Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Columba Hotel 3 stars

The Esplanade, Oban, PA34 5QD, United Kingdom

#10 of 19 hotels in Oban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1716 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    the rooms had good up-tp date equipment and the dining room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room faced the Oban Inn; rowdy noise from customers lasted until 00:50. May have been the football match night (7 July) but if this is regular the hotel management should seek to persuade the pub to keep decent hours.

    the rooms had good up-tp date equipment and the dining room was splendid; lIft a delightful mixture of good modern mechanism and Victorian gates.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    an enjoyable wee night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the victorian lift was tiny , i have mobility problems so the stairs are a problem , once someone had not closed the doors on the lift so had to climb the stairs , we were on the second floor so this was a nightmare,but thats not the staffs fault

    most of the staff were fiendly and helpful, good selection for breakfast , the beds were comfy , we paid the extra for a sea view and it was well worth it , loved the walk in shower , the location of the hotel is excellent , less than a min walk to the main shopping street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Would love to return to Oban, but would not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and apparently had a distaste for Americans. We even overheard rude comments.

    The location was great! The room was ok, but staff was rude to the point of making several members of our party uncomfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the problem with checking in I would return to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was not professional and very poor due to room not being ready at prescribed time. Staff very harassed and did not deal with problem in a business like manner.

    Room with sea view was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great value hotel in superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice young staff. Great breakfast and generally efficient service. Hotel décor fresh. Bar good. We really liked it and have been in several of the central hotels in Oban over the years

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a night or 2 but wouldn't have wanted to stay for any longer, not in our room anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a lot smaller than shown when booking online. Smokers directly below our window, noisy & smelly. Woken at 6.30 by delivery lorry.

    Location was perfect, room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in an old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking! With only a handful of spaces immediately outside for Hotel guests it can be tricky getting a space. Whilst the pay and display is also located here it fills pretty quickly as well.

    This is a typical old fashioned hotel but our stay here was comfortable. We had an issue with the toilet flush in our room and the staff dealt with it immediately - they didn't quite fix it but did try their best. Breakfast was excellent as was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. There were plenty of guest areas to sit in , the hotel Bar or Bar Rio which is attached ( and a bit noisy) or for a bit of peace and quite there is a lovely seating area on a mezzanine level above the hotel bar with views across the Harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Check Disabled access
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for people with limited mobility, but I should have checked that out before.... Not the hotel fault. It is a quaint Victorian building.

    Nice property, very clean. Big room, and a window that opens for beautiful fresh air!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable room in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid didn’t make up our room while we were there for some reason. We were there two nights so it should have been done after the first night.

    The room had a sea view and a separate seating area with a sofa and a tv.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Absolutely loved Oban. So glad that we chose to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were brutally uncomfortable.

    Loved the location, the views from our bedroom. The hotel is older, but I booked knowing that and wasn't expecting it to be modern and updated. The buffet breakfast was excellent considering it was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 6 parking places at the hotel. There is a public car park in front of the hotel which is ok but is charged at £1 an hour so can be quite expensive.

    Spacious and airy room with a nice sea view. Central location next to the harbour and town centre. Breakfast was plentiful with good choice of hot and cold food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Fine for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned without being cosy. Limited parking. Woman at reception cold and unfriendly. Tiny lift.

    Very central. Very good breakfast and good waiting staff. Night porter got us hot water when kettle didnt work then a new kettle. Goid value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Despite the breakfast tables, we had a lovely time and recommend a vist to the Columba !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the buffet breakfast was very good it was spoiled by the dining room tables being far too close together. It felt as if you were at the same table as complete strangers. You expect this from a B&B but not from a hotel.

    The room was comfortable , spacious and very clean. The ensuite was immaculate. Great views over the bay and up to the folly. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, food very good thoroughly enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very small & old fashioned. Albeit part of the history of the hotel.

    Excellent service, food very good thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast - plenty of choice. We had a room with a view, beds comfortable & bathroom albeit small very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The en suite window had no curtain and the towel rail didn't heat up! Parking is a problem with only a few hotel spaces. We solved this by booking car into a garage for the duration for secure parking and then walked to the hotel (could have taken a taxi). The hotel is a perfect location in centre of Oban so didn't need car.

    The position of hotel and the view, the view, the view!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location ,views and food. Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like warm shower, complained but nothing done. Very limited parking on site and hD to pay in main car park.

    The view , location and large room - 112. Ironing board in room ! Breakfast good hearty but not spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Located in very centre;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grumpy female receptionist; tiny bathroom, poor water supply for shower; absolutely strict cut-off time (10 am) for breakfast (we arrived at 9:59 and could only take some food away)

    Located in very centre; spacious room; very helpful male receptionist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough but would have preferred better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was supposedly sea view but was a bit dull with little natural light. Had to lean over narrow window sill to view the sea over car park.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    We had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It is our we get away. from it all

    We have stayed at the Columba hotel often. It is always our first choice Great location for everything. We always recommend it to others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Very basic - would only stay one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 305 was really cold at night blanket was ok but very old- heaters not working and very old. windows need updating and bathroom needs it too. The dinning room is the only nice place. Fire exits not good and lift is very old. No one able to hlep carry bags.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite soft and room dustier than would have liked .reception staff had to ask my name three times when checking in

    Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again,the breakfast was of really good quality and hotel in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Extremely Loud
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a nightmare. Very uncomfortable. I'm 4'11 and weigh 100 lbs so it has to be REALLY bad to disturb me. The worse part was the noise. My room was over the street across from a bar. Loud music and loud people until 2:00am.

    The room was clean. The staff courteous and the breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.9
    Extremely over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the reception was poor, as one member of staff was running the bar and reception. Our first room was atrocious, dark, dingy, the ceiling and wall were either water damaged or there was still a leak. The furniture was old and tired, luggage stand was broken. The 2 coffee mugs had not been washed, still stained with drinks from the previous residents. The shower was poor. We were given a second room, which was slightly better but not much, it had twin beds, and we wanted a double, mismatched duvet covers! Everywhere looked old, tired and grimy, and they charge £124 per night for this, we have stayed in hotels at much less than this, which were immaculate, with attentive staff, and good facilities. Didn't stay for breakfast, as we couldn't wait to leave.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay. Have been before several times before. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like a walk in shower facility. Could improve on breakfast with more "continental" type choice.

    Location. Staff attitude great. Comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A HOME FROM FROM HOME . ALWAYS HAPPY TO RETURN .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in above As above

    The personal touch’s like in the old days . The young lad at the dining room at dinner room was excellent , good to see a young man keen on his specialised field working so hard . Everyone at the hotel were first class . Only disadvantage was the lack of a good hand rail going all the way upstairs . Would stay there again when in the area .Well done everyone .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly check in staff who organised breakfast for us at 5am! We expected nothing but had a lovely breakfast with the reception staff even providing a pot of fresh coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Location of bedroom is all important.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room on a lower floor with a better outlook would have been better.

    Location of bedroom is all important. An "attic" room overlooking the Oban Bar can very noisy especially at weekends with live music and noisy pub goers keeping the noise up until after 1.00 am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing Scotland has the best scenery . Oban is very picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned lift, so had to use stairs 3 flights a good workout after breakfast. Also shower leaked and toilet seat fell off but it is a very old hotel.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Glorious views from a refreshed old lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses definitely need replacing - sharp ridges It was unseasonably hot and only one window opened, and that had to be propped

    This megalith is in a fantastic and central position in lovely Oban - I imagine nearly every room has a glorious view as the hotel has a 270 degree aspect! (Try the Ee-usk restaurant steps away, for more views and great seafood). A real surprise and a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I opened draw on bedside cabinet and leg fell off, every electric item hasn't been checked for over a year, picked up remote and batteries fell out no back on remote sockets didn't work for kettle.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Back again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure meant the shower was very weak and the bed could have done with a matress topper... could feel the springs

    Thw staff were chatty friendly and helpful. This time we had a view out to the bay .... absolutely stunning. Its an old building which has charcter and a fab location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.0
    good location but needs investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One reception was excellent but first day another young lady did not give a good impression. Couldn't really be bothered was her approach.

    good location but needs investment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay overall, would likely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comfortable. Some guests were noisy in the middle of the night.

    The staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean and tidy on arrival and check in was quick and easy. The Scottish breakfast, coffee and the free WiFi were good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    OK but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift was antiquated - very small and relied on previous users to properly shut both doors otherwise it couldn't be called. Toilet didn't work well - reported to reception but only minimal improvement.

    Locafion on the North Pier was good, with nice views over the harbour. Staff were generally helpful and breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    great overnight break ..travelled up with PS Waverley from Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    something had been spilled in the basin and it was marked. It was obviously an accident from previous guests but no-one on the staff mentioned it.

    View over the bay was superb ...we paid extra for a sea view room and it was well worth it. Room was large and comfortable Breakfast and dinner were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel, close to train station and ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. It's an old building - very small lift, no safe in bedroom or air-con, none of which spoiled our stay.

    Nice buffet breakfast in the lovely restaurant. Fantastic view from bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    The location is ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite unhelpful and the facilities are outdated. The shower had no pressure. This is a bare minimum for this price and hotel standard.

    The location is ideal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again !!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes disappointing !! The seaview room was tiny with a scruffy window - the bed was the most un comfortable bed we have slept on for ages - springs sticking up through the mattress! horrendous - ensuite needs attention - Very poor hotel !! We will not be back . Even the hotel sign was missing letters -

    Nothing apart from the location -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Good stay but not enough parking with the wiskey tasting festival going on in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a whiskey tasting festival when we stayed and the hallways were impossible to navigate and more so with luggage and no parking available. I wish I had known that.

    Location is fantastic and easy to find with GPS in your rental car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Rather tired and disappointing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable due to worn mattress, poor shower, basic breakfast with no fresh fruit and poor selections. Tired decor and very noisy next to live music pub which had music blaring till all hours. Serious issue regarding disabled access.

    Staff very pleasant. Clean and bedroom very light and airy. Central location for ease of access to ferries and train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty windows, not being able to close the curtains properly, rip in bedding {which was changed}.

    Convenient for the center. Staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at back was by road. Disturbed by lorries rattling at 7am. No chance of a lie in! Sea view room was quiet.

    Excellent location. Very central. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift

    Staff, cleanleness, meals great building old and lift a bit difficult to work especially for older person. Otherwise couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking problem with limited places for residents.

    Very comfortable bed with a good breakfast to follow. Location and food plus one very helpful member on the reception desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, pleasant ambiance, great views of the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challenging for people like me with mobility problems eg several steps to breakfast area, 2 steps down to access lift. Bathroom too hot because of towel rail , affecting room temperature too.

    Excellent renowned seafood restaurant across the pier! Couldn’t resist having dinner there. Hotel breakfast average. Staff very friendly, except for one receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Good for One Night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice view but was a bit noisy from the street due to poor insulation of the windows. As a hotelier, some housekeeping deadly sin were spotted, hair in the bathtub, mold and dust. Bed need to be replace as we could feel the springs when we slept on it. The top form has all be worn off.

    The hotel has a fantastic location. 5 mins by car from Oban Ferry Terminal to the hotel. Rooms are rather compact but cosy. We were there for one night. Breakfast was fantastic, good Scottish selections. We might return but we will also try other hotel around there too the next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    We had stayed here expecting a higher quality of stay only to be underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en-suite was cramped. The lift whilst functioning well did not allow room for two people with luggage. The stairs were quite difficult for my mother to negotiate. The was a lack of shower caps in the bathroom. WiFi was down.

    The views from the room were great and the room itself was quite spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The room with a seaview was stunning especially as weather was gorgeous. And staff could not do enou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the place at all

    The room with a seaview was stunning especially as weather was gorgeous. And staff could not do enough. Was a total pleasure staying here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Central location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To begin with, we were given a rather small room which we thought was not worth the money we paid for the stay and felt rather claustrophobic but after talking to reception we were moved to a more suitable room. Room slightly tired with water marks on tables and also a screw in place of a lever on shower controls.

    The hotel is in a great location, very central which came in handy for us. Room was a nice size with a couple of chairs and table at the window. The bed was comfy for one night but wouldn't be great if staying for longer, I slept well but my partner woke with a sore back. Breakfast was good. Plenty choice of hot food and juices. Would have been nice to see more fresh fruit but otherwise was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of the seaside room was overpriced. It needs a makeover and proper maintenance for example, the bathroom door handle was broken (couldn't even close the door) and the shower handle had a strange long screw you had to turn to get water out. The window didn't open properly either. No hair dryer either for such a price.

    The breakfast and service was great. The seaside view was absolutely stunning and the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Incredible views over the bay and a decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the thinest mattress and most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Worst nights sleep I've had in months/years.

    Incredible views over the bay and a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    room small but very clean , gorgeous view over harbour ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    paying extra for car parking not a major issue as only stayed one night however this would have became an issue if staying for longer

    room small but very clean , gorgeous view over harbour , breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Well located, stunning views over harbour and bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff friendly enough apart from the same young girl behind check-in as last year. She was very impolite and not willing to say one friendly word. When your guests say 'good morning' or 'bye bye', you say something in return.

    The views over the harbour are stunning! I very much appreciated the comfort of the Italian restaurant that could be entered from the inside of the hotel. Breakfast was improved a lot since I stayed here last year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Over all it was a pleasant experience; I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food: not really a case of didn't like, it just fell a little below expectation. I had two meals - dinner and breakfast. Both very ordinary.

    Public areas and bedroom very good. The general ambience was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed hoovering and a spring clean. Bath tub was chipped - so didn’t look appealing. Property has lots of stairs and an old style lift, one needs to be strong to open the lift doors!

    Excellent location, right by the Harbour. Nice fresh white bedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Very nice relaxing atmosphere enjoyable all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.Meals were very good and good value.Breakfast was buffet style allowing you to choose what you wanted. The hotel was clean and warm and well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Room for improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an old style hotel, it's getting a bit tired, although there appears to be ongoing redecoration in progress. Some of the receptionists clearly lacked customer engagement skills and came across as uninterested in us as guests. On checking out, the only words from the receptionist was to ask for my door key and nothing else. I wasn't asked if I enjoyed my stay, prompted for any feedback or even to 'have a nice day'! I won't be in a hurry to return... shame!

    Good location and easy access to the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was bad quality The room was not worth the money as smelt like an old folks home and bathroom floor sticky and the shower head was held up with a cable tie as keep sliding down

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Central location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room over looked the busy harbour and we watched all the boats arriving and departing again for the islands. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely evening meal in bar and good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know I had booked a single but bed was a bit narrow, good length though. Biscuits on the tea tray would be nice and a small sachet of shampoo would have been useful.

    Very clean, plenty of hot water and a good sized shower cubicle. Has a lift for customer use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    OK for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was small and hard. The shower was a dribble. Breakfast finished too early and most items were overcooked/dried out. Had to pay for parking. Staff could smile a bit now and again.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovel well kept comfortable accommodation with superb friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location,coursty staff and nothing was a problem, especially as I needed an early breakfast on Sunday so I could attend my sport event,fab friendly place to stay and so clean 👏

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    The view was great and the bathroom new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable..there was stains on the carpet and chair...it was really dusty.

    The view was great and the bathroom new and clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on check in on 14th April at approx 4pm was useless. No atmosphere in hotel. In room 109 bed needs valance as bed base is a disgrace. Bed uncomfortable needs new mattress. Yuk coffee

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Old Victorian lift which you had to close the doors your self, my partner jammed her finger in the gates. When running the shower the pipes made some noise at the start

    Location and room was excellent with a good Scottish Breakfast, check out time was 1100 hrs. We stayed on first floor room 112 with Sea View, kettle and tea/coffee provided in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great property, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds seem to be a problem in Scotland, they don't appear to renew them as much as they should.

    This property is right in the heart of of town, easy walk to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend!! 10/10, absolute superb hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were fantastic!! Very professional and welcoming. Our sea view room was absolutely stunning, very clean and comfortable. Beautiful hotel!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    It was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not necessarily a minus, but I think the hotel could use some improvements in the rooms, radiators are quite old, soap in the bathrooms looked bit old.

    Breakfast was really good. Nice and friendly staff:)awesome view from the room and clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    As much as things were adequate, to sum up I would have to say I was left extremely underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate being critical but I have to be honest. The room was small The bed was extremely uncomfortable The bathroom; looking right out onto the car park; had no privacy unless the roller blind was completely shut To say the hotel had car parking is a stretch..... 6? Spaces for the entire hotel; else you have to pay for the town parking as there’s nowhere nearby to leave a car The hotel is extremely outdated

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend away,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken Saturday morning at 1.30 and 5.30 am with noisy pipes in hotel. Complained to night staff and no re-occurrence.

    Friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was in a good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't that comfortable.

    Hotel was in a good area. Great view of the McCaig Tower from our bedroom. Staff were very nice. Breakfast buffet was lovely, plenty to chose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    If you enjoy the little flaws/charm of an old victorian hotel then you will love Columba!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, this property seems to be suffering greatly from the passage of time, neglect and having been only recently opened for the season. We had several things that didn't work/missing/broken in our room and had to be moved to another room after one night. The management was gracious in their apologies and assured us that they were working hard to bring the property back up to good condition. The reasonable price we paid made it feel okay with the "charming" nature of the hotel but it definitely needs some tender loving care.

    The owners/managers of the property were delightful. They apologized greatly for the condition of the property and all of the things that were broken or not working at the hotel. The hotel has wonderful old world charm and is in a perfect location on the water in the center of town. The restaurant within the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience in a comfortable, centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the pop up toasters, would prefer the other type. The hotel lift is a pain to operate and very noisy. Not suitable for older people really as it is often left open on another floor and there are a lot of stairs to climb if it is. That would be my one and only complaint about the Columba.

    Lovely breakfast well cooked, good variety of pastries, yogurt etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We had a great stay and enjoyed our break. X
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we have been coming here for many years, the bathroom this time was tiny with little space. We have always been at the other side before and facilities were better. X

    We have been coming to this hotel for many years and enjoy it. Staff are great, food is good and we enjoyed the Bar Rio. Staff there were amazing, polite and helpful. In particular, we found the Hungarian member of staff so great. X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, nice rooms and very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is still stuck in the 1990s - tinned fruit? Thin coffee? Please.

    The hotel was recently refurbished so bathroom and bed were really modern and nice. The hotel is right next to some great eateries (ee-usk, very good and Coast, excellent) and only five minutes walk from train station/ferry. Staff was very helpful (e.g. storing luggage and such). WIFI worked very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: