Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Foxfields Country Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Whalley Rd, Blackburn, Langho, BB7 9HY, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Langho

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is fine but think twice about eating here especially breakfast if you are on a schedule
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of power points near the bed makes is difficult to charge a phone overnight and use as an alarm as most people do. Key card didnt work on room all weekend even though we had 6 different card cut so had to have a member of staff come to the room everytime we needed to get in Breakfast was a disaster. waited almost 1/2 an hour for breakfast even though it was supposed to be a buffet. not stocked, now hot and chef was more interested in preparing lunch than taking care of breakfast guests. Service was very poor

    The hotel itself is nice and the rooms are very large

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we can’t go more often!

    We love the location and the staff who are always so friendly and welcoming. The suites are fabulous and we feel so spoiled when we visit. The food in the restaurant is also wonderful. We stay regularly we like it so much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Great & peaceful location with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked as our friends were celebrating their joint birthdays nearby - not sure I expected a suite - we had a gorgeous lounge area; outside terrace & table & fabulous bedroom & facilities. Breakfast next day was perfect & the staff were very attentive & professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Arrived to book in and found it was a double room not a twin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived to book in and found it was a double room not a twin that had been reserved. Staff immediately sorted this out for us, We had a lovely twin bedded suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel rooms spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t enough staff serving on the bar for the amount of people at the christening! Also the buffet - ran out of food, only small plates so when guests went for seconds they were told they couldn’t have any more food!!

    Beautiful Hotel In lovely setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable weekend, this was our second visit, and we will be back again im sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly helpful staff that responded well to customer needs, a spacious superior room/suite with patio doors and table and chairs outside, attractive grounds around the hotel, loved the restaurant and bar area, it was lively with a good atmosphere,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    5.0
    Won't be staying there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food description incorrect. Ordered a fillet steak and got a skirt steak substitute which the manager agreed it was, which is usually used in stews and casseroles. Good job I used to be a butcher for 10 years. Miselling really.

    Waiter service ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    5.4
    OK but should be better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower and toilet did not function very well. No selection of fruit at breakfast. Room very hot with no method of temperature control. Old style Victorian bathroom.

    Large rooms, clean, breakfast made to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay, relaxing with great views.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was great with plenty of space for the dogs and on the ground floor with a small patio area outside. WiFi was great, normally the WiFi in hotels we have stayed in have been very weak.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.0
    artisan restaurant has been renovated and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was cold and a dated, pool area needed upgrading, very noisy wedding kept us awake. Service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss.

    artisan restaurant has been renovated and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed except for the staff and the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very noisy , thermostat was broken so radiator on full blast all night the room was uncomfortably hot therefore I had little sleep. Downstairs they was lots of noise from people in room below and therefore I kept been woken up !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    10
    A lovely birthday treat for the birthdays of my husband and daughter, try it yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our rooms were suites with a lounge and dining area. Very comfortable and spacious. The bedroom was also spacious with lots of storage and an additional TV. The bathroom had both a bath and walk in shower and separate toilet. Definitely good value for money and ideal for families. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard . Staff were welcoming and friendly. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant we will be going again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in our room was faulty but they tried to fix it quickly and brought a heater when they couldn't.

    It's a lovely friendly hotel the food is amazing in the restaurant and the staff are fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    We would return to the foxfields but not book breakfasts😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet breakfast was cold. The first cup of tea was hot and served by a very pleasant waitress when we required a second cup the flask was empty another waitress brought a teapot with cold tea in 😩

    The was spacious with lovely views. We were there for a family Christmas night which was great. Entertainment and food excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.5
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing i didn't like . Staff were really nice told us everything we needed to know & very helpful

    Very nice restaurant & rooms were massive , which is excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay. Food and service Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going Home.

    From start to finish - A relaxing comfortable stay, Great staff, service,food,facilities!!! We will be back each month next year for my partner to attend a training course...I will be relaxing and swimming through the day while she finishes then we will be dining there on the evening :-) Manageress was ever so welcoming and helpful 10/10 Gary & Lisa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    5.4
    Good location - tired looking hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cold room. Blind/curtains didn't open. Furnishings etc very scruffy - needs refurbishment. Wouldnt stay for more then 1 night.

    Friendly reception good location for attending a function nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.2
    Large rooms, good food and a great location to get to even by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception service a little too American style. When you have an eatery like Artisan, (which isn't a burger joint), it isn't fitting being called "guys" all the time. How are you guys, what can I get you guys. A simple hello would be more fitting with a country hotel in the Ribble Valley

    straight off the 280 bus Clitheroe - Preston ideal location for visiting Clitheroe and Whalley. Artisan restaurant excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing.Food lovely. Bar and ambience top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms now need updating to standard of new bar and dining facilities. We're sure this will happen

    New bar/restaurant area fantastic. Leisure facilities still good. Room service (1st time used) was excellent. Food hot and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.1
    lovely location and very helpful staff however the room was not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities were quite dated, the lights were very dull, one light didn't work, the door to the toilet wouldn't close. I think that it was not worth the £100 that we spent especially since breakfast wasn't included in that price.

    Staff, location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.1
    Wedding anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable restaurant experience. Not offered a table in restaurant area even though we booked evening meal with hotel stay had to eat in bar area. Mentioned to staff following morning and they were very apologetic as not hotel policy.

    Nice suite, dog friendly, nice pool. We have stayed before and enjoyed our stay so returned for our anniversary

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    5.0
    The bar and restaurant attached to the hotel is lovely with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel room was very cold upon arrival, we had to call reception to get the heating on and the room was full of flys which we had to swat. Also the shower was very difficult to use as the handle was so stiff. The general cleanliness was very disappointing.

    The bar and restaurant attached to the hotel is lovely with great food and a busy atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    It's ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs modernization. Soon. Otherwise, it will become one of those hotels, that don't improve their appearance and sell it as "quirky character". You can find a lot of these in UK. Apart from that, can't say anything else bad.

    Location was good. A lot of parking space. Staff were friendly. Very spacious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.3
    Staff friendly and helpful and would use this hotel again when visiting family in the area.
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom door could not be closed properly or locked from inside. Coat hangers all situated on one half of rod and could not be spread along the whole length. Was this perhaps to accommodate guests' own hangers or, for example, wedding dresses etc?

    Manager and wife very pleasant - even went out and purchased muesli which I felt was missing from breakfast. Room large and comfortable but see below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to ring the night porter to be let in on our return from a wedding we were attending. The key card should be sufficient. It was a good job I had my phone with me as there was no bell to ring.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It was also very quiet during the night so no interruptions to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful weekend break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spent a weekend with my wife as we were attending a wedding in the local village and wanted a hotel nearby . We made contact with the hotel prior to arriving to make sure we have a good room . We had an excellent spacious room on the ground floor with an outside sitting area with one table and 2 chairs. The towels were soft , the bed was comfortable and the sheets were saintly white and soft to the touch . The bathroom was spacious with separate toilet , separate shower unit and a bathtub . The room was clean with facilities for making hot drinks. Breakfast was brilliant and served in the newly renovated restaurant . We ordered a la carte on our first morning and the next day it was a hot breakfast buffet with a good selection of pastries all included . We enjoyed the swimming pool, the steam room and the sauna . The small gym needs updating but it met our needs . Didn't have time to enjoy the garden and the woodland close by . The staff were pleasant , helpful and made our stay memorable .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.3
    Ok, served its purpose as at a wedding at Mitton Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt the room was a bit dated and also the flow of water from the tap and shower was very poor. The mattress felt like it was quite worn and ready for replacing. When we got to breakfast they had run out of everything and there was no glasses for juice, coffee came without milk or sugar, toast came with no butter. We had to ask for them all. These issues were not reflected in the price and felt that it was a bit overpriced.

    check in was easy and helpful staff. Room was nice and big. Gardens and outside area looked nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the marble steps at front entrance. They were wet and very slippery.My husband was very uneasy on them as he broke his arm recently and was scared of falling again. They need some sort of matting.

    Very comfortable bed. Very quiet. Food at dinner excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    8.8
    The restaurant and cocktail bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin suite needed attention and updating. Historical water damage on wallpaper from upstairs room. Three light bulbs not functioning. Reported on three occasions only one in shower cubicle replaced promptly.

    The restaurant and cocktail bar. Very contemporary styling, beautiful soft furnishings and excellent cleanliness standard. Amazing service from Christine at breakfast. Friendly, attentive with genuine welcome and farewell. Spacious suite with French doors leading out to patio area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant facilities were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little chilly in the evening.

    The restaurant facilities were very good. We were able to get a bar snack. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. We would recommend the hotel to friends and family. Easy access and directions easy to follow. Even though there was a big function on in the main hotel we not disturb by the music from this event.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    7.5
    family wedding. brilliant day. beautiful day for all who attended
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast was a disappointment. our order was missed in the kitchen so we were left with no breakfast. but happily refunded price with no problem.

    room sizes. comfortable beds. nice friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit tired with a carpet that could be cleaner and some lights and the extractor not working so there were signs of mold on the shower ceiling. I understand that a refurbishment programme is in hand which will pick up these problems.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the rooms were a good size. The food was excellent. The hotel was about to open a new restaurant (on the day we left) which looked very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious if a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only very minor issues carpets in public areas needing vacuuming more often or brightening up and paintwork could do with a touch up in places, but the staff tell me the hotel is gradually being refurbished.

    Rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious if a little tired. The en-suite was bigger than some of the bedrooms I've stayed in and had a bath and separate shower cabinet, with a really good shower, as well as wash hand basin. The toilet area had a door so that it could be separated off from the rest of the en-suite. The hotel was very, very quiet and has windows that open so a good nights sleep was assured. The staff were excellent both hotel and restaurant and the food was really good. Despite having a wedding in progress they welcomed our four visitors and catered for our party no problem. Plenty of staff around and the food was excellent with a very reasonable bill at the end of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.9
    A good venue from which to explore the Ribble Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Club bedroom was in need of decoration as the paint and paper was a little shabby and a window blind was broken and couldn't be opened. The bathroom was from a previous generation and most definitely needs a makeover. I can only comment on the one bedroom, it maybe next on the list for refurbishment.

    The reception and staff at breakfast were courteous and helpful. The bedroom was spacious with lounge seating and a separate dressing room. The grounds of the hotel were well maintained and pleasant to stroll around. The public areas of the hotel were comfortable and well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.3
    Need to update the room and we could have been closer to Brownshall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room rather tired upgraded to suite so disappointed as the room needed updating. Patio was really dirty no chairs or table and the door was tricky to open and close

    Staff were very lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.7
    Lovely accomodation - pity about the rest of it! Crying out for a good manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 tea bags & no biscuits in room. Wi fi code and pool access code not given when checking in - had to chase up later along with tea bags etc. Lack of available staff - both in bar and at breakfast. One person cannot set tables, take orders and serve efficiently. Breakfast on day one was cold and unappetising from a pathetic buffet - day 2 we were with friends and had to start re setting a table. The eggs on cooked breakfast were hard and cold - asked for fresh eggs but by the time they came we had eaten the rest of the meal. The overall impression was that the hotel is run on a shoestring.

    Lovely room, great towels and nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think a pot of tea/coffee at our table during breakfast would have been better instead of having to keep going up and getting one from the big insulated pots.

    The Afternoon Tea was very tasty - would definitely have that again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.0
    Not a pleasant experience, though the staff did do their utmost to minimise the effect of the flaws.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. The room had not been serviced since last occupant, yet it was 17.45 when we arrived. 2. As we entered the hotel the overriding spell was of old, and dirty carpets. 3. As we entered the room it also smelt old and dirty. Badly stained carpets, a rusty radiator, crumbling plaster around the window frame, and the seal was coming away from the window. 4. Whilst waiting for the room to be serviced we sat on a sofa in the reception area. The gap between the cushions revealed a pile of debris, biscuit crumbs, nuts etc.

    The convenience of location relating to our function venue. Also 10 out of 10 for the receptionist's helpfulness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    10
    From the warm welcome to the pleasant goodbye our stay was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    From the warm welcome to the pleasant goodbye our stay was perfect. The suite was fantastic, the bathroom huge and the bed was comfortable. We stayed half board and the food was sublime in their brand new restaurant! We will be going again! Breakfast was equally delicious and the options were varied. The staff were happy to help and very friendly. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    3.8
    Poor quality. Overpriced. Won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of rooms poor. Fixtures, fittings and decor dated. Gym was tiny. No hot water in our block in the morning. When it was fixed we weren't notified. No discount offered upon checkout by way of compensation. Stay was very overpriced and I will not be returning.

    Catering staff were friendly and the bar stays open all night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.9
    The outside space was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cooked breakfast was barely warm. It seemed as though it has been sat there in the troughs for a very long time. Tea and coffee were not hot enough either. The continental breakfast was very good. Super variety.

    The outside space was pretty. The staff were friendly. A spacious bedroom. Big Windows that actually opened very wide.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    5.4
    Lovely staff and meal needs a deep clean in room plus new carpets in rooms very dirty .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not being able to use bar because of private function due to renovations which were not told on arrival spent night in room would of been nice to sit in bar.

    Needs a lot of cleaning in room carpet had cigarette burns and stains everywhere x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a wedding disco which went on very late, well after midnight which would have been a good cut off point for it, so music was annoying when trying to sleep.

    A pleasant room. Beds were comfortable. Only complaint more tea bags, milk etc., and maybe a few biscuits would have been nice. Good choice at breakfast. Staff friendly and pleasant. I found shower over bath impossible to get into as I have mobility problems.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    7.9
    A very pleasent weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good central location to the Ribble Valley. Good food, comfortable, friendly staff who were very very helpful.

    The only downside we felt with the hotel was that it looked a little tired and some attention was needed with some of the facilities i.e. bathroom taps and toilet flush. It was obvious that steps were being taken to improve the overall appearance of the hotal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.9
    Location and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated room which made it seem tired and unclean, needs freshening up.

    Location and staff very friendly. Size of the room was very big and it was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.1
    Staff were helpful & pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast very poor. Our room was unfortunately one of the rooms that hadn't yet been renovated. Still a good size room but needed updating.

    Staff were helpful & pleasant. The renovated rooms were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    8.8
    Suited our needs 'down to the ground'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door into the accommodation, slammed shut every time we used it. The cleaning/storage room doors were always open, making the entrance area look untidy and unwelcoming. (small points, which didn't spoil our enjoyment, but could be easily remedied to give a better impression)

    The room was roomy, the bed big and comfy. ALL the staff were lovely. The food, we had, was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous views of the Ribble Valley from the gardens. rooms are huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit disorganised, but plenty of it, and a good choice. The hotel is a bit dated but I believe it is undergoing a refurbishment.

    Helpful friendly staff, size of the room, lots of hot water for morning bath, nice garden, lovely afternoon tea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was huge and clean. Very comfortable. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Will definitely return. The only small thing was that the door into the back part of the hotel (near room 401) slams so loudly and it woke us up in the early hours of the morning. Just needs fixing so it closes a bit slower! That's only minor though and everything else was fantastic including the breakfast. Big thanks to everyone there!

    The setting was beautiful and the staff were amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.2
    Planning to go again for leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to go and get coffee from a flask. I'd would like to order a pot of coffee for my table.

    Really spacious comfortable rooms. Quite, chickens roaming the gardens

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast. Rebuilding seems to be causing a problem in that there were insufficient tables for everyone. Also cold plates meant that by the time you got back to your seat from the buffet the food was nearly cold.

    Nice big room but rather "tired"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little worn and tired looking, however I believe that they are currently undergoing renovations. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom when we arrived.

    Large room. Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.3
    We chose a hotel to be close to a wedding that we were attending, and this hotel fitted the bill per
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The venue is designed as a wedding/conference/tour venue, so it is a little bland. They are in the process of upgrading their restaurant facilities which will provide many more covers.

    Very helpful staff, and comfortable room. Breakfast was very good, and we had an excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    5.0
    Nice room, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't allowed to use the facilities as there was a function on but this was not made clear before booking. Breakfast was substandard considering the price that was charge for it too.

    Room was nice and very spacious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    5.8
    Could be a great hotel, but currently just ok.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness lacking. Overall decor a little tired. Restaurant dinner didn't really live up to the menu.

    Easy to find and park. Large rooms. Good pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    6.7
    Spacious rooms in quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not very warm on arrival. Heating made room warmer, but it was a bit noisy. Rooms are a little dated, and whilst the room was clean, the carpet had a few stains on it. The breakfast was served in a temporary location due to building work - it was not the warmest of places to sit and have breakfast. Asked to pay on arrival - why? I normally expect to pay when I leave....

    Huge room - we were upgraded. The room had a lounge area, bedroom and bathroom - all very spacious. Breakfast was freshly prepared in kitchen. Staff were friendly, and offered help when asked. Bathroom equipped with toiletries and good size back towels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    6.7
    Will be lovely when restaurant is completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our ceiling leaked. We were not told about the lack of proper restaurant, and the fact that the bar wasn't really open to residents as it was being used for a wedding. If these things had been mentioned, it really wouldn't have been a problem, but the lack of information was disappointing.

    Connor was a very efficient member of staff. The food was wonderful in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely room, beautiful wedding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was not powerful enough and was over the bath. I prefer a walk in cubicle.

    Lovely comfy, large room, had room service meal which was fantastic value for money & delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    5.0
    The management and staff were very friendly and anxious to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maid service; they just need training and at some point there should be some quality control. For steak lovers you may want to ask for rare if you want a medium as mine was really over cooked.

    The management and staff were very friendly and anxious to please. They were really trying to make my stay pleasant, for that I am grateful. The breakfast was good and the service was good in the restaurant .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    8.3
    good luck with refurb
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not going to give this hotel a bad review as it is about to go under refurb and I used to work here in the 80s, it needs the refurb! the room was freezing, no heating on had to borrow heaters from reception, the girl was the only good thing about this break, the kettle did not work, pat testing appliances had not been done for almost 3 yrs, bar was closed restaurant closed, the receptionist got us a lager, but poor choice on the bar I wish the new owners well and hope the refurb goes well, but I was disappointed cold and sober, not good for my "Christmas Day" as I had run my restaurant in Hull on the big day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing friendly stay great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Member of staff told us rooms been upgraded but room we were in didn't look like it .the size of room great we had a suite but looked a bit tired needed re doing

    The staff were really friendly food great room nice size we were able to relax sitting on a sofa after our meal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    7.1
    Very large comfortable room for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel decor is dated. However, I understand that refurbishment is due to start this month. Breakfast was okay, but I would recommend ordering from the menu over the buffet.

    Very large comfortable room for the price. We had a suite with a lounge, bedroom and bathroom for around £100. Scenery and local villages/towns are beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    6.3
    Room was a good size with extra sitting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet in room was dirty and stained really needs a proper clean or replacing.

    Room was a good size with extra sitting area. Food was nice and good leisure facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    10
    A great nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 4 tiny cartons of milk for 2 people to make tea and coffee in the room

    Room was very spacious and comfy and facilities are excellent with pool, sauna and steam room. Very nice peaceful location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    7.9
    Really nice and spaceous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I decided to go for breakfast and it was really dissapointing. It came cold and poached eggs tasted at just vinegar. The tea was cold. It should be provided gluten free bread.

    Really nice and spaceous rooms. Nice area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2016

    8.8
    Under new ownership.. promise of better to come
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds could have been firmer

    Under Major refurbishment planned and huge investment planned. Upgraded Rooms are superb Chauffing dish.for breakfast .. could be better

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    7.9
    very friendly staff very helpfull
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    not keen on seeing skid marks at the bottom of the toilet bowl could have been cleaner ?

    very spacious room separate lounge area deco could do with up dating , overall very nice..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    7.1
    Convenient but soulless and dated
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food seemed pricey for what it was, especially the breakfast which is not included in the room rate. Whole place needs the refurb which we understand is planned for next year- at present it is in a bit of a time warp. One of our rooms was cold as heating was not working properly

    Pool and sauna/steam room were a welcome bonus

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    7.1
    Lovely venue with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No jacuzzi in the pool area. No biscuits or hot chocolate in room. No hairdrier in room.

    Access to our room from outside after visiting the pool area. Patio area was good. It was nice to see the hens wandering around in the morning. Good parking. Excellent food well presented.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    6.3
    Warm, friendly place, good pool - needs a general update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the rooms and the carpets have seen better days. There was small items of litter around the pool and in the sauna - feels like a deep clean is overdue. The tea selection in the room was PG tips or nothing. Very stark decor in the rooms - no throws or pillows and the chair had a hole ripped into the upholstery. Fresh fruit salad at breakfast was very limited. Coffee was a bit stewed and system for making toast antiquated to say the least. Decor in general is very dated.

    We liked the pool and sauna. Breakfast was quite good particularly the bacon and eggs although I have never seen jam tarts served anywhere for breakfast before in my life. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms surprisingly quiet given how close it is to a busy road. Comfortable beds and the rooms aren't over heated which is really good - most hotels are way too hot for me. Rooms are massive as are the bathrooms - this is a great place to stay as a family you will not be falling over each other and the children will love the pool which is perfect for little ones. Lots of hot water. Wifi. Good location if you have a car. and dog friendly. Nice gardens at the back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff when we arrived on Sunday. When we booked we were told checking in was from 2pm. I phoned when we booked and explained we had an appointment for 1. 30. The receptionist was very helpful and explained that as there was a wedding the previous day rooms may not be available if we arrived early but we could leave luggage securely. This was not available to us on the day.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hotel and staff, just needs a facelift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole hotel is looking very dated. There was a burning smell coming from the heater in the hallway which we reported. The shower in our room dripped constantly and subsequently the shower cubicle was full of damp and smelled bad. The carpet was in very poor condition, worn, stained and burnt with an iron. The chairs for breakfast were so flat I could feel the metal through my seat.

    The suite we were in was a fab size, ample space for our family. Lovely staff in particular our waitress for breakfast each day was so cheery and great with the kids. Breakfast selection was ideal and food was of good quality. Plenty of parking and enjoyed the use of the pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    10
    Excellent place. Will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower dripped all night. The patio door wouldnt lock (room 202)

    The room was very spacious and the staff friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    6.7
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating was on but the room was freezing & the double bed was two single beds pushed together. The beds were different heights by about an inch so this made it very uncomfortable

    The staff were lovely & could not do more for you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    7.1
    Ready for their refurb plan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower screen was missing the rubber seal so bathroom flooded every time we showered. Toilet was missing a handle- just had a threaded metal rod awaiting a handle. Mattress was quite old and sunken.

    Large room Helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: