Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cluny Bank Hotel 4 stars

69 St. Leonard's Road, Forres, IV36 1DW, United Kingdom

#3 of 15 hotels in Forres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 140 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Lovely family run hotel and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel and restaurant. Very helpful and attentive staff, lovely food and good size comfortable rooms. Nice quiet location a short walk from the high street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    The property was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful. Comfortable bed, large bathroom with tub and shower and the most gracious and fun hosts. Very well located within walking distance of High Street in Forres, a beautiful town central to most things in the Highlands. The restaurant was fabulous. Loved it all. Thank you to Lloyd and Julia for superb hospitality and wonderful dining experiences. Hope to come again to Cluny Bank Hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area, look no further.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service I received during my visit was amazing, the owner personally greeted me and took my bags to the room. The evening meal was absolutely fantastic, with speedy and friendly waiting staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended find
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for a lovely big room with equally big en-suite bathroom. The owners were very attentive and extremely professional. There is a small bar with a goodly choice of drinks. The breakfast choice was very good and we opted for a cooked to order choice - delicious! There is an upmarket dinner restaurant which we didn't use as we were attending a function but we believe it has an excellent reputation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Like being at home with a personal top notch chef!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay another night to try some of the other menu choices!

    The hosts were very friendly and helpful, particularly when I brought my father in for dinner. The food was excellent, both at dinner and breakfast. The menu for dinner was interesting and varied. Our choices were for hare, venison and lamb which came with a delicious accompaniments of sauces, different vegetables and potatoes. The dessert selection was outlined for us in detail by the chef himself, to which both my father and I quickly consumed the lovely whisky and date pudding with vanilla ice cream.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a steep climb to the hotel from the car park although I think if you had walking difficulties you could drive your car up to the front door. No hairdryer in the room which was a surprise for this level of hotel!

    Lovely old charm hotel set in a nice garden. Room very comfortable and as hotel is set back from the road it was very quiet. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    Didn't feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the accommodation The menu was unsuitability for gluten free There was only one person in the accommodation when was arrived and was unhelpful

    The bath

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasantly surprised and I would definitely go back when in the area.
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quality of shower could have been better

    The standard dinner was interspersed with little tasters of a variety of interest culinary delights for no charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable home from home. I’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be nicer.

    Fabulous breakfast and very welcoming owners. It was great to be able to have room service in such a small hotel- a much appreciated bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Great charm and gourmet food...but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was a bit pricey...but appropriate for the high quality. Not a place offering bar food for those looking for a quick meal. Bedroom had lovey decor, but was on the warm side with too much bedding for the room temperature. Resulted in less comfortable sleep than in other places we stayed on our trip.

    Outstanding quality food and wine in their restaurant...really gourmet. Great personal service from the owners and chef. Lovely old mansion...a class place. We had booked their restaurant expecting a really nice...but pricey dinner. They delivered!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Happy and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have better in my opinion

    The food was great. I loved the old world charm of the hotel, it was built in 1860 it had an ambience that appealed to me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Outstanding personal touch, extremely pleasant and felt very genuine. Food was amazing, bed was something you just didn't want to get out off in the morning. Lovely place, great people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful and delicious treat to stay at Cluny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A delightful place to relax and enjoy the Moray area. The room was comfortable but the highlight of the stay was the food. Almost Michelin standard dinner thanks to an amazing inventive chef/owner. Breakfast also much better than at four star big hotels, all freshly cooked and served.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't go back or recommend for price
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service could have been better. I also don't believe that all of our party were overly happy with the hot breakfast. We booked on short notice and just wanted something close to extended family that were also staying in the area for the night so we didn't price around. However the cost of the rooms was far more than what we paid for a 4 or 5 star hotel just outside of Aberdeen which had far better service and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Every bit as great as I remebered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame we were only staying one night as I wanted everything on the menu.

    Everything. As a returning customer bringing friends this time, I really hoped it would live up to my memories. If anything better than I remembered. The staff were great, the rooms fabulous and Lloyd and Julia the perfect hosts. The food, well what can I say, having spent 8 days touring Scotland this was by far and away the best meal we had. Lloyd is a fantastic Chef and the enthusiasm he adds with his descriptions of the dishes has you wanting to sample the whole menu. Next time I'm north of the border we will be heading back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Short stay in Forres
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hosts were very welcoming. The food was excellent. The bedroom was well appointed. The property is an old building with an interesting history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay at Cluny Bank
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    faultless

    We stayed 5 nights in the deluxe room as we were around the area for a mixture of business and leisure. The room was spacious, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet. The hosts were very welcoming and keen to assist with any requests.Lloyd provided a wonderful selection of vegan and coeliac foods for breakfast and evening meal. I would highly recommend staying at Cluny Bank

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.3
    Comfortable but not memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cluny is not very suitable for older clients who are a little shakey on their legs. Very steep drive way and steep steps to the hotel itself. More stairs to the bedrooms. The manager or owner is a smoker and greeted us smelling of cigarettes and not very gracious on our arrival.

    Comfy bar area and great selection of Single malt whisky.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely old hotel in Forres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little too expensive,given the lack of views from room and very small bathroom.

    Super breakfast- particularly enjoyed the high quality fruit and delicious haggis

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Extremely comfortable room, and amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we would change about our stay

    Wonderful hosts, very welcoming, and our room was amazing ! Dinner in the restaurant was like nothing we have had before, a truly unique dining experience. Would highly recommend !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable, welcoming and very relaxing
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of steps, but that didn't bother us. Not so good for someone less mobile though. It was just what we were looking for - couldn't fault it.

    Lovely old house/hotel in beautiful Forres. Jules and Lloyd were great hosts and the food was fantastic. Characterful and very comfortable rooms and bed, as well as the bar area,.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few guests opening and shutting doors loudly out side of my room, but was quiet for night.

    Lovely room, very comfortable and relatively quiet, great breakfast and very attentive owners. In fact I felt very well taken care of, shame it was a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Okay but better out there in the same area, if you stay go direct to hotel web page
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no good for people with disabilities

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    My evening meal was truly amazing, hats off to Lloyd and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My evening meal was truly amazing, hats off to Lloyd and Jules for a great experience!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent food. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    A hidden gem, food fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food exceeded my expectations . Fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    The hotel owners were very welcoming - I really enjoyed my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel owners were very welcoming - I really enjoyed my stay- thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    We loved the relaxed welcoming feeling of The Cluny Bank .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large room . Loved the theme , very relaxing . Every thing was perfect .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Stunning room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stunning room. Excellent staff. Amazing food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice room and lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Nice room and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable.attentive hosts and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on site restaurant was first class

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    WOW, beautiful house, incredibly friendly staff, wish I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WOW, beautiful house, incredibly friendly staff, wish I had time to stay longer. Best breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Stunning Property, Comfortable Room and excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning Property, Comfortable Room and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel - great room and excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel - great room and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful property with good amenities and located close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with good amenities and located close to centre of Forres.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Only a short overnight stay but most enjoyable . The Owners were extremely friendly and helpful. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    And helpful .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Will stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely food and friendly hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Dinner was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly, clean, comfortable and providing an early breakfast prior to our bike event

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    was a nice hotel comfy and clean .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price of the dinner menu .

    the coffee was good the breakfast was alright .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Peaceful gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    A little bit old fashioned but overall nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They stopped serving dinner at 8 pm

    A little bit old fashioned but overall nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Wöhlfühltage
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent 2 nights spent at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good evening meals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, with home comforts and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous hotel with home comforts and a great service. The breakfast was excellent. Beautiful surroundings, I would go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    First class food and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class food and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful large comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large comfy room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Just fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just fab. People. Food service,everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    A memorable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Little extras supplied. The welcome from the hosts. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was loveky

    Beautiful couldn't fault a thing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Excellent food and hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent, both evening meal and breakfast and owners very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    A little Gem in the highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had one night !

    Instant chill. Food, accommodation, perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice place, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms need some modernisation

    Nice place, clean rooms Excellent diner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Great place for a short stay. Very comfortable and quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few more smiles from the proprietor would have been welcomed.

    Lovely hotel with really personal touches. Great decor, comfortable and homely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, bed, staff, chef, food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    The food was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was awesome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    super friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    got up really early to sort us out a breakfast - very much appreciated

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Food and room space.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    The warm friendly attentiveness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No improvement is needed.

    The warm friendly attentiveness of the staff. The high quality food and the little extras offered at mealtimes eg. Bread and accompaniements, Amuse-bouche and sorbet. There was bottled water and homemade fudge in the bedroom too. There was a supply of soft fluffy towels and wash cloths. Also the lighting in the room was excellent for reading.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Food was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was fantastic. Although being an old property, when arriving on a cold dark night it was warm and very inviting. The owners are very rightly proud of their hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Great genuine welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    30 steps from the lower level car park in the rain was a great impromptu workout !!! But not a spoiler for the overall experience, they kindly offered that I could park at the door level area.

    Great genuine welcome Very clean & comfortable Lovely well cooked & presented breakfast ( with hind sight I should have used the dining room the night before )

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Family run - very personal service and attention to detail.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Family run - very personal service and attention to detail. Amazing food - a true labour of love and worth every penny...the pudding are simply fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard double room is rather small and dark. Therefore not ideal for a longer stay.

    Great breakfast. Good location. Everything in Forres is in walking distance. Nice building. Very nice owners. Very good dinner.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    Loved the service and friendliness of the two owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The flow of water in the shower was perhaps alittle "slow".

    Loved the service and friendliness of the two owners. Helped us with special requests. We had read that the food would be very good, and it was more than so. The chef knows his stuff, that is absolutely for sure!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Lovely, very friendly and helpful couple run the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Single room a bit dated, and mattress old and saggy. Forres is more quiet than expected, 2-3 nights would be enough for the area

    Lovely, very friendly and helpful couple run the hotel, wonderful and varied breakfast and the most amazing dinner. Double rooms newly decorated

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely big room overlooking garden, with large sofa chairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad water pressure in shower meant it was like bathing under a dripping tap.

    Lovely big room overlooking garden, with large sofa chairs & large bathroom. Very good restaurant though somewhat expensive.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.5
    Very clean and tidy, nice location and no traffic noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds in the annex far too soft. It would have been helpful if the Hotel name was placed so as it could be easily seen when approaching by road.

    Very clean and tidy, nice location and no traffic noise. Food was very good and the public rooms were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    The owners were welcoming and attentive at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is a little on the small size as is the shower.

    The owners were welcoming and attentive at all times. The food, both at breakfast and dinner, was of outstanding quality. Location wise, Cluny Bank is in a beautiful leafy suburb that is quiet and where it is easy to park your car.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.2
    Convenient location.
    • Solo traveller

    Don't park in the chef's turning space...

    Convenient location. Warm clean comfortable room, sparkling bathroom. Excellent food, hot plates as appropriate.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    8.3
    The food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food. I chose items which it would have taken a huge amount of trouble to prepare at home. No short cuts. The expertise was impressive. For serious foodies.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    9.2
    Marvellous character features of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing but if I were pressed to criticise something I'd say that the car parking area is a little cramped

    Marvellous character features of the hotel. Warmth and comfort of facilities. Friendly obliging service from owners. Spectacularly good food.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was located very well for travel to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steep steps in the snow and frost from car park to front door.

    The hotel was located very well for travel to the surrounding areas, and only a short walk into town to visit the shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    I loved the scenery, the room, the house and the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the scenery, the room, the house and the owners. Dinner was excellent and I especially enjoyed the owner, who was a chef, recite the dessert menu. Felt like a queen visiting.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: