 15mins walk in to city centre across Bute Park in the daytime which is beautiful and nighttime not much longer just round the front of Cardiff castle instead.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are soooo friendly! My room was comfortable and had everything I would need/expect. I found it really convenient for walking into Central Glasgow and there's a boat from nearby down to the bay (which I totally failed to catch and ended up wandering down there instead). I'd definitely recommend staying here if you're in Cardiff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Valued Guest at the Guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, maybe? I t is a bit of a walk from the train station.

    The manager and his team were welcoming and very friendly. The room matched my expectations and the food was even better. Excellent all round.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely room, really comfy king size bed, everything we needed to enjoy our stay in Cardiff, room clean and fresh, nice shower in the en suite, Wi-Fi, tea making facilities continental breakfast, although cooked breakfast was available if required, the owner was really helpful and it is an easy 20 min walk to the city centre most of it through the park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    charming hosts with the most!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -bedding was spotlessly clean, extra pillows provided on request, although room was small everything was to hand, and had the benfit of an actual shower instead of over the bath type, useless for oldies like me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Cardiff Comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome. Great sense of humour! Breakfast was really good. Bed comfortable. And it was quiet, despite being less than 10minutes walk from the city centre, castle, gardens and the river. Cardiff is a lovely city and this guest house is a compliment to it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A lovely midweek break at Church guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking. Street is very busy and had to park quite away from the property

    Beautiful Victorian building. Clive, the manager was excellent, welcoming, friendly and knowledgable of local bars & restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Are you wanting a comfortable yet handy B and B in Cardiff? Then this is it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No off street parking and street parking was at a premium

    This is an excellent B and B, handy to the City Centre, nice large room with very comfortable bed and most enjoyable breakfast. The owner and manager made us very welcome and were most helpful in advising on places to see and how to get there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a walk into cardiff centre ok when weather is dry not so if it's raining a good 20 mins.parking can be a problem can be hard to find space on roadside when busy .

    Staff very friendly and helpful.very clean. beds comfy plenty of mirrors in the room and peaceful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Caring and genuine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable

    The attentiveness and care of the host were outstanding - superb suggestions on what to explore and how to get there, excellent advice on nearby restaurants - which are superb - and speedy help with problems. Breakfast ample and varied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if you are in Cardiff for cricket or rugby !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff. Ideal location for the cricket (100 yards down the road) 5 min walk into town, great room, comfy bed, quiet, lovely breakfast. Would recommend highly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Perfect location and great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints p

    The location was excellent, walking distance to Cardiff Castle, park,water taxi and downtown. Staff was very helpful with good recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The staff were amazing! They did everything to help us and were really friendly! Breakfast was delicious and freshly homemade. The room was cozy and the bed very confortable. We certainly recomend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Great location, excellent staff and certainly value for money being so central to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find anything to complain about

    Excellent staff, always helpful and could not have been better for entertaining us at breakfast for starting our day on a cheerful note.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all great.

    The room was really spacious and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Delicious breakfast and it's in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    A lovely stay in a great spot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for a king size room but this turned out to be two twin beds pushed together. A bit disappointing - if we'd known we would have gone for a smaller double instead.

    A lovely stay in a great spot. Friendly welcome and nice simple breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hosts were very friendly and had lots of suggestions for activities. They truly want their guests to enjoy Cardiff, and are proud of their city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a lovely place to stay the staff was very friendly and helpful and everything was very clean, breakfast was perfect, a great way to start your morning. They were so close to the city center all I had to do was walk up the street. I would totally recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location for me - near the sporting event I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was slightly cold

    Perfect location for me - near the sporting event I was attending and walking distance to city centre Clean comfortable and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow is not comfortable, the heater wasn't warm properly, the water from the shower is too weak. We changed the room twice, one room the door lock wasn't work, the other room the temperature shower wasn't work. Staff very friendly tried to help the us.

    Good location, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Convenient, spotlessly clean and a very friendly and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have a few drawers available in the room as I like to unpack my luggage! Shower was a bit small and we found the basin taps annoying as they turned themselves off before enough water was run, but probably a good way to conserve water.

    Excellent and good variety of continental breakfast. Full English breakfast could be requested. Attractively decorated and large room with a King sized bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    I'd stay there again and would recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean. Very helpful and friendly people. David stayed to till after 0.30am to let me in, even though latest check-in is normally 9.00pm - flight delayed and long, long wait for taxi at the airport, so beware of taxi situation. Made me tea and toast even though I'd missed breakfast on Sunday morning. Also, I used the shampoo the first morning and later they left in a hairdryer to my room, without even being asked to. The fact that I didn't wash my hair the second morning was neither here nor there, but I was very impressed by the fact that they had noticed it (the shampoo in the shower!) and then they provided a hairdryer without me asking for it. I thought that was real attention to customer detail.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: