Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Cliff Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cardigan, Gwbert On Sea, Cardigan, SA43 1PP, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Cardigan

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1469 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel shame about the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was told the night porter was on all night but was cut off at 11 just drinking white wine, food was disappointing, staff were cleaning around us, service at breakfast took a lot longer than expected and staff generally weren't helpful

    Comphy beds, lovely view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    To me, it was a dream fulfilled. Bringing back memories of the 1970's in Gwbert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn't possible think of anything I didn't like.

    Although I had only a small single room, it was adequate for my requirements. The bed was comfortable, and the shower room also adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was noisy at first, and the food at dinner was good, but not exceptional. Breakfast was also good.

    Our room had an amazing view of the sea from a private balcony. We enjoyed watching the dolphins putting on a show. The spa pool was very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    Just what the doctor ordered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rang ahead to make sure premium twin suitable for my disabled mum. Good except no grab bar in shower which made a shower impossibly dangerous

    Lovely all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    Very indulgent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant menu not wonderful for vegetarians not many of us actually like risotto that much hence why we chose not to eat there

    Gorgeous scenery from balcony and hot tub an added bonus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Clean, simple hotel with attentive staff and super restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic. Clean modern hotel. Rooms were spacious, well equipped and clean. Great buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from hot and cold food. Great evening meals that we ate on both nights stay. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    What could have been an excellent stay was spoiled by a poor meal in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our main dislike was the evening meal. We booked a table in advance. The views from the restaurant were wonderful, but the ambience of the room was more in keeping with a service station cafeteria. My meal was very good, my husband ordered fish and chips. The fish was fine but the chips were burnt and greasy, inedible. He complained to the waitress, she offered a complimentary desert. We refused this as what we wanted was an enjoyable meal on a special occasion.

    Location and view from our room. It was spectacular. The breakfast was excellent . The weather was wonderful and enhanced the spectacular scenery. I would stay there again but not have the evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    6.0
    love it will book for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    builders were outside our room and bathroom. we should have asked to be moved. the staff at reception were obliging but pointed out renovations were publicised on the internet. even so alth0ugh it was a standard room it should have been left empty for the duration.

    fantastic location cannot be bettered. food good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room not ready ! Then given another room that was far too big for us!! Long wait for food at night in the evening. Breakfast no fish option & had to wait 15mins for fried eggs to be replenished on buffet.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. Staff in the dining room very friendly, very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Quiet location right by the sea and cliffs. Wonderful views, especially watching the dolphins in the evenings! Can walk to small quiet beaches from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable food nice and a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a building site currently and I found it difficult to park on sunday

    Go for the rooms with balcony and sea view fantastic room no 213 was ours worth the extra and will sleep 4 petson

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    definately go again but would request a sea view room away from the car park/pick up area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    a wedding on the sat night therefore noise from the car park and taxi to collect people after midnight to about 3am was really bad

    the bed was extra comfy, the spa really good, all food was excellent and the sunset was a real treat. BEAUTIFULL.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    A comfortable and relaxing stay, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was ready an hour late, but they offered to put our luggage in a room so we could go off and come back.

    On arrival the staff we really friendly and really helpful giving us all the information me needed for our stay, We had a room with a Sea view which was amazing. What was an added bonus and a really nice touch was the coffee machine in the room which we had sat by the window in the morning enjoying the view. The Spar facilitates were fantastic, not only that they have free refreshments that you can help yourself to at any time which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee machine in the room difficult. Although someone checked it, the “pod” with coffee grains in still wasn’t perforating and needed my finger nail to pierce it before the machine would work. Nice coffee though!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely time away at a beautiful wedding. Stunning weather and amazing comfort.
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the drinks is a little steep. There could be an option for a more reasonable price on wine. Huge mark up on cheap wine!!

    Lovely comfy bed and the view, well what can I say, stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    A great hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise at night, there was a wedding the night we stayed so a lot of noise late at night and the fire alarm went off briefly at 4am in the morning.

    The views were amazing and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Love this hotel so much plus the sister hotel Gwbert Hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 31 had no privacy curtain, the room was new do hopefully this will be rectified soon. Room overlooked the car park so no privacy. No instructions with the coffee machine which was annoying.

    Love this hotel so much plus the sister hotel Gwbert Hotel, both fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    Cliff House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a charge to use gym and spa facilities. This should be included in room price.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.3
    There for a wedding so glad it was not for the ‘ hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no lift and lots of stairs .the room was a bit dusty and the loo brush was rusty and rather horrible ( would help if they didn’t leave it next to the shower ) The hotel was under renovation which was not mentioned when we booked so,didn’t look it’s best ! The bathroom was very cold and the jacuzzi on the balcony was covered and strapped down so not available to use without a fuss. There were no robes in the bedroom which you would expect in a ‘luxury ‘ room !

    The staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.3
    Room was large and plenty of choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lights hanging from ceiling dirty cutelry and to few condemts in room. Was also given room with disabled bathroom was very disappointed.

    Room was large and plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Our upgraded room was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing!

    Our upgraded room was stunning. Beautiful views to enjoy from our balcony and the restaurant. Excellent food and friendly staff. A wonderful last night in South Wales.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Our perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to go home!

    The spa is great has everything you could want, food was delicious but a little expensive. Stunning location, fab staff especially Kate in the spa, Sarah and Richard in restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    This property has amazing views is excellent value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our particular room was not great however this was reflected in the price and you could always request a room with a view

    This property has amazing views is excellent value for money and the staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.9
    Room was small, view wasn’t good & we got told we couldn’t use the spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was very small for the two of us. The view we had wasn’t the best & the spa facilities which we mainly came for we couldn’t use

    The room was very small and we couldn’t use the spa facilities as you had to book and we wasn’t told that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay. weather superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal table position cramped. Had to ask a few times for our table to be cleaned. The eveninv meal was tasteless. The bathroom did not smell clean .

    The bed was comfortable. The surroundings and views fabulous . The breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was excellent the wonderful weather a bonus. Would definitely recommend.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room wasn't huge and had no view however it had everything you'd need for a short stay and was clean comfortable and quiet.

    Loved the location beautiful views . Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, spa, staff and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was lovely from start to finish: - All the staff were super helpful and pleasant. - one of our party had treatments booked at the spa which were fantastic. The rest of us used the spa facilities which again were brilliant and made the stay so special. - we stayed at the hotel and paid for dinner, which was delicious and really high quality, especially for the price. I know Ceredigion really well and can't think of anywhere else close which could even compete. - rooms were clean and well decorated. Beds were comfy. A really nice place to stay, I felt really at home. - breakfast is a self serve buffet (with runny poached eggs!) and was the best I've ever seen at a hotel. - the views from the restaurant are breathtaking. Take some time and do a bit of the coastal walk, you won't regret it. - we are originally from Aberystwyth and saw so many people we knew. It's a testament to the hotels that people an hour away are travelling down to stay because it's just so special. The owners should be so proud: it is wonderful seeing such a successful business bringing people to Ceredigion. Thank you to the team for an excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Superb most excellent retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect idilic location. Accommodation; spa; treatment; evening meal excellent. Very peaceful and very friendly staff. Highly recommended. .. Would definitely stay again..

    Very well presented and laid out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    we enjoyed our stay even though some staff were not brilliant and dinner not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food was below our expectations of a lovely setting and well presented layout. It took ages to come out and the staff did not seem organised. The steak dish was very watery and the chips pale and insipid. Pudding did not come out complete. Reception staff unhelpful and had a short thrift.

    The location of the hotel was lovely and the rooms in the hotel were well equipped clean and roomy . Most staff were friendly and helpful. The spa staff and facility was fantastic. The gym was small but functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    great location but underwhelming total experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom poorly designed with nowhere to put our washbags. Very basic toiletries in hand dispensers. Very difficult when having a bath to soap yourself when dispenser is high up!! Room temperature difficult to regulate. Food in restaurant very average and in fact the chips were the worst we have ever been served. General customer service very poor.

    Wonderful location when sun shining - right on cliff edge. Big comfortable bed. Good bar with outside terrace. Spa facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay, staff attentive and a good nights sleep. Superb sea views !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an economy room which was a reasonable price but very cramped.

    Beautiful location. The restaurant had wonderful sea views and the food was excellent. Plenty of staff on duty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Beautiful views comfortable room, excellent food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication between the Reception Staff could have been better. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely young girl who told us that there would be a 40 minute wait so we waited in the lounge bar for over an hour which was fine. There was a wedding party checking in who seemed to be getting their rooms straight away, which was also fine. We approached reception and asked how the room was coming along and were shot down immediately by an older woman who in no certain terms informed us that check in was three o'clock so come back then. After recovering from her rudeness we decided to go for a walk so once again went back to reception and the nice young girl was back on, we gave her our phone number and left. About fourty minutes later we saw a miss call on the phone. We called back to the hotel where once again Mrs Grumpy greeted us, but the room was ready so that was good news.

    We had a room with beautiful views. Everything was clean and comfortable. The spa was a must visit and we were surprised that a space was available late on a Friday at short notice. The facial was worth the money and the two girls who provided the service were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.0
    The location and views are fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room smelt of stale cigarette smoke so we asked to be moved, this was met with some resistance as the hot was full and the excuse that the smell could have been building work. This was not the case and while a previous guest smoking is not the hotels fault the attitude to it was not good. We had to accept an smaller below booked standard room as it was too unpleasant in the first only to find a bin full of mouldy rubbish, a dirty bathroom and messy bin in there also. At dinner ( great food ) we had to ask for the water glass to be changed as this was also dirty. Eventually we were refunded the cost of the room after complaining again but these were basics and we should not have needed to do so

    The location and views are fabulous

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    I love the area - I love the hotel - I am 76yrs old but I will visit again I am sure.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As one might expect of such a grand hotel, it was busy and in particular there was a wedding party taking their evening meal the same time as I did. This resulted in the staff being very busy and the noise level in the restaurant was frankly unbearable. I would have liked a small separate room available for folk who were eating alone, or advice to eat at a different time.

    I have stayed in the Cliff before but not since the 1970's The hotel has changed a lot, and for the better, but even so it was a lovely hotel at that time too. Many memories that I enjoy to recall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation poor restaurant food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the restaurant was very poor had to send the main course back was a huge disappointment the meal was also very under seasoned. Not what I expected .

    The room was spectacular amazing views so clean fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    We went for a two night break to celebrate our anniversary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything.

    We went for a two night break to celebrate our anniversary and were fortunate to be upgraded to a junior suite, it was absolutely amazing with beautiful panoramic views across the bay, very comfortable , clean and attractive. Excellent breakfast. We also thoughouly enjoyed lunch and evening meals. All staff were polite and knowledgeable regarding their role. The spar was relaxing and just what we were after. Would recommend and will be returning for more!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift only went to one side of the hotel. Some asparagus of the breakfast could be improved

    The sea view bedrooms have been refurbished and were super

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Cliff hotel gwybert cardigan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of noise second night stay until 4am people shouting banging doors

    Magnificent views attentive staff excellent breakfast good clean well presented rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Cardigan, bar none!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked late, so only budget doubles were available; mine had a view of some building works going on, but there was little noise, so not a big deal. I just need to book further in advance in future!

    As good as ever. Plenty of parking, beautifully furnished and presented, friendly staff and a superb location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was uncomfortably hot - sauna like - on arrival. No air conditioning and window only opened an inch. Couldn’t turn bathroom radiator off. It remained burn your fingers hot on lowest setting. Had to get fan from reception to get the room habitable but needed it on all night - not restful. For somewhere that markets itself as higher end of hotels to stay I found this poor. The rest of what I experienced was fairly average rather than good.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Just Perfect, Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there to celebrate my Mum's Birthday and were over the moon with the upgraded room we received, it was beautiful and we had a Wonderful stay, everything was perfect, from the views to the hot tub and even little touches like the dyson hairdryer. Perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Fabulous me time weekend venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel. Staff were nearly all young and very enthusiastic. Credit to the management. Nothing too much trouble. I went for a chilled me time weekend and this place delivered in spades. Cant wait to go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Lovely view, food was good just a shame about room location and cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room next to generator so kept awake majority of the night.

    Bathroom was modern, not overly clean though (splatters of not sure what on the walls around the sink)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Fab idyllic two days with perfect weather to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was perfect

    Have stayed there before and is an idyllic hotel to stay in with panoramic views of the Teifi Estuary meeting the sea. Fodd was excellent and Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfort all round with caring staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing hotel could not provide us with the weather so no dislikes

    Everything was excellent the evening meal the setting from the restaurant and in view of the atrocious weather that day and evening did not cause us any problems on our anniversary’s visit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    Suited my purpose at that time but would eat my main meal elsewhere.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked but perhaps it was a matter of preference. I only stayed one night but the door lock to my room kept sticking requiring a number of visits to reception to get into my room. The food was not of the standard I would expect in a hotel trying to be a top if the range venue. . I found the meals very disappointing although the restaurant is beautiful with stunning sea views.

    View was stunning, hotei was spacious and decor modern and very attractive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful decorated lovely the balcony and view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift to our room alot of stairs. For a family room if we had children this would of been a nightmare.

    The room was beautiful decorated lovely the balcony and view just made the weekend 100times better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.5
    Lovely relaxing place with obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was a bit fierce in the restaurant at one point though a member of staff did turn it off when he realised we were cold. Also the late setting sun was very dazzling in the restaurant during our evening meal and there were no blinds.

    The bed was very comfortable and the linen very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    Sunshine, laughter and special friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid £25 for a steak and jacket potato and expected something special for that price, I was extremely disappointed! Charcoal on the steak, half an over cooked and burnt mushroom, water cress and a spud. Not cooked very well and not worth £25 !!

    The view and surrounding area is beautiful. Room was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay...hope to return one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Computerised keys. Had to take mine back twice so it would work.

    Very quiet, comfortable perfect location. Polite staff from reception right through to restaurant and spa, beautiful spa. Relaxed and friendly. Food beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice, enjoyed, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only 1 bath towel for each night for 2 people!!! No view, outlook was brick walls.

    The bed was comfortable but the mattress seemed bigger than the base. This could be dangerous as it gave way when you sat on edge of bed. Staff were friendly & Helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place but they need to pay more attention to the little things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in the restaurant was not really that great & at breakfast on the Sunday the bacon was far too salty. In the room we had a hair clip left down the toilet and lots of long black hair left in the bath.

    The room and views were superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    on the whole it was a lovely break for myself and my husband
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic with no view

    The Spa was wonderful. Evening meal excellent, quite busy in the evening but still plenty of room to sit and comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel with superb food and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very small quibble. Bathroom towel rail very hot - difficult to turn down.

    An excellent hotel - as good or better than many 4 star hotels. Lovely modern room and bathroom with good facilities. Beautiful views from restaurant and veranda. Great staff and superb evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel, fabulous view! Would have liked sea view but none available though room was very comfortable. Lighting could have been brighter around the mirrors & would have liked a full length mirror. Staff very friendly especially Linda in the restaurant who recommended a lovely local coastal walk, many thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool isn't big enough for swimming; more of a waiting area for the jacuzzi. The service in the restaurant leans more towards "leisurely" than "super efficient" although I'd expect most people are happy to sit and enjoy the view!

    Balcony room was clean with modern decor and has great views of the estuary, the spa facilities were good and there was a wide variety of food on offer at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Economy room very poky and small, disappointed not to have a bath and the bed was only a double size and uncomfortable. Children allowed in the spa facilities- this is not appropriate and certainly not tranquil or relaxing.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely spa hotel at a reasonable price in one of the most beautiful areas of Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some inconsistencies. We asked whether we could extend our check-out time as we had a wedding on the Saturday and wanted to make the most of the spa facilities on Sunday. Our friends were told they could extend the check-out to 11.30, but we were told 11 (we finally checked out at 11.30, but weren't charged extra!). The only other thing is I would have liked to have been offered a paper on Saturday, but otherwise, 10/10!

    I love the Cliff Hotel. The views are spectacular, the food and bar is lovely, the spa is small but has everything you need, and the rooms are great. We were staying in a budget room this time, but although small and without a view, it suited our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff wasn’t most helpful just felt like we was expected to know where the room was and where our table was for food, the food wasn’t very nice. I had a facial and a back massage don’t think it was worth the price as it felt like I had a back rub, my partner enjoyed his.

    Loved everything about the room it was perfect 😊 we will definitely be back and the spa was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Lovely little luxurious family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was so busy being Easter Sunday that our food didn’t come for over an hour which meant our little ones had to fill up on bread so didn’t touch their meals.

    The room was luxurious and spacious, the view was stunning. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, good hotel and facilities, service disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was disappointing - the menu sounded good but the food itself failed to live up to it. The staff were plentiful; but poorly trained. Big groups like the wedding party were well looked after; but smaller groups or families suffered because of it.

    The location and the decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.9
    Easter Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little noisy at times and didn't have a water machine in the main body of the hotel as in the spa. Didn't like the light sensor in the ensuite shower room as it is quite bright in the middle of the night and not necessary.

    Very helpful and cheerful staff and the location is excellent. We've been coming for 15 years and will continue to do so. The refurbishment and extensions are excellent giving it a fresh new feel especially the flooring throughout the ground floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 120 was very warm and the window is just that, so it was an uncomfortable night. But still enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

    Everything. The location is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weren’t told before hand that there was no lift facilities to our family room. Stairs very old and no banister in areas, not ideal when having a small child and carrying a child. Receptionist looked surprised when I questioned no lift as if I should have known!?

    huge clean family rooms with large bathroom. Very quiet. Views from whole hotel and rooms stunning. Next visit will be trying out their Spa :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    Cracking night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too hot, luckily windows open so not an issue but please turn the heating down. Food good but needs to be more personal, chicken a bit dry as under heat lamp and dessert microwavedmor under heat lamp too, we deserve better

    Been many times, always good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee. At breakfast I asked for decaff coffee and was brough Nescafe Decaff Sachets! Seems a shame that for a hotel of that standard should only be able to offer sachets.

    We were upgraded and delighted with our room with spectacular views. The staff were really helpful and friendly and it was such a pleasure to hear Welsh being spoken. Diolch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.2
    Overall a lovely hotel... excellent staff and terrific views.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I stayed in was directly above the bar and the noise below was at times loud. The room was also very warm disputed me turning down the heating.... the sink in the bathroom was small therefore to fill the large kettle was a struggle. Maybe a smaller kettle in this room. Stayed in room 124.

    Friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the place and the general ambiance, after a very hard day I found the hotel very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was full, we couldn't talk much as the next table was far too close for comfort. The steak was cold we didn't feel we could complain as it was very busy. Not a good dinning experience.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, awful room choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our television didn’t work, coffee was dreadful at breaskfast. Our view was a brick wall, the noise from the doors in the hotel kept us up most of the night and the bathroom cleanliness wasn’t great

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location but that’s the main thing going for the hotel along with the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy restaurant. Quite pricey to eat and drink there. Economy room had a very small bathroom. Bedlam at breakfast with no bacon left!! Couldn’t get in for treatments at the spa as too busy.

    Free use of the spa facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    Stunning cliff top location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't turn towel rail down - made bathroom uncomfortably hot

    Stunning cliff top location. Corner suite with hot tub on the terrace. Far and away the best room I have stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the recent changes have made the hotel less of a romantic place, the old character has been lost the small bar is now empty and the place has lost its cosy feeling

    great location views are great. Nice area to go for cliff top views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Amazing night definitely going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The rooms were out of this world we stayed in one with the hot tub it was lovely everything about our night away was amazing the breakfast was delicious and the pool was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    i would have loved to stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact I only stayed for two nights, I would have loved to stay longer

    wonderful staff, wonderful food, lovely room with sea view, great spa & treatments

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    8.8
    Had a pleasant stay with excellent treatments at spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t shut bathroom window when fully opened. Spa small with no comfy loungers

    Staff friendly and efficient. Room ok for singles, although view wasn’t much. Double bed comfy. Shower lovely, bathroom modern

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Cliff Hotel & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: