Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Glasgow hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Best Western Glasgow city hotel

Reviews of Best Western Glasgow city hotel 3 stars

27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow City Centre, Glasgow, G2 4PB, United Kingdom

#54 of 81 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1357 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was right next to the road it was very loud with single glazed windows all night and dident sleep great due to this. Heard the main entrance door slamming every time someone was in and out. Room 101

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    6.7
    The location was excellent for our concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were uncomfortable. We were woken up with construction work. Very loud.

    The location was excellent for our concert. The rooms were clean. Shower very good and bathrooms nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    4.2
    The walls very thin between our room and the next door room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls very thin between our room and the next door room - when next door were talking felt like they were in our room. Room very dark and small. Radiator pipes banging very loudly in the early hours. The floor boards in the room and the corridor outside our room were incredibly noisy. Staff looked like they didn’t want to be there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    7.1
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned before my arrivall

    Location has good access to city centre and transport links. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    6.7
    Good location at cheap rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark room (201). Lound fridge in room. Pillow was too thick so ended up not using it.

    Good location in walking distance to centre. Car park round the corner with discounted rate for hotel guests.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    The room was excellent and very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was terrible, served while still eating cereal and overcooked

    The room was excellent and very clean and spacious. Fridge in room which was a bonus

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is pretty dated and the room we were in described as a executive room was far from it. Outside the room was stacked laundry and staff outside smoking. Paper was peeling from the wall, not what I would expect from something described as executive.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    7.1
    Friendly & very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls & very creaky flooring, so it was very noisey when neighbouring guests were walking around & you could hear them chatting loudly. Decor & fixtures all a bit tired & in need of tlc.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    4.2
    A poor and grubby representation of a Best Western not sure why It’s a BW
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where near the city center and a good 20 minute walk up a steep hill not good for disabled or partially mobile people, take away restaurants in the area are exorbitantly expensive

    Thought as it was a Best Western it would be clean and tidy I was very disappointed room furnishing was dated and grubby

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    9.6
    great location at a great price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift to the top floor but i understand its an old historic building.

    Lovely soft towels, comfy bed and warm. Breakfast was very good with perfectly cooked real scrambled eggs. Simple and quick taxi ordering service. Staff were helpful and professional and there was a very good room service menu.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Concert Stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 very minor Niggles with the Room (Kettle Switch wouldn't stay down when depressed, Water in the Sink took a looooooooooong Time to drain away). When I reported them, we were allocated another Room immediately, even though we said we'd manage for the 1 Night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillows, they weren’t uncomfortable but were the only things I think could be improved

    The location and the staff. Lovely building and beautifully finished. Nice and peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    9.6
    An excellent choice for good value and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front steps add to the importance of the building but may make access difficult for people with disabilties. However I must admit I did not ask if there were alternative arrangements available for such people.

    The hotel is central to the Charring Cross area. Very close to the Northern line Scotrail services to Queen's Street Station. Direct bus service no 2 or 3 from outside Central Station, ask for King's Theatre stop on Bath Street. Handy for Mitchell Library, Sauchiehall Street shopping, bars and restaurants. The bathroom en-suite facilities were excellent and the room was always very well presented. As I was having difficulty walking I was given a room close to reception , without stairs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    We would definitely come back. Excellent for rail travellers with station just round the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion everything was just great . I have no bad reports and would recommend your hotel to anyone looking for a hotel for short or long stay. Friendly staff comfortable room and good food to say the least.

    Bed was comfy and room was good with tea coffee or hot chocolate. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed Glasgow but a bit dispopted with hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First walk up in the morning went for breakfast they told me I never book breakfast when I had they said it was computer era then my room had faulty lights when you put key in socked no bar in hotel and my mum and friend are 70years old and they had to walk with there suit cases up two flights of stairs no help from staff very poor

    Staff were ok,hotel was good not bad location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.8
    Good value for a Hydro or Armadillo gig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator would not turn down and it was very warm when we arrived. If you get room 103 dont expect a view of any kind, a brick wall was all that could be seen.

    Friendly staff, huge room, comfy bed & pillows.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    6.7
    Very dissapointed with best western
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hate the card system too turn on and off lights ..okay for door but you have too use it for power as well..shocking idea..

    Room was not heated , a 1960 radiator in room 220 which doesn't work, more heat coming of the towel rail..the breakfast set up was very poor.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    7.9
    Convenient anonymous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was always manned but the receptionist could not be seen and therefore you had to alert them. It had an almost anonymous feel which maybe mint customers like. I didn’t like having a room on the lowest floor felt a bit gloomy. I sat for 10 minutes awaiting to be served breakfast no one came near me. I eventually asked another resident who directed me to the self service room. Very embarrassing.

    Large room gorgeous shower convenient to shopping area

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept on disconnnecting and sometimes very slow. Abit frustrating if one has alot of urgent or important work to do on line. But ok for general browsing for social media.

    Perfect location. Easy walk to town centre to catch train. Quite. Comfortable room. Nice breakfast. Helpful front desk staff. Availability of plenty of tea and coffe and hot chicolate in room. Wifi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only real issue is the poor sound insulation You actually hear every move in the neighbor rooms

    Good value for money Only 10 minutes walk to a city center Rooms are quite old and small, but generally quite clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    5.8
    A bit disappointing.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small doubles not spacious doubles as described in the booking. Our bathroom was tiny no where to put your toilet bag etc. We were meeting family there and wanted to have a coffee while we waited however there are no facilities for this unless you want to sit in your room. The hotel have a lounge but no refreshments available. I asked a member about this and she said “you’ll have to go up to Sauchiehall Street for coffee, it’s only a three minute walk”.

    The location was good as i hadn’t driven into Glasgow before. It was easy to find and easy access into town centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    6.3
    It served it's purpose but we will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a horrible smell when we walked into our room which did smell like damp and when putting the blinds up in the morning the top half of the window was covered in mould around the window panes. There was also mould around the bath.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money and a nicely apponted place to stay with very hepful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Google has this hotel as one of the closest to SSE and the Hydro for concerts etc. however it isn't a walkable distance; OK for taxi but I don't recommend the walk as it involves crossing major roads. The lady we spoke to on reception agreed. If you are looking for a hotel with a bar and a restaurant this isn't it. Also its quite difficult to find so have a look at a map before you go.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was self-service but a good selection and someone was on hand to help if needed. The receptionist who helped us order taxis was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is lovely. Fabulous location. Room was generous size and spotless. Good shower and storage. Bed was comfortable. Reception Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    Overall pretty good stay, great location, just a really old building. Staff was friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no elevator, so it sucked if you had more than one luggage. Luckily the staff was very helpful in assisting with luggage. The pipes in the bathroom was very loud when showering or using the restroom.

    The space in the room was really nice and comfortable. The room was clean. Location was excellent, lots of restaurants nearby. Proximity to the city center was great. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    The staff are always very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are always very helpful and friendly. Rooms are always spotless and well kept, stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and never anything less than spotless.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issue at all .

    This is the second time we’ve stayed at this hotel and it certainly won’t be the last . The staff always have a lovely warm welcome and nothing is to much . They even upgraded our room as we where there celebrating my partners birthday.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    receptionist was friendly and very helpful. finding the hotel was not helped by there being no street signs at the st.vincents end of the street probably as new buildings on each corner. suggest taking up with local council. look forward to staying again in december

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Most pleasing: look forward to next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cooked breakfast only just warm.Bacon and sausage of inferior quality. Assured by Manager breakfast will improve.

    Friendliness and efficiency of staff. All points above.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    A decent place to stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was a letter in our room stating that there was no hot water or heating as there was a fault. Nothing was mentioned about this at reception on checking in which I considered to be a bit unprofessional. It would have been nice to be offered a discount at the very least.

    The hotel was ideal for an overnight stay after attending a concert at the Hydro.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is slightly faded to get top scores but everything I used worked.

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Didn’t try breakfast but looked good. Ideally located for city centre, easy walking distance, and good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there was no hot water or heating !! We were given a fan heater to dry our coats as we had got wet in the rain ☔️ The room was large and had high ceilings it was a cold room so that was very disappointing!! Hot water eventually came on but no heating for our overnight stay .

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    4.2
    Central location within Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been a problem with water and we had no water at all or heating. Given bottles of water and was advised it was fixed when we got back at night. However it wasn’t fixed and spent a cold, noisy night with no water at all. On check out we requested a refund as it had been terrible, however there was no management available in the hotel and a member of staff had to apologise and could not give any discount or refund. Still unable to contact anyone at the hotel by phone so have emailed my complaint and concerns to the hotel and Best Western. Still no reply from anyone. We won’t use this chain again!

    Central location within Glasgow

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Avoid staying in the rooms in reception as no soundproofing and therefore no sleep!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room was next to the reception desk, with no sound proofing. I heard every word spoken outside my door. At midnight I got out of bed and asked reception to move me to a quiet room and there was none left. I hardly slept and was so tired at my conference the following day. In my view the two rooms in the reception area should not be used as bedrooms or the doors should be soundproofed.

    Bathroom had been recently refurbished and was of a high standard for a budget stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not that I didn’t like it but I was surprised that the room I was in had old wooden sash windows which could be fully opened with no preventative safety barrier. Also, as the window wasn’t double glazed the passing traffic was quite loud.

    Great location. Good choice and quality of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Quick, easy and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a rain shower in the bathroom that didn't have enough water pressure to be used, so that was a bit of a downer. The room was introduced with a coffee maker and water kettle, but there was only a water kettle and nespresso gold coffee to make coffee with.

    The room was very spacious. The bed was nice and soft and really big, which was also very nice. The room had a really nice sitting corner and they had a very friendly staff. The best part was the roomservice, they had a great burger on the menu with really friendly staff that brought it to the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice and friendly hotel! Would definitely stay here again! We've got room with inner yard view, so it was very quiet all the time. There is no construction work anymore around the hotel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed and nice decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and after following the guide on the radiators, it still didn't come on. The hot taps and shower took a very long time to get warm and never made it to hot despite being on the highest setting. There was some noise from the street.

    Comfy bed and nice decor. Plug by the bed. Beautiful old building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant & comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionist was available & responsive at all times Took care of our luggage before checkin, directions &good advice, ordered taxi & printed boarding passes. Always cheerful service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for the Theatre and restaurants but I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the Theatre and restaurants but I wasn’t aware we could park in the local multi storey car park and have the ticket stamped until we were leaving. Had I known this I’d have brought the car rather than using public transport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Good quality Glasgow room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite compact but what I expected from the deal I got

    Clean quiet comfortable city stay. Really close to The Garage on Sauchiehall Street. Nice to have a bath.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very soundproof. Can hear neighbours knocking on doors, even opening and closing doors.

    Location was great, easy walk to attractions. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room 101 was very noisy from the street spoilt our stay a little and having to pay £26 for parking l thought was a bit of a cheek

    room was ok but girl on reception desk not very helpful we got more help from the handie man Des he was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, friendly and clean with a little luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t know about the subsidised parking until I had already checked in and left the car at home.

    The room was big and very comfortable. I had the best sleep I have had in a long time as the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very convenient location for the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff were lovely and very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small you could hardly walk around it and get past each and other to get ready or anything. Also our room was very noisy there had been a building knocked down tight outside out window and was noisy with all the lorries and stuff. Didn't sleep well only because of the noise early in the morning.

    The staff were lovely and very attentive. Breakfast was also very good and a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Reception and all other staff attentive, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast delicious but almost cold. Fruit juices luke warm rather than chilled. Mini bar in room not stocked although the hotel had no bar. Faulty plug socket.

    Reception and all other staff attentive, friendly and helpful. Decor stylish clean and fresh. Room spacious. Bed comfortable. Good facilities in room. Check-in allowed earlier than stated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Would reccomend to friends as it is a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the house keeping staff on the afternoon of our arrival was very loud & disruptive, banging on walls running hoover into walls, slamming doors. Also the doors on the room were not very quiet.

    We loved the size and decor of our room & also the home comfort such as fan & iron board with iron. The bed was so comfortable as well i didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Fine for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is dark and tired. The toilet is peculiarly very close to the wall. The tv was on the blink.

    Pleasant staff. Perfectly fine for one overnight stay. Close to Charing Cross

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    I booked an Executive Room, however the room I was given was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked an Executive Room, however the room I was given was extremely dark , with only 3 small panes that were tinted out as it was at the back of the hotel at ground level, the view was of rubble and yards . Not what you would expect for an Executive room. I was moved to a standard room, as I could not stay in such a dark cold room, there was no mention of the fact that I had paid for an Executive room and no compensation offers like free break fast or something . After paying £350 for 2 nights not incl breakfast and not getting an Executive room ( that did not have to have the lights on all day ) I was not impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel . Amazing staff . Food is fab
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor ! But the breakfast board next to hot food said potato scones ..... it’s was hash browns in the tray . I was devastated. Haha

    Really friendly and attentive staff. Nice rooms- well presented. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of updating. No hot water in my room when I stayed.

    Friendly and courteous young lady who helped me get checked in. My room had 2 tiny windows that barely opened which was inadequate to help cool the room during my stay when it was 82° out. The evening deskman did however bring a fan which helped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Never again- AVOID ( you never know what you get)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am gubb smacked. I arrived at the hotel at 9.30 am, I ask the receptionist if I could leave my bag there before I go for a business appointment that would pretty much take all day. she kindly told me that my room was already ready and I could leave my bag in the room. You can imagine my surprise when she told me the room is beside the reception. Non the less I was in a hurry and quickly left my luggage in the room hoping to come back and change. I am a very light sleeper, so as soon as I got back to the hotel I asked if could change my room, the lady did try but the place is fully booked apparently. So so so so so so...... and more disappointed. What I can't believe is that there would be a room available virtually next to reception (dim and bit musky) and it’s not even sound proof and even with the TV on loud I can hear everything outside my door (I just want to scream and use choice words at this predicament). I have stayed in many hotels, some great and some not so, but for best western I had high hopes as I have stayed in many in US and generally it has been positive. This one is really the WORST EVER. I WANT A REFUND. I hardly got any sleep onthe second night of my weekend in Glasgow. I should've just gon home. Why should such room exist without any sound proofing???? As I was in Glasgow at the time of the European championships I think they overbooked and it was almsot £100 per night (TOO MUCH), which is not good enough, this room should not exist. In the morning aroudn 6-7am every morning the room was filled with smell of smoke???? I donno if it is burnt toast or what ?? but it was disgusting to wake up to. The mattress near the tv is dented if that is the right word. Perhaps mattress needs to be changed.

    Staff were nice. property looks good from outside. location is ok as well. there is wifi, tea and coffee (kettle)short bread, hair dryer, fridge and small iron which is normally adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Ridiculously over priced for a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously over priced for a 3 star hotel. £360 for 2 nights..... Not including breakfast. Not an impressive 3 star hotel at that to be charging so much. Carpets were pretty dirty looking and quite a noisy hotel with squeaking floor boards

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    we had basically no daylight in our room at all - we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had basically no daylight in our room at all - we were below ground level with a screened window facing out into a chimney-like backyard. Apart from that everything was very nice, though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.8
    It was reasonably located between the city centre and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was extremely hot in the room, and while I understand that this is unusual for Scotland it was also on a very busy street. We were unable to sleep with the windows open due to the noise from buses going by. The property is pretty run down, windows barely open, wallpaper ripped. The pipes in the bathroom made a lot of noise which was disruptive at night. We had to ask twice to get a fan for the room. Overall it was disappointing and would not stay there again.

    It was reasonably located between the city centre and the west end so were able to walk to most things. The room was large.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, centrally situated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome could have been friendlier

    This hotel is in a sympathetically restored building with some lovely features - especially the stained glass. Our room was good sized with a comfy bed. The bathroom had a full sized bath which filled up nice and quickly. Breakfast was well presented and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests in the room next to me had 2 dogs (I don’t object to pet friendly hotel), but I was woken early morning on2 days by barking .

    Very comfortable room with huge bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt realise intill 6:30am the next morning that our room backed on to a building site! So very noisy and very warm as couldnt have windows open because of noise.

    Nice place..with all you need positioned well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy from the road outside, windows not very modern seriously in need of repair. Radiator leak collected by a bowl under the window......

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Just out of the town centre but close enough to walk in to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction noise at the rear of the hotel but we knew to expect that.

    To obtain your breakfast, you enter a room where the cereals are, and the hotplates for bacon, eggs etc (plus haggis should you want to try some, very tasty), with coffees and tea, all self service, which you take into the breakfast room. Very neat idea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice and near the theatre we were going to for a show, but wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were allocated was on the main road. There were vehicles racing up and down the road in the early hours. The weather was very warm, hence the windows in the room were slightly open as there is no air conditioning in the room, although there was a fan. The windows are old style, wedged open. We could not close the windows to try to keep out the noise and get some sleep, This was not possible. I would not book again in the summer time.

    The room was lovely, clean, the bed was very comfortable and very nice bathroom. Plenty of space for clothes. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits supplied. Very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    I won’t be going back to that hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed. I was told I was upgraded to a family room from a double. However this room was on the 3rd floor with no lift. It was very hot and the windows only opened about 5cm. It was unbearable. We left the window open on Saturday night and it was as if we were sleeping next to the Silverstone F1 GP. People racing their cars around the roads until gone 2am. We witnessed this on the walk home from a meal but didn’t realise they also came past the front of the hotel. Where were the Police!!! With this breakfast finished at 10am so we missed that. Is that an early finish time for breakfast, inually 10.30 at weekends I have experienced. The room looked tired with damp on the ceiling. The bathroom shower screen was fitted too high allowing water to pass into the floor. A very disappointing stay.

    The only thing I liked about this Best Western was it was near the city and motorway making access easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean with excellent location, but facilities were pretty mediocre and a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was for the first two nights of our honeymoon, and unfortunately we were placed in a basement room with a not-so-romantic view of a construction crane and giant pile of rubble and rusty rebar. The basement rooms and lower hallways were also a bit musty, though I hear that's not terribly uncommon with the dampness of Scotland. Beds (and especially pillows) were rather hard, and power only worked when key card was in the cradle (which made it impossible to recharge any phones/batteries without having to physically stay in the room). It wasn't a terrible experience, but certainly a bit of a disappointing way to kick off our honeymoon.

    The location of the hotel is very central, within easy walking distance of some cool Glasgow sites, excellent restaurants, as well as the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, hotel in general, room/maid service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for two (115), two people couldn't move around easy, just enough room for one, more like a single occupancy room, no air-con or cooling fans, very noisy from 6.45 am due to building work at the back, only Sunday off !!! , no notice of this given beforehand.

    Friendly staff, hotel in general, room/maid service, comfy bed and decent shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very comfy, the locations was very good, not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot, wasn't possible to sleep. Next to the hotel there were construction works going on, so was extremely noisy and wasn't possible to open the window, the noise was awful.

    The bed was very comfy, the locations was very good, not far from Central station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    When checking in was asked for my passport by a foreign...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in was asked for my passport by a foreign gentleman. I hav lived in scotland since I was born and was very surprise to be asked for my passport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great old hotel with some character and a nice welcome at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was and all I needed for a one night stay, comfortable bed, lots of space, nothing much negative to report

    Great old hotel with some character and a nice welcome at reception. Perfect city centre location and quiet nights sleep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Disastrous
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction work. Rooms overlooking the construction site should not be sold -at least not at the standard price. Guests should be clearly notified of the noise and not just expect them to have read a notice posted at reception. My wife were checked into room 112 on the ground floor with cranes just outside our window and the racket starting at 7 am.

    The location of the hotel in the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    A convenient location for a visit to theatre . Very basic facilities and room in need of updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and areas of the room were not clean and very tired .

    The location suited our trip to the nearby Kings Theatre. The receptionist was very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One single room very small and dark. Other one ok. Very noisy demolishing work in the back from 7am onwards including Saturdays.

    Historical building, old features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    There is construction work just next to the hotel and they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is construction work just next to the hotel and they started the work really early in the morning at around 06:00. The Windows are not sound proofed at all so I could not sleep! Also, the shower head has no hot water, i tried several times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.8
    We feel that we paid good hotel rates for mediocre guest house accommodation-will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were really uncomfortable and we had a very poor nights sleep.Our room appears to have been renovated but to a very shoddy standard-floor grouting missing in parts-bath panel a mess-giving a very negative first impression which didn’t leave us. The breakfast was of a decent quality but wasn’t hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, they had no a/c in there had to request fan. no parking at the hotel need to park at the Garage. Lots of construction so at 6am they started working out side our window.

    Was in center of the city .You are able to walk every where. very energy efficient. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    RUBBISH AVOID IT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole place.

    we stayed there and it was not up to our expectations over priced, breakfast was cold we informed the Polish waiter who was not interested he said we cant keep checking it , then asked for a poached egg waited 30 minutes room was £105 breakfast another £ 20 for 2 people I would not recommend this hotel or ever stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing; cold and not a great choice of continental items

    Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with great facilities and excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: