Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grange Clarendon Hotel 4 stars

34-37 Bedford Place, Bloomsbury, Camden, London, WC1B 5JR, United Kingdom

#482 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 898 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go downstairs to pay for the room service when ordered.

    The room was perfect, spaciouse and clean, lovely views and great bathroom, it was very humid when we stayed but 2 fans were provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty nets and broken curtains. Could cleaned them.

    The bed was comfy amazing location. But room curtains were broke and dirty nets. But we didn't mind. Staff were lovely. And lovely view from the window. Good for what we paid for it. Would stay again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan was going all night long and ruined our nights sleep. For £184, I fully expected much better. The staff knew about the noisy extractor when we asked the next morning but there were no notices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe to add in some air con facility as it got a little warm

    We were upgraded to an executive suite which was excellent. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a significant slope when lying down I got a dizzy feeling as the bed slopped head down. Also the lift broke down whilst we were in it. Although staff rescued us asap it gave me a fear of using it again however we were on an higher level room only other option was walk up 3 flights of stairs.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On-site dining options seemed expensive, so we dined off site.

    Great location for Covent Garden, Holborn, Theater district, British Museum. Clean, comfortable facilities. Many restaurants and grocery markets nearby. We had stayed in Grange properties on this street before and would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, dust around the skirtings. Marks on the walls, woken up at 3am by a fire alarm. Mold on the ceiling of the shower. Not what you expect for a luxury double room!!! Room needs a good clean and freshen up Not what you expect from a Grange Hotel. The Beauchamp is by far a superior hotel

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly didn't have any issues.

    The room was clean and a good size, and the bed was very large and comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel so we can't comment on the food or menu. The reception staff were very helpful with directions and very pleasant at all times. The area around was very nice and safe to walk around. Transport was close by with bus and tube with in walking distance to take you into the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slightly tired ensuite but that is about the only criticism. Overall Excellent

    Upgraded to a larger King room which was very well appointed and had a very comfy bed. The en suite bathroom was a little tired but it had a nice hot shower and good quality toiletries. The breakfast was excellent with freshly cooked hot food and great selection of fresh fruit and pastries. Great location and great value for London. I would definitely use again when next in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While we were there the heating failed and there was no hot water in the morning but the hotel was fixing the problem as we left. I don’t think this is a regular occurrence

    The rooms were very spacious and with a large bathroom on suite, only 5 min walk to centre of Covent Garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor. The wallpaper was falling off on one wall and the windows had damp around them. Food was average and over priced for what it was.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have a good sleep, the lights coming through the door n lots of noises, I guess it's the old building, the walls are not sound proof. The bathroom is ok but could do with refurbishment.

    Good central location, walking distance to tube and Covent Garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were worn and the wall paper peeling from the wall - but didn’t affect our stay.

    The room we had was lovely and big, no noise at all in the room, and the mattress was fantastic. Really good sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com rate was £100 more than the rate available with the hotel directly plus the hotel rate included breakfast but booking.com on didn't. Won't book with booking.com again

    Good location - was upgraded to double room on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a long flight of stairs needed to get to the room (I was fine with that, others might not be)

    The location was great, it was clean and we'll organized and had a good view of a garden. And the neighborhood around it was very pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No starbucks downstairs

    - great location with many attractions and restaurants in walking distance. - friendly staff - writing table - spacious bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested a late check out but got a phone call at 11.05am to say check out was 11 am. Communication was clearly not a strong point.

    staff were very friendly and the bed was extremely comfortable especially as I have a major back problem. Food was lovely - very fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvet uncomfortable. Breakfast too expensive, so did not order. Coffee sachets in room were awful. Extra towel would have been helpful.

    Toiletries provided were good. Shower good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Orange juice for breakfast is coming out of the box again, and the breakfast itself is very expensive. I would recommend staying in the hotel, but eating somewhere else.

    Good value for money (with the booking.com discount) and friendly staff. The room was clean, and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about: I would recommend redecorating the lobby as it is not as nice as the rooms and thus not entirely representative.

    The triple room was perfect for three people: very spacious and nicely furnished (we loved the british style), bathroom with a window and a pleasant shower. The hotel is ideally located in a quiet street in between two parks, just a five minutes walk away from the tube stations Russell Square and Holborn and at walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get value for money in a central london hotel, but this is not it. Old fashioned and a bit tired round the edges, needs some care. I stay in london anout ten nights per year and have done for five years. Safe choice, but not value for money at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen around bath could have been cleaner especially the surround and towels a bit harsh.

    Quiet Location: ability to open the window; ability to deposit luggage before check in and after check out very useful as most museums/galleries cannot accommodate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated next to the British Museum, excellent bus / subway connections nearby, and in the middle of London, a quite place. Just perfect. And next to Russell Sq with its trees and the little cafe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conversions of Edwardian terraces have a rabbit warren feel about them. This was no different.

    Beautiful property, we overlooked a quiet interior garden. The room was very big by London standards.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was starting to look a little tired and stained.

    The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They "upgraded" me to a very big room (006) but clearly, it was just underneath the main corridor, so I heard people walking all night and in the morning with the bags, I couldn't sleep at all, it was a very bad experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard, and 2 singles pushed together to make a double with a bit of a gap in the middle

    Upgraded to a large, very comfortable room. Excellent location, on side street but only a few West End

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings are just a little out-dated and could do with a refreshment. No personal temperature control room in the hotel room meant it was a little too warm for my taste, but not uncomfortably so.

    Excellent location in Central London, close proximity to the West End, Soho, etc. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, and additional touches such as complimentary shaving packs were appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower could have been a bit warmer, but no big deal.

    On arrival we were upgraded to the executive suite which was a nice surprise.The bed was huge and comfortable, we had a great night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ok but net curtains were completely torn up and extremely shabby. Rooms too hot. Bathroom windows covered in light blocking film a lot of it torn and patchy. I felt that the price exceeded the quality of the room.

    Staff very helpful and attentive. Good location for our trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived too early to check in, so dropped our bags off with a friendly and welcoming female member of staff, signed in and paid for the room and then went out for the rest of the day. Coming back at about 11pm, the male member of staff at reception gave us quite the opposite impression, being sour and curt. It took quite some time for him to understand that we'd paid but not checked in, and he even told us that we 'should have taken the key' when we dropped off our bags, as if we were somehow supposed to have known that and were therefore in the wrong. He even asked me to sign in again, but showed me another customer's details - which is of concern to think that your personal information is not being kept private. During the long wait for him to get sorted and give us the key, two other members of staff had a brief argument in the lobby, after which one of them stormed out of the front door. Not professional. With regards to the room, the curtains were not sufficiently hooked properly so didn't fully close, the light in the corridor was not automated and was far too bright, so meant our room was not dark during the night, and the cold tap never actually gave cold water - lukewarm at best. There were no water bottles in the room, which I would have expected of a four-star hotel, and the heating was on far too high (we turned our radiator off but that didn't have sufficient effect), which meant that we had all the windows open (in January!) and so were exposed to the loud noises of the streets outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping there would be a piano to practice on!

    The staff were excellent. The bed was very comfortable indeed and the breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Very happy to have stayed here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given had an uneven floor which meant the bed was at an angle. I requested another room which was satisfactory. You could feel the springs in the beds digging into you which wasn't comfortable at all. I ordered fish and chips which was absolutely vile. I didn't eat the fish in fear of food poisoning and the chips were soggie. Breakfast was ok.

    The staff were all smiles and very pleasant. In fact, if it weren't for the staff I would have been very upset with the standard of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed expensive and we ate out.

    We were upgraded to an executive room which was very spacious, well furnished and comfortable. The room overlooked the courtyard at the rear and was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked separately from my colleague who got continental breakfast included - I didn't. Consequently for three days incl. one half eaten (not very tasty) cooked breakfast, I had a bill of £53. Also, the continental choice is very limited for a London hotel. 2 or 3 cooked meats and cheeses, tomato and cucumber and a limited choice of bread. It is also difficult to control the heating in the rooms so they are much too hot or cold with the window open. The mattress was very firm and the bath is too small, we both struggled to get out. TV choice is also set for sport - £10 to watch old movies which have been out for years.

    Kettle in room with biscuits and good hairdryer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and the underground station (Russell square) is very close to the hotel making this a fantastic hub for travelling around London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness and value for money.

    The location was only ten minutes walk to the Novello theater and the Stand and Leicester Square are only a further 5 or so minute's walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a basement room initially which was next to the outdoor staff entrance and the bathroom had a funny smell. We moved to a second floor room which was smaller but we preferred it.

    The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We liked the Bloomsbury area very much and the hotel is situated on a beautiful street with attractive gardens at each end. The hotel was 5 minutes walk to the British Museum and a 15 minute walk to the theatres. Staff were helpful. The receptionist was very pleasant when we asked to move rooms. We felt as if we were staying in a hotel which had retained some character and originality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've been "upgraded" to the "Executive Room". This room needs some serious renovation: - mould around the bath tub and shower - sink and water taps look very dated - lights in bathroom broken - no cold water from the tap available (only hot, quite odd!) - bad heat insulation of windows and doors - heating is extremely noisy and can barely be used in the night

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clear that breakfast was not included as i selected for it to be when booking so we had to pay extra for that on site. Tables in the restaurant were a bit too small for the amount of plates they provide for 2 people.

    Very good location for the theatre and nice local restaurants. Lift facilities. Nice cooked breakfast. 24/7 access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expressive for a room that is in need of renovation. Wall paper coming off the walls in multiple places, bathroom needing cleaning etc. At £170 a night this wasn't the premium room I was expecting.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not as spacious as anticipated. TV not always functioning effectively. Needed to call assistance for operation. Bathroom/Shower difficult to get in/out of. Room temperature was not optimal, mostly on the cooler side, which was fine for me but can imagine too cold for others. (mainly due to the lack of insolation on the ( beautiful) georgian windows; which also let in some noise) Rooms overall could use a refresh, but it was still a comfortable stay.

    A tradtional classic style of hotel and room with good bed and good standard of cleaniness. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast pastries weren’t very nice quality, kids and I left those to the side after one bite. Try contacting Arysta to get some nice flakey ones! 😂

    The staff were very helpful, especially appreciated due to an unexpected stop over.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room initially was noisy, next to lift and stairs but the staff changed it to an excellent room without fuss the next day.

    Great location -quiet, handy to underground, trains and virtually next door is the British museum. Staff efficient and pleasant and welcoming, a 24 hour bar and room service. My room was changed for me and was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to the room somebody was inside, quite embarrassing, so quickly got another one. The room was comfortable but a bit noisy as close to the stairs.

    Location is great, walking distance from all main attractions. Room was quite good size, nice view on the garden. As we got diverted from the main hotel just few yards away, we were offered free proper English breakfast for both days!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit too expensive - 26 euros per person. It looked good, but still not worth that much. I would much rather walk towards Soho and find a cafe given that it is so accessible.

    The room was large, spacious and extremely comfortable. The location was absolutely perfect. Everything of interest was within reasonable walking distance. Public transport access was spot on. I was upgraded to an executive room, so I instead stayed in the Portland next door. The neighborhood was calm and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar could have been more inviting and breakfast cheaper

    Hotel in ideal location for the theatre we went to in London. Room comfortable if a little on the small side. The reception on the TV was intermittent but the wifi was very good. Would recommend the hotel in future

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - one of my favourite parts of London. The complimentary upgrade of room triggers a maximum score, and there were no obvious deficits anyway. This was a brief one-night stay and I didn't eat at the hotel so my experience is limited, but I would recommend it anyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Early checking by lovely Ewelina, great room on first floor. Location just off Russell Square. Easy walk to museums and theatre. I try to stay around 100£ mark and this property usually not in this range but got lucky

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head in room 104 needs fixing, very little pressure because it's leaking

    Just excellent. Rooms are a bit old but everything is still in pretty good shape. Staff friendly and accommodating. Good sized bed. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel we had booked we were told we had been ‘upgraded’ and were put into another hotel along the road! Bathroom badly needed replacing. No fan/window in bathroom.. Paintwork in hotel particularly doors needed a good wash/clean. It felt grubby and tired. More like a 3 Star Hotel. After checking in we did not see a member of staff at all during the 2 days we were there.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a bit of TLC from a handyman

    Clean, staff superb, location excellent for walking out. Theatre district nearby. Excellent pricing g and value for London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find a temparture control so we were a little chilly but we just put on another layer. There was also no fridge in the room which would have been a nice touch!

    The room was very spacious, and had a sofa and table which we didn't expect. The bed was also very big and I liked the newspaper and magazines that were in the room. The bathroom was modern and also had a bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for breakfast.. Extortion.. TV remote not responsive

    Beautiful hotel , friendly staff and beautiful room. Great menu at OK prices.. Breakfast was however far too expensive @ over £20 per person. Apart from that , the hotel was flawless

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no light above the mirror in the bathroom which would have been useful when shaving

    Room was very large and airy - the best for the price I have had in London

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt bother with the breakfast as was £23pp which I think is just too much!!

    Fabulous Room as was greeted with the news of an upgrade to huge room with original fireplace, huge georgian windows with heavy warm curtains and Kings size bed. Absolutely superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the ground floor and as an old property very noisy all night every time someone came in the front door banged. Also windows didn’t shut fully leaving you feeling vunerable as on ground floor. Decor starting to look a bit tired.

    Huge room on ground floor. Comfy beds and clean room . Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room to move in the riom,it couldn't have been any smaller. The bed was on an angle forcing you to sleep down hill. The toilet would not flush your waste. No room to move in the shower. The floor creaked etc etc, terrible, never again!

    Extremely dissapointed with the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was given a room in the lower ground floor even though I had asked for one on the first or second floor when I did the booking. The room was comfortable and neat but the lack of fresh air made it kind of unpleasant.

    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly disappointed to arrive for a special occasion to realise the 'hotel' is not a hotel at all. More like a guest house. It is completely not a described. Some of the facilities are off site. Very disappointed as it was expensive.

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairs seemed fairly old / uneven and I got lost a couple of times

    Got upgraded on arrival. Nice room and hotel was in a decent location. Old Victorian style building was interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As in all big city hotels, the room is quite small. Because the room includes standard amenities (TV, desk, tea/coffee facilities) there's not much room to walk around and really not much room to store your luggage.

    This is great value for money in the center of London. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the room was well equipped. We didn't have breakfast there, so I can't comment on that aspect. We had no difficulties at check-in, the personnel were courteous and professional. The hotel is in easy walking distance to two underground stations, the British Museum, shopping on Oxford Street and King's Cross and St. Pancras train stations. There are supermarkets and a lot of pubs and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature felt like sitting in a Sauna. No airco, no fan. Room was somewhat small. This is not a 4 star hotel but a 3 star one.

    Good location, clean room & very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    uncomunicative staff (not reception).Breakfast seemed an annoyance,had to ask for butter for toast.Fault on tv,a line down screen.

    Room decor and furniture stylish.Reception staff helpful.Clean bathroom.Breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning staff took our private iron from the room ( the iron is with different plugin so easy to recognise ) and they couldnt find it in the hotel, so they didnt return it back before leaving . How come that the private stuff is taken and then cant find it ? Can I trust persons who enter the room ? Breakfast is not worth the price; being in the city center gives you a lot of opportunities to eat ouside just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The minor minus was not working TV and small room but you dont come to London to stay in the room.

    The location is the biggest value for the hotel and the upper level personel is nice and customer friendly ( I had to score staff low because being nice didnt solve the problem).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet location our room was clean and comfortable,the receptionist greeted us with a lovely smile made us feel extra special will be going back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very hot in top floor, fan in the room but still hot, had room service one night very expensive and to have breakfast in the hotel was expensive, so we went out for breakfast

    location great, staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well placed property in the centre of London, close to the British Museum. The Staff is welcoming and helpful, and basic needs are dutifully attended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the price for breakfast which we thought was bit steep as it was £23 so we went elsewhere but other than that I couldn't fault the hotel and its wonderful staff! I would definitely stay here again!

    The hotel was fantastic and the staff were amazing and willing to help us in every way possible and they went out of their way as I had my mum and my eldest daughter who is 5. The location was fantastic as we were near to Great Ormond Street hospital which was the purpose of our stay there but we also were very near to the theatre to see wicked and shops were within walking distance also. Our room was fantastic and very clean and fantastic space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. We thought that it would be ok because was supposed to be in the low 70s high 60s Few days and only 73 and 74° Then 77 78 Few others- even with in the windows wide open and there is little air in the room on the third floor. It was unbearably hot and we did not sleep well the entire time we were there. Staff was nice we ended up getting three fans instead of one and it was still awful. Because of that I would never stay at this property or any other non-AC property in London again during the summer. The lobby is tiny with just a few sets of chairs and a small couch.

    Bedding was nice bed was comfortable bathroom is huge by European standards. Room was clean is the location that makes this place have higher ratings. Staff here really do an excellent job they're friendly courteous welcoming and provided anything that was asked they really did a superb job. They should all be commended everybody. We had a particular maid who did a really nice job with cleaning in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings could be updated. The room was quite small. I was initially upgraded to the executive room initially, but changed rooms since this room was in the basement and was not comfortable in the hot weather since it was musty smelling and no AC and no ability to leave a window open since it is on the ground level. The hotel was very accommodating with this change.

    The location was good - not far from the train station and centrally located to several parks. The hotel decor was very nice. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Comfortable bed and pillows. Hotel provided a fan, since there was none in my room. I ordered the chicken tikka masala from room service and it was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower doors were hanging off. The net curtain in the bath room had a large tear in it. The room was way too hot (yes, we were there during reasonably warm weather, but it was much hotter inside our room than outside of it). The windows won't stay open, we had to jam something under them to keep them open a crack. The mattress on our bed needed replacing (I kept rolling into the dip created by my husband).

    very helpful staff, great location not far from tube and walkable distance to many places for shopping and sight seeing. Good quality toiletries supplied, fan and hairdryer supplied, tea and coffee in rooms, and you can request milk from reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a £150 a night room, not including breakfast, we would expect to have an air conditioned room but on a warm, humid summer day/evening/night in London it was not a pleasant experience. Room was also quite small so, along with the lack of A/C we had the overall impression of poor value for money. However, at a cheaper rate & without the uncomfortable temperature in the room, the hotel was nice.

    Well located & characterful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot even with Windows open as there is no air con. Also very noisy street.

    Friendly staff and clean good sized room. Plenty of storage which is unusual foe London hotels. Close to tube and also to a couple of lovely little parks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con would have been better it was really warm in the room.

    The bed was comfy but the room was odd, it sloped to one side quite considerably. There was no air con but a fan was provided. We slept with the window open without much distraction from outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grange Clarendon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: