Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cliffemount Hotel 3 stars

Runswick Bay, Near Whitby, Runswick, TS13 5JF, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Runswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    The stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that they hadn't warned me that the restaurant wasn't serving guests that weren't part of the BBq party that was going on

    The stunning views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful romantic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location. Great room with sea view balcony. Great for walking the coast on the Cleveland Way. Nice staff, good food. On clifftop over small village with one pub. Peaceful off season. Love it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Magical location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is cramped but there is a free public car park for overnight parking next door. Bedroom had very dated decor and noisy plumbing.

    Magical location. Balcony rooms face south east over the bay and beach. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good food, nice view from the beer garden, but the room was overpriced!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dog friendly room I stayed in (room 5) very over priced, the room was dated, overlooked the public car park (which was having construction work done so noisy) , bathroom window didn't open, cooking smells wafted into room (as kitchen was below - not directly), I could understand the price if the room had the view - but it doesn't.

    Friendly staff, lovely beer garden with views of bay, very dog friendly, good food, especially the breakfast. Great base for walking parts of Cleveland way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Spacious room comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden lawn needs a mow!

    Spacious room comfy beds! Breathtaking view from the garden! Lovely breakfast! Peaceful stay just perfect to relax and rejuvenate!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    What a shame, stayed here many years ago under previous management when nothing could be faulted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last stayed here many years ago under previous management when nothing could be faulted. Such a shame that this hotel, in a wonderful location, isn't a patch on what it was before. The "superior" room was expensive. It was large, large enough for a king or even super-king size bed but was furnished with an old double. It was uncomfortable and needs replacing. The duvet also has seen better days. These are the basics that other establishments seem to manage and which I expect so disappointing. The view from the room was stunning and although some staff - breakfast and check out - tried to please others really did not - evening bar/food service. We booked to eat, with the family at 18.30 but on ordering were told that the chef had another table's order and so we'd have to wait. The evening staff were young, probably inexperienced in service and certainly not adaquately trained. The food was not cheap and certainly nothing special. The wine was expensive and poor. We won't be staying again and wouldn't recommend it to others.

    The view from our room was stunning. The location is fabulous. Some staff - breakfast and checkout - were pleasant and helpful. There was plenty of room to sit outside as there was no one else there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden could be more accessible and tidy to enjoy. It's in a stunning location so outside space is essential.

    Lovely hotel which is very clean with superb staff and outstanding food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A warm & wonderful welcome to Runswick Bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that impacted on our wonderful stay, but possibly better internet links might help in future for future customers.

    A stunning view from the room of the bay & beach and wonderful food & accomodation, not forgetting the welcoming staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a wait for the food but as we weren't in a hurry it didn't matter

    lovely big room with balcony overlooking the sea. Bathroom had a bath ( a bonus when you are walking the Cleveland way ) Food & staff excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a great relaxing stay at the Cliffemount and would recommend it highly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shaving point in bathroom. Breakfast options limited for non cooked breakfast

    THe stunning view of Runswick Bay from balcony. The staff at the hotel who were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The traditional yorkshire breakfast which was one of the best i have ever had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Good for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door wouldn't lock. Sausages at breakfast couldn't eat full of gristle. More choices the first morning due to film crew being there and more staff, seem to look after them more than guests

    Lovely views from the room, lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Will certainly recommend to friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy guests upstairs. Making a lot of noise at 01.30!!!

    Very welcoming atmosphere. Excellent staff. Very good breakfasts Lovely setting with stunning views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Can’t wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like 😊. if you like lots to do, shops etc then don’t go! If you like peace and quiet that’s the place to go.

    Everything! But A little info on getting to and from the beach if you don’t go by car, however there is little or no parking at the beach as we could see?. It’s very very steep and a if you have any mobility or breathing issues it can be difficult. On saying that once your on the beach it’s lovely, mainly walkers. It’s a dream and even with the difficult access down I would go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Smashing one nighter in Runswick Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening menu pretty ordinary & food quality just OK. There is another pub / restaurant at the bottom of the village. Extractor fan in bathroom sounds like a Lancaster Bomber !! No lift so if you have lots of bags its a long climb to the top !

    Brilliant friendly staff, stunning view from our room (Topmans), very dog friendly but you will need to eat in the bar, excellent breakfast, plenty of car parking. Good local beers. Good large room & nice bathroom ( shower over bath).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing stay with friends. Service excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yoghurt not kept cool, possibly could be put in a dish with ice. Same problem with the butter.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff where lovely, the room was great,with amazing views ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where lovely, the room was great,with amazing views ,the food was good . Overall the atmosphere was very relaxed,lots of little extras for our dog, nothing seemed too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, lovely room, staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been updated, small towels were too small for ladies hair, mirror steamed up, not good for make up - all minor details though, was fine for 2 nights

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good. Lovely room, friendly staff, nice feel about the hotel, quiet, relaxing, great views, great breakfast, lovely weather!! nice location at the top of the cliff. Easy access by car to other places. Easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    The view from our window was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room next to ours was being redecorated. The work carried on well into the evening (11pm on one night!) and the sound insulation was very poor resulting in lack of sleep.

    The view from our window was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    An oasis on the cliff top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    After a great walk from Saltburn it was really lovely to arrive at the hotel and enjoy a drink in the beer garden - a huge lawn overlooking the bay. Our room was bright and airy with a sea view from the window seat. We enjoyed the evening meal and can not fault the hotel - it was very special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay and it felt like a really nice break.The staff were excellent and this helped us
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was a bit dissappointing or maybe we made wrong choices.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.The dogs were made very welcome and little touches like towels available to dry dogs before they came into the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A lovely but brief overnight stay, wish we had booked for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The flex on the kettle was so short we had to put it on the floor to use it, and the sockets near the dressing table were not easily accessible.

    We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the bay, super comfy bed and white fluffy towels. Generous breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel, it’s more about style and feel. It was like being back in an Agatha Christie novel - very old style but without much actual character. And they played jazz music at breakfast!! No, no, no.

    It was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could have been better. The mattress had seen better days - it was failing at the side where people get up and sit on the edge. Room decor needed a bit of attention. Otherwise the room was fine.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent being on the cliff top. Windows that open! The breakfasts were very good with a wide choice. The restaurant was good for dinner but the food not as good as the breakfasts. The view from the restaurant was very good. On the bus route to Whitby so you could leave your car and take the bus. Also right next to the Cleveland Way Coastal Path so you could walk and get the bus back or vice versa, or a stayover en-route.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Couldn't of asked for anything else, well looked after by very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really fault this hotel and staff

    Excellently presented hotel, very clean, welcoming and friendly staff, nice quiet location, close to Whitby, would definitely go back for another stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel. A gem in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar snacks rather than having to have a full meal in the restaurant.

    Fantastic view with a balcony. Comfy bed. Huge room. Spotlessly clean. If you go you must book a Seaview. Worth every penny extra. Runswick Bay is stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous 61st Birthday at a great Hotel on the coast of Yorkshire, you couldn't ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only slightly negative point for me and my wife was the bed. We are used to our memory foam mattress and the Hotel room had a sprung mattress. We slept OK but the bed was not as comfortable as our own.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The view of the bay from our room balcony. The meals were excellent. We would definitely recommend Cliffemount Hotel to other travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay with your dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in one of the rooms had a plastic hose shower connection hung behind the door.

    The bedrooms were clean and cosy and one of them had a lovely sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We strongly recommend the Cliffemount a great hotel and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot even comment as our two night stay was perfect

    Everything about our stay was fantastic it’s the second time we have stayed there. The hotel is a gem great location, great food, fantastic staff. Mark in particular made our stay perfect again and couldn’t do enough for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to stay if visiting Whitby and the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    A wonderful hotel that we will definately be returning to soon. The hotel was very clean, the room was large and comfortable. The staff were very polite and the food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely,friendly hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a one night stay in this cosy hotel,The staff were very friendly,......Bed was very comfortable, lots of tea /coffee and biscuits.nice toiletries too ,Lovely breakfast.had a window table with fab views..the only negative thing was the sink in our bathroom was badly cracked,it didn't spoil our stay , it was great .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    The staff were helpful and dealt with our issues however I dont feel it was worth the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move rooms as our bed / mattress was extremely uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. The breakfast was not great particularly the bacon.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely. Would recommend and a fabulous place to stay. The beach was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant could have been better... i.e. Quicker service for the food. Long wait in the evening for food. Although they were busy. Fusebox hanging out in the restaurant, maybe a cabinet over to hide. And light fittings had plaster and wasn't the tidiest at the fitting. Other than them few bits the stay was lovely.

    View. Hotel in general and the staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    We've stayed here before and will again, the view is the best we've found on the Yorkshire coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It lacked a bit of atmosphere in the restaurant as hardly any other guests at moment but that is not really the hotels fault.

    The view from our room was glorious and the staff exceptionally friendly. Really nice to have the balcony roofed as we could sit out and admire the view even though it was drizzling. I have to add the room was very spacious as well with excellent tea/coffee facilities and toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and relaxing stay in a cosy and clean hotel with fabulous scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't that good, rather hit and miss for signal even in public areas. An odd smell (unpleasant ) in the stairwell area at times.

    Fabulous location, clean hotel, comfortable and friendly staff. Good breakfast service and a lovely choice on the menu. The views are stunning from the hotel and recommend a premium room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay, extremely nice staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little further to whitby than I had thought, so a taxi was about £15 each way, something to think about.

    The views were stunning. The shower and bath were amazing. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, very friendly staff, ideal get away, would definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The English breakfast let it down, poor quality sausage and black pudding, poached egg very underdone, bacon was a bit tough. evening meal was really good, and the service was superb throughout.

    The staff were excellent, the room was superb with a beautiful view across the bay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful, relaxing Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with some updating, and perhaps the WIFI signal better - but I understand the signal is not great at the clifftop.

    I very much enjoyed my stay at the Cliffemount Hotel. We had the most amazing room, with an amazing balcony with sea view over Runswick Bay. The bed was extremely comfortable - and I slept very well. The food was nice- I had the full Veggie breakfast both mornings, and was nice. We also ate in the restaurant one evening - I had the Veggie Sausages and Mash, and my partner had the Gammon . My meal was decent - like good pub grub. The staff I could not fault - they were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay, great hotel, great location brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like

    Great hotel staff were brilliant, we arrived late on Friday evening. Even though restaurant was about to close we were aloud to order and enjoy a fantastic meal with great wine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money compared to other hotels of similar cost was not good. Very run down hotel in comparison. Went through Booking.com however if I had wanted a guest house I would have booked one, very disappointed. Guest houses are half the cost!

    The bed was comfy, the breakfast and location was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. The location, the room , the food and the staff were all excellent. Great for dog owners as staff fuss over your dog while the beach is a 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but small bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room is small and shower head was broken and didn't work properly. Room need updating and a lick of paint. Head board to bed was tatty.

    Comfortable but small bed. Great view over the bay. Nice location for walks along the east coast. Breakfast was very nice and a great choice. Staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Will definitley be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the premier room was absolutely amazing. The staff were really friendly and the room really comfortable. Could not have asked for anything more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Lovey restaurant views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor sea view room with shrubs planted in front of the balcony? Couldn’t really work out why anyone would plant bushes in this place???

    Lovely clean hotel from top to bottom with great views from the restaurant. The staff are wonderful people-very friendly and helpful we will definitely return here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Will hopefully be able to stay longer next time !! Highly recommended.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was absolutely excellent - Confit of Duck for me (lovely) Homemade steak and ale pie for the other half (announced as amazing..... !!) Very clean and comfortable room and public space. Very efficient and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Warm bedroom, comfortable bed, friendly staff and lovely sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the walls a little bit thin, I could hear the other guest singing in the shower during the day but no problem during the night, they seemed very quiet, so we had a good night sleep.

    Warm bedroom, comfortable bed, friendly staff and lovely sea views, overlooking Runswick Bay, so all in all we had a pleasant time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful views, lovely friendly staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all!

    Every member of staff we met was polite, friendly and helpful. The main guy we spoke to (we didn’t catch his name sorry!) was absolutely lovely and gave us recommendations for local walks and was generally just very friendly and interested if what we had been up to on our short stay. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. Lovely fresh fish and all local ingredients and a really good choice. Beautiful views for both our evening meal and breakfast. I would recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs in the morning! We stayed in a premier room with a balcony which had the most outstanding view of the bay from the top of the cliff. Waking up in the morning and opening the curtains to that view was priceless. Opening the doors to let in the fresh November sea air was the icing on the cake! Needless to say we’ll certainly be back again in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    It was a disappointing return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was much lower than on previous visits. Cigarette butts on balcony , in bushes,on the ground around balcony.. The bathroom was very dirty , with mold on walls and between tiles. Standard of vacuuming was quite poor as well. I am only comparing this hotel to 'Traveloge' standards and this year it didn't come up to these standards. We have had no complaints on previous stays, in fact previous visits were faultless.

    Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.2
    The room was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and menu was poor , the hotel was cold , staff had coats on , some areas of the hotel were ok but the majority did not equate the cost .

    The room was fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    The room was amazing in the premier rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant for dinner could of been loads better, a bit of a let down for a 2 rosette restaurant.

    The room was amazing in the premier rooms. The view was outstanding all very modern and clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    A very good hotel in an excellent location with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a small room with an excellent view of the bay. The breakfasts were excellent, particularly the kippers and bacon which we had on separate days. We ate in the hotel on one night and the dishes of the day were excellent and good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    May be really great in some rooms, just not the one we had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly bed not great in room 7. Constantly rolling into the middle, could feel the springs and every time my husband rolled over the mattress bounced me around. Secondly room advertised as having bath and shower. The shower was actually one of those rubber and plastic tap attachments we all had in the 70s. It only fitted the basin taps and once the head was lifted up, the water leaked out flooding the floor. This was not a cheap room - £110 a night and I had to wash my hair with a plastic cup in the bath! Not what I was expecting for that price. I felt we got the last room available - the one no one really wants in the roof space. I know it was half term, and it was in a premium cliff top position, but that doesn't excuse it.

    Very good breakfast, lovely location, very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What can i say there's a bit of work needed here and there but the staff were tops and we'd definitely stay here again. Breakfasts to die for our evening meal was lovely too from comments overheard by other guests we weren't the only happy people there. Brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    excellent hotel really had a wonderful wedding anniversary staying at your hotel.
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing stunning hotel stunning views and lovely friendly staff

    the hotel was beautiful and our room was stunning the view on the balcony was to die for enjoyed the food both at breakfast and evening meals. the bed was quite hard to sleep on but nothing major at all. All in all me and my husband had a wonderful time at your hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary would definately return next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Despite our comments the overall stay was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a premier room and albeit we ended up on the bottom floor that in itself was a bit disappointing, however to call the room the second best in the hotel is somewhat misleading,for example the room was very tiered and came with a decent supply of cobwebs,the shower head could not be kept at an angle so had to be hand held the towel fittings were unstable and the wind from outside raised the bathroom floor covering. The hotel price for this premier room was certainly not justified and despite the very tentative friendly staff we would not think of staying there again unless some serious attention to the cosmetic uplift was carried out,just to add something to indicate this is not a casual gripe we sat in the restaurant at the window and quite visual was the fact that behind the radiator had not been decorated as was the rest of the room with that I rest my case.

    Friendly staff,good food,fantastic location,easy to get to places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near perfect

    Beautiful scenic location. Wonderful helpful friendly staff. Huge light and airy room. Close enough to Whitby. Would stay there again for certain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our 3 day break her and will recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is ripe for renovation but probably already known. Otherwise excellent breakfast let down by low quality marmalade and jams in annoying little packets.

    Great location with a very comfortable room and a view over the bay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    The new owner is greedy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new owner who purchased the business in 2016 needs to close the hotel for a month and renew old and very tired facilities. The staff would work in a better environment and the hotel would be worthy of its rating. The bathroom really let the room down. The cleaner can only make the best of a bad job. The kettle needs pat testing and bottles of water should be sealed and fresh not topped up. The owner is missing a fantastic opportunity to really make a wonderful hotel. They need to stop being greedy and do right by the paying public and their hard working staff. Put the place on the map for being a beautiful hotel in the most fabulous locations.

    Location. Friendly staff. Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant enough but wouldn't hurry back. Expensive for the level of comfort. Clearly paying for the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly which meant we had to listen to barking dogs within the hotel at 10 pm. Also, breakfast not so good, very greasy.

    The view from our room was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay but hotel needs a revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was badly in need of redecorating. It was gloomy with poor lighting. There was no power point by a mirror to use the hairdryer. The only good light for putting on makeup was in the bathroom. The dressing table had no seat so you couldn't use its mirror. A little thought would make so much difference.

    The sea view. The staff were lovely and always helpful. The food was also very good and well cooked, though the menu would be rather limited for a week's stay. Restaurant prices were reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Very relaxing, had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was spacious. Meals were excellent. The staff are first class. Loved the balcony with a couple of chairs and a table, with the fantastic view across the bay. Get a bottle of wine and two glasses and it's very romantic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.5
    Having rung the hotel we were told someone would ring the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having rung the hotel we were told someone would ring the following day which they didn't so I rung again and was told that the Manager would ring the following day (22/9/17) but low and behold no phone call. This hotel I would not be recommending friends or family, in fact I would struggle to recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely weekend stay, ideally placed for exploring Yorkshire coast. Runswick Bay is a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mildew on tiles around bath. Stain behind toilet on floor.

    Comfy bed, great location, bedroom super clean, friendly staff, good food in bar. Good breakfast, sausage for dog! Lovely view premier room overlooking sea and bay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely. Fulfilled our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was poor and a little uninspiring. The outside area needs some attention.

    The room was excellent.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    we would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    views from room/balcony and restaurant were beautiful. food was really nice and not too pricey. staff were friendly and helpful. location was ideal for beach walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    We found this place by chance and hit the jackpot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the place.

    Everything about this place was special, from its spectacular location, the staff, the food, and the views from even the dining room. We stayed only one night but we will come back for much longer next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Location was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room overall was very dark and depressing. The decor was brown throughout from carpets to curtains to lampshades. No water left in room despite their leaflets stating that water in all rooms. The towels looked dingy. The bedlinen smelled VERY strongly of ? fabric conditioner /washpowder. I had to put a towel on top of my pillow. Toilet right opposite the large window to outside of building so people could see in , although there was a net curtain at window...but still.... Had to reach in to switch shower on as screen was fixed ,therefore one was wet through before you got into shower. Shower was over the bath.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with refreshing rooms and décor as it is tired and in need of updating.

    The hotel is excellently situated for a panoramic view of the bay. The staff were friendly and professional. The hotel room was comfortable and adequately furnished. This hotel is very versatile for families, friends or a bolt hole for one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent fabulous views from dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant evening meal service and food were very poor. Poor quality steaks ordered catch of the day wich was halibut but was served monk fish .

    The location was excellent fabulous views from dining room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Four star price for 3 star room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and bathroom basic...badly in need of a refurbishment.Paid for a sea view with balcony but Goldsboro room was tucked away on the ground floor and overlooked by the dining room immediately adjacent.

    Good choice at breakfast ..pleasant dining area and cheerful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Would stay here again but would book a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so small you could hardly clean your teeth without hitting your head on a shelf. The bathroom was so disappointing as on booking it we were told it had a bath, but the view was amazing so made up for it.

    The view was amazin from the room. Staff excellent. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall it was only OK which was a pity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price-wise it was aimed at the hotel's aspirations which it didn't fully meet. Tiny shower room in need of some TLC. It was claimed the restaurant menu was "new" and "locally sourced" but it was simply standard "pub grub", OK but not really anything special, bit disappointing.

    Great views from the restaurant and terrace. Comfortable rooms. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed a superb meal in the hotel restaurant and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have stayed longer than 1 night!!

    Enjoyed a superb meal in the hotel restaurant and had a lovely window table to be able to fully enjoy the beautiful view. In my opinion everything about our stay was perfect for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed are stay very much, the hotel was set in a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed are stay very much, the hotel was set in a beautiful location with fanstic views. It is 8 miles from Whitby which is great you can leave all the crowds behind and return to the hotel for a relaxing evening. in the bar. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the resturant the first night when we arrived the meal was very nice. Room was clean and big enough for three adults and one dog. Plenty of choice for breakfast and lots of it also you can order sauages for your dog. I would recommend this hotel. We will be coming back. Thanks again Cathy,Terry,Kirsty and (Cutie) Dylan the cairn terrier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    The beautiful veiw with balcony, the comfy room & the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved everything

    The beautiful veiw with balcony, the comfy room & the helpful friendly staff. Wonderful ! Ollie the dog was provided for with his own towel . A relaxing few days with excellent food .

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: