Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clifton Bridge Guesthouse

23 Water End, York, YO30 6LL, United Kingdom

#57 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money... rooms were clean and had everything we needed available. Arthur the owner, was really nice and cudn't be more helpful "he even gave us a lift into town. Breakfast could not be faulted' service and choice was first class. I would definately stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arthur is super friendly n helpful. He even goes extra mile by sending us to the town as he see that we arrive late and leaving next morning. The place is cosy and the breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation. Asked for parking. On arrival told I couldn’t park on the premises, despite room. Owner said that they were for later arrivals. Told not to park on local roads.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There genuinely wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Very friendly & helpful, room was perfect for our family of 5. Clean, everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice to set you up for busy days. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location (easy 15 minute walk along the riverside path to York Minister in city centre) with excellent continental breakfast. Free on-site parking is provided making a visit to York much easier. Room was clean and well presented and wifi worked well. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem was check in was from 2pm got there about 2.15 and was told rooms wouldn’t be ready for another 2 hours but put our bags in and went straight into York centre no major problem

    Clean , good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty basic, and certainly not worth what we paid for it, but we did book it quite late. The standard of the breakfast, wasn’t awful, but it could be better, and the bacon seemed quite poor quality.

    The staff were very friendly. It was easy to walk into town, and in a quiet area. Free WiFi was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked twin room. Was contacted by proprietor on the journey up that a double room had become available and would I like to swap. I declined. On arrival astounded that we had infact been moved to a double room as there was a stag do at the premises and a couple of the lads were big so they were moved to the twin room but they had booked a double!! We had arrived at about 20.00 so not really time to look for alternative accommodation. Proprietor tried to appease saying it was a king size bed, he stated he could get a single bed in but really there was no room. Very poor. Not even an offer of a reduction in price. It was all very poor considering the telephone call on the train. The proprietor had no idea who we were, what size we were or the nature of the relationship between us. Would not recommend or go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the proprietor did everything himself ,and fair play to him but at breakfast when the guests came down and dining room was full people were waiting awhile for their food otherwise couldn,t fault him

    Bed very comfortable,location excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big negative and turned out not to be a problem, but there was nobody on check in when we arrived.

    Very nice room, clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Nice position just yards from the river and a pleasant walk into town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is great value! We had 9 adults staying in 2 family rooms! The beds were comfy and rooms were nice. The car parking was excellent as it’s very expensive in York. It was just a short taxi ride from york city centre or a nice riverside walk. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit dated . They are putting a new floor down in dinning room so hopefully they will improve the shower next. This would not however put me off returning.

    The welcome was really friendly and warm. The breakfast was brilliant and staff could not do enough for you. Brilliant safe guest house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Needs a little face lift in places but this is not a big issue

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely proprietor - very helpful, easy going and personable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-one was around when we arrived and we had to wait 30 minutes before the owner returned. The first room he showed us was scruffy and dated, the bedding not ironed and there was no wardrobe. We had decided not to stay when the owner offered us a different room and a price reduction, which we accepted. This room was better and the beds comfortable. However, the towels were frayed and the bath mat and shower both dirty. The dining room was dusty and too small for the number staying in the hotel and we had to wait 55 minutes to get a seat.

    The Full English breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very helpful proprietor who went above and beyond to help us. unprompted he offered to run us into the city centre for our night out. the breakfast was very well done the portioning being just right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Group
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were pleasant friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and clean and had everything we required. It was in a great location. 5 mins in taxi to city centre perfect for us girls. We will defiantly be going back. 10/10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit cluttered .

    The owner went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and our room requirements suitable for our family. He also suggested good restaurants in the area , gave us information about the history of York and even drove us into town in his personal Mercedes -Benz.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, other than being a little nearer to town as struggled getting a taxi, but it was New Years Eve!

    The hotel was a lot better than the reviews we had read. The owner was nothing but polite to us. The room was clean, had everything in we needed, tea coffee biscuits and even a bottle of water. We stayed New Years Eve to New Years Day beds comfy and had a lovely full english breakfast. Was a 15 min walk into York via pubs on the way!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t enough tables for everyone during breakfast. There wasn’t the WiFi password in the room, we got back late and we didn’t know how to get it. In the morning we woke up with some workers working in the rooftop in front of our window, not very nice. And the cleaning lady opened the door while we were still in the room.

    The bed was very big (king size) and comfortable and the breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for an overnight stay, close to town which is what we wanted. Hotel clean and comfortable and a good variety for breakfast. Owner very friendly and helpful when needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING REALLY, NOT IN TERMS OF VALUE FOR MONEY

    SITUATED IN A QUIET AREA OF YORK, OUTSIDE THE GATES BUT WITH EASY ACCESS TO THE RIVER WALK INTO THE CENTRE OF TOWN. NO PROBLEMS WITH PARKING AND THIS BEING OUR SECOND VISIT TO THE ACCOMODATION WE KNEW OUR ROOM WOULD BE NICE AS ARTHUR, THE OWNER, IS ALWAYS UP DATING AND DECORATING. HOW HE DOES THIS ON HIS OWN AND RUN THE GUEST HOUSE IS AMAZING. BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY AND ALWAYS SET US UP FOR THE DAY. HE EVEN WAVED US OFF WHEN WE LEFT

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely guest house. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order. I would defiantly stay there again when I visit York. Really good distance from the town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels on the small size . Hate leaving

    Has everything you need . Nice touch with bottles of water in the room on arrival and replacements available at breakfast . Fresh cooked breakfast to order . Big comfortable beds . Excellent location fifteen minute walk to city . Our second stay it won't be our last

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom poor condition and dirty, reception door locked on arrival (14.40),had to phone to be let in to cold dark reception, builders materials stacked in dark corridor, booked twin room but offered double room or wait for twin room to be cleaned. Told on arrival can only pay with debit card or pay extra with credit card.Got the impression we were a bit of a nuisance being there.

    Bedroom clean, breakfast limited but reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had little pressure - disappointing Arrived within checking in times but no one available so had to ring mobile and wait for owner to arrive at guesthouse

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little extras nice mugsfor the children and ribina in the room. We were allowed to leave the car in the car park after checking out. Felt the owners were very helpful and child friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was rather small and location was quite a long walk into town

    Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Room was very clean, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple more towels could have come in handy, 6 women require lots of towels. However, that’s not a complaint, simply something to write in this box.

    The beds were so comfortable and we loved the fact all 6 of us could share the same room. Owner Arthur was so accommodating (even giving us a lift to the train station for return journey) and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and welcoming. The owner was very informative and helpful. Breakfast was really nice. Good selection! Very accommodating! Great for a group. There were 5 women sharing a room, like a big sleep over! Great! Would stay again. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A choice of breakfast, we were just asked do you want a " cooked breakfast" no choice given of eggs or veg option, Bit over priced after just staying in Harrogate at Crowne Plaza for less ! but understand that York can be expensive .

    comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little cool after showering as the heating wasn't on at the time.

    All family in same room. Fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Owner very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bin in the bathroom hadn't been emptied from the previous guest. Inadequate parking, this is why we walked into the city rather than drove, I didn't want to lose my space.

    The breakfasts were excellent, a variety of styles, continental, cereal or full English, or all three. Quick, responsive, service from the staff. Within walking distance of the city centre if you don't mind a mile's walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room -Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean- dirty carpet, sugar stuck to table, empty wrapper stuck in chair, bin wasn't emptied and contents fell out when I opened it as wasn't sturdy. Shower mat had holes in. I was at breakfast for 15 minutes and no-one acknowledged me for tea/coffee or cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold. Bathroom was cleaned with bleach and the odour was very bad, had to change room. No space for big suitcases, no lift.

    Quite central. Car park provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not ready on check in, a towel was dirty, tea tray had empty wrappings in, no bin liner.

    Owner drove us to a local restaurant & collected us afterwards. He allowed us to park prior to check in and after check out. Excellent breakfast, good quality ingredients, fresh fruit. Pleasant walk along river into York.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None It really was wonderful!

    The room spacious even accomadating 3 adults and 2 children. Large bathroom. Wonderful breakfast included. The hotel staff was so warm and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arthur was very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was wonderful with an excellent selection of items including fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cooked food. Many thanks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints somewhere friendly to rest your head at the end of the day checkout time 10.30 so no rush and a good breakfast.

    The owner was brilliant really helpful we arrived at 10am and asked to leave our bags as we were at a Whisky festival from 12 noon he did better than that he already had our room ready can't fault that

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room -Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warm welcome & service with a smile could have been better.

    The bed was very comfy, room nicely equipped and layed out well, hotel was quiet, car parking very convenient. Location was good, close to city centre and also close to park and river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only negative was that some of the guest house looks a little dated and needs a good clean in some areas.

    Beds were very comfortable.Arthur the owner was extremely friendly and helpful.The double glazing was very good kept the rooms very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was far to hot and as we were on the ground floor I didn't like to leave the windows open.

    Our room was clean and tidy not the biggest of rooms, the bathroom had a good walk in shower. The wifi worked well and our room had a added bonus of a fridge. Breakfast was good but as it was only served between 08.00am and 0900am therefore it was a little rushed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room -Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very helpful, nothing was a problem. Location was fantastic 15 minute walk into City Centre, either walk along the riverside which is a lovely walk or along past shops, both a nice walk, bus stop is outside the property if you don't want to walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little small & "tired"

    Bed was super comfortable, good pillows and cotton sheets. Breakfast was really good (good quality food cooked well) Location was within easy walking distance to town center. Free parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The bed was very comfy.Wonderful riverside walks into York.Plenty of choices at breakfast.Arthur was so kind and helpful.Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only bad point wifi was so slow unusable other than that nice place 15 mins to centre along river nice walk

    lovely place and the guy running very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise both from adjacent busy ring road and creaking boards along corridors and room above. Not on a regular bus route in the evening returning after dinner. Taxi required. rkute

    The friendly helpful attitude of the staff, the breakfast partjcularly havinf fresh fruit and plain yogurt available. The walk along the river into towm of nearly 1 mile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not family friendly. Room was advertised as family room, however it had no cot bed in it or space for anything other than the bed. The bed itself was extremely tall and unsafe for the child under 2. No high chairs availble at this guest house. We were basically told this place is not suited for people with small children and dogs. But then why advertise this as family room when we specify the child's age and it is clearly just a room with large bed.

    We liked the location and the breakfast, although nothing special, was good. We were offered porridge with some local honey for the little one in the morning, however when I asked for it the night before the owner said he doesn't offer porridge and that my child can have Weetabix.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist had very poor manners. I doubt that he is a racist when he said something like “if you don’t like, you could go back to China or wherever you are from..” I would just like to check my email from my cell phone and made sure whether I paid for the stay already. He became outraged even I said, if I offended you, I apologized. He had attitude problems. Be careful, other customers if you are not British.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 12 to be told book in wasn't till 2,I'd checked Clifton Bridge website before booking which said 12 which was ideal as we were going to the races...luckily they had a room ready.On booking out I asked if we could leave our cases as we were going racing again we were told no .The taxi driver helped us by taking us to the left luggage store at the station before taking us to the races.

    Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet could be in a better place. Too tight in the corner of the shower crubicle. A person larger than myself would have problems in the bathroom.

    Beds were comfy. The bus stop outside to go to city centre was a huge boost for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    other guests need to park in there space correctly and think of other guests

    It was inexpensive in a good location with parking. The manager was pleasant, friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is still some way from the B&B to the major scenic spots in York, such as National Railway museum, York Minister etc.

    The family room is quite crowded but tidy and clean. The owner prepares delicious English breakfast. He is also kind to allow us to park the car there for more hours after our check-out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small with not a lot of space to move around.

    Good location. Whole place spotless.Nice big shower. Although our room overlooking road, all noise cut out by double glazing.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have an enormous car and parking it there was a minor challenge. Totally our fault for driving an 8-passenger vehicle!

    Proprietor was amazing. Can make all the difference in a stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was there was only one t bag on the complimentary drinks tray but I'm being picky now as there were biscuits and plenty of everything else. A bedside clock would have been useful and there were no plug sockets near the bed, especially to charge my phone AND use it as an alarm as I needed to.

    It was homely and comfortable with a great breakfast and the added bonus of a taxi service whenever you needed at an extra cost, which suited me as I don't drive. Bed was comfy and being a lone female traveller I felt secure and looked after well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    We loved it. Everything was perfect. Looking forward to visiting again. Thank you Arthur for your wonderful hospitality. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful host. Especially children were given special attention. We were given a bigger family room without extra cost. Nice walk to the city centre. Very good breakfast. Also fruits were available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Family 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had a very nice room, clean and comfortable. The staff we're extremely helpful. A good breakfast in the morning. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very spacious and nice. The shower was excellent and there was a very delicious breakfast. The owner was very kind and approachable. The location was good with a nice walk via the riverside to the city centre; we really enjoyed that. Loved it there, we wish we could have stayed longer in York!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Our stay at Clifton bridge guesthouse had been a very enjoyable experience that we will never forget , the house owner Aurthur had been very helpful and welcoming , we would certainly be recommending it to other toursists who wish to stay at the city of York , the location is just ideal and 15 minutes walk to the market and a lovely walk by the Clifton river !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy guesthouse run by the friendliest folks! The gentleman who greeted us at the reception gave us advice on where to eat, booked a table for us, gave us extra bottles of water for our journey back even! The guesthouse is situated close to the city centre, and has good parking facilities too. We had a very pleasant stay, and would it recommend it to anyone planning to go to York.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit chilly but sorted with a phone call to the proprietor

    Very comfy bed, great facilities, welcoming host, short walk to city centre. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt claustrophobic. Not enough room in dining area for everyone. A little disorganized at breakfast, it was busy, but staff could've talked to people a bit more. The bathroom needed updating, it was very tired and filled in with silicon!

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny tiny bathroom. We were fine as we were two women but a tall man would have to sit sideways to use the toilet. Also if you were overweight you may get wedged. Rooms cod have been a lot cleaner.

    Staff friendly and offered a taxi service into york. Although we didn't have it, the breakfast looked good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked with a credit card when I paid I was told there would be a charge for a credit card payment which wasn't mentioned when I booked. An hours wait for breakfast had to ask for tea and toast.

    the bed was quite comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Six bed roomed accommodation could have benefited from extra lavatory and wash basin. Rather busy in morning having to queue for loo.

    The staff at breakfast were great accommodating the groups varies dietary requirements ? Breakfast was fab we all loved it .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking .com didn't tell him we were booked in and price was tried to get more money when arrived

    The bedroom was clean and tidy and bed was comfy and great help

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertisement implied a residents lounge available for our use. This was not the case. Alcohol not allowed. So no where for family to gather for a drink and a game.

    Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Our host very helpful with advice and suggestions. Beds comfy. 20 mins walk into town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not possible to leave luggage after checking out, but the owner pointed out that helps keep prices down as they don't need to employ extra staff in the afternoon to watch the bags. Some friends didn't like having extra beds in their room - not ideal for a romantic getaway, but for unpacking wedding clothes and gifts on we found these very useful!

    Generous tasty breakfasts, lovely friendly owner, fantastic location (quiet but easy walking distance from York Minster cathedral)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little hot in the room, could do with a fresh lick of paint,

    Comfortable bed, friendly and helpful manager, good selection at breakfast, nice walk into York.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside which i forgot to mention to the owner was that in the en-suite the toilet kept trickling and making a noise, .

    The rooms were light and airy ,the decor was pleasant to look at . Everything we needed was at hand . The breakfast was very good. Value for money. An excellent few days away, our son's really enjoyed it as it was there first time in a guest house.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of the way. Found it easier to drive to the park and ride and catch the bus into York.

    Very helpful gentleman who gave us lots of information. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful owner. Freezing cold room. Hairs in bathroom. Dirty grouting. Stained toilet rug. Dirty toilet brush. Told at 2pm heating not on til 4pm then went off before 10 pm. And again off at 730 am.

    Location good. Breakfast was reasonable quality

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy mobility access room (9) one night stay. Fabulous comfortable bed with 3 Pillows !. Bathroom accessories well stocked and soft lovely white towels. Very good heating. Extremely clean. Breakfast well prepared, excellent choice and quality.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't available when we got there at 11 am but we didn't expect it to be just wanted to leave our bags. When we got back at 6pm there was no one there and we have to ring owner who said he would be back in 20 minutes. Made up for inconvenience though by giving us a lift back into the city.

    Lovely big room - very well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Lovely walk along the river to the city - about 15 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75