Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Collingwood, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western 3 stars

11 Priory Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5DF, United Kingdom

#23 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 680 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    If you want to get some sleep, don't book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable (very hard mattress). The hotel building is quite old, thus you would hear every noise from your neighbours or people walking past your room. These two facts resulted in two nights with very little sleep for me. The spa area is quite old as well, not really nice.

    The breakfast was good, especially the croissants! There was also a great choice of warm breakfasts to choose from. The shower was really good. The staff was really friendly and tried to help with all issues.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Good quality of food for dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Room Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being overcharged for 16 breakfasts when we had only had 4 .slow to put mistake right, although did apologise.pillows too hard.

    Good quality of food for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Good basic hotel with car parking. Chose this hotel due to location and having a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room wasn't working. Disorganised at breakfast, others who arrived after us were served first. Had to ask for croissants, we assumed they had run out the first morning. No bowls available for cereal. Shower temperature fluctuated.

    Plenty of space to park, comfy bed, good size room, lovely to have swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Close to beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing a really good hotel if you have complaints ask the staff they sort it right away they go out there way to make your stay comfortable well done for that

    The room was clean nice shower had everything we needed lots of hanging space good for a small room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely dog friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather hot in room. Fan was provided but air conditioning would have great.

    Beautifully decorated. Lovely staff. Dog friendly with a welcome pack and guide given on arrival. Excellent breakfast. Will definitely book again . Free car parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable, had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom we stayed in was comfortable and nicely decorated but the bed was a double, not big enough, so didn’t sleep too well. The swimming pool could do with a hoover, as dirt collecting in corners.

    Hotel comfortable, nicely decorated. Food good. Having swimming pool etc., a plus. Bus stop outside hotel as hill steep for elderly will be a problem. Entertainment was okay, but a quiz or even bingo might be a plus. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were a bit abrupt. When we arrived there was no one at the desk, so we waited as we could hear someone talking in the next room. Finally someone put their head around the corner and said "yes?" When I said we would like to check in, a big sigh then came to help. This woman clearly had problems locating our booking and another staff member came to help who was much more friendly.

    Room was clean and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable but would dine out if we stayed again even though it would have meant a taxi ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was disappointing. I asked for the prawn battered haddock but the fish certainly was not haddock and I am not sure what prawn batter is supposed to be. Chef could do better.

    Decor, cleanliness and comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice pool and games room area and the restaurant and bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where small looking as they need a bit of a spruce up, very warm in side the rooms no air conditioning so you have to have windows open but when staying at the rear of the hotel can be a bit noisy when they have entertainment going on in the bar area and also the bathroom was like a sauna with no windows or fan so after having a shower you would get dry and dressed and felt like you needed another shower it was so warm in there .The full English breakfast was not great all pre cooked and warmed up to order which is not the most pleasant tasting breakfast,

    Nice pool and games room area and the restaurant and bar area where nice and clean and looked well managed,location was ok not to far from beach bars and shops

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic what was not to love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I think and I am being picky there was no no disturb card to hang on the door so if you wanted a lie in you still got knocked up with the cleaners

    the staff were amazing the hotel was lovely and the entertainment was a bonus as we were not expecting it and to top it all they had a happy hour and we will visit again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay very convenient for town and beach. Staff excellent but rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a little on the small side and in need of deep clean and decorating. Example: paint flaking off radiator, broken window lock, shower tray stained, thick of dust in radiator, toilet brush dirty and with no cover, mould on outside of shower around sealant, damp area on ceiling.

    Convenient to town centre and beach. Free parking. Staff very friendly. Beds clean and tidy. Food good. Communal areas very smart. Large clean white towels. Extra free towels for swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    When we got there our room was boiling hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there our room was boiling hot! The staff didn’t seem to know how to turn off the heater which was on full blast. Eventually I suggested something which seemed to work but the room then took ages to cool down. The staff gave us two fans but unfortunately they were not enough for us to be cool enough to have a good night sleep. We then spent the rest of the next day shattered due to lack of sleep. Other then this which unfortunately did affect our stay quite a bit the staff were friendly and the place was clean and tidy. The hotel was in walking distance from the town and beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, pleasant hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room not representive of the hotel in general. It was extremely small with windows which did not fully open. It was exceptionally warm and needed a fan constantly on.. To be fair, we were offered another room but this faced the busy road and we decided not to change

    Good situation near to beach. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Great location. Clean room and comfortable bed. Bathroom needed a bit of maintenance, but did not detract from overall good value accommodation. Staff all friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.0
    Cleaning, restaurant and hotel staff all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room With Three Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main reason we chose the hotel was for the spa facilities i.e. Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna however these broke down on number of occasions during our stay and there was no information given as to when they would be fixed. we were therefore unable to use the facilities during our stay which was very disappointing especially considering the amount of money we paid and no refund was offered.

    Cleaning, restaurant and hotel staff all excellent. Good firm mattress & pillows. Excellent entertainment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendliness of female staff towards dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries during a 4 night stay. Booking.com said breakfast was £8.50 asked on arrival at hotel £12.50. Not cleaned that well. Very expensive for the facilities on offer. Thought dog was included in price but on arrival had to pay £10 a night -not in our budgey

    Friendliness of female staff towards dog.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Very nice people and food was great very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of our room this time was great but being 6’2 it still only had a small bath that I couldn’t use and the shower hose was again to small for me to shower properly

    Been there before but had a standard room that wasn’t very big at all and no Air con

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Not as good as it looks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs on the chandelier,could feel the springs in the mattress,so we slept on top of the duvet the rail across the window was hanging off the wall.one thing that I was very unhappy with and never known this to happen in any other hotel,and I've stopped in hotels around the world. .I'm assuming it's housekeeping. ..but they came in my room in the evening messing with my things and moving my stuff around,not happy with that one bit.in the bathroom there were a lot of marks where it hadn't been cleaned (by toilet and sink and by the door).we booked this hotel solely for the use of pool/jacuzzi and steam/sauna room,jacuzzi you have to keep pressing the button to activate the bubbles,steam room needs to be regularly cleaned,sauna wasn't working. By the edge of jacuzzi there was chewing gum that had been spat on the floor and left,tissues under the seating area.then the cheap tacky breakfast was very disappointing only great thing was the creamy porridge which I enjoyed.i would also stress that regulars who come every year also stated that the standards of the hotel had dropped drastically. Best hotels in Bournemouth are the Queens hotel and Spa and the new west cliff hotel..you won't have any issues at all.i will not come vack to this hotel again unless they improve their standards.

    The best thing about this hotel was their happy hour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was not suitable for kids, grimey and hard to access. Decor was horrible and old fashioned. I would not recommend.

    This property was no were near worth the cost.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Otherwise pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside my room from the laundry collection twice a day. Shower blocked and not sorted out until the morning of departure. Had to stand in back flow whenever we had a shower. My daughter is a great fan of a roast dinner on Sunday. We were not impressed. That was the only meal we ate at the hotel (we had breakfast every morning).

    Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t that nice. Our room was tiny. They chased us out at 10.30am despite having to wait ages for breakfast that morning.

    Location was perfect. Hotel is a firm favourite with older people so very quiet in the main (apart from the crooner in the bar!)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night (entertainment in the hotel, people stomping around and slamming doors, water pouring out of an overflow right next to our room from 3am and then all night) Changing room for pool smelt very funky Jacuzzi out of order 2 out of 3 days No hairdryer in room

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    I would stay again if I could have room higher up up or at back hotel but good location food lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than expected a very hot being on ground floor couldn't open windows fully quite noisy main road early morning

    Staff a food restroom spotless

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    The poolside looked a bit dirty, WiFi wasn’t very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poolside looked a bit dirty, WiFi wasn’t very good. Room did not look like advertising. Seemed bigger in the pictures. Good side was breakfast and options were great, staff very nice location is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Would recommend this place to everybody won't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would have liked was a slightly bigger room picked a standard room and found it to small although it's decorated lovely.

    Bed was soo comfy and the staff were fantastic always happy and smiling the hotel would not be as good without the girls working there they were terrific.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    The beds need replaced as they were uncomfortable and rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds need replaced as they were uncomfortable and rooms were excessively hot, the heat was coming from the bathroom not outside. Other than these complaints we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Double and Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a cockraoch in bathroom. Also we were in a family room where both windows could fully open,no child catches. One of the window locks was loose. Couldn't have e windows open so room was so hot.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well outdated. Hygiene is awful. Hair from previous guests found in the bath. Only one shower gel for 3 of us. Really dirty. Not nice.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel was up the hill and because my bad back pain i was trying to avoid that. they should invest in better mattresses and the shower head was awful

    staff very nice. Close to beach. quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.5
    Definitely not going back to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extermly over priced. Bed was small and uncofortable. Checking out time is 10:30, we were offered the family room when all we we wanted king size double bed. Bathroom was very tired.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were lovely and clean,toilet was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were lovely and clean,toilet was clean.Receptionist are very friendly and helpful and even looked after our luggage before the check in time !The Swimming area was amazing and the children enjoyed it ! I will definitely come back and totally recommend !Me and family were very relaxed and didn’t want to leave !Collingwood Hotel have a large car park and you can park early before your check in.Breakfast was good but I would prefer buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Over priced and small room, horrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a family room at 50% higher price than other hotels as the reviews all said that the rooms were big. It turned out that it was an incredibly small room with one window that didn't really open very much and we could see directly in to another room from the bed itself overnight as everyone had to keep the curtains open as it was so hot in order to let a bit of air through, which meant that it was not very private. The breakfast was not very nice and the staff wanted to cram everyone in to a small dining space with minimal room to move between the tables which you had to do if you wanted to get some water or juice. It was also unsafe as it was impossible to carry a toddler chair through the non existent gaps in between the tables and so a member of staff lifted it over the top of two families that were dining and when he lifted the chair over their heads the heavy backed cushion fell on top of a ladies head, it was lucky that she was not a frail elderly person or that an infant was sat there as they would have either have been dead or hospitalised at the very least. After this traumatising moment we then had to wait forty minutes for the most rank bit of scrambled egg. We chose to have breakfast at a cafe the following morning as there really was nothing that was served that was that nice and the all the stress of having to sit in a small space with a toddler for ages was not one that we wanted to repeat.

    Happy hour 5-6 in bar area, friendly bar staff, pool is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was great a couple minutes walk from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was fairly small and the window looked out onto a brick wall. Radiator and towel radiator were very dusty.

    Location was great a couple minutes walk from the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Going above & beyond for their customers
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jana Lipnicanova was incredibly welcoming and went above and beyond for our party. I highly recommend the Collingwood for a stay in Bournemouth in a great location for all the amenities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Despite a rainy summer weekend, we loved our stay in Bournemouth using the facilities of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price we paid for the hotel on booking.com was very high for one night. Booking directly with the hotel is much cheaper but they only do bookings of two nights over the summer weekends.

    It is a very pleasant hotel - we enjoyed the facilities including the swimming pool and loved the evening entertainment. The location is excellent - just a very short walk away from the centre and the beach. We liked the choice between dinner and bar snacks and the rooms and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    A welcome break for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At breakfast the option of tinned prunes or grapefruit was out-dated, apples or bananas were available, no soft fruit. No fridge or bottled water in rooms, which you find in good continental hotels.

    Reception staff were very obliging. Good breakfast. We had superior rooms which were very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please look at photos before paying out £160 A Night for a room . A Very disappointing stay (We had a lot of issue whilst staying at the hotel) from booking in , to leaving . A couple were rectified, Adam arranged for an afternoon Tea to compensate for the mix up over check in and not meeting our requirements. And also allowed us to park in the car park the next day. Thanks you Adam for that. However I am still awaiting a phone call from a Manager (which I was informed they would call me (as off) as fell off a damaged chair and was told by some kind of manager on Sunday morning, they do not have certain authority (authority for what I don't know) - But they would get someone in a higher position to call? Still waiting on that call! I would like to mention some off the staff were very nice and kind. Breakfast was also disappointing - Not much on offer and waited a long time to be served. No fans in my Mothers room (we asked before arrival) They did however bring one up when mentioned. The rooms however are not up to standard . Unfortunately I do not think i will return to this hotel and my Birthday was a little spoilt by the whole experience.

    A couple of members of staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Bournemouth is a lovely place and the hotel was in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I thought breakfast was included but it wasn't so we were a bit disappointed but had a nice breakfast in the nearby weatherspoons

    It was in a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    A nice break near the sea but without a sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot, no air conditioning. Double bed was small. There was no safe in the room. We were on the ground floor but had to walk up 4 stairs to get to our room. Also there was a deep step into our room. It was quite noisy on the Friday night with guests above playing loud music & also dogs barking from other rooms. The hotel is @ the top of a steep hill but near to beach & centre.

    Breakfast was good, lots of choices. There is a small pool & jacuzzi also a steam room & sauna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    My stay was lovely I was in Bournemouth for my friends hen...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast price

    My stay was lovely I was in Bournemouth for my friends hen doo , we stayed at the hotel . Had breakfast the next morning which was lovely although expected to pay £8.95 ended up being £12.50 each but my friend lives in Bournemouth and she stayed at the hotel too . Anyway overall lovely stay . I left a skirt behind and they had it for me which was great .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the breakfast advertised as 8.50 resident but we were charged 12.50 ? And told it’s because we didn’t pre-order. A further complaint will be made x

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Really pleasant stay overall, would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot, needed a fan. Strange table numbering system in restaurant for breakfast which didn't really work. Not sure what the point of it was!

    Very pleasant staff, nicely decorated hotel. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The property was close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the receptionist was lovely on arrival. She asked if we wanted a wake up call. We answered NO. Then on Sunday morning the cleaners were making so much noise we honestly had a bad night sleep we wanted to sleep in as we never get a chance too. When we left our room, right outside were the rubbish bags from other room - trip hazard. During the night the room was extremely hot so muggy.

    The property was close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Modern hotel located in a great location for visiting...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst our room had a fan, it was incredibly hot.

    Modern hotel located in a great location for visiting Bournemouth. Friendly staff with lots of parking to the rear.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    It served a purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheet had marks on which sadly we did not see until we went to bed quite late and at the same time we found that the towel rail in the bathroom was fully on and could not be turned down and given that it was so very hot this did not help. We were provided with tea and coffee but was surprised to find that there was no bottled water in the room, I asked the staff and was told that water was only provided for regular guests and if we were to return then water would be in our room. This was not a cheap stay and the weather was unusually hot the gesture of water in the room would have gone a long way ' The dining room was cramped and you shared your space with others ideal if you wanted to make friends but not if you wanted space and peace

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was well cooked and hot when served Parking was ideal for the area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Collingwood and would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was in the attic and overlooking a roof where seagulls had nested and they were quite noisy. As I was staying during an exceptionally hot spell of weather, I needed to keep the windows open. Opening and closing the window was awkward as a dressing table was in the way.

    I booked Hotel Collingwood as I was attending a concert at the BIC and the location was perfect. It was literally next door to the BIC and only a short stroll from the town and beach. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Not worth of the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They refused to admit us since we were 20 mins past breakfast time. There is no good place nearby for a quick breakfast. Ended up being annoyed. No air conditioning, no refrigerator. All of them were portable and not up to the mark for a hot weather.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    The lounge was refurbished and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been charged twice for a room and had to go back for a refund. The night we arrived the reception told us all the rooms are sold but we found rooms available online.The bath tub was blocked. Very poor lightening and very dusty lamp fittings. The room overpriced and very small.

    The lounge was refurbished and cosy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Really nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good but maybe a few sun loungers In the sun terrace would be nice it has lots of tables & chairs at the mo but this would make it more comfortable after a swim to relax & dry off in the sun

    I was upgraded to a double room with a sea view, Doing that as I'd requested online before was really appreciated, they told me the next day I had now got a sea view, the hotel was lovely boutique furniture with nice lights & lovely velvet chairs, a nice outside area/patio with plenty of chairs & trees with pretty lights & access to the bar, the indoor pool & jacuzzi was nice compact pool but really nice to cool off & another sun terrace just outside so you can dry off, the bar seemed good & they do a great Latte staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with stay. Staff very helpful, easy and outgoing. Location perfect....only negative is hill walking back....but that’s one of those things...can’t have everything lol. Room clean and tidy....bed very comfortable had air conditioning which was heavenly due to very warm weather...Will definitely use again 👍🏼

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    My go to place to stay in B’mouth
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms I’m sure will eventually be modernised like the downstairs has but they are well equipped and spacious and mercilessly clean!

    Fantastic facilities- especially considering the price. Restaurant was good and the general atmousphere was comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Very poor sleep, but I will return once I have booked directly through the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot, the room had windows that opened onto the street and evwry sound was amplified due to the angle and nature of the buildings in the street. Awoke severL times diring the night. Do not request a sea view, it’s not worth it. It’s a great hotel in terms of facilities and location. No aircon and no fan in the room. I did meet the owner though who was very concerned about my experience and invited me to return. I will do so. I was also not happy with the fee, for just 50% more I discovered that I could have had an additional night, once I was there. I suspect that this site inflates prices. Will not use booking.com again as a first choice.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel,good car park,lovely little indoor pool,Friday and Saturday nights very rowdy outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress

    The young lady on reception Claudia was really nice and extremely helpful,we also found the light meals from the bar very good as an early dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    I would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large parties and events held in lounge various during my stay. I felt I needed to go out for evening. Prices of evening meal in hotel was high.

    Staff are very helpful and the hotel is in an ideal location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service could have been more organised.

    Looks newly refurbished and tastefully decorated. Staff are helpful and friendly (except above). Plenty of facilities to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.8
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is appalling... very bad customer service I have ever had in my life...when we called reception to ask for our needs from reception they said us to come down and collect it...

    I liked the food,,, Apart from That nothing was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location and spa facilities. Staff could have been more welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was dreadful! Breakfast overpriced, no mushrooms and only one sausage with breakfast. Picture on website shows two. Toilet roll holder in room was broken. No snacks on hospitality tray. Windows in room wouldn’t close. Never anyone on reception unless bell was used.

    Good facilities. Free car park for residents.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Stayed once, not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (117) was small and hot. Had two fans and one had a dirty filter. The bathroom was tiny and the door had to be fully closed to use the toilet and the bathroom was very hot. 2 our of 3 of the lights in the bathroom was not working and the fan looked like it had never been cleaned. The rooms were dated and did not look like the photos on booking.com There was only two plug sockets in the room, one for the tv and one for the kettle. I do not think the room was worth £117 plus £12.50 per person for breakfast. We did not have breakfast as we did not want to pay £25 for breakfast.

    The property was in a good location. The reception looked lovely and staff friendly. The bath towels were lovely and soft. The bed sheets were clean and soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great room, nice people in bar had a good chat, lovely staff they loved our labrador.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all it was all excellent

    Everything the staff were superbly friendly and we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar, we were on our way home from our villa in Spain and will attempt to stay here again in September and November when we travel to and fro from our home in the Lake District.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Dont be put off by some reviews. We were very pleased with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power of the shower was very poor. Ok to wash but couldnt wash my shampoo out. Saying that we will definatly book again.

    Very friendly staff. Very clean. Bed comfy. Lovely afternoon tea. Nice breakfast. Will definatly be booking again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    This was a second visit to the hotel as stayed last year with my elderly Mother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scolding hot water and enormous oversized bath towels- very difficult to use if you are elderly. Very warm in the room and had to have windows shut all night due to traffic noise.

    The food was very good, staff were very polite and pleasant. Rooms were very clean and furnished nicely. Entertainment provided in the evenings was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    stay was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast.to expensive for what was on offer .and who would pay £12 for a breakfast that's has to be very special for that price if you were not a resident.if you just payed for the room and u change ur mind then u want a breakfast and still expect to pay £12.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed the personal touch, when we booked the paperwork said 8.50 for breakfast, my husband checked us out and we were charged 12.50 each, I rang them and they said they would ring back but they didn’t so very annoyed about that

    The room was nice, but it’s a chain of hotels and having stayed in 5 hotels in six days this one missed the personal touch, but I think if you stay in a large hotel that is what you should expect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing, location was the saviour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint smell throughout, very poor value for money. Hotel had no atmosphere, I had arranged for a bottle of prosecco to be in our room on arrival, I had to ring reception as it was no where to be found after arrival. Headboard, lampshades & main light fittings were all damaged and broken. Toilet was wobbly, water was so hot in sink we couldn’t even wash our hands with it! Disappointing overall

    The location & it was pretty clean, the terrace area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing trip with added bonus of sunshine and a nice swim in the pool before breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was awful couldn't wash properly as hardly any water came through. Curtains were hard to open and close.

    Very comfy bed and pillows, great facilities. 5 mins from bic and beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    All staff were very accommodating and friendly. Enjoyed the stay but requires air conditioning.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot. Provided with two fans but still too hot so very uncomfortable to sleep etc.

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Free parking. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and there was not much natural light due the tele being on the window ledge. Plus could not really opon or shut window due to the tele. I did not want to damage it.

    I liked that it had an indoor pool and sauna and was walking distance to the pier, beach. And eatery places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Apart from above problems good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant need to listen to customers when taking orders Bar staff on Saturday night asked for a cocktail and turn out to taste like a strawberry with lemonade 😂 as he was copying from a download from his phone At £6.50 I want it correct.

    Location to everything local Good car park without any extra charge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Good but plan to have food elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive for what was served. The hotel was not very accurate in taking orders and delivered. Limited time to get food and no room service outside restaurant hours so cannot get food after 8pm. This is a real shame as we had to get food from elsewhere. Bill on leaving was not very accurate so not the best experience.

    Rooms are good and location and parking good. Really comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very , polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was lovely just found that the rooms were quite warm but fans were put in room and helped a little.

    Very , polite and helpful staff.kobeky rooms and added bonus with pool and spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for breakfast was very slow. Came out eventually and it was a very very small breakfast for £8.50 each not impressed. Could also do with a better continental option x

    Great stay, staff were friendly. Facilities were great. Very close to the beach and BIC. Would recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed re painting but you could see the guy making his way round so I assume that will get done at some point. Breakfast was okay, service was slow and waiting staff weren’t the best in terms of speed and politeness. Pancakes were undercooked but the eggs were good.

    Location was good. Hotel was ok, staff were friendly and you could see they were revamping things by painting etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They tried hard but couldn't do a twin room with walkin shower. It was either a twin room or double with walkin shower. Went up in lift but then there were stairs to get to bedrooms, a bit difficult when have troubled legs and back

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable,music very good on Friday night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some handrails on the bath as I had trouble getting out and maybe a bath mat inside the bath

    The staff were very friendly,helpful and the hotel was very good.We were recommended by friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    It was in a nice location, bit more geared up to older groups.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was quite short and uncomfortable. The steam room wasn't working. Pool was smaller than made to look in the photos

    The breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: