Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Civic Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

87-93 Lampton Rd, Hounslow, Hounslow, TW3 4DP, United Kingdom

#28 of 29 hotels in Hounslow

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

5.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    4.7

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.5
    Very basic B&B but has all the essentials that are needed and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was perfect value for money much better than expected due to it being last minute. For one night we couldn’t complain the rooms are very basic but were clean and decent enough would definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Was good apart from breakfast i would have prefered a good breakfast seeing as i paid for one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The full english breakfast was not a full english breakfast i would have prefered to have what was advertised as a full english breakfast to have been an actual full english breakfast not turkey rashers and vegetarian sausages which was Not stated on the menu.

    Clean friendly environment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed For £219 for one night I would have expected clener rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a pot of berries in th fridge from previous occupants, there was a lot of dust on the inside hinge of the fridge, the beds where shouting bare wood where the cotton had rubbed of the divan base

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    3.8
    Location was close to transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were loud, hot and crowded. Staff was unpleasant. I did not feel safe in this location with my two young children.

    Location was close to transit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    4.2
    Would never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Black mould on bathroom ... no air conditioning and very hot toilet seat falling off .. no plug in sink for shaving .. beds hard and uncomfortable .. just terrible

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    3.8
    Terrible accommodations, friendly staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place is in bad need of a make-over. The decorative order is bad enough - peeling paint, grimy windows, ancient and dilapidated furniture, threadbare towels, curtains dirty and hanging off the rails - but more worrisome is the fact that there are major plumbing problems, with toilets and bathrooms out of order (both en-suite and communal ones), and I suspect the wiring may be dodgy as well. Finally, the rooms are under-equipped, with no chair to sit in, no hair-dryer, and a single hanging lamp with a bulb of such low wattage that it was impossible to read in bed at night. I don’t know who stays here, but I suspect that many of the guests have few other options if they want to keep any sort of roof over their heads. Whoever is paying the bills, they - we- deserve better than this awful place.

    Staff were friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    2.9
    Very poor and bad staff
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spoke to manager he said no refund only give 25 pcnt on off on next stay what a fool wouldn't stay again

    Got a room soon as I opened door it was dirty bed not done dirty towels food wrappers all over the staff was an total fool asked me for more money for a better room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    3.8
    Dont bother with this one unless you are desperate - take disinfecting wipes and towels/bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was extremely dated and the 'amenities' basic. The furniture looked as though it had been taken from a skip carpet from the 1980s, curtains hanging off the rail. and the remote control of the TV (which was also archaic) looked like it was a health hazard to touch. It would not cost the earth to get new cheap carpets and furniture and to give the whole place a lick of paint which would make it much more pleasant to stay there. We decided to leave without using the shower as we did not feel that we would come out any cleaner than when we went in - probably would have caught something contagious from it and there was one threadbare small towel for both of us and a little bar of soap. If you are going to advertise this on your website please make it clear to people about to book how basic this place is and only book if you are desperate as we were! Would definitely not recommend leaving your dog here let alone pay for yourself to suffer it.

    Not a great deal to be honest - the staff were friendly which is the only good thing about this accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Welcoming staff andcthats about it. Place is awful..very poorly decorated. Cheap as chips old furniture. No towels supplied. Breakfast we ordered poached eggs and that's what we got just 2 eggs on a plate. Worst place we have stayed. Although they said in September it was under new management and going to be refurbished. To be honest it needs hurting and starting over again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    2.5
    Very bad stay, never seen such a horrible service at this rate 176£!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty room, dangerous electrical plugs, no hot water...no schampoo...all for 176£|night...this is unfaire...and some how illegal! Why are covering this kind of hotel ...

    Finding a hotel not so far ...from the airport!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    4.6
    it was somewhere to sleep
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom . took about 15 mins to sort shower out door would not stay closed they said it was 1.2 miles from Twickenham stadium it was 2.4 and when you walked in it smelled of curry

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely disgusting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    disliked everything! Room was absolutely disgusting with other peoples rubbish, medication and wet wipes in the room! MY bed sheet was covered in what appeared to be wotsit crisp crumbs. Breakfast was just as poor as the room. Would I stay here again NEVER!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 bed had a broken base at one end, bathroom door came away at one hinge when opened, bathroom is a bit grubby and aged, could do with a spruce up all over! But for £25 each a night it was adequate!!!

    Parking is brilliant, location to Hounslow also perfect. Serving staff at breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    4.2
    Civic Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was filthy, furniture in shockingly poor condition, we even considered booking into another hotel but couldn't find a spare room.

    Absolutely nothing, it was a disgrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    2.5
    Should be shut as a guest house and want my money back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything...stinks.., dirty..just a low level disgrace

    Rather sleep on park bench...what a dos hole...avoid like the plague..cannot believe booking.com allow it on site..wouldnt put a rat in !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.8
    Good location for proximity to Heathrow airport and only 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Faint smell of cigarette smoke in room - had to request an air freshener.

    Good location for proximity to Heathrow airport and only 5 minutes walk from Underground station. Good wifi in room and good shower in ensuite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend the civic guest house.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a very bad smell, no view!! only drainage pipes, which explained the very bad smell, no hot water in the sink, the shower tray was slow at draining so had to keep turning shower off, the bed was very bumpy. Stains on the mattress. The towlels had a smell to them not a fresh smell at all.

    The room was clean & tidy. Check in was very quick. The guy was very cheerful at check in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    2.9
    Horrible and indecent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible shower with no pressure, pillow dirty, cold room, sheet not really clean, staff not professional, horrible breakfast with water not available, disgusting place.

    Internet connection

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    3.3
    I was not happy with the room the safety of the room and the clenliness was lower than avarage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room was disgusting if my kids weren't so tired from a late flight home we would have left asap plus payment was taken before we even got to room and so getting a refund was prob going to prove difficult going by the welcome we got which was a little cold . I am angry this is allowed to run as a business and i am so annoyed i had to bring my kids to such an awful room broken furnishings, random dirty fridge in the room with door hanging off !! just the whole feel of the room felt like it was dirty and un cared for they should be ashamed of themselves providing family rooms like this and I paid £59 for the pleasure of this

    Nothing apart form the parking was available onsite which is helpful with two small kids

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Great location, parking, good food, spot on! Hi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit dated. Sink took ages to drain away. No real problems though, spot on for what we wanted.

    Full cooked breakfast. Comfortable room. Nice staff. Good nights sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    7.5
    Cheap bed for the night and great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place needs total overhaul. My bedroom was awful. Filthy curtains..shower door didn't fit. Carpet dirty..Walls filthy and needed painting. Bed base filthy. However clean towel clean bed sheets clean toilet.

    Cheap bed for the night and great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisey people in the next room talking till like 3 in morning walls are very thin could probably do with airing the rooms more. But for the money I paid it was fine

    Very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    6.7
    Good value with easy access to Twickenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in need of some refurbishment.

    The room was clean and I got an English breakfast as part of the deal so good value for money. There was a bus stop outside for access to Twickenham and it's close to the underground.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was broken and it wasn’t comfortable at all there was a funny smell coming from the toilets it wasn’t suitable for people to stay in it didn’t feel secure enough i wouldn’t use this place again it was bad and it wasn’t a good stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.3
    Close to Heathrow, with a great breakfast value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location from the airport was excellent, via the Piccadily Line. Only a five-minute walk from Train Stop. A good place to stay for your arrival to London, Heathrow, especially if you're arriving a bit late like I did (9:30PM). The breakfast added value to the price because it was so good and filling!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.4
    Did the job as a bed for a night but will not be returning as it is too far from Twickenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    10 minutes from Twickenham! no chance, 45 minute walk, we took the bus and this took half hour to get there. Breakfast was awful, warm bread that acted as toast, no idea what the bacon stuff was!

    Shops and pub are close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    2.9
    Vile
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This property is an absolute vile dirty smelly horrible place to stay. We slept in our clothes and would not have stopped at all if we had got any other choice. I cannot believe you have got this Accomodation on your website as passable. You need to send someone who works for you to stay 1 night in this place then see if you think it is passable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    4.2
    The location was good and that is the only positive thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was run down (in need of a lot of tlc). Bathroom/shower was disgusting (damp patches all over), toilet broken and dirty. Floor was in need of repair as there was dirt and damp patches all around the walls. I'm surprised they are allowed to rent out the room in the condition it was in.

    The location was good and that is the only positive thing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced. We won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tbe place smelled of indian spices. Decore was dated and tired. Shower was cold. Bacon was turkey, not pork. Coffee undrinkable. Egg was solid.

    Near public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Was very content with the service I received.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needed somewhere outside the room where you can get water to drink.

    The room was very nice and the hotel in general was on point. The area was nice. I grew up in America but this hotel was superb for a 2 star hotel and far exceeded any 2 star hotel I've been to in the US.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    3.3
    Civic GH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were horrible and very hostile. Twice we were denied breakfast because we were late by 3 mins. Bathroom leaked, dirty and unhygienic bed linen.

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    5.4
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is smelling.specially bathroom.

    Location is ideal.staff is good.facilities zero.no shampoo,No moisturiser,no telephone n d room. if any emergency telephone is required.poor display of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    3.3
    Not value for money. I will not recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor Room condition, no fan, room heater does not work, dirty carpet.

    1. The room attender lady was nice and supporting our needs. 2. Breakfast was good and hygenic, but the same breakfast throught the week.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    2.5
    I don't like anything in this guest house
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All night it was very noisy my children were not sleeping all night disturbing we couldn't sleep all night It was ridiculous We told reception We don't like this guest house We were very disappointed

    I don't like anything in this guest house

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    6.7
    Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    30 degrees weather and heater was left on in room. Nearly was dead in morning. Who left heater on I wonder I only stayed 1 night so can't check every thing

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    3.3
    do not stay! ..i warn you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    terrible english breakfast i have ever had!very unhigenic hotel i have ever stayed in.dirty windows and window sills.very dirty shower that i asked to be cleaned because i found a public hait in the shower! fridge could not use to store drinks was dirty inside smelled of mould and was broken.overall very dissapointment poor vaule for money.will not be visiting again!

    beds a little bit comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    3.8
    Poor value for money in Hounslow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small. Not a "family" room. Too hot. Breakfast poor. Unfriendly staff - watching how much you eat!

    Location close to Heathrow and to the Underground station. Wifi good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    3.3
    faulty towers would be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sink in the room was unclean .gunk around taps hair on sink muck on top of tiles walls ad holes and looked unclean .bathroom was mucky looking and mould around shower.had breakfast booked and none of the 4 of us even contemplated eating there went to a cafe

    location only good point

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    4.6
    It was near to tube and easy to find, off rd parking helped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room needs a complete redecorate, toilet floor was loose and i nearly put my foot through hole, didnt use shower as it looked filthy, ROOM No 14

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    3.8
    Just nasty! £150 for one night due to u2 gig! Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shocking for £150 for one night. Uncomfortable bed, boiling hot room with no air con or fan. Very noisy room especially with the small window open which we needed to breathe. Very dated accommodation. One bedside cabinet between 3 adults. Room was dirty, dirty water marks down the walls as if there had been a leak. Bathroom dirty! Breakfast was ok but turkey rashers instead of bacon and grey coloured sausages.

    Nothing! Never again! 😩

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    4.2
    Avoid!!! Unless absolutely desperate!!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very poor accommodation, if you can call it accommodation! I knew it wasn't going to be 5* but we really wanted to walk out and did a search online for other accommodation local, but wasn't any available due to a concert on in stadium. Our first room on the ground floor had a broken window and didn't lock, they guy knew this and said it's the only room we have (I was requested to sign a declaration on arrival regarding lost property from rooms) we refused to stay and requested money back. We were then moved to another room which window did lock but room extremely poor, no head board, dirty marks on walls, wires lose (ends showing). Bed looked ok-ish but choose to sleep on top of the bed using my own blankets I had spare in my car. We were also told breakfast is between 7.30 to 8.30am, we left early didn't go to breakfast, looking at the place I wouldn't eat here at all. I would never stay here a again!!!

    Location only

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    2.9
    Stay away from this guest house!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here as it had parking and within walking distance of Twickenham Stadium as we went to see U2. We were asked to pay on arrival - no wonder (and they photocopied my driving licence!!!!????). We needed two rooms. The first was still full of the previous occupants' dirty towels and bedding along with used cups and brew making equipment. The second room smelled like wet dog. We ended up just using the guest house (which incideltally advertised rooms from £30 and we paid £65 each!!!) as somewhere to sit down and rest after wandering round Hounslow to find our bearings. I needed a shower but KEPT MY SOCKS ON IN THE SHOWER!!!! We ended up travelling home after the concert on the Saturday evening and we got home at 4.00am. Very tired but, I wouldn't even have kept a pile of manure in the cupboards and drawers in ANY of the rooms in Civic Guest House. The advertised a food health / hygiene mark of 4 - how on earth they got that, I never know. Stay away from this guest house.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    4.2
    Property and facilities need a complete overhaul ....or new management .
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath towels were not just old but were faded, the bedsheets and duvet covers have all had better days, the bathroom floor mats /towels were in a much more dreadful state!

    The entire building/property is not just sobbing but crying out for redecoration/restoration/DIY. The door to my room was in such a terrible state, needs changing, looks like a door have just been moved from a demolished house and 'planted in' On the overall, it is poor value for money for me as a customer, what I paid did not reflect what I got, will not be booking this property again and cannot recommend it to anyone as long as it remains in that state.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.9
    Satisfied with the stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathroom needs renewal some problems with WiFi (one out of 5 evenings) Planes landing on Heathrow quite noisy

    Cheap hotel close to Picadilly tube lane, well communicated with the city. Nice helpful staff Everyday cleaning, fresh towel Tea/coffee in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    3.8
    Glad we only slept in room for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, basic, cleanliness dubious, tv not working, water pressure non existent, broken wardrobe, two electric extensions on chair in bedroom , bathroom and toilet dirty

    Tube station just down the road - 3 minutes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    3.1
    We will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to sleep with the door unlocked. We did lock it when arrived but then had to pass the key under the door for someone to unlock it from the other side as we could not unlock the door from the inside. If the door had been locked and there had been a fire we would not have got out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    7.1
    What you pay is what you get, but free parking and good location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air via windows, opening the taps loud generating noise starts and take 2 min to stop after closing the taps. Whilst getting ready to leave staff knocking at the door at 10:10 time for check out.

    Parking and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    4.6
    Cheap for a reason
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't stay in the room due a wet patch on the carpet and damp. The staff member on duty didn't seem bothered and couldn't give a refund "without speaking to the owner"

    Price was cheap, but we soon found out why. Wasn't much hassle to sort out when we got home though

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I work away from home a lot and this was by far the worst place I have stayed in. E.g. Shower head held together by duct tape and bare wires hanging from the ceiling directly above shower cubicle. Etc Etc Etc. The whole building inside and out needs a good wash and the furniture needs to be thrown out, if you were to touch it you'd be frightened of it falling apart. This is my honest review and now it's up to you to decide!

    Checking out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    3.3
    VERY POOR ESTABLISHMENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly, unhelpful manager, very few power points in room, uncomfortable bed, jug had to be used on the bedroom floor, no bathroom linen supplied initially, breakfast very poor quality with cold food, uncooked toast, teapot supplied holding very hot tea without a lid, one lady in dining room was denied a 2nd pot of tea, and overall the accommodation was not at all worth the money paid. The door on our room was in poor condition and with a lock that did not give good security. I would never stay there again or recommend it to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.4
    okay for a one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms inc bathroom was not over clean couldn't leave window locked open position very hot no air conditioning could do with a complete refurbishment

    Breakfast was ok although the staff had a job to understand what we wanted

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    4.6
    Not so cheap and cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms quite grubby, went to local shop for cleaning products to clean the room. Poor service at breakfast from staff, which was served cold, some eating with spoons as no knifes/forks. One pot of tea only!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt, the bed was broken although when we complained they changed this straight away. The curtains did not fit the window half of it was covered. It needs updating the shower was cold an did not work properly. The room needed a good clean. The only thing ok was the location.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    3.3
    Go down the road to the Ramad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One pillow, no headboard and the back of the wall was stained with hair grease. The table was a broken old computer table, no double glazing and facing the main road, no hot water in the morning. I went down the road to another hotel for breakfast. Soap dish in the shower was hanging off. I asked if there was a safe for my iPad and the answer was no so I had to carry it around with me. I was booked in for 2 nights and stayed one cost £98

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    2.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty mouldy walls. Bodged fixings, ie tape holding the shower together. Breakfast poor and at times cold.

    Condition was very poor, needs a lot of work doing on internal furnishings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    3.3
    Won't be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs redecorating, smelt damp and gross, wallpaper peeling off the walls, broken plug socket & dodgy fridge. The bed was clean so that was a positive. When having breakfast we ordered poached eggs on toast and the toast came out separately 15mins before the single egg on a plate.

    The bed sheets were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    3.8
    Never stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park and location

    Staff were accommodating but we did not receive a worm welcome. We weren't expecting much for what we paid but the whole hotel was in need of a lick of paint and major work was needed in our room. There was a hole in the wall beside the bed that looked like it had been kicked through as it went through to the next wall lining. The beds were clean but very old and again needed updating. The shower was hot but to a level you couldn't stand under it or adjust the temp to suit. The breakfast was shocking! All be it hot and fresh it was tasteless ! I wasnt expecting much at all as I only spent £60 for a twin room but in hinsite would have spent more and stayed at a branded hotel where you know you will receive a standard of comfort, service and food that I'm sure the majority of us would be accustom too or at least expect as a minimum. Do yourself a favour and never visit this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend. Definitely more homey than a hotel and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing except would have liked the option of enjoying more of the breakfast. Would suggest an extra charge be added for option of extra helping. Price well worth the stay

    The welcome was warm. The room was very comfortable and felt like home. Absolutely clean. The food was very tasty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I keep.going back to the civic. My husband and my daughter and I have family in London so we travel at least 4 times a year. We always stay here. Rooms are clean,comfortable and staff are friendly and polite. Full English breakfast or a lighter option is available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting cold rat infested
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got up for breakfast, no tables as couple were sat at 4 seat tables so me and my 2 friends couldnt sit anywhere as there was only 2 seat tables. We was stood in the dining for about 10 minutes wondering where to sit. Not one member of staff came..so both morning we couldnt eat. The place stunk, was very dirty, mould around shower stains on bed, freezing cold room as radiator was broke we complained they said nothing they could do. The taps in the bathroom didnt work so we had to brush our teeth and wash hands with the shower. Shower was full of limescale. Reception knocked on our room door at 5am to ask if we wanted breakfast! We went out for the night and was stuck outside for 35 minutes because the manager bolted the door despite us saying when we'd be back. Staff very rude I would never stay here again. It is not fit for the rats it has let alone humans!

    There was nothing good about this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    7.9
    a Pleasurable unexpected stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a very toasty, a little too warm for my liking.

    The location, convenience, and price were perfect for our unexpected stay. Our flight home was cancelled and we had to stay a couple of extra days. W found the room to be roomy. Having breakfast was also a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    5.8
    Food was very hot and we'll prrsented
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place was dingy and needs a make over decor was dark. No plug on sink carpet in bedroom needs replacing and only 2 pillows on bed.

    Food was very hot and we'll prrsented

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    2.5
    Worse b+b I've stayed in
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything , paid for full English Breakfast, but only got toast and cornflakes. Beds are uncomfortable, very noise as the windows do not shut properly. Bathroom looks like it has not been cleaned in ages. Shower head full of grunge that the water couldn't get out. There was a hole in the wall on the other side of shower that was boarded up and the plug socket below was broken.

    Leaving

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    3.3
    Beds comfy (but difficult to sleep with continuous noise of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    choice of food wasn't what was advertised. eg full English breakfast consisted of turkey rashers, quorn sausage, fried egg, tinned tomatoes and beans... served on cold plates, food cold on arrival at table. Another choice was eggs, wiht toast, scrambled, boiled or poached - tried all of them and all were like rubber. 'Continental' only on Sunday (which was unexpected) consisted of crunchy nut sugar coated cornflakes, orange juice and toast (cheap tasteless bread). Dull colours throughout hotel gave depressing atmosphere, dirty windows, smelly bathroom, every time someone turned a tap on, the pipes made a loud banging noise that went on for 5 minutes and flushing toilet made pipes noisy for at least 15 minutes, which made sleep very difficult. Curtains in room too short so light coming in added to the sleeplessness. The whole places is in need of a makeover - it is in a very dilapidated state. Our daily routine consisted of having a shower, breakfast then staying out until bedtime as there was no day room, no table or chair in the room to sit and relax and outside was better than in as it felt claustrophobic as rooms are small - it is like a rabbit warren.

    Beds comfy (but difficult to sleep with continuous noise of pipes). Fresh towels supplied - with soap - and ample supply of tea/coffee/sugar/milk placed in room each day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    7.9
    Get what you pay for
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was freezing and other guests were very loud, banging doors and coming and going at all hours.

    Convenient location to where i was going to the next day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    2.5
    It's better to bin your money than to book a room in civic centre guest house.Worst experience in my
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of ridiculous things. Bed bugs,Flat bed matres,no soup and shampoo,no heating,disturbing.

    Everything was far below than expectations.Its was one of my bad days in my life.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent value for the business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Breakfast was OK without being great. The breakfast staff aren't the most friendly though. The building is certainly not the Ritz, and looks a bit shabby. But for the prices they charge, you should probably expect that.

    The location was perfect for me. Bus stop is right outside, and the tube station is just 5 minutes walk away. Shops, pubs, and eateries are all within easy walking distance. The price of bed and breakfast was outstanding. And the off-road parking was free too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    4.6
    Not delivered what was advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room not ready on arrival. Booking was with full English breakfast but only few cereals and toast. Very dated. Curtains wouldn't close so street lights shining into room all night

    Proximity to twickenham

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    7.1
    Great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I recommended that the guest house interior should be paint and do some finishes on the interior.

    The hospitality of the staff and environment. they also have a very good breakfast package.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here unless all you want is a shower and a roof over your head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating room was so cold we all slept in our coats and bobble hats. Breakfast was meant o be full English we got 1 slice of toast and a plate of cereal plus tea and juice. We were refused a second slice of toast.

    The hot water

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    2.5
    You woul have to be completely stupid stop here!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a complete dump a tramp wouldn't stop here!

    if you have no option but to stay at this place do yourself a favour get a piece of cardboard and sleep under a bridge! It will be much cleaner and more hygienic! The place stinks and should be burnt to the ground!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    6.7
    Bed and toilet so place to stay all good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cooked breakfast on Sunday which we weren't aware of! Very limited on one choice of cereal and juice and just toast and jam - disappointed

    Bed and toilet so place to stay all good! Dated but due to price don't mind

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2017

    5.0
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to be moved due to heating not working but were given an electric heater. TV out of date and not wired in.

    Staff v helpful. passable for one night but not for an extended stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay here. Travelodge 2mins away for £1 less most nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unsafe electrics, 240 power cables with switches in the shower. Windows broken, reception gave me double room no ensuite allthough I booked ensuite. Very rude to me when confronted about this, called for another member of staff to intimidate me. Very rough and dirty and unsafe. Terrible breakfast, all microwaved and "Turkey Bacon"???

    Free parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    5.4
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not at all up to the mark as per the prices charged. I understand it was newyears eve but you are already charging double the price so should have been little considerate.

    The staff was not very cooperative and alway in the denial mode if asked for anything.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: