Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coaching Inn Hotel 1 stars

Warrington Road (A573), Ince, Wigan, WN3 4NJ, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Will never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor drab and badly executed. Walls and ceilings look like they have been painted by a child in a hurry. Dusty skirting and fittings. Does not deserve the title of hotel.

    Quiet during the night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    Basic with no frills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good for a family and they specifically say no groups. Also have a 1 am curfew. Not much choice in the bar; despite a beer and lager tap, only bottles or cans available. Check in starts at 16:00; I arrived at 15:00 intending to ask if I could wait in the bar, but I couldn't even enter as all entrances locked until 16:00!

    If, like me, you are travelling for work and just want a bed and something to eat this place beats Tavelodge, Premier Inn etc. in every department, including price. Only saw one staff member and she seemed to do everything from checking me in to cooking my dinner and breakfast. Both meals cooked to order so took a while to arrive: especially dinner, which was so massive I couldn't finish it. Single room basic but adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Welcoming staff added value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs redecorating throughout, pictures on walls are also old and fading, basically needs a spruce up

    Friendly staff, building was very warm throughout (considering how cold it was outside)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Like a home from home with lovely home cooking.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was are second stay at the Coaching Inn and it was as excellent as the first time. Nothing was a problem, staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    A short overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower could have been easier to operate as hot water was come and go but that might of been our ineptitude

    the landlady was a pleasure nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Unprepossessing, but more than made up for by warmth of welcome and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has clearly seen better days and the decor is not brilliant; but the warmth of welcome and quality of the food more than made up for that.

    The one member of staff that we met was extremely friendly and helpful. Our evening meals and breakfasts were very well cooked and obviously had been cooked from scratch with fresh ingredients - so much better than the average hotel with "back-het" food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    First stop Wigan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle was quite small and the route back into the hotel via a side door and stairs after returning in the evening needed remembering.

    Although the décor was a bit dated and there were no other guests that I was aware of, the proprietrix was friendly and helpful and it was not too far to walk into the centre of town for food and drinks. This was my first stopover on a cycle from Liverpool to Leeds so I was ready for a rest when I arrived and not hypercritical. All I needed was a clean bed and a shower. The hotel owner allowed me to bring my bike indoors for overnight storage and didn't mind when I had to mend a puncture in the hallway before departing in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Friendly welcome by the owner.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor was in need of sprucing up but it was clean and good value.

    Full English breakfast was really good as was the evening meal. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    the food was lovely home cooked excellent quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    when i booked through booking.com i booked the higher rate at the time which i thought included breakfast.when i got to hotel i was told no food was included and had to pay extra each day for breakfast.I can no longer access rates for the days in question but £55 pound was rate for breakfast included today and i payed 257 for 5 nights no breakfast?

    the food was lovely home cooked excellent quality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Run down and overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, poor decoration, overpriced.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    Good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, needs to be tidied up with paint etc,

    Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful but clean and welcoming but nowhere near a Premier Inn, etc!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated and worn - like an old 60s/70s guest house!

    Great value for a one-off night. Good, friendly welcome and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi didn't happen, it just kept dropping off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Not too bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curfew

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel with good staff worth the money but must find a way of heating the rooms better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold the radiator only came on at certain times leaving the room cold and uncomfortable

    Staff helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier check in

    Really helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel. Owner very friendly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    cheap and cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.9
    If this is the quality of description booking.com allows, I won't be using them again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    Overall very poor service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor service. & unprofessional staff.

    A bad hotel and staff unprofessional would not use again or recommend anyone to use.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation

    Price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    3.3
    you get what you pay for ,cheap n grimey
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty ,showers were rubbish , no room in ensuites,filthy decor,shabby all round .

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    food was good /service was good
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was good /service was good and the lady on reception was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Clean bed, clean bathroom, good breakfast and very nice...
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean bed, clean bathroom, good breakfast and very nice landlady. I'd stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.3
    TLC needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy and small bathroom, room could do with some TLC, road was noisy of an evening.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Good value good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.9
    Cosy Stop-over
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hot shower, but access to it a little awkward.

    Warm welcome. Value for money. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great staff super stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff super stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Cheerful hotel. Short taxi journey to the centre of Wigan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    5.4
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little run down. Thin walls - I could hear snoring from next door!

    Helpful and friendly staff. Good food at evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    Great Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for Business trips. Great value for money and staff is very helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.5
    Convenience, bed comfortable, wifi all day.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Went there hoping for an evening meal, but there was ongoing work. Prefer breakfast included. Bathroom very small.

    Convenience, bed comfortable, wifi all day.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.2
    I think that for the price the hotel offers incredible good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was cool with it as it saved me a fortune

    I think that for the price the hotel offers incredible good value. This was my second stay and it was basic but ideal for the budget traveller. Obviously the hotel has seen it's heyday and the bar is closed but vicki the proprietor is very friendly and will do anything for you without complaint. My single room was warm, spotlessly clean and I felt safe. I had free wifI and a desk to work at. For £35 this was incredible good value. If you want up market then stay somewhere else and shut up moaning. If you want a clean hotel to stay at, at hostel prices then book a stay here. If your a picky critic go elsewhere and spend more money. Gorgeous poached eggs btw Vicki and thanks for being so helpful and so cheerful.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly welcome, comfy bed, lovely evening meal waiting ,...
    • Solo traveller

    Small TV, towels a bit rough, further away from main train station than id planned but all just minor things

    Friendly welcome, comfy bed, lovely evening meal waiting , nice bar area. Loved Victoria style building. Quiet and relaxing. On a bus route.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.7
    Very friendly hosts, nice clean warm room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Common problem at lot of B&B's. The UHT milk in the little pots had gone off meaning that you couldn't make use of the in the inroom coffee facilities.

    Very friendly hosts, nice clean warm room.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    4.6
    The room was not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was dreadful (all tesco value produce, like the toilet paper) and the staff, while being friendly didn't seem like they would do anything out of the ordinary to make your stay more comfortable. 10am checkout to me is too early. If u are paying for a room you should have it til 11.

    The room was not bad.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    Its an old hotel with no food or drink establishments nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Its an old hotel with no food or drink establishments nearby. Its on a busy main road so despite having double glazing I struggled with the noise. The manager is very nice, the wifi didnt work, the decor is old, shower is tiny, breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic woman on reception who was very friendly.
    • Couple

    You have to accept that the hotel is closed to 4 clock in the afternoon. An entry in an earlier arrival is not possible.

    Fantastic woman on reception who was very friendly. Warm welcome, willing to help and inform. Nice size of the room. Room was well equipped, comfortable, clean and tidy. In fact very good value for money. Free parking, Good breakfast Will certainly be using the Coaching Inn whenever we need a hotel in these area

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    6.7
    Fantastic woman on reception who was very friendly -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It wasn't the cleanest hotel room I've been in. There were hairs in the shower and the bin had a rotting banana in it and it hadn't been emptied in a few days. The Tv was also Tiny and looked ridiculous on the wall. Time for an upgrade to a 32inch at least.

    Fantastic woman on reception who was very friendly - Convenient location and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.9
    Staff, never ending tea, coffee, etc and en-suite, although...
    • Solo traveller

    Shower, proximity to the road made traffic a bit 'apparent' - although this was largely due to an accident just down the road which was rather noisy. Generally though it was a good place to stay.

    Staff, never ending tea, coffee, etc and en-suite, although could use a better shower for the price really. Very friendly couple that run the place. Very helpful, genuine, nice, Northern folk and I would happily stay there again if in the area.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    3.3
    Leaving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Getting there and someone trying to steal my van at 21:30. Security cameras are cheap and can't help anyone as the quality of them is rubbish

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    4.2
    Owners were pleasant
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were of poor decoration shower was blocked and almost overflowed bed was covered by small quilt and one pillow. Bar was stocked by cans no draft and no filter coffee at breakfast. Wifi dropped out for to long

    Owners were pleasant

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.3
    Room was well equipped and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free Wifi worked well during the first part of the evening but then was very intermittent. Mentioned it to the management in the morning but they tested the system and said it was working well. Some of the paint work in general areas of hotel could do with painting (i.e. bannisters) but perhaps this reflected the very competitive & value for money room rate.

    Room was well equipped and comfortable. Good breakfast Very pleasant and helpful management Very good value for money My room overlooked the main road but I could not hear any traffic (with window closed)

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.0
    The shower worked and it had wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, this is a very tired hotel. No food on offer, no bar, tatty decore and room.

    The shower worked and it had wifi

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    4.2
    didn't do breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    didn't do breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    Secure parking , friendly staff , quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Secure parking , friendly staff , quiet location

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.5
    Nice and quiet location and only 5-10 mins from the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We can honestly say that we were generally happy with everything

    Nice and quiet location and only 5-10 mins from the centre also great evening meals

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    7.9
    Always willing to help and meet your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Always willing to help and meet your needs.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    5.0
    Bedroom red hot knocked rad off still hot , very noise taxis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom red hot knocked rad off still hot , very noise taxis running up & down

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.9
    Owner took care to ensure my needs were met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was only cereals etc.

    Owner took care to ensure my needs were met. Smoking area by bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Cheap and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No proper bar.

    Cheap and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    4.2
    Landlady was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room tiny and cramped. No breakfast offered.

    Landlady was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was more like D.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was more like D.I.Y

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy slept very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All good

    The bed was very comfy slept very well

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    Price , and secure parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is very little to do around the area.

    Price , and secure parking

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    10
    Friendly and caring.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel. None to criticise.

    Friendly and caring.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    we liked everything and the owners were wonderful would stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we liked everything and the owners were wonderful would stay there again anytime.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    easy to find on way to 3 sisters
    • Couple

    easy to find on way to 3 sisters

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    hassle free, pleasent walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hassle free, pleasent walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    3.3
    Nothing about this hotel or location
    • Couple

    The fact the hotel had a bad smell throughout and was filthy

    Nothing about this hotel or location

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.5
    Friendly owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly owners. Clean, crisp sheets.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Owners are lovely people good atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owners are lovely people good atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    6.3
    WERE ALLOWED TO CHECK IN EARLY AS WE NEEDED TO MEET UP WITH...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    IN NEED OF SOME UPDATING AND DECORATING, 1AM CURFEW NOT GOOD WE ARE ADULTS.

    WERE ALLOWED TO CHECK IN EARLY AS WE NEEDED TO MEET UP WITH FAMILY

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    Clean and tidy no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lot of derilict properties close by all sadly businesses closed down

    Clean and tidy no frills. Very hospitable and helpful owners

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    A good clean friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking a bit problematic -but no significant problems.

    A good clean friendly hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.1
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in only opens 16:00 - 22:00

    Warm welcome. Clean comfortable room. Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, relaxed environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly, relaxed environment

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.8
    Warm welcome, willing to help and meet your need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No faults found.

    Warm welcome, willing to help and meet your need. Clean and tidy room, in fact good all around package definitely value for money.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    3.8
    The landlady was pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is in need of a total refurbishment. The normal price is circa £39. I paid £101 for a one star hotel in Wigan.

    The landlady was pleasant

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    4.6
    Free parking nice size room warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    toilet to close to shower and side wall very tight squeeze small tv very high up hard to watch from bed or chair

    Free parking nice size room warm

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: