Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Claymore 4 stars

162 Atholl Road,, Pitlochry, PH16 5AR, United Kingdom

#2 of 28 B&Bs and Inns in Pitlochry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 423 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was non existent in our apartment.

    Big, new, clean, quiet, tastefully decorated apartment. Owners were fabulous hosts! Superb breakfast included. Lovely 5 min stroll to this gorgeous wee town. Monday nights around 9pm you are treated to the local Scottish bagpipe band walking from the other end of town right down the Main Street. A big bonus, just delightful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No adverse comment

    We were made very welcome . Breakfasts were very good, with a good variety of starters and the main course. Attention by the staff was first class without being intrusive. Room was large and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is perfect. Rooms are comfy and really the beds are too great. Breakfast is delicious and the staff are really nice! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.Next time we will book an additional day.

    Attitude of owner and general welcome.He also recommended walks,restuarants,and useful village information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cornice in room required cleaning, room furniture old and needed dusting, heating a little challenging to control and breakfast somewhat frugal.

    Well located on the entrance to town from the north, with a lovely front garden and ample free parking and several eating venues nearby. Friendly management and a large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note that although dog friendly, dogs are not allowed in the breakfast room. However, we we very lucky with the weather and were able to sit outside, and the staff were very helpful

    Well equiped room, including a fridge. Good tips for eating in dog friendly places

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diane & Graeme are delightful...we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Claymore. The house and grounds are beautiful and the breakfast each day was delicious. Pitlochry is conveniently located in the middle of so many great places to visit. I wish we’d had a few more days to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The room was clean and bright, lovely bathroom clean and spacious, the breakfast was really nice with lots on offer, good selection, nice that as a b&b you could bring in food if you wanted and eat in the breakfast room plates and cutlery supplied, nice garden's

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful making you feel like you were visiting a family member or a close friend rather than just another hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fabulous the owners were amazing and the staff were brilliant the gardens were a dream to look at very well run B&B we will all return soon hopefully .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel, wished we had booked to stay longer. We were greeted by a warm & friendly welcome, told about some interesting walks around the town. The location is brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    We have stayed here before and will again. Excellent hosts, accommodation and facilities. Clean, bright and warm all deserving its four stars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful building and our enormous room with king sized 4 poster bed also had bay window with wonderful view of hills. Ensuite was also very spacious and has large bath for a relaxing soak. Great breakfast and great advice from host about where to eat in delightful town of Pitlochry and other itinerary tips

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing we could fault out of everything was the TV in the room was a bit small, and the DVD player made a humming noise. but we just turned up the volume lol

    very comfy bed, lovely breakfast and very attentive and friendly staff. would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A warm welcome from the owner Graeme. We stayed in Room 10 outside of the main building. The room had been recently refurbished and was superb in every way. Really comfy bed and an excellent breakfast in the morning, especially the porridge with a splash of Whisky! The owners also let us leave the car parked on the grounds so we could explore Pitlochry for a couple of hours after we had checked out. We would Highly recommend the Claymore. (Nae bad fer an auld Fermer).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely breakfast in the conservatory. Two minutes from the town center. 15 minutes from The House of Bruar shopping center where you can spend a good afternoon browsing there pork pies and scotch eggs are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    The rooms were clean and tidy and equipped with everything we needed - the small fridge and bottle of water were a real bonus. The bed was extremely large & comfy, the staff were very attentive & helpful, and the breakfast - in choice & quality - could not have been better. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With approaching winter big rooms tend to have a cool air to them, as is normal.

    Nice big room, very clean, very good bed linen. Nice breakfast. Slightly apart from hustle and bustle of ton centre making it an ideal location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here a few times so I might be biased but it's a great place to stay. Well appointed rooms and friendly welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are excellent, cooked to order and the porridge is very good, especially with an added dram! Will obviously stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large open rooms with vistas to garden. Well situated as walking distance to village. Very clean rooms and friendly owners who were knowledgeable about the hidden gems in surrounding areas. Breakfast was excellent with buffet and hot food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property in quaint charming town. Our favorite property of the trip. Owners/staff are dear and top notch- plus you can get dog kisses if you want them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Super comfy bed and pillows. Fantastic freshly cooked breakfast. Spotless room with great shower. Very friendly owners and staff. Would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a small thing: wifi didn't work at all for us out the back - when we mentioned this the next day it apparently needed to be "reset", plus different access code needed than inside house ... probably would've been fixed OK if we'd stayed longer

    Should have booked for 2 nights as it was central & convenient to to where we wanted to be! Well-run by lovely helpful couple who want their guests to feel pampered. We were 2 couples & only stayed 1 night here in Sup Dble rooms - I'd asked for quieter room & we were upstairs in converted Old Coachhouse: huge room with sofa/lounge in front of TV & coffee table, writing desk, coffee/tea tray, mini-fridge, bottle of water & best of all: a super comfy K-size bed. Everything was clean, pleasant décor & it was quiet. Modern 'en suite' with magnifying mirror, main mirror had make-up lighting & de-misting, quality toiletries, tissues, good 'rainwater' shower etc. Our friends were in the main house on ground floor, which was also huge & they were very comfortable too. Breakfast was in bright conservatory overlooking pretty front garden; Full English breakfast with excellent options cooked to order - even whisky in your porridge if you desire! Also walked to town for dinner. We'd definitely return ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints apart from our visit too short !

    * Comfortable clean room * Excellent breakfast - good choice - well cooked and presented * Only 5 minutes walk to main shopping area * Only 10 minute walk to Dam Visitor Centre * Only 15-20 minute walk to Pitlochry Festival Theatre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.......apart from having to go home. :-)

    when we arrived we received a very warm welcome from the owner Greame, lots of information on places to visit and places to eat out, both our friends and ourselves were delighted when we were shown our rooms, they were huge and beautifully decorated, we had a huge super king bed, comfy sofa and even a fridge, everything was spotless. The breakfast in the mornings were very tasty with lots to choose from. The Claymore is in a great location for the town, literally just at the beginning of the high street, so no need to take the car if you were heading out for the evening, there is plenty of parking on site. We will definitely stay again, in fact I can't wait to visit again, we've stayed in quite a variety of accommodations over the years and would say the Claymore was one of the best. ✔️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel was fantastic. From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed into the property and shown to our room. Very spacious and had a lovely view out the front window. Would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Pitlochry :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot complain about anything!

    It was no problem asking for extra items or to get crispy bacon, each breakfast was cooked to the liking of the individual.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cafetiere of decaf coffee for breakfast rather than instant coffee would enhance the breakfast experience but overall very satisfied.

    Very friendly and welcoming. Very dog friendly - the dog treats waiting for our pup on arrival was a really nice touch and appreciated by all of us. Lovely big room, modern and very comfortable. Owners provided us with a rug that our pup could lie on. Again much appreciated as our pup has chronic back pain and isn't confident on new surfaces. The breakfast was excellent and set us up nicely for the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fridge in room, ability to take a snack or lunch in the conservative although only staying on a bed n breakfast basis. Also enjoyed the garden, where there was seats to enjoy it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal weak in lodge room, but I still can't class that as a negative, while everything else was perfect :)

    Beautiful & tasteful room with fittings of a high standard - extremely comfortable bed. Peaceful & clean - close to the lovely town, which is just a walk away. Owner & staff very helpful & friendly - breakfast great. I would most definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly hosts. Very well situated. Easy to find. Lovely house and garden. Wonderful room and bathroom. Very lovely breakfast area and super nice gesture, that you could order your breakfast the day before..fresh smoked salmon, porridge with whisky, or kippers😉 Can only reccomed, and would love to visit again👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    From arrival to departure of the property I found it to be a really enjoyable stay with a beautiful room and a great breakfast and superb host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Host Graham was friendly , charming and helpful in every way. Breakfast and breakfast room superb, with smiling and efficient staff. A really super bedroom with incredible views from super four-poster through huge bay window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Graeme having lawns much greener than mine at home !!!

    Diane & Graeme made us very welcome from the minute we arrived. We were given the largest room ever used with all of the facilities required. Diane recommended a couple of restaurants in Pitlochry with the one chosen giving us a free glass of wine. Breakfast in the large conservatory was excellent with both full Scottish and good selection of cereals and fruit. House golf umbrellas came in handy for the five minute walk to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second visit. Mein host Graham always congenial and helpful. My downstairs room was next to the dining roon and beautiful conservatory. The service at breakfast was swift and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated a generous sized room to the front of the building. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean with excellent tea-making facilities. Great location for shops and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent and staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We loved the friendly, warm hospitality and the HUGE room (room 4) on the ground floor that overlooked the garden. The breakfasts are cooked fresh for each person and very tasty. It was particularly wonderful to find they could provide gluten-free porridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - could not fault the whole stay

    Absolutely outstanding ! Owner on the job at reception and during breakfast staff polite, cheerful, helpful, prompt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BnB had everything you needed, the staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was a great size very comfortable bed, ensuite on the small side, would stay again lovely town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.....

    The Claymore is extremely well managed and operated..... Incredibly clean and tidy. Extremely quiet and the MOST comfortable bed ever ... Wonderful bathroom and excellent heating. Very good proximity to the centre of town and all the facilities that Pitlochry has to offer.... Absolutely 10/10...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times the weather was a bit damp. (Scotland - who knew?)

    Very friendly owners & staff. Great breakfasts. Stunning views from breakfast atrium. Unique food choices - Never had porridge with whisky before! Made special arrangements to safely store our bikes in their garden shed. & they had a fun dog who liked to play tug of war! In all we were very pleased.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing breakfast, good service and very nice staff! We had a great stay, and would recommend it to anyone. Stay there for a few days, so you can absorb the surroundings and the village, and ask the owners where to go. Very good experience overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ..... All great

    Diane & Graeme (staff & dogs) all so nice I would definetly stay here again. 10 out of 10 for everything. 👍 Room was imaculate & so comfy. Breakfast was great. I would recommend to everyone looking for a great location & great faciilaties in pittlochry to come here. Might not be 5star but 5star treatment. Missing Manny already 😘

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The friendly welcome on arrival. The bedroom was exceptionally well appointed. The breakfast room was light and airly with a view of the colourful garden. Breakfast was A1

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the bed a bit too soft, we prefer not to sink into the mattress. However, we do appreciate that this is a personal preference and it does not detract from the overall excellence of the property.

    The bedroom was huge, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was the best!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely it had a great big bed. The staff were amazing, couldn't do more for you. It's a perfect location as it's a 2minutes walk to the town. Breakfast was so yummy. I would easily go back here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous bed and breakfast; peaceful setting. Owner hosts are fantastic and go out of their way to make certain that you have a wonderful stay. Property is very well maintained and appointed. Would love to return! Property is well situated and an easy walk to the beautiful village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellently located in pleasant grounds with friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Very comfortable and spotless rooms. Well-cooked and appetising breakfasts served in attractive setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. Everything was excellent.

    We arrived in the early evening and Graeme greeted us warmly upon arrival. Our room was lovely and after we settled in we took up his suggestion to do a short scenic walk before dinner. After taking in the sights to be had when walking into town via the dam and along the river's edge, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at The Old Mill restaurant. The breakfast in the beautiful conservatory was amazing and we were really sorry to have to leave so soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    We loved this place. We had just spent several days on the road, moving from B&B to B&B as we traveled around Scotland. When we first arrived at the Claymore we were taken aback by it all. The entire staff was friendly, outgoing, and helpful with directions and recommendations for things to do and see in the area. Breakfast was great, and served in a large sunroom with views of some of the gardens. For what it's worth, Pitlochry is a beautiful area, and if we have a list of things to regret from our trip, one would be having not set aside enough time to stay at the Claymore and explore the area. We very much enjoyed staying here, and if we are ever fortunate enough to return to Pitlochry we'll hope to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Graham and Diane were fantastic hosts that made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was very nice with excellent staff providing a very warm sincere service. We cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like

    Our room was large with a section of lounge and the bathroom was stunning with a large shower--could not have had better accommodation--a beautiful house with a remarkable breakfast room--and breakfast. Hosts were wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !

    Overall outstanding. Warm and welcoming professional, beautiful property, immaculately clean wonderfully comfortable. Breakfast beyond superb other proprietors should take heed it is false economy to use cheap products - here locally sourced eggs, butcher meat, jams and marmalades are served and are thoroughly delicious. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning and recommending to all xx

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great!

    Graham and Diane were lovely hosts and I really enjoyed my time at The Claymore. Just 5 minutes to town and the train station, and right at your door step are the mountains of Pitlochry. I brought my small dog with me, and they treated her like a member of their family. Very welcoming!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Claymore was a beautifully appointed inn, located within walking distance of one of the most charming villages we visited while in Scotland. Our hosts were very helpful with suggestions of local restaurants, walks and shopping. Breakfast was delicious with the most extensive menu choices we found anywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything negative to say about this property although the price was a bit more than we wanted to spend. Totally worth the money!

    The room was amazing and the beds very comfortable. The high ceilings and beautiful view made it extra special. Our hosts were all so friendly and welcoming. Very nice place to stay in the cute little town if Pitlochry!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Insufficient drawer space for clothes etc. in bedroom. Basin plug allowed slow leak.

    Excellent breakfasts with wide choice of dishes. Friendly and informative staff. Comfortable king-size double bed. Lovely bathroom with super shower. Room with views of beautiful front garden and scenery beyond. Only 5 minute walk to town and good pub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved friendly ness and helpfulness of all the staff.Hotel was spotless and well presented,breakfast was very filling and cooked to perfection.Excellent place to spend the weekend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative to say.

    I travelled with my Mum to celebrate her 84th birthday. We were made very welcome by Dianne and Graeme and were given a splendid room which was perfect for anyone with walking difficulties, my Mum had no problems at all for the whole weekend. The breakfasts were made to order and were absolutely delicious. We have no problem recommending the Claymore to anyone and would definitely stay there again, either with my Mum or my hubby, it was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing everything fab!

    My partner and I loved our stay at the Claymore!! Graeme and Diane the host's were amazing, very helpful and always on hand if you needed them but not too in your face, very laid back, the breakfast was out of this world as well!! We stayed in room 3 and also had a look at one of the self catering apartments which was stunning, I would happily live there.. We will definitely be back in the near future!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being REALLY picky I felt the conservatory decoration a bit austere. More like a Hair salon than a conservatory!

    A very comfortable and quiet room not facing the road. Made most welcome and doggy friendly too. Tea and coffee facilities, iron and board, hair drier and even a corkscrew were provided in the freshly decorated room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Cooked breakfast was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was cosy and comfortable and views were lovely.😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The claymore is an excellent guest house with a very warm friendly welcome! I would recommend this guest house to anyone staying in the Pitlochry area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. The best kippers l have ever tasted! Easy walk into town for evening meal. Will definitely return when in Pitlochry again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was wonderful- a short walk from the station, yet just on the edge of the town, so the room was nice and quiet. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Bed (staying in a 4-poster room) was very comfortable, and made for a lovely sleep after a tough day walking!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and welcoming staff, the breakfasts were great and there was a wide selection, the room we stayed in was beautiful and extremely clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was fully stocked. The garden area and view was amazing, as were hosts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous couple of nights at the Claymore, the room was lovely, the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fabulous and set us up for each day. It was very dog friendly whilst also respecting those travelling without dogs. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfasts: can recommend the porridge, and the smoked salmon with scrambled egg. Great location all of Pitlochry is an easy walk. Beautiful gardens. Staff are all very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was beautiful with a lovely aspect looking out onto the hill. The gardens were lovely too. The owners were extremely friendly. The accommodation was spotlessly clean with a great walk in shower and beauty products. The breakfast was excellent especially the black pudding , and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The four poster room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic view of the surrounding landscape. The owners and staff were very helpfull, cheery and sociably approachable. Our dog was very comfortable and welcomed which is excellent from our point of view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has been refurbished to a high standard, and includes a comfortable settee, and a large bed. The hot breakfast, with its wide selection, was freshly cooked and delicious. We particularly like Stornaway black pudding, so that was a bonus!! The owners are charming, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Graham the host was super lovely and chatty! The room was large (and a little cold-we were travelling in march). The bed was good but not amazing. Breakfast was great. Tv in room had a DVD player and lots of dvds to borrow!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graeme went the extra mile, when he saw me with a walking stick he immediately offered us a room on the ground floor. This had its own dressing room and there was enough room for a party. Lovely bathroom and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We cant think of anything that we did not like.

    We liked everything about The Claymore from our arrival to leaving. Diane and her husband were so friendly and helpful and our room was really lovely and the super king size bed was luxurious.The breakfasts were amazing.Nothing was to much trouble for mine hosts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable room, very spacious. Very well located, excellent parking. Superb hosts. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked to order. Plenty of choices, and any combination. Would highly recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Claymore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: