Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bridge House Hotel 4 stars

2 Ringwood Road, Ferndown, BH22 9AN, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Ferndown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1298 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Good location & good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three noisy children running around bar & library & standing on chairs & table in library. Parents unable to control them.

    Comfy bed. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay but needs to improve its game a little .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception -no notable signage indicating the location from outside. The guy behind the desk was on the phone on arrival and did not acknowledge our existence which came over as rude. In fact to be told ' it would have been cheaper to book direct' is not what you want to hear. The location of the reception area at bottom of stairs was poor so you had to keep letting people by. Also, it was not inviting and more like a kiosk. Bathroom layout was difficult with nowhere to place toiletries as such. (Pathetic plastic tumbler is a definite no no) Water temp was tepid upon arrival 15.15 and again at 0800 which is obviously 'peak times'. So shaving was out! Friends complained but were told it was a peak time so perhaps they should bathe later! Also, only half size bath. Girls serving in the dining room obviously had not received any front of house training so looked like their tasks were chores rather than providing a service. Breakfast was busy but did run out of many items continuously. Need new cutlery- something more modern. Clean linen was left on the floors outside rooms which is not ideal. Exterior decking area a little tired and needs more regular maintenance carried out. Windows & cills had not been cleaned for some time particularly as you are looking out at an exceptional view. Attention to detail! There is no indication of the outstanding views to behold at the rear of the building, when you arrive, pass or indeed, park.

    Location & food were very good. The view from the dining room was tranquil. One of the more mature waitresses was very helpful. Rooms exceptionally clean with good tea/coffee facilities and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    It was well situated.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous guests clothes were found in our room upon arrival, insinuating that a thorough clean wasn’t done between guests. This left a bad impression. A fairly poor apology was given by reception which I thought was poor customer service. Tried to engage conversation with the staff there and was made to feel as though it was a strange thing to do.

    It was well situated. Nice scenery. And on the main road to everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was reasonably priced and the single bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean. There was quite a lot of what appeared to be dog hair on the carpet. People smoking and talking outside, near to my room at the front of the hotel, at around 10pm, when I was going to bed.

    Breakfast was reasonably priced and the single bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    A one night stay before a flight from Bournemouth airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is certainly value for money. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant must be the most popular in the area, tremendous value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    3.3
    Basic, expensive, but friendly
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money I found the hotel expensive for what it is I’ve stayed in premier Inn’s to a higher standard than the bridge house.

    The outside of the property was pretty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    It was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 101 faced the main road and traffic noise was evident from about 05:30.

    It was good value. Had a nice bar area. Lovely views over the river and countryside from the restaurant area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Great food and staff, free parking and spiders!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was at the front of the building and the traffic noise was quite loud until 11pm and started again at 5am. The room had a damp smell which was coming from the bathroom. The shower had black what looked to be mold in the tiles. I also had 8 legged friends in the room, one thought and crawl across my chest hair would be a good idea in the night and the others liked to run across the quilt.

    Excellent food and restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff, plenty of free parking and good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    My partner is partially sighted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came on a weekend when there was a wedding so pretty noisy and breakfast was heaving... but that is just the luck of the draw! Couldn’t log onto the WiFi

    My partner is partially sighted. The staff were great in guiding us to a well lit quiet area for dinner. Gave us a late check out which was brilliant too. Thanks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    Good value meal in the restaurant in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price paid of £179.95 for 2 people for room only for 1 night, I would have expected a more luxurious room and facilities. For instance, there was only one type of tea bag, there was no box of tissues in the room and the towels weren't very good quality. It wasn't really any better than a budget hotel.

    Good value meal in the restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    moderate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The net curtain was very dirty, the cleaner said on my first day it had been told to the management. It was not changed in 7 days ? Cleaners were very helpful and obviously very busy but.... The room was not thoroughly dusted skirting board under desk,also top of fitments were dusty when wiped. Dust in grooves of coffee and tea items on the rack...tea spoons needed washing ! 3 times restaurant staff forgot items and the specials board was the same all week. Choice of vegetables limited. One day no hot water, told boiler had not worked ,no apology offered, but fixed promptly. Staff were mostly very helpful but there was a lack of enthusiasm for the customers... Most probably tired after a long summer. A reasonable stay but not worth the money. Sorry !

    The bed was very comfortable. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Got exactly what we wanted and would recommend to others.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no real downsides to our stay, but a couple of caveats for others maybe. There is no lift to the upper floor, rooms at the front may be a bit noisy (although we were in the back)

    This establishment provided just what we wanted; a good room, good restaurant and close to the venue we needed to be at for the next day. Carvery and breakfast prices were very reasonable. Room at the back also provided a nice view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    More than adequate. Good view from restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without air conditioning, the window needed to be opened on the ground floor (no problem with that) but the very windy middle of the night meant it had then to be shut and that meant it was stuffy after that.

    Good choice of food in breakfast package. Comfortable and sizeable room and bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.0
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired like stepping into the 70’s no ventilation in the room couldn’t open any windows they were locked notice on window not to open with light on as an invasion of insects from the river would occur so the room was extremely smelly breakfast again old fashioned urns put out for tea and coffee cooked food very dry suspect it had been lying there for some time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    The facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant. Three of us had the carvery one a steak. Despite asking the waitress for the steak we had to wait ten minutes for it to arrive. The steak we were told before we got our carvery would be ready by the time we started to eat.

    The facilities. Restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was comfortable but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced verity of breakfast was poor,some cakes or croissant would have been nice.

    My wife and I thought room rate was a bit overpriced more like £100/night would have been more acceptable?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Dissappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable and the quilt was very thin. The bath was that narrow that you were standing on the curve to have a shower, which didn't feel safe. A lot of road noise even on a Sunday morning. I used to visit here in the eighties when it had character, but now it has nothing and is looking tired.

    The breakfast and the locality of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Great, service, food, situation and freindly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Earlier breakfast times but then why would people on holiday want to eat that early ?

    The Hotel river view was so beautiful and countryside so peaceful considering the situation on the A31 road. Staff were more than friendly and helpful even remembering our room number when ordering drinks and evening meal. The local families were using the restaurant for the celebrations so that is always a good sign of excellent food, service and value for money. We would really recomend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, comfortable, friendly and a delicious breakfast in the morning to set of. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'wet floor' " in the bathroom was not very good, as it took ages to clear/dry - would have preferred a normal shower drainage. A small fridge in the room would have been very helpful.

    Friendly atmosphere, clean good size family room, very helpful and efficient staff, provided us with extra pillows and fan immediately! comfortable for two adults and two children (young teens) when we put the single & double bed together! Large clean bathroom with good shower. One idea would be to have a small fridge in the room, else everything that we needed was available. Really enjoyed the stay. Thank you.. ☺️ Mr & Mrs H & Children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Mid week break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There can be some traffic noise, Main road is at the front, but it didn’t really bother me

    Easy to find, staff very friendly and helpful Took elderly parents, staff very considerate of their needs. Lovely garden out the back with a stream, we saw swans and cygnets Ate in hotel restaurant, very reasonable price for meal and wine. Food was excellent, carvery also available and excellent, 5 of us ate and all had empty plates! The fairly large restaurant gradually filled almost to capacity, on a Tuesday! Locals eat often so I think They have got it just right!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff where lively, food was excellent, outside veranda at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the main road & with the window open as the room was so hot - no air con. It was very noisy

    Staff where lively, food was excellent, outside veranda at the back had a lovely view overlooking a stream

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Super hotel and can highly recommend it. Will be staying there again when next in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a very busy road and was quite noisy at night so couldn't leave window open.

    Nice bar and restaurant. Good menu plus cavery as well every night. Could not fault food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled support handle too close to the toilet. No holder for toilet roll.

    Large rooms, our room catered for a disabled person wide doors, walk in shower with a seat in the shower and support handles although we did not have a disabled perifson in our party. TV was set to a maximum limit so you could not disturb other guests. Very clean throughout hotel. Friendly staff lovely restaurant/quiet comfy seating setting next to the river. Food is reasonable with prices to match. Ample parking. Rooms did not have any form of heating/air con controls but advised to speak with reception who can accomodate any extra needs. Would definately look to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told that we were above the function room and there would be background music, this was not background music this was really loud and went on until nearly midnight and kept us awake. We were then woken on Tuesday morning to workman outside our window using a chain block. The rooms could also do with a fan as you cannot sleep with the window open because of all the insects from the lake.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    We would not stay again, nor reccommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom fan was filthy and not working. there was black mould in a lot of the shower tile joints - we didn't have a shower. traffic noise as we were on the main road side. my wife had the carvery - the vegetables were very poorly cooked. Over priced

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.4
    We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy with traffic and also the room next door we could hear people showering and going to the toilet. We orderded for a sandwich on the Thursday for around 12 midday as we had to leave for a wedding by 12.30 the sandwich didnt arrive so we had to canel it and leave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    It fulfilled our requirement for a short break and we felt comfortable with the ambience
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet was too warm for the time of the year., the use of a sheet to be useful to reduce body temperature. No Bristol Cream

    Atmosphere was convivial. Staff friendly. Room quiet. Food met requirements. Parking Brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Probably a one of visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle would have been more suitable, than the fixture they had against the wall which needed attention

    Food was very good,and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in a quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some traffic noise if you have a room overlooking the road.

    A thoroughly enjoyable stray. We will be staying here again in October so a fuller description to follow.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The venue was noisy. We had two weddings although the music stopped at11.30. We were disturbed by shouting drunks Friday in the early hours. And on the Saturday the next door room was appalling in their noise and behaviour, I had to get out of bed and go to the room next door to and threatened them that if they did not shut up I would go and complain. We did not get good sleep over two nights. The walls are very thin and you can also hear the person in the next room snoring or even the conversation. I am not a light sleeper but it was the worst experience I have ever had anywhere and I have travelled extensively. We would not recommend a weekend stay and we will not be going back.

    I liked the breakfast and the view from the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, could hear shouting and banging doors early hours of the morning, no phone in room to ring through to security. The sound proofing is terrible.

    View from window over river, breakfast very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic room. No toilet roll holder. Mirrors far too low down. Poor TV channel selection. Shower dirty. Towels too small and quite old feel to them. Room should have cost max £50 per night and not the £120 we paid

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff were so friendly and helpful, I have food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The busy road but wasn’t too much of an issue over night

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, I have food allergies and they catered for me quite well. Bathroom needs updating and tiles need a better clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel for people working in the area
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice a bit basic but ok My quilt on the bed had a big rip in it. Quite busy and noisy road.

    Only 3 miles from where I was working. Friendly staff, modern and comfortable hotel. Nice sitting area out the back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, peaceful and very clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was separate which was not fully clear on my booking. I only had a coffee and toast and then had to pay £6.99 for it. Had it been clearer on my booking I would not have had breakfast. My evening meal was excellent, good value for money.

    Excellent location, peaceful and very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom flooded because the shower screen was small. Very hot so had to open window yet noise from traffic kept us awake all night. Thought breakfast was included in price only to find it wasn't.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    everything including seeing a kingfisher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air conditioning but fans supplied, abnormally high temperatures didn't help for a cooler room at night.

    everything including seeing a kingfisher

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Due to the weather, and no fault of the hotel, and with the...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would choose back bed room next time again through no fault of the hotel, and with the windows open due to heat, road traffic is very noisy day and night.

    Due to the weather, and no fault of the hotel, and with the windows open, they hotel was infested with, flies, wasp and spiders.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Fab weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise, which was elevated by having to have windows open because of the heat. But it's not always this hot, so only a tiny grumble.

    Position, setting, value for money, pleasant staff and good food. Perfect position for us to visit relatives who live locally

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    River side location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfy. Walls thin. Room was roadside and with no fan the open window let all the road noise in.

    Riverside location. Lovely sitting out that side.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Good size of room for 3 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a problem with drainage of water in the bath and basin. This was unable to be rectified and there was no other room available. Appreciate the hotel staff could have been unaware of this if the cleaner or previous guest did not report this. Whilst some money was taken off the bill and the manager was very apologetic it meant only one guest could shower. Other than this the room was very comfortable.

    Good size of room for 3 people. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Stay 3-5 Aug 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, wedding party prep next door from 6am. No air conditioning and when open windows - midges came in off river which is contained in a notice on window, no fans available Clothes placed on top shelf of wardrobe area were covered in thick dust No telephone in room No remote control for tv Poor choice of breakfast - no continental option

    Very friendly, helpful staff Lovely riverside setting Night porter very hospitable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant Hotel for Family reunion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike!

    The staff were particular helpful and friendly making the stay pleasant. The ability to take drink and food onto the outside 'veranda' by the river. The choice of food in the restaurant was very good and the food itself was extremely good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right next to a very busy road and therefore if you have a room facing the road there is a constant stream of lorries etc all night . If you need to open the window this makes sleeping hard. The hotel is over priced for what is a very basic room and breakfast is not included .

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very reasonably priced food excellent staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated on a very busy road and our room was on the road side.

    The hotel was very reasonably priced food excellent staff were very friendly. I would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    The main thing we liked about the Bridge House were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a major issue but it was a hot evening and the key to the window had gone missing so couldn’t be opened. The lady on reception tried very hard to find a key but when it couldn’t be found she provided us with a fan which was extremely thoughtful of her.

    The main thing we liked about the Bridge House were the staff. They were excellent and keen to make your stay a good one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Recent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at the front very noisy with the traffic from the road. Advised not to open windows with lights on re flies from the river, not that you would re traffic noise. No fan or air conditioning.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Lots of drunken foul mouth people at the bar, also we booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of drunken foul mouth people at the bar, also we booked twin rooms on the ground floor at least two months in advance because I have difficulty with stairs and using a shower over the bath we were told on arrival there were no twin rooms on the ground floor and we had to go on the next floor up very poor I think

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.8
    Staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and dirty. I wish I’d reordered the noise and taken pictures. Shower screen did not work and bathroom floor flooded. Hairs on the floors/ loo dirt all up the walls. Very disappointing.

    Staff. Mr Murphy and his team were all very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortable bed and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable- big springs and no structure, just collapses underneath you. Also felt overpriced for the quality of the place.

    Nice stream outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Good but attention required
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not readily cleaned for our arrival. We found a wet towel left on the bedroom floor and a used men's razor on the bathroom shelf. We could not open the windows due to the amount of spiders and their webs around them as they started to come in on opening!!!!!

    The did was good and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Despite being busy with outside clients the quality of the food was very poor. The sausage was tough and tasteless, bacon tough. Hardley any fresh fruit. Very disappointed.

    Rooms were nicely decorated and beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Been here before and enjoyed our return trip. Will be back again to explore more of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy road out front with current sets of roadworks.

    Lovely view over the river from the rear of the property and so close to Bournemouth and Poole.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    It was lovely. Everything as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was on the ground floor and the windows opened fully. Great in the day, but had to shut them at night for security.

    Lovely size room. Very spacious. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Not worth £150 a night , breakfast was good but you had to pay £6.99 each for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not cleaned very well ie dust around bottom of toilet and on top of wardrobe. The biggest moan was noise because it was so hot we had the windows open but the noise of the road was very bad , shut the window and then it was to hot , could of done with a little fan . Not worth £150 a night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet hotel to stay for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was alright although it would of been nice to have been informed on booking in that it is better to book a table (I would of thought that as a guest you should get priority) although a table was found for us, others from the hotel that came down a bit later than we did, were unable to eat there

    It was a nice comfortable room on the ground floor which even though it was quite close to the reception area was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    We were told that anyone with the wedding party of Mr and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told that anyone with the wedding party of Mr and Mrs Bell would get a complimentary breakfast but when I checked in, I was told I was not entitled as I booked through booking.com, the room was very expensive not good value for money. I did not find out until I arrived and had no choice but to pay and continue with my booking. Very deceitful and will make it known on social media as I tried to argue the point but was told basically ‘tough’

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had. A wedding reception at the hotel where they all stayed and took over the hotel. Any outside area was full of smokers so a nice evening was spent in the room and you could not open the windows as you are riverside So you suffered in the heart all night Also you never informed us you had a wedding if so we would not have booked 2 rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed on several occasions. This was definitely the hottest visit.A pity that no air con or fans available.

    Excellent dinner.Did not take breakfast as lunch appointment eleswhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay but close to a busy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot evening and I had to leave windows open , unfortunately the room windows opened toward the main busy road with lorry’s passing at night hence it was rather noisy .

    Location , parking , staff and cleanliness was exceptional .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed stay but a little overpriced for the facilities provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI connection was not good at all in our room. Room was very warm. Small fan was provided by staff when asked for however was a shame we couldn't open the windows due to insects from the river coming inside, hotel should have utilities to stop or limit this from happening.

    Staff were friendly and helpful for needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for one night stop over to attend university open day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing the main road and was a little noisey. The walls are quite thin so could here the other guests alarm going off at 4am in the morning!

    The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room was a good size. The breakfast was very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Not the best hotel visit this week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very tired and the quality was very poor. The room was extremely hot and due to the location of the hotel on the water, you couldn’t leave the windows open as this resulted in hundreds of little flies in the room. This was also evident in reception. The door handle on the bathroom had been replaced at some point with a different style of handle and the old impression was still showing. The mattress was too soft for my liking.

    Based on our needs of Bournemouth airport the location was good. The staff in the restaurant were very nice but the food was only average for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and clean hotel with good restaurant, close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a budget room. It was clean and comfortable, but a very tight squeeze to get round the bed to the far side. Apparently one of their smallest rooms! Also very deep bath, not easy to get in and out to shower. It was very hot when we stayed, we found out the next morning that they do actually have some fans for the rooms. Shame they didn't offer us that the evening before.

    Extremely comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities. Nice welcome, with offer to carry our bags up the stairs to our room. good parking. Good restaurant, very good food and very reasonable for dinner and breakfast. Everybody very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    The view from the car park did not make me expect such a lovely interior. It is very utilitarian. Wh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like and I appreciated having a book to look at.

    The view from the veranda and the Swan and cygnets on the stream. Wow! Our room was good and very user friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    second stay - last one was in winter - so did not think about air con -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    only prop was with this weather the room had no air con - could not leave windows open as river side - so did not want to be eaten by bugs - if you do book ask for a fan or bring a fan

    the hotel has a great lotion - easy parking - and good food the river view is just great with out side seating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    We would stay and eat there again , without any hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would suggest that the outside is tidied up a little The plastic cladding could do with a wash down. The old salt / grit sacks and the weeds should be removed from the Verandah.

    The hotel facilities were excellent, staff were very professional, The verandah next to the river Stour is a lovely place to enjoy a relaxing drink or eat out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Needs a deep clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, laundry left on landing throughout stay and carpets needed thorough vacuum. Staff friendly once chatting but lacked immediate welcome at reception and bar lady slightly abrupt. Fans would have been thoughtful in extreme hot weather. Rooms lack decor so quite stark and plain.

    Good location. Good sized room. Easy parking. Lovely looking across river and fields.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were friendly, location was excellent and carvery was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little tired and short on anywhere to place toiletries etc

    Staff were friendly, location was excellent and carvery was the best one the best we have had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very nice place, good staff, clean and comfortable and the Ham Egg & Chips was amazing :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t work out how to get the plug to work in the bath so had to have a shower...

    The Staff were great and helpful, bed was lovely, view from room was great! Couldn’t fault it really...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Ideal place to lounge in the sun and get to where we wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobwebs in the bedroom and too close to a main road for night noise but easy to find. Could have had a better deal on booking two rooms.

    The balcony and riverside location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and as I am disabled it was a bit difficult to get upstairs to our bedroom. The bathroom was a bit small and there was nowhere to put our own toiletries

    The location was perfect. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Handy location, lovely room and food excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. We had breakfast and the carvery and both were to be recommended. Thank you. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location for an early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first time we stayed here we had a room at the back of the hotel, this trip the room was at the front and we noticed that it was more noisey.

    This is the second time we have stayed here and chose it again due to its proxiity to Bournemouth airport. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    It was a great place to stay, excellent room, food, and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent and made the stay even more enjoyable. Every part of the stay was excellent the teams there can be very proud of their work.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Bridge House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: