Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Churston Manor Hotel 3 stars

Church Street, Churston Ferrers, TQ5 0JE, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Churston Ferrers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Wild horses would not drag us back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception could be somewhere near the front of the building rather than at the back. Chaos reigned with regard to availability of evening meals....what available, from when, restaurant or bar for eating. When it turned up it appeared to have been concocted from frozen or tinned components rather than anything fresh. Room was dark both in decoration and in lack of light provision. Breakfast was potentially award winning....as the worst ever in the history of hostelry. Self selection of butter, cereal, yogurt and bread for self making toast ran out, Replenishment left customers standing at the table for 5 minutes after asking for more supplies.

    Some of the staff were friendly when they could be found

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.9
    Lovely accomadation but poor food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the food let it down had to send streak back as it defiantly wasn't medium rear, They did replace with another one but said it would take 10mins, by then my husband had finished his meal, the second one was also overcooked so only eat half of it as I was hungry but Didcot enjoy. Breakfast the dishes with fruit were nearly empty and scrambled egg and smoked salmon came out and egg was cold. Such a shame as the accomafationin was lovely.

    The Manor was a lovely place with lots of history, The rooms a good size and very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    A Must Place to go to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot but we were given a fan to help

    Go to this place -you will not be disappointed! Great location, lovely outside garden and space. Nice food at both restaurant and bar. Super friendly staff, especially John at reception!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing peaceful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dinner around 8:30 couple of drinks as well and we like to finish our meal with a coffee but was told that the drinks machine was turned off so no tea or coffees which we were very disappointed as have never had this anywhere else even the two times before we have stayed at the manorwe had coffees In fact hot chocolate as well later on which we loved to have in the evening sat on the sofas after a night time walk, but were told no hot drinks this I think needs to be re looked at,

    Beautiful location friendly staff the manor is beauitful. food excellent very clean rooms, they have the wow factor .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful building, comfortable stay welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was average. Evening meal, the steak was overdone, although quickly corrected with a fresh meal. The cooked breakfast, likewise. It may of course been a ‘blip’ but it would be worth paying this area a little extra attention.

    We loved the building, so much history. On arrival, received a warm welcome and during our stay the staff were always friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. We will definitely return for another stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    a Superb place to stay in Devon to visit all ther sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We had asked for a walk in Shower and were upgrade for just £10. The room we we allocated had a Four poster bed. and the bathroom had a walk in shower and a roll top bath

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely dog friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in bedroom but we had our own fan with us, the hotel had put a fan in the room.

    Dog friendly. Great spot for walking & going to local dog friendly beach. Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay at a beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful building in lovely grounds...lots of history and interesting things to see. Staff couldn't do enough and the room was really special

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Glad that we had only booked for 2 nights as a stopover from a holiday in Cornwall. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, (shower useless), room furniture (like a junk shop), lighting (could hardly see, especially as the only window was small, window was virtually level with a roadway and had no security locks, general cleanliness. Room was stifling hot with just a small fan provided which was running off an extension lead.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very dusty, dark and quite small

    Beautiful property, lovely staff. Restaurant ok, bar well equipped and good value. Very comfortable bed. Nice sized bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are ignorant to guest needs and are more interested in the local (pub) trade Menu was very poor and the images on the hotel website depict a totally different menu to the one available

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Awful traffic locally, but good area once away from constant cars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although free WiFi access,the Internet very slow and impossible to access.

    Rather dark,only very small window high up, no view. Very hot upstairs,although weather warm and sunny. There was a fan in the room, it still very hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    lovely place to stay when in Devon as a couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fridge in the room

    Lovely place to stay but in the hot summer due to its age it can be very stuffy inside. Lovely place to stay , full of charm and character and peacefull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    The history of the property, sitting having an afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could on get wifi in the downstairs dining/bar area

    The history of the property, sitting having an afternoon drink in the lovely outside garden. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely food. Nothing we didn't like.

    Lovely location. Very doggy friendly. Lovely walks for dogs in surrounding area. Close to Brixham, Paignton, Torquay etc. Lovely gardens. Definitely recommend it. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The value for money is unquestionable but the bedroom was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was at the rear of the building with a small high window at ground level. It overlooked the rubbish skips and felt second rate. The bed was very uncomfortable and the carpets tired.

    The location of the Churston Manor is good and the public areas are very atmospheric. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant enough stay for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was a bit of a shambles. The lady obviously didn’t know what she was doing and despite her trying to call ‘him’ she had to to resort to saying “this is a nightmare “. Not very professional. Several people were waiting to check out after breakfast. There didn’t seem to be enough staff at times.

    Food was good although at times we had to wait longer than expected for it to arrive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A super little weekend break. We will definately be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Lovely ambiance! Exactly how an old period building should be! Quirky is the word, slightly Harry Potter! Our room was King Henry VIII and looked over the courtyard towards the lane. Even though it was above the bar it was a very quiet room. Lovely large window, beautiful four poster and lovely large bathroom. It looks just as beautiful at night as in the day! Huge carpark. Staff, especially Vicky and the young man behind the bar, were lovely, friendly and helpful. Ask about the history of the building, there's plenty to learn! Will be revisiting even though we are extremely local. For visitors further afield, this location is ten minutes walk from Elbury Cove and five minutes drive to Brixham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Old qwerty Hotel, parts of it a 1,000 years old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a problem, but our room was next to the vet noisy kitchen extractor fan, which kicked into life just before 8.00am on both mornings

    Old qwerty Hotel, parts of it a 1,000 years old. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Loved the hotel, historic. Would go back, not to that room though. Breakfast very good. Staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have been advised that our room had the massive restaurant fan/extractor outside the window so could not open windows when this was going because of noise and some smells. Was obviously going from breakfast through to end of restaurant in evening. It was a hot day so that was a big disappointment. We both needed to rest but we were given a fan, asked for another which was provided but a shame to have to keep windows closed.

    The room had an enormous bathroom.staff were fab. Lovely atmosphere in bar. All staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Friend is dairy and gluten free so we’re given soya milk upon arrival for room as had notified them in advance. Room very clean. Lovely huge bath towels, roll top bath and walk in shower. Four poster king sized bed, a bit creaky but ok. Big separate dressing area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    I've always liked staying there as I like its history...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it's understaffed , staff friendly , but would benefit from more staff and a manager

    I've always liked staying there as I like its history and location to the places I like to visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, stunning dog friendly beach 10 minutes walk from the hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra fee for the dog.

    Breakfast was stunning. Whole hotel is beautiful, the room was amazing, surrounding area is breathtaking. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great place to chill out and relax. Great Staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like at all; it is what it is so don't expect modern.

    This historic 13th century building is superb. It is quirky with squeaky floorboards but all adds to the ambiance of the hotel. The paintings and suits of armor around the building are a real treasure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed to be a little under staffed, I had to wait a while to check in and then wait to be served at the bar. At breakfast no one greeted us so we kind of just found a table and waited.

    Lovely old building in a great location. Our room was a good size and nicely presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location in a very quiet spot with lots of history and charm. Would re visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The floor boards creaked a lot! The sound proofing between rooms wasn't too great. We had rooms at the back of the site, the windows were small and at ground level so not much of a view and not very bright in the rooms. The TV signal was flaky at times. I wasn't aware of an internet connection and used my own mobile wi fi which didn't always work either! Stairs only so not really suitable for disabled people.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect for discovering the surrounding area and the history and quirkiness of this very old building both inside and out was delightful. Lovely outside seating areas. The cooked breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful old building in a lovely part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow service at breakfast time but it was very nice when it arrived.

    It's a lovely old building with wisteria on the wall. I was told the breakfast area is over 100 years old. There appeared to be lots of smallish rooms and I was told to make sure I went up the correct staircase to our bedroom as there are two and they don't connect. We were actually visiting relations so didn't use the restaurant etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.0
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A beautiful quirky very old saxon building lots of character we wanted to stay in an old building and this certainly fitted the bill, we enjoyed the four poster bed. Breakfast was fantasic.All mod cons available and the owner was most helful when we had a flat tyre. We would highly recommend this stay to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    The only downside to the room was not being able to open the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to the room was not being able to open the window’s during the day and evening because of the noise and smell from the kitchen extractor fan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Well worth the money will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room number 11 was very clean and comfortable it's the 1st room along the corridor and you could hear every sound everybody walking past on the squeaky floor boards and the cleaning staff getting ready 1at thing in the morning

    This hotel was very good value Breakfast was freshly cooked and worth the wait

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    great location, big comfortable bedroom. nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't think of anything.

    fascinating place, steeped in history. interesting decor. well appointed room, excellent breakfast. lovely grounds and nearby points of interest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    It was ok for the price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could here the noisy ppl in next room that were late bk from the hotels function. Bathroom smelt of wee. Had to wait for staff/fo looking for staff on check in and out

    Bed was a gd size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Odd but weirdly charming, with a decent breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark almost everywhere. Our room was awful - what little natural light the was blocked by a fixed curtain. Bathroom lighting far too dim. Bed incredibly squeaky, even if you just move a centimetre - good natural contraception! Upstairs stiflingly hot on a warm day - a very old building so probably difficult to get the balance right. Breakfast in Stygian gloom with candlelight on a beautiful sunny morning! But the quirkiness is also part of its charm - remember to bring your own light-up make-up mirror if you need to do your face!

    Bar open late, good breakfast, friendly staff, interesting artefacts and beautiful mirrors everywhere. A fascinating historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-hard bed,a man walked into our room at 12.30am and scared us. Music blaring under our room,very unfriendly staff at breakfast time. Fresh orange juice offered,only concentrate. No shower,very twee decor and extremely rude manager when we reported all in the morning. Terrible experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, could hear neighbours turning on light switch. Not very large menu in restaurant. Very disapointed couldnt have a shower as bath/shower mixer tap didn't work. Erratic Wi-Fi signal.

    King size bed comfy. Plenty of parking. Despite restaurant and bar downstairs, couldn't hear them in bedroom. Plenty of character. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Atmospheric and very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was ok but was s bit over cooked so did not match the rest of the experience. Also had to search for the waitress to take our breakfast order but having said that there was a large wedding party there as well. Breakfast was good

    Fabulous atmosphere. Staff very helpful and friendly. Bed really comfy and massive. Bar prices reasonable. Dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    A fantastic building with lots of character in a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dog friendly, great location, a fantastic old building with loads of history and character. Nice breakfast,comfortable queen size bed, great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable & pleasant but just short of excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was a little dim. Window looked straight out into a pitched slate roof so little natural light therefore better lighting would be good. What view there was was out onto a piece of wasteland with a Japanese Knotweed problem. Breakfast was good but missed a few fairly inexpensive touches like nice bakery bread instead of pretty standard supermarket stuff.

    Wonderful characterful old manor house with many of original features. Lovely bathroom - bright & airy. Staff very pleasant. Room theme was interesting & quirky. Very comfortable & the whole place had a relaxed & pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    hotel not highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    slow service in dining room, not busy so that cant be an excuse ,in fact shocking note in room to say leave notice outside door if you want your room cleaned , responded x 2 , out of 7 requests, had to get toilet paper from downstairs public loo most of guests given master keys as no individual room keys , as apparently somebody had walked away with keys , which begs the question why do we have keys, only found out as somebody walked into our room by mistake, I then tried my key in at least eight doors and it opened all of them, reported it , didn't seem bothered by this no bbc channels on tv, reported it , no joy, no explanation the light is so dim in the room , you cannot see to read, even with glasses on shocking place

    the bed was really comfy, location was great, pub lively

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Suitable for golfers, walkers and themed weekends but not for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not disabled friendly ( I have impaired vision), noisy boiler in adjacent room, walls, woodwork and carpeting very dark, poor lighting in bedroom and bathroom, no Wi-fi or mobile signal in Room 14 which according to staff may be because of the lead painted walls throughout hotel the new owners have inherited. Cooked breakfast was warm not hot. Dusty inside wardrobe. Had to move TV so as to view it from the bed as one of the posts of the four poster bed got in the way. If we stay again we certainly would not want a standard room if Room 14 was typical.

    The area is secluded, with easy access to nearby attractions in Brixham and the River Dart peninsular. Car parking is good, the Manor has an unusual ambiance, fascinating artefacts, 32" TV in room with good reception, good plumbing, good heating, friendly service & good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Would have been much better if room hadn't got constant buzzing noise & staff @ reception been more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom BIG disappointment as mentioned above. Because of staffs attitude shalln't go there again. Don't book room 18!!

    It would have been much better if the bedroom had a view but also not have constant buzzing from boiler room next door. Staff weren't helpful just said not had complaints before suggest using ear defenders in future!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Atmospheric and unforgettable. Can't wait to return with my family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Brilliant atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. Really like a home from home. The propriators and their team are very approachable and genuine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Great Easter getaway in Devon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant wasn't amazing, the menu was pretty standard and the quality not great.

    The room was lovely, the bed very comfy. Nice and quiet so we slept very well after some brisk country walks. The hotel bar was great. Very cosy, good local beers, and lots of character. We had a great stay and it was a good location to explore the area from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    FAB!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No handcuffs.

    Lovely quirky 900 year-old building with lots of nooks and crannies. Fun, friendly staff who were intent on making ours and everyone's stay the best. Very atmospheric. Amazing room, comfy bed and all very clean. Restaurant and decor just amazing with food and service to compliment. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Extremely kind and helpful staff, very comfortable room and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived later than planned and the kitchen staff had all left for the night. The owner was brilliant and made supper for us. The staff couldn't have been more kind & helpful. Really lovely room, comfortable bed and beautiful en suite. Thanks to all for a good weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Historical house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel oozes history, I wouldn't have been surprised to see a ghost at the bar, the food is good and the breakfast has something to suit everyone, the staff were more than happy to help with any requests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a beautiful building full of history, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a budget priced room and although the room was a bit dark due to the high window it was lovely and clean. Four poster bed was a nice touch! Breakfast was also very good value with lots of choice. We would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Price of stay does not not reflect the service from staff and quality of average food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was not attended to on check in and check out. We had to wait some time before checking in. Rang bell but no one replied specifically for it. Also checking out I had to wait, rang bell and owner happened to be walking passed. In the breakfast room we noted that the cracks and holes in the wall were filled in with paper napkins. Paint crumbling at windows. Decor poor, plaster not painted on some holes that were filled in. We were initially being charged for other peoples food bill, when asks to see my itemized bill I found out our room had been charged for food and drink that we did not have. We were never asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if we needed anything. Poor attention to detail by the owner.

    Location. Good quality towels in our room. Good size, however our room was right next to the kitchen extractor fan which is turned on at 0745 and runs until around 10.00. Then back on again at 1800 until 2200hrs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    pretty good!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is being really picky; The room was a little dusty - especially the curtains and track - the bathroom a little cramped but I probably the best use of space available.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The room a good size Fantastic building full of character. Lovely peaceful location. Would recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable, comfy, relaxing time at Churston Court Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea was Luke warm at breakfast with only one teabag for two people. They run out of ham for eggs benedict so had to have bacon. My eggs on a couple of occasions were chalky. Rooms a little dusty in places. Need to improve the little things and would be perfect. Cracked black pepper & sea salt would be nice on the breakfast tables. Little touches all Churston Court needs however enjoyed my stay and I will be back next year .

    Queen poster bed very comfy, beautiful room. Spooky atmosphere - several fireplaces in the dining area. I will be back next year, absolutely love the place. Staff were very friendly too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    A lovely greeting by the man in reception who show showed us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely greeting by the man in reception who show showed us to our room and couldn't have been more helpful. A very quirky hotel and will definitely be staying again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    There is a warm welcome with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is fantastic. It’s a trip back in time. The location is perfect. The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help which make your stay so easy. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxed. I would gladly recommend this to all my friends and family. And we will be returning for a longer stay and soon. Cannot praise this hotel enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 Day our room was not cleaned when asked. The tea at breakfast was Luke warm and the bacon could of been cooked a little more. My poached eggs a few times were over cooked.

    Bed was comfy, love the atmosphere of the place. Chris & John made us feel very welcome. Felt very relaxed at Churston and will definitely return next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Totally pleasurable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing was of a high standard - staff were friendly helpful and welcoming - food was excellent with a good menu provided. Churston Manor is steeped in history and full of atmosphere Genuinely a pleasurable and relaxing experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place to stay, couldn’t fault it in any way. The rooms are fabulous, lovely four poster bed and beautifully furnished, we just didn’t want to leave!! The breakfast was fantastic all you could possibly want and the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. There is a lovely Norman Church attached to the Manor and we were lucky enough to go up the bell tower. We decided this would be a lovely place to get married and met with the Wedding Planner at Churston Manor. Again extremely helpful we can't wait to go back. In fact we have booked for May and July! This place is a gem and not to be missed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is the most characterful hotel in an excellent way in so many ways - a fun stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the outside of the building needs urgent attention to paintwork and plaster with some window frames rotten too.

    The building itself was full of huge amounts of character - particularly the hall way leading to the dinning room which amazed me to believe how it was still standing ! The quirky rooms, hallways, landings make your stay a very interesting one. The dinner and breakfast was good too along with helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Gary Bill brook south staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing was a window which would not shut tightly and a cool draught filtered through. Saying that it was an original window and we loved the authenticity, it added to the charm. The room was very warm though.

    The staff were fabulous. The food was excellent. The breakfast was amazing, top quality. The room was wonderful and clean. The bar was fantastic with a roaring log fire. The locals were very friendly too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    If you want to feel a little bit of English history stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - wish I could have stayed there longer

    Amazing setting ,like stepping back in time ( coats of arms ,armour and old family portraits ) - had a wonderful almost haunted atmosphere. A real experience ! Nice touch was a printed history of the house and family which after staying you would really want to know.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the bedroom was poor. Hard to read in bed !

    Historic place with great atmosphere everywhere. Wonderful bar, restaurant, breakfast rooms. Staff very attentive and friendly. Wonderful to come back to after long walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent, very close to Brixham, great walks and I could have brought my little dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad hot, but it has been freezing of late (beast from the east!) , so can understand the heating being on.

    Loved the quirky nature of the place, cosy fireplaces in the bar and seating areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful place, friendly staff, lovely breakfast area and pub, will revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Premium with ensuite Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 15 had a traditional 4 poster bed but room a bit small.

    Beautiful manor house with great atmosphere. Lovely pub area which welcomed dogs. 15 minutes from regular ferry to Dartmouth (last return 1045pm).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Bed was very comfortable - Hotel history fascinating -ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal in restaurant was average - Pastry on pie was semi frozen and so hard I could have used it as a frisbee. Wine list was good but the wines were not available so choice was very limited .Wish we had stuck to bar snack menu. Breakfast time differed from what staff said and information in room information book so eventually my son and his girlfriend got cooked breakfast but chef glared at my husband when we said thank you . Staff training needs improvement .

    Bed was very comfortable - Hotel history fascinating -ideal for foreign visitors who like history.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Very old building, leading to noisy floorboards at night had an impact, but the food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The instructions for getting to the hotel was not good, there is an assumption that we have sat nav, but we did not! The restaurant was not available for dinner or breakfast as there was a wedding on. Thats not a problem, but it would have been useful to know in advance. The noise from other guests moving around the corridors at night woke me several times.

    We had a small meal in the bar, beside the log fire, which was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    It was everything and more and look forward to our next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were four of us in our party all with different needs and preferences and none of us had any gripes or complaints.

    Everything , the History encompassed within the building blended with today's requirements for those who want Wi-Fi etc they are a really good all rounder inc. wedding catering to quiz nights etc .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend it to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told over the phone twice by 2 different people that my daughter and her husband would not be charged for their 4 year old son to stay in their bedroom. Then when they checked out they were charged £25!!!!! Not good enough. I suggest you make sure all your staff are trained the same way. My sister wasn't charged for her grandson. Where is the justice in that and it was the same person on the reception when they checked out!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Okish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ok . The bed was Awful huge dip in the mattress.It really needs replacing !!!

    The staff were pleasant.For the money we paid we couldn’t grumble!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed that this hotel has gone down hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant here used to be bordering on fine dining, but that has gone by the board. Sending meals back as uncooked which only then reappear when the rest of the diners have finished is poor. Breakfast on this occasion was a farce, and I had to go into the kitchens to get some service as there was no one evident in charge, and that continued throughout. We'll have to find somewhere else in the area when we do our annual trips to the Dartmouth area.

    We have stayed here a few times before, and this is an excellent location. The building is very old with lots of quirks but that is what makes it wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Quirky and enchanting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bathroom and cluttered corridor. But nothing so bad as to put us off returning for another value break in Torbay quite soon.

    A hotel with real character set in a beautiful part of Devon. Quirky and laid back it's a welcome contrast to corporate blandness. Staff are generally friendly and attentive and the whole experience quite homely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Atmospheric quirky and spacious hotel/restaurant in lovely location. Very reasonable prices.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, we enjoyed our stay.

    Wonderful setting very close to the sea and placed in a beautiful location for walks or to relax. The room was comfortable, very reasonable price for a night including breakfast, which had lots of choice. We will definitely come back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb ancient manor house with so much history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The food was superb, cooked as requested and served with a smile. The Manor has some of the best antique furniture and fixtures that you will find anywhere. To sit at a 15th century table on 17th century chairs is unique and undervalued by others. Superb host who was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t as good as it used to be. Evening menu lacked variety & no alacart menu except special occasions. An enjoyabl

    Location, value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Great Place and very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little slow and we were missed out a couple of times, Although we were asked whether we wanted our toast before or with the meal and we said with, the toast arrived after we had finished our meal. The reception guy told us that they were refurbishing some of the rooms on our floor but ours wasn't one of them (too much information) The room was fine and great value for money.

    Building history, Bar area, Staff, dinner was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Def stay there again !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like ☺

    We were given a free upgrade to the honeymoon suite 😁 it was a beautiful hotel really lovely staff and yummy breakfast ☺

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful relaxing short stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the ambience and location of the hotel. A very quirky place steeped in history with plenty of walks direct from the door. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    Adequate interesting place
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First morning there was absolutely no one to serve breakfast at 8 a.m. The cleaner made me a pot of coffee and got some staff up to attend to me. Second morning was better in that there was staff, but I ordered smoked haddock and got a kipper, different fish folks!

    That I could have my dogs with me and it was no problem to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable a good lively atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Premium with ensuite Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coat of paint is needed in places. The exterior needs attention

    Enexpectedly interesting property with history some TLC needed it's work in progressome a big project.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: