Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Conrah Hotel 3 stars

Chancery, Aberystwyth, SY23 4DF, United Kingdom

#4 of 12 hotels in Aberystwyth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Truely a treasure to cherish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing should be changed, absolute perfection. Beautiful settings, even down to friendly cows & sheep in the field. The food smelt scrumptious even though we didn't eat a meal only sandwich and breakfast.

    We arrived late afternoon, to the knowledge that the kitchen was closing in approximately 'Half an Hour', we had been nibbling on the journey so were not that hungary, so we decided to have a sandwich, this was put on hold for us until later, which was accompanied by a few beers and a beautiful kingsize bed. What a truely perfect retreat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was close to an extractor from the kitchen which was quite noisy (though it was turned off about after 9.30pm) so didn't disturb sleep. An exterior door used by staff (presumably from the kitchen) was frequently opened and slammed shut...I was told on checkout there are plans to deal with the noisy door.

    Comfortable room, friendly staff, plenty of parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice country hotel, a few tweaks would help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible shower pressure was a real let down. Staff hadn't cleared room totally when we checked in but issue was quickly resolved

    Nice old country hotel with sweeping views of surrounding farm land. Small but respectable bar and restaurant. Rooms functional and spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Plenty of parking, fascinating interior, great views,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If navigating there by postcode directions ran out before we got to the hotel

    Plenty of parking, fascinating interior, great views, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Interesting place , lovely staff and a lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to vary it’s menu. We stayed 3 nights and the menu was the same including the same soup! The food was tasty and well cooked and presented but the same.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendly place. Our room was not one of the new ones but Very charming and clean. Staff was friendly and service excellent. We had dinner at the hotelrestaurant and it was Very good. Can highly reccomend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Absolutely gorgeous decor in bedroom, very modern and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had low/poor water pressure and barely trickled at times. Dining room at breakfast time was not cleared, every table was left used and dirty throughout service, flies everywhere whilst trying to eat

    Absolutely gorgeous decor in bedroom, very modern and clean bathroom. Super comfy queen size bed. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful base for a holiday on the Mid Wales coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu could be a little more expansive. Being there for the week meant we had to eat out a couple of times. Also everyone was being pestered by flies. Maybe some defense against the little blighters would be a good addition especially during the hot period we are going through.

    The friendly and helpful staff. It was quiet and the views from our room and the dining room were very relaxing. Car parking was good and

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Such a beautiful hotel in the most stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point - Think the bathroom needs updating to reflect the rest of the room/ hotel.

    Such a beautiful hotel in the most stunning location The view from our window was something I’ll never forget Staff lovely and welcoming Breakfast delicious with plenty of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location. Stunning views from the lounge and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was very firm. Neither myself or my husband slept well at all. Room was lovely otherwise with really nice views.

    Nice complimentary biscuits provided with the tea and coffee. Large bath towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Supeeeeerb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So lets get All the Complaints and Negatives out of the way First...... There wasn't any........So that Means We Enjoyed our stay here in every way. Superb Location set in its own grounds which were kept extremely tidy Room No 16 was fantastic. Overlooking the grounds and the views beyond. We met the owner who is a great hard working guy and down to earth .. Good on you.. You are doing a Grand Job on the Hotel All the staff were brilliant and the food was Hot Tasty and served by friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay here..Thanks a lot guys Well Done

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything!

    The grounds, the staff, the food, and (perhaps this might sound strange as a plus point) the air of slightly faded grandeur that the place had. It all combined to give an authentic country house hotel feeling, which for the price made it extremely good value indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Charming traditional country house with superb views and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor perhaps lacked style but this was part of the charm.

    Charming traditional country house with superb views and attentive staff. My room had a little balcony which was wonderful in warm weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Everything was really very nice indeed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was really very nice indeed. Our room was large and comfortable with a wonderful view. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty, as was the dining in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay , which we extended by one more day, and are looking forward to revisiting soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Wow !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was very clean and staff very friendly they couldn't do enough for you. This hotel is fit for royalty the reception area is outstanding if youve never been try it you won't be disappointed. Ideally situated in some of the best scenery ive ever seen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi reception was poor. the road into Aberystwyth was busier than we had anticipated

    The hotel was in a lovely setting with great views from the dining room. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A nurturing, relaxing few days in the beautiful Welsh countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only major complaint was the bathroom in our room was adjacent to the bathroom next door--as a result, we were privy to the noises from next door, and, I expect vica vetsa.

    The comfort, the exceptional service, the breakfast, the restaurant, the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. We received a really warm welcome. Beautiful views and very clean. We had a wonderful dinner, both meals were delicious and very well presented. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, country location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mix up at checkout with our bill. It took a bit of time to sort out.

    Beautiful, country location. We had a lovely view from our spacious room. Had a bar and lounge downstairs and we had a nice dinner in the dining room. A lovely country hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful well appointed Country Hotel. Great staff. Wonderful meals. Very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful rural area. Staff were friendly polite and helpful. Our ensuite room in the main house was large and well appointed. We had a wonderful dinner and enjoyed a drink looking over great views of Wales. Super .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay while on business in Ceredigion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Conrah Hotel is full of character with amazing views in a lovely location on the outskirts of Aberystwyth. Excellent customer service backed up by great food and drink. I would highly recommend anyone on business in the area to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Very clean, views from restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great. Member of staff checked me out without speaking to me once, he was on the phone throughout and just passed me the bill and card machine without speaking!

    Very clean, views from restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work in our room. No heating. Radiators not working. Room freezing cold. Staff didnt care much when we told them.

    Nice view from the reception and the living area of the main house. But not from our room that was located in the barn closeby. Be careful with the room you get.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room (No. 7) was a little threadbare in places but no big deal to us. However, room 7 appears to be above the kitchen and at certain times (with us particularly bad up to 22.00 and approx. 06.45 in the morning) the staff seem to frequently use a door that bangs enough to make the room shake. Could easily be rectified with a soft closer on the door. Was going to comment to staff on leaving but didn't get the right opportunity. Otherwise room was very nice.

    Really nice spacious room and bathroom, both very clean. Large comfortable bed. Fantastic view from the dining room. Breakfast was good though we prefer buffet style. Staff are friendly. The small bar looked nice but there were no vacant seats, so we didn't get to use. Check out at 11.00, many we stay at have to be out by 10.00. Bonus not to be rushed. Nice location in grounds off main road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    One of the best places we have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We really enjoyed this beautiful hotel. The grounds are beautiful and set right back off the road. The room was spacious with a window overlooking the gardens. We dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious! Breakfast was just as good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a stylish and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable place for a stay with lovely grounds to wander.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fine though service differed widely on each morning - one excellent and attentive; the other very slow and got the order wrong (despite being few other guests around)

    Good big room with comfy bed and excellent bathroom; nicely laid out public rooms. Friendly staff throughout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed, friendly and comfortable in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only that the door closures are heavy and therefore reverberate through the rooms if people are late in or early to leave.

    The bed was lovely as was the decor. Views are beautiful from the downstairs windows. Staff are faultlessly helpful and friendly and put problems right straightaway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    A very convenient hotel for Aberytwth in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked curtains that actually drew rather than a fixed setting for purely ascetic purpose. The blinds, although attractive, failed to block the light sufficiently for me.A small criticism for an otherwise happy and satisfied stay.

    The Manager and staff were all so pleasant and helpful. My room was the best I have ever had as a single traveller. Loads of space a comfy settee and a large spacious bathroom too. Breakfast had very flaky delicious croissants in a dining room with impressive views over the countryside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived I was in my work attire and was moved rooms! I was escorted to a very out of date room and briefly told that the room was due for a refurbishment.

    Room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    A fine hotel in an open location, with a nice atmosphere and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was a little cold despite the heating. Everything else was fine.

    A previous review said the food was superb.....the food was superb. We were in the family room and the bed was big and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Best welcome in Wales!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had thick and unexpected snow during our stay, so our room was a little chilly owing to the large, single glazed picture windows that overlooked the open fields. The Manager did offer to move us, and couldn't have been more accommodating, but we decided the nip in the air was well worth it for the breath-taking winter wonderland view. We just snuggled below the cosy duvet - very romantic!

    Hotel Conrah is a truely beautiful building with polished wood reception, decorative plasterwork and stunning original stained glass, but it is the staff that really make this place. Everyone is so friendly and helpful - they offer the ultimate Welsh welcome!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall the cleanliness and friendliness and helpfulness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing that we found uncomfortable was the downstairs leisure rooms seating. Looked lovely but for us that are in advancing years very hard to get up and down.

    Overall the cleanliness and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. Food very good - waiting times for being served - spot on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    The stay was excellent, will be back in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of 13 and we felt as though, there was not enough space in the bar area for us all to sit together and relax as many of us stood.

    Our room was spacious and our location was fantastic. Could not have asked for better staff either!! So helpful with any concerns.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors were constantly banging downstairs until around 12pm I would suggest some soft closing doors and the sound of people talking underneath was very loud

    I loved the building and the windows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in more traditional hotel. A very pleasant change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable overnight stay. Super young team in charge, couldn’t fault the service. We enjoyed a delicious and well presented evening platter in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, will return when weather improves!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful in every respect. Due to bad weather we had to curtail our visit but everyone went out of their way to help us. The room we had was warm, comfortable and the facilities great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Excellent. Will 100% be staying in Conrah when I come back to Aberystwyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, peaceful setting. The staff were very friendly and we were upgraded to a Marigold room which had an amazing view and was thoughtful of staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    Although staff are nice I won't be staying here again. Nothing good to outway the negative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to look old and charaterful, but ends up looking old and tired with loads of polished wood. Carpets look like they've been taken from the seventies. The room I stayed in was small and the floor was on two levels which isn't good when getting out of bed and the floor changes level within inches of the bed which nearly got me twice! Hotel sits just of a main road (60mph) with no paths anywhere, so if you want to go for a walk or to a local pub then you only choice is to drive somewhere first. Room key is on a 6 inch piece of wood so you don't lose it, but doesn't fit in a pocket and nearly let it behind on a table.

    Staff were always nearby to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, quiet, in a super location. Friendly staff. Updating required. Did an excellent wake.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating at all in the large bathroom and the toilet seat was broken. The bedroom was cool - the two radiators were hidden if you closed the curtains. Cold buffet at breakfast was disappointing. I realise as there was only the 3 of us staying there it wasn't viable to offer more. Didn't feel it was worth £15 overall. Your website said my room was the last one - not true - we occupied the only 2 rooms! Didn't feel the dinner was up to standard for the price - I couldn't eat the tough greens.

    Cooked breakfast was very good. Your website said my room was the last one - not true - we only occupied 2 rooms. The rest of the hotel was fine and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings great base for visiting the surrounding area
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit pricey. Noisy guests shouting and stomping around woke us up in the early hours of Monday morning.

    The location and setting were great. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Clean bed linen and towels. Croissants are lovely .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    It was disappointing. Gave us a discount re the noisy young drunks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested ground floor room didn't have it. Old fashioned decor scruffy carpet. No shelves in bathroom not even a hook on door. Poor choice of tv channels. Poor choice menu. Extremely expensive breakfast so went elsewhere. Noisy young drunk men in adjoining room, walls are very thin.

    Warm room. Comfy bed. Exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    A delightful hotel in a lovely location, well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit soft. Need firmer mattresses for middle-aged people with bad backs!

    The room and bathroom was clean, simple decor but well appointed. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was extensive, fresh and well cooked. The views were wonderful. Overall, very good. We will go there again and recomend it to others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotels location is great, stunning views from the restaurant, very clean rooms and very comfortable bed. It is not close to shops or restaurants but that gives you the chance to be surrounded only by nature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful surroundings nice atmosphere but don’t waste extra money on deluxe room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a deluxe room and the shower facilities were extremely poor the water pressure was inadequate for a decent shower and the water took ages to heat up. The room was also quite small compared to others in the deluxe range which we were able to have a peak at as we were leaving (they were being cleaned). Felt a bit conned that was a extra £20 for 2 warm bottles of water and bathrobes. Did comment on checkout and was told it would be passed on. So was fobbed off

    Food was very nice,staff helpful, friendly and seemed to be very attentive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting a bit bleak, particularly in dining room. Dinner just ok, but it was a quiet Sunday night-could have been chef’s night off. Breakfast £15 a head was a bit too steep for me so we didnt try it and have no idea whether it was worth it.

    Spacious room. Comfortable beds, welcoming staff. Would have been great views had it not been a wet November morning. Fairly close to coast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    A nice, warm, well placed hotel where a few simple improvements could be made
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in room 3 was too hot; needs a warning sign. Breakfast was not good as it should have been - scrambled egg was rubbery, as if it had been prepared earlier and kept hot; same with the sausage.

    Excellent towels; comfortable bed; warm and cosy out of the cold wind; great view from the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Would recommend for location and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in bathroom erratic and hot water excessively hot, room quite cold despite turning up radiator. Bed very soft

    Staff very friendly and helpful, lovely location, good breakfast with plenty of choice. View from bedroom window stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    The food was good and had lovely grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a little tired, we got both a cottage room and room in the hotel both were a bit worn out and needed an update.

    The food was good and had lovely grounds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A perfect stop before you go into Aberystwyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect Conrah with beautiful views of their gardens and the rolling hills. It is just out of Aberystwyth. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and happy. The food was excellent and our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food (even on a Sunday night).
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom could have been heated up a bit before we arrived. But the manager sorted matters out immediately so this was not a major issue.

    Excellent food (even on a Sunday night). Huge and very comfortable bed. Totally helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Memorable, we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - even the weather was great!

    A beautiful hotel superbly run with great staff and excellent all round quality. A lovely retreat but a short cab ride or shuttle bus to the town centre if required - perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The Conrah is a gracious country house set amongst lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable but it would have been even better if it had been king size!

    Lovely setting in a gracious country house with splendid grounds. The staff were excellent and hit just the right note. All were most helpful. The bed was comfortabl

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath could have been a few inches wider but nothing really was a dislike.

    Lovely big hotel with original features and nice furnishings. great view of valley. Helpful staff and quiet comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Really lovely just small things let it down. But i would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could of been better:- bacon crispier, sausages browner, tomatoes cooked a little more, that was the first morning second morning under cooked poached eggs. looking at the other peoples breakfasts the bacon looked better but the first morning put us off a little. i think on the two days it was two different cooks/chefs!! maybe a continuity should be focused on.

    the bed was so comfy & the hot water was hot. the grounds looked lovely (shame about all the rain lol). we didn't really want to go home especially after we had the fabulous afternoon tea in our room, so yummy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Wish I was still there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with good views All new and tidy and clean Food was good and choice and at different prices Staff lovely Just outside Aberystwyth- which was fine as Aberystwyth was disappointing Meant we could visit other places instead

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very worn out decor wise, and noise from nxt room, could here everything going on in bathroom

    The view was lovely as was the main area of hotel, very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely, peaceful location with very comfortable bedroom and fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in Room 9 is very poor due to poor water pressure. We asked about this at the end of our stay and were told they knew about it and that if we had asked we could have been moved to Room 4 which was the same price but good shower (no bath). We did wonder why we weren't put there in the first place.

    the bed and pillows were extra comfy and the bed linens was lovely. The view from Room 9 is spectacular and everything was very clean. Good quality TV too. The room was also very spacious. (We ate out for every meal with family).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unable to think of anything.

    What was there not to like. As soon as you walked in the place had a feeling of comfort. There was plenty of power points and mirrors in convenient places. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was perfectly cooked, the seasoning was spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again but in main house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed airing as smelt damp. Not helped by condensation on windows. Heating time clock needed resetting.

    Location excellent. Lovely view from dining room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, excellent staff, food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy plumbing Whenever the central heating started up there was a loud banging for a few minutes. It was quite close to our room and sounded like someone was hitting the pipes with a large hammer. It didn't go on all night but was quite annoying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    The only criticism is regarding the mattress. I sell mattresses so I know a bit about them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful old building with so much charm, a real country house appeal. loved the setting although it was wet and slippery so couldn't walk around the grounds. The food was excellent in the peaceful dining room. we had room number 3 which looked over the valley down to the church - lovely views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant overall, good food, good staff, just the room needed a refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired but with a bit of refurb could be really nice. Same with bathroom.

    Entrance/reception very nice, dining room and food good, bar nice, staff very polite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The insulation between the cottage rooms, could have been a little better.

    We stayed in one of the cottages, which had a lovely view across the garden and the distant hills. The room was well furnished, and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so we can't comment on this aspect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable experience in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Okay shower could be better but like a lot of hotels is down to water pressure when others are in action. We could also suggest wider twin beds and a coffee table in the window so we could sit in the very comfortable armchairs and admire the superb view.

    Attention to detail, comfort & friendliness superb..gradual upgrading is in action so can accept that improvements will take time. Wonderful towels and room with a view makes up for other lacking areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to return, a gem to be discovered.
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water cistern from ajoining room was noisy when used late at night(when all was quiet).

    The food served is delicious, well presented and locally sourced. The king suite we stayed in is spacious, clean and comfortable. The bath towels were large (some can be on the small side, but not here!). Staff are pleasant and helpful, nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, the building and grounds are lovely, and the staff are friendly and acccomodating,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the starter, which was truly gorgeous. It was a bit nouveau, it could have been a bit larger. The main on the other hand was very generous and very good. I would have like a bit more of a bitter selection at the bar, but hey, this is being picky. If you don't sell much real ale, you don't want to keep many on.

    Very comfortable room, although it hasn't yet been upgraded like some of the others. I loved the old world charm of it with the period furniture and features. The bed was very comfortable and facilitates were good. The views from the hotel are spectacular, and building is amazing. The greatest asset is the staff, all are very warm and helpful. Nathan the manager is very friendly, and a mine of information about the history of the Conrah. There seems to be a genuine pride in the place from all the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    We extended our stay, staff, food and rooms make Conrah a relaxing place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds, beautiful views, outstanding staff make Conrah a delightful place to stay. Delicious meals and amazing afternoon teas enticed us to stay longer than we had planned. Thank you Nathan and team....hope we can return soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value for a quiet short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The deluxe room was set apart from the main building so was exceptionally quiet. Bed was extremely comfortable. Lovely views from the restaurant and the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay, the staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 out of the 3 days the breakfast was great. I expect that it was a different chef on day 2 as the Eggs Benedict were not remotely the same nor close to the same standard as the first day. If we had this breakfast on the first day we wouldn't have eaten ate the hotel again. The room was comfortable although I was disappointed when we first arrived to not be in the main part of the hotel and to have a view of the parking lot not the fields or gardens.

    The staff were fantastic and the location of the hotel worked well for us. The bar has a great atmosphere and loved looking out over the gardens and fields. The dinner was fantastic both nights we ate at the hotel. The lamb was incredible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff where friendly and helpful. there was no rigid location for the place or type of meal, and there was no rush for you to leave during breakfast. The views where wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable base from which to explore beautiful mid-Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was slightly disappointing - small portions and my panna cotta had no taste.

    This hotel is a gracious country house just off the main road but with gorgeous views across the garden and down a valley towards distant hills. Our room (free upgrade to de luxe double) was spacious and very comfortable with newly fitted bathroom. Everything was good quality and the surroundings are very peaceful. Excellent breakfast too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    No information regarding our booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked the Conrad Hotel through Booking .com the hotel was not notified. They had no information of our arrival on this special day for us as a family. If this is the service offered by Booking.com then I shall not be using them in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The Conrah hotel is lovely, very quiet and in a lovely place. Could do with a few more facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My breakfast on the first morning (eggs benedict), the hollandaise sauce was cold and the bacon was so salty that I avoided it entirely on the second morning. The TV in our room wasn't very good the remote control had been broken and just taped back in place and you had to get about a foot from the tv for it to work, so no good as a remote. I thought the bar could have offered pots of tea and snacks, our 2nd day was so rainy we stayed in the hotel in the evening, but could only order a pot of tea or bar drinks, some cakes or sandwiches would have been a nice option.

    The beds were really comfortable, the staff went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. My daughter loved the nice hot chocolate. The hotel is very quiet and the scenery around the area amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff, in a beautiful scenary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very pleasant stay at the Conrah Hotel. We booked quite late in the afternoon for quite a late arrival, and the staff were more than willing to wait for us and get us accomodated. Unfortunately we had to continue on our roadtrip quite early the following morning, but after a lovely breakfast with absolutely everything you could wish for, and in a dining room with a stunning view, we were hapy we chose to stay in the Conrah Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    A Welsh Fawlty Towers! Even the name 'Conrah' seemed to have dropped a letter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A forty minute wait for breakfast to be delivered. Smoked Haddock and Poached Eggs. Both undercooked! It seemed like the might have problems in the kitchen. Perhaps Terry had thrown a wobbly. Paper serviettes on the table............not what you expect from a 'Country House Hotel.' On checking out at 10 am we had to dodge the cleaner hoovering the reception area. Surely that can be done after the guest have left. Poor management.

    I was immediately reminded of Fawlty Towers when I checked in, without the charms of Basil and Sybil. They were obviously short of staff with the Manager/Receptionist rushing to man the bar, serve in the dining room, look after reception and the flow of incoming calls. The toilet paper holder was loose in the bathroom with the loo roll constantly falling off, same thing with the hook behind the bathroom door, very wobbly. Black mould around the bath/shower grouting! Needs a real scrub! All very Basilish! The longer I stayed the more I expected Manuel to come out from the kitchen. They really missed him!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: